Rent the Runway

ML Monique Lhuillier

Tulle To Lace Gown

$160 rental
$598 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look red carpet ready for the gala wearing this drop dead gorgeous ML Monique Lhuillier gown. Be prepared to have all eyes on you looking insanely chic. Shown here with accessories like the Crislu's Classic Lady Earrings and Ben-Amun's Pearl Trellis Bracelet.

Also available in navy and blush.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Three lengths available. Petite measures 56” from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'0''-5'4'), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black tulle with lace underlay. Sleeveless. One shoulder neckline. Fitted bodice with trumpet flared skirt. Hidden side zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

365 reviews

Fit
Small 110
True to Size 230
Large 12
Photos 254
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a beautiful dress that is sure to fetch compliments! I would not recommend this dress for women with a large bust; it was tight on me. (If I didn't have a small back, it would not have worked) I am short (5'3"), and the regular fit worked with high heels, but I needed high heels. The dress was lovely and I am happy I ordered it!
Tiffany
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

So easy and love the free alternate size, made this first renter hassle free!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size. The staves in the bodice were a little uncomfortable at first, but I don't remember feeling them the rest of the night. The draping at the neck was a little loose on me but it hung in the back easily and looked fine. Overall I loved the fit of this dress!
Nins
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

The whole process was incredible!!The dress fit perfectly! I will for sure be using RTR again!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The Dress was amazing! I originally wanted the 0R, but was not available for the date i needed so I got the 0P and it was like it was made for me!!! Loved everything about it and more!
kali
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134 lbs
Nov 20, 2013

This dress was beautiful and I felt beautiful wearing it.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 6R and 8R and was really nervous that they wouldn't fit right or they would be way too long since I'm only 5'1 but the 6R fit perfectly! I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat and I will definitely use rent the runway again.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

WHAT. A. GORGEOUS. DRESS.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This has been, by far, my favorite RTR dress to date! Everything about the rental process was flawless, as usual, but this dress was extraordinary! I ordered the 8R and 10R and ended up wearing the 10 b/c it was a bit more comfortable sitting down (and I knew I'd be eating and dancing all night), but they fit pretty much the same. It looks just how it does in the pictures, and I have nothing but incredible things to say about it. Like everyone says, it runs lonnnng, so make sure your shoes are tall enough. There are a few "flaws" in the lace overlay (from wear), but they've been repaired and are completely unnoticeable. I did not wear a bra, and didn't need to, nor did I need to wear Spanx or anything - just plain old underwear :) I got so many compliments all night from everyone and it was truly a head-turner. RENT THIS DRESS. Trust me.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103 lbs
Dec 1, 2013

Wore this for an engagement photo shoot

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit great. True to size. I rented petite size zero and the length was perfect
Sarah
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

Fit like a glove

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I spent a lot of time looking at all the pictures that went with each dress. I am a curvy person with a large bust/ rib cage and know what looks good on the models does not always look good on me. I found that so many body shapes did fantastic in this dress. When I went to choose my dress I had to play around with lengths to get the 2 sizes I wanted to try. I finally settled and 3 weeks later got my dress. It was too long, but with tall heel and walking with a kicking motion, it was ok. The one that fit the best was damaged on the inside (ripped seams, hooks torn and missing, boning bent way beyond what it should have, ect). I feared that since there are so many reviews on this dress, I knew it was well rented. No fear though, RTR came through and found me a new dress and had it at my house by 2 the day of my event. Phew, crisis averted. The new dress, while in better shape, was still very used. The inside had been mended and remended a few times and the bottom hem on the inside was quite ripped. But, it was so well made, that once on, it fit amazing. Very tight in the bust (I'm a 36 DD), but once zipped, felt great. I did wear a strapless slip so I wouldn't have to deal with the zipper under my arm, but a bra really wasn't required. I didn't give it 5 stars because it was so damaged and used when I got it. I felt that even though it was an expensive dress and was able to rent it at a smaller price, $165 was a bit too much. They should graduate their prices once the dress has been in circulation/ used a certain amount of time. Overall, I loved my experience. No one else had the dress that night and I got a lot of complements, yay! I will use RTR again:)
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Perfect for a Military Ball!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was nervous about renting this dress (it's my first rental) but I was delighted. The backup dress and back up size I ordered didn't work out, but this one fit perfect. It was a little tight around the top, but I'm small chested so that worked in my favor. I'm also not especially tall, but the other 2 long dresses as backups were so short I wouldn't have been able to wear anything but flats. I was able to wear 4" heels in this dress with no problem. But like some of the other reviews, you have to be careful with the tulle. I didn't have any problems walking but I had to watch it when I was getting up from the table.
JC
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 16, 2013

This dress was perfect for my black tie Xmas gala!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered an 8L and it was very tight at the top. I ordered a 10L which was still a little tight at the top but was a great fit overall. I read the other reviews regarding the length of the dress and decided to go with the long. I am fairly tall and I wore 4.5 inch heels. It worked out perfect because I wanted the dress to come to the floor. In hindsight though, my heel kept getting stuck on the material - not so bad to ruin a great night! This dress was perfect!
Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2013

Beautiful lace dress that will make you feel like a queen!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal red carpet event in LA. I received so many compliments, and I felt like a queen in it - I can't wait to rent it again! This dress hugs your curves in all the right places, yet it is very comfortable such that I could easily stand and sit during the evening. The lace material makes this dress very unique, especially with the one-shoulder strap and wrapped contrasting material throughout the body. I paired this dress with a 3 inch black open-toed heels (including a .5 inch platform), and the Long length was appropriate. I also paired it with simple stud earrings since the dress speaks for itself, and very little jewelry is needed. Thanks for the great rental, RTR!
Aja
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Dress got me compliments all night long on NYE!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
So here's the thing - I was so excited to wear this dress! I figured that as a mermaid fit it would hug me in all the right places so just to be safe, I got to sizes 2 and 4. The dress is beautiful, very elegant but here was the problem: the size 4 was just too big and the size too was tiny in the best and a bit lose in the waist (I would have preferred it being an inch tighter in that area). That's just my preference - that being said, I still wore the dress and I got many compliments on it throughout the night. The size didn't end up being an issue because no one besides myself really noticed soooooo ended up being a pretty good rental.
Kat
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Perfect for New Years Black Tie Wedding! Looked and felt fabulous without paying a fortune

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Im 5'7" tall, 140 lbs, 34 D chest and the 8R fit perfectly! Very flattering. I wore medium heels and the length was perfect as well. I didn't want to wear the typical strapless dress so this was a great option. I received tons compliments and felt great all night. Easy to dance in and move around in - very comfortable. I highly recommend this dress!
Jana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

I felt like an old hollywood starlet!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress! It was absolutely incredible! I wore it for a black tie New Years event and everyone loved it. I'm only 4'11 so I was nervous about it being too long, but the petite sizing definitely worked out. I just wore a pair of 3 inch heels and I was good to go. The dress does have a little train to it, which is beautiful, but I had people stepping on it when they walked behind me. This dress extenuates the hip area because of the cut so if you're worried about showing off your hips this might not be the dress for you. The top was a little snug on me, but I didn't wear a bra so it wasn't as tight. It was really nice not to have worry about pulling the dress up all night like you would with a strapless. The one shoulder addition was really worth it. This is a gorgeous dress and I highly recommend it to the small people out there!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved! There were a couple of places where the tulle had been pulled just a bit, but it was in pretty good shape.
Tonia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

This dress was a show-stopper at our costumer party. But so elegant I wished I owned it!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit like a glove. The fabric detail was very flattering.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

Beautiful gown! Would rent again!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not a great photo of the entire dress. It was breathtaking. If you have a chest or are broader, I would size UP! I ordered an 8 and 10..needed a 12 for my chest. I normally wear an 8 in dresses..no more than a 10. i had to pin it to a black strapless bra because i couldn't get the zipper up the last 2 inches. Other than that...spectacular. Wore for a gala event!
karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

Perfect for those with curves! Sexy, yet classy, perfect for work gala

Size worn: 8P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I kept reading that the dress had no give/stretch (which is true) and that it wouldn't be good for someone with a large bust. But I'm here to tell you that of my features, I have that 'hourglass shape' with extra in the bust and rear end department and the dress couldn't have been more flattering. Even if you show a little cleavage, the black tulle that drapes over your shoulder camouflages it so you don't look too exposed, but rather sexy and elegant. And I consider myself a rather conservative dresser. It really does give you that sexy, yet classy look. The negative - while I am 5'1'', I do tend to wear higher heals, but because I did order the petite size, the length was also petite so I did end up wearing lower heals (2 1/2-3" ?). My original heels made the dress look to short. But all that meant is I was actually comfortable in my heels all night! So if you're concerned about needing extra length, be sure to go for the regular or long. The dress fits true to size. It was my first rental from RTR and like it says on the box and dress bag, this dress "is just the beginning." Will definitely be renting again soon!
Kori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Unlimited compliments all night long

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress definitely runs true to size. I ordered the dress for a wedding and it came the night before. The dresses is a bit difficult to get on, because the tulle sash has to go over your head to get unto the other shoulder. If you have an up-do, like i did, you may need some help getting it on. It was an amazing fit and i got compliments all night long. if you want to be glamorous without out shadowing the bride, this is your dress!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 28, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had so much fun wearing this dress! People kept telling me all night how sexy I looked. I ordred the 6R and 8R. The 6 fit, but I had more room to move and dance in the 8 so I wore it and was much more comfortable. I am glad I went with the Regular length. I spent a while debating between Regular and Long because I am 5'7", but I was able to wear my super comfy 3in heels and didn't have issues with my feet killing me at the end of the night. My shoes showed when I walked, but I didn't have to worry about stepping all over the dress all night. Another great rental!
Brittney
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

This dress made my boyfriends jaw drop!

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you want compliments all night, then DEFINITELY rent this dress! I wore it to a formal black tie birthday party. I was nervous about choosing a size. I am usually a 4 but I have a broad rib cage and some dresses are difficult to zip up. When I read the reviews I decided to rent a 6R and a 4P as a back up. THANK GOD, I chose the 4P. I am 5'4'' and the P was still a little long with 4 1/2 inch heels, so the R would have been WAY too long. I definitely recommend the P for girls my height. The size 4 zipped up perfectly, the 2 would have been too snug. It's true, this dress is NOT for big busty gals, you wouldn't be able to zip up the dress. Also, I have a tiny waist and no hips so the dress was a little loose in the hip area, but you couldn't even tell because of the material. I loved this dress!!! I highly recommend it!
Laurel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Perfect dress for a black-tie event!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really loved this dress and would even consider renting it again for another event. It came in great condition, no snags or signs of wear. I ordered both the 0 and 2, and the 2 fit really well other than the chest, which was pretty tight. I don't often run into that problem because although I'm a full C cup my rib cage is pretty small, so I would recommend sizing up if you have a large bust. I couldn't even get the 0 to close over my chest, although it fit everywhere else. The length of the 2R was perfect and just about an inch above the floor with 4 inch heels (I'm 5' 4.5"), while the 0R was a bit too short.
MH
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 11, 2014

I felt fabulous in this gown!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a baby 3 months before wearing this gown, and the 12L fit me perfectly. It was very flattering and super comfortable! Not to mention, I am very tall and it hit the floor!
Ellen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Compliments all evening

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using RTR. I had ordered a 6L and a 8L based on the sizing chart and my height. Only the 8L arrived and it's a good thing too because it barely fit! I am a weightlifter and am relatively lean, so very little fat on my torso, but this dress was very tight around my rib cage at the widest part of my back/lats. Length was perfect. NOTE: This is a tiny bit of a train and I did have a few people stepping on it during the evening, but not too bad. I only had 1" heels on because my date is on the shorter side, but higher heels probably would have gotten rid of this problem. Sitting was uncomfortable in the chest. I wore this to a military ball that included dinner and I was fine walking around, but had to hike it up a little to sit. Overall, this was an amazing dress that felt very secure and that I received dozens of compliments on throughout the evening. I will be renting again :-)
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

So. Many. Compliments! It fit like a glove on me and was the PERFECT length.

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was the perfect length with 3 inch heels. I'm 5'1". I have a small chest and narrow shoulders but the dress was perfect. No complaints about this one!!
Sue
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 28, 2014

I loved wearing this dress!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit beautifully and was really comfortable to wear! It was an emergency back up when the original dress I'd ordered was returned damaged by the previous renter. RTR customer service was fantastic and made sure I had this dress by the morning of my event. I can't say enough good things about the Go-To Girls who helped me! The dress was a little long, but with a 3+ inch heel, I had no problems. The ruching was very forgiving and I didn't need a bra. The built in bra could fasten inside the dress on the side, but it was a hair too tight for me, so I just left it unhooked and you couldn't tell. I got a ton of compliments on this dress and it was definitely a hit with my husband. I can't wait to rent from RTR again!
Latoya
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

I got so many compliments on my dress, it definitely was a show stopper!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There wasn't a 6L available when I ordered my dress, so I went with a 8L. I have a hourglass shape, with a small waist and bigger hips, so the 8L fit okay for the most part, especially in the hips, however, the waist area was too big and a 6L probably would have been perfect. The length was good also and I wore 4 1/2 inch heels. Can't wait to order my next dress!
Cat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

Old Hollywood Chic!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a bit small and is very fitted in the hip area but overall an easy dress to wear.
Bethany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Mar 16, 2014

Stunning. Fits like a glove and incredibly classy.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'll be honest, when Rent the Runway called and told me that my BCBG dress was damaged, I had a panic attack. But they sent me a list of other dresses in my size, and when I saw that this was available, I couldn't believe it. The dress was exactly my style. But they only had it in a 0L, and I wasn't sure if I could fit into it. Luckily, it arrived and fit perfectly (well, if I didn't wear a bra with it, which looked absolutely fine). Rent the Runway has amazing customer service, and I can't help but think that it was just meant to be. I'm not sure if I would have liked the BCBG dress as much. All throughout my senior prom night, I received compliments on the dress. Even non-prom-goers I saw as I walked around Atlanta told me I looked "stunning." However, I'm a bit sad that I have to give the dress back today :(
Cherie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 17, 2014

Lots of compliments, felt gorgeous!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
RTR sent this dress as a backup after my initial order didn't work out. I was leery at first, don't really do lace, but I must admit this dress was really flattering and comfortable! My daughter and I attended a debutante ball and decided to have a photographer friend get some formal shots of us before the event. We have received many compliments from the photos already. We felt amazing!! It was awesome to dress up in designer dresses -- I'm already plotting my next RTR move. Kudos to the customer service team for getting this option to me so quickly!
bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

The fit.

Size worn: 4P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am not petite whatsoever but I wasn't wearing heels so the length of the petite dress was perfect. I usually wear a 6 in dresses, however i was practically swimming in the 6. I would get a size smaller than you need. The draping on this dress makes it very flattering.
wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Stunning, classy dress.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a bit small in the chest, I am a 36dd. You will need help zipping up, but very comfortable, not hot
Ashley
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 2, 2014

The way my husband looked at me in this dress!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit great! It made me feel so glamorous and sexy! I'd wear it again in a heartbeat!
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Made a great backup dress for engagement photos

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I'm typically a 6, and the 6 was very tight (especially in the chest). I tried the 8 and it was much for comfortable, but I didn't feel like it accentuated my curves as nicely. I would have gone with the 6 if I would have worn this for the photo shoot, 8 if I would have worn it to an event. Overall, it's a beautiful dress.
Kara
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

I wore this dress to a friend's military ball. It was the absolute perfect dress for this event.

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit like a glove, i could have went up a size to the 2 for more room but the 0 looked perfect. Take note that the shoulder tulle goes to the same side as the zipper. At my 5'1" height the tulle was a little long but didn't get in the way of walking too bad. All in all the dress is incredibly well made and looks amazing. I'm extremely sad to be returning it.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Age: 25
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

I received several compliments and felt beautiful, while maintaining a sense of professionalism.

Size worn: 14P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a little big on me, but I usually wear a 12P (sadly, that wasn't available by the date I needed it). It fit well, but was still a little long on my 5'1" frame. A massive pair of platform pumps fixed that! The shoulder sash bit was also too long, but I pinned it and think it looked lovely. The dress was actually pretty comfortable, though I think the criss-cross design draws attention to the tummy, which I was slightly self-conscious about. The folks at RTR were amazing, btw. I had no time to mess around, so I emailed explaining that I needed petite dresses for a curvy/larger girl (size 12/14). I got a response within minutes that listed a few options. I chose one and a second for backup (didn't wear that one in the end). Everything went smoothly thanks to RTR and its amazing team! This site is a busy woman's best friend. Seriously.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

The neckline

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress lots of compliments. But runs small!! Where it is small though is the chest. Not the boobs but the rib cage! It has a bra clasp inside and I struggled to get that closed on the10! I'm a 36 b/c so that was a surprise! As I had to wear the 10 there was plenty of room at waist and hips but not ridiculous. So that part was very comfortable but wasn't as flattering as not fitted to give the hourglass result. The 8 fit at waist and hips but snugly. I was happy with the dress but wasn't in love with it.
RTR Customer
Apr 28, 2014

This dress is absolutely gorgeous

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually rented this dress for prom and I'm so happy that I did. This dress is absolutely gorgeous. This dress runs true to size it fit me perfectly and the dress got here on time as well. If you want a dress that will turn heads everywhere you go , this is def. the dress. It can also be worn for any occasion. I will def be ordering from RTR again !
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
May 6, 2014

Elegant and easy

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very classy and easy to wear. The sheerness brings an extra level of glam, just gotta slap on some dangly earrings and ours ready to roll.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 15, 2014

Lovely

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bodice fits quite snug, I usually wear an 8 but I had to size up to the 10. Also, I wore the 10L and it hung a little past my ankles with 3 inch heels. I am pretty tall at 5'11 so if you are tall you may want to wear flats.
Maddi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 19, 2014

A lovely last-minute dress

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered a different dress, but when I was informed that that dress was out of commission for repairs, I decided on this dress. I have never worn a mermaid style dress and I was nervous about showing my imperfections. Luckily, this dress is incredibly flattering. My only complaint is that the material over the shoulder was slightly too loose and occasionally bulged. I would also finding a sit on bra for your event because the top fits snug enough to ensure the dress stays put which doesn't allow for too much extra room for a bra band or well padded cups. I'm overall quite happy with the dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×