Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail
Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(222)
Small
(128)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 4, 2011
Classy, beautiful on. I wore it to a charity event and it was the perfect dress. Ran TTS. Is on the short side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2011
All the compliments and wearing a beautiful, unique dress that didn't break the bank!
This dress is gorgeous and I highly recommend it. I rented it for a charity poker tournament that was black-tie optional and I was perfectly dressed. (I rented a size 4, and I am an A cup) A few things to note: 1. This dress used to come with a black bow belt, as you can see in the picture now, the bow is gone. This is because RTR kept losing the belt. The dress looks like a matronly shift without the belt so I recommend going to Michael's and buying some black ribbon to tie around your waist. (This is what I did and it made the dress.) 2. The dress is not short at all. I'm 5'5'' and it hit mid-thigh and was perfectly appropriate. Although, if it was winter you could wear tights or hose and look great. 3. I have a small bust, so the neckline was a little loose, but nothing noticeable. 4. I recommend a red clutch with the dress as a pop and subtle accessories.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2011
Dress was definitely short, even on me and I am 4'11". I also have a small bust it was a little big on top but nothing a padded bra couldn't solve. Overall, fun and pretty dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2011
This dress was a knockout. Very comfy but also hugged the curves. Some reivews mentioned the fabric was scrathy, but I think the dress has been cleaned a numer of times and the fabric is now pretty soft. I was a little worried about the length but at 5'4" it was just a few inches aove the knee. I got tons of compliments at the wedding I attended. Only thing, it was a little snug in the ribcage (I wore size 4) - It's a very stylisj, contemporary dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2011
Beautiful dress but it was too tight around my bust so I was not able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress! I ordered a size 4. It is short but not too short.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2011
This dress had the strangest fit, very narrow and tight through the hips, but the bust area was HUGE! I don't consider myself to have big hips, but i could barely squeeze the dress over my hips. Then, I have a fairly small bust so the fabric bunched in the front and the back and because the hips were so tight I couldn't pull it down so that the top wasn't so baggy. The fabric has ZERO stretch whatsoever. So unless you are extremely thin with large boobs, don't rent this dress. The fabric/dress itself was gorgeous though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2011
I loved this dress. It doesn't look as great in photos as it does in person so I ended up wearing a different rental dress to the wedding I got this for. I did get to wear it out to dinner the next night. It's a short dress, but not too short. It also made my hips look wide, but again I loved it and got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2011
Unique, comfortable, stylish dress. Received a ton of compliments!
This was the first dress I rented from RTR. I absolutely loved the service & the dress! I normally wear a 2 but got the 0 for a back-up. Thank goodness! The 2 was too wide under the arms. The 0 fit perfect! I rented this dress for a wedding. It is very short & tight but still easy to dance in. It's a gorgeous dress! Comfortable, feminine, pretty & sexy.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2011
I didn't end up wearing htis dress mostly because of the hemline. I was going to a wedding and when I sat down, it seemed a bit short. Standing, it was fine and actually longer in the back than front which is good for girls with a behind. The material and quality was great. It would be find for an event or party for sure.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2011
Wedding Bliss
I wore this fantastic dress to a wedding and absolutely loved it, I received many compliments! The sizing ran a little small, making me go up a couple sizes bigger than my true size. But it was totally worth it! Definitely going to being using this website again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
November 23, 2011
Got so many compliments! I felt like a celeb :-)
I am pretty petite with a somewhat athletic body. I ordered the 4 and the 6 because the description said to go a size up in the extra size. The 4 fit like a glove. I wore this to a charity gala for work and I got lots of compliments. Oh, I also used a black ribbon from another dress and tied that around the waist line.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
November 28, 2011
Great Dress
First time renter and totally impressed with the service and items. Arrived in great condition. I am generally an 8 and it ran true to size. As others mentioned it is short (especially at 5'10). I was going to wear black nylons but ended up just putting on heels and I felt great the whole evening. For a business event I would wear hose. Dress is classy/conservative but has a fun flair with the design, shimmer and length.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2011
All of the compliments!
This dress really does fit pretty true to size, it ran a little bit large on me though. It wasn't too short, got TONS of compliments all night long on it! The gold material underneath has a subtle shine to it, it's absolutely perfect with the black lace on top, especially for holiday parties! Loved this dress, didn't want to return it...I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
December 8, 2011
Perfect Cocktail Party Dress
I LOVED this dress. I thought it was going to be a bit too informal for my black-tie event since the length was pretty short on me (I'm 5'3"), but it turned out great. I paired it with some gold shimmery tights and it looked awesome. The fit was perfect. Plush it was comfortable to wear...not a high-maintenance dress like the back up I ordered which had tons of sequins.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2011
Great Dress!
Dress was fabulous and I got a ton of compliments on it. Is definitely on the shorter side, but was definitely appropriate.... even in heels! Dress is absolutely worth the price, great wear.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2011
Great Dress! Super Cute!!
I wore this to my company's Xmas Party with the theme being, Gold and Silver, I wanted to find a dress that fit the theme, but being cute and age appropriate. I got a lot of compliments with this dress and RTR shipped it to me on time in great condition. The simplicity of the rental really made my life a lot easier, compared to my coworkers who had to go to the mall and search for the dress. It was a stress-free way to shop and get the cutest dress! I wished I couldve kept the dress longer, I will totally get another dress from RTR thank you guys!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2011
Beautiful sparkly dress
Rented for NYE. Perfect cocktail dress with a sparkle. The black lace overlay tones down the shine. Suggest sizing up if you have a large bust as the 10 was tight in the bust and the 12 was a bit loose. Went with the 12 to allow room for breathing. It is not too short (I'm also petite) and does not cling.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
January 6, 2012
New Year's Eve Party
The dress was super cute and formal enough for a black tie optional event. For hourglass or pear-shapes, the dress hugged the hips a little but the size up was perfect!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 7, 2012
Absolutely Renting Again!
Size 0 fit my petite shoulders and bust (32A) perfectly! Was snug throughout the hips and fell at an appropriate height above my knee. The dress itself is beautiful with intricate and delicate detailing; the gold fabric is a type of tweed that is not inexpensive looking nor does it look worn at all. The black is a thick eyelet-like fabric that makes this dress so perfectly appropriate for both winter or summer events. I will absolutely be renting this dress again-- if not buying it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2012
The best complement of the night was a woman my husband works with saying she didn't like a lot of the dresses at the event but she really liked mine! ;-) I felt like I was on the runway the whole night. Totally fabulous.
Rented this for my husbands work holiday party which also turned out to be our date night. Ordered the 2 and the 4 (I'm usually a 2) and after trying on the 2 I didn't even have to take the 4 out of the bag. SO pleased with how the 2 fit and how it looked. I'm pretty short (5'2) and it hit just above my knee and tended to crawl up when I sat down which wasn't surprising. Great quality item, beautiful overlay and comfy silky lining. My only complaint is that the gold material was slightly frayed - a bit on the shoulder and some on the hem. If it weren't for that I wouldn't have believed it was a rental dress! Will be renting again soon! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 8, 2012
Should have gone a size up
I rented this dress for my brother's rehearsal dinner. It was gorgeous!! Unfortunately, the larger size wasn't available for the date that I requested. I took a chance with the 6, and it was too snug. I have wide hips and more of an athletic build. I would definitely suggest going a size up when renting this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 18, 2012
i loved it!
i really loved wearing this dress! it was so nice to come home from vacation and have this waiting for me when i came back :) i wore it to a winter wedding in Maine and got so many compliments! i felt confident wearing this dress and it has a vintage/retro feel to it which is unique. it was a perfect combination of sexy and classy. both the size two and four fit well, but i went with the four because it wasnt as tight in the bust area. it was very comfortable and easy to dance in as well. i wore it with the kate spade "putting on the ritz" bangle.
SamanthaJanuary 7, 2014
What color nylons/tights are you wearing?
Chelsie January 11, 2014
Hi! They were dark grayish/charcoal color!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 7, 2012
Perfect dress for a formal event for my boyfriend's law school!
I ordered this dress in a size 2 and size 4. I'm usually a size 2 and when I tried on the 2 it fit true to size. This dress was perfect for a formal event at my boyfriend's law school. I received lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2012
A Bit Tight In the Hips
I ordered a size 4 and 6. I am curvy, so the 4 didn't fit at all and the 6 was still a bit snug in the hip and breast area. The dress was a nice fabric and was in good condition when it arrived. There were a few snags, but nothing noticeable. My only complaint is that when I sat down the dress rode up on my legs quite noticeably and made me just a bit self-conscious.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
February 15, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE
I rented this dress for my birthday dinner and think its AMAZING!!! I would definitely get it again and may even consider buying it if I can find it somewhere. I am usually a 6, but wore an 8 because I felt that it fit a little better in the arms because this dress runs a bit small so I would definitly recommend going up a size. The size difference isn't that much, just makes it a little more comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 20, 2012
Fun Dress
I wear a 4 or 6. I ordered a 6 and 8 based on how the dress fit per the reviews I read. The 6 fit perfect. I am 5' 1/2'' feet tall. The dress was slightly short for my age but I just wore a lower shoe. Worked out finel. Also did not get a belt with my dress. I happened to have one and wore it. It looks better with the belt, Received tons of compliments. I would rent it again
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 25, 2012
Sadly, too small!
This dress was super cute, so had to give it a few stars, but I unfortunately never got to wear it. Disappointed it didn't fit properly and I didn't get to wear it to my event. The dress runs very small in the hips - so if you have any kind of curves in that area, I'd suggest sizing up and going up 2 sizes for your backup. My one size larger that usual was very tight in the hip area and thus created a bit of a pooching effect in the lower back. Also it is super, super short. Perhaps this was the result of the hip problems, but it would have made it nearly impossible to dance or sit comfortably.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 26, 2012
winter wedding
This dress fit beautifully, and the cut is very flattering. Received many compliments at a winter wedding I wore it to. Some reviewers have remarked that it needs a belt or ribbon, but I disagree, it is perfect as is!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 29, 2012
I received the American Courage Award in this dress in Washington D.C. It was professional enough and sexy and elegant all in one. My husband, after I was finished giving my speech, said "you look absolutely amazing! "
I was receiving an award at a prestigious ceremony in Washington D.C. I loved this dress but I must say it felt tight around my chest and underarms. I wore a size 4, but with hindsight,I would suggest to anyone, if you have a full bust I would recommend one size up. That would have helped me feel more comfortable. The fabric does not give and is not flexible. But it's certainly stylish and elegant--and you can get away with it for professional occasions!
SamanthaJanuary 7, 2014
Are you wearing tights or nylons? I like that they seem to be not as thick as tights but not crazy thin as nylons. Would love to know so I can copy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2012
not for hourglass!
This dress was very tight in bust and bottom.I am usually a true size 6. If you have a large chest go up to next size and get a thin black belt for the waist. This was my back up dress and couldn't get zipped past ribs!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 9, 2012
love this dress!
I didn't want to return this dress! I wore it to a holiday party and got lots of compliments. It was a tiny bit tight in the bust (I am a 32C) but other than that fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 9, 2012
I was asked several times throughout the night where I got my dress and did not hesitate to tell everyone about RTR!
I wore this dress for a formal charity event and got so many compliments. It was a little shorter than I expected and I am only 5'2" but the high neckline makes up for it. Minimal jewelry is needed and everyday black pumps work perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Great first rental that got me hooked on RTR!
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and it was a great first rental. It's a beautiful dress and was perfect for a fall wedding. I ordered a 6 and an 8 and went with the 8, since it was a little snug in the hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Amazing
This dress was so chic and perfect for my engagement party. I paired it with tights and it was just fine in the winter weather. I highly recommend this dress for a date, party, or night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Loved It!!
I wore this dress to a nice evening wedding. I got tons of compliments on it. Would definitely consider renting this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 16, 2012
Great for a wedding
I wore the 0 to a wedding, and loved it. My only complaint would be that the fabric on the dress had pulled slightly in places, with hanging gold thread. It's probably unavoidable with the fabric of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 20, 2012
The fit was perfect! Hugged my curves in just the right places. Most of the people were new to the concept of RTR so hopefully I was able to turn them on to it!
I rented this dress for a New Year's Eve wedding and it was such a perfect fit! Lots of compliments and I felt like I had a unique dress on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2012
Beautiful dress, but too short
I rented this dress for a fancy evening wedding. However, after I trying it on I decided not to wear it. It was too tight on my legs and was uncomfortably too short when I sat down. Even worn with tights, I did not feel appropriate wearing something so short to a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 4, 2011
My future father in law told me I needed to own this dress, he loved it so much!
Great dress.I wore it to a fall wedding. A little short on my tall frame but I wore opaque black tights underneath and that made it a bit more conservative. Got a ton of compliments, wore it all day, and was very comfortable. I would highly recommend renting this one.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×