Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 – $45 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
536 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(314)
Small
(113)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 11, 2015
Nice dress
This dress is pretty and I received a lot of compliments. I was in a house party during an August wedding so it was a very nice choice for a black dress in summer! However, as others said, it runs very tight in the shoulders. I would normally wear a 4 in this shape of dress but had to size up to a 6 so I could move my arms around. I could easily pinch out an inch or 2 around my waist since I was wearing the bigger size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 149lbs
September 28, 2015
Beautiful, classic, and just enough sexy to still be work appropriate!
Having more athletic arms and shoulders I had to go up a size because the lace does not stretch but that did not compromise the fit. I felt beautiful, received a ton of compliments, and danced the night away without a worry. Oh, and I had easy access to my lipstick because this dress has pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 31, 2015
A very classy dress!
I felt like this dress ran true to size and I ended up going with the 6. The pockets were a great touch, though when looking in he mirror they seemed to add just a bit to my hip area, but I think I might have been the only one who noticed that! I wore a regular bra underneath and the straps never showed, the dress stayed out on my shoulders all night. The openness of the back was just enough! I would rent this dress again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 19, 2015
Very classic dress.
Fit very well. A little extra material around the hips because of the pockets in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 17, 2015
Beautiful contrasting lace dress
I wore this dress to a non-profit dinner/gala. This was my first time renting from RTR, so I was a little unsure of what would fit me, and I'm so glad I ordered a larger backup size. I guess I have a strangely proportioned rib cage for my body, which made the size 2 feel a little tight, so I went with the 4. I'm only 5'2 so the dress came to the knee on me, which I preferred to how it appears on the model. This dress is a classic and would work for a variety of occasions.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 42
January 6, 2016
Beautiful dress!!
I rented the 6 but wore the 8. Like others said, it is tight in the arms but loosens as the night goes on. The 6 would have worked but I couldn't get the zipper up of my bust...and Im not a big busted girl. I went with the 8 and was very comfortable. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
January 12, 2016
I received numerous compliments on the dress throughout the night, including from the bride!
The fit was true to size and the dress fits beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 14, 2016
It fit very well. I wore it to a ballet. Sophisticated and sweet
It fits perfectly. Slim fit on the body.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
Formal work event
Similar to other the posts the dress runs a little small. I wore the size 8. It was very comfortable and I had lots of compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 126lbs
February 29, 2016
Great Dress
Got a ton of compliments on this dress! The fit was tighter in the arms. If you are in between sizes, go up a size. Overall this dress was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
March 2, 2016
Wore this to my fiance's work christmas party, got lots of compliments!
Was a bit snug... definitely snug in the arms, and across the chest. Otherwise, great! Was basically
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2016
Love the lace
It was a great dress. Beautiful back and lace detail. May have been a bit much for a petite person.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2016
I wore this to a small, intimate winter wedding.
This dress fit perfectly! The length and shape absolutely fit like a glove. A lot of times I need to have dresses shortened or taken in at the waist or shoulders, but this dress fit right off of the hanger. I normally run between a size 6 or 8, the size 8 fit great. I was worried that the arms would be tight, as many commented on that, but even the arms were a great length and not too tight at all. It was the perfect dress for an intimate wedding dinner and even worked for the Irish bar after party - I received so many compliments and didn't want to return the dress at the end of the weekend!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 40
April 10, 2016
Tight in the arms
I have muscular arms and should have read more reviews. Both the sizes I orders zipped up and looked fine, but I couldn't move my arms at all in either size. Since it was for a wedding where there would be dancing, I opted not to wear it. Just consider a different dress if you have broad shoulders or larger arms!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2016
So disappointed I couldn't wear it.
I usually wear a size 2-4 depending on the dress and I had both of those sent to me. Unfortunately the lace on the arms just didn't have any give and I couldn't fit into the sleeves. The rest of the dress could've worked and felt great (albeit tight around the waist). A size 6 I think would've worked fine but it wasn't available at the last minute.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
May 4, 2016
I wore the dress to a wedding and everyone loved the dress!
I ordered both the 6 and 8. The size 6 fit but was a little tight in the arms. I wore the 8 and was able to dance the night away at the wedding I attended. Love the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
May 14, 2016
Adorbs!
I wore it to our kids' school benefit and it was super cute!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Pear
May 21, 2016
So many compliments from this beautiful dress!
This was my first experience with RTR and it was phenomenal! This dress made me feel so elegant and beautiful. The lace allowed me to show some skin but stay modest. I wore a size 8 and it fit perfectly everywhere. It was the perfect dress for a school benefit. I will definitely be renting more dresses in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 26, 2016
Fabulous and comfortable for wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding for a work associate of my husbands. The arms were a little snug when first put it on. Was able to wear a normal strapless bra and dress had pockets. I loved this dress and would rent again for an event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2016
Perfect for a Gala fundraiser; lots of compliments.
I probably needed the 6, but it wasn't available. The sleeves were TIGHT. I was worried I would rip through them. They have no give. It's a great dress. The V-back is a perfect detail. I'm really happy with my choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2016
Derby Party
Was very flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 1, 2016
Classic & Comfortable
This dress was worn to a fall wedding at 6mo pregnant. I was super comfortable, it fit well-not too tight anywhere, and the pockets are great. I was afraid with lace that it would 1)look too plain and 2) be super worn from lots of rentals, but it was in great shape and the lace detail was actually really beautiful in photographs-though I don't have any to share, haha-it's a great option. I loved it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 13, 2016
Perfect for a formal work occasion!
Elegant, good length for a professional event, and has pockets! Highly recommend.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2016
Classic and Classy Little Black Dress
The dress fit pretty well, however the sleeves were a bit tight. There is no stretch in the lace. Also, this dress hit a bit above the knee on me and I'm pretty short (I'm 5'1") so I imagine it would hit mid- thigh on someone taller. My 8 dress worked our great but my back up dress had a huge hole in the lace on the sleeve. I lucked out that the size 8 fit but would have been upset if it hadn't given the poor shape of the other dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2016
Beautiful Dress but Fit Was Off
I normally wear a 6 but had to wear the 8. I could tell what people were complaining about with the arms being on the small side. It didn't squeeze my arms in but I couldn't raise my arms above my head without feeling like I could tear the fabric. It's laced beautifully and went right above my knees with wonderful pockets. I wasn't fond of where it comes in at the waist and I'm not sure if it's because my torso isn't the longest (I'm 5'5) but it came in at the widest part of my rib cage which made me appear wider than I am. If it came in at the small of my waist I would have felt it was more flattering. Oh well, it could just be me and my body type that didn't work with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 29, 2016
Nice for a fall wedding
the sleeves were tight, but the bust was large on me. Loved the length though!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2016
GREAT dress - would absolutely rent it again!
Wore this to a family wedding. I got SO many compliments on it - even from strangers! I'll admit I'm def. a busty, curvy solid size 12 - however I was able to wear the backup size 10 which felt great. I danced all night - the dress stretched & was very comfortable, best of all it has POCKETS! The under-sheath is not as apparent in person as it seems in pictures. It *is* a little tight in the arms when you first put it on, but I found that to lessen over the course of the night. The neckline on one size was a little more frayed than the other (normal wear & tear), but not enough to deter me from wearing the dress. I would buy this dress if I could! I've also included a picture with my cousin (both of us post-baby) who also wore a RTR dress (Badgley Mischka), she also opted for the accessories as well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
August 21, 2016
SO MANY compliments!
5'6" 140lbs. Gorgeous dress in person. Intricate and delicate lace details. Fits a bit snug, particularly in the arms but overall comfortable. Slimming on the waist. Wore this to a winter bridal shower and everyone was coming up to me asking me where I got it. This was my first RTR and I have since worn 2 other dresses and have been overall very pleased!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2016
Comfortable and classy
Fit was true to size. Didn't notice a huge difference between 2 and 4. Usually a 2 but wore the 4-a bit more room in the arms. Classy and super comfortable
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 7, 2016
Simple, comfortable and sophisticated. I would definitely recommend this dress for most occasions.
This dress was very comfortable and beautiful. I am 5'3'' and athletic build so the arms were a little tight, but most tailored sleeves run tight on me. Great length and color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 9, 2016
So many compliments!
True to size and classic style. Length was perfect (just at knee), lace was delicate and made a sophisticated look. Excellent choice, would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2016
I love lace!
I loved this dress. I ordered it for a rehearsal dinner. It arrived beautifully, but there was a little bit of tearing near the underarm, but definitely not noticeable to those who aren't looking for holes. As others have said, the arms were a little snug at first, and loosened just enough as the night went on. Very comfortable. Not a stretchy material, so make sure you get the right size. It is fitted high up on the waist, and has more room in the bottom half which is awesome because that is how I am proportioned. Overall, I loved this dress, and received so many compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 23, 2016
Great dress for a Bat Mitzvah
All the reviews are correct, the sleeves were really tight. I could have worn my normal size but I sized up because of the tight sleeves. Although they did stretch out quickly and after a bit they didn't even seem tight. It was really comfy, the pockets were awesome too. But because of the pockets I felt it made my hips look a little bigger. I didn't think it was that flattering on me, but it was a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2016
Wedding fun and compliments galore!
I ordered the 6 and 8 because of reading the reviews. The 6 fit great, but a little big in a few areas and I didn't take the 8 out of the bag. The dress was in perfect condition. Everyone said the arms fit tight and that's why I went with a 6 and 8. Doing it over I would have gone with a 4 and 6. I think the 4 would have fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2016
Beautiful dress, I wanted to keep it and got lots of compliments on it. Would definitely rent again.
Overall fit was good. I am large busted so it was snug on top and the lace doesn't have much give so there was some restricted movement with my arms. If I went up one size that would have solved the problem but the rest of the dress would have been to big. Also I love pockets but they were a little high. It was very comfortable and I would rent it again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2016
Love, love, love!
This was a last minute option because my original dress didn't work out. I'm so glad it didn't because I loved this dress! I got so many compliments and it stood out in the crowd. Sexy, classy, different! The only complaint I have is that the lace was getting a little shabby looking. It probably should be retired after this. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with this. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2016
Classy!
This dress was so cute! The lace was a little frayed but it was so cute and got a ton of compliments. Would def rent again. Runs a little tight in the rib area, both a 10 and 8 fit, but went with the 8!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
October 27, 2016
Lots of compliments
This dress was great, I got a lot of compliments. I ordered a 2 and a 4 as a backup and ended up wearing the 2. When I first put the dress on, I thought the arms of the 2 were a little snug and considered wearing the 4. However, after wearing it for a little bit the arms loosened up a little bit and the 2 definitely fit better in the body than the 4.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 28, 2016
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I rented this for my cousin's wedding and I couldn't have been more satisfied with the look, feel, and overall fit of the dress. I got so many compliments on this dress and felt like a million bucks! I ordered both a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit like a glove. Other reviews said that the arms are tight, but I did not experience this. Definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
October 28, 2016
I loved this dress! It was classic and really nice for the wedding we went to!
The arms were a little tight but not too big of a deal. The dress is comfortable and made of really nice material. It was plenty long!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×