Karla Drama Gown

$75 rental
$1595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a dramatic look for your night of evening elegance in this stunning ball gown by nha khanh. Sweeping layers of tulle will make an entrance worthy of royalty! Simply pair with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Anne Crystal Teardrops and Kenneth Jay Lane’s Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black Lace over Nude Tulle (70% Polyamide, 30% Viscose). Sleeveless. Illusion boat neckline with scalloped edge. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
228 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(143)
Small
(11)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 1, 2016
Fun fabric but a bit too much for short & curvy gal.
This "fit" meaning I was able to get the zipper up, but once on I was very uncomfortable. I am short and hourglass and this simply looked awful on me. The shoulders/neckline was all wrong for my less-than-perfect arms, and the waist hit at a pt that accentuated my rear end in a very unflattering way. I looked ridiculous. I was hopeful after seeing other photos in reviews (in same size) but I guess it just wasn't meant to be. Surprisingly though the length was NOT an issue and with a pair of platform heels it would have been fine. I did not wear this & returned before the actual event.
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 29, 2016
This gown was lightweight and very comfortable.
I wore this to a Venetian Ball and it was perfect for the look I wanted. I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
So easy and loved the dress!
Dress was so comfortable! It runs short. I had to wear flats and in only 5"4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 21, 2016
Beautiful dress! Felt like a princess!
I wore this dress to my friend's wedding. It was a formal affair and called for a gown. I immediately fell in love with this dress when I saw it on the website. The size 4 fit perfectly. I'm 5'5, and 140lbs. I chose the Long fit because I typically wear really high heels (4-5 inches). The dress has A LOT of tulle. Hang it as soon as you receive it to minimize steaming time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 10, 2016
A little girl at the formal kept coming up to me and calling me a princess.
This dress was not my first choice, but fell in love with this dress at first sight! It fit perfectly and was long enough for me to wear heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 4, 2016
Received compliments on the dress all night long. Super fun to wear and really flattering.
Fits great, a little long for me (even in heels) because I am only 5'2'' but absolutely thrilled with the pick. I wore it with a suit black jacket for parts of the night and it paired great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
January 1, 2016
Felt like a princess in this dress!
Tight in the rib cage. The tulle needed steaming before I could wear it for the evening. With my 3.5 inch heels, the dress did not drag on the ground.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 30, 2015
I absolutely loved this dress! I felt like a princess and got so many compliments!
It was comfortable and fit perfectly. Be prepared to spend a long time steaming (or get it steamed). The tulle gets very wrinkled in the box. It took my 1.5 hours to steam it- but it was so worth it! I love this dress and this designer. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2015
Super classy and formal yet comfortable.
Fit was good other than it was short on me. I am 5'8" and I had to wear ballet slippers so that it would be right off the ground. That is the only option given they don't have extra longs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2015
perfect dress
Very comfortable, forgiving, and beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 21, 2015
Loved the bottom part of this dress!!!!
This dress is beautiful and makes you feel like a princess. The bottom is pretty and fun! I am 5'11 so it was a little short but i wore flats so that helped. It fell right to the floor and you could see my feet but I didn't care cause it was so pretty.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
December 21, 2015
I highly recommend this dress. It added the a touch of whimsy to my elopement.
The dress is beautiful yet comfortable. The length of the dress was perfect for a petite woman. I wore 2.75 inches heels and it was perfect. The waist is very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2015
Hands down I was princes for the night.
I'm 5'7 I should have ordered a long but the regular but I paired my dress with really cute shoes so all was good. This dress fit true to size. It's gorgeous and I hope to buy it when RTR sells it. Love love love. If you do regular have cute shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2015
It was so fun wearing a long dress for a formal wedding. This dress was perfect!
I loved how this dress fit! It was perfect for a black tie wedding! I had a baby 3 months ago... So I especially liked how this dress hides my gut:)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 14, 2015
Wonderful first RTR experience!
This was my first time using RTR, and I was skeptical about the delivery and if the dress would fit. However, everything worked out perfectly. The dress arrived on the delivery day, and I chose the right size based on other renters' reviews. This dress is beautiful, and I received so many compliments! Perfect for any black tie occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2015
Felt like Cinderella.
This dress came as a backup for my original, but I loved it so much. The lace neckline was extremely flattering and the shape at the waist was very slimming. It is not heavy as you would think and was so comfortable. It was amazing and so fun to dance in! I was complimented and stopped all night long to be asked about the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
December 11, 2015
Petite size!
This was my second option. It was still beautiful. I was really concerned about the length because I'm 4"11ft= 59 inches. Since they had petite it was awesome. Even a 10R was great but really loose on top. Rent the runway needs more petite dress for my height please!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
December 7, 2015
Overall, great dress
Zipper was broken - so almost was not able to wear it. Took about 30 minutes and 3 people to figure out how to make it work. Once it was on, it was perfect! Got so many compliments throughout the evening. The 4 fit better overall, however my bust size is a D - so the 6 was needed to help there.
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 6, 2015
Gorgeous dress! Got complimented all night! First time with RTR.
Comfortable and glamorous. Fit perfectly. I does need to be steamed on arrival. I'm 5'7" and decided on regular length which was perfect after steaming. Any longer was have been difficult to wear, the fabric snags easily. I got complimented all night, felt like a celebrity.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 3, 2015
Gorgeous dress and very comfortable!
I got so many compliments with this dress and I still do on Facebook! This dress is beautiful and I love the fact that you can wear a regular size with it. This has been one of my favorite dresses from RTR and I've been a fan for 2+ years!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 25, 2015
Gorgeous engagement photos!
I ordered the 2R and 4R. The skirt on the 2 was in better condition (less wrinkled, no rips, prettier color) but the 4 fit better. Luckily, because of all the layers, you couldn't see the rips or anything once it was steamed and on. The dress is gorgeous and photographed amazingly well. I really wanted to wear it so much longer than I did. A great formal gown, you'll feel beautiful in it.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
November 24, 2015
I received complements all night!
This dress was phenomenal! I wore it to a Navy formal event and it was perfect. I wear a 34H and have trouble finding dresses that fit up top and on bottom. This dress has a little stretch up top, which was helpful. Plus, I was able to wear a regular bra with it. I got amazing complements all night about the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 22, 2015
Everyone loved the dress- perfect for a black tie event!
The top is very tight around the arms (I'm a 34-36D), so bigger busted women should def order a size up. I listened to other reviews and ordered a long, which was a very good idea. I am 5'5 and wore 2 inch heels and it was perfect length. Dress not intended for taller women.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
November 19, 2015
Not my style, but is beautiful
Length was perfect. Looked beautiful. Classy. Not sexy. Not my style. I felt like the torso area was just too loose and didn't do much for my straight frame. Women preferred this dress on me. Men preferred the mermaid dress, same designer. I ended up wearing the mermaid dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2015
Gorgeous stand out dress
I wore this dress for a black tie ball and it was absolutely incredible. It was truly one of a kind, and I was sad when I had to send it back! The only thing I would have changed would be the length. I didn't think I would be tall enough for the long without it dragging on the floor so I didn't order it. I'm 5'5 and without shoes the dress almost touched the floor. I wore heels so the dress fell about 3 inches off the floor, but my shoes were cute and I didn't mind showing them off. Regardless, the dress was gorgeous and I loved every second of wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 16, 2015
Perfect Masquerade Party Dress!
I wanted a really fun flirty party dress for our annual masquerade ball and this one totally fit the bill! As a few other reviewers mentioned, the tulle does come pretty crinkled but if you pull it out right away, straighten the layers while it's hanging and let it hang overnight, it works the kinks out. It fit well, looked great with my lace mask and was a blast to dance in. I basically felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 16, 2015
This was the best dress ever! I felt like a million dollars. I received tons of compliments.
I have big hips and I usually have to find "A lined" dresses. This one fit so well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 15, 2015
This dress is an attention grabber!!
This dress is a showstopper, my all time favorite rental from RTR, and absolutely perfect for a military ball! I got compliments all night long and my husband loved it, too! Everyone was dying to know where I got it from and they were completely shocked when I told them it was a rental. I'm usually a 6L but the 8L was much better in length for me. Although it was a little big in the chest area compared to the fit of the 6 I had no complaints. Personally, I'd recommend going a size up if you're tall to get the right length. This dress is beyond comfortable, lightweight, and you will fall in love!!! I was so sad to have to return this! If you don't know what dress to rent, rent this!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 14, 2015
Very romantic dress!
The dress I originally rented didn't fit, and this ended up being the only dress available that was appropriate for the event. It's not really my style, but regardless of my lack of tulle-personality it is a beautiful and comfortable dress. I received several compliments on it! I wore a strapless bra, which the bodice kept in place. It was a little short, even with ballet flats, but that was also helpful on the dance floor.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
November 13, 2015
The dress was amazing and I got a ton of compliments.
The dress fit true to size. The tulle was full but not too heavy. Be careful walking in heels as it easy for shoes to get caught in the tulle. As some other people mentioned in previous reviews, it may be helpful to spray with some static spray. The dress arrived in a timely manner and the return process is super easy. The dress arrived in a box and the bottom was a little wrinkled, noting a quick steam couldn't take care of- if you don't have access or time for a steam, just hang in the bathroom while you take a super hot shower. All in all I am pleased with my overall experience with RTR. Last thing, its best to order the Long if you are taller than 5"6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 12, 2015
On time! :)
Fit was a little weird. It was a bit big on my bust but tight on my waist. I was surprised it was tight on my waist because that never happens. It was also a bit short on me. My shoes were showing. The dress was comfortable, i think it would best for someone with a larger bust.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 9, 2015
This dress was so comfortable!
The 8L fit my torso perfectly but it was too short so I had to wear the 10L. ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS DRESS! I received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
November 7, 2015
Beautiful and elegant
Beautiful dress but runs a bit long :(
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 37
November 3, 2015
Fit perfectly. Flowed perfectly. Anniversary photo shoot. So perfect.
Fits snug in the waist. Did arrive with a little tear at the bottom of the skirt but wasn't noticeable by anyone but me.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
October 26, 2015
the dress
slightly short so don't wear shoes with more than a 3 inch heel. by the neckline it was a little messy with the lace and the nude tank underneath, was hard for someone with relatively large boobs to wear
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
October 26, 2015
I felt beautiful and comfortable in this dress!
It was a bit snugger than the fit had been in the store. I'm guessing that's because the dress in the store is the one used for many people to try and has gotten a bit stretched out. I still fit in it, but it was slightly tighter than I would have liked. I am usually more a 4 than a 2 for sure, but in the store the 2 fit great. I'm 5'2" and this was on the long side, so I had to wear platform heels to make it work. FYI for shorties out there like me! It's just not a material that works to be hemmed with double sided tape like RTR does for some other materials. I got TONS of compliments on this dress all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 37
October 26, 2015
A LIFETIME OF MEMORIES IN A BEAUTIFUL GOWN
I wore this to a Masquerade ball which was also my friends 50th bday party. This dress is fabulous! I wasn't even able to make it to the door because I was stopped 4 times! Someone even wanted to take a picture of me so they can get the dress! Once in the Venue, all eyes were on me. The dress stood out in a dim lite room. I love the way it made me feel like a princess. Someone even asked me if I could help them with picking out a sweet 16 dress for their daughter. Its all thanks to Rent the Runway and this beautiful piece! Thanks!!! :):):)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 19, 2015
PERFECT for a black tie wedding!
This dress is one of the most comfortable I have ever worn. The skirt is light and airy (not heavy at all) and not only did I not have to wear spanx, I didn't even need a bra! The fit is flawless, exactly true to size. The regular length was perfect for my height (5' 4"). You might need a long if you're taller than 5' 5". Honestly, if I could buy this dress, I would. Unbelievable comfortable, flattering, and GORGEOUS! Seriously, the compliments just would not stop! This dress is major.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 17, 2015
This dress is perfect. I wish I owned it so I could wear it all the time!!
The fit was fantastic. I'm 4'11" and it wasn't too long for me in the 0 petite. It had a lot of static which was a downside, but it looked incredible. I got oohs and ahhs all night. I felt like a princess.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 11, 2015
Show Stopper!
Full glamour - very pretty dress. The tulle is a tad cumbersome because I felt like i was stepping on it at times ... But it was worth it! The black lace bodice is beautiful & I loved the way it photographed.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×