This Is It Gown

$80 rental
$798 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look flawless in this elegant gown by ML Monique Lhuillier. You'll feel like royalty as you flaunt your hourglass shape in this dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy Crepe (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline with beading detail. Cutout back. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
194 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size148
Small17
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 6, 2015
The amazing people and food :)
The dress itself is gorgeous! Pretty heavy material, which was great since it was a pretty cold night. It was a little large on me, since I had to order a size too big (my size was unavailable). I ended up having a wear a different dress because of the size issue. But if your order the dress in you own size, I feel as though it would fit perfectly!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 2, 2015
I felt beautiful in the dress!
I am typically a size 8 dress and the 8R was just too tight. The 10R was a little big in the waist but it was more comfortable. The dress was a lot heavier than I thought which made it warm even in spring weather. I didnt have to wear a bra which was nice since the dress is backless. The length was fine w/ 4" heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 2, 2015
Pretty Dress
I enjoyed this dress but it was also just a smidge too short with my heels. I kept having to pull it down most of the night. But it was a great material for a November wedding! I also was able to wear it without a bra! I was a G cup at the time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2015
USO Metropolitan Washington 33rd Annual Awards Dinner
It was a snug fit on me, but the material has just a bit of stretch, and is also thick enough that it's very forgiving. The nipped-in waist line was very flattering, and the opening on the back/detailing at the neckline made it interesting and fun while still being relatively conservative.
Size worn:
14L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
April 1, 2015
So many compliments!
This was my first RTR experience and I'll definitely be back! I loved everything about this dress!! The size was very true. I'm 5'7 and weigh 195. I was nervous to order this because of the limited reviews with pics on the larger sizes but was happy I did. This was a 14L and I was able to wear spanx and go bra less (with a large chest DDs). The material is thick and there's a lining which took out any unflattering bumps! The back fit with no problems and wasn't nervous about pulling the lace. The bottom had a great flow to it too. I would absolutely recommend this!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
April 1, 2015
Beautiful dress, perfect fit!
I wore this dress to a work gala where I had to perform a song as well. While I was a bit skeptical about the dress (I don't think the online photo does it justice), it arrived and fit like a glove. I have a small chest and was able to get away with not wearing a bra, and it fit my post-baby hips as well. It's a very nice fabric and the size R fit perfectly wearing 2.5" heels without dragging on the floor. I also rented the jewelry and the entire outfit was a hit - I received many compliments throughout the night. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 25, 2015
Very elegant
This dress was my original selection for a black tie wedding and it did not disappoint! It fit like a dream and I received lots of compliments. The dress looks even better in person than in pictures because you can appreciate the color better. If I were to rent this dress again in the future, I would consider getting the regular length. I had to pick up the bottom a few times and the back got stepped on once or twice. Very happy with my rental overall!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 23, 2015
Loved this dress....so comfortable and classy.
Dress fit great, which was fortunate because backup size wasn't available. Hugs in all the right places, no need for a bra, no pinching or sagging providing a great silhouette. Heavier material is perfect for winter or early spring event. Love RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2015
"The most well dressed besides the bride" I couldn't ask for a nicer compliment!
4R fit tighter than the 2L for whatever reason- I was just happy to have the backup. The dress is so beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2015
Loved the dress!
The dress was great. I ordered a 0L and 2L and wore the 2L to have more room, as the 0 did not leave a lot of room to breathe. I normally wear a 0 or 2 in dresses. Both sizes seemed a bit long at first but the length turned out to work well with a taller heel. The bust was fairly small but gave good support for a backless dress. I loved the style and it was very comfortable, although the top part is a bit scratchy. One jewel was coming off but it was not noticeable. Overall I had a very positive experience with this dress and enjoyed wearing it to my friend's wedding! Highly recommend!
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
March 2, 2015
Super comfortable! I got so many compliments! Gorgeous dress!
I chose not to wear a bra with this dress, but I tried it on with a strapless bra and could have worn it if I wanted to.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2015
Dress was appropriate for the black tie ball event we attended. Very comfortable
Forgiving fit. Hugs all the right places but not uncomfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 27, 2015
Gorgeous, elegant, well-made and just a bit sexy! Perfect!
The fit was perfect! I was only able to rent one size (all the back-up sizes were reserved). So I crossed my fingers and it worked! I felt amazing in this dress. Super comfortable and very elegant. I would Rent the Runway again in a heartbeat. The process is so easy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2015
It was a wonderful fundraiser and it was great to look good in this dress.
It is a heavy dress as the reviews stated but it was February in Iowa and therefore perfect. This dress would not fit well if you have a large belly or rolls as it was very fitted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
February 25, 2015
So comfortable and I knew I looked great so I had lots of confidence!!
Size 8R fit well, but I took a chance and the 6R fit even better! Fun to dance in because of the twirl at the bottom!! I own 2 1/2 inch heels and wore them, but maybe a bit higher would have worked a bit better. But once I got a couple glasses of wine in me I forgot about it and it worked fine. Never tripped all night! Could not wear a bra with it, but wore some sticky boobs to hold the girls up. The fact that I've lost 30 pounds over the last year sure made this event lots of fun!! Thanks RTR!!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 23, 2015
I LOVED this dress. This was my first rental and I couldn't have been happier!
This dress fit like a glove. It is true to size! I ordered a 6R and an 8R. The 6R was a bit to tight around my bust, but the 8R was perfect!! I can't wait to rent another dress in the future!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2015
Beautiful gown for more formal affairs
I wore the dress to a formal ball. Slightly more conservative than other dresses available on RtR, the dress was a perfect fit for the occasion. I did have issues with the back being a little too low for my strapless bra, which kept popping out, otherwise a great dress.
StephanieApril 21, 2015
Hi Kathryn, Was the length manageable for the whole night? I expect it will be long, but I'm wondering how much you had to worry about tripping, getting stepped on. Thanks!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 17, 2015
Great dress!
Great fit, however, lace around right arm was rubbing all night and made my arm red and sore. Other than that, it was beautiful!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2015
Beautiful dress, super flattering, felt so elegant! Got lots of compliments!
The armholes in my typical size were too small.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
February 17, 2015
Gogeous dress, LOVE the flare of the skirt at the bottom.
Ordered a size 4R and 6R because I have wider hips (wear size 6 jeans) but have narrow chest/shoulders. 4R was great. Could not wear a bra because the back was too low, but I am small-chested (34a) and was easily able to go braless due to the thickness of the material (wore flower-shaped stick-ons just for comfort). I am 5'6" and with 2-inch heels the 4R was perfect. Dress coordinated perfectly with husband's Air Force Mess Dress, and got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 15, 2015
This dress made me feel amazing! It fit perfectly and was long enough, which was my biggest concern
This dress is fantastic! It fit perfectly. I am 6'1 and the L was perfect length with the flats I wore. I was worried about the length but it was absolutely perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 36
February 15, 2015
Beautiful fit, elegant and comfortable
I wore this to a formal event and loved it!! I recd so many compliments and best of all my hubby loved it!! The dress is very formfitting so if you are uncomfortable with your stomach I would opt for another dress. A regular strapless bra worked perfectly and the back gives the dress a unique and sexy feel. I found the dress to be so comfortable . I wear a size 4 pants but usually got for a 6 dress bc I am 34 c and the 6 fit perfectly, I am 5'4 and the regular was the perfect length with heels. The only con of the dress was the beading scratched a little under my arms but not a deal breaker. I loved this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
February 13, 2015
special night with friends
Dress fit well, was a tad long. I'm 5'2 and with heels it was still dragging a little. Details of the dress were nice. Especially liked the back of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
February 12, 2015
Odd proportions...
This dress didn't work for me and I don't know that it would be a good fit for many tall women. The proportions were a bit awkward and it hit me in all the wrong spots. While the dress is really cute in the photo, it actually looked a lot more matronly in person.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 11, 2015
The ease with which I could rent from RTR made my preparation nearly effortless.
This was a perfect dress for a formal affair and it made me feel tall and elegant! I am 5'7 and had to wear 4.5-5" heels to keep the dress from dragging along the floor. The dress fits snug around the torso and hips. It was easy to walk in. When sitting down, make sure to tug the material up a bit since it is tight around the hips. The material is heavy so I do not recommend this dress for warmer climates or seasons. The beading matches perfectly with the AV Max "Glizzy Glamour Cuff." The only issue is had was the top clasp just below my neck. It came undone while I was seated a few times before the wedding ceremony began, before I had my boyfriend pinch it tighter. Make sure to check that clasp when you rent it. One important thing to note is since I have a smaller bust, I did NOT have to wear a bra with this dress. If you do need to wear a bra, you'll need a backless/strapless bra.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
February 11, 2015
It matched my husband's military dress uniform perfectly.
This dress was actually my second choice, but I ended up preferring this dress over my first choice. I wore 4" heels because the dress was very long! It was also very tight in the chest; couldn't wear a bra. If I had more time, I probably would have tried the size up due to how tight the chest was. Overall, I would recommend this dress if you are at least 5' 4" tall, and I would also recommend sizing up is your bust is D cup or larger.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 71
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 10, 2015
Awards dinner dance
Liked the fit except for the back. Tried several different undergarments but every choice showed in the back. The inverted lace "V" design in the back, angles toward the side seam. Therefore, any bra strap in the back will show. A strapless bra does not go low enough to be hidden by the zipper. I did not wear and returned the dress the next day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2015
elegant dress!
I am 5'7" or 5'8" and was torn between getting a Long or Regular. I wore ~3inch heels. I regretfully ended up ordering the long, and it dragged on the floor a bit. Still a great dress! But if you're my size, I'd recommend regular.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 2, 2015
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve black tie party - such a fun night!
The length was perfect with my 3 inch heels and it fit great through the waist. However, it was very snug under the arms and top where the black lace was. My back-up was the 2L, but it was too big all over. The best fit for me would have been in between the two sizes. Also be sure to check the black lace..on the 2L it was slightly torn on the front. Overall very happy with the dress and RTR.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
January 31, 2015
I received so many compliments on this dress. It fit great and I felt great!
I am 6'1 and was worried about the fit and length; however there was no need for worries. This dress fit perfect ... Even with 3 in heels! This was my first RTR experience but will not be my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 21, 2015
Beautiful dress for black tie wedding
Lace was a bit itchy, but not uncomfortable. Dress is rather heavy, but the fit was perfect. Got tons of compliments. So glad I didn't order the long length--it would have been soooo long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2015
Fabric and fit is so flattering! Hugs you in all the right places to give you a feminine, smooth fit
I rented this dress for a formal wedding in Colorado during the winter. It was snowing the day of the wedding so I wore it with a shawl, tights and black heels. My build is fairly straight and athletic so I loved that this dress cinched me in at the waist yet didn't feel restricting. The fabric was also very forgiving and flattering (it was a almost a tad stretchy). I have bigger thighs so sometimes dresses will fit me everywhere but there, but I didn't have that issue with this dress. I wore about a 3 inch heel and the dress was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 11, 2015
Beautiful, very classic dress!
I wore this to a formal fundraiser event, and it was perfect! The dress is very flattering, and I received several compliments on it. While I was a little bit concerned that the 6R was too tight around the butt/thighs for dancing, I decided to wear that one, as the 8R was too loose around the waist. Overall, it worked out very nicely. It is rather fitted in the midsection, so if you want a smooth, flat look, shapewear may be a good option.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2014
Flattering gown
My mother wore this dress to a fall wedding. She is 62 years old, and wanted to wear something age appropriate and classy. It looked beautiful on her! She is about 5'-5," 125 lbs, 34C and the 4R fit her well. She wore 1 1/2" heels, and the length was perfect. She really liked this dress, and would recommend this dress to someone who has a formal event to attend and likes to dress a little more conservatively.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 23, 2014
Great dress, comfortable, makes you feel like a star!
The dress is a bit long, I'm 5'3 with 3 inch heels and the hem was still long. Otherwise it fit great, the slip underneath is soft. I got tons of compliments. The back opening isn't an issue, I wore a regular strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2014
Wore this to a an awards dinner I was working, It was very comfortable & flattering!
Fit was a bit more snug than I would have liked but the size up was unavailable. I wore it spanx and no bra to get the added room to sit it up. The fabric is a bit thick, but also forgiving in the right places. I'm an event planner, and I wore this to an awards dinner and was up and down all night and this was a lot more comfortable than I would have expected. I'm 5'5 and I rented the regular length and wore with a lower heel, and it just barely skimmed the ground. I have rented many RTR dresses and this is the first one I hands down LOVED!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2014
I felt like a million bucks!
I have a small chest and the bustline was really flattering. The dress also draped very nicely.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2014
Great fit, very elegant! Recommend for sure!
I wore this dress to a country club ball, and it was absolutely perfect! I read many reviews saying the dress wasn't a good choice for women with a larger bust, however I felt very comfortable in it. The arm holes weren't too big, and I didn't find the lace itchy. I am very tall, 5'10", and I wore the Long with no heels, and it just grazed the floor. This is an awesome dress, perfectly elegant but also figure flattering and comfortable. It was a little mature for me, but with the right accessories, it can be appropriate for many ages. I would recommend this to anyone!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2014
Big formal event with the National Football Foundation
Dress fit great and people all said it looked fantastic. I should have gotten the regular length and not the long, but besides that, all went great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2014
Loved the dress.
This dress was fun with the sparkles at the top, but still so classy for the event I went to. The length was perfect for me. I'm 5'7 and I generally wear 3-4" heels. My only complaint is that the waist area was a little high for me; it didn't sit on my true waist, so there was a little bit of extra fabric in a weird spot. I have a long torso, and this is a common theme for me in dresses, though.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×