Milly

Emerald Valentin Dress

$85 rental
$355 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sassy Milly exclusive style to Rent the Runway for your cocktail party! To amp up your look go with the Dannijo's Bea Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with adjustable tie belt
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted on hips and backside - may be more fitted on full hips so consider sizing up in back-up size
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Emerald silk(100% silk). One shoulder neckline with ruffle shoulder. Sash tie at waist. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 13, 2012
Great dress!

I wore this to a holiday dinner in the city and it was fantastic. Fit was great, it was fun and easy to wear, highly recommend it!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154lbs
June 12, 2012
It was fast and easy - they shipped it directly to my hotel out of town and I got it in perfect condition just in time for my event!

I rented the 6 and 10 as my backup size (I really needed the 8, but it was unavailable) for a wedding - the 6 fit, but was smaller in the booty/hip area, so I sized up to the 10 to hide my postpartum baby bump, which worked because I could cinch in the waist with the belt (was a little small on top, but it was ok). I loved the rich emerald color and the great fabric - got compliments all night. I loved the mystery bling kate spade bangle bracelet - it was beautiful and I wanted to keep it so badly!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
June 19, 2012
my boyfriend

The color they show for this dress is really drab... This actual dress is a very pretty green. It wrinkles very easy.. After sitting through a ceremony I had crease lines everywhere the dress folded, such as on my lap area. The wrinkles are very noticeable which bummed me out. There is NO stretch to this dress at all what so ever. I noticed that the seams from the dress were stretched from the previous rental. All in all beautiful dress...

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
July 6, 2012
So Classy!

This dress felt so wonderful on my body! I rented the 6 and the 4, and ended up going with the 4, because it felt great. I have larger thighs (in my mind, possibly) but they looked great under the loose, skin-skimming emerald dress. I wore with nude pumps to elongate my legs and it looked great! The fabric is a little different than I had imagined (not your typical super-shiny, cheep silk material) but I liked that. It felt classier with a muted shine, if that makes sense. Unfortunately the only photos I have of this dress are of me sitting at a table (which doesn't help for you ladies interested in renting), but I promise I will update the next rental with a photo.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 15, 2012
Super chic, great color

This color was flattering on my skin and I loved the length! It also has a great nipped in waist to flatter your figure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 23, 2012
emerald stunner

Wore this for a rehearsal dinner - it was a hit! Very flattering, cute and comfortable. I have minimal hips but this was even slightly fitted on my hips which is rare so watch out for that if you're curvy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
December 27, 2011
Comfortable

Comfortable and easy- I loved this dress!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2012
Great dress, absolutely loved the color. Easy to wear and very comfortable.

Good if you are busty, a little snug in the hips area.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2012
A beautiful dress. I ordered this as a back-up and did not wear it (but I loved it!).

The dress fit true to size, but the belt sat a little high on my torso. Also, the beautiful emerald green was too jewel-toned for an end of the summer wedding, I thought. Very pretty. I may order it again for another occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
Beautiful Color.

Runs a bit small in hips. Very beautiful emerald color and the belt really makes this dress fit perfectly.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 3, 2012
Great dres!! Wore it for my rehearsal dinner!

It was such a great color. Wore it with nude heels and minimal jewelry. I wore the 0, and the armhole was a little low on me, but that could be because of my small chest size. Hips fit well, may be a bit tight, but overall I LOVED it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 3, 2012
Perfect for New Year's Eve!

I loved the fit of this dress. It was comfy and pretty which is a rare combination. I rented the 4 and 6 and went with the 4. It hugged me a little better and stayed up on the strapless side of the dress. Only required a little fashion tape to keep it up. I'm rather chesty, so this was surprising. The 6 would've been a disaster. Paired it with gold accessories and emerald earrings which also worked out great. I wish it had pockets, but that's about it. I will use rent the runway again for sure!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
October 6, 2012
Gorgeous color and COMFORTABLE!

I was nervous as this was my first rental from RTR and I was arriving home from my honeymoon and heading immediately to another wedding. I wasn't sure what to expect but there wasn't much room for error! I am normally a 2, sometimes a 4 and the 2 fit me. It was a little tight in the hips but I am a little wider in the hips so that makes sense. The only downside was that there were little pulls all over the dress. I'm sure this particular style has been rented frequently since it is such a great dress, but it did take away from the experience a little. That is the only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars! I will be renting again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
beautiful and elegant!

wore this to a fraternity formal, and loved it. It was really simple could wear a nomral strapless bra, and didnt need spanx or anything. LOVED IT. comfortable and simple. looks just like it does in person as it photographs

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 14, 2013
too short for tall girls!

I got this second style as a backup to my first choice, it ended up being fun, but a bit too much for girls with fuller chests as it makes you look even bigger on top! Also, it was just a little too short for me and i'm 5'10'' so tall girls be careful!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 22, 2013
The dress was absolutely gorgeous and fit perfectly. I got complements on it all night!

I am pretty short so I normally have to hem things I buy bc they are too long on me. This dress hit me in the perfect spot! The color was beautiful too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
The emerald color was great for the fall wedding that I wore it to.

The fit was tight in the thighs and it actually ripped on the seam when I sat down in a car to go to the wedding. I think that is needs the statement necklace to finish the look. I wore a strand of pearls that was looped around my neck 5-6 times so that is was shorter and more chunky.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2013
Wore this for a dinner, looked very cute and nice !

The fit was perfect, loved the bow on the stomach. Definitely very shiny and silky material.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 5, 2014
Fun dress, great quality

A little tight in the hips but otherwise very comfortable. I wore this a couple of years ago when I was a little bit heavier :) It was pretty flattering, but snug in the hips

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
Great cocktail dress!

I rented this dress for the Bethenny Frankel cocktail event in NYC for the Food and Wine Festival. This dress is AMAZING! I loved this dress!!! Super sexy, super comfortable! Beautiful color! LOVE LOVE LOVE

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
The dress was perfect for both me and the event!

The fit was sublime for my athletic and slightly curvy body! I had such a good time and never worried about my appearance because the dress was both comfortable and glamorous. I didn't do such a dress justice at all! The event was a semi-formal event with my cross country team and because of it the night went so smoothly.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 24, 2011

I rented this dress for a last minute cocktail event. The fit is very forgiving; I rented it knowing I would need something that would fit, given my time crunch, and this was the right dress for that. It runs pretty true to size, maybe a little narrow in the hips. I am 5'1", 105 lbs and the 0 fit perfectly, but I was swimming in the 2 (my backup size). The only thing I didn't like was the quality of the fabric, which seemed on the thing side. Maybe since this is a Milly "made for RTR" dress, the quality was not as high as other dresses I've rented. Overall though, a great dress, loved the color and very comfy.

RTR CustomerOctober 24, 2011
You are the exact same size and measurements as me you look lovely! This review just convinced me to rent this dress. :)
LindaOctober 24, 2011
no the earrings are from Bauble Bar
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
December 7, 2011
perfect for cocktail party.

Rented the dress for a christmas cocktail party. It was perfect. The dress is the most gorgeous shade of green and it fit reallyreally well. I'm 5'2"/105 lbs and the size 0 worked out great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2012
Glamorous and versatile

One thing to realize right off the bat is that the hem is on a slight bias, other than that the picture does the dress justice. The color and fit were stunning, and I received many compliments. I opted out of wearing the sash and put on a pewter belt to cinch it together, it fit beautifully and it was forgiving after a large meal.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 12, 2012
Fun, flirty and sophisticated!

It was true to size, and an easy fit considering its supposed to be worn loose. I am 5' 7" and it ended nicely on my legs - not too short, not too long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 129lbs
August 20, 2012
Pretty but cheap-ish.

Wore this to an awards gala and I was so excited about it. Once I got it I liked how it looked on me, but the fabric was not what I expected. It has a strange texture that makes it look almost cheap. There were also several small snags in it, but not too noticeable. A little tight on the bottom but I'm used to that, I have hips. Overall I was happy with the dress but I wouldn't rent it again

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
The color of the dress is amazing!

It is a beautiful color, but both sizes arrived with out the sash pictured. Disappointed!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2012
Great dress but needs lots of accessorizing

Pro: Gorgeous color, very soft and great detailing with the ruffled shoulder. Con: The belt pictured with the dress did not come with the dress (either the size 2 or 4 which I ordered). Even if it did though, you would need to accessorize the dress well to make it really pop - I went with gold and white accessories (belt and jewelry).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2013
Perfect for St. Patrick's Day!

The belt on the dress makes it so much more flattering!

See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×