Leave it to Lace Dress

$60 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get chic, simple elegance in this dress by nha khanh. Lace inserts and open back detailing add a bit of drama to this little black cocktail style. Simply pair with Gerard Yosca’s Starry Skies Tassel Earrings for a sleek look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe with lace detail (66% Viscose 22% wool 12% polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Open back with keyhole closure and removable back strap with hook and eye closure. Lace overlay at waist. Pencil skirt with hidden zipper detail at hem. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 43.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
300 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size163
Small83
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
December 23, 2015
back section is strange but it was cute when I tucked it.
The back strap was worn out and looked terrible. I tucked it in the front and it looked great. This left my back open and no one knew anything was missing. I received a lot of complements.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2015
Great dress - loved the back.
I enjoyed that the lace and back were revealing and sexy without too much leg or cleavage.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
December 15, 2015
Love this dress!
I loved this dress. It was incredibly flattering and perfect for a wedding. I would definitely rent this again! It's absolutely perfect for pair shape ladies.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 13, 2015
Gorgeous dress & so flattering!!!
This was 1 of my backup dresses because my original ones weren't available to ship at the last minute, but I was so happy with this dress. I can't say enough about it! I wore it to my husband's firm holiday party & I was asked multiple times where my dress was from & got compliments all night! The size 0 fit me like a glove... really flattering. Absolutely gorgeous lace detail at the sides, classy, sophisticated & the back of the dress (my favorite part!) gave it some sexiness without being over the top. I will say that it was a little snug at the bust area, but I do have a larger bra size than lots of size 0 gals so keep that in mind. It's also very tough to walk up stairs because of how narrow the bottom of the dress is, but there is a zipper at the bottom (which you can see I played around with in my 2nd photo) so you can unzip as much as you want for a little more room. Overall AMAZING dress & would absolutely rent this again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2015
Classy in the front, party in the back
This dress is very pretty, but the fit was a challenge for me. I got the 4 and the 6 to wear to my husband's work holiday party. The 4 was a bit tight in the shoulders, but oddly enough the 6 felt even tighter! I quickly figured out that the strap across the back was a different, much less forgiving material in the 6, so I decided to wear the 4. It ended up working out fine though, and I really liked the design of the dress, which is very classic but slightly more exciting than a typical LBD. The material is definitely thick and high-quality, so it's good for colder weather events, and the below-the-knee length nicely balances out the open back for more conservative or professional events. The dress itself was in good shape, except for the weird band across the back of the 6, and I felt very comfortable in it, even at a corporate event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 11, 2015
great dress
Didn't end up wearing this because they didn't have my back up size and the 0 was a bit too small. Overall the dress was flattering and great quality material.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2015
Sexy LBD
This LBS was a great rental. The length and silhouette are classic and conservative. The lace cutouts on the side/back of the dress and the adjustable zipper at the hem make the dress sexy and edgy. I wore it to a wedding and got lots of compliments. Also, I was able to get away without a bra (34D) and that was an added bonus.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
December 9, 2015
Just the right amount of sexy
Overall this was a great dress. Loads of compliments all night. Daring but not over-the-top sexy. I'm normally a 6 but the 8 fit perfect, although I couldn't close the upper strap similar to many other reviewers. Wasn't a problem though, I just tucked it in and I also thought that it made the dress a little more flirty with a completely open back. Loved the lace insets too. I normally can't go without a bra, but the fit and thickness of the fabric gave me plenty of support. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2015
Great Rehearsal Dinner Dress
I wore this dress to my brother's rehearsal dinner and loved it! The side cutouts/back brought some edge to the dress style and the fit was very flattering. It's a pretty form fitting dress so I would recommend sizing up for your backup size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
November 30, 2015
Rented this for a wedding but didn't end up wearing it.
I rented this dress and two others. After reading the reviews, I went a size up and I'm glad I did. I didn't end up wearing this dress because I liked one of the others a little bit better but overall this is a great dress. The open back with the strap across is so cute. The bottom of the dress in the back also has a zipper which adds a little extra detail.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 30, 2015
Great dress, loved the backless!
Loved this dress and it was perfect for a black tie optional wedding. The fabric is thick and doesn't wrinkle, so it was easy to travel with as well. The strap in the back was a bit loose, so I just tucked in inside the dress and wore it was completely backless (which I think looks better anyways!). Cons- This dress seems to have been rented too many times. The lining was hanging down a full inch below the dress hem and the button loop at the neck was frayed and stretched out and kept coming undone. Still loved the dress though!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
November 25, 2015
Great dress, perfect length and I loved the lace on the sides!
This dress was perfect for the evening. Great length and I did not have any problems with the strap across the back. It was a bit tricky to get on but other than that I have nothing but good things to say about it! I would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2015
Beautiful black dress
I typically wear a 4 but for some RTR designers wear a 6. This dress definitely doesn't allow for a larger chests so I ended up sizing up. From the front the dress looks like a nice black dress, the lace cutouts on the side are not overly see-through but the back is open and really fun. This dress adds some really fun/sexy details to a classic LBD silhouette. The only down side was the dress was definitely on the worn side. The string holding the button at the top broke so I had to safety pin the dress (luckily I had my hair down) and the larger row of hook & eye clasps were all bent out of shape (luckily I wore the smaller row so this wasn't as big of a deal for me). Overall, I received a lot of compliments from friends/guests and would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 20, 2015
It was a simple yet stand out dress.
The dress as some have mentioned, has a strange strip across the back which really ruins the look the dress, the strap is kind of loose which makes it kind of hang--it's weird. The good news is you don't have to use the strap (it has an hook and eye closure). The down side when you tuck away the strap, it takes away from the peek-a-boo lace insets. Which I thought were kind of cool, and a little sexy, but you now have a completely backless dress, which looks great too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
November 18, 2015
A lovely dress; well made, great fit and very classy.
Fits a bit snug especially if you are curvy but once it's on - it's incredibly flattering!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 16, 2015
Received many compliments, felt like a million bucks!
I'm 5'9, 26in waist, 35in hips and 34D chest - I ordered sizes 0 and 2. The 2 fit perfectly and allowed enough room in all areas to be comfortable but still very flattering. The 0 was a bit tight in the chest/arms but I still had no issues getting it zipped or fastened. I ended up wearing the 0, only because the lining on the bottom of the 2 was longer than the dress itself. I was still able to sit and dance without any issues! Highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2015
Classic look with such an elegant and surprising back.
I loved the length as a woman who isn't in love with her legs. I would have worn the 8, but the strap across the back was too tight (and missing one set of hook and eye closures). The back on the 10 was much looser than I would have liked, but could have been fixed with safety pins if I hadn't been in a huge hurry!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
November 4, 2015
Amazing dress! So many compliments!
I was between a size 2 and a size 4, but decided to go with the 2 because the fit was snugger (which looked better with this dress). I wore this dress to a fall wedding at a winery and it was tasteful for the occasion. The cutouts were discretely sexy. I had no issues moving around, dancing, sitting, etc. It was the perfect LBD!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2015
classy & sexy wedding option
Loved the open back! This dress was a little tight in my usual size, and I like to be comfortable for weddings (so I can dance :). The 2 fit perfectly! With the exception of the back strap which was super loose. I didn't care for the back strap anyways, so I hid it. Received many compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
October 30, 2015
Sexy without being too revealing.
I got a ton of compliments on this at a wedding where we knew literally no one! I've never been able to go braless in any dress...except this one!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 27, 2015
Gorgeous shape
This was a great dress. I ended up wearing the 10. The 8 fit but since I have a broader back and 36 Ds I was not able to fully zip the back. The 10 was great but like others I did not use the back strap- instead I tucked it into the dress and it was unnoticeable. The material is thick and flattering. It's a lovely dress but I wouldn't recommend it for those who have a wide back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
October 25, 2015
Beautiful dress!
I loved this dress! I'm athletically built with broad shoulders and a booty. The 8 fit but was a bit tight for my comfort, so I went with the 10. The dress is classy and sexy at the same time!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 18, 2015
Felt confident and beautiful!
Definitely runs a little small, and not sure how it would fit bigger-busted ladies. But it's made with quality fabric that's forgiving. I was afraid I was going to need to find spanx that could suck my belly in but not show in the back, but when I tried the dress on I found I really didn't need it! Absolutely loved this dress. Got a bunch of compliments for the back, and that handy stretch of fabric across the middle of the back was perfect for wearing a strapless bra (I'm not a fan of sticky bras...).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
October 16, 2015
Stunning dress
The fit was snug but breathable. I had a 3 course dinner and still felt comfortable even though I was stuffed. It was a bit difficult for me to walk up stairs because of how the dress is form fitting but I wouldnt make this dress a deal breaker because of it. Overall loved the dress, loved the service at renttherunway. Cant wait to rent again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 16, 2015
Beautiful dress!
For the price, the quality of the fabric was great! I know some girls mentioned they tucked in the strap that goes across the back, but I liked the way that put the dress all together. As far as size, I usually range from 0-4 depending on the designer. I would err on the large side if you're not sure, since the dress sits pretty comfortably! Got a lot of compliments on it, and I highly recommend it :) Wore it with some high red heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 13, 2015
Rented but didn't wear it.
I rented this and another dress for the same event. I didn't end up wearing this dress. The strap across the back was too loose and it did not have enough detail to make it stand out. So I put it back in the bag and wore the other dress I rented.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2015
This dress was great. Flattering, comfortable and I received a lot of compliments.
I usually wear a 6 dress but the 8 fit like a glove. It is a little long, which makes it kind of conservative (and I'm tall). Unless your strapless bra lines up with the dress perfectly, you will need to wear sticky cups.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 12, 2015
So classy!
This dress is so classy! The length was a little long on me and hit a little below the knees but it looked great. I got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
October 11, 2015
I felt and looked GREAT!
This dress was AWESOME in every way. Sexy and elegant. The lace cut outs were a lovely touch with the open back. It was better than expected!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
October 8, 2015
I loved how this dress fit it was classy but fun at the same time.
I read prior reviews that said this dress runs small and they were correct. I normally wear a 4 and ordered a 6 and I am happy that I did. This dress was very flattering and I loved the way it looked. This was my first time ordering a dress from RTR and I loved everything about it and can't wait to order my next dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
October 5, 2015
Really nice dress.
This was a really nice dress that came packaged very nicely. No need to steam or iron. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because it was too tight in the chest area for me, even when I went a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2015
Didn't get to wear the dress :(
The fit was incredibly small. From the reviews I could tell that the dress went small and a 0 might not fit, but a 2 wasn't available and I rarely wear a 4. The dress was so tight that size 4 would definitely have been the best/only fit for me. I'm not a true 0 but wear zeros often because so many things run large and because of my small bust, but this dress was so tight it made my back have cleavage! Go at least one maybe two sizes up from what you normally wear/rent. Dress was beautiful and well made material and seemed like it would be comfortable if it were the correct size. Would like to try again in a 4
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
September 28, 2015
This dress made my event unforgettable!!!
It was perfect, fit like a glove. I would even consider purchasing this one.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
September 25, 2015
I rented this for our Save the Date pictures
Normally I wear a size 4 or 6, the 6 fix, but was a little snug, so I took the 8 to I could be more comfortable. Great fit, very comfortable, I rented it again for an engagement party.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
September 21, 2015
Great dress! Fit like a glove!
This dress was super classy and fit like a glove! I received so many compliments at the wedding. The only complaint I have is that it was a bit too long because I am 5'2. Even with 4in heels it was a little long. It still looked great though! I loved it so much I rocked it anyway. The material was not too hot and it was easy to move in dancing:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2015
Fit perfectly and comfortable!
Loved this! Perfect for fall wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 4, 2015
Looked like a million bucks. Dress was perfectly my style.
Runs small. Top portion is tight if you have a larger chest. Couldn't go up a size because bottom portion would have been too big, so I snuggled into the dress nicely. Definitely make sure you have someone to help you hook all the hooks and zippers! Super sexy- lace, open back, back slit (zipper). Just perfect.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 3, 2015
I love the dress and it fit well. Very well made.
The dress fit really well. It was well made. I only ordered the 12 and did not ask for a backup as I find that RTR dresses often run small for me.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 1, 2015
Perfect
Fit Great.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2015
Amazing, flattering, memorable dress!
This dress is stunning--well tailored and made of high quality fabric. The back is dramatic while the higher neckline keeps it classy and elegant. I bought a few backless bras to try with it, but didn't end up using one--the sticky ends stuck out, and the dress was supportive and fitted enough that I didn't need it. I was comfortable for hours and didn't want to return it.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×