Southern Charmer Dress

$82 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 18, 2013
A little tight but super sexy!
Hugs you in all the right places. Too tight and sexy to wear out. They didn't have it available in a six, but the 6 would have been perfect. The dress is never available! So snag it if you can!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
November 26, 2013
...
I actually picked two dresses for this wedding because I was worried about the fit. I am very pear shaped (size 0 or 00 top and size 4 pants) and I really wanted to try this dress!! But it didn't work out at all. The bottom of the dress was too tight but the top of the dress was hanging on with inches to spare!! The quality of this dress was great and it looks great in person, just beware of the fit if you are a fellow pear shaped person. I've learned my lesson and have stuck to the "fit and flare" style dresses from this site and they always work! :)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 10, 2013
Loved the fabric, but wish it fit better!
I wore this dress to my school graduation and subsequent graduation celebration. Although I loved this dress and wish I could give it 5 stars, the fit was just awkward. If you are tall and slender, I would be cautious. For me, it did not feel fitted at top unless you hook the bra that is inside. When I did, it felt perfectly snug... but the problem was this caused the back to gape out like 3 inches. So it was fine when I wore a little black cardigan over it, but when I took off the cardigan I had to unhook the bra, and even with my own strapless bra I did not feel perfectly comfortable dancing and whatnot. Also the waist area could have been a little more fitted. Although it wasn't a perfect experience I am still excited about Rent the Runway and I also have to mention i loved the box that the dress was delivered in. :D
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2013
Runs Very Small
This dress runs incredibly small, so I would select 2-3 sizes larger than you normally wear. I could not fit into my usual size or the one size up that I ordered as a back up. The fabric is very pretty with some sheen/sparkle to it, and would've been great for the party we attended if I'd been prepared for how small the dress runs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
March 27, 2013
The numerous compliments by women at a swanky NYC club made me feel like a model!
Accentuated all the right features.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2013
So sparkly!
Much more metallic in person. Wore to a formal charity event and it was a hit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2014
I loved this dress on the website, but wasn't so much a fan in person.
When I took the dress out of the bag, I immediately noticed that the dark color is more of a navy blue. I was expecting a deep grey for some reason. The fabric is almost like a soft burlap type, or a light canvas feel. When I put it on, it was very snug and had no room for moving. I usually wear an 8, but I think even a 10 in this dress would have been too snug. There is no give whatsoever. I was really disappointed that I wasn't going to be able to wear it. HOWEVER!!! I immediately called the go-to-girls! I had ordered another dress at the same time that needed to be re-sized. She ordered the up-size on the other dress and was extremely patient with me while I picked another one in place of this one. She told me all the pros and cons of each selection. She was also very comforting at my apparent size increase :( . They have two replacements coming overnight today!!! So, while the dress might have not been a hit, the amazing Customer Service will certainly keep me coming back.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2014
Beautiful Spring wedding, perfect dress for venue
I received SO many compliments on this dress! It runs a bit small and there is almost zero stretch to it. I am usually a for and went up to the 6 as it was just more comfortable. Great length and the cut was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 19, 2014
Should size up - but great dress!
EXTREMELY tight in the chest area. Should size up. The pattern looks great on and I received tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
February 25, 2014
Beautiful, but not for busty gals!
This dress is beautiful and unique. It is well made and structured, however - it is not not for bustier girls! I read the reviews about this and decided to go for it anyway. I have a long torso as well. To make the dress sit correctly at the hip level, i needed to pull the dress down a little which made the sweetheart neckline fall to low. Even then there wasn't enough fabric to cover me. I got compliments and it looked fine but I was not comfortable with it! This dress would be perfect on a smaller chested woman!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 15, 2014
Decided not to wear
Fabric was pretty stiff - I should have gotten a size larger. The length hit just above my knee, but couldn't quite get it zipped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2014
This is for extremely straight figures.
Very pretty on the hanger, but not on me. BARELY went over my seat but was baggy at the waist. Again, super straight girls will love it. If you have ANY junk in the trunk get another dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 22, 2014
Fits well, beautiful fabric
Fits true to size and the fabric has a fun shimmer. I didn't end up wearing it because it wasn't formal enough for a NYE event. The fabric is thinner linen and has a summer feel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Nice design cant say the same for the material...
The overall design was very nice but the material had not stretch to it whatsoever. The bust ran small. Its definitely more for a slimmer figure and summer occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 9, 2014
Loved the built-in-bra! This dress was linen, so it didn't have much give.
I wore the 2 instead of the 0, although I'm normally a 0. I wanted to be comfortable when dancing. This dress was a great length for a 5'2" petite person with heels. I got compliments all night. Additionally, the dress is actually dark navy, although the photo looks black (still very cute!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2014
Gorgeous but tight around the ribcage, bulkier in other areas
The colors of the dress were beautiful together. My problems were that the zipper kept sliding down (the hook of the hook and eye apparatus were missing), the dress was tight around the rib cage and then baggy in other areas.
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 14, 2014
For small chests only.
I loved the look of the dress, but I couldn't wear it. It's for very small chested women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
June 1, 2014
Cute and light weight - great for late summer wedding!
This dress fit like a glove and overall was very comfortable. I am a very petite 5'0' and have a very hard time finding dresses that fit my small but athletic frame. I am not curvy, but have more going for my butt than I do for my bust, so I need a dress that fits this. This dress definitely runs smaller on top, so it was perfect for my size A status :) It has a nice built in bra closure, so you really don't need to wear a strapless at all, unless it's just added security. The material is a nice slightly shimmery linen with a really fun almost paisley pattern. It was perfect for a late summer wedding in Naragansett. My only complaint was that part of the boning was coming through the lining and I didn't realize it until I'd already been wearing it for an hour or so and it poked me so badly throughout the night I had a little welt when I took it off. It's more of a quality control issue and had it been spotted before I received the dress, I'm sure it could have been fixed. I did speak to customer service about the issue and they gave me a full refund even though I wore the dress. I thought it was handled very well. I would have given this dress 5 stars had it not been for the ripped lining and broken boning. It's a great rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2014
The dress is beautiful and photographs so well, though it looks less impressive on the hanger.
As many reviews point out, the dress has no give but it has a flattering fit and good length. If you have a bigger bust, expect a lot of cleavage (good or bad, you decide).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
June 18, 2014
Cute dress for a wedding!
The dress fit very well, even for a petite girl like myself. The material is a bit more canvas-like than the picture shows, kind of a light beige color. Overall, I was very happy with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 25, 2014
Amazing concert-once in a lifetime opportunity.
The 0 was a tiny bit snug but the 2 was much, much bigger (and a good 5 inches longer). I have a petite frame and it fit fine in the chest, mostly because of the interior bra the dress has. The exterior fabric gapped a little in the back at the top but the dress stayed up bc of the bra. Lovely dress-got many compliments. The dress itself had a few loose gold threads and is starting to get a tiny bit worn looking, but in decent condition.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
July 14, 2014
The dress was very classy and I received compliments on it all night.
I love the inner support. This made for an evening free of dress tugging. The shimmer in the dress is not over-powering and is very elegant.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
July 14, 2014
It was so elegant!
This dress fit perfectly. True to size, and I got a ton of compliments on it! Worth the purchase! It is a tighter fit don't expect it to stretch to your body. You don't need to worry about the dress falling or having to lift the top up because it fits perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2014
The dress was damaged before I even got it, BUT RTR called to let me know before it was shipped.
The dress was damages before I even got it, BUT RTR called to let me know before it was shipped and took care of everything. Their customer service it top notch!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 22, 2014
I loved this dress!
Excellent dress for a wedding and highly recommended - I felt great wearing it to the event but also dressed trendy enough for the after-party, I received LOTS of compliments on it all night long. I am normally between a size 2 & 4 and technically both fit good enough for my needs, but I wore the 4 because it was a bit more comfortable for dancing. The built-in bra was good enough for my needs and made it easier than dealing with a separate strapless option.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 3, 2015
Wasn't available
Wished I had been able to wear it, but learned at the last minute the dress I was supposed to receive was too damaged to send out. I guess someone else had way too of a time in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 25, 2015
Total love; total hate
The dress was amazing. Colors were beautiful; fabric was perfect for a summer wedding; fit was perfect. I felt beautiful in the dress. However, something was off with the lining. The dress kept spinning around my hips, to where the slit in the back would twist to the front. I spent the majority of the night trying to twist the dress back in to place. It was very annoying, but I would almost rent the dress again because it was so beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 26, 2014
fundraiser
Beautiful dress! Gold detail is exquisite. Didn't wear this one as it was a little tight in the back. Size 8 was rented or I might have chosen this one. Really beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
May 24, 2015
An okay dress
Dress fitted tight around the hips and loose on top
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2013
The material was very comfortable and the zipper added a nice touch to the outfit.
The lining on the inside has a small tear, which was nbd. Honestly though, I thought I looked good in the dress, until I saw my pictures afterward. I looked extremely bloated and washed out. I wish it had boning in the waistline like the last Milly dress I rented. It didn't stay up very well, was crushing my chest from the torso being a tad small for my athletic build. The colors were more dark blue than black, and that became more apparent as well in photos.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 27, 2012
Ordering/returning was super easy, and love that I got another outfit w/out taking up room in my city-sized closet. Was my first order, but I will be a repeat customer!
Ordered this for a summer wedding in Santa Fe. LOVED the dress, but the fit was a bit concerning at first. I'm usually a 0 or 2, but after reading reviews that it ran small, I ordered the 2. Was worried it was huge until I realized there was an inner bra. Once that was hooked (and I slipped a padded strapless bra in--apparently it is meant for bigger than a B cup!), it was great. Was worried the print was a bit "sparkle on bad french toile curtains", but loved it in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 8, 2012
Awesome customer service!!
Milly is a go-to designer for me. So I wasn't taking much of risk here. I wore this to a wedding and got tons of compliments on it. Everyone was so surprised I rented it because it fit so well! My only complaint is the under wire was popping out of the built in bra and it hurt! also the built in bra doesn't fit. There's a big gap between the bra strap inside and the outside of the dress. looks weird. so I wore my own bra inside and there was a lot of shifting going on through the night because of the friction.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
July 16, 2012
Definitely fit the bill!
I wore this for a nice summer wedding. Very appropriate for the occasion. It's not my favorite rental, but I got a ton of compliments on it anyway! The dress was a bit looser around the hips on me (and you can even notice that on the model). It's made of very nice material and has flecks of gold throughout. It looks great paired with a bold choker. I cinched the waist with a thin gold belt. The only problem was that my boyfriend didn't like the fact that it wasn't skin-tight... MEN.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2012
this dress was stunning!!!
didn't need a bra. was a bit snug but totally worth it for a night of dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2012
having fun wearing something fabulous!
Honestly, this was not my favorite RTR rental. First of all, it was tight across my hips but oddly loose around the waist. The lining was somewhat twisted causing me to constantly readjust the dress all night. And it almost looked like the front of the dress was black and the back was navy blue (but that might just have been due to wear over time). I still felt pretty and my husband liked it but overall not my favorite and I would not rent it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Everyone kept coming up to me and telling me how gorgeous I looked!
Loved this dress, it's really beautiful, very glamorous and classy- I wore this to the hospital ball where I am a nurse at. This dress is definitely for someone looking to make a statement. The nitty gritty: for an hourglass shaped woman, the fit was a bit weird. I'm 5'8" with a regular size torso- the cut seemed to be for someone with a short torso- the hips really were up higher than where they were supposed to be, so the dress kept bunching up. The coloring: the dark part is a dark navy blue, not black. The length was perfect for someone my height, this dress would definitely be too long for someone shorter than 5'6". All in all, besides the cut, I was very happy with this rental.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 28, 2012
Great Holiday dress without being a cliche
The dress was beautiful and had an unusual fabric. The gold looked fabulous when the light reflected off of it. My only disappointment was the 2 was too tight but the right length. The 4 fit better but was all the way down to my knees. I wore the 4 and chose to go the classy route.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2013
Got compliments all night long!
I love the dress! It was comfortable, and didn't move! Some strapless dresses wiggle around or slide down, this stayed put... even on the dance floor! I wore it with wedges because the wedding was in our backyard.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 5, 2013
Gorgeous!
Beautiful dress, the fabric is amazing- More iridescent than in the photo. Dress has elastic at the bust line to help keep it up, which I found helpful. I received a ton of compliments! A good find. Runs a little snug, but generally true to size. If you are in between sizes I would size up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2013
Great dress. Got me hooked on RTR. Looking for an excuse to rent another dress soon.
I wear anywhere from a size 6 to a size 12 in dresses, so I was very nervous this dress wouldn't fit based on some of the conflicting reviews. I ordered a 10 & a 12, and ended up wearing the 12. I could have made the 10 work, but the boning in the chest made it a little uncomfortable. For starters though, this dress is definitely not black. It's a dark navy that looks black in some lighting. Even the hanger straps are navy. The gold accent in the dress really makes it stand out. Skipped clipping the built-in bra, it was useless and uncomfortable, but wearing a strapless bra worked well with the dress. The fabric is very lightweight, sort of a linen feel to it, which is a plus for summer events. Wore this to a summer wedding with an outside garden ceremony and an indoor reception, and the dress worked in both settings. Overall, I really liked this dress. The only "worn" looking part was that some of the gold strings were popping out, but it wasn't extremely noticeable. People were surprised to hear it was a rental and my friend and I (also wearing RTR) were answering questions about the rental process to people all through cocktail hour. Other than the 12 being just a drop too long for a short person like me, I was really comfortable in it all night.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×