Karla Drama Gown

$455 to buy
$1595 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a dramatic look for your night of evening elegance in this stunning ball gown by nha khanh. Sweeping layers of tulle will make an entrance worthy of royalty! Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black Lace over Nude Tulle (70% Polyamide, 30% Viscose). Sleeveless. Illusion boat neckline with scalloped edge. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
239 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(150)
Small
(12)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2016
Customer service was fantastic and accountable when my original dress was unavailable.
The fit was true to size. I ordered a 4 long and 2 long. I wore the 2L. I'm only 5'6", so not too tall, but my heels added 3 or 4 inches. The dress met the floor perfectly. I tried on the 2 and realized I wouldn't even need the 4. It was very comfortable and becomes loose under the peplum. This made it easy to dance, move, and eat. I was able to eat my whole meal while I noticed other women leaving their plates full of food in their skin tight dresses! I wore black heels and gold jewelry, which kept it simple and elegant. I wore this to a gala and I was not overdressed but definitely had one of the more formal dresses. The dress was quite wrinkly upon arrival and I ended up steaming the ends in order to make sure it fell in a pretty way. My favorite part was that I got compliments all night long. Women from my age (21) to the oldest women at the gala told me they loved my dress and that I looked like a princess. I couldn't help but swish the tulle as I walked and felt so fancy! I loved it. I originally ordered a tight black dress with cutouts. On the Monday before I expected to receive it on Thursday (3 days!!!) I got an email saying the dress would not be ready. RTR let me pick another dress at double the price I originally paid for no extra charge. The woman I corresponded with also said she would be waiting for a call or email on the day it arrived in case she would need to overnight a different dress. All in all, a wonderful experience and I will absolutely rent from here again! I have a dress picked out for a wedding of a friend in a few months. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
March 20, 2016
I was 7 months pregnant. got the most compliment ever .. dress fitted my body perfectly ! loved it
tight fit around the belly.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 2, 2016
Fabulous dress!
If you have larger breast this may be challenging to zip up so possibly size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Weight: 130lbs
March 1, 2016
Beautiful - and comfortable - gown
I got this for an Oscar's party that we host every year. I loved it. The dress was super comfortable and very flattering. I am what I call - bottom heavy. I have a small chest and waist but a large butt and thighs so finding a dress that looks good on me is hard! But this was great. I loved the material and the look was really flattering. And SO comfy. My only negative comment would be it was a little short. I'm 5 7 and without shoes it came right to the floor. If you plan on wearing tall heels - I would maybe get the long. otherwise this was a perfect classy and elegant dress!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
February 29, 2016
Gorgeous dress. "Stunning"
This was my double back up dress! Long story. I'm a tall woman (5-9) and ordered the 8L. Fit snugly. A perfect fit, however it wasn't a true Long. I had to wear flats which ended up okay. I did feel like a million bucks in it. Received multiple compliments out of 250 other gorgeous women in fancy gowns.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 16
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 27, 2016
So many compliments on this beautiful dress
Best with a slip underneath.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
February 27, 2016
felt like a princess in this dress. received many complement! felt like a grown-up princess.
fit perfectly. very comfortable while being glamorous. not an easy combo to find. love it, would wear it again!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
February 22, 2016
I used this dress for an engagement photo shoot and it was perfect!
True to size, i ordered the long and was thankful i did. It did some wrinkly so be sure you have time to steam the wrinkles out
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119lbs
February 16, 2016
Beautiful Dress but Didn't Wear It
I Loved this dress but I didn't end up wearing it because my husband thought I looked like i was going to prom. The length was great and it was very comfortable, very light. This was a back up dress that RTR sent me and they only had a size 4 left. It fit a bit lose but again it was so comfortable and you couldn't tell it was lose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 14, 2016
Princess dress!
This dress was so much fun! Like many have said, it is a princess dress! Tulle for days!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
February 4, 2016
The dress was lovely and very comfortable.
The dress runs a little short. I am 5'8" and I wore the 6L. I was only able to wear a kitten heel and the dress still did not come to the floor as it appears to in the photo (you could see my shoes).
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 1, 2016
Fun fabric but a bit too much for short & curvy gal.
This "fit" meaning I was able to get the zipper up, but once on I was very uncomfortable. I am short and hourglass and this simply looked awful on me. The shoulders/neckline was all wrong for my less-than-perfect arms, and the waist hit at a pt that accentuated my rear end in a very unflattering way. I looked ridiculous. I was hopeful after seeing other photos in reviews (in same size) but I guess it just wasn't meant to be. Surprisingly though the length was NOT an issue and with a pair of platform heels it would have been fine. I did not wear this & returned before the actual event.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 29, 2016
This gown was lightweight and very comfortable.
I wore this to a Venetian Ball and it was perfect for the look I wanted. I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
So easy and loved the dress!
Dress was so comfortable! It runs short. I had to wear flats and in only 5"4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 21, 2016
Beautiful dress! Felt like a princess!
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding. It was a formal affair and called for a gown. I immediately fell in love with this dress when I saw it on the website. The size 4 fit perfectly. I'm 5'5, and 140lbs. I chose the Long fit because I typically wear really high heels (4-5 inches). The dress has A LOT of tulle. Hang it as soon as you receive it to minimize steaming time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 10, 2016
A little girl at the formal kept coming up to me and calling me a princess.
This dress was not my first choice, but fell in love with this dress at first sight! It fit perfectly and was long enough for me to wear heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 4, 2016
Received compliments on the dress all night long. Super fun to wear and really flattering.
Fits great, a little long for me (even in heels) because I am only 5'2'' but absolutely thrilled with the pick. I wore it with a suit black jacket for parts of the night and it paired great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
January 1, 2016
Felt like a princess in this dress!
Tight in the rib cage. The tulle needed steaming before I could wear it for the evening. With my 3.5 inch heels, the dress did not drag on the ground.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 30, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress! I felt like a princess and got so many compliments!
It was comfortable and fit perfectly. Be prepared to spend a long time steaming (or get it steamed). The tulle gets very wrinkled in the box. It took my 1.5 hours to steam it- but it was so worth it! I love this dress and this designer. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2015
Super classy and formal yet comfortable.
Fit was good other than it was short on me. I am 5'8" and I had to wear ballet slippers so that it would be right off the ground. That is the only option given they don't have extra longs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2015
perfect dress
Very comfortable, forgiving, and beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 21, 2015
Loved the bottom part of this dress!!!!
This dress is beautiful and makes you feel like a princess. The bottom is pretty and fun! I am 5'11 so it was a little short but i wore flats so that helped. It fell right to the floor and you could see my feet but I didn't care cause it was so pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
December 21, 2015
I highly recommend this dress. It added the a touch of whimsy to my elopement.
The dress is beautiful yet comfortable. The length of the dress was perfect for a petite woman. I wore 2.75 inches heels and it was perfect. The waist is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2015
Hands down I was princes for the night.
I'm 5'7 I should have ordered a long but the regular but I paired my dress with really cute shoes so all was good. This dress fit true to size. It's gorgeous and I hope to buy it when RTR sells it. Love love love. If you do regular have cute shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2015
It was so fun wearing a long dress for a formal wedding. This dress was perfect!
I loved how this dress fit! It was perfect for a black tie wedding! I had a baby 3 months ago... So I especially liked how this dress hides my gut:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 14, 2015
Wonderful first RTR experience!
This was my first time using RTR, and I was skeptical about the delivery and if the dress would fit. However, everything worked out perfectly. The dress arrived on the delivery day, and I chose the right size based on other renters' reviews. This dress is beautiful, and I received so many compliments! Perfect for any black tie occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2015
Felt like Cinderella.
This dress came as a backup for my original, but I loved it so much. The lace neckline was extremely flattering and the shape at the waist was very slimming. It is not heavy as you would think and was so comfortable. It was amazing and so fun to dance in! I was complimented and stopped all night long to be asked about the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 11, 2015
Petite size!
This was my second option. It was still beautiful. I was really concerned about the length because I'm 4"11ft= 59 inches. Since they had petite it was awesome. Even a 10R was great but really loose on top. Rent the runway needs more petite dress for my height please!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 7, 2015
Overall, great dress
Zipper was broken - so almost was not able to wear it. Took about 30 minutes and 3 people to figure out how to make it work. Once it was on, it was perfect! Got so many compliments throughout the evening. The 4 fit better overall, however my bust size is a D - so the 6 was needed to help there.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 6, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Got complimented all night! First time with RTR.
Comfortable and glamorous. Fit perfectly. I does need to be steamed on arrival. I'm 5'7" and decided on regular length which was perfect after steaming. Any longer was have been difficult to wear, the fabric snags easily. I got complimented all night, felt like a celebrity.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 3, 2015
Gorgeous dress and very comfortable!
I got so many compliments with this dress and I still do on Facebook! This dress is beautiful and I love the fact that you can wear a regular size with it. This has been one of my favorite dresses from RTR and I've been a fan for 2+ years!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2015
Gorgeous engagement photos!
I ordered the 2R and 4R. The skirt on the 2 was in better condition (less wrinkled, no rips, prettier color) but the 4 fit better. Luckily, because of all the layers, you couldn't see the rips or anything once it was steamed and on. The dress is gorgeous and photographed amazingly well. I really wanted to wear it so much longer than I did. A great formal gown, you'll feel beautiful in it.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
November 24, 2015
I received complements all night!
This dress was phenomenal! I wore it to a Navy formal event and it was perfect. I wear a 34H and have trouble finding dresses that fit up top and on bottom. This dress has a little stretch up top, which was helpful. Plus, I was able to wear a regular bra with it. I got amazing complements all night about the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2015
Everyone loved the dress- perfect for a black tie event!
The top is very tight around the arms (I'm a 34-36D), so bigger busted women should def order a size up. I listened to other reviews and ordered a long, which was a very good idea. I am 5'5 and wore 2 inch heels and it was perfect length. Dress not intended for taller women.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 19, 2015
Not my style, but is beautiful
Length was perfect. Looked beautiful. Classy. Not sexy. Not my style. I felt like the torso area was just too loose and didn't do much for my straight frame. Women preferred this dress on me. Men preferred the mermaid dress, same designer. I ended up wearing the mermaid dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2015
Gorgeous stand out dress
I wore this dress for a black tie ball and it was absolutely incredible. It was truly one of a kind, and I was sad when I had to send it back! The only thing I would have changed would be the length. I didn't think I would be tall enough for the long without it dragging on the floor so I didn't order it. I'm 5'5 and without shoes the dress almost touched the floor. I wore heels so the dress fell about 3 inches off the floor, but my shoes were cute and I didn't mind showing them off. Regardless, the dress was gorgeous and I loved every second of wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2015
Perfect Masquerade Party Dress!
I wanted a really fun flirty party dress for our annual masquerade ball and this one totally fit the bill! As a few other reviewers mentioned, the tulle does come pretty crinkled but if you pull it out right away, straighten the layers while it's hanging and let it hang overnight, it works the kinks out. It fit well, looked great with my lace mask and was a blast to dance in. I basically felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 16, 2015
This was the best dress ever! I felt like a million dollars. I received tons of compliments.
I have big hips and I usually have to find "A lined" dresses. This one fit so well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2015
This dress is an attention grabber!!
This dress is a showstopper, my all time favorite rental from RTR, and absolutely perfect for a military ball! I got compliments all night long and my husband loved it, too! Everyone was dying to know where I got it from and they were completely shocked when I told them it was a rental. I'm usually a 6L but the 8L was much better in length for me. Although it was a little big in the chest area compared to the fit of the 6 I had no complaints. Personally, I'd recommend going a size up if you're tall to get the right length. This dress is beyond comfortable, lightweight, and you will fall in love!!! I was so sad to have to return this! If you don't know what dress to rent, rent this!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 14, 2015
Very romantic dress!
The dress I originally rented didn't fit, and this ended up being the only dress available that was appropriate for the event. It's not really my style, but regardless of my lack of tulle-personality it is a beautiful and comfortable dress. I received several compliments on it! I wore a strapless bra, which the bodice kept in place. It was a little short, even with ballet flats, but that was also helpful on the dance floor.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×