Your Moment Sheath

$76 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Attending a wedding? This lady like ML Monique Lhuillier lace sheath is the perfect style to look elegant for the ceremony.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but can not be worn with a standard bra due to open back
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; consider sizing up in backup for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy lace (60% cotton, 23% rayon, 17%nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline with scalloped lace edge. Pencil skirt with scalloped lace hem. Keyhole back with hook and eye closure. Hidden side zipper. 37" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
576 reviews
Fit
Large
(48)
True to Size
(489)
Small
(38)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
February 25, 2014
Gorgeous dress for a black tie optional wedding! Glam, Baby!
This was such a flattering and beautiful dress. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
October 23, 2014
Classy and Sexy
Wore this dress for a Chinese wedding and it was classy and just perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 27, 2014
So comfortable and elegant looking
I wore this to a wedding and reception and loved it. It was comfortable, and flattering and the navy looked very elegant. I love ML dresses anyway, but this was a stand out!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 25, 2015
I wore this to a fall wedding in the mountains.
This dress fit perfectly- it was slightly long on me but fine with heels. Beautifully made and very elegant.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Beautiful dress that fit like a glove!
I ordered a 4 & 6 but didn't even need to try the 6 on because the 4 fit perfectly! The opening in the back is stunning! The dress is definitely starting to show wear. The lace at the top of the neck line and back does not lay flat and is starting to curl out. Other than they I was extremely happy with my first experience with RTRW!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 21, 2015
FANTASTIC and Beautiful!
I wore this to our engagement party. It fit perfectly and I had tons of compliments. It is a great navy color and the lace details are lovely. The back is great too. I would rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 17, 2015
Flattering & Stunning!
I actually rented this as my backup dress, and another one of the bridesmaids wore it the day of. However, we loved the fit SO SO much that we both rented it again for another wedding - not knowing - we showed up in the same dress! very pretty, classic and fit well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
November 30, 2015
My favorite dress from RTR. Love it!
I used a belt to define my curves but other than that perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 30, 2013
Compliments received all night! Open back was a huge hit!
Dress was super comfortable, very flattering and perfect for a fall wedding. Fit was true to size ( I wear a 6) but I have narrow shoulders and the clasps in the back kept coming undone because there was not enough tension. I thought my lace around the edges was a little rough/worn, but it was barely noticeable and photographed really well. The hanger strings for the dress kept popping up all night-I would suggest you safety pin them down along the inside of the dress so you're not fiddling with them all night. Very pretty dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 25, 2012
Got tons of complements on the dress! The navy lace and open back were sexy but still classy.
The dress fit me well, the key hole back was a little smaller than pictured since it wasn't tailored but it was still beautiful. Had to wear a nu-bra as well. Overall it was a big success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
Great dress! Very flattering! Note - it's Navy not Black!
I rented this for a November wedding. I received so many compliments. The fit was perfect. Be warned, the color is in fact dark navy, not black. I didn't realize that until I got it. Also the hooks at the top part of the back came undone a couple times. So you have to be careful not to move around too much or they will come undone. Wore a sticky bra, which worked great. Overall, loved the dress and would definitely consider renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2012
Beautiful classy dress. Loved how the open back made a sophisticated dress sexy!
Dress fit perfectly! One of the back clasps was loose though. Received so many compliments and would absolutely use Rent the Runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 25, 2012
Knowing that I was wearing a designer dress, and I felt so elegant in it!
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 3, 2012
Fabulous style. Very comfortable.
If you are heavier on the bottom, be prepared to rent a size up. I had to do this, and as a result the top portion was a bit loose on me (but I expected this, as it happens often with my body and form fitting dresses). Invest in a nice backless, strapless bra and hip-hugging spanx. Other than this, I was very happy with the dress. It's very comfortable and stylish and I received a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
December 9, 2012
I was complimented the whole night on how beautiful I looked and the dress was amazing.
The dress was very flattering on my hips and waist. However the top portion was very lose. That was the only issue I had wit the dress. Overall it was great. I wore my strapless bra but pushed the back of it down so you didn't see it. The shoulders and upper section fell to one side. I really loved the dress it made me feel sexy and beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 12, 2012
Yes, the dress was beautiful. I received so many compliments.
The dress fit really well, it was not too tight and not too loose, just perfect. It came about an inch above my knee. IT was beautiful.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
December 19, 2012
This is a beautiful classic dress that I was proud to show off!
The dress fits true to size. I am short waisted, however, so I usually have to get my dresses altered to lift the top a little. Because of this, I conciously stood up straighter and held my shoulders back... which seemed to occasionally unhook one or two of the top hooks. Despite that, I was able to wear this dress without a bra and feel comfortable at a semi-formal event. Great dress!
Shelby January 28, 2013
Pardon for me asking, but I'm curious about how the dress fit in the chest? Did you need a bra at all? I'm a 38 DD and I really cannot go without a bra, but the back looks too low to wear one with the dress. Any insight you could give would be much appreciated!
RTR CustomerJanuary 29, 2013
Hi Shelby! This dress should be worn with a NuBra due to the exposed back!
KatieApril 10, 2013
OH my gosh, Shelby, I am so sorry that I didn't respond earlier. (I actually wrote a response, but I guess it didn't post correctly.) I am a 32F (or sometimes 32DDD). I did order a NuBra thinking that I could wear it with this dress and my wedding dress BUT the cups were way too small. So I did end up wearing this dress without a bra. I am short-waisted and needed to stand tall with my shoulders back so that the top did not fall forward too much, but that being said, I still felt very comfortable walking, sitting and dancing in the dress. I hope that this helps and isn't too late!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Amazing Flattering Bridesmaid Dress
I am renting this dress for my 6 bridesmaid for my July 2013 wedding. The dress looked great on each girl and they all loved it. All girls are different body types and range from 5'2 to 5'10 and amazing lengths for each girl.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 3, 2013
Fit great, like a glove, not too short, and the open back showed just enough skin
Fit perfect, usually a 4 or 6, went with the 4 in this one
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 7, 2013
beautiful open back
Had I worn this dress it would have been for the open back. I am a sucker for a sexy back-showing dress. The lace just wasn't quite elegant enough. The dress was just a tad big so I should have ordered my usual size. A total plus was that I could wear a normal strapless bra with this dress.
RTR CustomerFebruary 4, 2013
Where did you get those fab tights?!
emilyFebruary 4, 2013
amazon.com cuban heel thigh-high
RTR CustomerApril 18, 2013
Love the leg candy!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 13, 2013
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's sister's wedding. I got compliments all night long!
I had a difficult time getting the back to stay closed on the top. People had to rehook it throughout the night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 28, 2013
Simple & elegant
I loved the way this dress fit and felt instantly gorgeous in it. I wish I got a picture of the back- it was so flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 19, 2013
Beautiful navy color. Good quality. Sexy back.
I rented this dress for winter wedding, at night. The dress was stunning and the back was sexy but not too revealing. I bought a pair of "sticky bra cups", so I didn't have to fiddle or conceal a bra back all night. I didn't try the dress on with a strapless bra so I don't know if a strapless bra could be worn. The length was appropriate and both the size 2 and 4 fit. I went with the 4 though. I loved everything about the Rent the Runway experience. I can't wait for my next event so I can rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 19, 2013
Loved this dress. Wish I owned it.
Fit well. Sometimes I wear a 12 for room in the hips, but the 10 fit me fine in this dress. Got lots of compliments and felt comfortable all evening. The weight of the material was perfect for a winter wedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
February 24, 2013
Fit everyone perfectly!!
I actually rented this for my sister who was the maid of honor at my wedding. All of my girls fell in love with this dress but I couldn't ask them to spend that much for a dress for my wedding, so we took a chance and rented them! They all have different body types, but it fit everyone perfectly and I couldn't be happier!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 26, 2013
Unforgettable Elegance!
Cannot say enough great things about this dress, even though after two hours of wearing it I noticed a small hole under my right arm pit. Not sure how/when that happened or if it was shipped that way to me, as the lace is very fragile... but it looks SO good and that small issue did not detract from how much I enjoyed wearing it. I received so many compliments on this dress and my Facebook friends went crazy over it. Unlike other customers I had no issues with the back clasps. They did not come undone once and I was dancing and playing craps in this dress in Vegas. I am big busted and did not need to wear a bra with this dress. it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
I received so many compliments on the dress!
The dress fit like a glove! It was in great condition and the fabric was beautiful! I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with the dress and didn't have any issues at all. My backup size was a 2 and if it had been my only option I could have survived for the night, but the 4 was a much better fit.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 11, 2013
Amazing Dress & Compliments all night
This dress was amazing! It fit extremely well and I wasn't ready for the amount of compliments I recieved all night. My only complaint was the top closure on the back seemed a little worn & too loose to stay closed. I had to get someone to fix it every hour or so, but probably not that big of an issue for newer dresses. But overall loved the dress & the process, can't wait for the next occassion to do this again.
LindaMay 28, 2013
Hi! You look great! And your shoes are perfect! Where did you buy them? Thanks!
AKJune 2, 2013
Thanks! I actually had the shoes already, they are Nine West. Super comfortable & the right height, highly recommend them!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
Got a lot of compliments on this dress. Felt very polished and chic for a wedding
I have an athletic build so my arms and shoulders are wider than my hips. So this dress was quite snug in the bust and shoulder area but loose around my hips. Also a little long for my height (5'5) but I felt beautiful nevertheless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2013
Complimented ALL night!
I needed a cocktail dress in navy. Chose this one and got a different one as a backup. Tried this on first and loved it. Fit perfectly, looked classy and was comfortable! A good combo. I was worried about the length, as I am 5'10", but it hit just right and even when I needed to sit down (playing the piano in front of a crowd is not the time to worry about flashing everyone!) it covered just fine. The only con is that it was a bit worn at the lace hem. Up close it was frayed, but from a distance it looked like part of the lace itself. Overall, very pleased!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 1, 2013
I loved this dress! I received so many compliments in this dress & felt wonderful wearing it!
The fit was wonderful, it hugged every curve of my body perfectly! I got a size 4 and 6 but ultimately wore the 4 and just felt like the lace would rip in the back by the opening if I raised my arms; consequently, the dancing was on short supply at my brothers wedding. Overall the dress was amazing and hard to give back!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 16, 2013
The photographer actually came up to me and asked "who are you wearing?" I got a ton of compliments!
Fit very well...it's definitely a form fitting dress. I loved everything about it. The back is the best part of the dress...it's intricate and beautiful. I felt classy and it was perfect for the wedding we went to!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 28, 2013
I wore this dress to a black-tie optional wedding and got so many compliments!
The dress is very tight fitting so you may need some shape wear. It did look like it had been worn quite a bit and the slip sort of showed at the bottom, but it still looked great and no one had any idea that it was a rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 31, 2013
So elegant, so fun!
Loved this dress. It was super comfortable and beautiful. I got tons of compliments. It's super fitted, but shockingly doesn't look bad after eating! It's also great for dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
June 6, 2013
I had strangers come up to me at graduation and ask where I got my dress from!
Fits true to size. By the end of the day it did feel like the fabric was getting a bit loose, so if I wore it again, I would make sure to use the double stick tape!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 18, 2013
Didn't want to return it!
This dress looked great and I got so many compliments! It was a little longer on me than I was expecting (hit below the knee) but still looked great. The size 2 was a little frayed around the ends and the hooks in the back were a bit loose, but I used double sided tape on the back and it stayed in place. Four stars because it was noticeably worn, but overall a great dress that I didn't want to give back!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 25, 2013
The dress was stunning in person. The open back made it unique. I got so many compliments!
Best for women with a smaller bust because you definitely cannot wear a bra. I thought I'd give backless a try and this dress made it possible. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110lbs
June 29, 2013
This dress is beautiful
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding. The dress is tight fitting but it was beautiful dress .My dress was not worn-out like other reviewers have commented on. The hooks on the back were very lose, but my husband fix them to prevent wardrobe malfunctions. This dress was conservative and sexy at the same time and totally affordable!!. The long of the dress was perfect for me. Definitely, I will rent it again! My first time renting from RTR and will do it again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 23, 2013
I rented this dress for my engagement pictures! I absolutely loved it, and got lots of compliments!
The dress had a slim fit through the waist, with not much stretch to it. It fit well through the bust, and was even a little big for me. Overall the dress fit well! I would suggest ordering the size you normally wear, plus one size up if you're in-between sizes. The back of the dress is beautiful, and overall it is very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 8, 2013
I loved this dress!
I wore this for a friend's wedding rehearsal and dinner and loved it! The lace is beautiful and delicate, the cut out in the back is fun and flirty. I have wide shoulders, so did not have much of an issue with loose material in the back as other renters have mentioned. Highly recommend this comfortable and flattering dress! Would happily rent it again.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
12 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×