Rent the Runway

nha khanh

Leave it to Lace Dress

$60 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get chic, simple elegance in this dress by nha khanh. Lace inserts and open back detailing add a bit of drama to this little black cocktail style. Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings for a sleek look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe with lace detail (66% Viscose 22% wool 12% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with keyhole closure and removable back strap with hook and eye closure. Lace overlay at waist. Pencil skirt with hidden zipper detail at hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 43.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

205 reviews

Fit
Small 58
True to Size 125
Large 6
Photos 120
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

The little black dress with a nice surprise!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very classy while also having the surprise (and sexy) open back. Wore this to a rehearsal dinner and received many compliments. Also rented the same dress a second time and planned to wear it to a Vegas wedding, but this time the strap in the back didn't ship with the dress and it was way too much back without it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Beautiful Fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. The materials were very flattering. I decided to hide the additional back strap. The length was great as well!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

This dress has a classy sexiness that makes it appropriate but fun to wear.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of the dress seemed right - perhaps a little on the smaller side. The material is thick but I still needed to be conscious of posture. I loved the length of the dress as it added extra class and allowed for the fun details to pop out.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Apr 27, 2014

Great dress, would definitely recommend.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great and was very comfortable. Keep in mind there is no give in the dress so as a backup, order a size up.. I ended up wearing my backup size which was perfect. As for a bra, I wore one of the convertible ones. I had the strap run around the back of my neck and then for the basic, mid-back straps, they fit right into the loops hidden in that backstrap in the dress. So you couldn't see the bra at all and it stayed in place. I would definitely recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 30, 2014

I felt comfortable & beautiful in this dress. It is sexy, but understated.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 6, but the 6 was a little tight across my butt . The 8 fit perfectly EXCEPT for the piece that goes across your back. It attaches w/hooks & eyes & it was way too loose. I called & spoke w/a RTR stylist & she could not have been nicer. She would have sent me a new dress(no charge), but I really wanted to wear this dress. I contacted my seamstress & she met me & tacked it so it fit perfectly. The back of this dress ROCKS!! My only other feedback is, the dry cleaner needs to be careful to press the lining so it doesn't show around the neckline & arm opening. Put this dress on the top of your list, it is AWESOME!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
May 2, 2014

Super flattering LBD!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress looked great and I received tons of compliments all night--even from random people. It was a great twist on the LBD, very original and very flattering. The fabric on this dress doesn't allow for much give, so I wasn't sure I was going to be able to squeeze into the smaller of my two dress choices, but I did and liked the tighter look better. My only complaint is the darn hanger straps! There is no good place to hide them and you can see them in the attached photo even. Perhaps RTR will consider removing on this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131 lbs
May 5, 2014

This dress is classic in the front and wow-factor in the back. Absolutely loved it. I felt amazing.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit is form fitting, slims you down because it is so form-fitting. I did not wear the extra strap because you could see the hooks. I also didn't wear a bra and was ok (surprisingly!) without one. I an 34DD so no bra is a big deal.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 5, 2014

I loved this dress and would definitely rent it again. I was sad to give it back.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit really well. I loved the thick fabric, it had some give to it, but was rich and form-fitting. I'm 5'11 and the length hit my knees. The middle strap in the back of the dress covered my bra strap, and I used the double-stick tape provided by Rent the Runway to keep the strap in place. The dress is conservative in the front, but it brings "sexy back."
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 14, 2014

LBD with a twist

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was the perfect dress to wear to an LBD bridal shower. Super classic in the front and just enough sexy in the back. Fits true to size and has some stretch. My only complaint is that the strap on the size 8 seemed like it was added on (different material) and was too short to fit across the back. I couldn't have worn that size if I wanted to. Good thing the size 6 had the better quality and longer strap!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 16, 2014

Fabulous classy dress for curvy girls

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress. It is comfortable and fun to wear.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
May 17, 2014

Fit like a glove...loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super classy - perfect for a "not too formal" wedding. It is definitely true to size and fit like a glove, so some may need to size up on this one. Loved the lace paneling in the front, though I agree with one of the other posters, that the strap across the back was very awkward (I ended up tucking it in and going with an open back). The length, something I'm always concerned about, was perfect for my 6'0 frame. Paired it with some gold jewelry and the look was perfect. This was my second RTR rental and I could not have been happier.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 20, 2014

The dress is very sexy without being revealing.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit so well! The subtle cutouts and open back had an elegant but sexy feel to it - perfect for my rehearsal dinner!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 21, 2014

Fun Black Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress, rented a 2 and a 4 - fit into the 2 but was more comfortable in the 4 even though it was a little longer than I would have liked. It's such a fun yet sophisticated dress with the lace midsection and open back detailing making it very unique. Didn't love that the hooks on the strap on the back were visible but that was a minor annoyance. I definitely recommend this one.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 21, 2014

Great for formal evening affair

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for an evening wedding I was attending. My sizes constantly yo yo between 4-6, and depending on the store/designer an 8. I decided to go large since the reviews said this dress ran small. The 8 fit very comfortable. The 6 was tighter but in a good way seeing as this is supposed to be more form fitting. The thicker material on this dress is perfect for this. I opted not to use the strap in the back and tucked it in, giving it more of a dramatic look. The only drawback was that it seemed rather long, going a little beyond my knee. Had I thought about it I would have pinned it up. Would def recommend this for a formal event and would also rent again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 28, 2014

Gorgeous dress--classy, but stands out.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a 4 or 6, and I wore the 6. It was form fitting, but with the heavy and lined fabric, it was also very forgiving. I wore the strap tucked in, as many others have, and I liked that look the best bc the open back was flattering. There is a zipper at the bottom of the skirt (in the back) which was not noticeable, but a nice feature for when you ahve to climb stairs and need a bit more space! I've noticed that others have wished the skirt was a bit shorter--I can understand that, but the longer skirt does create a nice silhouette (hour-glassy).
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 4, 2014

Classy & Sexy!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a formal charity event I threw! The length and neck cut make it seem more conservative, but the lace and open back made it discreetly sexy. I usually wear between a 10 and a 12, and the 12 fit perfectly. Agreed with other reviews that the strap in the back was necessary--quite a lot of back showing without it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
#rehearsaldinner
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 14, 2014

As always, the service was perfect! Thank you!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My husband picked this one... Not bad at all! Typically, I opt for more conservative options but I'm glad I went with this dress. As mentioned in other reviews, the blackstrap is a different material. However, I don't believe it takes away from the dress. The zipper slit made this dress more functional. When I needed to climb in and out of the truck this slit made it much easier and probably much more ladylike ;)! Finally, I'm pretty curvy and I am always concerned that a dress won't work, fit, etc. I agree with another reviewer... This dress may just be perfect for a curvy girl! #loveit
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jun 23, 2014

This dress is a must have for a curvy girl.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a perfect curve hugging dress. I felt soooooo darn sexy in this dress!!!!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

This dress was just to die for! It was a huge hit. Didn't want to give it back!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This fit is tight. Hugs the curves. I'm 5'10 and have a muscular physique. Normally have issues fitting things around my but and thighs that also fit in the waist. This dress did just that. Just enough give to be comfy. I would say when you order it, get your size and 1 up.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Loved it! I felt like the best dressed person at the wedding, other than the bride of course!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6 and 8. I could have wore the 6, but it was a little tight for my comfort level. I was able to wear a strapless bra with it. I would have given it 5 stars, but the straps were worn and I ended up having to safety pin the strap to the dress to keep in connected.
RTR Customer
Jul 1, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress! Felt sexy and love the fit!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Perfect LBD for Engagement Shoot

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my engagement session. I also rented the suggested chandelier earrings (picture in right photo). The dress was long enough to be appropriate yet the open back added just enough "sexy". The lace cutouts were a nice addition to an otherwise simple black dress. There is a zipper at the bottom of the skirt that my photographer noticed, so that helps for easier walking in the pencil style skirt.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jul 7, 2014

I wish I owned this dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress! I rented it for an old Hollywood themed party. I got the 8 and 10. Both fit but the 8 fit my curves better. The 10 scrunched up at my waist a bit. Being of my size in my chest I was a bit worried about the no bra part but honestly it wasn't an issue at all. I used some silicone covers and the dress was fitted enough to provide adequate support. I am tall but the dress fit just below my knees. Seriously. This is the best dress. Perfect LBD with a bit of edge and glamour but still very classy. I felt like Marilyn and Audrey all wrapped up into one! I will definitely rent it again.
RTR Customer
Age: 30
Jul 14, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect! Loved it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 21, 2014

Beautiful wedding at a venue on the water

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I initially wanted to order this dress in a size 10 with a backup size 12 but the size 12 was rented out. I was apprehensive about only getting the one size but I absolutely loved the way the dress looked online so I rented it anyway. The dress arrived 2 days ahead of my rental date which was awesome because if it hadn't fit I would've had plenty of time to rent a different one. This dress is the perfect combination of sexy and classy. The fabric on this dress really held me in. It was snug on my hips and behind, but I am used to that happening with dresses. I received a lot of compliments on it. I decided to pair it with strappy black heels, a gold bracelet and earrings. I agree with the other reviews on here about the strap in the back. If I did not have someone to help me fasten the hooks I don't think I would've been able to do it myself the night of the event (believe me I tried!) The zipper at the bottom of the skirt was extremely helpful for trips to the ladies room and for getting up the stairs.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

First RTR experience = success!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a size 4, but knew to order up so I got a 6. It fit like a glove and I got so many compliments. It's was on the long side for me (5'4"), but I just wore higher heels to complete the look. Loved my RTR necklace too!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

A classy dress with a little lace flare!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was a little disappointed with the fit of this dress--0 was too small in the hips, 2 too big on top. A friend helped me use safety pins to tighten the back a little bit. Once we had it all adjusted, the dress looked great! Super classy and elegant.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

High quality but no give and very conservative

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding in New Orleans. It looked curve hugging on the model but the material was very thick and had absolutely no stretch. It was tight around the hips and waist and loose around the bust (I'm a 34B). Might have been more suited for a business party or something, rather than a fun destination wedding. I had to size up. The back of the dress was the best part.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 18, 2014

I wore this to my friends rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is def a big snug but it is so flattering. I got many compliments from everyone. I love the open back concept. I dressed it up with some fancy gold jewelry and it was perfect.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 19, 2014

BEAUTIFUL!!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I received a lot of compliments on it all night. I wish I could keep it. RTR was a great help and responds to emails very quickly. Will definitely rent again. I was very happy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Aug 23, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time renting from RTR. It was an all around great experience, from the ease of ordering and returning, to the super fun packaging! I was skeptical about ordering a size up from my normal, but I'm so glad I did! I fit like a glove and hugged all the right curves. It was sexy but classy. It was a little warm for the heat (the dress is made with very thick material), but perfect once we got indoors. I would rent it again hands down!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 25, 2014

This dress will make you feel very pretty. Everyone loved it.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a size 6. This was a little tight, but the size 8 was too loose. I made the 6 work, though.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Age: 25
Sep 2, 2014

Amazing fit! Loved the open back.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm pretty petite and this dress fit me perfectly. I wore it to a black tie optional wedding and felt appropriately dressed. I'm 5'4" and it hit me below the knee, which was what I wanted. The back strap is not removable - at least on mine the strap was sewn in on one side and then you attach it with bra clasps to the other side. (You will need another person to help you with this dress! Lots of places to zip and clasp and button. But it's worth it.) It also has a zipper at the bottom slit which is amazing for stairs, walking, getting into SUVS, etc. I wish I could keep it forever! So happy with this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

Little black dress with a twist

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding it was the perfect fit and length for a formal affair but also very fun! Loved the backless aspect and the lace cutouts! Received many compliments
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2014

LOVED this dress!! Wore it to a Rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fit like a glove! And I didn't have to wear a bra, which never happens since I'm usually a 34 D or DD (depending on the store). My husband really liked this dress on me--made all my assets stand out. :) Even my girlfriends were impressed with the fact that I wasn't wearing a bra. I wore this dress with black accessories and shoes with a red lip, so I could let the dress shine on it's own. I would totally recommend this dress/wear it again! Thanks, RTR for another successful rental!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Understated sexy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It was form fitting, but not too tight, and the high quality fabric helped to provide curve in all the right places. Someone must have added a piece of fabric across the back of my dress, likely to cover a bra strap, but I found it to be to tight, so I tucked it in the dress. No one knew the difference.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

I felt amazing in this!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR experience and I was beyond pleased! I ordered the 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6. The material is beautiful - doesn't stretch like some fitted dresses tend to do after sitting, dancing, etc. I got tons of compliments and I felt great in this! My husband absolutely loved it! Prepare to go bra-less, or use pasties/sticky cups. Even with the strap across the back, my strapless bra showed through. I wore sticky cups and the close fit if the dress actually helped them stay in place. Also, on the size 8, the strap across the back is a different material. It looks like it may have been replaced. Maybe something to ask about if you're going to order that size. You will not be disappointed with this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Sexy twist on conservative LBD!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I am typically a true size 4. Opted for the 6 after reading reviews and it fit like a glove. Lace cutouts and the sexy back set this dress apart from all the other LBD's at most events. Perfect choice for a conservative event at Sherwood Country Club. Probably provides a better fit for small bust and girls over 5'8".
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

The new LBD. My favorite rent the runway dress thus far.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and great material. Just the right amount of stretch without bunching or becoming unflattrering. Hit me right below the knees to be chic and appropriare for a cocktial attire wedding. The back showed just the right amount of skin to be sexy without being inappropriate. The bottom of the dress has an additional zipper to give one a little more wiggle room to dance. I did find when the bottom zipper was zipped it was hard for me to go up high stairs since the dress hit below my knees, but when it came to dancing I unzipped the zipper at the bottom just a little and it was very easy to move in. would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×