Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
487 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size297
Small109
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
December 21, 2015
Got so many compliments! Loved the pockets and it fit great.
The only issue was the snap button on the top of the zipper, it wouldn't stay closed, but luckily I had someone keeping an eye on the zipper so it wouldn't fall down. Otherwise everything was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
December 19, 2015
Wore this to my husband's work Christmas party.
Wore this to my husband's work Christmas party. Dress was a little snug up top, but didn't cause me any problems. Fit like a glove. Got tons of compliments. Wish I had gotten more pictures to show the whole dress, but completely forgot. I'm petite and the length was great. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
December 17, 2015
Beautiful contrasting lace dress
I wore this dress to a non-profit dinner/gala. This was my first time renting from RTR, so I was a little unsure of what would fit me, and I'm so glad I ordered a larger backup size. I guess I have a strangely proportioned rib cage for my body, which made the size 2 feel a little tight, so I went with the 4. I'm only 5'2 so the dress came to the knee on me, which I preferred to how it appears on the model. This dress is a classic and would work for a variety of occasions.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
December 16, 2015
Loved the dress, got a million compliments.
Almost hit my knees and I'm 5'5".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
Great quality and easy!
Fit great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2015
Very elegant and classy .. but also sassy!
I got a lot of compliments on this dress at my formal company holiday party! I usually wear a 0 in dresses but the 0 in this dress felt pretty tight. I ended up wearing the size 2. If you have a large chest this may not be the dress for you because it was pretty tight in the shoulder/chest area. Certainly not uncomfortable but worth mentioning. It seems to be best suited for the "straight" body type. Overall I totally wish I could keep this dress forever! I can definitely see myself renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
December 14, 2015
Perfect fit, several compliments, great dress
I wear between a 4 and 6 so I ordered up because I read that it was tight in the arms. The 4 ended up being a perfect fit, only tight in the arms/shoulders for a moment but stretched perfectly. Tight in the chest but ended up being perfect as well because I didn't have to wear a bra :) tiny tear in the arm, hardly noticeable. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
December 13, 2015
Wore this for my dance studio's holiday show & Christmas party and got many compliments!
This dress was super comfortable & the length was perfect for a work function. I love that it had pockets, too! The sleeves are a little non-stretchy at first, but they loosened up & weren't uncomfortable at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
December 13, 2015
Great first experience with RTR
Wore this to a party where the theme was black/white/gray. The ivory slip on the dress had me worried for a bit that it wouldn't be white enough but it turned out I had nothing to worry about. The dress fits very very tight in the arms as compared to the rest of the fit -- not a dress for raising your arms above your head or really trying to move your shoulders at all. It also seemed shorter in real life than it does in these pictures.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
December 13, 2015
Loved this dress! Received compliments all night long!
This dress was beautiful! When I received there was a rip on the lace on the top of the dress. I called customer service and there was no back up available. I decided to wear the dress and just put my hair over the ripped lace which worked. Overall the dress was great and fit true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
December 10, 2015
Very pretty dress, but a little small/short
Cons: -Runs small! Especially in the arms (I do not have large arms) -Lining from the bottom of the dress hangs out under the dress and looks tacky -The dress is a little short if you're a taller person (I'm 5'8") Pros: -Lace Detail is beautiful -The dress photographs really nicely -Pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 8, 2015
Beautiful dress for a rehearsal dinner!
The fit of the dress was true to size. I had no issues with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 7, 2015
So many compliments!
I absolutely love this dress. I'm really sad I can't keep it. Like a lot of the other reviewers said, I should have sized up. I'm normally a size 8, which is what I wore, but it was definitely snug. It was fine and no one else thought it looked too tight, but a 10 would have been more comfortable. The lace detailing though is so beautiful. I love the neckline and the back. I'm 5'7", 150 pounds and a 34 DD. It hit above my knee as the pic shows and I had to wear it without a bra, but you couldn't tell. I would definitely rent this dress again! My boyfriend isn't even a huge lace fan and really loved the dress and the fit. Overall, as long as you size up, I think the fit of this dress would be uber flattering on any body type. Just love it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
December 7, 2015
Gorgeous classy dress!
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party. I wanted to look classy but still wear something fun. This dress was gorgeous. It must be very fragile because the size 0 arrived with a tear in the lace sleeve, but there was no problem with the 2. The 0 was TINY and I always wear a 0, so I'd recommend upping a size for sure. The 2 fit perfectly. I was worried about the sleeves ripping but I didn't have a problem. I wore it with black tights and suede heeled booties - no necklace needed! Super cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
December 6, 2015
Beautiful dress but definitely not made for athletes!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous, however, do size up if you have athletic arms because the sleeves are very tight! I could not for the life of me lift my arms up while wearing this dress, and when I flexed my elbow (for example when I brought the fork to my mouth during dinner time) the lace bulged up on my arm, making me look like Shar-Pei! I am normally a true size 4 - sometimes sizing down, never up. I have even worn the Nha Khahn sweet talk dress, which is tight on the arms but has a little more give. Some reviewers say that the lace stretched a little throughout the day but I didn't experience this. Also, one of the sleeves had a hole, which was in an obvious place. I would rent the dress again, because it really is gorgeous, but definitely a size larger.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 3, 2015
Beautiful dress.
Fit well. One of the sleeves had some torn lace, which was not that noticeable, but not awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 2, 2015
Beautiful & Flattering
I usually wear a 6, but sometimes have to size up to an 8 due to my broad shoulders and rib cage. The 6 was not going to zip up in this one, and the 8 was still snug in the chest. I didn't have to wear a bra, even with my 36C chest. I received many compliments. Like other reviewers mentioned, the dress has some tears and strings in the lace from wear, but they are not noticeable to others. Would definitely rent again. The pockets were a plus!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 29, 2015
I received a lot of compliments!
I rented a size 8 and a size 10, and ended up wearing the size 10 because both dresses seemed a little small. The dress was very cute, but I wasn't really able to move my arms too much, and it was a little short so I had to be very conscious about what I was doing or if I needed to bend over. It was very form fitting up top, and loose on the bottom. The dress has pockets, but I did not use them and might have preferred it if the dress was not made that way because it "poofed" out on the sides because of the pockets. But even with everything I was picky about, the dress was really cute and I felt pretty without feeling awkward or out of place!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
November 29, 2015
This dress is very timeless. The lace is classic.
This dress fit me in a size 6, but was too small through the chest in a 6. So, I wore the 8. The 8 fit well in chest, but then was a little loose through the waist, stomach and hips. I was overall happy and received lots of compliments. I absolutely loved the back of this dress, but I did wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
November 28, 2015
The dress was perfect for a fall wedding.
The dress was true to size, however, I would have worn a size 4 if I didn't have a broad back. With the size 6, the waist had additional fabric and made it look poofy in the stomach area but I had to wear that size 6 to accomodate my back/bust. Other than that, the dress was beautiful and I received many compliments. I loved the pockets as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 27, 2015
Great rehearsal dinner dress!
Wore this for my wedding rehearsal, loved it! I ordered 4 and 6, usually wear a 4 but wore the 6. The arms were too snug on the smaller size, and I couldn't pull up the sleeves to go over my shoulders it was so tight. The 6 fit great, though, and I got tons of compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 19, 2015
Very classic dress.
Fit very well. A little extra material around the hips because of the pockets in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2015
Another amazing experience!
As other reviews say the sleeves were slightly snug which made lifting my arms difficult but overall excellent dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
November 11, 2015
Pretty dress but didn't love fit.
I wore this dress for Christmas party last year. I didn't think it was as flattering on my body. I am very busty and it kind of just laid straight across making me look more boxy. The lace was a bit worn especially on the 6. I wore the size up because the dress didn't look great tight. Overall, wouldn't rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2015
Great lace -- so much better than the cheap version!
Very comfortable. The satin lining felt great. The stretch lace did not look cheap at all -- usually I stay away from lace. Lots of compliments!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 9, 2015
I loved this dress and it was a HUGE hit at the wedding I went to!
There were only 2 issues with this dress. First, my boobs and the rest of my body don't match up, and so they were a bit snug in there (but this is not the fault of the dress, as this is an issue with everything I wear). Second, the sleeves were pretty snug and I worried about ripping them. Luckily, I avoided disaster.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
November 8, 2015
Elegant and comfortable!
The dress was elegant and comfortable! Enjoyed having pockets as well. Would recommend to anyone who will need to be in dress for a long period of time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 6, 2015
Perfect lace dress for a New England fall wedding!
I LOVED this dress. It was just the right length, the cut was very flattering, fabric was extremely comfortable. Like the other reviews say, the sleeves are really tight if you have muscular arms. The 4 fit well, other than the sleeves and there was no way I could get away with wearing the 4's sleeves. I am very busty and it wasn't snug through the chest at all. The 6 had a small rip in the lace on the bust, but I went ahead and wore it anyway. The sleeves end just past the elbows and are pretty frayed from multiple wears and rents. Overall though, the dress was perfect for a Connecticut wedding and I got so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
November 3, 2015
n/a
n/a
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
November 3, 2015
Loved this dress.
I got a lot of compliments when I wore it. As the other reviews have said the arms were a liiiiiittle tight but after wearing for about 30 minutes they had loosened up and I didn't even notice it for the rest of the night. I was able to comfortably dance the night away. I definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 3, 2015
I got a lot of compliments on this dress! It's the perfect dress for a cocktail attire wedding.
Definitely a bit small/true to size. I normally wear a 2 and had to go up a size for it to feel comfortable in the bust area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
November 1, 2015
I felt so pretty in this dress!
This dress fit me like a glove, and I didn't even need any shape wear; it's super flattering. I got compliments all night! It's super classy with a touch of sexy. Love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 31, 2015
A very classy dress!
I felt like this dress ran true to size and I ended up going with the 6. The pockets were a great touch, though when looking in he mirror they seemed to add just a bit to my hip area, but I think I might have been the only one who noticed that! I wore a regular bra underneath and the straps never showed, the dress stayed out on my shoulders all night. The openness of the back was just enough! I would rent this dress again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 52
October 30, 2015
Very pretty.
The dress fit was excellent in fit and in comfort. I did not have any issues with the arms being tight. I wore this dress to a wedding. The length was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
October 22, 2015
Beautiful but worn
I wore this dress to a speaking engagement. It was beautiful but noticeably worn to me. Probably not to anyone else. There were holes that were stretched on the arm. The lace was a little tattered around the neckline. It was a tad short when I say down but perfect standing. You basically can tell that this is a popular dress! I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
October 20, 2015
My dresses were delivered on time and in great condition.
I'm usually a 6. The 6 and 8 looked like they fit very similarly, but the 8 had a bit more room to eat and dance. I felt great all night and the best part... Pockets!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 19, 2015
Fun dress!
I was very reluctant to use RTR but I'm so glad I did! How nice to feel amazing for a fraction of the cost! I ordered the size 2 and a backup size 4. The 2 originally fit perfect the first day I received the dress. I put the 2 back on to wear to the event and the bottom felt a tad snug in my backside. I'm a petite and pair shape so often have difficulty finding dresses to fit. The size 4 was a little loose up top but worked just fine. This gave me more room to dance. I highly recommend trying RTR and this dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 15, 2015
Dress was amazing!
So unique looking and photographs well! However, arms definitely felt tight. I ordered a 4 and 6 but wore the 6. I question if I could have worn an 8. I didn't feel uncomfortable in it, just a bit snug. I did need to wear a strapless bra with it because straps would have shown. Would HIGHLY recommend this dress and Rent the Runway! It was great for an October wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 14, 2015
I was at a beautiful, outdoor winery wedding and the dress fit the occasion perfectly.
I love EVERYTHING about this dress. The lining was soft and comfortable, the cut and style were super flattering, the length was perfect (and I'm relatively short!). I received so many compliments on this dress - my only complaint is that I couldn't keep it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2015
Everyone loved it!
Loved this dress, the sleeves are definitely tight, fits very true to size . Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×