Nicole Miller

Lady In Waiting Gown

$246 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
711 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(543)
Small
(24)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2013
The back was great!
The dress was great! I loved the fit and look! The dress was more worn than I would have liked, but the lighting was dark and I don't think anyone noticed. The chest seemed stretched out and I had to tape up the back. I wore it to a Marine Corps Ball and there were two other people with the same dress. Overall I liked the dress, and would rent from RTR again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
November 23, 2013
Perfect Wedding dress!
Super flattering and fit me perfectly! I got a ton of compliments and I felt very glam, highly recommend renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 24, 2013
Amazing Gown!
This was my first RTR experience and everything was perfect, the dress arrived on time and I loved how organized everything came, very well packed and that the dresses were in perfect condition. I wore this to a formal wedding and it was perfect. The dress has a lot of stretch so it hugs your curves, it is more of a navy not a royal blue. It comes out royal blue in pictures with flash. The dress is also very comfortable to dance in. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 24, 2013
Beautiful & Comfortable - maybe a bit short
This dress photographed beautifully! I wore it for a formal wedding. The lace is very stretchy, so although it is quite tight, it is comfortable. I rented the regular length, but I thought it was a bit short. Even wearing tiny 2" heels, the dress didn't quite reach the floor. If you are my height/size and plan to wear tall heels, probably order the longer length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2013
Perfect dress!
Fit like a glove (the material fits tight, but stretches), and received so many compliments! The color is much brighter in person, and the dress was extremely comfortable. Perfect for fall/ winter black tie!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 25, 2013
Dress looked great, beautiful shade of blue, very flattering fit
Fit well, very comfortable to wear
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 26, 2013
Elegant yet sexy!
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's Marine Corps ball this month. I wanted something that would make a good impression on all his co-worker's by being classy, yet let me have a little sex appeal. This dress definitely did the trick, get ready for a ton of compliments. The color is more blue than the pictures show, and fits all the right places. I thought about wearing spanks but there was no need it was so fitted. If you are thinking about ordering this dress, don't think, just do it! You won't regret it. I will say that after reviewing the pictures I think it looks best with an up-do, and that is the route I chose to take as well.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2013
Perfect dress and great service! I will definitely rent from RTR again.
I rented the dress for a military ball. The dress arrived on Thursday night so I had time to try it on and make sure it fit and was what I expected for the Saturday night event. The size 6R dress fit perfectly, and it was very comfortable. I was a little worried about the length as I am 5'2", but I wore 5" heels which made the dress exactly floor length. I got quite a few compliments on the dress and several people asked me where I got it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
November 30, 2013
BEAUTIFUL , ELEGANT, GIRLY, YET SEXY AND FIT LIKE A GLOVE!
My mom chose this dress when we went to an appointment at the Henri Bendel location. Not only were the RTR girls delightful, but they helped us through the whole process. My appointmentt was Wednesday, They even made sure my dress was here in time for a #whitefridaywedding the day after Thanksgiving! The dress was gorgeous! The fit, The lace detail, The flirty flare at the bottom and The sexy neckline. I was complimented the entire night on how stunning I was. I would recommend this to any woman who wants to feel beautiful. XO RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2013
Beautiful Blue Dress
This dress was perfect for a red carpet event. It does run big, I usually wear a 4 and it keep pulling down, I wished I ordered a 2. Amazing fit, had a great time dancing the night away, very comfortable material.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2013
Fantastic dress! EVERYONE came up to compliment me on it. It was easy to wear, easy to dance in.
wonderful fit, true to fit, stretchy, easy to move in
RhondaFebruary 5, 2014
did you wear a reg or long?
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2013
Got Compliments All Night!!
I rented this dress for a formal event at my husband's workplace. It was beautiful. The dress was classy and sexy in equal bits. And color was amazing, it stood out in the sea of black evening gowns that everyone else was wearing. I got tons of compliments the whole night. The only problem was the length of the dress. Even with 3" heels, the dress kept dragging on the floor and was a problem while we were dancing. Overall the experience was great.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
December 3, 2013
Dress shows off all the right curves!
I felt great in the dress and got compliments all evening long. Would rent and wear again!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
December 4, 2013
Glamorous and Comfortable
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. The fit was true to size, but the length was a tad bit too long for me. It's a comfortable stretchy dress that hugs your curves yet is very flattering. The lacework is beautiful and the color is a gorgeous navy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2013
It was a perfect dress for a perfect night!
The wedding I attended was basically a reunion for all the girls I went to college with, and I got nothing but compliments from the whole crowd all night! I ordered the 4 and the 6 since I am usually somewhere right in the middle. the 4 fit a bit snug but the 6 fit perfect! I am a tad short, so I had 4 inch heels and the dress was right to the floor. The dress was light enough to dance the whole night away, too! It was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 4, 2013
The dress was perfect for the wedding I was attending
The dress fit true to size. The length was perfect - I am 5'6" and I wore 4 inch heels and the length of the lace hit perfectly. I got tons of compliments in this dress - the fit and the back looked great. Highly recommend for a black tie wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2013
I got compliments from strangers all night on my dress!
I had originally ordered a Monique Lhuillier dress in two sizes and the Nicole Miller dress as my backup. I'm so glad I ordered this along with my order because this dress is absolutely AMAZING! It hits you correctly on every part of your curves (wear spanx if you have tummy rolls or want a smooth look to your body)! This dress is super easy to move/dance in; I wore a strapless bra from Victoria's Secret. The only reason I'm giving 4 stars for my RTR experience is because the dress had an uneven hem when I received it (the right part of the hem was longer than the left). Other than that, I loved this dress and didn't want to return it. Thank you, RTR for offering some beautiful dresses at a reasonable price; I'll definitely be using you guys again for my events!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
December 5, 2013
Such an elegant dress and very comfortable.
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding and loved it. I usually wear a size 4 but the size 2 actually fit better. The 2 was longer and was a little bit looser in the chest. I wore 5 inch heels and the dress just barely hit the floor. I would definitely wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 6, 2013
The look on my boyfriend's face!
I didn't want to send this one back. Incredibly flattering and perfect for Marine Corps Ball. Also super comfortable: I wore it to the ball and then out on Bourbon Street in New Orleans until 5 am and never once felt uncomfortable. This dress is absolute perfection. I ordered an 8L and a 10L and I'm normally a 10L. The 8L was a little snug and the 10L was perfect. I'm 5"10 and the dress just grazed the ground perfectly.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 8, 2013
Gorgeous Dress!
I am so glad I picked this dress for my husband's military ball. It is stretchy so it helps with movement size. It is very forgiving! I really liked the color and I would recommend getting a Long for the dress. I am only 5'5" and even though the 4R fit better….for length of the dress, I wore the 6L. I think this dress is very classy and I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2013
Felt so elegant and beautiful in this dress and was showered with compliments all night!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's office Christmas party and it was the first time I tried Rent the Runway. I found the customer reviews to be incredibly helpful when choosing my dress and was happy I listened to them and ordered my usual size (4) but also the next size down (2) because the dress does run slightly big so the 2L fit me perfectly. I also liked that the dress had enough support naturally that I didn't need to find a special bra to wear with it and could just go bra-less. My only complaint would be that the dresses had an odd smell when I first opened them, but I hung them in the bathroom overnight with the fan on and that aired them out. Not sure if it's the cleaning solution they use or what, but it was strong enough that I felt it was worth mentioning. Aside from that, I was incredibly happy with Rent the Runway and absolutely loved this dress! My boyfriend was so in love with how I looked in the dress and I received so many compliments all night. I felt like the most beautiful girl in the room! I would absolutely recommend this service to other women, and did all night at the party! Can't wait to use them again for my next big event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
December 9, 2013
Long, GORGEOUS dress
I LOVED this dress. Its true to size and it hugs your curves. I'm 5'8 and I ordered a 12L and the dress touched the floor and hid my shoes. I definately recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2013
Dress was form fitting, simple and elegant.
Only dislike was the lace material on dress was frayed in some areas. Would had been 5 star gown if the material laid flat. This may had been from prior wear on the dress. I liked the stretch in the bust area as I have a difficult time finding a dress (especially when not wearing a bra) that will fit without showing too much cleavage.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 10, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it
Fit nicely - was stretchy & hugged curves in the right places - the rouching was very flattering in the back. I'm 5'8" and the regular was long enough w/regular heels. The cap sleeves were not flattering and made it look like I had a lot of arm fat (which I don't think I do!) so that's why I didn't wear it. Too bad, it's a gorgeous dress, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2013
Beautiful! Perfect for a black tie wedding!
Beautiful dress! Perfect for a black tie wedding. Comfortable (runs a little big, very stretchy fabric, roomy in bust). Lots of compliments. Very flattering. Color is beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 15, 2013
Elegant & Comfortable!
Fun to dance the night away!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
December 16, 2013
Very beautiful and comfortable
I am 4'11", and I wore 3 inch heels and the size zero. The bottom was touching the floor but not to the point where it looked way too long. Like the others I had to pin down the top. This dress is fitted but it's not tight (it shouldn't be anyway), and it was so easy to dance in. I got lots of compliments throughout the night. This dress looks good on just about every body so I highly recommend it. It is a truly beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, but top runs small if you're large in the bust
I rented the size 4R and the 6R for my work Holiday Party at the Smithsonian Portrait Gallery in Washington DC. Ladies, be warned, if you're larger than a D in the chest, this dress is going to run a bit tight on you in the upper area. The dress itself was beautiful though. I received so many compliments, but I was self-conscious most of the evening because of how tight it was on my breasts. (I'm self-conscious about these things. I'm small and large-busted.) The 4 and the 6 are pretty indistinguishable in size to be honest, both fit me fine everywhere except the chest. The dress does run a little short, so if you're planning to wear high heels, get the long size. The dress also runs tight, and is fitted all the way through. So spanx may be in order for some of you ladies. This is a really lovely dress. It's perfect for a formal event for sure.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2013
I felt so pretty
This dress fit so well, made me feel so girly and pretty. I am already trying to think of another reason to rent this beautiful dress. Was pretty comfortable as well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 14, 2013
I loved it, I received alot of compliments :)
It fit Perfect :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 14, 2013
too big!
If you're a true zero, you can't wear this dress. huge!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2013
HUGGED MY CURVES PERFECTLY!
I felt like a million bucks in this dress and got compliments all evening long. The color is gorgeous and the material is a high-quality stretch that offers a lot of give and hugged me in all of the right places. Most importantly, it was extremely comfortable and easy to move in. I typically wear a size 4 in everyday clothes, however, the size 0 regular fit beautifully. I tried this dress in a size 0 regular at the Rent the Runway showroom and found it to be too long (even with 4 inch heels), however, the 0 regular that I received in the mail was just the right length for me. I guess there is some length variability. I accessorized with the Crystal Petals Necklace by Kate Spade New York Accessories and the Grey Marabou Capelet by Adrienne Landau. They looked fabulous together!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 23, 2013
My daughter felt so beautiful on the night of the SF Cotillion!!!
This dress is stunning. The neckline is a winner and really flatters any body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 24, 2013
Beautiful elegant dress
I'm 5'4" and my weight is typically between 115-120. I typically wear a size 4 but the 2R fit me perfectly. However, this dress is very long. I wore 4 inch heels to keep the hem from dragging on the floor. I wore this to a wedding, and ate a lot of delicious food - the fabric is stretchy so even at the end of the night it still fit very well
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2013
beautiful color, elegant and sexy dress!
Very comfortable all night! Recommended! Once again thank RTR team.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 2, 2014
Beautiful…
I didn't wear this dress to my event but, it was hard to choose. The lace was soft and very comfortable. I wish I could have worn two dresses!! LOL Amazing dress. Highly recommend.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
January 3, 2014
Gorgeous!
Beautiful, comfortable, formfitting dress. I felt like a million bucks! Only problem was another girl wore the same dress to the wedding. I really think that RTR should consider allowing users to sign out dresses for particular events so that this doesn't happen in the future.
RTR CustomerMarch 3, 2014
Great idea on saying which event you're going to!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
January 8, 2014
Scene Stealer!
This is my second RTR experience, and I think I may give up buying dresses forever. This dress has won countless compliments, and looks way more fussy than it actually is. I'm pretty bottom heavy, and this dress had plenty of room for curves. If you're in the 5'6" range, like me, this dress runs tall so be sure to have 3+ heels if you get the regular. I will say that the color is sensitive to light, in that the blue can be quite bright in a well lit room. Even so, this dress will definitely earn you compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2014
Black Tie/Red Carpet Affair PERFECTION!
This dress was amazing and so comfortable! I wore it to the Palm Springs International Film Festival Awards Gala (a black tie affair), and received so many compliments. It's super flattering and the back lace details were my absolute favorite! I wore my hair up, just so the back was showing. I would say it's pretty true to size and length. I fit into the size 6R, but the bust was just a little too tight (with a strapless bra), so I went with the 8R just to be comfortable. The regular length was fine, as it hit the floor just perfectly, I believe I was wearing 3" heals. You will NOT go wrong renting this dress! I would give it 5 stars if there was an option.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 9, 2014
Tons of compliments of this gorgeous dress!
I'm a fan of Nicole Miller, but of course, her designs don't always fit in my budget. So I was ecstatic to see some NM stuff on RTR. This dress is a dark navy blue color that would look good on anyone. The lace is so soft and luxurious, I felt like a million bucks! The lace straps & back add so much sophistication to this dress. I wore 3-inch heels and the "short" size was still pretty long, so I'd suggest taller shoes, if you're 5'2". Lastly, it fits pretty snugly, so wear those tummy-hugging SPANX.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×