This Is It Gown

$60 – $95 rental
$798 retail
Stylist Notes

Look flawless in this elegant gown by ML Monique Lhuillier. You'll feel like royalty as you flaunt your hourglass shape in this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy Crepe (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline with beading detail. Cutout back. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
216 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(161)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 14, 2014
Stunning gown!
The dress was perfect for a black tie wedding I attended last weekend. It fits like a dream, and was comfortable to wear (and dance in) the entire evening. I am 5'3", and with 3" heels the dress was a bit longer than I would have liked, but I expected that. It is absolutely beautiful and I'm so happy with my decision to rent it for this occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2014
STUNNING!
The perfect dress for my arts organization's annual gala! I got so many compliments on it and everyone was shocked that I rented it. It does run a little small so I'm glad I got an extra size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 16, 2014
This flattering dress and gorgeous fabric made me feel so glamorous!
This was my first rental and I was thoroughly impressed with my RTR experience. I was nervous about it fitting, so many dresses look beautiful on the rack but don't fit quite right, but this dress exceeded my expectations. I wore it for a Black Tie Optional Gala and I felt so glamorous! The dress is very fitted but the fabric gives enough, which was perfect for me because I'm wider in my hips. Like other reviews mention it's a bit tight around the arms but this didn't bother me at all. I will say I should have gone with the long length instead of the regular. At 5'-7" I'm right on the fence between the two but with heels on the regular length felt short (I could see my shoes more than I wanted to). Even with that little issue I had the best night in the most gorgeous dress I've ever worn!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 23, 2014
I danced the night away feeling comfortable and classy!
I ordered my back-up size a size up knowing that Monique can run a bit small, yet the size 8 actually fit like a glove. I am glad I ordered the long as it was the perfect length given my heels. It's very classy gown that, given it's shape and detailing, was a show stopper. Though this was my back up gown, and slightly more formal than the other I had in mind, I have no regrets wearing it... It worked out well being slightly over-dressed in such a dress. My only (and very minor) concern was with the state of the embellishments, though not obvious there are definitely stones missing here and there.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
April 25, 2014
Formal and very elegant. Loved the blue! :)
Con:I am pretty lean and do have defined shaped arms. The black sleeves were tight around the armpit! By the end of night, I couldn't wait to take it off. Bit, overall I felt great and beautiful in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 26, 2014
Elegant, classy, demure dress with a little sexy in the back!
It fit fabulously! I love the little opening in the back. The length was perfect and the skirt of the dress was very flirty. I love RTR because I always get so many compliments when I wear the dresses! Even in a room full of women wearing evening gowns, I still got a lot of compliments! Love it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 28, 2014
Rented this dress for prom and received so many compliments. the dress is absolutely gorgeous.
The dress does fit snugly across the chest. I'm not sure if it would work as well for large-busted women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2014
Most compliments ever! My all time favorite dress so far from RTR!
My mother picked the dress for me online, and at first I wasn't sure, but this is by far my favorite rental. Very Elegant, very Kate Middleton. The color is perfect, a deep blue, with black lace. The material is a nice thicker material. The cut is very flattering. I have considered renting this dress again, but didn't want to wear the same thing twice. Perfect formal event dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
May 4, 2014
Loved this dress so much!! It was so flattering
Favorite
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 5, 2014
good dress for dancing
fit was good
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
May 11, 2014
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding. Made me feel stunning and sophisticated.
This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding. It fit beautifully and was the perfect length with 4" heels. The beading detail around the shoulder was lovely. However, I did feel that the armhole was small and dug in a bit so be aware if this tends to be an issue. Overall this dress made me feel stunning and sophisticated.
KimberlyMay 22, 2014
How tall are you? Are you normally a 0? I am 5'8" and about 125 lbs... And I usually fall right between a 0 and a 2. I'm a 0 in my waist and bust, but a 2 typically in my hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 198lbs
May 20, 2014
Wore this dress for an 85th birthday at a country club and I got a lot of compliments on it.
I could have easily worn the 12L had there been a bit more room in the bodice as it for my hips and butt fine, however the top was tight across my bust, which is a 36B/38B (and in this case a 36C in the Chantelle strapless bra---runs small!) depending on the brand of the bra. I could have also maybe gotten away with the 14R because at just 5'6" this dress even with a 3" heel for me was just a little long. The good news is that the back of the dress did stretch a bit as the night went on, but I am not sure I would rent the same dress again. If you do rent this dress in the summer be warned it is on the heavy side.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 22, 2014
I loved this dress and got sooo many compliments on it!
It runs a little long. I didn't wear heels so my dress got stepped on a few times but that was okay! It's difficult to wear a bra with, but other than that the dress was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 2, 2014
Classy, comfortable, flattering
A bit tight across the chest and shoulders, it cut into my armpits when I raised my arms. As a 5'1"ish girl wearing 4-5 inch heels, I still had trouble with the length. It wasn't terrible, but I did have to lift my dress up when walking around to avoid tripping. Also, a lot of people stepped on the bottom of the dress. I'm not sure if taller people would have the same issue, but the cutout in the back was low and my bra straps were visible, which was kind of annoying. Otherwise, I was very happy with the dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 4, 2014
Very slimming dress, would definitely wear again
Ran a little small around hips. Other than that was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 9, 2014
Comfortable, classy and beautiful!
After many hours trying to choose what dress I'd wear to this black-tie wedding, I decided to go with this one. It was true to fit. I order a 2L and 0L. Decided to go with the 2L since to 0L was a hair too tight on my hips. The straps we're a bit tight on the 0L but didn't notice any discomfort when wearing the 2L. Very comfortable and easy to walk in. The length was perfect with my 2inch heels. I recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 9, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Fit was great; spot on! The style was too frumpy for me so I didn't wear it. Very heavy material which is great for a winter affair!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
Classic and pretty dress
The dress is very classic and pretty. I rented this dress for a wedding. The dress was a perfect fit for me (wore a size 0) except the the length of the dress. I'm about 5'3" and even with 3" heels, a lot of people were stepping on the hem. This annoyed my husband since it was mainly him stepping on my dress throughout the night. The dress is a bit heavy and like what many have already stated, you would not be able to wear a 'regular' or strapless bra for the back is fairly low to wear one. Would definitely consider wearing this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
June 13, 2014
I wore this dress to Deb Ball - It's classy and elegant. I got many compliments!
The long is really long. I am in between 5'5" and 5'6" and I wore some of my taller heels (4-5") and it was still a dress I had to be careful not to trip on. That said, my backup size was a 2R and it was very short for a formal gown. I would not have been able to wear heels above 2" or so with the R. The size I wore fit very snug around the arm pits--but this wasn't a problem for me. I loved the back and the shape of the dress. Overall, I recommend.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 16, 2014
I wore this to a military ball.
This dress fit very true to size. I was worried because the description mentions that it is not for a fuller bust. I am a 34D and was able to wear this dress with a strapless bra and no issues. The only con was that I am 5'2" and the dress was a bit long. I remedied this by just holding up the dress when I walked which wasn't a huge deal. Overall the dress was beautiful and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2014
The dress was beautiful, I had custom ordered a dress that came in the wrong color, so RTR saved me!
I would have worn the 6 if it would have been a long, however the 8 was fine on me and was still flattering. So I would order your extra a size smaller. It was a tad bit tight in my chest. But overall it was perfect!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 29, 2014
Loved it! Fit like a glove! Comfortable..I could dance, eat. Loved!
First time renter! I rented this and 2 others. Truth, this was my back up but it ended up being the front runner because of the fit and comfort. I am 5'6" 135lbs. After 3 kids, I need some spanx! But this dress fit so well, I really didn't need it. I am usually between a 6 and 8 dress size. I got the 8. It was a perfect fit! Like a glove!! I can't say enough great things about this dress! It was completely comfortable, I coiuld eat and dance and sit..not a single problem. It is classic and classy, streamlined and fitted in all the right places. My bust is a bit large (DD) and it looked perfect in this dress. The color, dark navy blue, was great too! Loved this dress! If I could, I would buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
June 29, 2014
Dresses did not fit. They run extremely small.
Dress ran extremely small. Neither size fit right and I ended up having to shop for a dress on the same day as my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2014
Felt like a bridesmaid dress
i felt frumpy in this dress - perhaps it would work on someone with a fuller figure. i am petite, and i just felt overpowered by all of the material. it also wasnt in the best condition.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
July 3, 2014
Beautiful, flattering and well-made! I loved wearing this dress!
I rented this dress when we got a last-minute invitation to a black-tie Mardis Gras event. It fit like it was made for me! The fabric is fairly substantial and has a lovely drape to it. I loved the bead detailing around the shoulders and the cutout in the back - it gave a little drama to an otherwise simple dress. This was my first RTR experience and I was a little nervous, but I was so impressed with the dress and the service! I will definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 15, 2014
Love!!!
I'm reviewing for my sister... She had ordered a different dress and they didn't for her. This was my back up dress and she ended up loving it. And she wears a 0R!! She's 5'1 and this is a 4L. It has a lot of stretch and it's figure hugging. It creates a great shape. We both tried it on and we have EVERYYYYY different body shapes (I'm 5'5 and bigger busy and bum) and it look great on both!! I think it would flatter everyone
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
July 21, 2014
I wore to my first army ball & felt totally appropriate (not over or under dressed)!
Trying to leave a detailed review to be helpful :) I got nervous when the day before the event It was after 4pm and the dress was not delivered - So note: this will come ups ground - which can deliver as late as 8pm to residential but 3pm to business so if you can mail to a business I would propose doing that. Not knowing length i had to wait until the last minute to get shoes. I am 5'1-3/4, 113 lbs, 32b - the 2r was a better fit than the 4r - I wore a 3.5-4 inch heel and did not worry about the dress dragging - I found it had an unflattering chest without a bra - I wore a strapless bra and pulled down the backstrap to hide it - it worked for the most part but sitting down the cups sagged, had to go to restroom to adjust a couple of times. The dress does not photograph well as you can see in the pic I think it looks better in person than in pics - for pictures remind someone to do the exposure setting on the dress to lighten the photo. I went to nordstrom and looked for accessories - matching the black "stones" seems appropriate but I found crystal/cz (clear rhinestones) were more elegant. I think updos work better for this dress and only left my hair down to cover up my back tattoo. All in all the dress worked for the occasion and rtr makes it so easy to return! Sunday returns have leeway to return to ups by Monday noon. Thanks rtr!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 2, 2014
Unfortunately had to send back
This dress was stunning, however, it either had not been cleaned or it retains a bad scent. I had to send the dress back to RTW because it really smelled of body odor and onions (in the arm pits really). The smell was so bad, it stunk up the closet in my hotel room even after trying to let it vent out. I was disappointed because I was so looking forward to wearing the dress to a black the wedding. I immediately called RTW and they had me ship the dress back and have me a full refund no questions asked. I was very happy with the smooth transition to return the dress and get my money back on my debit card. I don't know if the dress had not been cleaned, but I think it was time to retire that particular dress. Sad, but thankful for RTW's great customer service to return the dress. The dress itself for great. Slightly loose in the waist, but perfect in the length and the arms. I am 5'6 weigh 125 and my measurements are 32C-26waist-37hip. Def get the LONG if you're over 5'5. I usually wear a 2 or a 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
August 3, 2014
Beautiful, elegant, and comfortable
Fit true to size. Very flattering to the waist. I couldn't wear a bra because there was no extra room in the top. It didn't matter though because the top was double lined and gave enough support. One of the most comfortable dresses I've worn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2014
The dress fit PERFECTLY!
It was just the right amount of sexy and conservative for a formal work function.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 12, 2014
Fits like a glove
This is a very pretty and elegant dress. I love the blue with the black on top. It is very form-fitting and I was able to wear without a bra since I'm not very busty. I do have wider shoulders than hips so it was just a tad snug on top but overall very flattering. I wore it to a black tie wedding and it was very appropriate. I am 5'6 and wore the 6L with 3inch heels and it still dragged a little bit, I stepped on myself a couple of times but that was the look I was going for. The back of the dress is lovely.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
August 17, 2014
loved it! so beautiful and elegant
great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 25, 2014
Extremely elegant and comfortable.
Loved, loved, LOVED this gown. 1. Gorgeous fabric 2. Glam yet subtle black jeweled collar 3. Sexy cut out in the back 4. Fit like a glove. 5. Best of all, it was SUPER slimming! The only downside is that the gown was too short for me. I didn't realize I would need a 6L... but I probably did and couldn't really tell from the reviews. I wore flats near the end of the night and it just barely skimmed the floor. Wearing 4" heels looked a little silly because it was too short but other than that, this dress was an absolute dream. After the weekend, friends are still chatting me telling me how much they loved the dress :) Highly reocmmend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2014
Classic, beautiful dress for formal affair
Usually a size 4 (5'8", 130lbs) but wore the 2R for the event, which fit perfectly through the bust and hips but was a bit tight in the underarms. Got so many compliments on this dress. Classy and comfortable. Would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2014
Wore this one for a gala and got compliments all night and even to this day! Very complimenting!
Could have worn the 2 or the 4, seems to run slightly long, had to hold it up while I was walking around. Otherwise, absolutely amazing. Will be renting again very soon!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 3, 2014
Classic formal look. Great shipping and returns.
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. For a summer wedding in Miami, the fabric was definitely thick and heavy, but I knew what I was getting myself into. Other than the weight of the fabric, dress was very comfortable. As others have mentioned, there are red hanger tags under the armpit that stuck out. If I owned the dress, I would have just cut them off. I wore a strapless/backless bra, and the fit of the dress was great. Perfect length for a 3 inch heal at 5'6''.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
September 11, 2014
Elegant, classy AND sexy
I rented this dress for a wedding with college friends. It was amazing! I will say that it is a bit of a heavier dress and, of course, it is full length. For a wedding in September that we did not know was going to be outdoors it was a bit hot but not stifling by any means. This dress made me feel and look so elegant but also very sexy. I was able to wear a regular strapless bra with the dress and I just safety pinned it to the back to make sure my bra wouldn't peak out at all. I wore Spanx the beginning of the event to keep everything in its place but wound up taking them off and still felt and looked fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 96lbs
September 21, 2014
So many compliments :)
Ran a little longer than I expected
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 23, 2014
Fit very well, comfortable and fun. Perfect for a black tie wedding or formal event.
The dress was very comfortable and classy. It was slimming but not too tight. The fabric was pretty thick, so I wouldn't recommend it for warm weather. The black beaded portion at the top irritated my arms somewhat after a long night of dancing, but it wasn't bad. I had planned to wear heels, but ended up wearing flats because they were more comfortable, and the dress was a fine length without heels (I'm 5'5). A regular bra's straps showed, so I tried it on without a bra. My B-cup chest was not enough to fill it out without a bra. I was able to wear a strapless bra and stretch the back strap low enough to not show. I was very happy with this rental, it fit me so well and I got a ton of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2014
gorgeous
Loved it! Runs true to size for designer sizing -- I am a 4 in J Crew and BR, but wore a 6L in this and it fit perfectly. Gorgeous dress for a conservative work event. Compliments all night. The long was just the right length with 3" heels.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×