Black Lace Combo Dress

$56 to buy
$380 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This girly Milly frock features geometric lace for a feminine update to a mod-inspired style. Simple add the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size- fuller busted women should consider sizing up in backup due to high neckline
WAIST: Very fitted - Fitted at natural waist with bow belt
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow- curvier women should consider sizing up for length
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and SPANX to cinch in waist, hips, and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold metallic brocade with black scallop lace overlay. Boat neckline. Back open slit with button closure. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 30'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
359 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size222
Small128
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 29, 2014
Amazing NYE dress!
I really liked this dress! I am usually a 0 and I wore the 0, however, it was a little snug. I also had the size 2 and it was a little big. I stuck with the 0 and the dress underling kept riding up. It wasn't that big of a deal to me and I still loved it and received so many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2014
Beautiful dress!!!
I wore this to an outside wedding and the weather was much colder than anyone expected! I wish I had more pictures in this dress, but sadly I was in a coat (like everyone else) almost the entire time. It fit beautifully all over and I was able to dance and move around without any problems.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 23, 2014
Runs SUPER small!
I rented this in an 8 and 10 for a wedding. I'm almost always a size 8 or medium. NEITHER of the sizes fit... I couldn't even close to zip it through the back/chest. I am busty (a 36C or 34D) and there is absolutely NO give in this fabric, so I would avoid it if you have any bust at all. Was super bummed, because it is a really gorgeous dress.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2014
Dress not worn
The dress is beautiful in person, the picture of the model does not do it justice. But for my shape (hourglass) it was too snug in the hips and too loose in the waist to look quite right, but that is the dress style and my body type, not really anything wrong with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2014
Statement dress perfect for an early fall wedding.
This dress fit true to size. The details of gold and black were stunning and photographed well. I got lots of compliments throughout the night. My only complaint was that it was a bit short. I ordered a 4 and 6 and wore the 4 because the 6 was not flattering, but the 4 was very short! Overall I loved it and would rent it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
April 10, 2014
Absolutely beautiful dress that fit perfectly!
I wore this dress for my last sorority formal and kept getting complimented on it all night. It fit perfectly and looked amazing in pictures. I only wish that I could have kept it to wear again in the future!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 9, 2014
Classy and felt beautiful
I wore this to a winter wedding. The dress fit much better than I thought it would. I was nervous when I first saw it, but it turned out to be such a hit. I got so many compliments on my dress. It was a little loose around my chest. I am very self conscience since I had post baby weight still, but I felt like this dress made me look thinner than I was. I actually felt beautiful. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2014
EVERYONE asked where I got the dress from and I proudly said RTR! I think you got new customers!
I wore this for a fundraising event that I was hosting for the Boston Marathon. I felt beautiful! Everyone asked where I had gotten the dress from and I proudly told them RTR. I wore the dress with opaque black tights because it was a bit short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
April 6, 2014
Oh you Fancy
This dress was great! The gold with the black overlay was perfect my company holiday party. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was super comfortable. It is short tho, I'm 5'5" so if you're taller, keep that in mind.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
April 3, 2014
Birthday Dress
I felt great wearing this dress to ring in my 25th year!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
March 16, 2014
I felt fabulous in this dress!
I wore this to an Alzheimer's Gala & loved it. I got so many compliments. It had the perfect amount of sparkle for an evening event. I tried the size 2 & 4. The 2 fit pretty similar to the 4 but was tighter around the hips & was a little uncomfortable when sitting, so I wore the 4. My only complaint about this dress was the black slip part underneath showed in some places at the bottom but I pinned it up before leaving the house & it was fine. Overall, this is a win!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 12, 2014
n/a
Very pretty details, love the shimmery tweed fabric, but this dress super short. I am 5'9" and even with tights this dress was way too short for me to wear. Definitely runs small (even smaller than typical Milly), so size up at least one size from your regular size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 10, 2014
Very flattering. Could dress it up or down.
Looser in the waist. On the short side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
March 10, 2014
This dress is quite short and runs small.
I was not able to wear the dress. It was too small.
KathrynJune 10, 2014
Agreed!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
March 6, 2014
So many compliments!
I absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on it from complete strangers and would definitely wear it again. I think it was the perfect length but when I sat down it was a bit short.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2014
Unwearable
The dress was intended for an awards banquet, I was not able to wear it because of fit. There is no give in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
March 2, 2014
Very classy and sophisticated piece! Fun to wear :)
Great fit and feels/looks like a great quality dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2014
Runs small but looks cute!
Fit: Runs small Pros: The gold accent adds a classy twist on the classic LBD. Cute and stylish. Paired it with tights and a black cardigan and it looked good and was easy to wear on a winter date night! Cons: Runs a little small, and I had to wear with tights because it was too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
February 23, 2014
loved this alternative to a LBD
This is definitely a dress you can relax in as long as you're not too tall, since it is a mini. I wore the 10 since the 8 wasn't available that day, but the 10 fit alright except (as you can see) a little bunching in the top area. The dress still looked fabulous and if you look at the third picture, you can see all its intricate details.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 19, 2014
Comfortable, classy, unique.
I'd buy this dress if I could afford it. Wore to a Sunday evening NYC wedding. My size 2 was a little loose, so I'd recommend getting the 0/2 instead of the 2/4. There is an unnoticeable belt loop string and I wouldnt have even known it was there except that it got caught on my husband's shirt button while we were dancing. Luckily, no dress or shirt was harmed in the incident. Warning: If you tend to do things like that (which I do), the crochet could be a little on the delicate side but I wouldnt let that deter you from renting this beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
February 17, 2014
Lots of compliments
I went up a size, because the hip area was a little small, but then the bust area was too big. It still looked good (and I am small chested) so I still wore it, but if I had bought the dress I'd probably tailor the bust area. Very beautiful, slightly metallic without being obvious, gorgeous dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2014
Great for winter wedding!
I got many compliments on the dress. I loved it because it was fun (with the glittery background and shorter hem) but still conservative enough to be ladylike. The fit was true to size, but definitely snug, especially in the hips-- the material does not have stretch, but it was still comfortable and flattering. The dress was the perfect length for me (definitely short but not so short that you can't sit down), but I'm just 5'3" and I have a short torso.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 4, 2014
I LOVED this dress; perfect for a fancy birthday dinner with friends
This dress was great! The gold with the black overlay was perfect for a January birthday dinner with friends. I was able to wear it with tights and tall boots. I wore the size I normally wear, however, the only reason I say it runs small is that it was a bit fitted around the hips and slightly bigger on top. I tried the 10 too, but it was too boxy so I wore the 8. I'd say get your back up size a size up just in case. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and it was super comfortable. It is short, so beware. I'm 5'5" so if you're taller, keep this in mind. My only feedback is that the lining underneath did peak out a bit at the bottom, and along the neck, but it didn't ruin my night.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2014
Great Dress, Too small
This dress is adorable. Even nicer than the pictures, but it was much smaller than I thought. I didn't wear it as it was too small (and then hem was out in the 6). Luckily, RTR is awesome and sent me two other dresses overnight for my event. I probably needed an 8 (or even a 10), but unfortunately it wasn't available. Might try this again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 30, 2014
I loved it! Would definitely rent again.
Dress fit true to size, allowed room to move!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2014
Awesome, and so festive!
I really liked this dress! I wore it to my husband's work Christmas party in December. I ended up wearing the 12, which was the larger size because this dress runs short and also a little tight in the chest and arms. The 12 fit great, but the 10 was a little short and tight to really be cute and comfortable. Overall I thought that the dress was great, and I loved the black lace overlay to the gold material.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
January 27, 2014
Wore this dress to a wedding, it looks fabulous on!
Pros: Great fit, I wear a size 0 and it fit perfectly. Very stylish dress! Cons: a little on the shorter side, great if you have slender legs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 26, 2014
Great dress, but is a little short
This was a great dress for a wedding right before Christmas. The fit was great, except the dress was shorter than I anticipated. I wore black tights under because of the short length. Otherwise it was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2014
Pretty dress but didn't work out for me
Loved the dress but it runs way too small, and I'm very true to my size. Too short and too tight. Bummer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 13, 2014
Really stands out!!!!
This dress is so different and so stunning that it's really hard not to stand out. I got more compliments than I have ever gotten in my life. I wore a 6, which is what I usually wear, but I said it runs small because I have NO hips at all and it fit me perfectly around the hips while dresses are usually big on me in that area. So, if you have hips, size up. i found the top to fit my bigger chest quite nicely. It was a little snug, but not a big deal at all, easy to zip. I am only 5'2'' so the dress was perfect length on me, but I can see it being short on taller people. Pictures really don't do the dress justice. It is really nice material and very thick. You can tell it's expensive. The ONLY reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is falling apart a little. I felt a little like a seamstress before wearing it. I had to trim the tweed on the top a lot because there were so many pulls and snags. Also, obviously the lining on my specific dress was torn and redone because it hangs about an inch lower than the dress so i had to pin it up. Also, when I got it, it reeked of perfume so I am questioning if it was actually dry cleaned. But really I love love love the dress...would buy it if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 12, 2014
Very flattering and comfortable
This dress was an emergency backup dress for NYE. I was so relieved when it came because it looked great on. I had read the other reviews and knew to order a size up and was glad that I did. I am tall and the length wasn't too much of an issue.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2014
Even better in person
I loved wearing this dress - the picture really doesn't do it justice. I got a ton of compliments and really stood out from the crowd, in a good way. It definitely runs small and it is very short - I would have been more comfortable in a size 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 30, 2013
Great for any occasion!
I wore this to church and then to a bridal shower and I got so many compliments. I felt a little bad because more people complimented me than the soon-to-be bride! The fabric did not have any give to it, so it was a little difficult to sit down on the little stool I sat on for the shower, but I felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 28, 2013
Gorgeous Details on dress!
I ordered the 10 but it was just to snug on my hips. I wore the 12 because it fit me better in the hips but the top half was so bulky. There seemed to be to much fabric. I was happy with this dress overall. Although the black slip underneath was longer than the actual dress. (Almost like it had been washed and then thrown in the dryer). I wore black tights so it wasn't very noticeable, but had I not, it would have looked very bad.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2013
A tiny bit loose in the bust and tight in the hips, but still worked
Excellent quality, very appropriate for a winter holiday party
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2013
Perfect for a holiday party.
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's company holiday party. I ordered a Size 6 (my normal size), plus the Size 8 as a back up given review feedback. Unfortunately, I found out the day before the order was due to ship that the Size 8 was unavailable due to the prior renter damaging it. I received a different dress as my back up. I so wish that the prior renter hadn't ruined my chance to wear the Size 8! I was able to fit in the Size 6 pretty comfortably, but the arm holes were a tad tight, & the dress was definitely short even when paired with tights. I was pulling on it quite a bit because I was self conscious given the setting (corporate party). I loved the lace overlay & the fun gold sparkles. Hopefully I'll be able to get this dress in the right size next time!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2013
This was my first time renting, but it won't be my last. The process went as smooth as ever!
The fit was a bit on the smaller side. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I fit into the 8, but it was tough to sit down comfortably since there really is no stretch in this dress. The 10 gave me the little extra room that I needed. I received so many compliments! It was so amazing to wear such a beautiful dress. I felt fabulous all night long. Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2013
Loved it!
Great dress! I got loads of compliments! It was a bit short and I had to pull it down all night. Also the lining was slightly visible at the hem. But other than that it was a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2013
Perfect rehearsal dinner dress
I loved this dress! I wore it for my best friend's rehearsal dinner, and got so many compliments. It IS pretty short, but I wore it with low heels to keep it from being too scandalous. It also had a little wear and tear under the arms (probably from multiple previous rentals), but all in all was a fantastic dress for the occasion. Definitely recommend. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2013
Beautiful dress, but a bit small
Beautiful dress but runs small! Side zipper which I always find fits tighter than a back zipper dress. Gorgeous colors and perfect for my husbands work party, however very short! Suggest wearing leggings if your tall.
See more reviews:
2 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×