Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
543 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(318)
Small
(114)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 12, 2015
Bump friendly if you are in your first trimester
I wore this dress when I was about 8 weeks pregnant. I have a small bump which you do show early when it's your fourth. Material is stretchy so there was room for my baby bump.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2015
My back up dress. I ended up not wearing it but I will most likely rent it for another event!
Fit great. The 0 was right in the arms so I liked the 2 better. I will most likely rent this for another occasion
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 24, 2015
LOVED THIS DRESS! Perfect for a modest wedding!
I loved this dress from the second I tried it on. I was looking for a dress that would cover a bit of my arms and go to about my knee and this totally did the trick! If you are short and looking for a good modest dress (mine was an orthodox wedding) then this is the dress for you! So flattering!
DevinAugust 24, 2015
Hi Dahlia, it seems we have similar features. Were you able to wear a bra with this dress. If yes, did it have to be strapless? It looks like other ladies that worn the dress had mentioned it and was wondering your thoughts. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2015
Love the lace, but not my favorite fit
The black lace on this dress is VERY elegant. This wasn't the most flattering fit on me as I felt the waistline was higher than I normally like, making my hips look much wider than they are. It is still a very beautiful dress. The sleeves are a little tight and it was difficult to raise my arms up while wearing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2015
Beautiful dress just not great. (On me)
This dress is beautiful. Was a little tight in the ribcage however which isn't normally my trouble spot. Fit well over my hips and butt. I thought it was a little short for this event. (I'm 5'8'').
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2015
Perfect for a fall wedding!
I LOVED this dress. As many have stated, the arms were initially on the snug side but they loosened up as the night wore on. I also listened to other renters and ordered up a size. It was comfortable, easy to wear, & photographed beautifully! Only bad part was sending it back ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
September 30, 2015
Elegant and classy!
I picked this dress to wear to a wedding that specified "cocktail attire". It was at he Oklahoma Governor's Mansion, so I wanted the perfect dress. And it was! The dress was a bit snug in my arms and chest area. If I wasn't a nursing mom, I think the dress would have fit perfectly. The size 6 fit better in my chest, but the pleats in the back of the dress were not flattering whatsoever and stuck out away from my body, so I chose to go with the 4. I received SO many compliments on the dress and would definitely buy it if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
October 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a casual fall wedding
The fit was true to size and while they call this dress a shift it is more of a fit and flare because there is a defined waist (which works better for short torso girls like me). The only downside is this dress is not that warm so I needed to wear a sweater with it when it got colder outside (55 degrees). Other then that it was a beautiful lace dress and I got tons of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2015
Very cute dress, easy to wear
I could have worn the size 0 (I am 5'5", 115lbs) but it had a hole poked into the lace on the left sleeve, so I went with the size 2. This was great because it gave me a little extra room and was slightly longer in the hem. I did not find the arms too tight, as other reviewers pointed out, and was able to freely move and dance at my friend's wedding. I liked that there were sleeves (the ceremony was outside on a very cold and windy day in Chicago), but the dress was still sexy. I got a lot of compliments on the dress!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2015
Got tons of compliments. Felt confident and beautiful
Pros: gorgeous lace, true to fit. Cons: 3 holes in lace. Had to loosely see up the holes.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2015
Everyone loved it!
Loved this dress, the sleeves are definitely tight, fits very true to size . Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 20, 2015
My dresses were delivered on time and in great condition.
I'm usually a 6. The 6 and 8 looked like they fit very similarly, but the 8 had a bit more room to eat and dance. I felt great all night and the best part... Pockets!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
October 22, 2015
Beautiful but worn
I wore this dress to a speaking engagement. It was beautiful but noticeably worn to me. Probably not to anyone else. There were holes that were stretched on the arm. The lace was a little tattered around the neckline. It was a tad short when I say down but perfect standing. You basically can tell that this is a popular dress! I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
November 11, 2015
Pretty dress but didn't love fit.
I wore this dress for Christmas party last year. I didn't think it was as flattering on my body. I am very busty and it kind of just laid straight across making me look more boxy. The lace was a bit worn especially on the 6. I wore the size up because the dress didn't look great tight. Overall, wouldn't rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
November 29, 2015
This dress is very timeless. The lace is classic.
This dress fit me in a size 6, but was too small through the chest in a 6. So, I wore the 8. The 8 fit well in chest, but then was a little loose through the waist, stomach and hips. I was overall happy and received lots of compliments. I absolutely loved the back of this dress, but I did wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146lbs
December 2, 2015
Beautiful & Flattering
I usually wear a 6, but sometimes have to size up to an 8 due to my broad shoulders and rib cage. The 6 was not going to zip up in this one, and the 8 was still snug in the chest. I didn't have to wear a bra, even with my 36C chest. I received many compliments. Like other reviewers mentioned, the dress has some tears and strings in the lace from wear, but they are not noticeable to others. Would definitely rent again. The pockets were a plus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2015
So many compliments!
I absolutely love this dress. I'm really sad I can't keep it. Like a lot of the other reviewers said, I should have sized up. I'm normally a size 8, which is what I wore, but it was definitely snug. It was fine and no one else thought it looked too tight, but a 10 would have been more comfortable. The lace detailing though is so beautiful. I love the neckline and the back. I'm 5'7", 150 pounds and a 34 DD. It hit above my knee as the pic shows and I had to wear it without a bra, but you couldn't tell. I would definitely rent this dress again! My boyfriend isn't even a huge lace fan and really loved the dress and the fit. Overall, as long as you size up, I think the fit of this dress would be uber flattering on any body type. Just love it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2015
Wore this for my dance studio's holiday show & Christmas party and got many compliments!
This dress was super comfortable & the length was perfect for a work function. I love that it had pockets, too! The sleeves are a little non-stretchy at first, but they loosened up & weren't uncomfortable at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
Great quality and easy!
Fit great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
December 21, 2015
Got so many compliments! Loved the pockets and it fit great.
The only issue was the snap button on the top of the zipper, it wouldn't stay closed, but luckily I had someone keeping an eye on the zipper so it wouldn't fall down. Otherwise everything was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2016
Trendiest person in my office raved about my dress!
This dress was great! I wore it to my company Xmas party and I got so many compliments on it! I ordered the 6 and the 8 just in case! The only reason I ended up in the 8 was b/c the lace sleeves on the 6 were a little tighter on my arms! Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
February 5, 2016
So easy!!! I'll be doing RTR again!
This dress was stunning! It was a little tight in the chest area but it was ok as I went to a rehearsal dinner. Would have been difficult if dancing was involved. The dress was in great shape and I'd rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
March 9, 2016
Loved this dress. Was something I would not usually wear and was perfect.
Fit true to size. Sleeves were tight but not too uncomfortable.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 41
March 23, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress!!! It fit perfectly and I received so many compliments!
The dress fit perfectly and was very comfortable. The arms were a little snug, but it didn't effect the comfort of the dress. It was the perfect length too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 20, 2015
So many compliments loved delicate neckline lace
Perfect fit no problems
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
October 5, 2015
Beautiful elegant dress for fall event
So gorgeous and comfortable. The back is a nice surprise and the pockets are awesome. I got the 2 and the 4, thought the 2 fit fine until I tried the 4 -- so much more comfortable through the shoulders, which made dancing much easier! My first experience with RTR, will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2015
Beautiful dress for a rehearsal dinner!
The fit of the dress was true to size. I had no issues with this dress.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
March 31, 2016
First time renter and SO happy! Love this dress!!!
First time using RTR and so happy! Dress came so quickly and packaged so nicely. Normally wear a 4 and the 4 fits perfectly. Such a beautiful dress, received SO many compliments!! I would definitely order this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
April 10, 2016
Got compliments on this dress. Was fairly comfortable.
If you're busty I would go a size up. Also, because of this if you're busty at all the arms will feel tighter too. The length was perfect it hit a few inches above my knee.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 36C
April 20, 2016
The 4 was a little snug in the chest, but the 6 fit me perfectly. Length was great!
Perfect dress for a cocktail affair
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 24, 2016
This dress made me feel absolutely gorgeous!
As other reviewers posted - it is snug in the arms, but they do stretch eventually. I am usually a size 4 but wore the 6 as the 4 was a little constricting. I received a ton of compliments and loved how this dress fit and it had pockets - always a plus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
April 30, 2016
Elegant "eyelash" lace detail made the dress
The lace arms were a bit tight for me but the dress was so beautiful. I got so many complements. Someone asked if it was a monique lhuillier. I loved the eyelash lace detail at the trim.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2014
Loved the back of the dress!
Loved the dress, wore it to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot a compliments it was great. The sleeves can be a bit tight and my arms are not big. Overall I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 11, 2015
Classy!
Really loved this dress! At first it feels tight in the arms, but as the night went on I was fine. It's classy & sexy at the same time. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2015
Classic dress with a tailored fit!
I loved the way this dress hugged in all the right places! It made me feel amazing all night! It was modest enough for a family holiday party but didn't feel stuffy at all!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
October 1, 2015
I rent this one over and over. This time I was the wedding guest and wedding planner in one!
I have rented the stress several times and wish I could buy it! It's my favorite. I usually wear a 6, but my rib cage is large, so in the 8 I knew I would be more comfortable. The dress is super flattering and so beautiful. You will get tons of compliments! This time it was perfect for me because I was a wedding guest but also the planner and needed to be able to put on flats and run around. Last time I wore it to a friends wedding in the Hamptons, and fit right in with all the celebrities and their fashion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 19, 2015
Fun dress!
I was very reluctant to use RTR but I'm so glad I did! How nice to feel amazing for a fraction of the cost! I ordered the size 2 and a backup size 4. The 2 originally fit perfect the first day I received the dress. I put the 2 back on to wear to the event and the bottom felt a tad snug in my backside. I'm a petite and pair shape so often have difficulty finding dresses to fit. The size 4 was a little loose up top but worked just fine. This gave me more room to dance. I highly recommend trying RTR and this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 1, 2015
I felt so pretty in this dress!
This dress fit me like a glove, and I didn't even need any shape wear; it's super flattering. I got compliments all night! It's super classy with a touch of sexy. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 15, 2015
Another amazing experience!
As other reviews say the sleeves were slightly snug which made lifting my arms difficult but overall excellent dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
December 13, 2015
Loved this dress! Received compliments all night long!
This dress was beautiful! When I received there was a rip on the lace on the top of the dress. I called customer service and there was no back up available. I decided to wear the dress and just put my hair over the ripped lace which worked. Overall the dress was great and fit true to size!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×