Rent the Runway

Moschino Cheap And Chic

Plum Rose Bodice Sheath

$30 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have an upcoming dinner party or work-related function? You'll exude confidence in this fitted purple sheath by Moschino Cheap and Chic. Paired with Alexis Bittar’s Silver Pave Teardrop Earrings and Lulu Frost’s Silver Drift Cuff, this dress is all you need to feel pretty and poised.

Also available in yellow, blue, and orange.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Fuschia stretch poplin (97% cotton, 3% other fibers). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Ruched bodice. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

143 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 89
Large 33
Photos 71
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2014

Felt glamorous in this dress and necklace from RTR - got tons of compliments that night and later!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I supposed to get two sizes, but only one arrived - luckily it fit almost perfectly! The top was definitely on the bigger side, so it's a great dress for busty women.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 13, 2014

It was a perfect dress for an awards banquet. I felt like I stood out due to the beautiful color.

Size worn: 48
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a bit big on top but fit great in the hips. I had to put in a couple quick stitches to take in the top to make it wearable. Once I did that it was a great fit and is received many compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 18, 2014

Great Fit!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not much give and swapped to a less padded bra, but looks great! Went well with a cardigan during a rainy Napa wedding:) Beautiful color!!!!! Not the best photo of the dress, but it was freezing:)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
May 19, 2014

I felt like Marilyn Monroe!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my daughter's 2nd birthday party. It was Sofia the First themed, so we all wore something purple. The color of this dress is stunning in person! It is definitely a bombshell dress, because it hugs the curves just like the dresses that Marilyn Monroe wore. I got compliments all night long on how amazing I looked in it. It is soooo hard to zip up, but looks amazing once it you do. This dress fit me like it was made just for me. Because of the cut, I wouldn't recommend it for women with large hips or very small breasts.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
May 29, 2014

Great dress - only uncomfortable feature was the sleeve/armpit area. Great fit and color

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I would recommend this dress to friends. Good for indoor or cooler events as the fabric was a bit heavy for a May wedding. Loved the color!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Jun 1, 2014

I loved the color! It's a perfect choice for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress turned out to be such a big hit for my friend's outdoor wedding. I''m normally wear a size 6 but ordered a size 8 as my backup size just in case it ran small around my hips. However, lucky for me the size 6 fit perfectly, my only complaint was that the straps were a bit loose. But it's a flattering color and has a bit of stretch in the fabric so it's a great choice. And be prepared to get a lot of compliments!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jun 2, 2014

Great dress- fit like a glove.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The straps did not fall off my shoulders as they sometimes do. The neckline was great- actually gave my modest chest a bit of cleavage. Material was comfortable. This dress is meant to fit snug- the bigger size was baggy and did not look good. This dress is also a nice color for spring/summer.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Perfect dress for a chic wedding or cocktail event.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fantastic dress! It's elegant and classy, with just a bit of sexy. Fantastic color that's much more beautiful in real life than you can tell from the photos. The bodice is slim (which wasn't a problem for me), but I wouldn't recommend for any busty women. I paired this with the Glass Marigold Necklace from Kate Spade. And wish I could wear this outfit every day.
RTR Customer
Age: 27
Jun 9, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was really great except the straps were way too long. The Zipper is a pain to get up but worth the effort!
RTR Customer
Age: 27
Jun 16, 2014

Sexy dress! Everyone loved it.

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Spectacular color. Great fit, looked sexy, except like other said the straps were long. Fashion tape fixed it up! I was able to dance in it all night. It came a little past my knees but was still sexy and I liked the length. Great dress, wish I owned it, then I could tailor the straps!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

The color was great but the fit is off

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great color and got compliments, however the straps are way too long. The length hit below the knee which isn't the most flattering for me nor what I was hoping for. It was nice, but wouldn't rent it again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

loved this dress!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So comfy and I loved that I could wear a regular bra with it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Beautiful color for birthday dinner

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Big size difference between the 40 and 42. I wound up wearing the 42 but it was larger in places than I would have liked. The straps are indeed long, as other reviews have mentioned. And the zipper is a bit tricky as well. Still, a gorgeous color and a simple design that can be dressed up or down.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 30, 2014

Fits like a glove in all the right places- I sexy and classy with so many compliments all day!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Awesome color and fits perfectly! I was worried it would be too short, but it was just the right length for an upscale wedding. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 8, 2014

Beautiful dress, very wearable, perfect for a summer wedding!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am smallish on top, but with a bit of a booty. I normally wear a 4-6, the 46 (size 6) was huge on me. The 44 (size 4) fit pretty well. I would have preferred it a little bit tighter, but all around it looked good. The straps kept sliding off, as many other reviewers mentioned. The color was pretty and the dress was comfortable. Looked great! No real complaints!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 151 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Very comfy. I received a lot of compliments.

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Easy to wear a regular comfortable bra without seeing the straps.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Disappointing dress but amazing customer service

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. As other reviewers have mentioned, the fabric is more of a cotton/blend, not a shiny satin as the pictures suggest. That makes for a more casual feel to the dress, and it held wrinkles easily (my photo is after steaming the dress). The zipper was broken on the first size 40 dress, but a quick call to customer service had another size 40 overnighted to me in time for my event. The color is the only thing that really made this dress noteworthy in any way. It seemed like any sheath dress you could purchase at the mall- it was underwhelming and didn't feel as luxurious as other dress rentals. Renting dresses can be stressful when you're not always sure what you might get, however RTR's customer service consistently goes above and beyond so there's no need to worry. If there is an issue, they will fix it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for an outdoor summer wedding. The color was beautiful. The dress was comfortable. I wore a size 46, but perhaps I should have sized up, since I felt it was a little tight in the chest area. I had to remove my strapless bra to wear it comfortably. Other than that, I was very happy with my selection.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

What a great dress!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my 2nd go around with RTR. While I was disappointed the 1st, this time was different. This dress was extremely flattering from the front. The side though- it looked like I had no boobs! It does flatten you out pretty significantly- but the rest of the dress makes up for it. It was very comfortable for a wedding and easy to dance in. The color is very flattering and photographs well.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 31, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually a last minute alternative when the dress I wanted was returned too damaged to be sent to me. I'm so glad it happened, because this dress was perfect. Appropriate for a summer wedding, and the color is gorgeous. The fabric is kind of a satin/cotton. Zips on the side which makes getting in to it super easy, but the particular dress I wore had a bit of a stuck zipper. Still managed though. Highly recommended!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

I had rented this dress in a different color before and I loved it just as much this time.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is classy yet sexy at the same time. I loved the length and the fit of the top was very flattering. The color is very rich and looks a lot more vibrant in person. Two thumbs up.
RTR Customer
Age: 29
Sep 13, 2014

Great color!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress is what won me over. Great for the wedding we were attending in New Orleans. I agree with the comments about fit from most of the reviews. In my case it was pretty true to size, maybe just a tad big in the bust area but it was comfortable all day. The dress did tend to ride up a bit, which makes the straps looser. The pleating unfolded a bit and needed a couple of adjustments but the dress kept it's shape all day. I'd recommend it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 14, 2014

Great dress, got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I typically wear a 4 or 6 in dresses. The size 4 (size 42) fit really well. If anything, it was tiny bit large for a 4. As others have commented, the fabric is less shiny and formal than in the model picture, it's more a cotton blend, but it was definitely appropriate for a wedding. I got a ton of compliments and the fit was really flattering. My only complaint was (also as many other have noted) the straps were WAY too long. I'm 5'5", and I would say the straps should each have been 1" to 2" shorter than they were. Not a huge deal, but I wouldn't rent this dress again because of this, which is too bad because I otherwise loved it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Stunning in purple!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding and got SO many compliments I was almost embarrassed. Almost. :). It runs very true to size but has no give or stretch to the fabric so make sure to order one size bigger as your back up. I ended up wearing the bigger size (40) because my bust is large and didn't fit in the smaller size (38). My only complaint is that at times my bra was visible as seen in the picture. But other than that I felt so sophisticated, classy and totally sexy. I'd rent this again in a heartbeat.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Very cute, but maybe not great for busty women.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a very cute outdoor wedding. I liked it but had some issues with fit... I wore the 38, but almost wore the 40 because it was so tight in the bust. I reason I went with the 38 was because the tightness in the waist held me all together. As long as I didn't breath in too deep it was ok though. You can see the amount of cleavage in the photo, and I felt like it was just teetering on being too much. My boyfriend liked it though! Another issue was that all the folds in the front weren't pressed correctly or something. I felt like I couldn't quite get them to lay right. Over all it was quite cute and good for the occasion. I would totally recommend this dress for a slightly smaller busted person!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Wedding in Green Bay in October!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a fall wedding , and was so happy with it! It was a week before the wedding and I hadn't found a dress, so this one saved the day! The dress hugs your body nicely and is a conservative length. The sleeves were a little too loose, but other than that it fit perfectly.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Beautiful, rich color tailored to perfection

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress had such an amazing fit that it looked as if it were tailored specifically for me. The bold purple color was fun, but elegant and very eye catching.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Dec 22, 2014

The customer service is amazing.!

Size worn: 44
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 44 and 46. The 46 was way too large. The 44 had a few stains and RTR overnighted another size 44 to me. The customer service was so fast and friendly. Overall the dress was nice and I enjoyed it. I will try another next time.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

RTR made it so easy

Size worn: 44
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fabric did not give, I'm larger on bottom, so dress was a bit tighter around my hips. The color was really beautiful.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Sophisticated & Sexy

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress - the color, fit, everything! It looks like "just a sheath" in some ways, but it really fits very nicely. It is a little longer, so petite ladies like me - note that it will hit you right above the knee. My only minor compliant was that the straps were very loose, so I had to tap them down (but that just meant a slight gap in the back). I also like to cover up my cleavage, so that required some tape as well. Otherwise, this was one fabulous dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 17, 2015

Wore this for a Long Island wedding, great color, good fit

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a beautiful dress. I will say the material looks more casual in person than in pictures. The top is pretty tight with no stretch. Wrinkles easily. I don't think this dress would be flattering on all body types. I don't remember, but I don't think I ended up needing to wear a bra. Difficult to get into and out of on your own because of the lack of stretch.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

This dress's bright color made me pop out in the crowd!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, the weather kinda messed up my order and they only had the 40 available to overnight since I wouldn't be receiving the original order on time with a 40 and 42. Luckily though, the 40 fit well enough I was able to wear it. To be quite honest, it fit me like a glove everywhere, I didn't even wear a bra. So, for those of you who have a bust larger than 32 inches, a 40 might be tight up top. This dress worked well surprisingly because I have much larger hips compared to the top. The little bit of stretch in it worked out well! The zipper is a bit difficult though.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Long, comfortable, conservative, nice color, awkward pleats.

Size worn: 46
Rented for: Wedding
Almost exchanged this for a smaller size. Loose in the hips and waist. Also very long. I'm 5'9" and it was past my knees. The pleats did not lay flat on the bust and that bothered me a little bit. Due to the shape of the neckline, my bra peeked out occasionally (luckily I have a bra in this exact color!). I did have to iron it; it wrinkled easily. The color was nice and it was comfortable, but a little too conservative for my taste. It might be a good dress for a family or a business event. Maybe I'd feel differently if i had sized down. I wear a size 8-10 normally, and I would recommend getting the 44 and 46. Lastly, as many have said, the material is more casual than it looks in the model photo- not shiny, just a cotton type fabric. I dressed it up with more formal jewelry and heels though. This could work for day or night.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

The dress was great and many people commented on how great the color looked on me.

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great for my figure. The straps kept falling and it was a little annoying however, it didnt stop me from having fun at my friend's wedding. The fabric was cotton and not shiny material as pictured. This was my first RTR experience and can't wait to come back!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 3, 2015

Great color and length

Size worn: 44
Rented for: Wedding
I love the color of this dress, perfect for a spring wedding. I also loved the length. I'm a bit on the tall side so finding dresses that are an appropriate length (esp when I sit down) is sometimes hard. It is not a satin finish so it can be dressed up or down. Also, the pleats at the top sometimes seemed to lay a bit funny but nothing anyone else would notice.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2015

This dress made me feel so beautiful!

Size worn: 40
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for my body type. It was very form fitted which worked well for me because I have a straighter slimmer body type. The color was vibrant and pretty and the cut was gorgeous. Very classy. Definitely was a head turner. I received many compliments throughout the night! Tip to ladies who are on the bustier side, the material is not stretchy and especially on top, does not have a lot of give. I'm not very busty so it work very well for me but if I was it would have been difficult. I would definitely recommend this dress, it made my night very special! Just a heads up, it is form fitting, and the material is very revealing but if you are confident in your body and yourself go for it! It's a total knock out!
RTR Customer
May 28, 2015

Great first experience.

Size worn: 44
Rented for: Wedding
As other people have stated the straps are a bit long but not to where they fell off my shoulders. The dress was very comfortable. The zipper was a little tough, I needed a little help with that. I felt great in the dress and was able to dance the night away in it.
RTR Customer
May 30, 2015

The dress was stunning! The color photographed really well. I received many compliments!

Size worn: 42
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit true to size. The straps were a little big- I had to adjust them all night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 1, 2015

I loved the color of this dress. It fit me fantastically and was extremely comfortable.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress did get very wrinkled after a short amount of time. The straps also felt loose. If the straps were tighter, I would want to wear this dress everyday! so beautiful!
RTR Customer
Age: 25
Jun 18, 2015

Great fit, beautiful color

Size worn: 40
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me like a glove! It wasn't my first choice but when I tried it on I loved it. The material is not stretchy at all so i'd definitely recommend going a size up as well just in case. The top of this dress is really tight, i didn't need to wear a bra. The shoulders were a little big as well. The color was really pretty and one of a kind at the wedding I went to!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×