nha khanh

Karla Drama Gown

$219 to buy
$1,595 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a dramatic look for your night of evening elegance in this stunning ball gown by nha khanh. Sweeping layers of tulle will make an entrance worthy of royalty! Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Lace over Nude Tulle (70% Polyamide, 30% Viscose). Sleeveless. Illusion boat neckline with scalloped edge. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
245 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(153)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 19, 2015
Not my style, but is beautiful
Length was perfect. Looked beautiful. Classy. Not sexy. Not my style. I felt like the torso area was just too loose and didn't do much for my straight frame. Women preferred this dress on me. Men preferred the mermaid dress, same designer. I ended up wearing the mermaid dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
December 6, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Got complimented all night! First time with RTR.
Comfortable and glamorous. Fit perfectly. I does need to be steamed on arrival. I'm 5'7" and decided on regular length which was perfect after steaming. Any longer was have been difficult to wear, the fabric snags easily. I got complimented all night, felt like a celebrity.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 11, 2015
Petite size!
This was my second option. It was still beautiful. I was really concerned about the length because I'm 4"11ft= 59 inches. Since they had petite it was awesome. Even a 10R was great but really loose on top. Rent the runway needs more petite dress for my height please!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2015
Felt like Cinderella.
This dress came as a backup for my original, but I loved it so much. The lace neckline was extremely flattering and the shape at the waist was very slimming. It is not heavy as you would think and was so comfortable. It was amazing and so fun to dance in! I was complimented and stopped all night long to be asked about the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2015
It was so fun wearing a long dress for a formal wedding. This dress was perfect!
I loved how this dress fit! It was perfect for a black tie wedding! I had a baby 3 months ago... So I especially liked how this dress hides my gut:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2015
Hands down I was princes for the night.
I'm 5'7 I should have ordered a long but the regular but I paired my dress with really cute shoes so all was good. This dress fit true to size. It's gorgeous and I hope to buy it when RTR sells it. Love love love. If you do regular have cute shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
January 21, 2016
Beautiful dress! Felt like a princess!
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding. It was a formal affair and called for a gown. I immediately fell in love with this dress when I saw it on the website. The size 4 fit perfectly. I'm 5'5, and 140lbs. I chose the Long fit because I typically wear really high heels (4-5 inches). The dress has A LOT of tulle. Hang it as soon as you receive it to minimize steaming time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
So easy and loved the dress!
Dress was so comfortable! It runs short. I had to wear flats and in only 5"4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 29, 2016
This gown was lightweight and very comfortable.
I wore this to a Venetian Ball and it was perfect for the look I wanted. I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 14, 2016
Princess dress!
This dress was so much fun! Like many have said, it is a princess dress! Tulle for days!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 2, 2016
Fabulous dress!
If you have larger breast this may be challenging to zip up so possibly size up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
March 21, 2016
Customer service was fantastic and accountable when my original dress was unavailable.
The fit was true to size. I ordered a 4 long and 2 long. I wore the 2L. I'm only 5'6", so not too tall, but my heels added 3 or 4 inches. The dress met the floor perfectly. I tried on the 2 and realized I wouldn't even need the 4. It was very comfortable and becomes loose under the peplum. This made it easy to dance, move, and eat. I was able to eat my whole meal while I noticed other women leaving their plates full of food in their skin tight dresses! I wore black heels and gold jewelry, which kept it simple and elegant. I wore this to a gala and I was not overdressed but definitely had one of the more formal dresses. The dress was quite wrinkly upon arrival and I ended up steaming the ends in order to make sure it fell in a pretty way. My favorite part was that I got compliments all night long. Women from my age (21) to the oldest women at the gala told me they loved my dress and that I looked like a princess. I couldn't help but swish the tulle as I walked and felt so fancy! I loved it. I originally ordered a tight black dress with cutouts. On the Monday before I expected to receive it on Thursday (3 days!!!) I got an email saying the dress would not be ready. RTR let me pick another dress at double the price I originally paid for no extra charge. The woman I corresponded with also said she would be waiting for a call or email on the day it arrived in case she would need to overnight a different dress. All in all, a wonderful experience and I will absolutely rent from here again! I have a dress picked out for a wedding of a friend in a few months. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 3, 2016
Amazingly beautiful dress!
This dress was so beautiful it's hard to describe. The fit was perfection I could dance and move without worrying about it shifting or sagging. The length was perfect with heels but it was a little long for flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 27, 2016
So many compliments on this beautiful dress
Best with a slip underneath.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
May 1, 2016
Raising over $100k towards pediatric cancer research and all of the complements I received
Beautiful dress and perfect for the #CKcGala we went to. I had so many complements and it was very comfortable to wear. Perfect length with 2 inch heals
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2014
Beautiful, elegant, felt like a princess
The fit was true. Fabric has stretch. The skirt is kind of hard to manage at times. Overall wonderful
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2014
Very figure flattering and makes you feel like a princess!
This is a lovely dress - sophisticated, with a nicely tailored look. The size 2 was a bit snug but the 4 fit like a glove. The design of the dress emphasizes the bust and gives the appearance of a very small waist. I added a wide, long black grosgrain ribbon tied into a bow at the side as a belt, which I thought pulled it together perfectly. I had to purchase lower heels (nude, 2") than I had planned to wear because the dress was a couple of inches shorter than I expected, but I was much more comfortable than I would have been in the taller heels! Only drawback: one other woman had this dress at my event (475 attendees) and four had the mermaid version!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 7, 2015
Felt like the belle of the ball! Was beautiful and comfortable. A tad long even with heels though
I was in between sizes so it was a bit big under the arms Still stunning True to size Very flattering
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Bust size: 34A
May 8, 2015
I didn't wear this dress but I thought it would be a good reference..
Overall it fit well, usually I wear a 2 but this was a replacement dress.. I ordered a 4L and it was a bit big on me in the back. The dress was too short for me even when I did steam it. It wrinkles very easily so if you plan on wearing it out I recommend steaming it. If I were to wear it I would add a black bow around the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2015
Everyone loved the dress- perfect for a black tie event!
The top is very tight around the arms (I'm a 34-36D), so bigger busted women should def order a size up. I listened to other reviews and ordered a long, which was a very good idea. I am 5'5 and wore 2 inch heels and it was perfect length. Dress not intended for taller women.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2016
I felt like a princess!
This dress was classy and beautiful! The stretch made me feel very comfortable, and the gorgeous lace made me feel confident that I had a stand-out dress at the gala!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
June 30, 2017
Princess Style
Loved the dress. It fit beautifully & I felt like a princess! I wore it my my wedding rehearsal diner. Perfect dress for an occasion you want to remember for ever.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 28, 2017
Felt like a princess
The fit was true to size and the color was so soft. Compliments all around.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
November 5, 2017
This dress made me feel like a princess!
The fit was perfect, very flattering and makes the waist look small! l'm 5'9 and Long Length was perfect with heels. So many people complimented me on the dress throughout the night. The dress just floated. The cream color tulle really stood out (in the best way) in a room of plain black and red dresses! Also, it was such a comfortable dress!! 6 hours of wearing it and no complaints.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
February 28, 2014
AMAZING dress!
I LOVE this dress. From the moment I tried it on I felt like Cinderella and just wanted to twirl. I received so many complements throughout the night. I wore this to a white-tie gala and it was perfect. I wore a 0L and actually wore booties with it since my shoes were covered. I do recommend sizing down if you are in between sizes or smaller up top since the bottom of the dress is pretty loose. I can't recommend this dress enough!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2014
Gorgeous dress and amazing customer service!
I would give RTR 10 stars if I could for their customer service! I ordered a 2L and 4L, but needed a 0L. They were very accommodating on getting this dress to me in time!! Also, the dress is GORGEOUS! I attended a gala for the ballet and received compliments all night long. I felt like a princess. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2014
A very pretty, comfortable dress.
It was very good quality. It was a little bigger than I expected, but not bad. Very comfortable dress to wear. I got a lot of compliments. It was my first time using Rent the Runway and I was very happy with the service. The dresses arrived on time and seems pretty hassle free.
ElsaMarch 6, 2014
Hi, may I ask what size heel you wore with it?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
April 13, 2014
The dress was here on time and was beautiful
The dress was perfect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2014
Different from everyone else at prom!
Easy rental process! The dress was stunning and I felt beautiful. It was the perfect style that stood out at prom. My only negative was that the bottom of dress was dress was a bit uneven and unruly but I'm probably the only one who noticed. I will definitely rent again!
KrisMay 4, 2014
Those stats are for my mom who ordered my dress. My stats are 5'2" 104lbs. 0R was a little big but not by much. It was an extremely comfortable and light dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2014
Gorgeous!
This dress was very pretty but I did not choose to wear it for my senior prom. I ordered this dress as well as the "Badgley Mischka Award Winner Gown." I decided to wear the other gown only because I thought that this gown was a bit too poofy to dance in at prom. Other than that, this dress was perfect. It was very flattering and ran slightly large. I would recommend getting a size down if you plan on wearing this.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 22, 2014
Legitimately a princess dress. I cant tell you how many people commented on how high fashion I was!
It was a bit big in the back, but the perfect length. I had to steam the tulle when I got it. It is super forgiving around the tummy, and really would look good on just about anyone! Good to know you can wear a normal bra with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
May 29, 2014
I wore this gown for my engagement pictures.... It was perfect!
It fit perfect! The dress was light & very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2014
Beautiful, but I chose the wrong size.
So, this dress is lovely but I ordered a 12 and I should've gotten a 10. It worked well with my large bust but, because I have a short torso, bunch weirdly in the center. Too much fabric at the waist, but it would've been perfect in a 10. This was my backup dress, so I just wore my first choice.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 163lbs
December 3, 2014
Family photo shoot on the beach and based on responses from a selfie I posted - it's a hit!
This dress felt amazing!! It's flattering to all problem areas (i.e. upper arms, tummy). The 12L I ordered wasn't available at the last minute and I was freaked because most reviews said the top fit snug but the 10L fit beautifully with plenty of room to breathe.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 29, 2014
the dress was the best part
don't wear sequence heels with the chiffon... it'll get caught. Also dress can easily get caught in stilettos ... i think it was a tad too long on me (i'm 5'4) but still was beautiful and elegant and what i wanted!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
January 9, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress and so did everyone else!!
Im normally a size 6 but in formal dresses from RTR the 4 fits perfect. The length was perfect too with 4inch heels since Im so short. The lace was beautiful and the tulle just needed a little steaming and static guard. It is such a beautiful, elegant and timeless gown...LOVED IT!!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 19, 2015
This is a beautiful gown which was perfect for the ball.
I should have got the 8R but was afraid it would be too small. The skirt it light and flows nice as you move.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
October 26, 2015
I felt beautiful and comfortable in this dress!
It was a bit snugger than the fit had been in the store. I'm guessing that's because the dress in the store is the one used for many people to try and has gotten a bit stretched out. I still fit in it, but it was slightly tighter than I would have liked. I am usually more a 4 than a 2 for sure, but in the store the 2 fit great. I'm 5'2" and this was on the long side, so I had to wear platform heels to make it work. FYI for shorties out there like me! It's just not a material that works to be hemmed with double sided tape like RTR does for some other materials. I got TONS of compliments on this dress all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
November 7, 2015
Beautiful and elegant
Beautiful dress but runs a bit long :(
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 164lbs
June 27, 2014
the dress flowed so beautifully. perfect for my prom. got so many compliments!! thank you RTR
i was planning on wearing the size 8 i got but it had a rip but thank god the 10 was there. it was a little loose on the shoulders but it was perfectly fine. i was so skeptical at first when i ordered it cause i thought it would be stiff. but if flowed so well with my dancing lol. thank you RTR for this one of a king dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 7

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×