Nicole Miller

Cherry Square Neck Gown

$96 rental
$640 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Red is the color of love so have everyone fall in love with you in this Nicole Miller gown. Just pair with a great dancing pump and a chandelier earring like the Badgley Mischka's Tiered Deco Earrings.

Also available in purple, black, and purple sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red stretch silk crepe de chine. Square neckline. Cut out detail on back. Side ruching detail. Hidden back zip. Imported. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

106 reviews

Fit
Small 30
True to Size 73
Large 3
Photos 52
ainthecity
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Elegant, glamourous, and sexy - I don't know how you could go wrong with this dress if you're an hourglass! I'm 5' 3" but with platform heels the 4R fit like a dream.
kbgalv
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The size 8 was perfect. The only thing I felt was that the long length was not long enough. I wore 4" heels and while I'm tall, I am certainly not that tall and it would be difficult for anyone taller than myself to have the length be long enough especially if they wear heels. That said, I loved the dress and felt amazing in it!
elizadoolittle
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I wear a 4 or 6 - this 6 was bordering on being too tight to wear in public. The fabric looked cheap. The 6L was not long enough. Luckily this was my backup style and the Badgly Mishka strapless 6L was perfect.
Ms. Cara
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is a little bit short to wear with heels (3 or 4 in), and I'm only 5'5". If you're planning to pair with sky-high heels, you might try a long. I agree with other reviews that the fabric looks a little bit cheap. It fits/looks as pictured, and it's a sexy dress. For opening night at the opera, I chose to wear my alternatie choice, the Milly Ravish Ruffle Gown because it was classier. I typically wear a 2 in nice retail stores (Ann Taylor, J.Crew), but was definitely a 4 in this dress.
Tami
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS DRESS!! It is so simple, but so elegent and pretty on. It was my back up dress which ended up being my #1 choice.
Unsatisfied
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Definition of false advertisement. Fabric looked cheap, the straps were awkward. The back of the dress was beautiful, but the pleats were bizarre and didn't flatter my body at all. I can't believe retail this dress is worth $640. I went to Minneapolis and bought a dress for $30 that looked 100,000 times better on me.
Alex
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress photographs like a dream! If your over 5'6 get the LONG. It was just barely long enough to wear 2 inch heels with. I am usually a 6 in the waist and a 10 in the bust and while this was a little tight in a bust, it was a nice fit otherwise.
Valezka
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely LOVED this dress...I literally felt like a beauty queen, and all the looks surrounding me made me feel like one too. This dress it's very precise when it comes to length, so if you're trying to wear like the model in the pic, I would recommend you to order the long length if you're 5'6" or taller. Other than that, if you're planning to dance, go up and down the stairs, you should be good to go with the regular length, which was the one I ordered.
Tarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 31, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I normally wear a six in Nicole Miller dresses, but the eight fit much better for this dress. I am 5'4", and ordered the short but would have been better off with the long. Beautiful color, the dress was fantastic. I would order again for sure.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is stunning. The color is beautiful and vibrant. Be prepared to get noticed if you wear this. I am 5'4 and 118 lb and wore the 2R. I wish I had rented the 2L though because it does run short. I actually had to wear flats with it so if you are 5'4 or taller get a long if you want to wear any type of heel. I received a ton of compliments on this dress when I wore it to a ball. It really stands out in pictures too:)
KatieC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 21, 2011

Fits really awkward

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is really really deceiving. The color is beautiful but the fit is way off. I am 5'10", 125 lbs with a 34C chest. The waist was HUGE, really baggy with weird ruching that was completely unflattering at best. It was also way too tight in the chest and too short (in flats) for me. I was not entirely impressed with the fabric either, kinda thin and cheap. I really don't know who this dress would flatter.
susan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 21, 2011

Loved it!!!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt so great in this dress!!!!! Only 1 other red dress in a room of black and I rocked this one!!! It fit wonderfully. The length was great, I wore a 4" heel and I'm 5'2". Loved this dress
leanne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 21, 2011

WAY too short!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really like the concept of RTR. This dress was my first rental. The dress did not look like it does in the photo. It is a darker red in reality. For me, the main issue was that it was MUCH too short. It didn't cover my ankles and the small train in the back didn't even touch the floor! I called RTR to make sure I didn't receive a "R" but what I had was the "L". There was no way I could wear it out. I had to send it back. If you are tall, may not be the dress for you.
ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 29, 2011

Great Experience!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my husbands Christmas party! I received compliments all night! On several occasions i was asked to pose for a picture so they can get a picture of the dress! It is a bit short so if you want to wear a High heel; be sure to get the long! It is more ruched in person than it appears on the photo but i actually liked that effect even better! If you have a problem tummy area this dress would be great to cover that up! Also i have a very small waist so i run into this problem a lot but the mid section was a bit baggy but definitely not a big issue! It kind of added to the ruching effect! It was great with black sparkly shoes and a black jeweled bracelet. Overal this was an amazing experience and i will definitely be renting from renttherunway.com again!!!!
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

Great but not long enough

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'8'' and the long length was too short. I would say anyone above 5'6'' should not order this dress. Otherwise it fit and looked great.
Mrsfish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Stunner!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie event that my husband's company was having. I ordered it the 4L and the 6L because I'm bigger up top and can never be too careful. I also added the black version in a 6L as a back up. When they arrived, I was so pleased with the condition they're in. They 6L fit better for me than the 4L but was not as long as I would have liked. So I tried on the black one and it was much bigger and longer than the red. At the last minute I had to run out and find shorter shoes and it still was on the shorter side. Also, while I was steaming it the night of, I noticed a black stain along the hem. I called customer service and they apologized and gave me 25% off of my next order. I wore the dress anyway because it was in the train and not very noticable at all. That being said, the dress was stunning and I got tons of complements all night. I will definitely rent again. All and all a great experience!
Annelie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 21, 2012

loved It

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is stretchy so it's an easy fit. It was above my ankles though so a bit short but it worked out.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 25, 2012

Should have ordered the long!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am about 5'2" and the size 4R hit at my ankles, even with my lowest heels. If you are on the petite size, and any taller than 5'2"-5'4", I would definitely recommend the long size. Like other reviewers have said, I do not think this is the dress for a taller girl. I also ordered a 6R and while it is longer, the dress itself did not fit. I have a fuller bust and didn't need a bra because the dress is very form-fitting; but, the the back is not too low for a strapless bra if you feel you need it. Overall, I was very disappointed with the length, as this is a beautiful and flattering dress. Make sure to order the correct length for you!
JJB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 28, 2012

Tiny

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a beautiful color but runs so small on top that I was unable to wear either size!
Katherine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 4, 2012

Beautiful color!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everyone loved this dress! One thing to know before you rent though - the dress is a little short; I'm 5'4" and I had to wear flats!
amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 8, 2012

Gorgeous but tight

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a beautiful deep red and the cut is beautiful. However, I ended up not wearing the dress as I felt it ran a little small and it was too tight in the hip area. This is a dress that is not forgiving, and is not for the timid.
Michelle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
May 21, 2012

Stunning dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very elegant and fit beautifully! I received many compliments when I wore it to a black tie event. I am 5'0" and wore 3" heels. I probably could've worn 4" heels. My husband said I looked "stunning" in the dress, which is a nice compliment after 20+ years together. I would definitely recommend this dress. The dress is beautiful!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 18, 2012

Size up

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a formal wedding and was bummed when the size I ordered didn't fit. I'm generally around a size 2 and ordered a 4 based on the other reviews. The 4 was VERY tight on the hips and bust line. I'm also around 5'6" and it was probably about 3 inches too short (with no shoes on) so think about going up a couple of sizes and ordering a long!
Kesha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Elegant and sexy

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was lovely and earned me many complements throughout the evening. It fit perfectly; however it has a fold in the front around the hips that I didn't realize from the photo.
Marisol
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 13, 2012

It was okay

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It runs a bit small. I didn't care for the material.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Aug 18, 2012

Smelt bad

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress. But I had to pay to have it dry cleaned because the two sizes I ordered smelt horrible like BO and were stained. Not happy at all with the delivery.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×