Nicole Miller

Blue Silk Wave Dress

$65 rental
$385 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sexy Nicole Miller cobalt dress. Go with monochromatic earrings and wear Kendra Scott's Danielle Blue Agate Earrings.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue silk crepe de chine(100% silk). V neckline with beaded embellishment. Open sleeves. Bloussant body. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
100 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2011
Not the dress for me
I wanted to love this dress...however it was so unflattering on me! It runs huge too. I was still swimming in the XS and I am usually a true size 4/Small. It also sorta looked cheap. Also, very baggy in the midsection...and not in a good, forgiving kind of way...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 5, 2011
A perfect hit - got some whistles from the NYC cabbies!
I love this dress so much I've rented it multiple times. Great things - 1) it hits at mid-thigh for someone my height so if you like a cute, short dress - i'd recommend this for 5'5" women and above. 2) It's best for a large chest as it drapes on top and perfectly highlighted my chest area. 3) the color is to die for! GORGEOUS.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2012
hot dress
Loved the dress, but I probably shouldn't have worn it to my school's formal since I like to get down on the dance floor. It's a little skimpy to be moving around a lot in, especially around the bust area. Got a lot of compliments, though, and it was very comfortable to wear. Fashion tape is your best friend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
March 1, 2012
It was our last NYE party before my fiance proposed! The dress was really a standout!
This runs a little large up top, it's probably because of the way the fabric drapes. I have a larger chest but my shoulders and build are pretty petite, it's definitely roomy so I would order a smaller size as your back up. It's a beautiful dress and the neckline sparkle looks great in pics!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 28, 2012
Getting the dresses on time and in good condition.
I rented this dress with the "Silver glitz bangle set," "Danielle blue agate earrings," and "Georgie clutch" and accessorized with a belt (because there's essentially just elastic that separates the top of the dress from the bottom). I normally wear a size 4 dress, but had to wear an XS in this dress. I'm also fairly large chested; however, you lose all sense of bra size or boob size in this dress... which my husband didn't care for. I liked the short length... short even for someone who's 5'2".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 9, 2012
Absolutely perfect!
This dress was amazing and the exact same color you see on the website. I'm a little taller than 6 foot and it wasn't too short at all. I would definitely order the free back-up size a size smaller than what you would usually wear; I usually wear a small but the extra-small fit better. The top fit fine and I'm not that big busted, it only slunk down throughout the night because of the beads around the neckline. I wore this to homecoming and it was a huge success! Survived dancing and pictures perfectly fine! Have fun!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 25, 2012
My boyfriend told me I was best looking person at the party over and over throughout the night!
I had a blast in this dress. I wore it to a party in downtown Atlanta and it was perfect. Definitely get tape to hold the top up and size down for your extra size. I ordered a S and an XS and the S looked ridiculous on me. It wouldn't let me pick XS on the review, but that's what I ended up wearing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2012
Love it
This was my first rental from Rent The Runway and I got tons of compliments. I absolutely loved how the dress fit! My husband was stunned he asked if I could keep it and I said no but he was really wishing I could hehe. My friends asked where I got and how they could rent dresses similar etc. it was the perfect dress for Supervisor Dinner or as we call it Schlitterbahn Prom! Thanks Rent The Runway!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 6, 2012
Good choice for small breasted
This dress is not flattering for big busted women. Nonetheless, it was beautiful and of wonderful quality. I felt fat in it though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2012
This dress was a showstopper and I felt amazing in it!
I wasn't expecting as much draping on the top, which is why I said it runs a little large; definitely size down one when you order. The dress is super stretchy and comfortable, and looks great with sky high heels. Expect a beautiful dress in a beautiful color with just enough sparkle to make it stand out from the crowd!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2012
Great party dress!
I loved the color of this dress! The blue was really pretty. I like that this dress was easy to move in, which made it great for a girls night of dancing!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 5, 2012
the neck with all the beads was heavy , when i bent over i was exposed
the material did not feel like silk, top was way tooo big , it ran super large the small felt like a large, the "wing span" was huge does not look like the picture at all
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2012
Never wore, fit was off
Fits perfectly in the lower half. The upper half didn't sit right. The beading made the dress too heavy and kept sliding forward. It was too big up top. I never wore it ...bummer :-(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 26, 2012
Wore this for a holiday party & birthday party. I got so many compliments and loved the dress!
I have a small chest & definitely felt like the top was sliding around a bit. I would recommend using fashion tape if you have it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
January 4, 2013
Comfy with a great touch of glam
I rented the dress for a night out at a club in Vegas and it looked great! The neckline and the sleeves added a nice touch of glitter and glam and the color of the dress is beautiful. It was also super comfortable for dancing and hanging out. This was my second style so I didn't get a back-up size, but I'm pretty sure that the large (which I would've chosen) would have been way too big, so the medium was perfect. Sorry I don't have any full length shots of the dress! I uploaded the two that came closest.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
February 4, 2013
Loved the sparkles! Great dress to celebrate my 21st birthday!
Again, I'm so pleased with my Rent the Runway experience. The reviews were so helpful in the case of this dress. I had no problems with the sizing because I already know what to expect (so glad I ordered the medium for my back-up!). Even though the top fits loosely, it is still very flattering. The beading is so wonderful; I love sparkly accents! I also ordered tights from Rent the Runway. They were $6 when I bought them, which was a great deal, especially because they turned out to be really comfortable! Overall, I'm so glad to have rented this dress for my birthday!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2013
Versatile and comfortable, but a little big.
I'm usually a size 6 in dresses and wore this in the XS. I am not sure if the one I got was a bit stretched around the bottom band, it seemed like it might have been worn in a bit, but it was a little loose fitting, I wouldve preferred it a little tighter. I don't have a butt at all, though, so that could have been part of the problem. Overall it was a very fun dress to wear, very comfortable and eye catching and super easy for a night out in Vegas. I highly recommend this dress, and may rent it in the coral color sometime, too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2013
SAG Awards Screening & Q&A for Argo
I felt this dress was fantastic!!! It ran a bit large but the color looked great on my complexion (olive) along with the California sun bouncing off the beading. The top was a big heavy due to all the beading, but nothing unbearable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2012
Perfect cocktail dress
Runs large
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
March 4, 2013
Beautiful color, runs large up top.
The beading on the top was very heavy and kept sliding down. I ordered a M and L and even the M was too loose; The bottom however fit perfect. Over all I loved the dress it was perfect for my birthday party on the town. The only reason I deducted a star was because I had to keep pulling it into place all night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 14, 2013
The ease of ordering and shopping at home!
It was a stunning dress, but ran way too large for me to try and make it work. It was also very heavy, but that was because of the beading, which is even prettier in person!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2013
Rent this dress!!
My first experience with RTR and will definitely not be my last! I felt like a celebrity - this dress is so glamorous, I got compliments all night. The other reviews mentioned that it runs large (and it definitely does) so I ordered a S and XS. The style is very flow-y and a bit on the baggy side so I would recommend garment tape as well. Gorgeous color and the neckline is to die for.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2013
SUCH an eye-catching party dress!!
Loved the color, and the sparkles around the neckline really make it a special dress! The only thing was the fit definitely ran large, I ended up wearing the smaller of my two sizes and still had to belt the extra fabric. Even so-- looked great and had a great time in this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 22, 2013
Loved it! Wore it in Vegas for a night out. Perfect!
With a small chest, it was a little big. I had to tape it and was messing with it all night, but still cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
September 22, 2013
Amazing blue!
This dress totally pops and is very forgiving. I did size down as the top runs big. The neckline dresses it up nicely and the cinched skirt at the bottom brings it together. The color is gorgeous! Definitely pair it up with the matching earrings! My friend in this pick to the far right is also wearing RTR, we had a lot of converters that night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 13, 2013
gorgeous dress but low cut
Be aware- if you are petite, this dress may not work for you. I was unable to wear it- it simply dipped WAY too low and was baggy up top, and I am not tiny up there! I think my overall frame was too small for the dress. But it is a GORGEOUS dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
January 10, 2014
Party Perfect
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. It was very comfortable and elegant and the color was beautiful. I would highly recommend this one. It runs a bit large.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2014
Too large
The dress was way too large on the top and super tight around the hips. The jewels around the bodice were heavy and hung awkwardly. Thankfully I ordered this as my backup dress and didn't need to wear it (instead I wore a long Badgley Mischka which I loved).
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
June 14, 2012
Sister's Rehearsal Dinner
I wore this to my sister's rehearsal dinner, & got so many compliments! This was the first time a lot of people had seen me since I had a baby (I was still hanging on to some baby weight/pooch!), I was told more than once that I was looking like a "hot mom!" Warning, the bottom part is quite tight, so if the butt/thighs is where you carry weight, you might not want to size down. I was worried about the elastic waist part (waist was NOT the area I wanted to highlight), but the top blouses over it no problem. The dress seemed like it had been worn a lot (fabric seemed maybe a touch faded?), and there was a very small (almost imperceptible) white mark on the front of the dress, but not noticeable at all. The dress was also very, very short. I'm tall, and was feeling just a little like it was too short, but after the compliments started rolling in, I decided the length was just fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2012
This was the perfect dress for Las Vegas! I received so many compliments, and a gentleman even pulled me from the crowd to take a picture with him!
I wore this dress to my sorority reunion in Las Vegas. I wanted to show off my petite frame, but not drown in the outfit. This was the perfect dress! I received so many compliments, and a gentleman even pulled me from the crowd to take a picture with him!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2013
Perfect Dress!
I rented this for my 23rd birthday in AC and it was perfect. Got lots of compliments. This dress does run big like most of the reviews say, but I liked it a lot because I felt comfortable in it compared to something that is skin tight. I usually wear a medium but with this dress I wore the x-small and still had room. The color is more blueish-purple in person. Recommend getting fashion tape because the top does hang down pretty low, I used some and was fine the whole night with nothing popping out! Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 27, 2012
very flattering
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner at a nice restaurant and felt great. The dress is extremely comfortable and very flattering. It could have used some fashion tape because the top part kept needing to be adjusted, but overall I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2011
Looks better on the model
I loved the color of this dress and thought it would be perfect to wear over a wedding weekend at the beach, however, when I tried the dress on it was huge on me and very unflattering. I didn't end up wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2012
totally worth it
this was my first time renting from RTR. i ordered this dress to go to a friends birthday party in hoboken. it was perfect! i felt like a million bucks in this dress... classy and sexy. I ordered the large but ended up wearing the medium. love that i had 2 sizes to choose from! overall... this website and dress are a big hit with me! well done!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2012
Great Dress
I loved the fabric -- it was lightweight and reminded me of silk. The beading was much prettier than in the picture. This dress is not something I would normally wear, so it was great to try something different and not be stuck with it forever! It did run a little large. I really am more like an 11; sometimes 10s fit and sometimes 12s. Because of the bust size for the Medium, I stuck to the large and did not opt for a second dress. I was very grateful for the fashion tape that was included to secure the plunging neckline. It accentuated my curves and was very flattering. My fiance loved it on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
August 9, 2012
Lovely But Not For Me
I didn't feel comfortable in this dress. It's very lovely, a little too big in the top. I'm sure it would look better on someone else with a different body type than me. Not for women with larger bottoms. I rented another dress along with this one and wore that one instead of this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2012
Perfect for Vegas!
Beautiful blue color, comfortable and got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2012
Looked classy yet sexy!
I loved this dress! I wore the blue and got tons of compliments. Definitely go for the xs if you don't have a curvy bottom.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 2, 2012
People loved it!
This dress was so fun to wear! The bottom part would look best if it were a little bit tighter compared to the loose upperbody
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 12, 2013
I liked it! U just should've ordered a small. It was a little too big
Cute, comfy, easy to wear!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×