Milly

Ravish Ruffle Gown

$99 to buy
$545 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Wear this amazing textured ruffle gown by Milly to your next formal affair. A unique style that will make heads turn. Wear a statement cuff to complete your look like the Badgley Mischka's Art Deco Bling Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra however
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black cloque silk(100% silk). Halter neckline. Cascading ruffle detail at back and halter trim. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 22, 2013
RNT's customer service team are exceptional. Great experience!
It was so comfortable and very elegant--no "rearranging" and I didn't have to worry about anything hanging out--but still felt very sexy. I originally ordered another dress but it was damaged--so RNT overnighted me this dress after speaking with one of their stylists. It arrived the morning of the event and I could not be more pleased.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2013
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
This dress was beautiful and very well made. I felt comfortable the entire night and didn't have to readjust anything! I wish it was a bit longer though - I was in 3" heels and the dress didn't touch the ground (I'm only 5'2").
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2013
Rent the Runway is Genius!
I needed a long dress for a formal event and RTR saved the day! I have been wanting to try and you did not disappoint! The Milly dress was perfect! I am usually an 8l but that size was unavailable so I ordered the 10L. It was a little big up top but the fashion tape included solved that issue perfectly! The dress was gorgeous and receive tons of compliments! My backup dress was great too! It was hard to decide which to wear! Will definitely use again this holiday season! I told everyone at the event about your site and they are all excited to try it too!!! Thanks for a great experience!!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2013
Great for a black tie wedding!
Tons of conpliments all night long! Even the band members complimented it! Overall, great dress! It runs short! The 2L fit a little more snug along my back but was way too short(above ankle w heels). I used to 4R and the length was great. I had to add a little tape to the side to keep it from showing any side boob but so happy with the dress! RTR never fails
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
January 19, 2014
beautiful!
Perfect fit! LOVE!!! Would love to have purchased it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2014
Beautiful and elegant
Fits nicely and beautiful fabric but unforgiving in the mid section - fabric is stretchy and soft but provides no compression if that's what you need. I'm small in the chest but the dress stayed in place all night with a few pieces of fabric tape. The ruffles added a really fun touch to the dress. Fabric has a nice texture and pattern to it that is much easier to see in person. Runs short - I had 2 in heels but the dress barely touched the ground when I was barefoot so tall ladies need the long. Great first RtR experience! Dress came 2 days early.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 30, 2014
Compliments all around!
I LOVED this dress...and so did everyone else. Its elegant and the open back adds a sexy but classy touch. I went with the longer length because with my shoes the regular looked a bit too short. You will need to get a backless bra for this dress even if you are small busted since the material isn't super thick. This was my first Rent the Runway dress and I couldn't be happier.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2014
I felt very sophisticated and elegant!
This was my first RTR experience and it was awesome! The dresses arrived three days before my event, which was a relief. The dresses looked great and did not have any issues. I wanted wear the 6R but ended up wearing the 8L because the length was perfect with my heels. The top of my dress was loose on the side, but that wasn't anything that fashion tape couldn't handle! The material of the dress was very light and perfect to wear during the summer evening. I did wear an adhesive bra that was strapless along with spanx. I was able dance without feeling that I might have wardrobe malfunction! I received multiple compliments all during the evening and my husband loved this backless dress! Thanks RTR for making me feel like a million bucks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 2, 2014
LOVED, loved, loved this dress!
The back of the dress is stunning with the ruffles and open back. The neckline detail on the dress was beautiful. There is a pretty texture to the fabric. I loved this dress and would rent it again in a second for another event
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
October 30, 2014
super lightweight and VERY comfortable.
GREAT dress, had loads of compliments and would rent it again for sure. Only frustrating part was that it was pretty short. Up to my low ankle on the 2L and I am 5"5", 113 lbs. so you cannot wear more than a 2 or 3" heel.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 4, 2014
My friends wedding was beautiful and my dress was the best one!
The dress is stunning and flattering. I got compliments all night. It is true to size and other reviews mentioned it's too short but I had no issues at 5 feet 2 inches and wearing 3inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
December 4, 2014
This dress recieved so many compliments! Felt like belle of the ball for my office christmas party.
Would give 5 stars but the length of this dress was SO short for a long gown, 5'9" with 1.5" heels and you could see my feet the whole night. Otherwise great dress, recommend for taller women even with no heels get the long size.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2014
Black Tie Christmas Eve
I LOVED THIS DRESS! I felt so beautiful in it and received so many compliments all night long. I could have gotten away with a 4L with the heels I was wearing, but it wasn't too bad.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 21, 2015
Glamor and comfort wrapped in one dress!
This dress was so comfortable. The one thing I will say is I am not very tall- almost 5'4- and my toes did show a bit with very short heels. I wore the 2R. However, it was a beautiful dress and I got a lot of complements on it. I am all about feeling comfortable and this dress was definitely that!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2015
Very elegant gown -- flattering and easy to wear.
I wore a 6R and felt that the it was a bit short, but it still worked. The fabric and back of the gown makes this dress special. Easy to wear - no adjusting through the night. This was a back-up dress shipped overnight since my first selections did not work. Since this was my first RTR experience, I was stressed about finding a dress that would work, but one phone call later with fingers crossed this lovely Milly saved the day.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 22, 2015
Very comfortable formal dress. Loved the texture of the fabric.
If you are over 5'6" definitely get the long! I got 4R and 2L and the long was a little short and showed my shoes. I could have worn flats and been perfectly fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 16, 2015
Comfortable and elegant, this is a perfect black tie dress!
The material of this dress is both light weight and indestructible, so it looks like a new dress and remains pristine after a night of dancing. The Milly brand attention to detail with the front and back ruffles are just enough to make the dress stand out in an elegant way. The length is a little short, which is actually one of the reasons I picked the dress as I am only 5'4" so it was a perfect length for me. I had compliments all night on "my" dress-loved it! I'm never buying a black tie dress again!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2016
It was my best friend's wedding.
The dress looked and fit exactly the way is was pictured. So happy with how it looked.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2011
I would definitely recommend RTR.
I wore this gown for a company holiday party. I received many compliments throughout the night. Rent the Runway delivered the gown on time. I am very pleased with the service that I received.
JamieSeptember 25, 2012
were you able to wear a bra with this dress?
RTR CustomerOctober 4, 2012
Hi Jamie! With the low back we would suggest a NuBra with this style!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2012
Working with Rent the Runway was so easy and a great deal!
I ordered the 2R and the 0R. I wore the 2R but the 0R fit as well, it was just a bit too snug for my liking. I am 5'2" and I wore 3 inch heels. The dress would be too short to wear any taller of a shoe. I have a very small bust and this dress was great for that. The top was a little baggy on me but looked great. I didn't wear anything underneath, not even pasties. It was comfortable for an evening gown and I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress was awesome. My most comfortable formal ever!
I didn't have to "re-adjust" myself the whole night. The fabric is light and comfortable, I love the detail and got lots of compliments. It was hard to tell in the online photo but there is one seamline right at the waist that makes it very flattering. I also love that I this dress made me feel tall(er) I selected true to size because the size details say to size up, I got two sizes. My size and one smaller and the smaller fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
December 12, 2012
Looking good in a dress and having everyone celebrate you is a wonderful feeling.
Great dress for black tie.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
Perfect dress for formal event
Dress came in 4R and 2L, no other sizes available at the time. As other reviewers mention the dress definitely runs short. Luckily my back up size saved the day. The 2L fit perfectly. This dress is very photo-friendly and looks great on a lot of body types. Very comfortable the entire night. The ruffle detail at the chest and down the back give it a little something extra. This dress got me through my first Inaugurational Ball, thank you RTR.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 12, 2014
Loved the back, fit perfectly.
Great dress. Fits like a glove. Thank God for RTR Customer Service-- I ordered a different dress and they didn't have it in my back up size, so I requested this Milly-- it was PERFECT!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 11, 2015
Elegant & Comfortable
This dress shows off your shoulders, arms and back. The fabric is light and has a great drape to it - pretty ruffles. I would guess this dress works best for a smaller-chested person - high neckline and lots of ruffles up top. I wore 3-inch heels and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
August 10, 2015
Very fun, flattering and light weight dress that's perfect for a formal summer event
Perfect for summer as the material is thin and light yet still has an interesting design. The back of the dress is adorable with the open back and cascading ruffles. I only gave the dress 4 stars because it runs VERY short. I am 5'5.5" and initially got the 2R but it was way to short. RTR overnighted a 2L which worked out great, but I could only wear a 1.5 inch heel. I would definitely rent this dress again but would caution anyone taller than 5'7"to be aware of the length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 6, 2011
Classic and sexy
I felt great in this dress and had plenty of room to move, though be careful that you secure the buttons that hold the halter up or you'll have a wardrobe malfunction for sure! They held all night for me but the dress should include a snap for backup. I did not wear a bra and didn't feel exposed because the top is blousey with ruffles. The front hem is shorter than the back hem and with non-platform heels was the perfect length, I'm 5'2" and rented a 2R. The material is not as luxe as I had hoped and looks a bit cheap for a designer gown, thank god it was black. Comfortable and seriously fabulous!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
FABULOUS!
This dress was the perfect fit. I was worried it might be too long (I'm only 5'2") but actually it was great once I put my heels on. The flowy accent pieces make it really feminine, but the high neckline gives it a hint of high fashion appeal. I wore it to a charity event for a regional theater in Tampa. The theme was the Adams' Family, so this dress was perfect as it reminds me a bit of Morticia.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 13, 2012
Everyone at the event commented and looked at the back of the dress.
It was a perfect fit and length. I wore 4 inch heels and it didn't drag on the ground.
JacquelynDecember 28, 2012
Jennifer, I'm 5'2" and rented the 0R, I plan to wear a 4" heel, not platform. I'm getting nervous after reading all of the reviews mentioning how short the dress is. Did the dress hit the ground with your 4" shoes or was it noticeably shorter?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2014
Perfectly formal
Had a great time in this dress - incredibly comfortable and flattering; made me feel skinner than I am at the moment! Wish I had a picture. Got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 9, 2016
Beautiful Dress!
I wore this dress as the maid of honor in my sister's wedding and it couldn't have been any more perfect. I was able to wear a low back halter bra to give more definition in the bust area. I got plenty of compliments on the dress, especially the back. The fabric does not have as much stretch as I would like but it was still able to hold shape. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
February 24, 2017
This was the perfect dress to wear to a winter wedding.
I loved how the cut of the top of this dress showed off my shoulders and made my chest not so noticeable. It showed off my figure without being revealing. It was perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×