Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
172 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(39)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 14, 2011
This dress is amazing! It hugs every curve, but the draping keeps it elegant. I would definitely rent it again. I usually wear 4-6 and chose the 6 on this one. The fabric is very stretchy, so it fits any figure.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011
Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments! The color was definitely what attracted people to it, it is more bright in person than in the picture. It also made me look thinner and curvaceous. The only thing I did not like at first was that it felt tight on the legs but I got used to it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2011
I thought that I would love this dress. The color is fabulous and I usually look great in Nicole Miller. I even tried on a similar style at a Nicole Miller store near me, but this dress had to much material. It actually made me look bigger in the waste because of the thick fabric. I wouldn't recommend it for an hourglass shape, maybe for someone who is really skinny and petite and wants a bit of extra fabric to make them look curvier.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
October 11, 2011
I'm normally a size 0 to 2, but the size 0 didn't quite make it over the chest, even with the stretch, and the size 2 required a corset to hold everything in enough to get the dress to zip. However, once the dress zipped, I looked absolutely amazing! I went to a wedding in this and it was appropriate enough for the grandparents, but sexy enough that my boyfriend couldn't wait to get me home. I highly recommend this dress (though go a size up on your backup).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
I got so many compliments wearing this dress! I am 52 years old, so I was worried that it might be a little "young" for me. This was not the case, however, as it looked really nice and was not too short. Very sexy and a beautiful shade of red! Holds you in and is comfortable. Very becoming! I would go up a size, because I usually wear a 6 and it was snug, especially in the breast area.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2011
I usually wear 2 to 4 but ordered a 4 and 6 since the dress is so form fitting. I'm glad I did because I barely got into the 6. The dress is very pretty though and I got many compliments on it. Unfortunately, after I spent time driving it to the post office to mail it back in the envelope with postage provided by RTR, it was then returned to me for not enough postage such that I will have had to make two trips to the post office. As a first time RTR customer, definitely not happy about that. Great dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2011
All of the compliments I received all night long!
This is a classic dress-- I received complements on it all night from people of all ages. It the fit was pretty snug but the gathering helped to hide any areas that I didn't want to attract attention to. It tends to run a bit small, so order a size up. Perfect for an event where you want to feel sexy, but want keep it sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 1, 2011
All the other ladies were jealous of my designer look.
This dress absolutely runs to size and fit the curves of my body perfectly. I do advise sizing up for the little bit of extra fabric. Because it is a body hugging material, it's nice being able to breathe a little. They only thing I had a concern about, was the silver zipper up the side. It was completely visible, but not very attractive in photos. I highly recommend this look for an evening out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2011
I had a lot of people tell me red was my color! If you know your color and body shape, I think you'll be more than pleased with your rental.
I didn't want to take this dress off! I felt sexy and confident in this Nicole Miller Dress. It didn't show too much skin but really gives you a sense of sexiness, hello lady in red; and confidence, great flattering silhouette.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2012
LOVED this one
Wore this to a winter cocktail party...its a tight fit but very stretchy. Its extremely comfortable and flattering to an hour glass figure... even for those of us over 50. It's a side zipper which is a little tricky since it is so form fitting and stretchy, but I LOVED wearing it. I wore it in a 12, which fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
I was called "stunning" by practically everyone in the building!
This was my first RTR purchase and I was pleasantly surprised. Red is my color and that was reaffirmed by all of my coworkers with all the compliments they were dishing out. I felt sexy and sophisticated in the dress. It was very form fitting and needed to be worn with spanx, but no bra. My main issue is that I have a large chest and the way it cut across my chest made my one breast look like it was tripled in size (mostly in the size 10). I had to keep moving the folds to give the proper illusion. The size 8 was tight but made my chest area look normal (go figure). All in all, the dress was a total head turner!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2012
Getting compliments on the dress and my babe loving it :)
After losing weight I thought I could go down a size in this dress but it was def snug and I felt more comfortable in the size 12. It is super form fitting and sexy. I got compliments on it all night. I think it would be great for any function. Be the lady in red :) My only issue was the zipper on the 12 was diff than the zipper on the 10 and it bulged out in an awkward spot halfway up the dress. Pulling down the dress or pulling it up didnt affect the weird bulge at all. *The 2nd pic you can see it*
QueenieOctober 30, 2012
You look fab!!
StashaNovember 28, 2012
You look awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 16, 2012
I love getting all the compliments that come along with the dress!
I wore this dress for my sister's engagement party and received a ton of compliments! At the time I ordered the dress I wore a 2-4, but in between the time that I ordered the dress and wore it I lost a little weight and now wear a 0. I rented a 2 and 4 and wore the 2. it was a little big on me, but since it is so form fitting no one could tell. If I would have ordered a 0 it would have fit even better! Since this is a very form fitting dress I would recommend sizing up for your back up size just in case you are an in-between size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2012
Highly Recommended!
I loved this dress. It was sexy and comfortable at the same time. I ended up wearing the size 8 (even though I had initially ordered a size 6). If you have curves it tends to fit a bit snug so going for the next size up from what you usually wear might be a better choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 23, 2012
Now a believer!
I had a Rent-the-Runway account for almost a year. It took a lovely birthday credit to actually get me to place my first order! I've been crazy busy working and planning my own wedding that I didn't have time to shop for a wedding that was just 2 weeks away! Thanks to the help of a fit stylist, I ordered this beauty and I have never gotten so many compliments! I am now a believer and will be renting dresses for the upcoming weddings as well as my bridal shower & rehearsal dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2012
Created great curves!
Fabric is thick and curve hugging in all the right places. Got so many compliments. A must rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Great dress
I rented this dress in black previously and wanted to rent it again because I liked it so much but it was no longer on the website so I decided to try it in red. The sizing is accurate (I usually wear a 6 or 8 and the 6 was perfect) and the dress is very flattering, although obviously more so in black!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 12, 2012
Great all over fit, TTS!
I rented this dress to attend my hub's best friend's daughter's Spanish Sweet 16! I received so many compliments that night & my husband loved it! & the service was great! Recieved dress ontime!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2011
-
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I wore it to a holiday party and received lots of compliments. I loved this dress because it was fun while still being completely appropriate for a work party. I highly recommend it, and think it would flatter most body types.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
Great dress!
This dress fit perfectly, and the ruched sides covered any imperfections. Really lovely dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2012
Valentines Love
The rouching hides every flaw, but leaves you feeling sleek and sexy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2012
I got so many compliments from family and strangers!
The dress was so easy to rent and looked so amazing on me! I got so many compliments! At first I thought that it made me look a little more hippier and padded my curves to make me look bigger, which I didn't really like, but I think it's just that there was so much fabric from the ruching - it still looked amazing!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
I kept getting questions on where I got my dress. I was all too happy to tell them about RTR.
Fit is true to size and zipped up perfectly. The style was really flattering as well. The only negative I found with it was the fit of the shoulders. Regardless of size, they always seemed to pull upwards and dig into my underarms. That may be due to my own body shape though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Beautiful
Runs true to size, beautiful red color very stylish wore to a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2012
Flattering sexy dress!!
I love this dress!! I wore it to a wedding that my boyfriend was the best man, and when he saw me his jaw dropped and said stunning!! If you have curves this dress is perfect. It hides flaws and gives you a great shape! The picture of the model does not give this dress justice, i only wish i took a better picture with me wearing itt This dress is so perfect in person!! This is a must rent!! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2012
I got so many compliments on the dress and it fit perfect!
This was my first RTR experience and it was great! The dresses came when I wanted, and the 8 fit like a glove. It was extremely flattering and I got so many compliments! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 7, 2012
This dress was perfect for the charity event I attended. It was forgiving and well made.
I loved the whole RTR experience. Dress was on time, packed nicely, as described. It just completely worked out.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2012
Really pretty and comfortable, lots of compliments
The zipper really stands out on the side. I found it a little tight in the hips, but not uncomfortable.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2012
Beautiful dress and very flattering
The dress does run small, so if you're not comfortable pulling it down all night long definitely size up or even two sizes up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear it because it was just too small :(
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2012
I was so nervous/anxious to rent, but it was PERFECT.
This dress was absolutely perfect. My boyfriend loved it and I could not have been happier with the fit. I ended up not having to wear a bra with it and it hugged in all the right places (even after an open bar and prime rib it was very comfortable BOOM)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 12, 2012
I looked like a celebrity. I never received so many compliments in my life.
Fit like it was made for me! Beautiful dress. The designer details were amazing. The dress contoured to my body. I never received so many compliments in my life. I wore a size 4, but I am usually a size 6. The size 6 wasn't available. The 4 fit just fine.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2012
gorgeous but size up if you are big busted
This dress really is amazing, beautiful fabric, very flattering cut. The size 4 would have been perfect had I not wanted to contain my boobs in the dress :/ It was too tight to zip up top. My back up size was a 2 so obviously that wouldn't help. Normally in this designer I'm a solid 4, but unfortunately it didn't work this time. I think the 6 would have fit up top and still fit on bottom b/c of the stretchy fabric. In all, very nice, I'll definitely rent this dress again but in the bigger size. RTR was great to do an exchange for my party though, thanks RTR!!!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
I ordered this dress for a class reunion; unfortunately, I never got to wear it.
I ordered a size 4 and 6, but even the larger size wouldn't zip up past the waist. I'm thin but have a healthy-sized chest. No time to exchange it before the party. Very sad, because it looks like a gorgeous dress!!
RTR CustomerDecember 27, 2012
Hi Kim! So sorry this rental did not work out for you, next time be sure to give a stylist a call so we can make sure you get the perfect fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
January 3, 2013
Compliments all night long!!
I rented this dress for my company holiday party, and I have to say this might be one of my absolute favorites. The fit was amazing, emphasizing what should be emphasized and downplaying what shouldn't. A few notes: I was pretty nervous looking at the size 0 on the hanger - it looked TINY and I had my doubts about fit. But clearly it expands and fits like a dream! The dress acts as its own spanx/control top, but not in an "I can't breathe" kind of way. I was able to eat, drink, and move around the venue without any issue. The red is a bit brighter than it appears on the model, but it's still a great choice for the holiday season. The asymmetrical neckline adds some extra pizzazz to an already outstanding dress. All evening long I had coworkers and significant others telling me they loved my dress! And those who I had told about RTR before were tickled to see it in action.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 5, 2013
I wore it to a wedding and got numerous compliments. I felt great in this dress!
My only regret is not renting a necklace to wear with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 7, 2013
Confident "Lady in Red" ; Great color for the holidays!
Chose this for my husband's company holiday party. I ordered it in a 2 & 4. Usually 2 works well for me but I ended up wearing the 4. The other reviews hold true regarding the zipper. It was difficult to zip in my regular size. But going up an extra size, it was a cinch. I also preferred to wear the longer length in size 4 since the crowd was more on the conservative side. It looks sexy yet classy. The dress photographs beautifully & appears a little darker in pictures. The fabric is thick & can add curves to more petite ladies. In terms of my preference, the only small "con" was the amount of ruching on the dress. I know ruching can help dresses be more forgiving but I also like clean lines. Accessories: I wore it with the Nicole Miller Starlite star bright necklace which was recommended by a stylist. Originally, I ordered the mystery bling but when I checked online to see if my rental was shipped, I saw the earrings that were going to be shipped. It was a Badgley Mischka blue Ice Crystal earrings which I was afraid would be too overpowering for me & wasn't keen on adding another color to the look. They canceled the mystery bling before the whole order shipped & ordered the Nicole Miller necklace which went Perfectly with the dress & shoes. Kudos to RTR customer service. If you want to be the Lady in Red, don't hesitate to try this one. You'll receive compliments galore!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 26, 2013
This dress is amazing! I didn't want to send it back!
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress. I wore this the night I got engaged and this dress made the evening even more memorable. My fiancé wanted to buy it for me! This dress fits like a glove. It is well-lined and the ruching hugs your body in a very flattering way. I normally wear a size 0 or 2, so I ordered both and ended up wearing the 0, but could have worn the 2 as well. It just depends how snug you want the dress to fit. I would definitely rent this dress again. I'm probably a bit older than many of the women who rent from Rent the Runway, and this is one of the dresses that is flattering regardless of your age.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2013
Beautiful Dress!!!!
Gorgeous deep red color! I wore this to a Valentine's party, my husband absolutely loved it. The dress is form fitting, enhances existing curves and is very flattering. There is a lot of stretch to the dress, initially I thought I wouldn't be able to zip it but was able to with my husband's assistance. Even though it was form-fitting, it was still comfortable enough to dance in for hours. I received a number of compliments on it, one stranger even asked for me to take a picture with his wife, she loved it so much. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Compliments all night!
Fit perfectly, hugged every curve like most ruched Nicole Miller Dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2013
A great dress that is forgiving and flattering!
I loved this dress and recieved many compliments on it! The color is very vibrant and the ruching would work for many figure types. The fabric is thick and of good quality. You'll love it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×