Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Spread Like Wildfire Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Work this fierce style by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka when you go out with your girlfriends. All eyes will be on you in this showstopper! Pair with accessories like the Kate Spade Flicker Gold Monette Clutch, Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set, and Gerard Yosca's Delicate Azure Drop Earring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Orange crepe(100% polyester). Surplice neckline. Flutter sleeves. Draped skirt. Rope belt at waist. Back buttons. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

162 reviews

Fit
Small 121
True to Size 36
Large 4
Photos 46
SC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Even better in person!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well, the belt is such a great touch! Color is even better in person. Recommend some double stick tape to keep the dress from popping open at the bust. A tad short for my height but overall I loved this dress. Lots of compliments! Wish I took a full length pic to post, if you rent this you won't be disappointed!
Nikki
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 12, 2013

n/a

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented both a 0 and a 2. The bottom portion was incredibly tight, and the top was super loose. I just pinned it, and that definitely did the trick. The bigger issue was that the size 2 that came was actually tighter than the 0, which was frustrating. Not sure if it was just a flawed dress, but the 2 definitely wouldn't even fit over my legs. Overall, though, got compliments all night and a beautiful dress
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

LOVED THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not want to send this dress back! I wore it to a dinner/cocktail hour and received the most compliments! Fits snug, just right, although I did have to use fashion tape to secure the front. You also definitely need to wear sticky boobs (I had to put them backwards because the clip in the middle would show if I put them on the correct way). Beautiful color, great material. Awesome dress. One of my favorites I've rented.
Danielle
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Jun 23, 2013

beautiful dress i wish i could have worn it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I should have listened to the reviews and ordered up. The top was fine, in fact I might have needed fabric tape to keep all in place because it hangs kind of loose, but the bottom part right around the hip line across the butt it was too tight. I might have been able to get away with it but it just really didn't look right.
allison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 25, 2013

GREAT DRESS,GREAT NIGHT!!!! BEAUTIFUL COLOR!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
THIS DRESS IS VERY COMFORTABLE, BEAUTIFUL . PERFECT FOR A COCKTAIL PARTY OR A SUMMER WEDDING.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 25, 2013

So beautiful, but impossibly tight in hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm a long-time RTR member, and I've never worn larger than a sz 2 in any rental. However, I couldn't get the inner lining of this dress over my hips in either the sz 0 or 2! I'm not at all curvy or hippy, either. However, a larger size would have definitely been too big up top. The dress is GORGEOUS - my boyfriend and I both loved it - but it was completely unwearable for me. That said, so impressed with the RTR stylists for overnighting me another dress in time for my event.
anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 7, 2013

Great Color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The top was WAY too big and the bottom was snug. Unfortunately I could not wear this dress.
DL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 18, 2013

Dress it up or dress it down, a piece fit for many occasions

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Rented this as a back up dress but ended up wearing it anyway for a different night out. The belt/mid-part is quite tight, the top a bit looser. Secured the top with some fashion tape. Otherwise a really comfortable and fun dress, and loved the color.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Aug 19, 2013

Stunning color, superflattering dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I loved wearing this dress! I definitely stood out in the crowd of LBDs. It runs quite small, especially on my hippy Latina body, since there is absolutely no give to the material. I am pretty small up top and wish I had invested in some double-stick tape to hold everything in place. It may not have worked if we had gone dancing, but for drinking and dinner-ing and looking hot, it was great! Looked perfect with electric blue heels. :)
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 27, 2013

Cute dress but too big on top and rides up

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my birthday party. It's cute and fit in the waist but the top was definitely big and I had to keep fixing my wardrobe tape because it didn't really stick to the fabric well. Also, the bottom rode up a lot when sitting and the dress overall wasn't as comfortable when I was sitting down. It was nice but I wouldn't rent it again.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Sep 10, 2013

Runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this in a 10 and a 12 for a wedding. The 12 was even way too tight.
Desdemona
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

I loved the dress, amazing color.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was too tight for my liking. I rented this dress as my back-up (they didn't have the additional size in the other dress I rented). If you have a large bust you may need to pin it, depending on how much cleavage you like to show. I recommend spanks :)
Amanda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 16, 2013

Fabulous dress once you taped the top up! Looked absolutely smashing for my brother's wedding :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs small... and you definitely need tape! Also, the back of my dress was snagged but since it was the back and bottom, I didn't mind at all. I wore lovely big danging earrings and received tons of compliments. Loved the fake buttons up the back - added just enough detail. The only drag (and it was a big one) was having to find double sided dress tape and taping enough of the top so that I didn't look like a floosy. Will upload a pictures once I get mine back. Thanks RTR!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Couldn't wear it

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Absolutely beautiful color and fabric, but it runs VERY small. This was my backup dress, so I just wore the other one. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 if something runs small. The 4 wasn't available so I went for the 2. The underskirt is very tight, couldn't get it past my knees or over the top. Truly beautiful dress. I'd love to try it again, but would size up two sizes.
Llaen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Beautiful dress, but didn't fit me right.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful, bright color, great material. Unfortunately, other reviewers were right when they said the bottom won't fit if you are not straight and narrow in the hips. The top of the dress was very loose (more than it looks in the pic...), so even if the bottom did fit me better, the top was so loose I couldn't see how it would stay in place without me flashing everyone. This is better for someone with straight hips.
Sharon
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 22, 2013

Dress is a gorgeous color and fabric is top notch comfortable but slip underneath runs really small!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Order a size up and you should be ok. It you have a smaller bust, I wouldn't recommend this dress as it takes a larger chest to fill it out unless you were to pin it or wear a bandeau. Hope this helps.
Emily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

everything great, but my butt did not fit in there!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
everything was great: the customer service, the dress quality, the speed of delivery, the fun extras in the package. the only problem was there was no way i could get my behind into that dress. luckily i had ordered a back up dress.
Cortney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

Didn't work for me!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented a different dress that didn't end up working out so I spoke with a Go To Girl and decided on this dress. I didn't know it had a tight slip under the dress because I did not read the reviews before I agreed to the exchange. I couldn't fit the two over my hips/butt. I think the 4 would have fit but unfortunately, it wasn't available. Pretty color but beware of the slip if you have curves!
Sarah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Very cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
You do need tape to keep the top in place. Perfect for the shower I went to!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 5, 2014

Gorgeous color, perfect for whatever the occasion

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Listen to the advice of other shoppers and go up a size for your second size as this dress runs small. I normally wear a size 8 and the size 10 in this dress fit me very well. The material isn't very forgiving around your hips so you'll be glad you went a size up. The belt on this dress is what makes it so great. I don't have a very distinct natural waist so I'm always looking for belts to try and give me a waist. This dress was awesome in that way! I'm a 36C bust size and there was A LOT of extra fabric in the bust area. I ended up having to pin the extra fabric on the back of the dress and use invisible fashion tape to keep the dress against my chest. All-in-all, despite having to do a little work to keep everything in place, this dress is one of my favorite rentals!
Hillary
Top Contributor
Age: 33
May 6, 2014

Dress is small in hips but large in chest

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
dress run small in hips but large in chest
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 12, 2014

Great dress, tough fit. Order a size up and get your fashion tape ready!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress in theory, but it was really tough for me to pull it off. I ended up wearing a size larger than my normal dress size since the hips and rear area of the dress were too tight in my normal size, which made the bodice and shoulders even larger on me. Despite a hefty amount of fashion tape to keep the dress from being a "wardrobe malfunction," I still threw on my jean jacket over the dress to wear to a casual wedding after party. Would probably be a great dress for a lean frame without any curves, but I couldn't really make it work.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2014

didn't fit :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress did not fit my tatas
Mary Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 28, 2014

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so pretty. Unfortunately it ran small in the hips and didn't fit correctly. I would definitely size up.
Maggie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Pretty, but the fit is off

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Gorgerous dress, but it didn't fit me, so I ended up returning it. It runs very large in the bust area, but small in the booty area.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Dress was not wearable

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The top was huge I was falling out of it. The worst part was the fit in the hips. It was so small. It was like two different dresses sewn together.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

This was sent as a replacement dress due to the dress I wanted was unavailable.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It didn't fit right for smaller chest and big hips.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
Jun 19, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is true to size on the top, but it definitely is snug through the hips. Great fabric, and I liked the button detail on the back.
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 23, 2014

Very cute dress , not made for larger chested women though

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up not being able to wear the dress because of the cut on top. I'm a 36D and I was just too exposed for my comfort level to wear this dress. It would be really cute on a smaller frame though!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Pretty color

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Sad to say but I didn't get to wear this dress. I ordered a size 2 and it was too tight on the hip area. A four may of worked but would have been too big on the bust.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

I wore this to my bridal shower and received so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was beautiful. Like mentioned in other reviews, the hip area is tight, but if you are not a hippy person, you should be pretty true to size. You cannot see the tight fit of the hips due to the overlay. The bust area is sewn in a way that it covers completely without the risk of falling out (even though it is low cut). BEAUTIFUL dress. I wish I owned it.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Didn't fit my butt

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was really cute and flattering in the front. Unfortunately, however, I couldn't get the back fully over my butt and was not able to wear it. Had it come in size 4, I may have been able to wear it, but it was definitely an odd fit in the back. There is no stretch either, so definitely size up if you order it!
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Couldn't wear either size I rented.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a size 10 in all of my jeans, and wear an 8 or 10 in most brands, but neither fit. I'm so disappointed, it's definitely not for anyone with hips.
Lyndsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Beautiful Dress, but I couldn't wear it due to size.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was so beautiful, color is an amazing coral and the fabric is light and perfect for a summer event. Unfortunately I'm firmly in the Size 12 department for my lower half and the size 12 dress would not fit over my hips. I don't consider myself particularly curvy and I don't have a large bum, but this was just too small for me. Top would have been perfect (though a little clevage-y as previously mentioned). Curvier ladies this might not be the best choice but if you're a size 10 or less this would be absolutely beautiful!!
Kathleen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Jul 19, 2014

I felt like I had one of the most unique dresses! It's color is flattering on every skin tone!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I hope they keep this dress available forever; I plan to rent it for other events like weddings, too! It is surprisingly classy when on and the color is beautiful; not too organgey!
Victoria
Age: 21
Jul 22, 2014

Very small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress, but not good for anyone with even a little bit of curves. Fits very small.
Casey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 24, 2014

Customer service was excellent and was able to get another dress overnight!!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress, but too small. Was unable to wear it. Very tight through hips and thighs.
Sylvia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

beautiful color, with gold belt

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Ran a bit tight in the hips for me, so had to sear size up. I had to use a safety pin to keep the front closed, but overall, this dress looked amazing.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Beautiful color, super small in the butt!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loves the dress and wish I could have worn it! I usually wear an 8 so sized up to a 10. I by no means have an extremely large butt but apparently it's larger than I thought. I could not even pull the dress over my butt. The top half was very big and once I finally got the bottom half on I couldn't sit down. They couldn't send my backup size and I never wear a 12 so didn't expect to need it.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 23, 2014

Really strange sizing

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wasn't able to wear this one due to the fit, it seemed like the top half and bottom half were two different sizes; the top was too large and the bottom too small. I think if you had a large chest and narrow hips it would look really nice, but it was not for me.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×