Spread Like Wildfire Dress

$35 rental
$395 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Work this fierce style by Mark & James by Badgley Mischka when you go out with your girlfriends. All eyes will be on you in this showstopper! Pair with accessories like the Kendra Scott's Crackled Gold Bangle Set and Gerard Yosca's Delicate Azure Drop Earring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fashion tape recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Orange crepe(100% polyester). Surplice neckline. Flutter sleeves. Draped skirt. Rope belt at waist. Back buttons. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
171 reviews
Fit
Large
(4)
True to Size
(38)
Small
(126)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 31, 2012
I looked like a model :-)
It was a little tight around the hip area and a little loose on the chest. I had to wear a white top underneath. The dress looked beautiful though and ppl complimented my look and the dress throughout the party.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 19, 2012
this is the best idea!! saved me time and a lot of $$. Your team made it so simple and easy. xoxo!!!
the dress just flowed, like the whole process!!! It was very light on my skin. The color looked great with my skin tone & I received a lot of compliments on it all night. I was sad to put it back in the envelope to send it back  but could not be happier with the service and the selections the rent the runway has!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
November 24, 2012
beautiful color
it was a great dress, ran small around the hips, but I got so many compliments all night on it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 27, 2012
Having a new unique dress!
Great dress! It looked great and was perfect for the daytime wedding shower that I wore it to. I got a 6 and an 8. I am usually a perfect 6, but had to wear the eight because it was VERY snug in the hips even though I have pretty narrow hips. I suggest getting a size up - the eight was perfect. I had to use double stick tape and a safety pin for the low neckline, but only because it was a conservative party. I would definitely rent this dress again and recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
November 29, 2012
Fabulous dress. Great color. Was perfect for our engagement photo shoot.
Draped around the neckline well and allows for just the right lift in the chest region. It's tight around the hips, showing voluptuous curves (if you are like me and you have them), the gold brings it all in at the waist. It's classy, elegant and sexy! Atleast says my fiance ;) Def recommend!
AmyJune 7, 2013
You look like the cover of a steamy novel! Gorgeous!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2012
Loved this dress and its color!
Ran small - I have a smaller waist and a larger backside so my normal size 2 was too snug. A 4 would have worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it but such a CUTE dress!
A 6 wasn't available and the 4 was just a little too tight around my hips and legs to wear. It was a big disappointment because the dress really was gorgeous. Beautiful color and the gold belt is a great, small accent that pulls the dress in nicely. Maybe I will be able to rent this again one day!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 28, 2012
Though this didn't fit, I appreciated that RTR rush shipped a third size to me at no charge.
I have a curvy shape and rented this in a 6, 8 and 10 for a formal wedding and none of them fit. The six was too small overall, the 8 fit my top but was a little snug on the hips and thighs, and the 10 was too baggy up top while fitting everywhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
December 31, 2012
My husband couldn't keep his hands off me!
This dress is sassy and sexy, but be sure to get a size above as it runs extremely small in the hips. I used fashion tape to keep the top in place and paired with gold sandals, turquoise earrings and a colorful clutch. Being 5'11" the dress was on the short side when dancing and walking. I received compliments all night, and loved the burnt orange color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
January 1, 2013
Very tight through the waist and very low cut!
I thought the color and material of this dress were very pretty. With that said, the belt was glued/sewn to the mid section making it very difficult to get over my waist. It was also very very revealing in the bosom because of the cut. I used the double sided tape, but the hole ensemble kind of looked a bit too short on me. I'm 5'5" and this fell a lot shorted on the legs on me than it did on the model. I didn't end up wearing it and had to go out and buy a new dress because I felt like if I bent over slightly my bottom would be exposed and if I leaned over my whole chest would be revealed. This would work well on someone who has a shorted torso than I do and maybe shorter legs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 17, 2013
Very pretty, vibrant dress.
Very cute dress, but if you have a butt at all, size up and up. I usually wear a 0, and in this dress, even 2 was slightly tighter around my bottom than I would have liked - and this has never been a problem before. Also, it's cut lower than in the picture, so have a pin ready if you don't want to show too much cleavage. The dress is probably best for those with straight or apple shape bodies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 19, 2013
This dress is very pretty and feminine, however it ran small in the hips.
If you're smaller on top and curvy at the bottom, you may want to try to go a size up. I wasn't able to wear this dress because of this but it is so pretty that I just might try it again this summer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 23, 2013
Beautiful dress, bit of an odd fit.
The top hung more loosely than I expected and the waist/bottom was tighter than expected. I have rented quite a few times and never had a problem so I think it's just an awkward sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 27, 2013
Small
Ordered two sizes up and it still didnt fit, its the lining. My friend is a size 6 and she couldnt fit into the 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 144lbs
January 30, 2013
A little tight, but still a great dress!
Great dress! Everyone else is right, the lower half of this dress is EXTREMELY narrow. The underlayer felt very tight, however it was not noticeable due to the flowy nature of the top layer of the dress. The v-neck is very split, but with the help of some fabric tape didn't cause any problems. All in all, it worked out well and I got many compliments!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
March 15, 2013
Beautiful dress...a little too revealing for a work function.
The color was absolutely beautiful....however, the top part is very low cut. I tried fashion tape, but it didn't work for me. I wasn't able to wear it ...I felt too exposed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2013
Had an awesome Valentines Day feeling confident in red!
I am fairly busty, dress ran small in the hips and large in the top.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
March 23, 2013
Snug waist, stunning dress
The waist was tighter than expected, so definitely get the size up. This dress is simple, yet stunning! I received so many compliments and it was easy to move around in on the dance floor. My favorite RTR yet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2013
Great dress, flattering, comfy if you order the correct size! Was having too much fun for pictures!
I tried it on in the warehouse so I knew it ran a little small in the bottom area, its a little too short for spanx but if you get the right size you don't need them. I usually wear a 4 or 6, and wore an 8 in this just because the 6 was slightly too tight in the legs and I wanted to be able to sit comfortably. The front is not super low but is loose so I used fashion tape to close it up a little bit. Also some of the snaps in the back were broken and wouldn't snap but there is a zipper so it wasn't absolutely necessary to snap them. Overall I loved it!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 12, 2013
Super small underskirt
I loved the look of this dress, but beware - the underskirt is super tight, even though it doesn't look that way in the photos. I ordered my usual sizes but even the bigger one did not come close to fitting. They were TINY.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 15, 2013
Runs REALLY SMALL!!!
While I had read reviews prior to renting this dress I was shocked by how small it ran, I couldn't even get it on (the bottom is super tight). I had a friend who wears a size smaller try it on and she also could barely get it on. If you have any sort of hips or thighs you would have to order at least 2 sizes up for this dress to work. The material on the bottom is also really sheer so you could definitely see through it. That said, it is a great color, the faux little buttons are cute and the gold belt dresses it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 19, 2013
Loved it. Very sexy and stylish on!
Underlayer fits snug and be prepared to wear fashion tape for the neckline. It's way low
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2013
Great color and style, this is a gorgeous dress!
When I took this dress out of the garment bag, I thought, this is nice......but it wasn't until I put the dress on that I realized how flattering it really was. I wasn't able to wear the dress, the cut is definitely for someone more straight and narrow. If you are a bit curvy and have a little extra bum, this may not be the dress for you, perhaps a larger size would work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 23, 2013
I loved this dress and thought it would have been super cute...
for the occasion, however, believe what people say when it runs small through the hips. I wear a size 8 pant and most times a size 8 in dresses but I sized up and it still wasn't big enough. Between my hips and butt it wasn't going to work. Good thing I had a back up dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
May 6, 2013
Beautiful dress for Spring wedding!
This was my first dress that I ordered from RTR and it was perfect! I normally wear a size 4 or 6, but after reading the reviews I decided to go with the 8 and it was perfect. The dress ft everywhere except the top was a little large, but I just used the fashion tape to hold it down. The dress looked brand new when it arrived. My picture doesn't do this dress justice. This dress is really flattering, especially on someone with a larger bust. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2013
Great color, tight on hips
This is not for a curvy girl. While the top had plenty of room for the girls, the lower half was VERY small and not wearable for an hourglass figure. It was also missing details and needed repair (zipper, belt, etc).
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 9, 2013
The dress arrived right on time and the return was so easy! Can't wait to rent again!
Like most of the reviews mention, the dress was a little snug in the hips, and a little loose up top. I'd recommend renting a size up and just using a safety pin or fashion tape. With these easy adjustments, the dress fit great and was comfortable. I didn't notice it before it arrived, but there are buttons up the back of the dress...they're a simple and classy addition! This was my first RTR experience and I can't wait to rent again soon. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2013
comfortable, great lines in the front, excellent color!
Was a bit tight on the bum, I sized up from my always 4 to a 6. The top was a little billowy, but I think that's the style of the dress. Very comfortable and got many compliments on the color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 10, 2013
Turned Heads all night!
This was a beautiful dress for a stagette. I put runs small just because the gold band and hips were a alittle snug, but the bust was a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 5, 2013
Beautiful dress but it runs EXTREMELY small!
I rented this dress for a wedding and was very excited to wear it! It is a beautiful dress and the color is shown as it is in person. Unfortunately, only the size 2 was available and it was impossibly small. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the lining of the size 2 was so small I couldn't get it over my knees! I was very disappointed since it would have been PERFECT for my event. I might try to rent it again but honestly would order up to a size 6 or maybe even an 8 as a backup.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 12, 2013
n/a
I rented both a 0 and a 2. The bottom portion was incredibly tight, and the top was super loose. I just pinned it, and that definitely did the trick. The bigger issue was that the size 2 that came was actually tighter than the 0, which was frustrating. Not sure if it was just a flawed dress, but the 2 definitely wouldn't even fit over my legs. Overall, though, got compliments all night and a beautiful dress
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
June 23, 2013
beautiful dress i wish i could have worn it
I should have listened to the reviews and ordered up. The top was fine, in fact I might have needed fabric tape to keep all in place because it hangs kind of loose, but the bottom part right around the hip line across the butt it was too tight. I might have been able to get away with it but it just really didn't look right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2013
So beautiful, but impossibly tight in hips
I'm a long-time RTR member, and I've never worn larger than a sz 2 in any rental. However, I couldn't get the inner lining of this dress over my hips in either the sz 0 or 2! I'm not at all curvy or hippy, either. However, a larger size would have definitely been too big up top. The dress is GORGEOUS - my boyfriend and I both loved it - but it was completely unwearable for me. That said, so impressed with the RTR stylists for overnighting me another dress in time for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2013
Stunning color, need bra tape!
This dress was perfect for an engagement party we hosted. It was flowy, the right amount of showy and a gorgeous color. The other hitch I would say this had was that I really needed some bra tape to hold the front up. Also, some of the snaps and clasps were damaged or broken when I received it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 19, 2013
Stunning color, superflattering dress
I loved wearing this dress! I definitely stood out in the crowd of LBDs. It runs quite small, especially on my hippy Latina body, since there is absolutely no give to the material. I am pretty small up top and wish I had invested in some double-stick tape to hold everything in place. It may not have worked if we had gone dancing, but for drinking and dinner-ing and looking hot, it was great! Looked perfect with electric blue heels. :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 23, 2013
Elegant yet sexy!
Loved this dress! Was my first RTR experience and couldn't have been happier. It does gap a bit around the bust so it was really hard to figure out what bra to wear. I ended up having to use some double sided tape to keep it in place, so keep that in mind. Also runs a bit small, I went up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 3, 2013
Beautiful, TONS of compliments!
The dress was a little snug on the hips, it has two layers of chiffon the underlayer was a little tight on my hips but loose up top. Overall it fit very well, you may need some double sided tape as its very low in the front. I did NOT want to send this back, it was perfect for a spring wedding. I got so many compliments. I would most def recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 25, 2013
I loved the dress, amazing color.
The dress was too tight for my liking. I rented this dress as my back-up (they didn't have the additional size in the other dress I rented). If you have a large bust you may need to pin it, depending on how much cleavage you like to show. I recommend spanks :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2013
No fashion tape? Your boobs will escape!
First, the dress is beautiful and I received many compliments on it. However, it was not the best rental for me. I got away with wearing an 8, but it was tough. I am a curvy girl and I felt like I was popping out of this dress all evening. I was constantly checking the cleavage area, as well as my back side to make sure nothing was escaping. If you have a fuller figure, make sure you size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
November 19, 2013
Beautiful dress, but didn't fit me right.
Beautiful, bright color, great material. Unfortunately, other reviewers were right when they said the bottom won't fit if you are not straight and narrow in the hips. The top of the dress was very loose (more than it looks in the pic...), so even if the bottom did fit me better, the top was so loose I couldn't see how it would stay in place without me flashing everyone. This is better for someone with straight hips.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×