Your Moment Sheath

$76 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a wedding? This lady like ML Monique Lhuillier lace sheath is the perfect style to look elegant for the ceremony.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline with scalloped lace edge. Pencil skirt with scalloped lace hem. Keyhole back with hook and eye closure. Hidden side zipper. 37" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
576 reviews
Fit
Large
(48)
True to Size
(489)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 29, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS!
Everybody wanted to know where I got my dress!! This was the perfect choice and I absolutely LOVED this dress. I didn't want to return it. In my case the dress ran a little to small. I am normall a size 10 and it was a tad tight but overall so perfect for this wedding. Because it is lace it had a few snags in it but nothing noticable. I WILL be renting again!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2012
It was just right!
The dress was a great fit. I decided to wear it without a bra and that worked wonders. It was classy with a touch of sexiness. I wore to a wine tasting and did not feel overdressed at all. My first experience with RTR will not be my last.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
June 1, 2013
Beautiful dress, too small
This dress was gorgeous, sadly it was a bit too small in the bust area for me so I was not able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2013
This dress was perfect for the wedding I attended.
This dress definitely runs small in the hips. I ended up wearing the 4 instead of the 2, even though the 4 was a little loose in the shoulders/chest/clavicle area. In the end I was glad to wear the 4, because it was new dress, whereas the 2 looked a little too worn. This dress is conservative, but the open back and lacework at the top make it interesting. It was perfect for the wedding I attended.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2013
lovely dress!
This runs small, which I knew, so ordered up a size. It's so comfortable and eye catching - perfect party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2013
Very stylish dress
The dress had a great fabric/feel to it; fantastic quality. Unfortunately for anyone with a more "athletic" build/muscles, it definitely was tight in the back. I had to wear the size up so the back wasn't so tight; the size up unfortunately didn't flatter my waist as nicely as my normal size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 18, 2014
Beautiful but ran small
I ordered this dress as a backup but would have worn it if it had fit. Beautiful color and great quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2012
Absolutely beautiful dress!!
I am so glad that I took the chance to rent this dress. I am in love with lace and have been looking far and wide for this exact dress. It was absolutely stunning and felt like I was on the red carpet. Not to mention, everyone at the wedding kept on asking me where I got it. I fell in love with the dress and now want to buy it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 21, 2012
People went out of their way to approach me and tell me how much they loved my dress!
I LOVE THIS DRESS!! Beautiful fabric with wonderful lace detailing and the back is really what makes this dress special. I will rent this dress again in the future.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 22, 2012
Great navy dress, had several strangers approach me asking where I got the dress!!
First off, since there were no other reviews, I had thought this dress was more black and it is not, it's definitely a navy blue. The dress was beautiful and fit well, though it was a little snug in the sleeves. I'm about 5'5" and it hit just above the knee. Lots of compliments from complete strangers, which is a typical RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 22, 2012
Amazing Dress
I literally got compliments all night in this dress. I was even at the supermarket picking up wine when a complete stranger came up and told me that i looked stunning. DEFINITELY recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
October 22, 2012
Classy and beautiful dress! A must-rent!
The dress fit perfectly. I'm 5'3" and it came just below my knees. I would have preferred it to be a little above the knees, but paired with some cute nude pumps and gold jewelry and it looked fabulous. I'm so glad I rented it and risked it being a little longer than what I'm used to. The lace on the dress is beautiful. The back is to die for gorgeous. I received tons of compliments and many asking where I got it from. Definitely would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
GORGEOUS AND SEXY!
This dress was gorgeous and I felt very sexy all night. I am very curvy and this dress fit me like a glove. It was comfortable-- I danced all night and didn't have to pull it down or adjust it at all. No bra is needed and there was no visible panty line. This is the best dress I have EVER rented!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
October 24, 2012
W.O.W.
Classic. Sexy. Gorgeous. Fit like it was made for me. I would've purchased the dress instantly if I had that option. Wore it to a business cocktail dinner & then out on the town. Grace Kelly with a bit more sass.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2012
Stunning dress!
I wore this dress to a black tie event and I absolutely loved it, and ended up purchasing the dress in a different color from Nordstrom! I'm typically between a 4/6, but sometimes have to go up a size for the bust. I ended up wearing the 8 because it gave me room in the bust and fit a little loose on the rest of my body without losing its shape. I used a Nubra with the dress which worked really well for the open back.. The dress itself does have some bust support in the lining so a smaller bust could probably go without. The dress was absolutely beautiful and versatile!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 29, 2012
Gorgeous classy dress!
This dress fit perfectly and was really comfortable. The lace is beautiful and the open back is a really lovely detail. I wore this to a wedding and I couldn't have been happier with my choice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
October 29, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it, fit oddly
I received this dress in a 0. It fit, but it was not a flattering cut for me. The model looks great, but in person the dress was heavy which made me look heavier. I would wear it for a different occasion, but did not select it for this wedding.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 29, 2012
Perfect Fit
The dress fit really well. I have a very long rectangular-shaped body, and this gave me curves. Wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 5, 2012
This is a very sophisticated dress! I got a lot of compliments on how great it looked.
This dress came in very good shape -- since it's all lace, I was afraid there would be lots of snags or breaks in the lace that would be evident once I put the dress on. When it came, everything looked fine and there were no noticeable flaws in the lace. Like previous reviewers noted, it is a dark blue dress even though it looks black in the picture. Because I'm a little shorter, the dress sat lower and looked a little big around the hips and hit way past my knees (it's an issue with any dress I wear that is not petite sized, so it's not a specific fault of this dress). To fix it, I put in a few simple stitches at the shoulder area so the dress sits higher, which didn't mess up the dress at all since it is lace and you can just put a stitch through the hole areas of the lace. It looked a lot better after I did this, since the curvy sections of the dress actually hit me where they are supposed to. However, the dress still hit below my knee, which is different than what is shown in the picture. Overall, it still looked good though I could notice that there was extra fabric around my waist and hips -- it definitely was not a tight fitting dress on me. It's fine given that it's not supposed to be super tight, but just an FYI for other shorter and smaller girls out there who usually have a hard time proportionally fitting into dresses.
RoxanaNovember 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I am petite and have similar proportions (94 lbs, 5'0, 32a) and was considering this dress. But looking for more of a form fitting sheath on a petite frame, so your review was super duper helpful!
angieMay 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am also petite (5'1,126 lbs) so your feedback was very helpful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 10, 2012
Such a gorgeous, sexy dress! I got compliments all night.
I really loved this gorgeous dress. I was unable to wear any bra with it (NuBra does not work very well with larger chests). I was a little concerned that the top might slip a bit, but it was fine. Sorry for the crazy dancing picture but I wanted to show the back!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 63
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 11, 2012
Navy lace was perfect for afternoon to evening wedding.
I got tons of compliments. It was little loose in the bust for me but fit perfectly everywhere else. It was elegant and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful dress! Got lots of compliments!
The size 2 was a little snug but the 4 too loose. Went with the smaller size but the dress does not stretch. You'll need help ziping it up and clipping the back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
This was my first EVER rental from renttherunway and I couldn't be anymore pleased! Amazing :)
The loved this dress and got soooo many compliments. It is sophisticated, but yet a bit sexy too. Perfect for a formal occasion like a wedding or such. I loved the open back and the lace top was stunning in pictures and such. The length was to my knees which made the dress comfortable to sit in. I would suggest to get your normal dress size and maybe even a size smaller if your not big chested. I probably could have worn a 6, but the 8 fit just fine. LOVE IT!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 14, 2012
This dress is absolutely stunning. It fit like a glove but was very comfortable at the same time.
While I absolutely loved this dress and it fit beautifully, I was disappointed with the condition of the dress. At the hem and sleeves is an additional piece of lace that is attached to give the lace edging. These pieces had noticible threads pulled to the point that only about 50-60% of the pieces were secure. I almost didn't wear the dress because I was afraid of the pulls being noticed or the bottom piece becoming more detached and lopsided. Are the dresses not inspected upon return and/or repaired when necessary?
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
November 15, 2012
I received a lot of compliments on this dress - especially the back!
The dress fit a bit snugger in the torso than I expected - you might want to consider Spanx! I ordered a size 2 and a 4 and I preferred the larger size, so that it wasn't so form-fitting. I loved the open back (note: you'll need a special backless bra) and the length. The lace around the neckline was a little loose, so I used fashion tape to anchor it to my collar bone. This dress is classy, elegant, and perfect for a wedding. I'd wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2012
I adored this subtle, sexy, sophisticated lace!
This dress was so beautiful! The color is better than black for fair ladies like me. The 2 fit me better than the 4. They fit about the same in the body portion, but the lace at the top and the hem on the bottom were loose on the 4. The lace at the top was still a little loose on the 2, but I used fashion tape on my collarbone to keep it in place. I absolutely adored this dress for its sophistication and subtle sex appeal. I heard Kate Middleton references to it which I loved. :) It was the perfect dress for a stylish wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
November 21, 2012
Perfect "work appropriate" cocktail dress
I wore this to a work cocktail dinner and it fit perfectly. Hits right at knee. Covered up in the front but with a little "sexy" back peep through. The deep navy color is a pleasant departure from black. Fit perfectly and would definitely rent again. Only upset that I didn't get a full lengh photo to give you a better feel for the dress. Hopefully you can see the beautiful color in the close up photo
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 24, 2012
Elegant, Great Fit, Flattering
Wore this to Thanksgiving and everyone commented on how lovely I looked. This dress definitely 'makes the woman'. I am taking off one star because there were some loose threads, so take a look before wearing it out. I highly recommend this one!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 25, 2012
i felt very pretty in the dress
the dress had some snags on it...but otherwise i loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 25, 2012
This dress fit like a glove!
It was perfect dress for the wedding I attended. It is a beautiful navy blue, which was refreshing amongst all the black dresses. It was a little shorter than I anticipated, by looking at the pictures of other wearers it appeared that it would come below my knee, but it came above and even moreso when I was sitting. But I was very comfortable and received many compliments all night! I wore rose gold jewelry and shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 26, 2012
Perfectly classic.
This might have been one of the most beautiful dresses I've ever worn. The fit was perfect and the style was right on point. It is very comfortable, the dress has more of a stretch to it than you would imagine. From the pictures, it looks like there is boning in the bodice, but there is none. It had excellent crowd appeal, someone from every age group complimented on it. That is hard to do these days! It was a wonderful selection for a southern wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
November 26, 2012
I loved getting to wear a style I have never worn before!
The dress fits great, but the one thing I would recommend is to buy a bra with a low back or just wear cups since the cut out in the back does not give you the ability to wear a normal bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2012
STUNNING!
If you're looking for a dress that is beautiful, classy, sophisticated and still sexy, this is the one for you. It's comfortable, hugs your body in the right places and is long enough so you don't feel the need to keep pulling it down. I was nervous about not wearing a bra, but the dress is so structured and supportive that you don't even notice. I LOVE the open back. I want to own it myself!
MaryMarch 24, 2013
stunning woman.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Lots of compliments.
This dress got so many compliments. I wore it to my work Christmas party. It was a perfect look for an office event but had just a touch of sexy surprise in the back while still staying work appropriate. I got a lot of compliments on this dress. The dress fit me perfectly. I usually wear a 4. The length was just above my knee. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
it was easy and the dresses are beautiful
The dress fit perfectly. It is true to size and very fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2012
I tried to change the address that my dress would be sent to in advance and RTR never changed it
Good thing I was able to travel across state to get it. :(. Although it was a pain (planned to have it sent to the hotel of the wedding) the dress was beautiful and I received heaps of complements!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 5, 2012
stunning lace dress looks great on anyone!
This is body con but the material is really forgiving and the back is great! I wore a 6, usually I order a 6 and 8 and go 50/50 on which one I end up wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 5, 2012
Classic and elegant
I rented this dress for a black tie holiday party. I typically wear a 6, but rented an 8 as I had worn this designer before and knew that because of my curves I'd be happier with a bigger size. This dress is simply beautiful and timeless. The dress fell to my knees, hugged my curves. The front neckline was a bit baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
This dress allowed me to do major PR for RTR.
All night long I was complimented on this dress, and all night I was running my mouth about how fabulous RTR is-- to the point where the next day DUDE's were asking me for more info for their significant others. This dress fit true to size, and the top was structured in a way so that I didn't need to wear a bra. (A nice perk considering the open back.) The top half of this dress is beyond beautiful, however I felt like the bottom half was missing something. (Like, it should have come with a beautiful belt or had a slit, or... something?) Obviously I wore this dress despite not being 110% in love with it, but I definitely liked it a lot, and felt confident, appropriate (rehearsal dinner), and pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 6, 2012
Someone told me it looks like a dress Kate Middleton would wear. Win!
When I first saw this dress I loved it and knew I wanted to wear it to my Christmas work party. Based on reviews (and based on my usual size worn), I thought I would be a size 2. When I went to order the dress, it was only available in 0 and 4. When I got the sizes, the 0 was a little tight in the ribs, but fit perfectly everywhere else. In the end, I'm glad I ordered the 0 because the size 2 would have been too large in the shoulders and skirt, and a little too long. I highly recommend this dress & I'm so happy it worked out. I think just about everyone I talked to that night complimented me on my dress, including someone telling me the dress looked elegant enough for Kate Middleton to wear. If I could buy it, I would!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
3 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×