Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail
Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(222)
Small
(128)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress all night long!
It is gorgeous! The black and gold details are really pretty. Perfect for a fall or winter wedding! The fit is a bit small. I am an 8, and while I could've worn the 8, I decided to do the 10 for comfort. I would definitely order your typical size and then one size up, just in case. I'm so glad I ordered this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
Beautiful detail
This dress has a gold sheath and then beautiful black dot design, in something like crotchet, for lack of the correct term over the sheath. It is shorter than I normally rent,about 5 inches above knee. I wore this to 2 Christmas parties and received many compliments. I paired with black tights for the more conservative one. As stated the dress has no stretch so that might be why I needed the larger size. Convienient side zip and pretty back neck slit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
December 12, 2012
Dress is stunning! Runs small.
Dress is very pretty once you take it out and look at it. It's stunning when you put it on. Definitely a great party or date dress. I loved it! Unfortunately, it ran small around my hips so I was unable to wear it or my back up. The back up was a size up but was very large around the neck/shoulder area. I would definitely rent again from RTR although this was my first experience and the dress didn't fit. It is stunning though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2012
Festive! Shimmers beautifully and looks great in photos! I was one of the best dressed at the party.
The size 4 didn't fit over my hips, so I was thankful to have ordered a backup size 6, which fit wonderfully. I'm often between these two sizes, so not too surprising. The reason I gave the dress a 4 instead of 5 star rating, is that if you have cleavage, the neckline of the dress seems to bulge a bit - but I doubt it was noticeable to anyone but me. Everyone loved the dress. The gold shimmer is just perfect. I wore with black footless tights and some wedge booties. Ended up wearing no jewelry and some red lipstick. The dress is really the only accessory you need. I wore the dress to an office party and loved how stylish and classy I looked and felt all night. The dress gave me a serious dose of self confidence when speaking in front of my entire staff. Wonderful first experience with RTR! They make it so simple, plus you get a free garment bag & sample of Hollywood Secrets fashion tape!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 17, 2012
It was very flattering. I would wear it again to another holiday party.
Fitted Dress, Very Fitted at Hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 19, 2012
I wore this to my nursing school graduation pinning ceremony, tons of compliments!
The fit is very true to size, if you do not have much in the way of a chest (like me) it may buckle a little bit, so wear a push up bra to help fill it out and you are golden :) haha Such an easy process with rent the runway! SO IMPRESSED :) this was my first experience with RTR and I will definitely be renting again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 19, 2012
The oriole proposed to me in this dress because he loved it! :)
I got so many compliments on my dress for this fall wedding :)! Everyone was begging to know where I got it from (and of course I told them all about RTR) I usually wear a size 10 but it was a bit snug and short so I went with the 12. Definite flirty classy dress and would recommend to anyone!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
December 24, 2012
I really liked this dress! I am tall, so this dress was pretty short on me, but it worked!
I recommend it for a cocktail party or anything where you need a fun look! It could be dressed up too with the right pair of heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 26, 2012
Tons of compliments! Great fit and stunning design.
This dress was the perfect selection for a fancy family Thanksgiving dinner. It was an appropriate length, comfortable, and very cute. The design is unique enough to receive tons of compliments, but not so overwhelming that you feel overdressed. I've recommended this dress to many of my friends. I don't think I wore the bow... but it was so cute that it didn't really matter!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 27, 2012
LOVED this dress-- great quality!
Dress fit true to size, loved the lace detail!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 28, 2012
I rented this for my annual Christmas Eve party. It was perfect and I received so many compliments!
I typically wear a size 6 but I ordered both a 6 and an 8 to be safe. I ended up going with the 6 and it fit perfectly. The only issue I had was the length. My legs are pretty long and it was a little too short when I sat down so I opted to pair it with tights. This was my first experience with RTR and I was so happy I ended up ordering another dress for NYE; though I would have loved to keep this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I loved this dress! I originally rented it for my husband's Christmas party but I ended up wearing a different dress that was a little more formal. I am normally a size 2 but it was unavailable. The size 6 fit great, though I think the 4 would have been ideal. The dress is much more sparkly than it looks on the website, but it's not over the top. I will definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Pretty Pattern, OK Fit
This dress has beautiful fabric, but the shape is not especially flattering. If you are curvy on the bottom definitely size up. I am normally a 4/6 but because the dress has no stretch I ended up renting the 8/10. to accommodate my hips. I wore the 8 and it was still a little big on top. Very classy print though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2013
Head turner!
This dress is beautiful on! It showed a lot of leg, but was conservative on top. It was perfect for a formal evening wedding. The gold thread really stands out more in person and the detail is exquisite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2013
Loved this dress! Perfect for a wedding!
Received so many complements! Dress does run tight though--I wore the 6 and it was still a little tight! Perfect length for short girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2013
Great material and beautiful dress! Received compliments!
Dress runs waaaaaay shorter than I originally thought.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 9, 2013
Wore for a RTR event and then Sigma Chi Parents weekend. Even my date's mom loved my dress!
Runs extremely true to size, comfortable fit. Give you room to breathe but at the same time you look like a stick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2013
Practical and understated but a show stopper!
I loved everything about this dress (aside from the self-portrait I had to take since my husband had a little too much fun at the party...). The fit was super forgiving (just had a baby!), roomy but snug in the right areas. Not too short but definitely shows off your legs if you're on the tall side. It was perfectly fabulous but not skanky for an office holiday party when you're aiming to impress. I paired a cheap Target belt with it for some extra definition since it didn't have a ton of definition in the waist. So versatile - lots of shoe and jewelry options. Love!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 14, 2013
Fit beautifully, and got so many compliments!
I wore this for the last round of sorority recruitment and got so many compliments! RTR made sure that even though it wasn't the dress I originally ordered, I got a great replacement!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2013
Gorgeous unique dress
I am 5'1" and 110 lbs. and this dress fit perfectly in a size 2. I added a black patent bow belt to define my waist and it was exactly what it needed. The length was nice and short (well above the knee) without being slutty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
January 18, 2013
This dress is not for pear or curvy figured ladies.
I wore this for an event, it was pretty tight and short through the hips and really baggy around the neckline. It was still a cool dress, better than the ones in my closet, but it was not my favorite RTR experience.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
I got lots of compliments on this dress. I loved it and would wear it again.
It ran small. I didn't get an extra size for some reason. There is NO stretch in that dress but I still loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 30, 2013
Cocktails and Christmas Parties!
I wore this dress to my fiance's work Christmas party. I paired it with black tights and brought a black cardigan in case I got cold. For shoes, I wore my black ankle booties for more of a playful, dressed down look. The dress has more of a lose fit. It's not meant to hug your body. Which, for me, meant I could actually enjoy the food and drinks without having to worry about my stomach expanding : )
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 5, 2013
cute and comfortable but ended up being a little conservative for my taste
fit was true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
February 10, 2013
I was getting compliments all night on this dress. It was really great for Homecoming at my school.
All around great dress, especially for someone taller! The bottom was a little tight and it rode up when I sat down, but It wasn't too short when I was standing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2013
I received tons of compliments on this dress!! It was comfortable, and I felt great in it!
Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 13, 2013
Gorgeous, fun, flirty cocktail dress!
This dress was a huge hit at my friend's wedding. I, of course, waited until the last minute to figure out what I would wear to the event. So when I went to order, the only size available was a zero. I decided to roll the dice and go with that, since I am usually a 0-2. The dress fit perfectly! The hem fell to a couple inches above my knee which was perfect. The fabric looks almost glittery in person, with the color being a not too bright gold. I got tons of compliments all night!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 16, 2013
Unfortunately event was cancelled so I didn't get to wear it out.
Fit was perfect. Dress was gorgeous. Arrival was on time. Loved that it arrived in garment bag. With surprise gifts. Return was easiest. Very pleased with dress and process.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2013
Everyone adored this dress!!
The dress fit perfectly except for the bust area, if you are bigger than a D I would recommend getting a size up. Unfortunately the 8 was not available, it was a tight squeeze but I managed! VERY flattering dress overall, would definitely recommend it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 19, 2013
This is an amazing dress!
The dress was great. It was snug through the hips, but I tend to run a little large in that area myself. I went with the 8 because the 6 just wouldn't have given me the room I needed. The dress was beautiful and I absolutely hated sending it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 22, 2013
My Favorite Rent The Runway dress so far!
This dress was A-Mazing. My favorite dress I've rented so far (it was my 3rd). It fit perfectly - I am very slender - but it has a great kind of fit anyone would love. My boyfriend absolutely loved it, I wore it for our Valentines Day Dinner (and actually out the next night as well!) I think it's a great, classy way to show off your figure. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 24, 2013
Looked amazing for my birthday!
Rented this dress for my birthday. It is definitely more sparkly in person. I rented both the 4 and the 6. While both fit great, I have largerhips so I couldn't bend down in the 4 but didn't have enough bust to fill out the 6. Overall, would recommend this to someone with tiny hips and a bigger bust. Dress worked out amazing though! Paired with black leggings and boots to stay warm
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
February 25, 2013
LOVE this dress.. First time trying RTR will definitely do it again!
I rented this for my boyfriends 25th Birthday dinner and surprise party. I usually wear between 2-4 I am 5ft 4in and 118 pounds. I opted to rent a size 2 and have a size 4 come as well just in case. I ended up going with size 2 and fit perfectly. Loved this dress so much wish I could own it and wear it all the time!! I got soo many compliments all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2013
I felt so confident and glamorous in this dress! It was perfect for a Casino Night party.
I got both the 6 and the 8 because I figured designer dresses would run smaller and based on other reviews. I was surprised by how short this dress was (especially since I consider myself short anyway). I ended up wearing it with some sheer black hose and black heels, which was fine because it was in February and snowing. It was still a bit scandalous getting in and out of a limo/cab. I didn't end up sitting at all the rest of the night! I usually wear petite sizes because I'm tiny on top and this dress was a bit wider in the neck/arm holes than one I would have purchased. It worked fine for a rental though and it was fun to wear. I ended up wearing the larger size because the 6 looked a little worse for wear on the gold shoulders (this is a popular rental) but nothing so noticeable that I considered not wearing it. The 8 also allowed for a bit more wiggle room (for eating and dancing and drinking) and because the 6 was a little tight in my curvy hips. Overall, the RTR experience was fun and easy. It was so exciting to track my shipment and the anticipation was half the fun. The packaging and goodies in the box were a nice touch. The only con? Now I spend so much time on this website fantasizing about other dresses I want to rent soon! :) Also, next time I need to take more/better photos!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117lbs
February 28, 2013
Very cute but small.
I ordered a size 4 and 2 in this dress and there was no way the girls were getting zipped in! I wore my back up dress instead. I usually wear a 0-2 pants and 4 in fitted dress or shirt. I think it would have fit nicely everywhere else but too tight in the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2013
Obsessed with this dress!
This dress was amazing for New Years! It was so different from what anyone else was wearing. Paired it with a black satin belt and was good to go! It is pretty short, so I wore tights with it.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 4, 2013
No stretch at all
I rented a 10 & a 12, and usually those sizes will cover any piece of clothing I need. Unfortunately neither size fit quite right, so I had to return them both. The 10 was tight in the bottom half, and the 12 was too big in the top. Definitely plan on chatting with a size specialist if you are particularly curvy and are considering this dress, as there is ZERO stretch. I should have!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 144lbs
March 6, 2013
Received tons of compliments! Loved this dress so much. Plus, the customer service was amazing!!
Fits small through the bust area but otherwise I loved everything about this dress. More sparkly (especially the top) than in the pictures but I liked it that way!! May rent this dress again I liked it so much. Thanks RTR!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2013
Classy and fun dress to wear at my husband's office holiday party!
This dress fit perfectly and I felt comfortable all night long. I wore the size 4 because it fit my shoulders better. Great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2013
Perfect amount of sparkle for an outdoor December wedding
I wore it with black tights since the length was a bit shorter than I was expecting, but it looked great. I got a lot of complements and was super comfortable all night.
See more reviews:
4 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×