This Is It Gown

$50 – $80 rental
$798 retail
Stylist Notes

Look flawless in this elegant gown by ML Monique Lhuillier. You'll feel like royalty as you flaunt your hourglass shape in this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy Crepe (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline with beading detail. Cutout back. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
218 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(161)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2014
Elegant look.
I chose not to wear this dress as it was a little tight through my chest area. I have broad shoulders though, not because of large bust or anything. Otherwise, it was very slimming and a beautiful dress.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
February 25, 2014
The dress was a dream .. The fit was perfect ... Couldn't ask for anything more
So the dress runs a little small on the top but overall great fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 4, 2014
I'm between a 4 and a 6 and this 6 was too small in the chest. It is not true to size.
The dress is beautiful but if you have a chest, don't get it. It would not zip over my chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 12, 2014
Not for the Broad Shouldered or Busty!
I rented this dress as a backup, but fortunately my primary pick worked out. It's a beautiful dress, and would've been a great choice for the black tie work event I was going to. The fabric was much heavier and more substantial than I anticipated. It fit perfectly on the bottom, but I couldn't even come close to fastening the top! I have fairly broad shoulders and a D cup, and I couldn't get the top fastener closer than an inch apart. It was also very tight around the armholes. There is basically no stretch to the fabric, so I would order up if you have broad shoulders and/or a large chest. It's still a lovely dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2014
STUNNING!
The perfect dress for my arts organization's annual gala! I got so many compliments on it and everyone was shocked that I rented it. It does run a little small so I'm glad I got an extra size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 4, 2014
Very slimming dress, would definitely wear again
Ran a little small around hips. Other than that was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
June 29, 2014
Dresses did not fit. They run extremely small.
Dress ran extremely small. Neither size fit right and I ended up having to shop for a dress on the same day as my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2014
This was a black tie wedding and this dress was perfect for the occasion! I got so many compliments!
This dress fit me like a glove. I am about 5'4" and the Long was perfect for my height. Though I am usually a size 6 in dresses, this size 8 fit me like a glove and would definitely recommend this dress to others.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2014
felt amazing in this dress!
This dress was comfortable and beautiful! I wore it for a black tie wedding in Nov in MN, so it was chilly. Other reviewers commented that the material was heavy, which it was, but perfect for a Fall/Winter wedding. Loved the simplicity of this dress- form fitting, but with a flared skirt, the jeweled detail at the top, and the cutout back made this an elegant, yet comfortable dress! My only complaint was the jewels under/around the arms began to hurt by the end of the night, but other than that, I loved it. The length was perfect with 3 1/2 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 12, 2015
Odd proportions...
This dress didn't work for me and I don't know that it would be a good fit for many tall women. The proportions were a bit awkward and it hit me in all the wrong spots. While the dress is really cute in the photo, it actually looked a lot more matronly in person.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2015
Beautiful dress, super flattering, felt so elegant! Got lots of compliments!
The armholes in my typical size were too small.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 2, 2015
I felt beautiful in the dress!
I am typically a size 8 dress and the 8R was just too tight. The 10R was a little big in the waist but it was more comfortable. The dress was a lot heavier than I thought which made it warm even in spring weather. I didnt have to wear a bra which was nice since the dress is backless. The length was fine w/ 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 10, 2015
The event was absolutely beautiful and the dress fit the event perfectly even if it was a bit short.
The dress was a little too short for my liking for it to be considered a long. Also the top was a little uncomfortable but other than that, everything was beautiful!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 24, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I typically wear a 10 but in this dress, I definitely fit in the 12 and not the 10. But the 12 fit fine and looked great. Lots of compliments. Not the most comfortable dress I've ever worn.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 1, 2014
Gorgeous formal dress!
This dress is gorgeous! It was my backup dress, and I ended up not wearing it to my event. It was pretty snug on my hips/thighs (size 10 pants) and I knew it would be restrictive when dancing. It was a bit short on me, to the point of requiring flats. Additionally, due to inevitable wear-and-tear, some of the stones/beading had come off, but nothing that was blatantly noticeable. This dress does require a low cut or backless bra. All that being said, this dress was form fitting and very sexy. I really loved the detail at the top and the open back. I probably would have worn this if I had gone a size up.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
February 11, 2015
It matched my husband's military dress uniform perfectly.
This dress was actually my second choice, but I ended up preferring this dress over my first choice. I wore 4" heels because the dress was very long! It was also very tight in the chest; couldn't wear a bra. If I had more time, I probably would have tried the size up due to how tight the chest was. Overall, I would recommend this dress if you are at least 5' 4" tall, and I would also recommend sizing up is your bust is D cup or larger.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 41
May 15, 2017
Feeling elegant and beautiful!
Gorgeous gown, very well made, good quality. Very fitted from bust to hips, wish I had ordered the size 8 to try on. The length was perfect and a great dress for dancing because it is fuller from the knees down. Loved the RTR experience, the dress arrived a day early, ready to wear! I'm already looking for another event to rent a dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 22, 2015
Beautiful ceremony at a beautiful venue!
The dress fit very well but was a little too long for my 5'4" height, even w/3" heels. The dress looked great, but fabric maybe a bit too heavy for a warm day in September. Loved the back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2015
Beautiful Dress
I ordered this dress for a formal work event. It was beautiful and perfect for a work event -- I got many compliments. I usually wear a 0 or 2 in formal dresses, and the 2R fit me perfectly. I think the 0 would have been too small, and the 4 much too big. The length was nearly perfect; I was wearing 3 inch heels and I think 2 inches would have worked better, but it was just fine. It is also a good cool weather dress; the fabric is thick and would be too warm in the summer. Overall it was great for what I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 14, 2015
beautiful dress
It fit true to size
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 26, 2016
I needed a long dress for a black tie wedding. This dress was formal, but understated.
Fits well. Dress has a flattering shape - curves around hips and thighs. Works with regular strapless bra. Length was just skimming the floor with 3" heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
October 19, 2016
Loved this dress! Perfect for a Casino Night!
Love the shoulder detail and how this dress fits around the waist. Very flattering cut but not too tight!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
November 7, 2016
The comfort of the dress! I was able to walk around and dance late into the night without any issue.
The 4R fit me perfectly and the length was great with just a few inches of heels. The stones on the top of the dress are a bit loose but nothing too apparent since its all black lace on the top and navy for the body of the dress. If you're looking for something fitting but very comfortable, I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2016
Sleek and slimming dark beauty.
The dress was beautiful! Very elegant, yet sexy. My only complaint was that it was still too short on me. I'm 5'10" and ordered a 0L. The 2L wasn't available. I wish it fell longer on me. Even with kitten heels it was a too short. Otherwise, I'd recommend the style in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2016
Perfect for Black Tie Wedding!
Super satisfied with my first RTR experience and this dress! I needed a long gown for a black tie wedding and was nervous about the length but the dress fit perfectly. A bit heavier material, but was still able to dance the night away without being too hot. Didn't even need to wear a bra with it! Highly recommend for a fall/winter wedding. Super comfortable and so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
February 12, 2017
This was a great dress for a formal fundraiser! Comfortable and easy to move in.
I loved the fit of this dress. I usually wear a size 6 but requested the 8 as a back up and glad I did! It just gave a little more room in the fitted bust to hips that made it more comfortable. The length was nice with heels and the bottom of the dress had a very nice sway to it without being too heavy. I wore a strapless bra and it was completely hidden, even with the lower back cut.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2017
Beautiful dress for my event.
Very comfortable. Dress fit and ran true to size. I am glad I had ordered the long as I was wearing about a 3 inch heel and wanted it to sweep the floor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 12, 2013
Beautiful dress, got tons of compliments on it!
It was rubbing on the shoulders and underarms, but other than that it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 20, 2013
Beautiful dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress bc the 4R was so long on me that only 5 inch heels would make it so I wasn't tripping and the 4P wasn't available. But, it had a great weight to the fabric and was beautiful. It was clearly navy with black on top which I didn't realize when I ordered but I really liked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 2, 2013
Very elegant!
A little tight around the armpits
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 18, 2013
I was nervous about renting, but so happy I did. The dress was gorgeous and fit like a glove!
I choose this dress because I thought it would be the safest style for my first rental. I was attending a black tie wedding and wanted to make sure that the dress fit and would be comfortable (not a strapless style I tug at all night). I definitely made the right choice! I felt beautiful and comfortable and got compliments all night long! Here's what you need to know: This dress has a beautiful line with high quality deep navy blue fabric. There is beautiful black lace with bead detailing across the neckline. The 2L was a perfect length for me (5'8) in my 2 inch heels. The fabric is form fitting, especially at the chest and butt. I am slim and have a very small chest so it fit nicely on me. If you have a larger bust beware that this dress is snug up there with little stretch. The bottom of the dress flares out with a slight mermaid style at bottom. I highly recommend this style for a straight and narrow body type. I had a great rental experience and would rent again should the occasion arise! I told my friends at the event that I did Rent the Runway and they were all so jealous! They wished they had, too!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2013
I received so many compliments on my dress. I felt really special wearing this dress
The dress was very comfortable. The weight of the material was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2013
I received so many compliments throughout the night and the best part is no one else had my dress!
I typically wear a 4, but since the hips were so fitted, I opted for the 6. As noted, the beading is a little bit itchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2014
Surprised by the the bottom of this dress.
I loved the top of this dress, but the bottom trumpeted out a bit which doesn' t show on the model. This made it feel a little too pagent-y for me, especially with the heavy fabric. The 8 fit, but the lace on it was bent and didn't lay nicely, so I ended up wearing the 6. It was a little tight but I didn't have an alternative for the NYE wedding I was going for. Overall, I wouldn't recommend. The bottom of the dress ruined it for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2014
Absolutely stunning!
I ordered this dress as a backup for a formal wedding in Mobile, Alabama and ended up wearing it to the event. I decided the cap sleeves and more modest cut made it more appropriate for the conservative event than the original dress I ordered (which I also loved!). I ordered a 0L and ended up wearing my highest heels with it (4 inches- I think?). The slight train made it a little long so I was careful to hold the skirt up in my hand while walking. For someone my height I'd recommend the normal, those heels were definitely too uncomfortable for a long event! On the dress though, I got a ton of compliments and felt so elegant! I definitely did not want to change at the end of the night!
NicoleFebruary 3, 2014
How high were your heels? I am 5"8 and looking to do a long/
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
February 4, 2014
Very Beautiful!
A lot more gorgeous than the pictures!!!!! Loved it!!!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2014
Best dressed goes to me! Beautiful, elegant, understated dress.
This dress looks amazing and fits really well. The material is very flattering and hugs you in all the right places. I felt confident mingling with fancy upper class New Yorkers and got lots of compliments! I'm 5'5" and the dress was long; I wore 2-3 inch heels and that made it fit just right, but the shoes became pretty uncomfortable later on. The beading can also rub a little big under the arms, so if you're going to be doing a lot of dancing, consider something else. This was perfect for my occasion. I styled it a little differently than this picture, but you will get the idea.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2014
Lovely, conservative
This was my back-up dress and I did not wear it, but I will keep it in mind for upcoming events. Great for someone who is small on top and wants attention focused on their petite upper half. Fit is slimming and lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 25, 2014
I felt like a celebrity on the red carpet without upstaging the bride!
I thought this dress was tailored for me! I've never had a dress fit so well. It was heavier than I expected but was very comfortable. I danced all night long with no problem!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
March 25, 2014
Classy.
This dress was slightly snug in the hips, but overall had a great fit. the fabric was nice and heavy so it laid really well. The back was stunning.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×