Plum Rose Bodice Sheath

$135 to buy
$450 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have an upcoming dinner party or work-related function? You'll exude confidence in this fitted purple sheath by Moschino Cheap and Chic. Paired with Alexis Bittar’s Silver Pave Teardrop Earrings and Lulu Frost’s Silver Drift Cuff, this dress is all you need to feel pretty and poised.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Fuschia stretch poplin (97% cotton, 3% other fibers). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Ruched bodice. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
152 reviews
Fit
Large33
True to Size94
Small12
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 17, 2014
Very cute, but maybe not great for busty women.
I wore this to a very cute outdoor wedding. I liked it but had some issues with fit... I wore the 38, but almost wore the 40 because it was so tight in the bust. I reason I went with the 38 was because the tightness in the waist held me all together. As long as I didn't breath in too deep it was ok though. You can see the amount of cleavage in the photo, and I felt like it was just teetering on being too much. My boyfriend liked it though! Another issue was that all the folds in the front weren't pressed correctly or something. I felt like I couldn't quite get them to lay right. Over all it was quite cute and good for the occasion. I would totally recommend this dress for a slightly smaller busted person!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
October 13, 2014
Stunning in purple!
Wore this to a wedding and got SO many compliments I was almost embarrassed. Almost. :). It runs very true to size but has no give or stretch to the fabric so make sure to order one size bigger as your back up. I ended up wearing the bigger size (40) because my bust is large and didn't fit in the smaller size (38). My only complaint is that at times my bra was visible as seen in the picture. But other than that I felt so sophisticated, classy and totally sexy. I'd rent this again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2014
Great dress!
Wore this dress to a wedding just after having a baby. I wish I had got it one size bigger just because it was so fitting. But I felt great in it and got several compliments throughout the night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2014
great color and perfect fit!
nothing negative to say about this dress. everything worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
September 23, 2014
Way too big
Pretty dress but the 44 (my back up size) was huge and the 42 was tighter than I was comfortable with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 18, 2014
Just sexy enough - absolutely perfect!
I normally wear a 0, and the 38 fit great. As others have mentioned, the straps are a little longer than most, but it wasn't a problem for me. I wore a strapless bra and it didn't peek over at all. The bust and waist fit absolutely great, and the skirt is just loose enough to skim curves without being over-the-top. It's perfect for any occasion - sexy, but conservative enough for a nice dinner out, a holiday party, even a night at the theater. The color is slightly darker in person, which I liked. The one negative for me was the zipper. It zipped fine when laying flat, but once it was on my body, I could not get it to fully zip. It felt like the zipper was getting stuck on something. It wasn't that it was too tight, either - I pinched together the fabric but still couldn't get it to do. I had to have my boyfriend help me, and he was astonished by how ridiculous the zipper was. I don't know what I would have done on my own! Hopefully the zipper on my dress was just a dud.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2014
Great dress, got lots of compliments!
I typically wear a 4 or 6 in dresses. The size 4 (size 42) fit really well. If anything, it was tiny bit large for a 4. As others have commented, the fabric is less shiny and formal than in the model picture, it's more a cotton blend, but it was definitely appropriate for a wedding. I got a ton of compliments and the fit was really flattering. My only complaint was (also as many other have noted) the straps were WAY too long. I'm 5'5", and I would say the straps should each have been 1" to 2" shorter than they were. Not a huge deal, but I wouldn't rent this dress again because of this, which is too bad because I otherwise loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 13, 2014
Great color!
The color of this dress is what won me over. Great for the wedding we were attending in New Orleans. I agree with the comments about fit from most of the reviews. In my case it was pretty true to size, maybe just a tad big in the bust area but it was comfortable all day. The dress did tend to ride up a bit, which makes the straps looser. The pleating unfolded a bit and needed a couple of adjustments but the dress kept it's shape all day. I'd recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
September 5, 2014
Beautiful shade - wonderful sillouette, but, sadly too big.
This dress was lovely. But, if I rent in future, I'll size down for sure. This was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 3, 2014
I had rented this dress in a different color before and I loved it just as much this time.
This dress is classy yet sexy at the same time. I loved the length and the fit of the top was very flattering. The color is very rich and looks a lot more vibrant in person. Two thumbs up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 31, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
This was actually a last minute alternative when the dress I wanted was returned too damaged to be sent to me. I'm so glad it happened, because this dress was perfect. Appropriate for a summer wedding, and the color is gorgeous. The fabric is kind of a satin/cotton. Zips on the side which makes getting in to it super easy, but the particular dress I wore had a bit of a stuck zipper. Still managed though. Highly recommended!
JeananneSeptember 26, 2014
Like how you styled this!
LindseySeptember 30, 2014
Thanks Jeananne!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 29, 2014
Okay, but not my favorite
This was a backup dress and it was a beautiful color, but the fit for me wasn't great. I also found the material to be heavy, so not ideal for a hot, summer event. I might try to size down next time too as it was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 29, 2014
What a great dress!
This was my 2nd go around with RTR. While I was disappointed the 1st, this time was different. This dress was extremely flattering from the front. The side though- it looked like I had no boobs! It does flatten you out pretty significantly- but the rest of the dress makes up for it. It was very comfortable for a wedding and easy to dance in. The color is very flattering and photographs well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I wore this dress for an outdoor summer wedding. The color was beautiful. The dress was comfortable. I wore a size 46, but perhaps I should have sized up, since I felt it was a little tight in the chest area. I had to remove my strapless bra to wear it comfortably. Other than that, I was very happy with my selection.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 11, 2014
Disappointing dress but amazing customer service
I rented this dress for a wedding. As other reviewers have mentioned, the fabric is more of a cotton/blend, not a shiny satin as the pictures suggest. That makes for a more casual feel to the dress, and it held wrinkles easily (my photo is after steaming the dress). The zipper was broken on the first size 40 dress, but a quick call to customer service had another size 40 overnighted to me in time for my event. The color is the only thing that really made this dress noteworthy in any way. It seemed like any sheath dress you could purchase at the mall- it was underwhelming and didn't feel as luxurious as other dress rentals. Renting dresses can be stressful when you're not always sure what you might get, however RTR's customer service consistently goes above and beyond so there's no need to worry. If there is an issue, they will fix it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2014
Professional, yet sexy
This dress really did look great on. I agree with everyone that the straps are long and because of that it did show more cleavage than i would normally feel comfortable with. The zipper was tough to get up and the dress was a little worn, but you couldn't tell when it was on. I got a lot of complements all night and it fit my body pretty well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 151lbs
August 10, 2014
Very comfy. I received a lot of compliments.
Easy to wear a regular comfortable bra without seeing the straps.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 8, 2014
Beautiful dress, very wearable, perfect for a summer wedding!
I am smallish on top, but with a bit of a booty. I normally wear a 4-6, the 46 (size 6) was huge on me. The 44 (size 4) fit pretty well. I would have preferred it a little bit tighter, but all around it looked good. The straps kept sliding off, as many other reviewers mentioned. The color was pretty and the dress was comfortable. Looked great! No real complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 2, 2014
The fabric isn't as nice as it looks, and it runs too big on top
I ordered this dress for a wedding, but when it came it was too large on top (I am a 32 D) and the fabric wasn't silky, as it seems on the photos. I returned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
August 2, 2014
My first rental...
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and was able to dress it down with a lightweight open cardigan, strappy sandals and a long beaded necklace. I loved the color and it was very flattering! However I noticed that the particular dress that I rented had a couple small sewing issues: the slit in the back was off center and the shoulder straps were a tiny bit too long (the right strap was actually longer than the left). I was also slightly annoyed by the lining not being sewed to the top layer of material near the bottom of it, so the lining occasionally showed while sitting. Overall, good experience, but was expecting a bit more (can't argue with the price though).
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
July 30, 2014
Fits like a glove in all the right places- I sexy and classy with so many compliments all day!
Awesome color and fits perfectly! I was worried it would be too short, but it was just the right length for an upscale wedding. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
July 29, 2014
Pretty dress
The dress was nice, pretty color. It was tight for me in the chest, and I don't have a large bust, so I wouldn't recommend this for for girls with a bigger chest. I tried on the size 40, and that fit better width-wise around my chest but it was too low cut/long in the shoulder straps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2014
Great color, classy wedding syle!
I loved this dress... I wore the smaller of the two sizes that I had ordered. Get some fashion tape so you can wear a normal bra and the straps don't show; that was my only regret all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
July 27, 2014
A Stunner
This dress was spot on. Gorgeous, stand out color. I love the style of this dress so much, that I ordered it in the rust & can't wait to rent it in yellow! It's just a classic, comfortable dress. Just be careful if you are a B cup or under. The top fits large, you may want to size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2014
Beautiful color for birthday dinner
Big size difference between the 40 and 42. I wound up wearing the 42 but it was larger in places than I would have liked. The straps are indeed long, as other reviews have mentioned. And the zipper is a bit tricky as well. Still, a gorgeous color and a simple design that can be dressed up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
loved this dress!
So comfy and I loved that I could wear a regular bra with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2014
The color was great but the fit is off
Great color and got compliments, however the straps are way too long. The length hit below the knee which isn't the most flattering for me nor what I was hoping for. It was nice, but wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 30, 2014
Wasn't able to wear this to the party
While it was a pretty dress, it actually was too large up top. I wear a size 8 regularly and was surprised to find that this dress gapped around the bust. I wasn't able to wear this since it was too big and the straps were too long. Also, the pleats didn't quite fold properly, making this dress look a little top heavy on me. The color is also a little duller than pictured here.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
40
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 25, 2014
Perfect colorful dress
Fit well. I thought I'd wear the 42, but the zipper arrived broken. The 40 ended up being fine. Straps were slightly long but I have narrow/thin shoulders and fairly flat chested. Many compliments on the dress. Comfortable and classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163lbs
June 24, 2014
Gorgeous! Runs a bit large
I wasn't sure whether I was a 48 or a 46, and as it turns out, I probably should have gotten a 44 - that said, I made the 46 work and loved it! It's a very pretty color and really pops in pictures. Surprisingly roomy in the chest and long without being too long - it hit right above my knee. It's not quite as "shiny" of a fabric as it appears on the model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 16, 2014
Great color!
This dress was a good choice for the wedding that I attended. It fit well, as I went with the smaller size. The only complaint would be since I am very small chested I had to wear lots of padding to give the illusion that I had a figure, otherwise the dress would of swallowed my chest. Overall nice dress, would rent again for a work party.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
June 16, 2014
Sexy dress! Everyone loved it.
Spectacular color. Great fit, looked sexy, except like other said the straps were long. Fashion tape fixed it up! I was able to dance in it all night. It came a little past my knees but was still sexy and I liked the length. Great dress, wish I owned it, then I could tailor the straps!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 12, 2014
Almost a great fit
I ordered this dress in a 40 and 42. Overall, the 40 fit well (hips, waist). However, the straps were too long for me; the bust of the dress fell too low. I've had this happen with a couple of dresses in the past, so I wasn't surprised. If you never have this problem, you'll probably be fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 11, 2014
It was a beatiful and rich color.
It fit pretty true to size however I did have an issue with the straps falling down. Was a great classy dress that looked expensive.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
46
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 11, 2014
Wore to a great dinner!
I picked this dress for a nice dinner during my bachelorette weekend. While I liked the color and the shape, the straps were definitely too long and (as you can see from many of the photos) the material wrinkles very easily. As soon as I sat down for 15 minutes, the dress was completely wrinkled around the waistline. Thankfully, the rouching detail masks it a little. But the straps were so long that my demi-cup bra kept peaking out the top. I needed to use fabric tape to fix the issue, but there was still a lot of extra room in the straps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 9, 2014
pretty color but didnt wear
have rented this in the navy and prefer the darker color, as this dress is tight around the butt/thighs. also the straps were a bit long and fit a bit off, so I opted for another dress i had.
Size worn:
42
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
June 9, 2014
Great dress!
The fit was really great except the straps were way too long. The Zipper is a pain to get up but worth the effort!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 8, 2014
Average dress
This dress was fine, but nothing spectacular. The straps were too long, and needed to be pinned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
44
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 5, 2014
Great for a conservative spring beach wedding in Florida!
It was a great fit. I wore size 6, which is what I normally wear! I'm tall so finding a dress that has full leg coverage is important and this fit the bill. I rented the kate spade new york "hot pink statement earrings" to go with it!
Size worn:
38
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a chic wedding or cocktail event.
Fantastic dress! It's elegant and classy, with just a bit of sexy. Fantastic color that's much more beautiful in real life than you can tell from the photos. The bodice is slim (which wasn't a problem for me), but I wouldn't recommend for any busty women. I paired this with the Glass Marigold Necklace from Kate Spade. And wish I could wear this outfit every day.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×