Karla Drama Gown

$135 rental
$1595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a dramatic look for your night of evening elegance in this stunning ball gown by nha khanh. Sweeping layers of tulle will make an entrance worthy of royalty! Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black Lace over Nude Tulle (70% Polyamide, 30% Viscose). Sleeveless. Illusion boat neckline with scalloped edge. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
205 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size132
Small10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 19, 2015
Not my style, but is beautiful
Length was perfect. Looked beautiful. Classy. Not sexy. Not my style. I felt like the torso area was just too loose and didn't do much for my straight frame. Women preferred this dress on me. Men preferred the mermaid dress, same designer. I ended up wearing the mermaid dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 17, 2015
Gorgeous stand out dress
I wore this dress for a black tie ball and it was absolutely incredible. It was truly one of a kind, and I was sad when I had to send it back! The only thing I would have changed would be the length. I didn't think I would be tall enough for the long without it dragging on the floor so I didn't order it. I'm 5'5 and without shoes the dress almost touched the floor. I wore heels so the dress fell about 3 inches off the floor, but my shoes were cute and I didn't mind showing them off. Regardless, the dress was gorgeous and I loved every second of wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2015
Perfect Masquerade Party Dress!
I wanted a really fun flirty party dress for our annual masquerade ball and this one totally fit the bill! As a few other reviewers mentioned, the tulle does come pretty crinkled but if you pull it out right away, straighten the layers while it's hanging and let it hang overnight, it works the kinks out. It fit well, looked great with my lace mask and was a blast to dance in. I basically felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 16, 2015
This was the best dress ever! I felt like a million dollars. I received tons of compliments.
I have big hips and I usually have to find "A lined" dresses. This one fit so well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2015
This dress is an attention grabber!!
This dress is a showstopper, my all time favorite rental from RTR, and absolutely perfect for a military ball! I got compliments all night long and my husband loved it, too! Everyone was dying to know where I got it from and they were completely shocked when I told them it was a rental. I'm usually a 6L but the 8L was much better in length for me. Although it was a little big in the chest area compared to the fit of the 6 I had no complaints. Personally, I'd recommend going a size up if you're tall to get the right length. This dress is beyond comfortable, lightweight, and you will fall in love!!! I was so sad to have to return this! If you don't know what dress to rent, rent this!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 14, 2015
Very romantic dress!
The dress I originally rented didn't fit, and this ended up being the only dress available that was appropriate for the event. It's not really my style, but regardless of my lack of tulle-personality it is a beautiful and comfortable dress. I received several compliments on it! I wore a strapless bra, which the bodice kept in place. It was a little short, even with ballet flats, but that was also helpful on the dance floor.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
November 13, 2015
The dress was amazing and I got a ton of compliments.
The dress fit true to size. The tulle was full but not too heavy. Be careful walking in heels as it easy for shoes to get caught in the tulle. As some other people mentioned in previous reviews, it may be helpful to spray with some static spray. The dress arrived in a timely manner and the return process is super easy. The dress arrived in a box and the bottom was a little wrinkled, noting a quick steam couldn't take care of- if you don't have access or time for a steam, just hang in the bathroom while you take a super hot shower. All in all I am pleased with my overall experience with RTR. Last thing, its best to order the Long if you are taller than 5"6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2015
On time! :)
Fit was a little weird. It was a bit big on my bust but tight on my waist. I was surprised it was tight on my waist because that never happens. It was also a bit short on me. My shoes were showing. The dress was comfortable, i think it would best for someone with a larger bust.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 9, 2015
This dress was so comfortable!
The 8L fit my torso perfectly but it was too short so I had to wear the 10L. ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS DRESS! I received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
November 7, 2015
Beautiful and elegant
Beautiful dress but runs a bit long :(
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 36
November 3, 2015
Fit perfectly. Flowed perfectly. Anniversary photo shoot. So perfect.
Fits snug in the waist. Did arrive with a little tear at the bottom of the skirt but wasn't noticeable by anyone but me.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
October 26, 2015
the dress
slightly short so don't wear shoes with more than a 3 inch heel. by the neckline it was a little messy with the lace and the nude tank underneath, was hard for someone with relatively large boobs to wear
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
October 26, 2015
I felt beautiful and comfortable in this dress!
It was a bit snugger than the fit had been in the store. I'm guessing that's because the dress in the store is the one used for many people to try and has gotten a bit stretched out. I still fit in it, but it was slightly tighter than I would have liked. I am usually more a 4 than a 2 for sure, but in the store the 2 fit great. I'm 5'2" and this was on the long side, so I had to wear platform heels to make it work. FYI for shorties out there like me! It's just not a material that works to be hemmed with double sided tape like RTR does for some other materials. I got TONS of compliments on this dress all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
October 26, 2015
A LIFETIME OF MEMORIES IN A BEAUTIFUL GOWN
I wore this to a Masquerade ball which was also my friends 50th bday party. This dress is fabulous! I wasn't even able to make it to the door because I was stopped 4 times! Someone even wanted to take a picture of me so they can get the dress! Once in the Venue, all eyes were on me. The dress stood out in a dim lite room. I love the way it made me feel like a princess. Someone even asked me if I could help them with picking out a sweet 16 dress for their daughter. Its all thanks to Rent the Runway and this beautiful piece! Thanks!!! :):):)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 19, 2015
PERFECT for a black tie wedding!
This dress is one of the most comfortable I have ever worn. The skirt is light and airy (not heavy at all) and not only did I not have to wear spanx, I didn't even need a bra! The fit is flawless, exactly true to size. The regular length was perfect for my height (5' 4"). You might need a long if you're taller than 5' 5". Honestly, if I could buy this dress, I would. Unbelievable comfortable, flattering, and GORGEOUS! Seriously, the compliments just would not stop! This dress is major.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 17, 2015
This dress is perfect. I wish I owned it so I could wear it all the time!!
The fit was fantastic. I'm 4'11" and it wasn't too long for me in the 0 petite. It had a lot of static which was a downside, but it looked incredible. I got oohs and ahhs all night. I felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2015
Show Stopper!
Full glamour - very pretty dress. The tulle is a tad cumbersome because I felt like i was stepping on it at times ... But it was worth it! The black lace bodice is beautiful & I loved the way it photographed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2015
Very pretty! Felt like a fairy tale princess all night!
Strapless bra and no show panties made this perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 63
September 22, 2015
Felt like a princess!!
This dress was a perfect fit. It wasn't my first choice, but RTR sent this as one alternate and I was so happy with what they picked! I wore this for my Sweet 16 and got so many compliments, I felt like a princess! It was a little long on me but I wore heels to take it off the ground. I am so happy with RTR and will definitley rent again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
September 21, 2015
Love Rent The Runway!
This dress was absolutely stunning. Very classy. I felt like a princess and received tons of compliments throughout the evening on how beautiful my dress was. The tulle was a little wrinkled upon delivery, but after hanging the dress up in a hot shower, the wrinkles fell. The size 6R fit me like a glove but after putting on the dress the day of the event I discovered a hole in the tulle. The size 8R ended up fitting fine, just not as form fitting. I am 5'6" and wore flats; the dress was a tad short but not too noticeable. Overall, I would definitely recommend this dress! Love Rent The Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2015
Lovely dress. Fit great and I received compliments all night.
Dress was a lovely fit. Maybe a tad long but I had about 4 inch heels. I had no complaints about this dress, I loved every minute of it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2015
Loved. I was complimented all night. It was the perfect dress for the Be The Match Gala we chaired.
The 2 fit snug around my rib cage , 4 was too long and tulle was matted so I chose the 2. Nice to have an option.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 46
September 7, 2015
Loved the dress. It was a backup dress, ended up being exactly the look I wanted. It was beautiful!
A bit tight in the arms, but the length was great and perfect poufiness for a ball gown.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2015
GORGEOUS dress for a black tie wedding
Love this dress! Something I could never afford or buy on my own, but PERFECT as a rental. Got compliments all night (and even afterwards after I posted a photo). The bodice fit perfectly and the skirt is very forgiving because of the volume. I did have to wear 4" heels due to the length of the skirt {(the 0P was too tight in the bodice), but no complaints! Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
August 24, 2015
Beautiful dress, but it didn't fit me. My sister tried it on and looked lovely.
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it is gorgeous. The contrast is quite dramatic.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
August 20, 2015
Beautiful dress, very comfortable. All around win.
Beautiful, perfectly fitting, minus the length. I am really short and had 4" platform wedges on and it was still very long. I ended up getting a petticoat skirt for underneath to "poof" the dress more. I loved it, Thank you Rent The Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 16, 2015
For an Engagement Shoot, Pleasantly Surprised!
Used this dress for our engagement shoot. It came in as a replacement for the second size the other dress did not have. This dress looked better on me than my selection. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 29, 2015
This is my daughter. She wore this dress for her senior prom. It was gorgeous.
Unbelievable dress. My daughter was drop dead gorgeous in this dress for her prom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 27, 2015
Perfect fit and I felt like a princess
I rented this dress for my engagement shoot. It definitely is different from any dress that I've ever worn so I was pretty nervous about it. My previous experiences with RTR were lackluster as the dresses were usually too big. But this time, thank god the fit was perfect (except that it was a little long even with heels as you can see in the picture it still flares out). I'm not sure the petite was an available option at that time but that probably would have worked out better for me in terms of the length. And this dress in particular made me feel like a princess! The black lace is lightweight and beautiful and the layers of tulle were gorgeous! Would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
July 8, 2015
Truly a "wow" dress. Everyone noticed and loved!
I opted to tie my own black ribbon around the waist and secure with an antique broach in the back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
July 6, 2015
The dress is gorgeous!!
It fit very true to size! Beautiful fabric and cut too. My only complaint was that the dress is very long! I wore 6 inch stilettos and it still dragged on the ground :/ however, I still absolutely loved wearing it and would recommend it to anyone (especially if they are a bit taller haha).
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 2, 2015
Everyone thought the dress was so beautiful and unique. I stood out from the rest.
This dress was unbelievably comfortable and beautiful. In the picture it doesn't seem that way but that's just because I'm awkward when it comes to pictures I tend to slouch during the awkwardness. If you were to see me not in front of the camera then you will see how perfect this dress truly is. I couldn't have felt anymore amazing at Prom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
June 20, 2015
I wore this for the Army Birthday Ball celebration, a fairly formal event
This dress was AMAZING! I loved every moment of wearing it and it honestly broke my heart to return it. It fit wonderfully, flowed beautifully, the silhouette was incredible, and fit perfectly in the bust and well in the waist. I got tons of compliments all night, I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. My husband loved the dress and it is very appropriate for military events, I felt elegant all night! The tule skirt was easy to manage and did not get warm. I wore heels and did not step on the dress all night, just had to be careful on stairs. The length was perfect for me and I would not order a 10L but stick with the 10R for my height. The backup in a size 12R was just too big overall; this dress runs very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
June 14, 2015
Loved! Received so many compliments.
It fit great! I have a difficult time finding dresses that fit perfectly since I am only 5'1" and very petite. But the 0R fit me almost perfectly. I did have to lift the skirt a tiny bit when I walked but it wasn't too bad since the skirt is fluffy. I used this for an engagement shoot and I received so many compliments. I felt like a princess. Totally recommend!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
June 14, 2015
LOVE the dress, Everyone said it was beautiful. It was perfect for the Army 240th Birthday Ball.
It was comfortable, the fit was perfect.
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
June 12, 2015
I felt like a princess. I wore this dress to a wedding and danced all night.
Comfortable and light. Dress was slightly short so I'm glad I ordered a long. The skirt twirls and blows in the wind beautifully.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 15
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
May 27, 2015
Got so many compliments on this beautiful dress! So comfortable and fun to wear!
True to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
Multiple comments: "You look like a princess!"
Dress fits in a very flattering and forgiving way and is extremely comfortable. I received multiple comments of "You look like a princess," "I have major dress envy," and "You're one of the best dressed people here."
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 23, 2015
Felt like Cinderella!
This was the absolute PERFECT dress for my engagement shoot in the park! Fit amazing and I truly felt like a princess!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 20, 2015
People gave me compliments and I felt gorgeous!
When I first tried this dress on, I was concerned about all the tulle, but it just takes a little bit of getting used to. All night, people gave me compliments- "princess dress" was one of the more common ones. As for the fit, I ordered a 6R and an 8R, and while the 6 fit, the 8 looked better. I'm just under 5'6" and I wore flats; I stepped on the dress here and there, but the only real difficulty was going up stairs. This is the best dress I've ever worn and it really made my prom great.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×