Milly

Sara Lace Shift

$30 rental
$430 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Looking for a modern take on a classic lace dress? Look no further! This gorgeous black lace Milly dress is lady-like with a contemporary feel. Simply pair with Lulu Frost’s Gold Drift Earrings to complete your look!

Also available in teal.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at the bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - slightly fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace over nude lining (70% nylon, 20% rayon.). Three-quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
515 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(308)
Small
(112)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 21, 2016
Love the lace
It was a great dress. Beautiful back and lace detail. May have been a bit much for a petite person.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
March 9, 2016
Loved this dress. Was something I would not usually wear and was perfect.
Fit true to size. Sleeves were tight but not too uncomfortable.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2016
I wanted to standout as a "star" (this was a premier for an indie movie I did). I feel like I did!
I have a larger rib cage and broader shoulders so it was a tight fit but it worked. I would say that this is a true "New York" 4 and I'm a good "North Carolina" 4! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
March 2, 2016
Wore this to my fiance's work christmas party, got lots of compliments!
Was a bit snug... definitely snug in the arms, and across the chest. Otherwise, great! Was basically
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
February 29, 2016
Great Dress
Got a ton of compliments on this dress! The fit was tighter in the arms. If you are in between sizes, go up a size. Overall this dress was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2016
The lace was gorgeous and was a real statement against the nude underlay.
Very form fitting, not a lot of extra room
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
February 24, 2016
I wore this dress to an evening wedding in February.
The dress looked gorgeous in photos. I saw the reviews and this was one of the reasons why I chose this dress. And it was truly beautiful. Being a brand new mom, I have some problem areas I am not used to having.. arms, thighs, and mid section. This dress complimented all the right areas. All the reviews are right, the dress is a little snug in the arms and bust section. But the dress does quickly loosens up as you wear it. I originally thought I would be a size 4. But I am so glad I chose to have the 6 as a backup. I ended up wearing the size 6 to be comfortable. ALSO.. the dress has hidden pockets. I love dresses that are beautiful and secretly functional.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 24, 2016
Lovely Lace
I wore this dress to an evening wedding in South Florida and received so many compliments on it! I rented a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. The arms were a little tight, but I didn't feel uncomfortable and it didn't prevent us from dancing the night away. My favorite part of the dress that I didn't realize until the night was almost over....it has pockets! Perfect for your phone and lipstick. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 22, 2016
Beautiful Dress - Lots of Compliments!
I wore this to a Flamenco-themed gala fundraiser. It fit perfectly even with my curves and large chest. I received so many compliments. Beautiful!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2016
Formal work event
Similar to other the posts the dress runs a little small. I wore the size 8. It was very comfortable and I had lots of compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2016
Very pretty dress for a winter wedding
I'm 5'9", 140lbs. I ordered the free extra size in a different dress so only ordered an 8 in this one; I suspect a 6 would have worked too. It's really cute, I got a ton of compliments. Pockets are fun too. Wore it to a February wedding so I wore tights under it. It's a little on the short side, I think I would have felt ok without tights at a cocktail party, but not at a wedding, plus the tights made me feel more comfortable on the dance floor in particular. The back is really nice (V back so the top is open). Very comfortable, really pretty neckline. Definitely a good decision!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
February 15, 2016
I wore this dress to my sister-in-law's winter wedding and received TONS of compliments.
The dress was very comfortable- appropriate in length, soft material, and I loved the pockets! The garment I received was quite worn (hole in the arm, fraying lace, etc.), but it wasn't noticeable to anyone other than me. I was very glad to have ordered the size up- this dress definitely runs small, particularly in the arms. The nude lining on the dress has a sweetheart neckline, which made wearing a normal bra a bit difficult. I chose to wear a nude colored bra rather than a strapless and it wasn't noticeable under the lace. Overall- I loved this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 14, 2016
It fit very well. I wore it to a ballet. Sophisticated and sweet
It fits perfectly. Slim fit on the body.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
February 5, 2016
So easy!!! I'll be doing RTR again!
This dress was stunning! It was a little tight in the chest area but it was ok as I went to a rehearsal dinner. Would have been difficult if dancing was involved. The dress was in great shape and I'd rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 1, 2016
Easy ordering, dresses arrived ahead of schedule and were more beautiful in person!
Fit like a glove! I am a little busty and needed the bigger size (8 instead of the 6). The dress was more for a short torso - I am longer in the middle - but it was perfect for my occasion. I wore it to an awards banquet being held my local Chamber of Commerce to honor members who have been nominated. I won for my category and felt like a rockstar in this dress going up to the stage! Nothing bad to say; this was a great convenience and the product ended up being extremely beautiful. The lace detail is very feminine and the material underneath is a perfect shade of gold. The only con to mention, it was a tad shorter than I expected but it still looked amazing and I received many compliments on it! Nobody knew it was a rented dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 20, 2016
Got lots of compliments and made me feel very pretty
The sleeves were tight and the under slip kept coming out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 19, 2016
I wore this for my husband's work holiday party. Very appropriate and pretty.
The arms were a little tight and there is not much room on top if you are busty, but it works. I wore a strapless bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2016
Pretty From A Distance
This dress is lovely, but renters beware! The lace is extremely delicate, do not be surprised if the dress looks tattered or has rips. I usually wear a size 4, I rented the 4 and 6. The four was in pretty good shape but wouldn't even pull up over my arms, the 6 fit perfect but was in poor shape. I have a larger bust, and did not have time to find a strapless bra that would work with the low back, bra less was not the best look for me, and had a uniboob. Overall, I did enjoy wearing the dress to the company cocktail party, it is a gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
January 14, 2016
n/a
pretty dress, but arms and chest were very fitted. needed a size up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
January 12, 2016
Great dress! Got SO many compliments!
I wore this dress to a cocktail attire engagement party. I usually just buy a dress in hopes that I will get multiple wears out of it... but let's be real... once it's on social media, you're not wearing it again! I used a 20% off code and got the dress SHIPPED for $40. I read the reviews and heard that it ran small in the arms- super true. I usually always wear a 4 with no problem. The 6 was unavailable for the weekend I wanted so I ordered the 4 and hoped for the best. I almost cried when I tried it on for the first time because the arms were so tight but it loosened up A LOT throughout the night. The 4 ended up being fine. I'm sure the 6 would have been better but I was comfortable all night. Would rent this dress again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
January 12, 2016
I received numerous compliments on the dress throughout the night, including from the bride!
The fit was true to size and the dress fits beautifully.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
January 9, 2016
I received many compliments on this dress and I felt comfortable in it all night.
Both the 4 and the 2 fit. The 2 was a little snug but I made it work since there was a tear in the size 4. Overall, this is a great dress for any event - it's simple but the open back adds a touch of surprise. I'd highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2016
This dress is stunning!
I wore this to a friend's wedding, and received so many compliments, and requests to find out where I got it. My boyfriend has even since asked if I wanted to wear that to his holiday party, not realizing I didn't own it. It's gorgeous, but it's snug. I ordered 6/8 and wore the 8, but wish I had ordered 8/10. I like this dress so much I might consider renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
January 6, 2016
Beautiful dress!!
I rented the 6 but wore the 8. Like others said, it is tight in the arms but loosens as the night goes on. The 6 would have worked but I couldn't get the zipper up of my bust...and Im not a big busted girl. I went with the 8 and was very comfortable. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
January 3, 2016
Black Tie / NYE Ready!
I wasn't 100% thrilled when I first tried the dress on, it's a tricky fit if you're very pear-shaped. The size 6 fit pretty well across the hips but there was a bit of pulling that made the slip show at certain angles, and there was more room in the waist than I'd prefer. However after pulling together the full outfit and wearing tights underneath helped a lot with getting a smoother fit. The dress looked beautiful at a quasi-black tie NYE wedding and was a very classy style. The lace was really pretty and I loved the neckline! Probably a better fit for people straighter in the hips, but fuller hips can still wear just go with the larger size. People were spot on about the arms being tight but the fabric is stretchy so it's still comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
January 1, 2016
Trendiest person in my office raved about my dress!
This dress was great! I wore it to my company Xmas party and I got so many compliments on it! I ordered the 6 and the 8 just in case! The only reason I ended up in the 8 was b/c the lace sleeves on the 6 were a little tighter on my arms! Loved this dress!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 29, 2015
Christmas hit!
This was perfect for Christmas! As others have noted, it does run a bit small in the arms but otherwise fits true to size. I received many compliments and definitely wanted to keep it forever! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
December 24, 2015
This dress is beautiful. The delicate lace detail really makes it special.
I got so many compliments on this dress! The dress fit true to size through the chest and waist, but the sleeves are quite tight. If you are athletic and have bigger arms this could be a problem. The lace is so delicate (which is what makes it so pretty!) which meant it was a little worn in places (I'm pretty sure only I could tell). It has pockets, which were super nice for my phone. Overall this dress was a conservative length on me, but the lace is just enough to make it still feel a little sexy. Would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
December 21, 2015
Got so many compliments! Loved the pockets and it fit great.
The only issue was the snap button on the top of the zipper, it wouldn't stay closed, but luckily I had someone keeping an eye on the zipper so it wouldn't fall down. Otherwise everything was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
December 19, 2015
Wore this to my husband's work Christmas party.
Wore this to my husband's work Christmas party. Dress was a little snug up top, but didn't cause me any problems. Fit like a glove. Got tons of compliments. Wish I had gotten more pictures to show the whole dress, but completely forgot. I'm petite and the length was great. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Weight: 112lbs
December 17, 2015
Beautiful contrasting lace dress
I wore this dress to a non-profit dinner/gala. This was my first time renting from RTR, so I was a little unsure of what would fit me, and I'm so glad I ordered a larger backup size. I guess I have a strangely proportioned rib cage for my body, which made the size 2 feel a little tight, so I went with the 4. I'm only 5'2 so the dress came to the knee on me, which I preferred to how it appears on the model. This dress is a classic and would work for a variety of occasions.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
December 16, 2015
Loved the dress, got a million compliments.
Almost hit my knees and I'm 5'5".
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
December 16, 2015
Great quality and easy!
Fit great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 110lbs
December 14, 2015
Very elegant and classy .. but also sassy!
I got a lot of compliments on this dress at my formal company holiday party! I usually wear a 0 in dresses but the 0 in this dress felt pretty tight. I ended up wearing the size 2. If you have a large chest this may not be the dress for you because it was pretty tight in the shoulder/chest area. Certainly not uncomfortable but worth mentioning. It seems to be best suited for the "straight" body type. Overall I totally wish I could keep this dress forever! I can definitely see myself renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
December 14, 2015
Perfect fit, several compliments, great dress
I wear between a 4 and 6 so I ordered up because I read that it was tight in the arms. The 4 ended up being a perfect fit, only tight in the arms/shoulders for a moment but stretched perfectly. Tight in the chest but ended up being perfect as well because I didn't have to wear a bra :) tiny tear in the arm, hardly noticeable. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
December 13, 2015
Wore this for my dance studio's holiday show & Christmas party and got many compliments!
This dress was super comfortable & the length was perfect for a work function. I love that it had pockets, too! The sleeves are a little non-stretchy at first, but they loosened up & weren't uncomfortable at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
December 13, 2015
Great first experience with RTR
Wore this to a party where the theme was black/white/gray. The ivory slip on the dress had me worried for a bit that it wouldn't be white enough but it turned out I had nothing to worry about. The dress fits very very tight in the arms as compared to the rest of the fit -- not a dress for raising your arms above your head or really trying to move your shoulders at all. It also seemed shorter in real life than it does in these pictures.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
December 13, 2015
Loved this dress! Received compliments all night long!
This dress was beautiful! When I received there was a rip on the lace on the top of the dress. I called customer service and there was no back up available. I decided to wear the dress and just put my hair over the ripped lace which worked. Overall the dress was great and fit true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
December 10, 2015
Very pretty dress, but a little small/short
Cons: -Runs small! Especially in the arms (I do not have large arms) -Lining from the bottom of the dress hangs out under the dress and looks tacky -The dress is a little short if you're a taller person (I'm 5'8") Pros: -Lace Detail is beautiful -The dress photographs really nicely -Pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2015
Beautiful dress for a rehearsal dinner!
The fit of the dress was true to size. I had no issues with this dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 13
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×