Milly

Southern Charmer Dress

$82 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

152 reviews

Fit
Small 55
True to Size 85
Large 11
Photos 81
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Disappointed.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to love this dress. I thought it would be stunning for my friends formal wedding. It did not fit at all! I am normally a 6 and I ordered a 6 and 8 and both sizes didn't work out. It was tight in the chest area and baggy in the waist. I couldn't wear a strapless bra with it but it didn't fit right without a bra. I was sad to not be able to wear it.
Jessi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

The stylists at RTR fixed everything!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress and had it sent in 2 sizes, but I did not get to wear it. I am a little short wasted and still have a little post-baby weight on and the dress just did not fit right. The stylists at RTR helped me to choose another dress and get it sent overnight. This dress is beautiful but just will not work for me at the moment.
Farah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Nov 26, 2012

Cute dress but weird cut

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really wanted to wear this to a good friend's wedding this summer, however, when I tried it on, the cut was just really odd. It was super lose and baggy on top and rather fitted on the bottom. If I had ordered up a size the bottom would have fit but the top would have been falling off. Also, it was much much shorter in person than in the picture.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Great dress, so sad I couldn't wear it!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was so excited to rent this dress for a holiday wedding because of the great reviews and how popular the dress is. I ordered the 10 and 12 because being tall/busty you never know! Unfortunately, I was unable to wear either. They both fit horribly. It was either too small in my bust (i'm a 38C) and perfect in the waist/hip area. Or too tight through the hips/waist and just right on my bust! I would either have spent the entire night pulling the dress up to cover the ladies, or pull it down so that it would stop bunching around my crotch. Again, so sad that I was not able to wear this dress!
Justine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 28, 2012

The dress was too big and I couldn't wear it.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs big, especially the top. I usually wear a size 4, but the dress literally fell down on me when I put it on.
Karen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

It was a cute dress - arrived on time and I got multiple compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit well and was comfortable. I liked that there was a built-in bra support, so I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

super cute with a little black jacket

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wasn't as comforable in this style- but ended up wearing a jacket over it and it looked amazing!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Very pretty - and stands out from all of the other black dresses!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my office holiday party this year. It worked well since it was a decent length and is appropriate to a variety of functions. The fabric is light, and almost linen-like, which I did not originally realize when ordering. Although, since there is gold in the dress, it still worked for my holiday party and you could not tell the fabric material unless you are wearing it yourself. I was very happy with the dress since it stood out from everyone elses, the color/design is unique. I can see this working with a variety of skin/hair colors. Note that the color does not look black at all, but rather a navy blue. It felt well, and stayed up all night. Those that have bigger boobs may want a size up. REcommend!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

The dress was ill fitting

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I usually wear size 2 and the dress was a tad small in 2 but ill fitting in 4. The top section did not fit very well.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Gorgeous Fabric, Meh Fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding but ended up wearing my back up dress instead. It was simultaneously too big and too small. While the top "fit" though a bit roomy (okay with a padded bra), the bottom was too snug on the hips.
Jackie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 4, 2013

Compliments galore!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful and I loved the pattern - plus it's great for accessorizing. It was different from the other dresses at the event, and I felt great wearing it. I loved this dress, but it is definitely not conducive to dancing. It was falling down constantly, and the zipper would not stay secured at the top, even though I had room. If you have curves, it definitely hugs them tight.
barbi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

way too short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
i order both the 6 and the 8 as the back up size and niether one covered my lady parts! my butt was hanging out! i know i have a longer torso but this was way way way too short. cute dress though otherwise, i just couldnt even wear it.
Kyra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

Unable to wear

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the dress for a formal affair and was unable to wear it. I ordered a size 2 and 4, the 2 was too big. There was a lot of extra material in the stomach area which made me look pregnant. It was a little tight in the chest, but it would definitely stay up all night if I had the chance to wear it. It's longer than what it shows on the model, it came down to my knees, maybe a little below them. It was a gorgeous dress, just wish it fit better.
Liz
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

Runs true to size, except in the boobs.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Fabric was very pretty. It had a great built in band to help keep the dress up. I would only recommend it if you have A,B, or maaaybe small C cup. I'm consistently a true to size 12, and could not end up wearing it.
laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

great, sexy rental

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
slightly tight through the bust (I'm a moderate B) but other than that an excellent and sexy dress, I received tons of compliments and it was easy to pair with any jewlery (gold, silver or black).
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Mar 26, 2013

The perfect semi formal dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The pattern on the dress is adorable. I received many compliments. The dress fit well, but was too big on the top. The dress could have used a clasp near the zipper to keep it from coming unzipped as well. Overall, the dress was very nice, but I think a size 2 may have been a better choice.
Summer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 28, 2013

Wore for Valentine's Day, I love the gold detailing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Even though its jacquard, it's not too stiff. Great dress. Although the top part can run a little loose--they have a separate closure that pulls it tight across your back, but it can still get a loose.
Delia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Mar 29, 2013

Beautiful dress! I got tons of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
When in doubt, go down a size (especially if you have a smaller bust). I can often wear a four, and the four in this dress was very loose, especially in the chest.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. I wore it to a night wedding and felt beautiful! It was a bit tight, so I would recommend sizing up.
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Cute dress in the pics, but not made for my shape.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There is very little support for the bust, despite it having a bra clip in the back. Bunches in weird spots, and despite some boning, offers very little structure. I tried on a larger size, and there was a very big gap when zipped up, but it fit ok in the hips. I couldn't wear either to the wedding. :(
Karen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
May 6, 2013

This was my backup that I decided not to wear.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is not good if you are "busty". I would have worked but I didn't love it. There is a bra strap on the inside that pushes the girls up and out. :( Otherwise the dress is very pretty.
AEG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 12, 2013

Too many lovely dresses, too little time!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't get a chance to wear this one... went for the Pink Oahu Fan Dress by Trina Turk instead, as it was a beach wedding in Florida. Will rent this one in the future, was very flattering!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 13, 2013

Not for dancing

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is great but the fit left me tugging this dress up all night. I tried with and without a bra and couldn't find a way to make it work.
Paris
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 15, 2013

I was complimented all night on this dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
PROS: Unique design; complimented all night; flattered my form. CONS: Runs very small!; uncomfortable material
CMH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 27, 2013

Looked great in pictures.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought it was going to be too big in the chest and that I would be playing with it all night, but it was great because it had a built in feature to keep it nice and tight so it did not fall like typical strapless dresses. I really liked the look.
Kaleigh
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 27, 2013

Dresses arrived on time! Ordered this one in two sizes and a backup in one size.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered this dress and a shoshanna dress for a wedding. This one was too tight in the hips but fit in the 4, and the 6 was too big up top. Just had a funny fit... didn't end up wearing it. Really pretty and good quality though. Would probably work better for a bustier person.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

This dress was unique and perfect for the wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit very well... except for the "bra strap" they have inside the dress. It makes the chest area very tight, even without a bra. I unhooked the "bra strap" and felt relieved! It is NOT necessary to strap the bra as the zipper stayed up and the dress stayed in place perfectly. This is a beautiful dress!
LN
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 28, 2013

Disappointed

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear this one. I felt like it cut me in the wrong places and made me look larger in the hips. Also the built in bra was uncomfortable but at the same time I felt like the top was falling down.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Jul 29, 2013

Pretty for a formal wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was black, but it is navy blue and gold. Very pretty, but i think it is time to retire it. Mine had a lot of piling and seemed over worn. The fit is a bit awkward. The difference in length between the 2 and the 4 was a lot...the 2 hit 2 inches above the knee and the 4 went 2 inches below the knee. I was in between sizes, but I ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was way too big on top. Not my favorite dress that I've rented, but it worked out okay for a formal wedding.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 17, 2013

The colors looked very nice - royal blue with shiny gold accents. Great for a summer wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is small around the waist, so be sure to have your back up size be a size up. Not as comfortable as I had hoped, but still got lots of compliments!
howhow2
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Classy print and shape

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was really tight around the waist for me. I'm between 25-26". I have no problem sitting down in it though. The top was not very form fitting or flattering to the boobs, the boning created a gap that makes me feel kinda insecure, so I had to slouch a little to hold it up and keep pulling it up all night. The fabric has definitely seen some wear and tear, but in dim light it's ok. I wish there was a size 2 available for me to try on, but overall a nice dress.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 102 lbs
Oct 29, 2013

Too big on top

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because it was too big on top for me. It literally fell off. The fabric is beautiful, though.
Suzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

A little tight but super sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Hugs you in all the right places. Too tight and sexy to wear out. They didn't have it available in a six, but the 6 would have been perfect. The dress is never available! So snag it if you can!
MaryMac
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Nov 26, 2013

...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I actually picked two dresses for this wedding because I was worried about the fit. I am very pear shaped (size 0 or 00 top and size 4 pants) and I really wanted to try this dress!! But it didn't work out at all. The bottom of the dress was too tight but the top of the dress was hanging on with inches to spare!! The quality of this dress was great and it looks great in person, just beware of the fit if you are a fellow pear shaped person. I've learned my lesson and have stuck to the "fit and flare" style dresses from this site and they always work! :)
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 19, 2013

Runs Very Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress runs incredibly small, so I would select 2-3 sizes larger than you normally wear. I could not fit into my usual size or the one size up that I ordered as a back up. The fabric is very pretty with some sheen/sparkle to it, and would've been great for the party we attended if I'd been prepared for how small the dress runs.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

I loved this dress on the website, but wasn't so much a fan in person.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I took the dress out of the bag, I immediately noticed that the dark color is more of a navy blue. I was expecting a deep grey for some reason. The fabric is almost like a soft burlap type, or a light canvas feel. When I put it on, it was very snug and had no room for moving. I usually wear an 8, but I think even a 10 in this dress would have been too snug. There is no give whatsoever. I was really disappointed that I wasn't going to be able to wear it. HOWEVER!!! I immediately called the go-to-girls! I had ordered another dress at the same time that needed to be re-sized. She ordered the up-size on the other dress and was extremely patient with me while I picked another one in place of this one. She told me all the pros and cons of each selection. She was also very comforting at my apparent size increase :( . They have two replacements coming overnight today!!! So, while the dress might have not been a hit, the amazing Customer Service will certainly keep me coming back.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 23, 2014

Beautiful for a wedding !! So many compliments and really stood out.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
If you are big chested and expect to be dancing, size up. I almost popped out at the top on the dancefloor multiple times. cinched at the waist and made my butt/abs look great. Definitely pushed up the chest area as well, just not good while moving.
Meagan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 18, 2014

Beautiful Spring wedding, perfect dress for venue

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I received SO many compliments on this dress! It runs a bit small and there is almost zero stretch to it. I am usually a for and went up to the 6 as it was just more comfortable. Great length and the cut was perfect.
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Feb 19, 2014

Should size up - but great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
EXTREMELY tight in the chest area. Should size up. The pattern looks great on and I received tons of compliments.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Feb 25, 2014

Beautiful, but not for busty gals!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful and unique. It is well made and structured, however - it is not not for bustier girls! I read the reviews about this and decided to go for it anyway. I have a long torso as well. To make the dress sit correctly at the hip level, i needed to pull the dress down a little which made the sweetheart neckline fall to low. Even then there wasn't enough fabric to cover me. I got compliments and it looked fine but I was not comfortable with it! This dress would be perfect on a smaller chested woman!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×