Nicole Miller

Lady In Waiting Gown

$80 rental
$960 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
685 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(523)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
November 13, 2015
This wasn't my first choice but so glad it worked out because I got so many compliments on this gown
I ordered a 4L and it was perfect! I would of liked maybe a little bit longer but I didn't wear heals. With heals it may not be long enough for you. It shows off all your curves. If you are busty like me it's just enough coverage that it's sexy and not trashy at all. Photographs differently than what it looks in person. It's more dark navy blue . Perfect for a military ball.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2015
Received tons of compliments!
I am 5'4 and decided on the long because I have long legs, it is the perfect length with a pair of heels and mine were not that high. The dress is slightly stretchy which is why I was able to wear a size 2 instead of my usual size 4, which wasn't available. If you are looking for an elegant, classy, but still sexy dress. This is the one. I would rent it again! Also, perfect for the Marine Corp ball, matches the uniform very well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 12, 2015
Found this dress last minute at the NYC showroom and fell in love.
I'm about 5'10, 150 lbs and wore a size 8. This dress was the perfect length, fit my body beautifully and covered any imperfections. I'm sure it would flatter an array of body shapes.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
November 10, 2015
How I felt in the gown and the compliments I received
It was all I hoped to be and more, fit in all the right places and curves. Found a new love: Nicole Miller dresses
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 9, 2015
Wonderful dress, excellent customer service!
I got this dress rushed after my 1st choices sent were too short. I wish I would have picked this one first! Unbelievably comfortable, it was like wearing fancy pjs. I wore with a bustier, to push the girls up and suck in the tummy. The only negative was that I am 5'6" and it barely touched the floor. So be aware, this is not for tall girls! I wore this dress to a military ball, and ended up running into a girl with the same dress who had RTR too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 9, 2015
Super Sexy & Fits Like a Glove!
This dress was very beautiful; it made me feel like a vixen! The fabric is stretchy so the dress was super comfortable. I'm 5'5" & the regular was the perfect length. This was actually RTRs pick for me, my original dress did not get returned on time. I wore this over the dress I originally picked for myself. This dress is super sexy and fits like a glove. Loved it!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
November 8, 2015
Best gown I've ever worn!
This is, by far, the best gown I've ever worn! I loved the snugness of it while it still fitting very comfortably. I'm between a size 6 and 8 right now, the 6L fit perfectly with kitten heels except for the 'armpit boob' area, if you will. But, that was easily remedied by pulling up the gown every now and again. I bought Spanx to wear with it as I was nervous about my outer thigh area, however, the Spanx made things more bumpy and the gown fit perfectly without them. My backup dress, size 8L, had different buttons on the back/top lace and we were unable to refasten them, so luckily the 6L worked. It was sad to have to return it, I will definitely rent this gown again for another event :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 1, 2015
Perfect for a gala I was working. Easy to move around in.
I wore this to a black tie gala for work and it was perfect! Fits true to size and very easy to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34B
October 30, 2015
black tie wedding on a orchid farm
loved the scalloped lace around the neck which looked great with hair up. dress was fitted but had plenty of give that it wasn't restrictive. I am 5'7 and the regular length was perfect with 4 inch heels. I ended up wearing 3in heels and it dragged slightly. It is a very easy to dance and move around in and it stays up easily with the halter design. Only downside was the fringe was slightly worn and the lace neck a bit stretched (so it didn't lay flat on my back but bulged slightly). probably not an issue for someone with a fuller chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 29, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress! I wish I had it in my closet permanently.
This fit like a glove. It was stretchy so it worked with my curves. The lace was absolutely beautiful. It is way prettier in person, I receive so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 26, 2015
Gorgeous and comfortable
So many compliments. The dress was very flattering & comfortable - stretchy in the hips. Great coverage but very feminine.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
October 25, 2015
Absolutely beautiful dress that fit like a glove.
Dress runs true to size, could have been a little shorter but nothing the right heels couldn't fix.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
October 23, 2015
This dress made me feel like a million bucks!
I couldn't have loved this dress more.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2015
Very pretty with the lace and cut-out back. Form-fitting and elegant.
I'm 5'10" and the long worked perfectly with a low heel.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 20, 2015
The dress worked perfectly for the black tie wedding that I went to.
The dress really fit perfectly, my only tiny complaint was that i kept having to pull it down, but otherwise it was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 20, 2015
This dress was both fitted and flattering!
I had to pin down the straps as I'm somewhat flat chested and there was some extra material for the lace straps.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
October 20, 2015
Wore this to a black tie preferred wedding.
Gorgeous dress, gorgeous fit. I felt amazing and got tons of compliments. Wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect (I'm only 5'4" so was worried it might be too long). Material has plenty of give but remained fitted throughout. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 19, 2015
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding!
This dress is really flattering! The 2R fit well and it was very comfortable the entire evening.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
October 16, 2015
Fun, black tie wedding party in England.
Awesome dress. Wore this to a black tie wedding of my boyfriend's childhood friend, where I knew no one (and was the only American). However, I got so many complements and felt great wearing it. The lace gives it an elegant look and I loved the unique shoulders / neckline. Extra bonus, for anyone who is packing their dress / traveling to their event, it's a stretchy, forgiving material (but looks high quality and is flattering when worn), which was perfect as I had to pack it for the overseas flight to England. Came out of my carry on without even a wrinkle! One note: (very) high heels are a must or you'll be tripping and lifting all night. When I got home, a number of my friends who'd seen the photos on Facebook even asked me where I got the dress / told me how great it looked - and they weren't even there!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 15, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent this again
This dress was literally the most perfect dress I have ever worn. It was form fitting yet forgiving in problem areas, and at 5'4, I was able to wear short heels or flats and it was perfect either way with the regular length. I felt amazing wearing this dress. Side note, RTR rush delivered this dress to me on a Saturday after I frantically called them on Friday at 3pm that the previous dress I ordered did not fit. RTR is amazing, and I can't wait to rent more from them!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 12, 2015
The event was a black tie wedding for my nephew, I had to have something more then just the LBD!
Was very unsure about the dress when I first put it on, but had no other option at that point! As the night went on and the compliments kept rolling in I grew to love the dress! It really did make me feel special! All in all I would recommend this dress and RTR to anyone!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
October 8, 2015
Gorgeous dress - felt like a million bucks!
The 10L fit but was a little short. I am 5'11" and wanted to wear 3" heels. So I went with the 12L. The dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments. I can't wait to try another one next time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2015
Very pretty formal dress
The dress is a great length and a different neck line. It's very formal, so it's good for a Black tie affair especially in the colder weather since the dress is "heavy", but nothing less than that. You don't need to do much as far as accessories. Just throw it on and go - which is a pro in my book.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 55
October 2, 2015
The dress was perfect.
The dress fitted my figure perfectly, it is very fitting and looked gorgeous. I have a very slim figure and so hugged in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 30, 2015
luv it!
Got this dress as a back up, was a little hesitant at first due to the curve hugging style but it turn out so pretty! The dress was very comfy! The lace was not heavy at all and there's a spanx like layer underneath that makes it stretchy. I felt so glamorous in it! Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
September 26, 2015
Perfect for an elegant, formal wedding!
I ordered a size 8 and 10 for backup. I could have fit in a 6. It was a little loose, but overall looked great. It was very stretchy, and comfortable. I felt very sexy in it and I loved the lace detail on the straps. Since I am smaller on top, the straps were a little bit big on me. My only complaint was the material looked a little worn up close- like it had been snagged on things. Not a big deal, because you could only tell up close.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2015
A formal event in Chicago that went very well thanks to Rent the Runway.
This dress fit very nicely. The only issue as a shorter woman is that the should straps were a tad too long. Very nice dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 69
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2015
So happy I wore this dress
This dress has enough stretch that I could wear the 8 rather than 10 (I have a Nicole Miller in 12, so was concerned I had ordered the wrong sizes). It was a bit darker than I'd expected, but definitely had a midnight blue tone---another reason I was glad to have chosen it since blue seemed to be the popular color for dresses at this wedding. My only disappointment was the lace straps in the back which seemed to have too much material to fit snugly against my back. But, who really noticed!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2015
Beautiful
I didn't wear this dress as it was a size too large for me. It was sent as a backup chosen by RTR, as my alternative backup size was unavailable. If it had fit though, I'm sure it would have looked great.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 21, 2015
Black tie elegant! Tons of compliments
Very soft, form fitting fabric. I wore spanxx as I wanted to minimize any lumps and bumps, but it did a great job of accentuating the good while hiding the bad!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
September 19, 2015
I looked awesome and got TONS of compliments
Runs long so you will need high heels, if you are 5 3 or shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2015
Elegant dress for a formal event
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. It made me feel so classy and elegant. I wore my regular dress size (4) and it fit like a glove. It was so comfortable to wear. I received many compliments. My favorite part was the back of the dress, so I recommend wearing your hair up. It was my favorite RTR dress so far!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 6"
September 16, 2015
This dress is very comfortable and so easy to move in. I received so many compliments on this dress!
There were a few fuzzies and strings hanging from the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2015
My fiance kept telling me how amazing I looked in this dress.
The fit is perfect, as most Nicole Miller dresses have stretch in them to hug lady lumps. I am typically between a 10 and a 12, and the 10L fit nicely, however it didn't seem as long as it should be (I am 5'7" and you can definitely see my shoes when I wear this dress). This was actually a replacement dress as my original choice came back to the warehouse damaged and they couldn't rent it to me. The consultant, Jamie T, was very sweet and helpful and sent two replacement dresses to make sure I had a dress for the wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
September 13, 2015
Overall very pleased.
The dress was gorgeous, fit in all the right places. I received SO many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2015
Didn't end up wearing.
Very loose fit and stretchy material, could have gone 2 sizes smaller. Gorgeous dress otherwise
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 55
August 4, 2015
I recently lost about 15 lbs and this dress showed off my figure.... and people noticed!
I loved the dress and received so many compliments. If you looked up close -- the dress looked worn in some places. The Long length was perfect -- wearing 2 /1/2 "heels. I wore the 10L instead of the 8L - because the 8 was tight in the bust.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
August 3, 2015
Beautiful gown - would have worn if it fit
I ordered a long - and couldn't pull it off even with 6" heels. Beautiful dress - fit like a glove.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2015
Beautiful dress! Glad that the original dress I ordered didn't fit!
Ordered another dress that I picked up in the store and thank goodness I tried it on because it did not fit. The stylist at the store bought me this dress to try on and I was very happy with it. I wore this for an evening wedding and it was great. It has stretch in the material which I did need. I am on medication so I have a lot of bloating going on and I am top heavy 36DD so the stretch in the dress was perfect and necessary. You can wear one of the halter bras with this dress so you can have support. Beautiful. This dress is supposed to be a 12L, I am short so I don't know if this is the correct dress for you if you are tall, because I also wore flats with this. Serious flats, a pair of Coach loafers so if you are tall and have on heels I am not sure how the dress is going to fall. I received a lot of compliments, continued to receive compliments from pics online. Even my father was sad to see the dress go, he said oh you didn't buy it. I am now tempted to buy this gorgeous dress. Rent it, rent it a million times. Great color and very comfortable. Thank you Rent the Runway!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2015
I wasn't even considering a long dress dude to my body shape and weight. This dress fit me perfectly
This dress was amazing. It fit so well and people were complimenting my dress all night.
See more reviews:
4 / 18
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×