Plum Rose Bodice Sheath

$44 to buy
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Have an upcoming dinner party or work-related function? You'll exude confidence in this fitted purple sheath by Moschino Cheap and Chic.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Fuschia stretch poplin (97% cotton, 3% other fibers). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Ruched bodice. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
154 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(12)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 17, 2014
Stunning Color - Classy Sexy
I ordered this dress somewhat last minute for a little NYE party. After reading the reviews, I got both a size 6 and an 8. I ended up wearing the 6 since it fit more like the model depicted. The folds on the bust were a bit odd which is why I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. Now, however, looking at pictures I think it looks very flattering. I guess I wasn't used to it. Color is so beautiful in person as well. I could see this being very flattering on lots of skin tones. Would rent this or other colors of this dress in the future.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 5, 2014
Loved how I looked. Slimming cut!
The dress was definitely for a longer torso. The straps were a bit loose so I had to do some strategic pinning. I ordered the 6 and the 8 because reviews led me to believe that ordering my typical size 8 may be big and that was true, ended up wearing the 44 (6). Overall the fit was great and my husband was "Wowed!" Great dancing dress for sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 14, 2014
too grown up
this dress is very "grown up", my mother said it looked like something she'd wear. if you're looking for something super conservative, this will work. I'd recommend sizing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 28, 2014
Beautiful color but too big.
I rented this dress for a wedding but couldn't wear even the smaller size because it was too big in the chest. Beautiful color and fabric but needed a smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2014
pretty dress
size up! too big
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 11, 2014
Wore to a great dinner!
I picked this dress for a nice dinner during my bachelorette weekend. While I liked the color and the shape, the straps were definitely too long and (as you can see from many of the photos) the material wrinkles very easily. As soon as I sat down for 15 minutes, the dress was completely wrinkled around the waistline. Thankfully, the rouching detail masks it a little. But the straps were so long that my demi-cup bra kept peaking out the top. I needed to use fabric tape to fix the issue, but there was still a lot of extra room in the straps.
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2014
Wish this would have worked :(
This dress is the prettiest color and I wish it would have worked. I am curvy and the bottom fit fine, but the top was so large that i couldn't wear it. Thank goodness I rented another dress, the other one was fantastic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
April 26, 2015
Size 8-HUGE for a size 8. Beautiful though, can't wait to try in yellow.
Last order I ordered a few dresses in a 6. They were all a little small but could still be worn. This times round I ordered 8's and they dropped to the floor ! No chance I could wear this, but its beautiful!!! Love the color! I will try again !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
April 29, 2013
Pretty but didn't end up wearing it
I ordered this as the safe bet but ended up not wearing it. It felt a lot more conservative that it came across on the website. Probably because it ended up being below the knee on me. As many others have said it did seem to run a bit small. Pretty dress though.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2013
?
Beautiful color - fit perfectly except for the top of my ribcage. Really tight in the chest area/under boobs and straps were sort of loose. Perfect fit around waist. Size up was too big and size down was too tight to zip my chest in. Wish there was an in-between size! I didn't end up wearing it to the event but it was a really pretty dress. Wish it had fit my body better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
I loved the way it looked!
I went to an awards dinner for my boyfriend and this dress was amazing! The dress fit really well. The description of the dress stated that I should size up if I had a larger bra size which I did. This ended up being a good decision. The dress was a little tight around my chest and waist but I felt very comfortable in it. The color was amazing. I got a ton of compliments all night. I paired it with a turquoise and gold necklace and nude high heels. I would definitely rent it again.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 10, 2013
I wore this to a girlfriends wedding. It was Fabulous!!
Love this dress!! The color is beautiful, it fit like a glove, was extremely comfortable to sit, dance and stand. Couldn't be happier with my first experience with RTR. I paired it with a RTR Kate Spade necklace & RTR Kenneth Jay Lane cuff with the help of Emily and Jessica. The two of them are definitely an asset to RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 28, 2013
Beautiful dress. Color is unique, quality is great. Would rent again
I ordered the 6 and 8 and the 8 was perfect. It's a bit tight around the rib cage but once it's zipped its really comfortable. Note the zipper is tricky around the pleats so try it out, especially if you don't have help. Fabric is great, not as shiny as the photo
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2014
Not for women with hips
I wish I had known, but the size conversion on the website, and the actual size conversion on the tag on the dress is completely different. A 40 is a 6, 42 is an 8, 44 is a 10, and 46 is a 12 in US sizes. With that I said, I usually wear an 8, and thought I was ordering an 8 and a 10. What arrived was a the 44 and 46 which are really a 10 and a 12. I'm glad the sizes were larger!! The 10 was very snug in the hips and butt area, but the 12 was just overall too big. The fit isn't very kind if you are not straight and narrow. It is a gorgeous dress and I received many compliments. Just be aware of sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 9, 2014
pretty color but didnt wear
have rented this in the navy and prefer the darker color, as this dress is tight around the butt/thighs. also the straps were a bit long and fit a bit off, so I opted for another dress i had.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2014
The color was great but the fit is off
Great color and got compliments, however the straps are way too long. The length hit below the knee which isn't the most flattering for me nor what I was hoping for. It was nice, but wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 17, 2014
Very cute, but maybe not great for busty women.
I wore this to a very cute outdoor wedding. I liked it but had some issues with fit... I wore the 38, but almost wore the 40 because it was so tight in the bust. I reason I went with the 38 was because the tightness in the waist held me all together. As long as I didn't breath in too deep it was ok though. You can see the amount of cleavage in the photo, and I felt like it was just teetering on being too much. My boyfriend liked it though! Another issue was that all the folds in the front weren't pressed correctly or something. I felt like I couldn't quite get them to lay right. Over all it was quite cute and good for the occasion. I would totally recommend this dress for a slightly smaller busted person!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2015
small in the ribcage area
I tried the 40 based on reviews from people that were around 5"3, 125 pounds and it wouldn't zip over part of my rib cage and boobs. the rest of the dress fits great so i wonder if sizing up would make it look frumpy, but there is not stretch in the rib cage/chest area. i would not recommend this to someone that has a full bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2016
Tight in the bust and waist.
Loved the color of this dress! I would recommend ordering a size up since it fit tight in the chest and torso. Otherwise beautiful dress and great fit. Didn't show off too much cleavage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2014
NYE bright/fun/classy dress!
The dress, while beautiful, was not the right fit for me. It was flattering enough but really wasn't very comfortable. Fortunately I was only wearing it to a dinner and drinks for New Year's Eve. The color was beautiful and my boyfriend loved it on me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2013
Did not like this dress.
It wasn't flattering on my frame (athletic) at all. The six was too small in the bust but the 8 was too large in the tummy - it made me look like I was trying to hide a pregnancy. :( Sadly, I didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
July 6, 2013
I felt like an absolute knockout in this dress. It's absolutely gorgeous! I highly recommend this on
This dress is AH-MAZING! I got tons of compliments and felt so sexy and classy in this dress. It fits very true to size, is actually very comfortable and flattering. It is definitely fitted through the waist though so I'd say if you're iffy get the next size up for your second size.I am quite short so I had to fold the hem up and pin it(but no one noticed). The color is rich and gorgeous and I liked it so much that I might rent this same style in another color for another occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 22, 2013
Sophisticated look for a wedding
I had originally ordered the 46 and 48 because the website said these were the same as a 10 and 12 respectively. However, when I got the dresses, the tag on them actually showed that the 46 is the same as a 12 and the 48 is the same as a 14. So both were a little large but when I called RTR, I was able to receive the 44 (the 10 according to the tag) the next day. Alas, it was too small so I stuck with the 46 but appreciated the customer service. The dress itself was comfortable and appropriate for a summer wedding. I wore a strapless bra to give me a little more shape since the cut of the dress flattened me out a bit. The ruching tended to pull and flip throughout the night (as seen in the picture) but was easily fixed and most people probably didn't notice. I got many compliments and appreciated the help with the sizes from the RTR stylists!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 4, 2013
Great dress loved the color!
Fit well...the cleavage was a little aggressive, but not too much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
August 27, 2013
Loved the color but didn't fit.
I ordered this with the back up size just in case. I loved the color and thought the fit would be great. I am petite and at 5'1 it went past my knee. Also the straps were a little big on me. If you are tall and have a big chest I'd say get this dress. It really did fit like a glove. the material isn't so dressy but you can dress it up. I ended up wearing my backup dress.
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 9, 2013
This was my back-up dress.
Length was a little long and the fit was a little too tight for me, but I loved the color and the fact that you could wear a regular bra
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2013
Amazing customer service from Serena! Loved the dress I ended up wearing!
RTR contacted me one day before my event to tell me both sizes of the original dress I ordered were damaged beyond repair. Serena was extremely helpful in letting me pick 4 other options to try! Although I did not get the dress I originally chose, it was fun to try some new styles and I decided on this one. She also made sure they got to my house by noon before the event date, what service! This dress is GORGEOUS. I wore it to 2 weddings I had in the same night. No issues all evening, very comfortable, good to dance in. Fantastic color for a fall wedding. Only con was the straps are a little long (could be fixed with the fashion tape). I have a long torso and they really only bunched up on me while sitting, if you make sure to pull it down before you sit I think you would be fine. I think it is pretty true to size, I wear a 6 pant and tried the 6 and an 8. Once I got into the 6 I didn't even bother with the 8 it would have been way too big. A great choice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 12, 2013
Nice conservative dress, beautiful fabric
I rented this dress as my backup. I ended up not wearing it because it had a very "bridesmaidy" feel (albeit a very nice brides maid dress). It fit well and the fabric was a beautiful satin that was flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
November 19, 2013
Very flattering
I went for my original dress and didn't wear this purple beauty. It was a beautiful dress though, great color, but a bit snug in the ribcage. I felt like I wouldn't have been very comfortable sitting down so I didn't wear it. I'm right between an 8 and a 10 and only tried the 8. Would have looked beautiful though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 29, 2013
Like a pinup girl
This dress fits great, the color is fantastic and the look is drop-dead gorgeous glam. It didn't wrinkle much either, which is nice.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
January 29, 2014
Like it very much
next time I will rent this in another color and go for smaller size. Around the waist was a little big. But lots of compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
48
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
March 24, 2014
Great dress
This dress was great! It was a little tad bit loose in the bust area. It was a great color had many complements on the dress. Had a great time dancing in it. Fabric was a bit stretchy. The zipper was a little hard to un zip and zip but other than that it was a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 25, 2014
Beautiful Color and Great fit!
Sorry! These pictures aren't the best, but the only ones I had of more than just my top and up. This dress was BEAUTIFUL and classy!. I got SO many compliments on it, and my date kept telling me he loved me in it. The shoulder straps were a little big, but nothing fashion tape couldn't remedy. I'm usually a size 6 (44) but the 4 (42) fit me the best (YAY! Working out has been paying off!). I would totally rent this dress again for another event, and am actually considering renting it in blue for another wedding I have in June! There is no doubt this dress gets 5 stars from me! For fit help, I'm 5'2", 129 lbs, and a 34DD/DDD, and had no problems with the chest of the dress. I did have to pull it down sometimes and adjust, but no more than normal.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 30, 2014
A little long, but otherwise a perfect fit!
This fit like it was custom made for my body! The only thing was that it was a little too long. It didn't wrinkle as much as I thought it would and the color is beautiful. Surprisingly comfortable! In the picture, it looked silky but it was actually more like a cotton material with a satin finish.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 7, 2014
Amazing fit, feel, and style!
This dress was perfect for the event and for my body type! It fit like a glove (not a too tight glove, just a very flattering glove). I got tons of compliments and could dance the night away in this very comfortable dress (added bonus of being able to wear a comfortable bra under it). My only issue was that the zipper (due to the folds in the bust) was a bit hard to zip up and I was afraid it would get caught in the fabric. Luckily it didn't, but if you rent the dress just be sure to be patient with the zipper.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
First time using RTR and now I'm hooked!
Wore this at a wedding and it fit like a glove - super flattering and form fitting but had enough stretch to dance the night away. I'm very small chested, so not sure how this would fit a larger chest, but I didn't even need to wear a bra since the fabric is so thick which was a huge plus for me - didn't have to spend all night messing with a strapless bra. I'm 5'7 and wish this was just a touch shorter (hit right below the knee), although still classy/sexy because of the fit. The fabric is a little more cottony than I anticipated, which ended up being a good thing as I was worried about it being too formal. Loved the color - kind of a raspberry/fuchsia. Received tons of compliments and would definitely consider renting this again. Word to the wise - make sure you have someone who can help you with the zipper. Because of the sturdy fabric, zipping it up can be difficult. Definitely recommend!
KCMay 18, 2014
Where did you get that necklace?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
Simple, great color
Thought it fit true to size. It was a little long, both in the straps and overall (hit past my knees) but given I'm 5' 4'' this wasn't a surprise
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2014
This dress fit perfectly!! Didn't want to return it
This dress fit perfect - I got so many compliments on it. The color was perfect for a spring wedding too because it's not too summery. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2014
Cute
I received this because the larger size in the color I wanted was no longer available because it was returned in poor condition. I needed the larger size for my chest but the rest of it was just too big. I have a petite frame and it just didn't look right.
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
I LOVED this dress! Wish I could have kept it!
I loved the fit... it hugged my body in all the right places. I'm tall, so I felt it was just the right length. I will definitely be renting this again and I would highly recommend it to others!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×