Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Spread Like Wildfire Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this fierce style by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka when you go out with your girlfriends. All eyes will be on you in this showstopper! Pair with accessories like the Kate Spade Flicker Gold Monette Clutch, Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set, and Gerard Yosca's Delicate Azure Drop Earring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange crepe(100% polyester). Surplice neckline. Flutter sleeves. Draped skirt. Rope belt at waist. Back buttons. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

166 reviews

Fit
Small 124
True to Size 36
Large 4
Photos 48
Stephanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 12, 2012

Very pretty. Weird fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really wish I'd read the reviews for this dress because I had the same problem the others had. The top was really big and low-cut, and the bottom was a lot smaller and more restricting than I expected it to be. The picture makes it look like an A-line cut, but the under layer fits more like a sheath. I had to send it back. If your hips/thighs/butt are smaller than usual and you have a large bust, this dress might work for you.
Emi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 19, 2012

Very flattering. A bit low cut

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Felt great in this dress! Very flattering for my shape - covered up my "winter tire." had to use some lingerie tape on the shoulders to keep the wrap from flying open in the front (my bust is small for my overall size / height).
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 22, 2012

Runs small in hips, big on top

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as my back up dress because I was nervous about the low cut. I am pretty typically an 8 in most dresses, but I could not get this over my hips. Meanwhile, the top was too loose despite me being a full C. The perfect body type for this dress is petite but full bust. A friend of mine who is a 4 and fits that body type tried it on and it fit her perfectly.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 3, 2012

Not for bigger hips

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was so disappointed that this dress didn't work out for me- I am little in the waist, but with bigger hips/butt. I thought this dress looked like it would accommodate a curvy body type but it definitely did not. It was super tight through the hips and way too big in the waist. Beautiful color though!!!
J
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 15, 2012

Beautiful..but didn't work

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great, however, it was a little too summery for a New England affair.
dkep
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

Gorgeous, but strange fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am SO glad that I decided to rent this at the last minute- it was perfect for my country club cocktail party. The color was so vibrant, the fabric was dressy, and it was just young-enough while remaining polished. It does fit strange though (the other reviews are not exaggerating). I am 5'1, 110lbs, size 0-2 or XS and I ended up wearing my backup size 4 (the 2 would not even squeeze close to on). And I had to wear my Victoria's Secret 'Miracle' bra as well as cinch the shoulders to make the top not too loose. But once it was on and set it was FABULOUS and I got a TON of complements. THANK YOU SO MUCH RTR!!!!
Dina Maria
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Jul 11, 2012

Loved the color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs small. I am an eight but thank goodness for the second size for free because I ended up fitting the 10. The material is see-through so be sure to plan for that. I loved the color, the length, and the playful sleeves.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 13, 2012

Awesome Dress!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely loved this dress. The only con is that I had to pin the top because the deep v-neck really let the twins hang out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jul 20, 2012

Waaaaay too small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs 4 sizes too small.
TMP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 29, 2012

Beautiful

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very flattering. Overall fit true to size. I loved the covered buttons!
Danielle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 1, 2012

Beautiful color...didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs small. I usually wear a 4-6 and ordered the size 6 and 8. The size 8 fit but the way the top layer of the dress layed did not look right on the hips or the stomach, I ended up not wearing it. The color is beautiful though.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Aug 1, 2012

Great color and great fit!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a bit hit. I felt very comfortable in it. I read reviews before renting this dress though and ended up ordering a 10 and a 12 even though I normally wear an 8 or a 10. I am glad I sized up. The 10 fit well everywhere, except was a bit tight around my backside. I also bought double sided tape because the V is very low, but it was easily fixed. I would recommend this dress for any occasion. Easy to dress up or down.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 5, 2012

tight fitting, but worth it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party, and I was glad that I ordered the size up, because the skirt fits very tightly. No stretch, so I had to be careful when I sat down. I loved the way it fit otherwise, and I got a lot of compliments on it. I have fairly broad shoulders, and it fit lovely on the top and had a flattering look overall.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Didn't fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Did not fit. I ordered a couple of dresses for different events, and the size 0 / XS worked for those. For this, I saw that it ran small so I was going to order a size 2 & 4. They didn't have a 4 so I was going to risk just a 2. I have a 32D cup and it fit great on top, but would not fit over my hips. I do not have large hips. I wear a 25/26 jeans. Looked really pretty on the hanger though, would have loved to worn it to one of the events. :(
Joy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Sexy momma

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! Besides running a bit small, it was beautiful and I felt very pretty and classy in it. It was my first time wearing this sort of dress since I had my son and it made me feel sexy!
Cassandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Smallest slip EVER

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is gorgeous. The buttons down the back are classic. The belt sits perfectly, as does the neckline. I was so excited to try it on. The slip is absurdly small. I actually lifted the top layer to inspect it to see if I possibly put it on wrong. I didn't. And I noticed that I wasn't the first person with this issue because the seam is so stretched in there from everyone else not fitting in it either. Had to get a new dress couriered over. If you have no lower body, give it a whirl though. Its very pretty.
derby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

bright and colorful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly.
Sarah Z
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 15, 2012

Curves beware!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Hey ladies, I feel like I must share my first RTR experience -- I saw this dress and immediately fell in love with it for the color and the seemingly forgiving chiffon. While the color indeed is strikingly beautiful and warranted three compliments from the wedding I attended, I think this dress is more trouble than it's worth. First-off, the wedding I attended was 90 degrees+ and while the fashion tape held up well out the door it did NOT hold up against sun and sweat. I ended up using up all my backup tape. Looking back, I felt like I should have gone with a different dress so that I didn't hold back from dancing the night away and didn't have this dreadful feeling that I might find my bright orange self in the the professional wedding photos in the background holding onto my dress for dear life. Also, I agree with most reviews -- due to the constricting inner lining, the dress runs small. Hope this helps!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 15, 2012

Cute on the model & in person

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I fell in love with this dress online & even when I took it out of the bag. Unfortunately, when I tried on both the 6 & the size 8 (I typically wear a size 6), I could barely get the bottom of the dress pull over my thighs & the top of the dress kept falling off because it was so large. It was like it was made for someone with a size 0-2 bottom & size 12 top. I ended up returning it & wearing a dress I had.
Esther
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Horrible fit

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I usually order 2s and 4s from RTR, so when I read the fit info on this dress I rented a size 6. The "fit specialists" should not say that this dress is good for an hourglass figure. I don't think any size would have fit me well. My measurements are 36-26-38, and the dress was very tight in the hips, very loose in the waist, and yet the bust was gaping even though I wear a 34C/32D. I noticed someone left behind a safety pin in the bust, but even that didn't help me. There is also no stretch in the material, so there's no flexibility in sizing. This dress seems ideal for a woman with a straight/boyish body type, with double-sided tape to keep the bust from gaping.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Beautiful color, tricky fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The 0 was extremely narrow through the hips. I ordered a size 2 backup and am glad that I did. The size 2 needed a couple of safety pins here and there because the top was too baggy and revealing. Once I mastered the pins, it was a huge hit! I wish the 0 top could be paired with the 2 bottom.. then it would be a perfect dress! Color was beautiful for my spring graduation! It was a bit sheer in the daylight but paired with a pair of nude Spanx, it wasn't a problem.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Look Out If You Have a Booty!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved the color of this dress! My only complaint was the bottom half fits pretty snug. It's hard to tell from the picture, but there's a layer underneath that was tight. When I first put it on, I thought I hadn't unzipped the zipper all the way, but when I realized that wasn't the case, I shimmied it on. The top part fit beautifully, and the bottom looked fine to everyone on the outside, but underneath, I knew it was snug. I ordered sizes 0 and 2 and had the same problem with the 2. The only difference was the top on the size 2 was really large on me so I stayed with 0.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 20, 2012

Gorgeous

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress, fabulous material. The front is much more plunging than the model shows. I am a D cup size, and I felt way too exposed. The dress cannot be worn with a bra due to the cut. I think it would be PERFECT on a smaller chested/athletic build.
Lau
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Aug 20, 2012

wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great color, top is definitely a little big, but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix, while i did wear the 2, the lining under the dress is a little snug, overall loved the dress!
Maureen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

Cute, but too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I loved this color and decided to rent for my 2nd dress. Unfortunately, they only had a 10 and not a 12. I usually wear a 10, but according to other reviews it ran small, which it did. Since the 10 didn't fit, I was out of luck. It was nice material and a great color..just wish it would've worked :(
Carey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Very flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very classy dress. Fun and flattering! You will probably have to use fashion tape on the chest area like myself and some of the other reviewers mentioned. Great dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 6 was still tight. I could have worn an 8.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Runs Small

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty color and the material is really flowy and pretty. But the back of the dress is almost sheer so it might be best to wear with a slip. The neckline is really low so bring a safety pin with you and the belt is actually built into the dress, so you can't use it to adjust. It also runs small-- I'm usually in between a 4-6 but sized up because of other reviews. The 8 fit well but was even a little snug in the skirt. Other than the fit issues it really was a very cute dress, though.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Aug 29, 2012

Beautiful back detailing

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits very well. The most beautiful part of the dress are the row of buttons in the back. Highly recommended for blondes!
Liza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Could not wear

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this did not fit at all. Weird fit with a very low cut that wasn't wearable.
Kyra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Gorgeous Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such a beautiful dress, unfortunately it was too small and I couldn't wear it. The bottom of the dress is real fitted and I was only able to get it half way on. From what I could see in the mirror the dress was absolutely stunning. I would definitely rent it again, just in a bigger size!
Jobi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Sep 2, 2012

Great look

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed to use the fashion tape to hold the wrap style top together. Other than that, I loved the dress!!! Will try rent the runway again, for sure!!!
Mijanou
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Did not wear it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I couldnt get the zipper up by myself so ended up not being able to wear it. I think the V was too low for my flat chest anyway so I was not upset.
Kelley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 8, 2012

The bottom is very narrow.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress!! I am 5'5", 34C, and 125lbs... I usually wear a size 4 sometimes a 2. This dress in a size 4 fit great!! The bottom however is very very narrow so be careful... If you are bigger on the bottom def get a size up. I tried on the 2 and I couldn't even get over my hips! LOL:)
Frida
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Top is very loose

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
My friend borrowed this dress as my back up. Three girls tried it on and it was loose at the top for all of us. We are all between 5'3-5'5 and weigh between 125-140 lbs. The size 6 fit us all, but the top was very loose. You definitely need a safety pin to pin the V-neck area together. A low cut bra and no-show underwear is a must! Great color and really beautiful dress for a wedding!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Big Top, Tight bottom

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was cute but runs narrow in the hips (and is not stretchy) and baggy in the chest. Fashion tape was a must for me (I'm a 34C) and unfortunately I didn't have any with me, so had to wear a camisole underneath. Worked out okay to wear for an after work cocktail party on a Friday night followed by some classier rooftop bar hopping in August, but I wouldn't wear again because of the fit issues.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I loved the dress style but top is very large!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dres look however, the fit was not ideal! I am a true size 2 I had to go up to a size 4 due to it being tight on the hips. The 4 was HUGE on the top and I am fairly busty. So I am not sure who this would fit. I used the tape in the emergency kit to hold it down but I had to keep double checking the whole night. I would suggest this dress for someone who was a little more heavy set verus long and lean.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 20, 2012

Too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is really weird and the waist part runs small, while the bust part runs too big.
kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 21, 2012

I initially rented another dress but the weather changed, I called and the switch was easy!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Runs small, but a beautiful dress! Unable to wear because hip area was too tight but it was beautiful
Irene
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Nice dress, runs small.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Dress is very lovely ALTHOUGH it's not a dress for women with curves. Runs small on the bottom. I had to lift it up to sit and the top portion needs to be safety pinned to avoid an exposure. I ended up not wearing the dress. :/
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

This dress was absolutely GORGEOUS! It really made a statement and I got sooo many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Of all the dresses I've rented from RTR, this one is by far my favorite. I'd love to rent it again if I ever got the chance! The fit was great (although I recommend wearing a cami or bandeau underneath-- the cut is a little wide/low) and length-wise it fell perfectly between my knees and thighs; not too long, not too short. Great for every day wear or casual-dressy occassions. Just wonderful!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×