Nicole Miller

Lady In Waiting Gown

$135 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
730 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(557)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2015
Looked very nice in warm lighting and with my red hair

I am 5'2" and it was definitely too long, even though I picked the short version. With 2 1/2 inch heels, it was barely wearable (still hit the floor), and I had to be very careful not to step on it. Looked great though, and I got a lot of compliments. I loved the lace and the drape.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2015
The dress makes the event.

This dress if very fitting yet is composed of stretchy material. Normally I would have been a size 8R but because of the stretch I was able to fit the 6R. I also have very narrow shoulders so the top lace part was more fitted the smaller the dress size. I am very short but with the heels I wore (2.5-3inch) the hit the floor perfectly. I got my heels tied up in the bottom part a couple times whilst dancing or standing up from sitting. I wear a 34B/C cup and the breast area of the dress fit fine. It is a true navy blue. An all time classy dress for any formal occasion.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2015
Didn't end up wearing.

Very loose fit and stretchy material, could have gone 2 sizes smaller. Gorgeous dress otherwise

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 6"
September 16, 2015
This dress is very comfortable and so easy to move in. I received so many compliments on this dress!

There were a few fuzzies and strings hanging from the dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
September 26, 2015
Perfect for an elegant, formal wedding!

I ordered a size 8 and 10 for backup. I could have fit in a 6. It was a little loose, but overall looked great. It was very stretchy, and comfortable. I felt very sexy in it and I loved the lace detail on the straps. Since I am smaller on top, the straps were a little bit big on me. My only complaint was the material looked a little worn up close- like it had been snagged on things. Not a big deal, because you could only tell up close.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 27, 2016
The dress was incredible! The style I originally rented was damaged and I was given a credit. Great!

I fit in the 10, but the 12 felt more comfortable. I had a great time at the wedding and got a million compliments!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
April 19, 2016
i wore this to an adult "prom" and got so many compliments. i loved the dress and felt gorgeous!

i ordered this in 8L and a 6L as backup, after reading some of the reviews. (i suspect i'd normally wear an 8 in formal attire.) for some reason the 6 didn't come, so i ended up wearing the 8. but because it had stretch, i think i would've preferred the size down so it was a little tighter. i am 5'10" and ordered the long and it was perfect. i am wearing heels of about 3" in the photos. the only criticism i have of this dress is that the black doesn't stand out over the blue in a low-light setting. so pics in low lighting don't look as good.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 4, 2013
I usually wear a size 2. I ordered a 0 as my additional size. The 0 hugged the curves just right!

I had been searching for the perfect dress to wear to a formal dinner where my husband and I were going to have the opportunity to meet Gen. Colin Powell. My cousin told me about RTR. I fell in love with this dress as soon as I saw it! I was skeptical to rent since it is often difficult for me to find dresses that fit my petite frame. If it didn't fit, I would have wasted time and money! In addition, it was Tuesday night and the dinner was Friday night! I was afraid it wouldn't arrive on time. I decided to take a chance and I am glad I did. UPS had the dress at my door Thursday afternoon. The 2 fit but I decided to wear the 0 because it hugged my curves perfectly. Unless you are close to 6 ft, do not order a long. The regular was perfect for me. I was wearing 3'' heels and it still swept the floor. This dress was comfortable and elegant. I received numerous compliments. I Ioved how easy the ordering and return process was. I would definitely order from RTR again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
July 15, 2013
Gorgeous Dress

After reading the reviews on this dress, I was so excited to wear this to an upcoming black tie wedding...and it did not disappoint. The dress is stunning, fitted in all the right areas. I am normally a size 4, but ended up wearing the size 2 - as it does run a bit large and the style is meant to be fitted, so I preferred the size 2 on. I also ordered the 2L, as I am 5'7 and wore a 4 inch heel. The length was perfect. The straps were a little large, but nothing that was obvious to anyone but me. I received many compliments and felt absolutely beautiful in it. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because the dress was slight worn - some of the lace was frayed and there was a small hole in the fabric near the zipper - again nothing that was noticeable other than to me who was really looking at the dress closely. Overall, I would recommend this dress - it is a show stopper! I am instantly a huge fan of RTR, and don't think I will ever buy a dress again! Who needs to with RTR?

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 11, 2013
I loved this dress! I wore it to a prom and it was great for the occasion.

It's sort of hard to tell the real color online, but I would characterize it as a deeper royal blue. When I got the dress, I noticed it didn't fit my waist very well, so I added a navy ribbon to help cinch the waist a little more and it worked out perfectly. It was long enough to wear heels (even on the regular version). I would highly recommend this dress and am considering renting it again!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Weight: 115lbs
February 23, 2014
Perfect fit & most comfortable dress I've ever worn! I loved the stretchy material & Nicole Miller!

I definitely needed to wear the 0L, as the 0R was way too short & the heels I wore were only about 2 1/2 inches. I loved my experience with RTR & can't wait to order again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
March 25, 2014
First time user.

Stretchy, so perfect for my large chest (32/34 DDDD). I was able to wear a bra with straps as well which was really nice. I tried size 8L, 6L, and ultimately went with 4L for best coverage.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
This dress! I received so many compliments on it. It was absolutely wonderful!

The fit was ok. It was a little loose in the shoulders and I had a bit of extra room through the torso even though i wore the 0. The length was good. I'm 5'7" and wore 4 inch heels so it was good. I absolutely loved the neckline on this dress, the fabric, and the small amount of back it showed. Perfect for my company holiday party! Wish I could keep such a beautiful item, but RTR gave me the chance to feel beautiful in something so luxurious!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 26, 2014
It was comfortable yet I felt so glamorous ! Loved it

Dress is very long. I'm 5.91/2 and the long was almost too long in my highest heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
December 16, 2014
Dress is stunning.

This dress is beautiful. Runs a little large. I probably would have fit the 8R perfect. LOVED this dress. Looks stunning on. Lots of compliments all night. The blue is a deep royal blue. Beautiful lace all over. I'm 5'4" and the length was still a little long with 3 1/2 inch heels on. Dress was comfortable to wear and easy to dance in. Love the way it just flows when you walk in it. Almost bridal like (but in blue).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
December 20, 2015
Very glamorous and easy to wear.

The dress looks great and can be worn with a real bra. The dress does look a little worn when I first received it (the lace straps looks stretched out), but it does not show when worn or in photos. I wanted 0P but it was booked out on my desired dates, so i went with 0R which was a little too long even with 5 inch heels. I would order a size down if I could because the dress is very stretchy. I paired the dress with Care To Dance Necklace, which completes the outfit fabulously.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful dress!

The dress was gorgeous and classy. The only con was that it runs a little long for short ladies like me.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 27, 2013
Dress was gorgeous, hugged all my curves in the right places, even amplified my small bust.

Very long, I am 5'7" and I wore 5" heels and it was still a little too long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2013
I ended up getting this as a backup dress but it was a true toss up when I tried them both on!

This dress has a little stretch to it so while I usually wear a 6 the size 4 was really perfect for me and the 6 would not have hugged the way the dress is meant to. Very beautiful lace and the color is gorgeous in person.

Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2013
The dress received compliments all night! It was beautiful and fit like a glove.

Has a bit of stretch and is nice and long.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
December 24, 2013
Great dress!

I loved the dress, very pretty and comfortable! I rented both the 4 and 6. I actually ended up wearting the 4 because it was a better length. I'm 5'2", I wore 3 inch heals and the length was perfect! Would def use Rent the runway again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 2, 2014
Pretty dress but not for me

This is a very pretty dress but didn't really fit me well across the chest. It was a little too low on me but think a larger chested women would look great in it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 4, 2014
beautiful dress! very flattering fit

would recommend the long if you are going to wear heels!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2014
Marine Corps Ball!

I wore this for the 238th Marine Corps Ball. It's a really comfortable dress but if you're shorter in height the shoulder straps are too long and will keep moving around all night (or maybe my dress was just stretched out). The fabric is so comfortable and stretchy, I got some squats in before we left for the ball. It also looks a lot more blue in pictures!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2014
SO LONG!

The straps were so long they were falling off my shoulders. The dress was way too long but was very pretty and would have worked for someone taller. It bunched up in some weird ways but I think it was just too big for me in the waist .The picture doesn't do the blue/black lace justice, its a very pretty fabric.

Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2016
Beautiful color

Overall i loved this dress. It was very comfortable. Only issue that i had is the one that i originally ordered had a hole in the train. RTR was quick to ship another one out and this is what i got. No complaints! The straps were longer, like they had been stretched out.

Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
May 6, 2016
Dress is great - dark blue and photographs either blue or black depending on light.

Runs very large - I could fit into a 6, when I usually wear an 8/10 or even 12 sometimes. Be aware it's super stretchy and you should go 1 or 2 sizes down. I am 5'8" and with 4 inch heels the dress DID NOT touch the ground. I tend to favor more dramatic looks so this was a bit challenging, but it was still formal and pretty. Just FYI there won't be a train and for anyone taller than 5'10" this dress will be way too short. It makes it an easy long dress to dance in though. Material is super clingy and really flattering.. didn't require any kind of shapewear, and it was really comfortable. Probably would be less comfortable for more well-endowed individuals as it is very low-cut and you can't really wear a real bra with it.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 9, 2016
Lovely in Lace

This is one of 3 dresses I rented to choose from to wear to a formal wedding, and my first RtR experience. I joined the unlimited program so I had plenty of time to try on different dresses and so I could keep them a little longer since the wedding was out of state and we would be gone for a week. This dress fit great everywhere, except I did need to watch my posture and pull the front down a little lower than I preferred in order to keep the shoulder and back lace laying flat. It did arrive with some threads hanging and certainly wasn't in pristine condition, but that didn't take away from the overall beauty of the dress. My hubby loved it on me, but I ended up going with one of the other dresses I rented simply because I found out it was very similar to the bride's aunt's dress and thought it best to avoid matching any of the family.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2016
Love love love!

I rented this dress for a black tie wedding at an art museum. I got the 8L for length- it was a little big, but not too noticeable. I was comfortable all night long, even while dancing. I was so sad to return this dress because I loved it so much! I would definitely rent it again in the future.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2013
If you are a true 6, order the 10. This dress runs small.

Three of the four dresses are RTR. All of us are 6'0 and have on 3" heels. Had my oldest try dresses on at the fitting room in NY and picked the best fits. There are actually quite a few to choose from for 6'0 gals. This dress is worn by my very fit and athletic daughter. Thankfully we knew this dress ran small since my daughter had tried it on in NY. Other con: The lace shoulder strap gaps a bit on a smaller bust.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 10, 2013
This dress is so stunning.. Photos just don't do it justice. Perfect for a black tie event.

I went with a size 6 just because I have wider shoulders and bigger hips. The length was perfect when paired with 3.5 inch heels. Super comfy with give and I actually got away without wearing a bra! Double thumbs up!

LaurieOctober 10, 2013
What shoes would you wear with this?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
October 16, 2013
How many compliments I received! I felt like a princess.

It runs a bit small but maybe if you have a small chest, it is true to size.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
November 11, 2013
Excellent quick service for a gorgeous dress

This dress really is quite gorgeous. I ordered the 2 and 4. I'm just shy of 5'5", 119lbs and am usually a 0 or 2 in dresses, but Nicole Miller tends to fit differently on me. I tried on the size 2 and it fit perfect except in the chest, which was confining. The buttons on the lace were also impossible to close on my own. I wrestled for a few minutes and gave up. I switched to the 4 for the easier buttons, slightly roomier chest, and slightly longer length. My one "complaint" about the dress is that it runs short in my opinion. When I go to a formal affair, I prefer to wear 4-5" heels and that's what I had intended. With the length of this dress there was no way I could do that without looking ridiculous. I even felt like my 2.75" heels were a little high. That being said, I should have gotten the long length, not the regular. Ooops, one more complaint, 4 (FOUR!!!) other women were wearing the same dress at the same Ball in DC. Rather disappointing... Overall runs pretty true to size in the body, maybe slightly small. But the back lace part definitely felt loose/large. I would rent-the-runway again for sure!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2013
Perfect dress!

Fit like a glove (the material fits tight, but stretches), and received so many compliments! The color is much brighter in person, and the dress was extremely comfortable. Perfect for fall/ winter black tie!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2013
Beautiful dress, but top runs small if you're large in the bust

I rented the size 4R and the 6R for my work Holiday Party at the Smithsonian Portrait Gallery in Washington DC. Ladies, be warned, if you're larger than a D in the chest, this dress is going to run a bit tight on you in the upper area. The dress itself was beautiful though. I received so many compliments, but I was self-conscious most of the evening because of how tight it was on my breasts. (I'm self-conscious about these things. I'm small and large-busted.) The 4 and the 6 are pretty indistinguishable in size to be honest, both fit me fine everywhere except the chest. The dress does run a little short, so if you're planning to wear high heels, get the long size. The dress also runs tight, and is fitted all the way through. So spanx may be in order for some of you ladies. This is a really lovely dress. It's perfect for a formal event for sure.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 9, 2014
Tons of compliments of this gorgeous dress!

I'm a fan of Nicole Miller, but of course, her designs don't always fit in my budget. So I was ecstatic to see some NM stuff on RTR. This dress is a dark navy blue color that would look good on anyone. The lace is so soft and luxurious, I felt like a million bucks! The lace straps & back add so much sophistication to this dress. I wore 3-inch heels and the "short" size was still pretty long, so I'd suggest taller shoes, if you're 5'2". Lastly, it fits pretty snugly, so wear those tummy-hugging SPANX.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 14, 2014
Elegant, head-turning gown. Fits your body like a glove!

Absolutely loved this dress. It fit my body perfectly, hugging every curve. It's a very classy, elegant style. Simple cuts, but very flattering darts and incredible details. Indigo, but photographs a brighter blue. Definitely on my favorites list!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 26, 2014
Great event for the Brew City Bully Club annual gala! So fun to dress up.

This was my first RTR experience and it was a lot of fun. Loved the selection of dresses and how quickly they arrived. Also loved how easy it was to order, receive, and ship back. The biggest negative for me isn't really about the dress and more about the disappointment in my own figure (getting older kinda sucks!!) but this probably wasn't the best choice for my body type and size. Overall the dress was made of a very stretchy material which was comfortable but it is probably better for someone with a smaller chest. The bust area was a little too tight and made my chest look a little odd. Also, I have a shorter torso so the dress tended to gather at my mid back. I definitely have a bit of a belly and this dress didn't help hide it at all. Either way, I still had a lot of fun at the event and the dress was beautiful. I will definitely try RTR again hopefully with a better choice of dress for my body shape & size.

EileenFebruary 26, 2014
It looks great on you!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 1, 2014
I felt so beautiful in this elegant dress! I didn't want to return it!

The long wasn't as long as I had hoped. I was planning on wearing heels and I couldn't because it wasn't long enough.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 18, 2014
I rented this dress for a Marine Corps Ball. I received compliments all night!

loved this dress and felt beautiful. It is so elegant, and perfect for a formal event. I ordered this dress in an 8R and 10R (the 12 R was not available). I wore the 10R. The dress was form-fitting, and hugged all the right places. The dress was a good length with my 3 inch heels. The straps were a bit long and stretched out, but I was able to place a stitch to hold them in place. I felt the top seam was a little snug around my bust, but not uncomfortable.

See more reviews:
4 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×