Spread Like Wildfire Dress

$35 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this fierce style by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka when you go out with your girlfriends. All eyes will be on you in this showstopper! Pair with accessories like the Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set and Gerard Yosca's Delicate Azure Drop Earring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange crepe(100% polyester). Surplice neckline. Flutter sleeves. Draped skirt. Rope belt at waist. Back buttons. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
169 reviews
Fit
Large4
True to Size36
Small125
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 20, 2012
Too small
The fit is really weird and the waist part runs small, while the bust part runs too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
I loved the dress style but top is very large!
I loved the dres look however, the fit was not ideal! I am a true size 2 I had to go up to a size 4 due to it being tight on the hips. The 4 was HUGE on the top and I am fairly busty. So I am not sure who this would fit. I used the tape in the emergency kit to hold it down but I had to keep double checking the whole night. I would suggest this dress for someone who was a little more heavy set verus long and lean.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Big Top, Tight bottom
This dress was cute but runs narrow in the hips (and is not stretchy) and baggy in the chest. Fashion tape was a must for me (I'm a 34C) and unfortunately I didn't have any with me, so had to wear a camisole underneath. Worked out okay to wear for an after work cocktail party on a Friday night followed by some classier rooftop bar hopping in August, but I wouldn't wear again because of the fit issues.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 10, 2012
Top is very loose
My friend borrowed this dress as my back up. Three girls tried it on and it was loose at the top for all of us. We are all between 5'3-5'5 and weigh between 125-140 lbs. The size 6 fit us all, but the top was very loose. You definitely need a safety pin to pin the V-neck area together. A low cut bra and no-show underwear is a must! Great color and really beautiful dress for a wedding!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 8, 2012
The bottom is very narrow.
I loved this dress!! I am 5'5", 34C, and 125lbs... I usually wear a size 4 sometimes a 2. This dress in a size 4 fit great!! The bottom however is very very narrow so be careful... If you are bigger on the bottom def get a size up. I tried on the 2 and I couldn't even get over my hips! LOL:)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
September 5, 2012
Being able to have the next size shipped in time for the event!
I initially ordered a 6 and an 8 according to the size reviews. When they arrived, I couldn't fit the 8 over my hips (I'm curvy in the hips) !! After calling customer service to return them, I was able to have the size 10 shipped to me overnight in time for the event. Definetely call to speak to a fit specialist before choosing a size. ALL this being said, I LOVED the dress. The 10 was still snug on the hips, and required some fashion tape for the neckline (again, curvy in the hips...NOT so much in the chest). In the end, I LOVED the dress on me in photos and received many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
September 4, 2012
Did not wear it!
I couldnt get the zipper up by myself so ended up not being able to wear it. I think the V was too low for my flat chest anyway so I was not upset.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
September 2, 2012
Great look
I needed to use the fashion tape to hold the wrap style top together. Other than that, I loved the dress!!! Will try rent the runway again, for sure!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 31, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
Such a beautiful dress, unfortunately it was too small and I couldn't wear it. The bottom of the dress is real fitted and I was only able to get it half way on. From what I could see in the mirror the dress was absolutely stunning. I would definitely rent it again, just in a bigger size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 29, 2012
Could not wear
this did not fit at all. Weird fit with a very low cut that wasn't wearable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 29, 2012
Beautiful back detailing
This dress fits very well. The most beautiful part of the dress are the row of buttons in the back. Highly recommended for blondes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2012
Runs Small
Very pretty color and the material is really flowy and pretty. But the back of the dress is almost sheer so it might be best to wear with a slip. The neckline is really low so bring a safety pin with you and the belt is actually built into the dress, so you can't use it to adjust. It also runs small-- I'm usually in between a 4-6 but sized up because of other reviews. The 8 fit well but was even a little snug in the skirt. Other than the fit issues it really was a very cute dress, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
August 26, 2012
Very flattering!
Very classy dress. Fun and flattering! You will probably have to use fashion tape on the chest area like myself and some of the other reviewers mentioned. Great dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 6 was still tight. I could have worn an 8.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 25, 2012
The convenience of it all made everything great!
Super comfy. It's true, runs slim in the booty region. Order size up.
JessJanuary 16, 2013
You look great hun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 23, 2012
Cute, but too small
I loved this color and decided to rent for my 2nd dress. Unfortunately, they only had a 10 and not a 12. I usually wear a 10, but according to other reviews it ran small, which it did. Since the 10 didn't fit, I was out of luck. It was nice material and a great color..just wish it would've worked :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
wedding
great color, top is definitely a little big, but nothing a little fashion tape couldn't fix, while i did wear the 2, the lining under the dress is a little snug, overall loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Gorgeous
Beautiful dress, fabulous material. The front is much more plunging than the model shows. I am a D cup size, and I felt way too exposed. The dress cannot be worn with a bra due to the cut. I think it would be PERFECT on a smaller chested/athletic build.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Reunited with lots of college friends for a wedding and they all loved the dress!
I loved the dress, but it wasn't the easiest thing to wear. I agree with others that this dress ran small. I usually wear an 8 or 10 and the 10 was pretty tight. It was comfortable while standing, but the tight hips made it hard to sit. Also, it was very low cut and after the fashion tape got unstuck after a few hrs of dancing, my bra was pretty exposed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2012
Look Out If You Have a Booty!
I absolutely loved the color of this dress! My only complaint was the bottom half fits pretty snug. It's hard to tell from the picture, but there's a layer underneath that was tight. When I first put it on, I thought I hadn't unzipped the zipper all the way, but when I realized that wasn't the case, I shimmied it on. The top part fit beautifully, and the bottom looked fine to everyone on the outside, but underneath, I knew it was snug. I ordered sizes 0 and 2 and had the same problem with the 2. The only difference was the top on the size 2 was really large on me so I stayed with 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
August 18, 2012
Beautiful color, tricky fit!
The 0 was extremely narrow through the hips. I ordered a size 2 backup and am glad that I did. The size 2 needed a couple of safety pins here and there because the top was too baggy and revealing. Once I mastered the pins, it was a huge hit! I wish the 0 top could be paired with the 2 bottom.. then it would be a perfect dress! Color was beautiful for my spring graduation! It was a bit sheer in the daylight but paired with a pair of nude Spanx, it wasn't a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Horrible fit
I usually order 2s and 4s from RTR, so when I read the fit info on this dress I rented a size 6. The "fit specialists" should not say that this dress is good for an hourglass figure. I don't think any size would have fit me well. My measurements are 36-26-38, and the dress was very tight in the hips, very loose in the waist, and yet the bust was gaping even though I wear a 34C/32D. I noticed someone left behind a safety pin in the bust, but even that didn't help me. There is also no stretch in the material, so there's no flexibility in sizing. This dress seems ideal for a woman with a straight/boyish body type, with double-sided tape to keep the bust from gaping.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 15, 2012
Cute on the model & in person
I fell in love with this dress online & even when I took it out of the bag. Unfortunately, when I tried on both the 6 & the size 8 (I typically wear a size 6), I could barely get the bottom of the dress pull over my thighs & the top of the dress kept falling off because it was so large. It was like it was made for someone with a size 0-2 bottom & size 12 top. I ended up returning it & wearing a dress I had.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 15, 2012
Curves beware!
Hey ladies, I feel like I must share my first RTR experience -- I saw this dress and immediately fell in love with it for the color and the seemingly forgiving chiffon. While the color indeed is strikingly beautiful and warranted three compliments from the wedding I attended, I think this dress is more trouble than it's worth. First-off, the wedding I attended was 90 degrees+ and while the fashion tape held up well out the door it did NOT hold up against sun and sweat. I ended up using up all my backup tape. Looking back, I felt like I should have gone with a different dress so that I didn't hold back from dancing the night away and didn't have this dreadful feeling that I might find my bright orange self in the the professional wedding photos in the background holding onto my dress for dear life. Also, I agree with most reviews -- due to the constricting inner lining, the dress runs small. Hope this helps!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
bright and colorful
The dress fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2012
Smallest slip EVER
This dress is gorgeous. The buttons down the back are classic. The belt sits perfectly, as does the neckline. I was so excited to try it on. The slip is absurdly small. I actually lifted the top layer to inspect it to see if I possibly put it on wrong. I didn't. And I noticed that I wasn't the first person with this issue because the seam is so stretched in there from everyone else not fitting in it either. Had to get a new dress couriered over. If you have no lower body, give it a whirl though. Its very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 10, 2012
Sexy momma
I loved this dress! Besides running a bit small, it was beautiful and I felt very pretty and classy in it. It was my first time wearing this sort of dress since I had my son and it made me feel sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Didn't fit.
Did not fit. I ordered a couple of dresses for different events, and the size 0 / XS worked for those. For this, I saw that it ran small so I was going to order a size 2 & 4. They didn't have a 4 so I was going to risk just a 2. I have a 32D cup and it fit great on top, but would not fit over my hips. I do not have large hips. I wear a 25/26 jeans. Looked really pretty on the hanger though, would have loved to worn it to one of the events. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 5, 2012
tight fitting, but worth it!
I wore this for my bachelorette party, and I was glad that I ordered the size up, because the skirt fits very tightly. No stretch, so I had to be careful when I sat down. I loved the way it fit otherwise, and I got a lot of compliments on it. I have fairly broad shoulders, and it fit lovely on the top and had a flattering look overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 1, 2012
Great color and great fit!
This dress was a bit hit. I felt very comfortable in it. I read reviews before renting this dress though and ended up ordering a 10 and a 12 even though I normally wear an 8 or a 10. I am glad I sized up. The 10 fit well everywhere, except was a bit tight around my backside. I also bought double sided tape because the V is very low, but it was easily fixed. I would recommend this dress for any occasion. Easy to dress up or down.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
August 1, 2012
Beautiful color...didn't fit
This dress definitely runs small. I usually wear a 4-6 and ordered the size 6 and 8. The size 8 fit but the way the top layer of the dress layed did not look right on the hips or the stomach, I ended up not wearing it. The color is beautiful though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2012
Beautiful
This dress was very flattering. Overall fit true to size. I loved the covered buttons!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 25, 2012
I went to the wedding of a good friends sister! The wedding was a mix of bright orange and pink. I fit right in with the happy feel of the day! The best compliment was over hearing my friends mother and grandfather saying that I looked happy and healthy!
I loved everything about this dress, it was bright and fun and incredibly flattering! I received a huge number of compliments and was at my most confident all day! I did have to wear a cami under as the deep V would not have been appropriate with my large chest, but I don't think it took away from the overall look. Order 1 size up. I normally wear a 10, but there's no way it would go over my hips!
reneaApril 3, 2014
Thanks for sharing a photo of you wearing a cami. I will have to do the same thing, but it still looks great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 20, 2012
Waaaaay too small
This dress runs 4 sizes too small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
July 13, 2012
Awesome Dress!!
Absolutely loved this dress. The only con is that I had to pin the top because the deep v-neck really let the twins hang out.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
July 11, 2012
Loved the color!
This dress runs small. I am an eight but thank goodness for the second size for free because I ended up fitting the 10. The material is see-through so be sure to plan for that. I loved the color, the length, and the playful sleeves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 17, 2012
Gorgeous, but strange fit
I am SO glad that I decided to rent this at the last minute- it was perfect for my country club cocktail party. The color was so vibrant, the fabric was dressy, and it was just young-enough while remaining polished. It does fit strange though (the other reviews are not exaggerating). I am 5'1, 110lbs, size 0-2 or XS and I ended up wearing my backup size 4 (the 2 would not even squeeze close to on). And I had to wear my Victoria's Secret 'Miracle' bra as well as cinch the shoulders to make the top not too loose. But once it was on and set it was FABULOUS and I got a TON of complements. THANK YOU SO MUCH RTR!!!!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
June 15, 2012
Beautiful..but didn't work
The fit was great, however, it was a little too summery for a New England affair.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 15, 2012
Feeling confident and carefree.
Even though I was at an over-the-top, super glamorous wedding, this dress managed to get a ton of attention. My husband told me I should just keep it, he liked it so much. It was 95 degrees that day, but this dress was nice and airy and kept me relatively cool. It also makes you easy to spot if you get separated from your friends. The zipper popped off the track when I was pulling it on, so I had a little panic attack, but my friend was able to fix it in time for the event. Depending on the make, I usually wear a 4 or 6, but I had to go up to an 8 in this dress to be able to sit comfortably in it. I agree with the rest of the reviews that it runs small in the hips. You're going to need fashion tap to conceal your bra. This dress is perfect and ready-to-wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 3, 2012
Not for bigger hips
I was so disappointed that this dress didn't work out for me- I am little in the waist, but with bigger hips/butt. I thought this dress looked like it would accommodate a curvy body type but it definitely did not. It was super tight through the hips and way too big in the waist. Beautiful color though!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 30, 2012
It was the perfect summer wedding dress!
I rented this dress for an afternoon wedding. It was perfect. The color was gorgeous and the material was great for travel. The fabric "breathed" which was perfect for a very hot and humid outside ceremony. I got tons of compliments. I did not have the same issues with the fit as others have noted - even though I ordered a size up I probably could have fit into my normal size. I also have no butt or hips to speak of so if you are someone lucky enough to be blessed with such assets than the bottom may be too small. I also didn't have any issues with the top. Although to be on the safe side I did use some fashion tape so the dress stayed in place. I paired it with the Nayla Emerald earrings, Kendra Scott gold bangles, and Kate Spade gold flecked clutch. I could not have been happier with my rental. Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×