Milly

Southern Charmer Dress

$82 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this flirty Milly halter, printed dress. It is perfect for any bridal shower, graduation, or dinner date with that special someone. Accessorize with a gold toned accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - dress is fitted throughout; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips and backside; consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; consider wearing with SPANX
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black and ivory print with gold foiling. Front sweetheart neckline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 40'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
153 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(85)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2013
Runs Very Small

This dress runs incredibly small, so I would select 2-3 sizes larger than you normally wear. I could not fit into my usual size or the one size up that I ordered as a back up. The fabric is very pretty with some sheen/sparkle to it, and would've been great for the party we attended if I'd been prepared for how small the dress runs.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2013
So sparkly!

Much more metallic in person. Wore to a formal charity event and it was a hit

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 23, 2014
I loved this dress on the website, but wasn't so much a fan in person.

When I took the dress out of the bag, I immediately noticed that the dark color is more of a navy blue. I was expecting a deep grey for some reason. The fabric is almost like a soft burlap type, or a light canvas feel. When I put it on, it was very snug and had no room for moving. I usually wear an 8, but I think even a 10 in this dress would have been too snug. There is no give whatsoever. I was really disappointed that I wasn't going to be able to wear it. HOWEVER!!! I immediately called the go-to-girls! I had ordered another dress at the same time that needed to be re-sized. She ordered the up-size on the other dress and was extremely patient with me while I picked another one in place of this one. She told me all the pros and cons of each selection. She was also very comforting at my apparent size increase :( . They have two replacements coming overnight today!!! So, while the dress might have not been a hit, the amazing Customer Service will certainly keep me coming back.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2014
Beautiful Spring wedding, perfect dress for venue

I received SO many compliments on this dress! It runs a bit small and there is almost zero stretch to it. I am usually a for and went up to the 6 as it was just more comfortable. Great length and the cut was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 19, 2014
Should size up - but great dress!

EXTREMELY tight in the chest area. Should size up. The pattern looks great on and I received tons of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
February 25, 2014
Beautiful, but not for busty gals!

This dress is beautiful and unique. It is well made and structured, however - it is not not for bustier girls! I read the reviews about this and decided to go for it anyway. I have a long torso as well. To make the dress sit correctly at the hip level, i needed to pull the dress down a little which made the sweetheart neckline fall to low. Even then there wasn't enough fabric to cover me. I got compliments and it looked fine but I was not comfortable with it! This dress would be perfect on a smaller chested woman!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 15, 2014
Decided not to wear

Fabric was pretty stiff - I should have gotten a size larger. The length hit just above my knee, but couldn't quite get it zipped.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 20, 2014
This is for extremely straight figures.

Very pretty on the hanger, but not on me. BARELY went over my seat but was baggy at the waist. Again, super straight girls will love it. If you have ANY junk in the trunk get another dress :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2014
Nice design cant say the same for the material...

The overall design was very nice but the material had not stretch to it whatsoever. The bust ran small. Its definitely more for a slimmer figure and summer occasion.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2014
Gorgeous but tight around the ribcage, bulkier in other areas

The colors of the dress were beautiful together. My problems were that the zipper kept sliding down (the hook of the hook and eye apparatus were missing), the dress was tight around the rib cage and then baggy in other areas.

Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 14, 2014
For small chests only.

I loved the look of the dress, but I couldn't wear it. It's for very small chested women.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2014
The dress is beautiful and photographs so well, though it looks less impressive on the hanger.

As many reviews point out, the dress has no give but it has a flattering fit and good length. If you have a bigger bust, expect a lot of cleavage (good or bad, you decide).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 26, 2014
fundraiser

Beautiful dress! Gold detail is exquisite. Didn't wear this one as it was a little tight in the back. Size 8 was rented or I might have chosen this one. Really beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
May 24, 2015
An okay dress

Dress fitted tight around the hips and loose on top

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 23, 2013
The material was very comfortable and the zipper added a nice touch to the outfit.

The lining on the inside has a small tear, which was nbd. Honestly though, I thought I looked good in the dress, until I saw my pictures afterward. I looked extremely bloated and washed out. I wish it had boning in the waistline like the last Milly dress I rented. It didn't stay up very well, was crushing my chest from the torso being a tad small for my athletic build. The colors were more dark blue than black, and that became more apparent as well in photos.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 6, 2012
having fun wearing something fabulous!

Honestly, this was not my favorite RTR rental. First of all, it was tight across my hips but oddly loose around the waist. The lining was somewhat twisted causing me to constantly readjust the dress all night. And it almost looked like the front of the dress was black and the back was navy blue (but that might just have been due to wear over time). I still felt pretty and my husband liked it but overall not my favorite and I would not rent it again.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2013
Great dress. Got me hooked on RTR. Looking for an excuse to rent another dress soon.

I wear anywhere from a size 6 to a size 12 in dresses, so I was very nervous this dress wouldn't fit based on some of the conflicting reviews. I ordered a 10 & a 12, and ended up wearing the 12. I could have made the 10 work, but the boning in the chest made it a little uncomfortable. For starters though, this dress is definitely not black. It's a dark navy that looks black in some lighting. Even the hanger straps are navy. The gold accent in the dress really makes it stand out. Skipped clipping the built-in bra, it was useless and uncomfortable, but wearing a strapless bra worked well with the dress. The fabric is very lightweight, sort of a linen feel to it, which is a plus for summer events. Wore this to a summer wedding with an outside garden ceremony and an indoor reception, and the dress worked in both settings. Overall, I really liked this dress. The only "worn" looking part was that some of the gold strings were popping out, but it wasn't extremely noticeable. People were surprised to hear it was a rental and my friend and I (also wearing RTR) were answering questions about the rental process to people all through cocktail hour. Other than the 12 being just a drop too long for a short person like me, I was really comfortable in it all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2013
Nice tight metallic pattern!

Dress was a nice fit (although I could have gone up a size to breathe better!) It was a little tight in the bust, making the top fold over (there isn't as much boning or structure at the top as I would have preferred). However, the pattern and the sheen make this dress look expensive and sexy. I would rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 23, 2014
Hot, shiny, little number!

Love this dress, rented it for a Vegas birthday party. Saw Elton John in this shiny little thing. I think he woulda been proud.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2014
Beautiful for a wedding !! So many compliments and really stood out.

If you are big chested and expect to be dancing, size up. I almost popped out at the top on the dancefloor multiple times. cinched at the waist and made my butt/abs look great. Definitely pushed up the chest area as well, just not good while moving.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2014
Didn't fit so didn't wear...too small

Top is too small and meant for small busts. I didn't end up wearing because I would not have felt comfortable that the dress would've stayed up all night. Every Milly dress I've ever tried on I've been a 6...so it was quite surprising that the 6 was too small. Order a size up.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
March 26, 2012
Runs a bit small...

I'm so glad I sized up on this rental, I normally wear a 2-4, but the upper portion of the dress was too tight to zip on the size 4. I do have a larger rib cage and am a bit busty, but the 6 fit me perfectly. It is a gorgeous dress and I felt beautiful in it!

KimberlyMarch 26, 2012
do you have a picture of the dress? we seem to be about the same size and and i want to know how long it is
RTRMarch 26, 2012
Hi Kim, the length of this style is 40'' from shoulder to hem. It will be knee length on anyone 5'5
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 11, 2012
Cute but runs small

I normally wear a 10 or 12 and the 12 in this dress was still a bit too small, making it uncomfortable to wear. Despite the size it was actually rather flattering, the length is perfect, and the design is very pretty. I would recommend it for a daytime wedding, cocktail reception, etc.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
September 1, 2012
Birthday dress

I rented this dress for my birthday and unfortunatly didnt get to wear it beacuse I didnt choose another size. I thought the dress ran a little small, if you are a busty girl like myself I would go up in a size. Overall the dress was very pretty and I was disappointed that I didnt get to wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2012
Great dress!

I rented this dress for a cousin's wedding and I received compliments on it all night long. I normally wear a size 10 but it was tight across my rib cage, I ended up wearing the size 12 that was knee length. I would recommend this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
November 19, 2012
Disappointed.

I really wanted to love this dress. I thought it would be stunning for my friends formal wedding. It did not fit at all! I am normally a 6 and I ordered a 6 and 8 and both sizes didn't work out. It was tight in the chest area and baggy in the waist. I couldn't wear a strapless bra with it but it didn't fit right without a bra. I was sad to not be able to wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 19, 2012
The stylists at RTR fixed everything!

I ordered this dress and had it sent in 2 sizes, but I did not get to wear it. I am a little short wasted and still have a little post-baby weight on and the dress just did not fit right. The stylists at RTR helped me to choose another dress and get it sent overnight. This dress is beautiful but just will not work for me at the moment.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
November 27, 2012
Great dress, so sad I couldn't wear it!

I was so excited to rent this dress for a holiday wedding because of the great reviews and how popular the dress is. I ordered the 10 and 12 because being tall/busty you never know! Unfortunately, I was unable to wear either. They both fit horribly. It was either too small in my bust (i'm a 38C) and perfect in the waist/hip area. Or too tight through the hips/waist and just right on my bust! I would either have spent the entire night pulling the dress up to cover the ladies, or pull it down so that it would stop bunching around my crotch. Again, so sad that I was not able to wear this dress!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 14, 2011

Loved this dress! It was my second option so I ended up not wearing it but plan to order again cause it was beautiful in person! even better than the picture. It fit well. I ended up getting the 6 cause the 4 was a little tight but that is typical with my tall body type/frame. It fell at about the same length as the model too which I liked. would highly recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 27, 2011
Fun Dress, with small drawback

I really liked this dress- it was a fun print, with a very interesting gold flecked overlay. I wore it for a wedding rehearsal dinner and it was comfortable and very appropriate for the event. I wore the dress with the included sash/halter tie as a halter, and by the end of the night my neck was itchy from the gold flecks in the tie. That was really the only drawback for the dress! I got a lot of compliments on it and felt fabulous!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
May 7, 2012
Being able to love something at a reasonable price for just 1 night. Easy transaction.

I wore this in a size 6 for the Philadelphia Magazine Wine Festival. The reviews here helped me pick my size. I am a 34D bra size and 5' tall gal weighing 117 lbs. and it fit perfect! The dress comes with built in bra that is not padded which helps support the bust. My waist is 28 and it was roomy around the waist but not large. The size was perfect because it fit my bust. It went down past my knees. The dress itself is very pretty. It has gold details that are embroidered which make it look even better in person. It has ribs built in to provide tummy control. Over all a good choice at a good price. I loved it and returned it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 25, 2012
All the compliments I got!

I ordered sizes 0 & 2, both fit well (without the built in bra-thing, more on that later), but the 0 was just a bit more snug so I went with that. After eating and drinking at a wedding, the boning in the dress was very uncomfortable, so think about that before you eat a lot. The dress came with a built in bra, that was super tight even on the loosest setting. I chose not to close it because if I did the back fabric was loose and looked weird. It was a great length, I was able to sit without worrying about it being too short. I had gold, black & tan accessories that went great with the dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 1, 2012
a standout

size 0 & 2 truthfully I thought I would need the size 2 (since my ribs are big) but nope! :D as mentioned before the inner bra strap does make the back a bit weird. The size 0 dress is worn out, the gold lining was falling apart (i had to trim the lining that was ripped and drooping). the black is actually a Navy Blue, the white is a creamish yellow. I wore a push up bra and with the built-in bra it really made my chest popped ;) I wish the length of the dress was a tad shorter (or my legs suddenly got longer) as you can see in the picture it is directly right above my knees. 3 stars because the dress was worn out and the gold lining was just coming off. But overall it is a pretty good dress. p.s. don't expect to get down and dirty in this dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 6, 2012
Fantastic Dress

LOVE LOVE this dress. I wore this dress to a daytime wedding and it was a hit. I received so many compliments! I wasn't sure about the size at first because I usually wear a 6 but had recently lost some weight so I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit perfectly. It was a little snug in the back but I always have that problem because I have a wide back. The length was perfect as it fell right at the knee. I would definitely rent this dress again. I was sad when I had to return it. Bravo RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 107lbs
August 26, 2012
Such a cute dress!

I loved this dress! The pattern is really pretty in person and goes well with gold accessories. I wore the 0 and it fit well, but I probably could have used the 2 to tone down the cleavage. However, the 2 was significantly bigger through the midsection and hips and was several inches longer - below my knees! So I went with the 0 and just didn't snap the built in bra. The dress was tight enough to keep everything in place even through a late night of dancing!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 26, 2012
Better for smaller chests

I had difficulty with this dress. My chest was definitely between sizes. The 4 fit my body well, but it squeezed my chest so that I was spilling over the top. The 6 was was loose all over and I was afraid it would slide down the whole night. I think this dress works better for ladies with a more petite frame so that there's less to keep under wraps.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 28, 2012
Not meant for my body type

I received both an 8 and 10. Neither dress fit me great, I have a short torso so my hips and waist are close together and the boning in the dress was poking into my hips on the 8 and when I tried the 10 it was much to loose on the bust. Not my favorite.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
Love love the dress

The dress just fits perfectly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
September 17, 2012
Great for busty petites! I received several compliments on this dress and its fit!

I am short, petite and busty which makes finding the right fit tricky. This dress held me in & up. It was not too long and hit my curves just where they needed to be flattered. By the end of the evening my ribs were feeling a little squashed and I was ready to take it off but it did not keep me from dancing until 1am! ALL in ALL would rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 18, 2012
Never got to wear it.

I was really excited to wear this dress to a summer wedding in upstate New York, but unfortunately, UPS messed up the delivery and I didn't receive my package before I left town for the weekend. RTW was incredibly helpful and shipped 2 dresses to my hotel in NY over night! Sadly, this one was not available, but the replacement was just as nice!

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×