Moschino Cheap And Chic

Plum Rose Bodice Sheath

$30 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have an upcoming dinner party or work-related function? You'll exude confidence in this fitted purple sheath by Moschino Cheap and Chic. Paired with Alexis Bittar’s Silver Pave Teardrop Earrings and Lulu Frost’s Silver Drift Cuff, this dress is all you need to feel pretty and poised.

Also available in yellow, blue, and orange.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 38-48. Italian sizing.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – very fitted at bust
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'3" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Fuschia stretch poplin (97% cotton, 3% other fibers). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Ruched bodice. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

125 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 82
Large 31
Photos 60
WENDY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

"NICE, RUNS BIG"

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Beautiful color and nice material, but horrible fit. I'm sure it would work well for some people, but it didn't work at all for me. It's a little big at the top which is normal for me because my chest size is small and is slightly long if you are on the petite side.
Barbara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 15, 2013

Really enjoyed wearing this. It was a great fabric..a polished cotton.

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented an 8 and I am usually a typical 8. The top part of the dress was a bit wide, but I used the tape to attach it to my bra and it was perfect. Would rent it again!
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 6, 2013

I felt like an absolute knockout in this dress. It's absolutely gorgeous! I highly recommend this on

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is AH-MAZING! I got tons of compliments and felt so sexy and classy in this dress. It fits very true to size, is actually very comfortable and flattering. It is definitely fitted through the waist though so I'd say if you're iffy get the next size up for your second size.I am quite short so I had to fold the hem up and pin it(but no one noticed). The color is rich and gorgeous and I liked it so much that I might rent this same style in another color for another occasion.
MJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 22, 2013

Sophisticated look for a wedding

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had originally ordered the 46 and 48 because the website said these were the same as a 10 and 12 respectively. However, when I got the dresses, the tag on them actually showed that the 46 is the same as a 12 and the 48 is the same as a 14. So both were a little large but when I called RTR, I was able to receive the 44 (the 10 according to the tag) the next day. Alas, it was too small so I stuck with the 46 but appreciated the customer service. The dress itself was comfortable and appropriate for a summer wedding. I wore a strapless bra to give me a little more shape since the cut of the dress flattened me out a bit. The ruching tended to pull and flip throughout the night (as seen in the picture) but was easily fixed and most people probably didn't notice. I got many compliments and appreciated the help with the sizes from the RTR stylists!
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 10, 2013

I wore this to a girlfriends wedding. It was Fabulous!!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress!! The color is beautiful, it fit like a glove, was extremely comfortable to sit, dance and stand. Couldn't be happier with my first experience with RTR. I paired it with a RTR Kate Spade necklace & RTR Kenneth Jay Lane cuff with the help of Emily and Jessica. The two of them are definitely an asset to RTR.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Amazing customer service from Serena! Loved the dress I ended up wearing!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
RTR contacted me one day before my event to tell me both sizes of the original dress I ordered were damaged beyond repair. Serena was extremely helpful in letting me pick 4 other options to try! Although I did not get the dress I originally chose, it was fun to try some new styles and I decided on this one. She also made sure they got to my house by noon before the event date, what service! This dress is GORGEOUS. I wore it to 2 weddings I had in the same night. No issues all evening, very comfortable, good to dance in. Fantastic color for a fall wedding. Only con was the straps are a little long (could be fixed with the fashion tape). I have a long torso and they really only bunched up on me while sitting, if you make sure to pull it down before you sit I think you would be fine. I think it is pretty true to size, I wear a 6 pant and tried the 6 and an 8. Once I got into the 6 I didn't even bother with the 8 it would have been way too big. A great choice!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

The beautiful bride complimented my dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is one of my favorite colors! I've had my eye on this dress for a long time and I'm so glad I finally got to wear it. Unfortunately the 42 (size 6) was a little big on me. I usually order a size up (44 or 8) as my back up but this time I wish I had the smaller size (40 or 4). The length was fine but I wish the dress was more fitted through the bust and hips the way it is on the model. Otherwise, the dress is very comfortable and the fabric is rich - thick with a bit of sheen and stretch. Also, no special bra necessary for this one. I'd definitely rent again in the smaller size!
marcidiamond
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Like a pinup girl

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress fits great, the color is fantastic and the look is drop-dead gorgeous glam. It didn't wrinkle much either, which is nice.
carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

perfect dress; too sick to go out :(

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it almost fits perfectly (the top is a bit too long for me), and i love love love the colour. too bad about this virus. happy new years eve everyone
shoshana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

NYE bright/fun/classy dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress, while beautiful, was not the right fit for me. It was flattering enough but really wasn't very comfortable. Fortunately I was only wearing it to a dinner and drinks for New Year's Eve. The color was beautiful and my boyfriend loved it on me.
Ramona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

I felt great in this dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I felt really stylish and sexy in this dress. My boyfriend loved the way it fit me. However, I'm only 5'2", and the straps were too long for me. I had to pin the straps so the dress wouldn't fall down, and the hem hit below my knees. I wouldn't recommend this dress for petites like me; it'd fit better on someone with a longer torso. Overall, a really beautiful, classy dress. Looks great in photographs!
Katelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

Stunning Color - Classy Sexy

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress somewhat last minute for a little NYE party. After reading the reviews, I got both a size 6 and an 8. I ended up wearing the 6 since it fit more like the model depicted. The folds on the bust were a bit odd which is why I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. Now, however, looking at pictures I think it looks very flattering. I guess I wasn't used to it. Color is so beautiful in person as well. I could see this being very flattering on lots of skin tones. Would rent this or other colors of this dress in the future.
kk
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Mar 2, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Slim fit
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 48
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! It was a little tad bit loose in the bust area. It was a great color had many complements on the dress. Had a great time dancing in it. Fabric was a bit stretchy. The zipper was a little hard to un zip and zip but other than that it was a great dress.
RJ
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Wore to a great dinner!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I picked this dress for a nice dinner during my bachelorette weekend. While I liked the color and the shape, the straps were definitely too long and (as you can see from many of the photos) the material wrinkles very easily. As soon as I sat down for 15 minutes, the dress was completely wrinkled around the waistline. Thankfully, the rouching detail masks it a little. But the straps were so long that my demi-cup bra kept peaking out the top. I needed to use fabric tape to fix the issue, but there was still a lot of extra room in the straps.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

It was a beatiful and rich color.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It fit pretty true to size however I did have an issue with the straps falling down. Was a great classy dress that looked expensive.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 12, 2014

Almost a great fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in a 40 and 42. Overall, the 40 fit well (hips, waist). However, the straps were too long for me; the bust of the dress fell too low. I've had this happen with a couple of dresses in the past, so I wasn't surprised. If you never have this problem, you'll probably be fine!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Great color!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a good choice for the wedding that I attended. It fit well, as I went with the smaller size. The only complaint would be since I am very small chested I had to wear lots of padding to give the illusion that I had a figure, otherwise the dress would of swallowed my chest. Overall nice dress, would rent again for a work party.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 163 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Gorgeous! Runs a bit large

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wasn't sure whether I was a 48 or a 46, and as it turns out, I probably should have gotten a 44 - that said, I made the 46 work and loved it! It's a very pretty color and really pops in pictures. Surprisingly roomy in the chest and long without being too long - it hit right above my knee. It's not quite as "shiny" of a fabric as it appears on the model.
Avi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Perfect colorful dress

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well. I thought I'd wear the 42, but the zipper arrived broken. The 40 ended up being fine. Straps were slightly long but I have narrow/thin shoulders and fairly flat chested. Many compliments on the dress. Comfortable and classy.
Katherine
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Wasn't able to wear this to the party

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
While it was a pretty dress, it actually was too large up top. I wear a size 8 regularly and was surprised to find that this dress gapped around the bust. I wasn't able to wear this since it was too big and the straps were too long. Also, the pleats didn't quite fold properly, making this dress look a little top heavy on me. The color is also a little duller than pictured here.
fulgi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

A Stunner

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was spot on. Gorgeous, stand out color. I love the style of this dress so much, that I ordered it in the rust & can't wait to rent it in yellow! It's just a classic, comfortable dress. Just be careful if you are a B cup or under. The top fits large, you may want to size down.
jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Great color, classy wedding syle!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress... I wore the smaller of the two sizes that I had ordered. Get some fashion tape so you can wear a normal bra and the straps don't show; that was my only regret all night.
christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Pretty dress

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was nice, pretty color. It was tight for me in the chest, and I don't have a large bust, so I wouldn't recommend this for for girls with a bigger chest. I tried on the size 40, and that fit better width-wise around my chest but it was too low cut/long in the shoulder straps.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Aug 2, 2014

My first rental...

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and was able to dress it down with a lightweight open cardigan, strappy sandals and a long beaded necklace. I loved the color and it was very flattering! However I noticed that the particular dress that I rented had a couple small sewing issues: the slit in the back was off center and the shoulder straps were a tiny bit too long (the right strap was actually longer than the left). I was also slightly annoyed by the lining not being sewed to the top layer of material near the bottom of it, so the lining occasionally showed while sitting. Overall, good experience, but was expecting a bit more (can't argue with the price though).
danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 2, 2014

The fabric isn't as nice as it looks, and it runs too big on top

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for a wedding, but when it came it was too large on top (I am a 32 D) and the fabric wasn't silky, as it seems on the photos. I returned it.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Professional, yet sexy

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress really did look great on. I agree with everyone that the straps are long and because of that it did show more cleavage than i would normally feel comfortable with. The zipper was tough to get up and the dress was a little worn, but you couldn't tell when it was on. I got a lot of complements all night and it fit my body pretty well!
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

Okay, but not my favorite

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a backup dress and it was a beautiful color, but the fit for me wasn't great. I also found the material to be heavy, so not ideal for a hot, summer event. I might try to size down next time too as it was too big.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Sep 5, 2014

Beautiful shade - wonderful sillouette, but, sadly too big.

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was lovely. But, if I rent in future, I'll size down for sure. This was too big.
B.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 18, 2014

Just sexy enough - absolutely perfect!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I normally wear a 0, and the 38 fit great. As others have mentioned, the straps are a little longer than most, but it wasn't a problem for me. I wore a strapless bra and it didn't peek over at all. The bust and waist fit absolutely great, and the skirt is just loose enough to skim curves without being over-the-top. It's perfect for any occasion - sexy, but conservative enough for a nice dinner out, a holiday party, even a night at the theater. The color is slightly darker in person, which I liked. The one negative for me was the zipper. It zipped fine when laying flat, but once it was on my body, I could not get it to fully zip. It felt like the zipper was getting stuck on something. It wasn't that it was too tight, either - I pinched together the fabric but still couldn't get it to do. I had to have my boyfriend help me, and he was astonished by how ridiculous the zipper was. I don't know what I would have done on my own! Hopefully the zipper on my dress was just a dud.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Sep 23, 2014

Way too big

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty dress but the 44 (my back up size) was huge and the 42 was tighter than I was comfortable with.
blair
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

great color and perfect fit!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
nothing negative to say about this dress. everything worked!
Casie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a wedding just after having a baby. I wish I had got it one size bigger just because it was so fitting. But I felt great in it and got several compliments throughout the night.
Laina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

My hot Banana Republic backup dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm very curvy with a narrow waist and ribcage. This dress in a size 42 did nothing for my shape, I didn't bother trying on the 44. Maybe If I had tried a 40, it would have worked but that was not a risk I was willing to take since it says to order up a size. I will live to RTR another day.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 14, 2014

Birthdays are always fun

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress was a knock out! The only down fall is that the straps slipped alot, so I would recommend a strapless bra or fashion tape.
Bridget
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 5, 2014

Wish this would have worked :(

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is the prettiest color and I wish it would have worked. I am curvy and the bottom fit fine, but the top was so large that i couldn't wear it. Thank goodness I rented another dress, the other one was fantastic.
Morgan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

Couldn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 10 or 8, which is what I ordered according to RTR's size conversions provided in the order drop-downs (sizes 48 and 46). I tried on the 46 first and it fit on the bottom, but the top was so big that there is no way I could wear the dress. I am technically a pear in that my hips measure slightly larger than my bust, but I am by no means small chested (34DD), so this was an odd problem for me to have. Would have been cute if it fit.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Great fit

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very flattering dress, nice color. Only complaint was that the lining on the neckline was loose.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

i feel the vibrant color stood out in the croud

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit and color are very flattering. I received lots of compliments. The best part is that it has a little stretch to it.
TamaraCs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Didn't Work on My Frame

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wanted to like it, but the length and waist were off on me. I wish that there were more petite options.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×