Lady In Waiting Gown

$100 rental
$960 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
651 reviews
Fit
Large
(67)
True to Size
(510)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
September 13, 2015
Overall very pleased.
The dress was gorgeous, fit in all the right places. I received SO many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2015
Didn't end up wearing.
Very loose fit and stretchy material, could have gone 2 sizes smaller. Gorgeous dress otherwise
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 55
August 4, 2015
I recently lost about 15 lbs and this dress showed off my figure.... and people noticed!
I loved the dress and received so many compliments. If you looked up close -- the dress looked worn in some places. The Long length was perfect -- wearing 2 /1/2 "heels. I wore the 10L instead of the 8L - because the 8 was tight in the bust.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
August 3, 2015
Beautiful gown - would have worn if it fit
I ordered a long - and couldn't pull it off even with 6" heels. Beautiful dress - fit like a glove.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2015
Beautiful dress! Glad that the original dress I ordered didn't fit!
Ordered another dress that I picked up in the store and thank goodness I tried it on because it did not fit. The stylist at the store bought me this dress to try on and I was very happy with it. I wore this for an evening wedding and it was great. It has stretch in the material which I did need. I am on medication so I have a lot of bloating going on and I am top heavy 36DD so the stretch in the dress was perfect and necessary. You can wear one of the halter bras with this dress so you can have support. Beautiful. This dress is supposed to be a 12L, I am short so I don't know if this is the correct dress for you if you are tall, because I also wore flats with this. Serious flats, a pair of Coach loafers so if you are tall and have on heels I am not sure how the dress is going to fall. I received a lot of compliments, continued to receive compliments from pics online. Even my father was sad to see the dress go, he said oh you didn't buy it. I am now tempted to buy this gorgeous dress. Rent it, rent it a million times. Great color and very comfortable. Thank you Rent the Runway!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2015
I wasn't even considering a long dress dude to my body shape and weight. This dress fit me perfectly
This dress was amazing. It fit so well and people were complimenting my dress all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2015
Loved the dress. Super comfortable. Very flattering. <3
The dress is flattering. Received a lot of compliments. The comfort level allowed for dancing all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
July 19, 2015
Easy ordering, shipping and return! Can't wait to use RTR again!
Fits AMAZING and super comfortable but was shorter than I thought a long would be:(
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
July 15, 2015
Great dress!
Very comfortable & flattering! The lace overlay helps to mask problem areas, while still accentuating curves. I received lots of compliments on the dress all night long from friends and strangers.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
July 10, 2015
Finding a dress at the Las Vegas Showroom that I would have never chosen on my own. Great service!
Lucky to live in Las Vegas and made an appt at the shop to try on some dresses since I was going to be 6 months pregnant for the formal wedding we were attending. She pulled this dress, which I would have never picked out online and it was perfect!!!! Hugged in all the right places, super flattering color and made me feel great! Highly recommend as "bump friendly". They did send one extra size - 12R - which is the size I decided to wear just to give a little extra length in the front (I'm 5'4 and was 150ish lbs at the time - wore flats) My baby bump made it rise up a bit in the front. Just had to pin the extra fabric in the back/shoulders but because of the cut of the back that was super easy.. Loved everything about it! #bumpfriendly #blacktiewedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2015
Feeling good in my dress at my work event, crystal ball, was everything. This dress was perfect
I got so many compliments on this dress! I loved it!! I felt very sexy in it. It hugged my body in all the right places. The color was beautiful. I would wear this dress again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 8, 2015
Glamorous.
Forgiving, perfect fit, thanks to stretch. I got compliments all night. Great for those of us with some curvature.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2015
The dress makes the event.
This dress if very fitting yet is composed of stretchy material. Normally I would have been a size 8R but because of the stretch I was able to fit the 6R. I also have very narrow shoulders so the top lace part was more fitted the smaller the dress size. I am very short but with the heels I wore (2.5-3inch) the hit the floor perfectly. I got my heels tied up in the bottom part a couple times whilst dancing or standing up from sitting. I wear a 34B/C cup and the breast area of the dress fit fine. It is a true navy blue. An all time classy dress for any formal occasion.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 1, 2015
Loved it!
The dress looked amazing and got tons of compliments. It was extremely comfortable, especially considering how great it looked. I wore it to a formal (black tie) event at the university and it fit the occasion perfectly. The earnings they sent along (long silver with sapphires) matched beautifully. I was so sad to send it back! Oh, and I forgot to bring a dark bra tat day and didn't have time to go back home, so I wore it without a bra (I'm a C cup) and it still worked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2015
It fit great and I had a lot of compliments!
If you are more on the smaller bust size, this will most likely flatten a little, but it was still a great and beautiful dress for formal event!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2015
Looked very nice in warm lighting and with my red hair
I am 5'2" and it was definitely too long, even though I picked the short version. With 2 1/2 inch heels, it was barely wearable (still hit the floor), and I had to be very careful not to step on it. Looked great though, and I got a lot of compliments. I loved the lace and the drape.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
June 7, 2015
Lovely dress that is perfect for formal events
This dress is super cute! It's stretchy, but still fitted. The material was not irritating or scratchy like some lace dresses are. I tried the size 8L and 10L; since I knew the wedding I was attending was going to include a ton of dancing, I decided to go with the 10L since it seemed like I could move around more in that dress. That said, if I was not going to be dancing I could have comfortably worn the 8L as the material is really stretchy! The length was perfect as well—if you're tall, definitely go with the L! The only con was the dress smelled a little weird. Not like body odor, but perhaps it was from the cleaning materials used? Not a huge deal or anything ~ just something to be aware of. Keeping the dress out of the bag the day before the event helped! Also, the zipper on the 8L easily got stuck and the neck buttons were impossible to undo, compared to the 10L dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2015
Wore this for a military ball.
Received this because original dress order had a broken zipper. This dress was much nicer. Fit very nicely and was very comfortable. Hugged curves but had stretch, so wasn't constricting. Very elegant looking. I'm 5'8 and ordered 2L. Perfect fit with 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
June 5, 2015
Perfect dress for a Black Tie wedding
If you want to hide some of your mid section but still look long. lean and flatter your curves, this is the dress for you. Received endless complements and felt like my silhouette looked way better in this dress than ever before.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2015
Works as a maternity dress - wore at 35wks! The material is so stretchy and comfortable!
Definitely had to size up (usually wear a 4-6) but it was great over the belly while still giving a great silhoutte figure. The shoulder straps can be roomy bc of the sizing up but I just pinned it in the back and it was fine. The fit everywhere else was great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 27, 2015
Felt very pretty and was still really comfortable.
Dress held you in where you want to be held in. Very elegant. Was a little worn. Still received lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 21, 2015
The dress fit like a glove. If you have an hourglass shape, this dress will really complement you!
The dress hugs you in all the right places and provides enough support to keep everything in place. I highly recommend! I got tons of complements throughout the night too. Cons: my dress' lace was already worn out a little on a few spots. There were 2 snags that were quite obvious to me, but I made do.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 115
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 19, 2015
I got non stop compliments on the dress...it was gorgeous!
It's form fitting and shows off your curves (if you have them) LOL
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 19, 2015
GREAT DRESS WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
Was not my first choice but you emailed the day it was to ship that is was not available. You gave me some choices and I received this and 2 others (didn't fit). This fit perfect and my niece said it was a prefect dress for her wedding. Would recommend. Very comfortable and flatting. I will be back again Thanks,
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 15, 2015
Perfect dress for a perfect occasion
fits like a glove but highlight the good parts.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 14, 2015
Definitely and eye catching dress.. Comfortable and glamourous!
I would say this dress runs a little big simply because of the stretchiness of the fabric. I normally wear a 6 and fit into the 4 no problem. The 6 actually felt a little big. Either would've been fine. I absolutely loved the fit! It hugs all your curves in the right places. But, be forewarned, it doens't hide anything! I ended up wearing Spanx to just smooth everything out (as I've had two kids!). I am 5'4" and did wear heels, but felt like the dress was just a touch short. If you are over 5'6" I would def get the Long or if you want to wear really high heels. Pros: Good Fit, Comfortable, Elegant, Stylish Cons: A little short on the hem. I recieved so many compliments on this dress at our formal dinner event. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2015
Was so easy to wear and elegant. Compliments all night!
I loved that I could wear a regular bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 2, 2015
Perfect for Black-Tie Wedding
Dress was true to size. Material was thick, so definitely made up for form fitting nature of the dress. Straps were a smidge loose, but this could be attributed to potentially being stretched out? I just had to keep an eye on my bra not showing in the front. Tap would have been perfect for this, but I didn't think of it until it was too late. The Long was def. the right way to go (I'm 5'10"). Sadly, I did not get as many compliments as I had hoped (wth!). But, I felt good in the dress and felt like it was a departure from my usual style. Definitely worth renting.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2015
My daughter wore this dress for prom and got so many compliments!! Wanted to keep, but not for sale.
Perfect fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
April 29, 2015
This dress is classy, yet a little edgy. I received compliments all night!!
True to size and comfy all night! This dress is form-fitting and has some stretch to it. I would rent it again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2015
Great for our local hospital's biggest fundraiser
Great fit - didn't need the larger size! Recommend having spanx - the dress does cling to every curve. The only issue I had was that the straps at the back were loose - they could've been pinned for a better fit if I had the time. Overall, I loved this dress, and I received TONS of complements! I'm pretty tall, and the long version fit great with heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2015
The dress is more than I every expected! RTR was a pleasure!!
The dress I had originally ordered had been damaged or delayed in returning, So RTR sent me two replacement dresses. I was devastated. However the replacement dresses were stunning and the one I chose (see pics) fit like a glove and was even prettier than my original pick. RTR even sent accessories to make up for the substitution. This dress retailed significantly more than my pick, however they didn't charge me extra. Had I seen this dress in a department store I wouldn't have even made it into the dressing room (price was out of my budget as well as style on the hanger). Thank you for broadening my horizons! I would do RTR again in a heartbeat. All the dresses were in perfect shape, looked brand new!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 27, 2015
Beautiful, formal and attention grabber!
This was not my first choice dress. In fact, it was my 3rd. My other dresses were damaged so I sat on the phone with customer service for 45 minutes trying to find a dress still available (prom season apparently) but they sent this in 2 sizes and I ended up wearing the 8 because it fit my chest better than the 6. Its a beautiful color but just a tad too long for me-I'm only 5'1 and I wore 3 inch heels and I still had to pick it up to dance. It does emphasize your curves-so if you have a tummy, get some spanx on like I did :) But overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 26, 2015
beautiful in pictures!
this dress photographs beautifully. the straps are a little bit long, but the fabric is stretchy (and great to dance in) the underneath is silky light navy, with a lace dark navy overlay. im only 5'1 and wore 4" heels and it was almost perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
April 15, 2015
Didn't wear it but LOVED this dress.
I ended up wearing a different dress as I let my boyfriend decide but had it been up to me I would've gone with this one. Was a little bit tight (especially up top) so if you're a busty girl you might want to size up. I loved the lace material but it did bunch a little weirdly in some places. Had I gone up a size it would've been wonderful!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2015
Great first experience with RTR - Doing it again!
Perfect for a Military Ball. Fit like a glove with enough stretch to enjoy the entire evening! I'm 5'5" and wore the Long with high heels. I got SO many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 26, 2015
Awesome dress! Great for hourglass shapes.
The dress was a hit. The fabric stretched so it followed and showed off all the right curves. The cut was not too low, and I loved the sleeves and lace.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 25, 2015
Perfect dress for the occasion! Got lots of compliments and felt fabulous!
Fit was tight, but slimming. Fit well at the bust but needed to have a low back bra for the low back of the dress. The lace straps were helpful and a nice touch. I needed to do the petite size, but with 3 in heels it worked perfectly. I felt hot but still classy and would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2015
Fantastic dress, stretchy and comfortable, and overall gorgeous for a black tie affair
I wore the original size I ordered, but still got a size down based on what other people reviewed, and then RTR sent me a size up also at no charge! It fit great, slimming everywhere and made me feel sexy...The back was great, if not a little loose, but nothing a bit of invisible tape couldn't fix. Wore with some moderate heels and it just almost skimmed the ground.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
March 16, 2015
Georgous navy lace dress!
Fits perfectly! I wore 4.24 inch heels and the dress still felt a TINY bit too long so i had to hold it up occasionally so I didn't trip. Other than that it was extremely flattering, I was complimented all night, and I also did not need to wear a bra with it.
See more reviews:
4 / 17
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×