Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
530 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(312)
Small
(113)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2017
Beautiful and elegant dress
The dress is beautiful! I ultimately wore my second pick, but I would rent this again. I am 5'4" 125 lbs and normally wear a size 2. The size 4 in this dress fit perfectly. The arms were very tight to move in, and there were a few holes in the lace of the dress, so it did not work out for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
June 11, 2017
Beautiful Dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was perfect. Again Rent the Runway nailed it. I ordered a 0 and 2 as my backup, the 2 fit perfect. The dress was well made and classy, I received many compliments throughout the night.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 12, 2017
Sexy and classy
I felt like a million bucks in this lace number. LOVED the pockets. The cut was gorgeous in the back, and the belly was forgiving since it wasn't skin tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2017
Stunning Dress
This was my first RTR experience and I'm absolutely in love. The dress was stunning and I received tons of compliments throughout the night. I'm usually between a 2-4 in size and had to wear the 4. The 2 fit but the sleeves were tight. The 4 fit comfortably throughout the entire night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2017
Couldn't wear- too tight in the shoulders.
Beautiful dress but it didn't fit in the shoulders. I was unable to move my arms- the lace had no give. RTR overnighted me another dress- amazing customer service!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
March 18, 2017
Style and fit
I loved the fit and style. I never wore lace before and it was perfect for a March wedding. The arms run small so I sized up like other reviews indicated. The length was good. I received a lot of compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
March 18, 2017
Classy and Comfortable
This was by far the most beautiful dress that I have worn to any wedding. Trust me, I have been to plenty. Within the first 10 mins of walking into this event I received numerous compliments. Dress is true to size and is definitely a good fit for someone with some curves. I was initially going to go with a size 6 but the sleeves were a tad tight and made it really difficult to move around. If you have broad shoulders like I do, you might want to go a size up just to be on the safe side. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
March 6, 2017
Perfect LBD!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I did have to size up, as other reviewers suggested, due to the lace sleeves. Because of the lace, the first dress I received had a pretty noticeable hole in the bicep area, but RTR's excellent customer service sent a new one with no problem. I also wore a strapless bra because the nude/gold lining goes straight across at the top, but still found the dress to be very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
February 21, 2017
Classic Lace Look
I got lots of complements on this dress! I even wore it with black nylons for a more complete look. The slip shows when you sit, so I put a scarf over my lap when I was sitting. The arms are on the smaller side and do not stretch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 31, 2017
Great fit, comfortable and great price!
True to size. It was classic, comfortable and easy to wear. The dress showed a little wear but would only be noticed by wearer. Would love to wear again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 29, 2017
Adored this dress!!
I adored this dress!! I wore it to a charity event. I normally wear a size 2 or 4 in dresses. I ordered a 0 for my back up and that was a no go! The 2 fit perfectly but know that there is ZERO stretch in this dress. Many have commented that the sleeves are snug. I didn't find that to be too big of an issue for me. I received many compliments on this dress all night. For reference I am 5'3' and 112 lbs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2017
Classy, elegant, and fun!
This is the second time I've rented this dress, and received many compliments! It's a fun twist on the LBD and comfortable for dancing. The lace was a little frayed/ripped in parts but it was not noticeable. Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 17, 2017
LOVED this dress!
This dress was so fun and gorgeous on! The neckline is beautiful and it has pockets! I received so many compliments on this number and would definitely rent this again. Flattering fit and true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 15, 2017
Classy, but sexy dress!
This was a gorgeous dress and I received tons of compliments. I'm normally a 4-6 but I wore the 6. It gave me a little extra room to breathe and the sleeves aren't super stretchy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 25, 2016
Great dress, great fit
This dress fit perfectly! It was great for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 26, 2016
Perfect dress for wedding!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I felt so classy in it! I wore the 0 though the 2 fit quite nicely as well. I had read on other reviews that the sleeves were a bit tight and I found that to be true. However, it did not bother me! Overall, a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2016
Simple & classy!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner at a country club. The day had been warm, but the night was going to be considerably cooler. Although the dress doesn't have any real material to keep you warm, they had heaters & I was very comfortable keeping up with my baby through the night. I am a 34DD right now, so I had to go up a couple of sizes in order for the dress to fit up top, which meant the rest of the dress had some extra fabric hanging out that wasn't exactly as slimming as it would've been in the next size down...PLUS the 'slip' would run a little longer than the lace when sitting & standing in different positions. But overall the classy dress with pockets was just what I needed to make my night comfortable & enjoyable. I got many compliments & some special pictures with my precious son...& had no stress shopping or getting ready!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 7, 2016
Maybe for another body type
I ordered a 4 and a 6 as a backup because of reading the reviews. The 4 fit fine, but the sleeves were really tight and the 6 was really big overall. The 4 hit a bit above the knee on me, which I like. I also liked that it has pockets. But because of the pockets I felt it made my hips look a little bigger. Other reviews mentioned a frail lace but this was not my case. However, nobody has mentioned the under-sheath being longer than the lace on the front part, at least on my two dresses, of by about half an inch. I’m not sure if it's because I am really short, or it could just be my body type that didn't work with it. Overall, didn’t like it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
October 28, 2016
I loved this dress! It was classic and really nice for the wedding we went to!
The arms were a little tight but not too big of a deal. The dress is comfortable and made of really nice material. It was plenty long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 28, 2016
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! I rented this for my cousin's wedding and I couldn't have been more satisfied with the look, feel, and overall fit of the dress. I got so many compliments on this dress and felt like a million bucks! I ordered both a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit like a glove. Other reviews said that the arms are tight, but I did not experience this. Definitely recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 27, 2016
Lots of compliments
This dress was great, I got a lot of compliments. I ordered a 2 and a 4 as a backup and ended up wearing the 2. When I first put the dress on, I thought the arms of the 2 were a little snug and considered wearing the 4. However, after wearing it for a little bit the arms loosened up a little bit and the 2 definitely fit better in the body than the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2016
Classy!
This dress was so cute! The lace was a little frayed but it was so cute and got a ton of compliments. Would def rent again. Runs a little tight in the rib area, both a 10 and 8 fit, but went with the 8!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2016
Love, love, love!
This was a last minute option because my original dress didn't work out. I'm so glad it didn't because I loved this dress! I got so many compliments and it stood out in the crowd. Sexy, classy, different! The only complaint I have is that the lace was getting a little shabby looking. It probably should be retired after this. I also loved that I was able to wear a regular bra with this. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2016
Beautiful dress, I wanted to keep it and got lots of compliments on it. Would definitely rent again.
Overall fit was good. I am large busted so it was snug on top and the lace doesn't have much give so there was some restricted movement with my arms. If I went up one size that would have solved the problem but the rest of the dress would have been to big. Also I love pockets but they were a little high. It was very comfortable and I would rent it again.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2016
Wedding fun and compliments galore!
I ordered the 6 and 8 because of reading the reviews. The 6 fit great, but a little big in a few areas and I didn't take the 8 out of the bag. The dress was in perfect condition. Everyone said the arms fit tight and that's why I went with a 6 and 8. Doing it over I would have gone with a 4 and 6. I think the 4 would have fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 23, 2016
Great dress for a Bat Mitzvah
All the reviews are correct, the sleeves were really tight. I could have worn my normal size but I sized up because of the tight sleeves. Although they did stretch out quickly and after a bit they didn't even seem tight. It was really comfy, the pockets were awesome too. But because of the pockets I felt it made my hips look a little bigger. I didn't think it was that flattering on me, but it was a beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2016
I love lace!
I loved this dress. I ordered it for a rehearsal dinner. It arrived beautifully, but there was a little bit of tearing near the underarm, but definitely not noticeable to those who aren't looking for holes. As others have said, the arms were a little snug at first, and loosened just enough as the night went on. Very comfortable. Not a stretchy material, so make sure you get the right size. It is fitted high up on the waist, and has more room in the bottom half which is awesome because that is how I am proportioned. Overall, I loved this dress, and received so many compliments throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
September 9, 2016
So many compliments!
True to size and classic style. Length was perfect (just at knee), lace was delicate and made a sophisticated look. Excellent choice, would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 7, 2016
Simple, comfortable and sophisticated. I would definitely recommend this dress for most occasions.
This dress was very comfortable and beautiful. I am 5'3'' and athletic build so the arms were a little tight, but most tailored sleeves run tight on me. Great length and color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 5, 2016
Comfortable and classy
Fit was true to size. Didn't notice a huge difference between 2 and 4. Usually a 2 but wore the 4-a bit more room in the arms. Classy and super comfortable
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
August 21, 2016
SO MANY compliments!
5'6" 140lbs. Gorgeous dress in person. Intricate and delicate lace details. Fits a bit snug, particularly in the arms but overall comfortable. Slimming on the waist. Wore this to a winter bridal shower and everyone was coming up to me asking me where I got it. This was my first RTR and I have since worn 2 other dresses and have been overall very pleased!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2016
GREAT dress - would absolutely rent it again!
Wore this to a family wedding. I got SO many compliments on it - even from strangers! I'll admit I'm def. a busty, curvy solid size 12 - however I was able to wear the backup size 10 which felt great. I danced all night - the dress stretched & was very comfortable, best of all it has POCKETS! The under-sheath is not as apparent in person as it seems in pictures. It *is* a little tight in the arms when you first put it on, but I found that to lessen over the course of the night. The neckline on one size was a little more frayed than the other (normal wear & tear), but not enough to deter me from wearing the dress. I would buy this dress if I could! I've also included a picture with my cousin (both of us post-baby) who also wore a RTR dress (Badgley Mischka), she also opted for the accessories as well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 29, 2016
Nice for a fall wedding
the sleeves were tight, but the bust was large on me. Loved the length though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2016
Beautiful Dress but Fit Was Off
I normally wear a 6 but had to wear the 8. I could tell what people were complaining about with the arms being on the small side. It didn't squeeze my arms in but I couldn't raise my arms above my head without feeling like I could tear the fabric. It's laced beautifully and went right above my knees with wonderful pockets. I wasn't fond of where it comes in at the waist and I'm not sure if it's because my torso isn't the longest (I'm 5'5) but it came in at the widest part of my rib cage which made me appear wider than I am. If it came in at the small of my waist I would have felt it was more flattering. Oh well, it could just be me and my body type that didn't work with it.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2016
Classic and Classy Little Black Dress
The dress fit pretty well, however the sleeves were a bit tight. There is no stretch in the lace. Also, this dress hit a bit above the knee on me and I'm pretty short (I'm 5'1") so I imagine it would hit mid- thigh on someone taller. My 8 dress worked our great but my back up dress had a huge hole in the lace on the sleeve. I lucked out that the size 8 fit but would have been upset if it hadn't given the poor shape of the other dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 13, 2016
Perfect for a formal work occasion!
Elegant, good length for a professional event, and has pockets! Highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 1, 2016
Classic & Comfortable
This dress was worn to a fall wedding at 6mo pregnant. I was super comfortable, it fit well-not too tight anywhere, and the pockets are great. I was afraid with lace that it would 1)look too plain and 2) be super worn from lots of rentals, but it was in great shape and the lace detail was actually really beautiful in photographs-though I don't have any to share, haha-it's a great option. I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2016
Derby Party
Was very flattering and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2016
Perfect for a Gala fundraiser; lots of compliments.
I probably needed the 6, but it wasn't available. The sleeves were TIGHT. I was worried I would rip through them. They have no give. It's a great dress. The V-back is a perfect detail. I'm really happy with my choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 26, 2016
Fabulous and comfortable for wedding
This dress was perfect for a wedding for a work associate of my husbands. The arms were a little snug when first put it on. Was able to wear a normal strapless bra and dress had pockets. I loved this dress and would rent again for an event.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×