Southern Charmer Dress

$82 to buy
$470 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(56)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2013
Unable to wear
I rented the dress for a formal affair and was unable to wear it. I ordered a size 2 and 4, the 2 was too big. There was a lot of extra material in the stomach area which made me look pregnant. It was a little tight in the chest, but it would definitely stay up all night if I had the chance to wear it. It's longer than what it shows on the model, it came down to my knees, maybe a little below them. It was a gorgeous dress, just wish it fit better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 6, 2013
way too short!
i order both the 6 and the 8 as the back up size and niether one covered my lady parts! my butt was hanging out! i know i have a longer torso but this was way way way too short. cute dress though otherwise, i just couldnt even wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2013
This dress was unforgettable! I wish it was a permanent piece in my wardrobe.
The fit was great throughout the body of the dress. It was too tight to wear a strapless bra but surprisingly did not feel like it was falling down all night. For girls with wider rib cages: it does not have a hook and eye closure, just a zipper up the back, so be aware of that when ordering the dress
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
Compliments galore!
This dress is absolutely beautiful and I loved the pattern - plus it's great for accessorizing. It was different from the other dresses at the event, and I felt great wearing it. I loved this dress, but it is definitely not conducive to dancing. It was falling down constantly, and the zipper would not stay secured at the top, even though I had room. If you have curves, it definitely hugs them tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 4, 2013
Gorgeous Fabric, Meh Fit
I rented this for a wedding but ended up wearing my back up dress instead. It was simultaneously too big and too small. While the top "fit" though a bit roomy (okay with a padded bra), the bottom was too snug on the hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 4, 2013
The dress was ill fitting
I usually wear size 2 and the dress was a tad small in 2 but ill fitting in 4. The top section did not fit very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129lbs
January 2, 2013
A fabulous NYE '13!
This dress wasn't my favorite but still looked great. I loved the colors and sparkle, but the material was a bit uncomfortable and had no give - definitely ran smaller than noted. It especially was tight around the waist, and awkwardly pushed upward when I walked. Also, the zipper in the back had no clasp and kept falling down - my boyfriend had to put a safety pin there so it wouldn't anymore. Overall had a great night and RTR experience but wouldn't rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2012
Great Holiday dress without being a cliche
The dress was beautiful and had an unusual fabric. The gold looked fabulous when the light reflected off of it. My only disappointment was the 2 was too tight but the right length. The 4 fit better but was all the way down to my knees. I wore the 4 and chose to go the classy route.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
Very pretty - and stands out from all of the other black dresses!
I wore this to my office holiday party this year. It worked well since it was a decent length and is appropriate to a variety of functions. The fabric is light, and almost linen-like, which I did not originally realize when ordering. Although, since there is gold in the dress, it still worked for my holiday party and you could not tell the fabric material unless you are wearing it yourself. I was very happy with the dress since it stood out from everyone elses, the color/design is unique. I can see this working with a variety of skin/hair colors. Note that the color does not look black at all, but rather a navy blue. It felt well, and stayed up all night. Those that have bigger boobs may want a size up. REcommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 21, 2012
super cute with a little black jacket
wasn't as comforable in this style- but ended up wearing a jacket over it and it looked amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2012
Everyone LOVED the dress got great compliments.
Fits true to size, fitted a littler small on me but luckily it fitted. It has a bra strap which is great because it holds your bust and its not needed to wear a bra. The top is like a bustier and after the waist is loose fabric. I wore it for my fiancee corporate christmas dinner party.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 16, 2012
Got tons of compliments on this dress!
Unique, fun, stands out in a crowd!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Everyone kept coming up to me and telling me how gorgeous I looked!
Loved this dress, it's really beautiful, very glamorous and classy- I wore this to the hospital ball where I am a nurse at. This dress is definitely for someone looking to make a statement. The nitty gritty: for an hourglass shaped woman, the fit was a bit weird. I'm 5'8" with a regular size torso- the cut seemed to be for someone with a short torso- the hips really were up higher than where they were supposed to be, so the dress kept bunching up. The coloring: the dark part is a dark navy blue, not black. The length was perfect for someone my height, this dress would definitely be too long for someone shorter than 5'6". All in all, besides the cut, I was very happy with this rental.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
I felt very classy and comfortable in this dress
Fit well overall, but was a little too long
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 9, 2012
It was a cute dress - arrived on time and I got multiple compliments!
It fit well and was comfortable. I liked that there was a built-in bra support, so I didn't have to wear a strapless bra with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2012
The dress was too big and I couldn't wear it.
The dress runs big, especially the top. I usually wear a size 4, but the dress literally fell down on me when I put it on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
November 27, 2012
Great dress, so sad I couldn't wear it!
I was so excited to rent this dress for a holiday wedding because of the great reviews and how popular the dress is. I ordered the 10 and 12 because being tall/busty you never know! Unfortunately, I was unable to wear either. They both fit horribly. It was either too small in my bust (i'm a 38C) and perfect in the waist/hip area. Or too tight through the hips/waist and just right on my bust! I would either have spent the entire night pulling the dress up to cover the ladies, or pull it down so that it would stop bunching around my crotch. Again, so sad that I was not able to wear this dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2012
Cute dress but weird cut
I really wanted to wear this to a good friend's wedding this summer, however, when I tried it on, the cut was just really odd. It was super lose and baggy on top and rather fitted on the bottom. If I had ordered up a size the bottom would have fit but the top would have been falling off. Also, it was much much shorter in person than in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2012
The stylists at RTR fixed everything!
I ordered this dress and had it sent in 2 sizes, but I did not get to wear it. I am a little short wasted and still have a little post-baby weight on and the dress just did not fit right. The stylists at RTR helped me to choose another dress and get it sent overnight. This dress is beautiful but just will not work for me at the moment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 19, 2012
Disappointed.
I really wanted to love this dress. I thought it would be stunning for my friends formal wedding. It did not fit at all! I am normally a 6 and I ordered a 6 and 8 and both sizes didn't work out. It was tight in the chest area and baggy in the waist. I couldn't wear a strapless bra with it but it didn't fit right without a bra. I was sad to not be able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Much longer than it looks on model!
I rented this for a wedding and was disappointed when it arrived because it is tea-length rather than above the knee, as shown on the model in the picture. This length is no good for me. However, the fabric is beautiful and the built in bra is fantastic. I wish this had worked for me but, alas, I went with the other dress in my order!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
Formal Affair done right
Renting this dress was the best decision I made. It fight perfectly to my body and I received compliments all night. The one problem I could see would be the built in bra area, if you are bigger in that area it could be a little snug and irritating. I would 100% rent this dress again. I kept the whole look simple and I paired it with a Rebecca Minkoff handbag, also rented from RTR. This is definitely a dress that I would recommend to all my friends and family, it makes you feel amazing!
KimberlyNovember 23, 2012
not to be creepy but i was at this event and noticed your dress because i rented it for aepi formal once! i love RTR as my little secret haha you looked amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 11, 2012
Great dress for the races!
I wore this to Preakness. It was beautiful and comfortable to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 15, 2012
Loved the dress. Very appropriate for a wedding.
For starters, the base of the dress is Midnight BLUE not black as described. But other than that I was very pleased with the rental. I wore gold accessories and it worked very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2012
Love, Love, Love
This dress was amazing!!! Fit amazing, felt amazing, excellent condition. I received a ton of compliments. Winner! I love Milly dresses!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 8, 2012
Such a gorgeous dress! It fit perfectly and looked fabulous when I caught the bouquet!
Snug in the top, if you're larger on top I'd go one size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2012
having fun wearing something fabulous!
Honestly, this was not my favorite RTR rental. First of all, it was tight across my hips but oddly loose around the waist. The lining was somewhat twisted causing me to constantly readjust the dress all night. And it almost looked like the front of the dress was black and the back was navy blue (but that might just have been due to wear over time). I still felt pretty and my husband liked it but overall not my favorite and I would not rent it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 2, 2012
Dress got lots of compliments, however, the fit was a bit off.
I am usually a solid size 10. The 10 fit me perfect in the top but was too snug in the bottom so had to go up a size to 12. The top was huge! Luckily i was able to pin it to my strapless bra to keep it from falling down. My only other complaint was that the length difference between the 10 adn 12 was about 5 inches! the 10 fell about mid thigh on me which was great...but the 12 went to my knee. I held them up against one another and there was a 5" difference! Im not sure if someone had gotten the 10 hemmed or what, but that is a BIG difference!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2012
Elegant for bridal shower
I wore this dress for a bridal shower brunch with a white cardigan, pearls, and nude pumps. The dress was a hit! I was surprised that the material was as lightweight as it was and had a gold thread that looked gorgeous in the sunlight; both an added bonus. The boning in the dress helped to keep it up and maintain a nice snug fit against my waist. The hemline hit just below my knee which was okay since it was strapless and the added hemline length kept it modest for sitting. I wore a strapless bra with the dress and that seemed sufficient enough although I'm sure a Nubra would've been more comfortable in retrospect. Overall I got lots of compliments on my dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 25, 2012
love the gold detail, the sweetheart neckline is flattering, but be aware that it may slip down.
I loved it, it was flattering and beautifully detailed. love the gold, it was just enough sparkle, but not soo much that you were "trying' to hard. I'm 5'3, and the length was just right above the knee. Would totally recommend this dress! It is very fitted...very, maybe order your back up a size up if you're in between?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 24, 2012
underwhelmed
I expected a higher caliber fabric, though I'd imagine that most people find the fabric to still be nice. Its for a much 'narrower' type body as the hips dont forgive at all. Material also kind of stiff, so wouldn't lay well on everyone. Sent it back and bought a dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 18, 2012
Perfect blend of sundress and cocktail dress
Pros: Hard to find a dress for a September wedding, especially one that goes from day to night. This dress fit the bill. I tend to wear a 2 or a 4 - the 4 fit perfectly, although there was a little room to spare up top (I wear a 32 or 34B). I appreciated the built in strapless bra, but was annoyed that when clasped on the tightest clasps, the dress almost bagged out in back, so you could see the bra! Maybe made for someone bigger up top. Overall, I wish I owned this dress, I can think of a million occasions for which it would be appropriate. Would love to buy!
SusieNovember 23, 2012
What neckace did you wear with this?
MeganApril 2, 2013
I would also love to know what necklace you wore!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
Never got to wear it.
I was really excited to wear this dress to a summer wedding in upstate New York, but unfortunately, UPS messed up the delivery and I didn't receive my package before I left town for the weekend. RTW was incredibly helpful and shipped 2 dresses to my hotel in NY over night! Sadly, this one was not available, but the replacement was just as nice!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113lbs
September 17, 2012
BEAUTIFUL NAVY AND GOLD LINEN MILLY DRESS!
This dress was so classy and elegant, I wore it to a wedding and got many compliments on it!! I have a larger bust so I ordered a size up which was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
September 17, 2012
Great for busty petites! I received several compliments on this dress and its fit!
I am short, petite and busty which makes finding the right fit tricky. This dress held me in & up. It was not too long and hit my curves just where they needed to be flattered. By the end of the evening my ribs were feeling a little squashed and I was ready to take it off but it did not keep me from dancing until 1am! ALL in ALL would rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
this dress was stunning!!!
didn't need a bra. was a bit snug but totally worth it for a night of dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 9, 2012
I received many compliments on this dress! A lot of my friends had never heard of Rent the Runway, and could not believe how easy it was to do!
I absolutely loved this dress! The style was simple, and the print was so fun! I loved the gold detailing. I would say that in natural light, the black did turn a bit navy-looking, but still very pretty. It did fit a little tight up top, but I was still comfortable enough to have a blast on the dance floor all night! I rented the Kate Spade gold clutch to go along with the dress, and was very happy with it. It was the perfect size for what I needed, and was big enough to fit a pair of flip flops for later in the night. Very happy with my first Rent the Runway experience!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 7, 2012
Gorgeous but not for big busts
Even though, as other commenters detailed, this dress is snug in the hips, I thought it made the fit even better because it accentuated my curves a little more. Gorgeous fabric, great length - but the top! It was falling down ALL NIGHT. I was pulling it up every five minutes, which certainly took away from how great the dress looked, I'm sure. It seemed like it would be snug up top, but it just didn't happen for me. If you're small busted, though, do it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2012
Great dress!
I rented this dress for a cousin's wedding and I received compliments on it all night long. I normally wear a size 10 but it was tight across my rib cage, I ended up wearing the size 12 that was knee length. I would recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 1, 2012
Birthday dress
I rented this dress for my birthday and unfortunatly didnt get to wear it beacuse I didnt choose another size. I thought the dress ran a little small, if you are a busty girl like myself I would go up in a size. Overall the dress was very pretty and I was disappointed that I didnt get to wear it.
See more reviews:
3 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×