Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Karla Drama Gown

$115 – $135 rental ?
$1595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a dramatic look for your night of evening elegance in this stunning ball gown by nha khanh. Sweeping layers of tulle will make an entrance worthy of royalty! Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black Lace over Nude Tulle (70% Polyamide, 30% Viscose). Sleeveless. Illusion boat neckline with scalloped edge. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
188 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size123
Small8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2015
Very pretty! Felt like a fairy tale princess all night!
Strapless bra and no show panties made this perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 62
September 22, 2015
Felt like a princess!!
This dress was a perfect fit. It wasn't my first choice, but RTR sent this as one alternate and I was so happy with what they picked! I wore this for my Sweet 16 and got so many compliments, I felt like a princess! It was a little long on me but I wore heels to take it off the ground. I am so happy with RTR and will definitley rent again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
September 21, 2015
Love Rent The Runway!
This dress was absolutely stunning. Very classy. I felt like a princess and received tons of compliments throughout the evening on how beautiful my dress was. The tulle was a little wrinkled upon delivery, but after hanging the dress up in a hot shower, the wrinkles fell. The size 6R fit me like a glove but after putting on the dress the day of the event I discovered a hole in the tulle. The size 8R ended up fitting fine, just not as form fitting. I am 5'6" and wore flats; the dress was a tad short but not too noticeable. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress! Love Rent The Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2015
Lovely dress. Fit great and I received compliments all night.
Dress was a lovely fit. Maybe a tad long but I had about 4 inch heels. I had no complaints about this dress, I loved every minute of it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2015
Loved. I was complimented all night. It was the perfect dress for the Be The Match Gala we chaired.
The 2 fit snug around my rib cage , 4 was too long and tulle was matted so I chose the 2. Nice to have an option.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
September 7, 2015
Loved the dress. It was a backup dress, ended up being exactly the look I wanted. It was beautiful!
A bit tight in the arms, but the length was great and perfect poufiness for a ball gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2015
GORGEOUS dress for a black tie wedding
Love this dress! Something I could never afford or buy on my own, but PERFECT as a rental. Got compliments all night (and even afterwards after I posted a photo). The bodice fit perfectly and the skirt is very forgiving because of the volume. I did have to wear 4" heels due to the length of the skirt {(the 0P was too tight in the bodice), but no complaints! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
August 24, 2015
Beautiful dress, but it didn't fit me. My sister tried it on and looked lovely.
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it is gorgeous. The contrast is quite dramatic.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
August 20, 2015
Beautiful dress, very comfortable. All around win.
Beautiful, perfectly fitting, minus the length. I am really short and had 4" platform wedges on and it was still very long. I ended up getting a petticoat skirt for underneath to "poof" the dress more. I loved it, Thank you Rent The Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 16, 2015
For an Engagement Shoot, Pleasantly Surprised!
Used this dress for our engagement shoot. It came in as a replacement for the second size the other dress did not have. This dress looked better on me than my selection. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2015
This is my daughter. She wore this dress for her senior prom. It was gorgeous.
Unbelievable dress. My daughter was drop dead gorgeous in this dress for her prom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 27, 2015
Perfect fit and I felt like a princess
I rented this dress for my engagement shoot. It definitely is different from any dress that I've ever worn so I was pretty nervous about it. My previous experiences with RTR were lackluster as the dresses were usually too big. But this time, thank god the fit was perfect (except that it was a little long even with heels as you can see in the picture it still flares out). I'm not sure the petite was an available option at that time but that probably would have worked out better for me in terms of the length. And this dress in particular made me feel like a princess! The black lace is lightweight and beautiful and the layers of tulle were gorgeous! Would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
July 8, 2015
Truly a "wow" dress. Everyone noticed and loved!
I opted to tie my own black ribbon around the waist and secure with an antique broach in the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
July 6, 2015
The dress is gorgeous!!
It fit very true to size! Beautiful fabric and cut too. My only complaint was that the dress is very long! I wore 6 inch stilettos and it still dragged on the ground :/ however, I still absolutely loved wearing it and would recommend it to anyone (especially if they are a bit taller haha).
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 2, 2015
Everyone thought the dress was so beautiful and unique. I stood out from the rest.
This dress was unbelievably comfortable and beautiful. In the picture it doesn't seem that way but that's just because I'm awkward when it comes to pictures I tend to slouch during the awkwardness. If you were to see me not in front of the camera then you will see how perfect this dress truly is. I couldn't have felt anymore amazing at Prom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
June 20, 2015
I wore this for the Army Birthday Ball celebration, a fairly formal event
This dress was AMAZING! I loved every moment of wearing it and it honestly broke my heart to return it. It fit wonderfully, flowed beautifully, the silhouette was incredible, and fit perfectly in the bust and well in the waist. I got tons of compliments all night, I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. My husband loved the dress and it is very appropriate for military events, I felt elegant all night! The tule skirt was easy to manage and did not get warm. I wore heels and did not step on the dress all night, just had to be careful on stairs. The length was perfect for me and I would not order a 10L but stick with the 10R for my height. The backup in a size 12R was just too big overall; this dress runs very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
June 14, 2015
Loved! Received so many compliments.
It fit great! I have a difficult time finding dresses that fit perfectly since I am only 5'1" and very petite. But the 0R fit me almost perfectly. I did have to lift the skirt a tiny bit when I walked but it wasn't too bad since the skirt is fluffy. I used this for an engagement shoot and I received so many compliments. I felt like a princess. Totally recommend!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
June 14, 2015
LOVE the dress, Everyone said it was beautiful. It was perfect for the Army 240th Birthday Ball.
It was comfortable, the fit was perfect.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
June 12, 2015
I felt like a princess. I wore this dress to a wedding and danced all night.
Comfortable and light. Dress was slightly short so I'm glad I ordered a long. The skirt twirls and blows in the wind beautifully.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
May 27, 2015
Got so many compliments on this beautiful dress! So comfortable and fun to wear!
True to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
Multiple comments: "You look like a princess!"
Dress fits in a very flattering and forgiving way and is extremely comfortable. I received multiple comments of "You look like a princess," "I have major dress envy," and "You're one of the best dressed people here."
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2015
Felt like Cinderella!
This was the absolute PERFECT dress for my engagement shoot in the park! Fit amazing and I truly felt like a princess!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 20, 2015
People gave me compliments and I felt gorgeous!
When I first tried this dress on, I was concerned about all the tulle, but it just takes a little bit of getting used to. All night, people gave me compliments- "princess dress" was one of the more common ones. As for the fit, I ordered a 6R and an 8R, and while the 6 fit, the 8 looked better. I'm just under 5'6" and I wore flats; I stepped on the dress here and there, but the only real difficulty was going up stairs. This is the best dress I've ever worn and it really made my prom great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 13, 2015
People kept saying I looked like a princess.
I wore the 10 R which I think is very roomy. I am on the heavy size right now, and the dress was very slimming. I added 2 belts with feathers that finished the look perfectly. The dress was very comfortable to wear and very beautiful. The lining is soft and feels like a comfy nightgown. My backup dress was the other Nha Khanh boddy hugging dress, which I ordered in 12. That dress was just too tight for me.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 10, 2015
This dress is equal in comfort and beauty. I felt like a princess and got compliments all night long
For my senior prom, I ordered a 4R with a 2R backup and ended up wearing the four. The dress was shipped to me with some rips in the tulle at the bottom and the lace on the peplum was a little raggedy. Overall, though, I loved this dress. It was so comfortable I didn't want to take it off and I was told by several people that mine was their favorite dress of the night. My only complaint was that it was a little long and I spent most of the night holding it up. I wish their was a petite option in my size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 8, 2015
I didn't wear this dress but I thought it would be a good reference..
Overall it fit well, usually I wear a 2 but this was a replacement dress.. I ordered a 4L and it was a bit big on me in the back. The dress was too short for me even when I did steam it. It wrinkles very easily so if you plan on wearing it out I recommend steaming it. If I were to wear it I would add a black bow around the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2015
I loved this dress!! I got so many compliments the whole night.
It fit very well on my typically hard-to-fit hourglass figure. I wish they carried a 4P, but the length was manageable.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2015
I had a casual wedding, but dressed up a bit for the ceremony. This dress was exactly what I wanted!
The inner lining makes it feel comfortable against your skin (you can wear a regular bra too!). Why 4 stars? I needed to add a belt/sash to make this dress look complete, and you HAVE to get this dress steamed! The tulle crinkles easily, and sticks (ie static) if you don't pre-treat it. It is a bit long too. Be prepared for heels!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 27, 2015
Loved this dress! Comfortable and flowed beautifully.
Fit a bit small in the waist, so I had to wear the 8 to be comfortable. Wore 3 inch heels, and it just brushed the floor. I added the black ribbon and broach in the center of the ribbon's bow, to add a little bit more to it. Overall, it was a great gown. I had many compliments all night.
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 25, 2015
Compliments the entire night, I felt like a princess.
Pro- Great fit on any body type, Super Lightweight, Comfortable Con- It can make you look a bit bigger than you actually are.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 21, 2015
The dress makes you feel like a princess!
I didn't actually wear this dress for my event as it was a little more formal than I needed but I never wanted to take it off! It's so light, flowy and comfortable to wear. The slip underneath gives the perfect amount of coverage while note being constricting. It's very delicate and would work on someone with a small frame as the skirt is a little slimmer than your average ball gown. I had on a strapless bra but you could wear a regular bra easily. With 4.5 inch heels the dress just hit the floor. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
April 21, 2015
I floated through the gala like a princes in this dress. It made me best dressed of the night.
I am not tall, but took others advice and ordered the long. At 5.5, I wore 2 inch heels and the dress just touched the floor. The bodice fit snugly around my waist but had enough stretch in the top to keep from compressing my busty chest. Bonus! I was able to wear a regular bra. I wore the 4 for a more fitted look, but the 6 would have been good too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
April 19, 2015
If you want to feel like a princess, rent this dress!!
The dress fit perfectly! Very comfortable all night long! I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 14, 2015
Really comfy and flattering
This is a great dress because it's soft, stretchy and forgiving. You won't be sucking it in all night, or tugging at a strapless bra. Comfortable and glamorous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 14, 2015
Lovely!!! Felt great in it!
Loved all the tulle and it was comfortable to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2015
Womp, womp
I had my eye on this gown for weeks. I had hoped to wear it for my elopement. I rented the dress to gauge sizing, fit, etc. Much to my dismay, this may be the least flattering dress I've ever had on. I'm bigger in the bust, but imagined this dress would underplay that...normally I can wear a size 8-10, depending on the designer; in this dress I barely fit into the 12. Neither size ended up fitting well. If you are a curvier woman, this may not be the dress for you. The photo doesn't show this well, but the tulle is a bit layered. It's almost confusing... It took me a few minutes just to sort the tulle out. The lace at the top of the dress (the scalloping) does not lay flat, not one bit. I'm very sad this dress wasn't "the one," it's truly so gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 7, 2015
Felt like the belle of the ball! Was beautiful and comfortable. A tad long even with heels though
I was in between sizes so it was a bit big under the arms Still stunning True to size Very flattering
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2015
Fun and Flirty and Great with a Mask!
Fit like a glove - long was again a little too long on me, but it was easy to pick up and walk with. The profile on this dress is gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 28, 2015
Very elegant!
I wore this for a work gala and it was perfect for the black tie event. The 10L fit me well and I found it was true to size. I wore a one piece undergarment that snapped at the crotch w/ a sweetheart neckline strapless bra as any bra straps would have shown thru the lace on the dress. I received so many compliments all evening. The bottom of the dress is layers of tulle. You need to hang it up overnight to let the fabric unwrinkled and fall right. I'm not used to wearing such a fluffy bottom since I have hips, but I think it worked. I'm 5'9" and the 10L was just the right length for me with 3" heels. I accessorized with my own gold jewelry.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
March 28, 2015
Loved this dress, but it didn't fit.
I usually wear a large in a top or 10 dress. The lace has no give at at. I'm 38c and there was no way it was going to zip. Beautiful, but not for me.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×