Milly

Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
360 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(223)
Small
(128)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
July 12, 2014
short!!!!!

way too short!!! I am 5'7 and there is no way I could wear this in public, I returned it!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2014
Great print, perfect for a winter cocktail party...fit ideal for tall, slim shapes!

for a cocktail party, the fit was not meant for my 5'2'' frame - it ran very long (a few inches below my knee) and was a big snug around my hips. so cute, but in the end i couldn't make it work.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2011

Cute dress and would have been perfect for my event but it was too small and tight through the hips. I'm very short and I found the dress was too! Had I been 4-5 inches taller it would have been very attention-getting, but not in a good way.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 156lbs
December 5, 2011
Adorable Dress!!

I loved this dress and got so many compliments while wearing it. i ordered a 10 and a 12, since i normally wear a 10( big hips) i had a hard time getting the 10 on over my shoulders since it's fitted in the waist. and the 12 was a smidge too big in the chest but i made it work and it was a knockout!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful!!!!

The dress runs a bit small. I usually wear a size 2, but I went for the size 4. But nonetheless, the dress was beautiful! I wore it to my cousin's wedding and the bride loved it too!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 26, 2012
Runs Small

The dress itself was very cute and I would have loved to have worn it, but unfortunately it was too tight and I couldn't get it over my hips. I would recommend sizing up especially if you are an hour glass shape. Others below recommended also, but I didn't get a chance to notice those reviews. Some people sized up 2 dress sizes. Good luck!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 6, 2012
Sad because I didn't get to wear either of the dresses I ordered. :(

I usually wear a 2 in dresses, sometimes a 4 if the style is more fitted. Unfortunately, neither the 2 nor the 4 fit in this style. It's very narrow through the hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2012
Great for the holidays! Wore it to my 10 year reunion!

This dress is sparkly (but not too sparkly) gold and I wore it to my high school reunion during the holidays. I usually wear between a 6 and an 8 and the 8 was a bit snug in my lower half and was a bit loose on the top. I added a belt to define the waist a bit and wore a sweater over it to dress it down and cover the poor fit on top. I don't think this dress is the best for hourglass or pear shape. There were some signs of wear on the dress which was the first time I have noticed when renting but I think it was because of the fabric. I got a lot of compliments on the dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 18, 2013
Beautiful Dress!

Great dress for a formal, 7pm wedding. I am tall and did not feel it was too short.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 9, 2013
Great for wedding

I rented this dress for a wedding. It was much shorter than I anticipated, but wore spanx underneath and felt comfortable. I felt the dress ran a little small. Overall a nice dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 159lbs
July 26, 2013
Pretty dress, if only the liner wasn't so much smaller than the dress!

I'm usually a 6 but rented the 8 since the recommendation was to order a size up....well, they weren't kidding! The liner was so tight around my hips!! I guess I should have ordered a 10...I ended up not wearing the dress....if the liner wasn't so snug, it would have been a great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
October 21, 2013
Gorgeous dress with classy pizazz

I wore the 10, although the 8 would have fit better. Unfortunately RTR called the day before and said the 8 was not available. They sent another style dress as a backup, but I ended up just wearing this one a little bit big. Lovely dress, lots of fun. I should mention that while it was a perfectly tasteful length when I was standing, it was super short when I sat down...so maybe the larger size is not such a bad idea. Got lots of compliments and it was comfortable all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2013
Love the gold and lace details

This dress is very pretty and I did get complimented on it. The black polka dots are lace and the gold underneath and on top really shines and is very pretty. However like other reviewers mentioned, it's very fitted through the hips and waist. I'm normally a size 4 and I needed the 6 in this dress. And since I have a smaller chest, I thought it was a little large and droopy on top. It still worked and was very pretty, but I definitely recommend sizing up for the back-up size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 27, 2013
Everyone loved it!

I wore this to a small family winter wedding for an older aunt. I received so many compliments. This was a great alternative to strapless for the occasion. The overall fit was a bit smaller, so I"d recommend renting up than down in terms of size.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2014
Didn't fit!

It was really short and tight. The fit was really off for me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 205lbs
March 5, 2015
Not a great fit for larger sizes.

This is a cute dress but I am a size 12 with also a large bust. So it ended up looking awkward on my frame. I'm sure it'll look cute on a smaller female.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2016
Liked the dress but runs on the small side.

Ran small from other dresses but still liked the dress

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2010

This dress is dainty & elegant, gave me a nice hourglass silhouette. It hit high on my leg, fine while I was standing, a touch tricky getting into cab

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
September 20, 2010

Beautiful dress, fits true to size. Elegant and comfortable.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
September 27, 2010

Beautiful dress, true to size. Very elegant and lady-like; i got plenty of compliments. Be warned- it does run kind of short; not a huge problem for me since I'm also short, but walking up stairs was a bit tricky :)

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 4, 2010

This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2010

Great dress, a comfortable fit all around. You can wear with or without the bow belt.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
November 1, 2010

Beautiful dress, very flattering. I was slightly surprised by the length, it was slightly shorter than I expected and I wasn't planning on wearing with tights. I rented for a work event so I was probably slightly more sensitive that normal. Overall I would definitely rent again!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
November 16, 2010

I am a size 4 and ordered my size as well as the size 6. The size 4 fit perfectly but I wore the size 6 to be a bit more modest at a church wedding. This dress is adorable, the perfect length (NOT too short as indicated by many of the reviews I read) and I received so many compliments. I would highly recommend!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Body type: Petite
November 17, 2010

This dress was a great pick for the recent fundraiser I attended. It really stood out among all the sea of black dresses in the room. I'm just shy of 5'4", 118 lbs and wore the size 2. I could have worn the Size 0 if I wanted a more sexy, fitted look but overall I was happy with the fit of the dress. Lots of compliments!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
November 17, 2010

The fit was perfect, the fabric was super comfortable, and I felt fabulous in it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 22, 2010

I wore this to a night time wedding in November and received so many compliments. It fit perfectly and gave me a nice shape

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 17, 2010

Gorgeous dress- extremely fitting for the holiday season. Bow belt is removable and color is as pictured. Was too short for me (5'8") without tights, but looked great with them!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 19, 2010

I paired this dress with some black tights to wear to a cold November wedding in the Midwest. I wanted to rent it again for New Year's but took too many cute pics and luck would have it, i"ll be with the same group of friends. Would definitely consider renting it again for future events! Can be worn any time of the year. Fit perfect and I loved the length...I didn't think it was too short and had platform heels on. The detail in the dress is amazing!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2010

Awesome dress, very elegant. It is a little short, but paired with tights I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. Wore it to a work holiday party and got lots of compliments. I was sad to send it back!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010

A showstopper! Perfect dress for winter wedding or holiday party. Very elegant, can wear anywhere. It fit perfectly. The belt was a bit loose, but you can use the tape to make it tighter. Very flattering.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 25, 2010

Loved it and got a ton of compliments! The waist was a bit big and therefore so was the bow belt--but did not ruin the look at all. I did a size 0.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2010

I loved the dress. The only issue that I can comment on is the tweed fabric on the gold rubbed against my underarms. The fabric was quite itchy underneath the arms. I would recommend wearing the dress as they did on the runway, with a long sleeve black shirt.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2010

I wore this dress to a holiday party & got so many compliments on it! Gorgeous dress. I am 5'7", 120 pounds, and I ordered a size 4 (one size up than normal, because I was concerned about it being too short). The length was perfect! It was big in the waist (but most dresses are on me) and the belt was way too big (but I made it work with a safety pin). It fit everywhere else, however. I am so glad I rented this dress though - it's lovely!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 4, 2011
Perfect for New Years!

Stunning for New Years! This dress runs exactly like a Milly. This was my first RTR experience and the only thing I was disappointed with was that the zero (which was my size I picked) the bow was unglued and the lace was coming off at the top. Luckily I preferred how the 2 fit and there were no issues with the condition of that dress. I just would have preferred if both dresses had been in better condition. Overall though I was impressed with the RTR experience.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 27, 2011
Got so many compliments on my dress all night long!

Wore this to a work party and received countless compliments! I wore a size 4 but luckily had the size 2 bow belt to use otherwise it would have been too big. The only possible negative thing I have to say about it is, if you have poor posture the neckline tends to bunch. Other than that I absolutely adored this dress. I was super sad to have to send it back the next day!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 27, 2011

I absolutly LOVED this dress!! I wore it to a auction and dinner and received many compliments. I did find that the side zipper was a little tough to zip past the waist, but other than that the dress was a huge HIT with me and would definitly rent again!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 8, 2011

LOVED this dress. Wore it to a company Christmas party with opaque black tights. Usually I wear a 6 and that would have been fine, but we were dancing too so I wore the 8 so that I'd have a little more room to move around. Got lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 15, 2011

I recently wore this dress to a wedding. It was a great choice because it is still a winter dress, however because it's sleeveless it kept me cool. (I think late winter dresses are hard to dress for!) The dress fit really well. This was my first rent the runway experience and I was nervous because I have a big bust (34D) and I am small in the waist. I rented the 4 and the 6, but the 4 fit perfectly! Great dress for busty girls who want to minimize their chest. The dress is very elegant and I received a lot of compliments on the dress. I chose not to wear the belt because it was a little big. The dress is a bit short so be careful getting out of vehicles and sitting. I will definitely rent again!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 30, 2011

Very classy dress. I wore it at my brother's wedding and everyone complimented how lovely the dress was. very elegant.

See more reviews:
4 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×