Rent the Runway

Mark & James by Badgley Mischka

Playing In Paris Shift

$45 rental
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk underneath the Eiffel Tower with your man wearing this chic Mark and James by Badgley Mischka shift.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - very loose fitting throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black baroque jacquard (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. Pleated drop waist skirt. Hidden side zipper. Lined (100% polyester). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

104 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 63
Large 28
Photos 40
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 28, 2013

Perfect for 20's parties when you don't want to look too "costumey"

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super cute dress! I loved it for the event and got tons of compliments. I wore an XS but the S would have been acceptable as well. I could have used Spanx because it isn't particularly forgiving in the tummy area-- but it wasn't too bad. Would definitely rent again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
May 4, 2013

Tons of compliments by strangers!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Beautifully constructed dress; great for a cold night. It was just too long and large for a petite frame like myself.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2013

So much fun!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I actually rented this as my second choice so I did not end up wearing it out but it was super cute on. It is pretty delicate (I would imagine you could tear the sleeves easily). So, I would not recommend wearing this to anything where you might wreck it (bachelorette party etc). It was a little tight in the chest for me but I am pretty busty. Also, it is not at all as short as it appears on the model. She must be 6 feet+. It hit me at the knee.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Formal yet flirty and fun!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress twice during an 8-day rental. The first event was a wedding and it was perfect for the evening ceremony. The second event was a charity gala. The dress was formal without being overdone like some of the ballgowns that showed up that night! The dress is a heavier fabric than I expected, a great weight for a springtime or fall event. The length looks really short in the RTR picture, but it came down to about 2" above the knee on me at 5'6". The fabric has a wonderful stretch to it that hugs your curves and smoothed out some of my "less favorite" physical attributes. All around a great dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 25, 2013

great dress! really flattering!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was super excited that the XS fit me. Even if it's due to vanity sizing, it's always nice to feel pretty. I rented the dress for a surprise bday party on a boat and then a night on the town. To dress it down, during the day, I paired the dress with a jacket and sandals. At night, I wore it with pearls and a headband and did the whole 20's look. I felt so pretty!! The dress is not as short on me as it shows on the model. but i'm only 5.3
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 5, 2013

Ill fitting. No wow factor.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress wasn't meant for my body type. It was slightly too long and not tight enough in the bodice. There was zero "oh la la" with this dress. I felt frumpy. However, RTR was happy to credit me since it didn't fit!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 6, 2013

Perfect Dress for a Fall Wedding

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Super fun and flattering dress! Wore it to a fall wedding and was a great choice. Classy dress for sure!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very form fitting but classic look perfect for son's christening. Normally wear a 6 and small was good. Length was perfect and pleats are so cute. Wore with multi strand pearl necklace.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 14, 2013

Ran a little tight.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Can be dressed up or down.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Beautiful lace detail, very comfortable

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! Wore it for a 20's themed event. Based on the other reviews, I knew it would be perfect for this event. I am 5'1 and very petite, so it was a bit long on me. I would say that it came about one inch above my knees, so know that the model in the pic is very tall. It was incredibly comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to rent it again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

I wanted to like this dress but

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
breaks my heart to say it, but it is matronly. I was hopeful based on the photo, but it was lacking the flirty and fun quality I was looking for.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

flattering

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs large…make sure to order a size down in addition to your normal size. I have fuller hips and it did tend to ride up a little but that was okay since it's not as short as it appears on the model. Perfect for chillier weather. This seems it would be flattering on any body type. Felt confident and comfortable in this beautiful dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 9, 2013

WOW! I felt so amazing in this dress. . . comments never stopped

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got two dresses and I almost wore this one twice, even drew a surprising amount of attention from my guy friends. Classy and flirty all rolled into one. I will say that it was super short, but some sparkly underoos did the trick
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 14, 2013

What a great dress and experience!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for a country club Christmas brunch. Toned down the sexy with black opaque tights and black wedges. Very comfortable and flattering on me. My hips usually are the deal breaker between a 4 and a 6 and in this dress my hips fit fine in the small and the knit nicely, but not too tight, skimmed my waistline. Can't wait to use rtr again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Too Small

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
From all the reviews a small should have fit me - it was way too form fitting for my curvy backside. This was a second dress I rented just for fun. It came too late in the day for me to wear to my event, but it wouldn't have worked any way. I think you really have to be a slim straight body type for this dress it is not made for curves.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Cute dress. Can be dressed up or down.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Easy to wear with a great fit. I would rent this again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139 lbs
Jan 6, 2014

Pretty dress, but not what I was looking for.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It was nice, but I ended up not wearing it. It was a little tight in the arms and it made it a little uncomfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 10, 2014

Love this dress!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is feminine, and fit like a glove. I am definitely renting this again!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Fun and Flirty!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great for a date night or Fall Wedding!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

Head-turning and comfortable!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a charity event and it was exactly what I hoped it would be. It was so easy to wear - a slip was not even needed, as nothing showed through. The drop waist made it fun and the nude/black overlay bodice made it glamorous and a little edgy. I could have worn either the Small or the X-Small, but the the XS fit the best through the chest/waist.. The dress hit just above my knee, so it was substantially longer than the model in the stock photo. I wore it with black tights and booties. I also rented the Kendra Scott Black Della earrings and Gerard Yosca Chained to You bracelet, which both complimented the dress perfectly. I wish I owned the whole ensemble!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 11, 2014

Modest but stylish dress for a work function.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable - no worries about anything riding up or showing more skin than was appropriate. (I wore it to a dinner held to honor a prominent person in my field).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Cute & sophisticated!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is darling. Unfortunately the medium arrived with the overlay ripped in the center of the back of the dress. It is perfect for a party, wedding or night out when you want something flirty and fun with sleeves. Note; it is cut narrow, so if you have curves up top or on bottom, order a size up. Tall and narrow body types will love this one.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

very comfortable

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented for a a friends birthday in December. I was COLD and this dress worked great with tights and boots
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Apr 14, 2014

Conservative but gorgeous dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The medium fit better but the arms were tight so I wore the large. The large dress had a tear near the elbow but I was able to cover it up by pushing the sleeves up. Overall, it's a beautiful dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Great choice for Gatsby theme

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wasn't expecting the beautiful lace detail in this dress. I also wasn't expecting all the compliments I got. It was perfect for a twenties theme event. Its lovely, not "costume-ey" at all.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 21, 2014

Very cute dress, but a little uncomfortable to wear.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It's a very cute dress. Got the S and XS. XS fit me perfectly. I loved how different it was. BUT I could barely stand the material. The sleeves were unlined and were VERY itchy!! I will confess that I am somewhat sensitive to itchy material, but this dress was particularly bad. Do not recommend if you are also sensitive to scratchy clothing.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 21, 2014

Great dress. Thicker material on top. Slimming overall.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a bit large on me, but still worked!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 23, 2014

Great alternate to LBD!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The dress was comfortable and looked great! The only issue I had that the M was short due to my booty... SO I opted for the L and everything fell better. It was comfortable to wear and chase the kids :) Just be careful if its windy... you will give everyone a show :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Great for a 1920's themed party!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for a 1920's themed party that I recently went to. It's longer and the fit is looser in person than on the model. It had the perfect drop waist and little flounce skirt that was popular in the 20's. It's much prettier in person, because it has some really nice detailing on the bodice and sleeves. It's a little heavy, so it might be too hot for warm weather. Thankfully, the party was in an area of California that is nice and cool at night. My husband liked it a lot and thought it was the nicest dress at the party. Also, It was soooo comfortable since it's a looser fit.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Loved it, husband did not like it.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Loved this dress. I got it to wear on New Years. However, my husband was not a fan of it. He said it looked like an old ladys dress. I thought it was so comfy and looked great. Anyhow, I wound up not wearing it and picked something he preferred.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Very high quality dresses

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress is a little heavy. Nice fabric for fall or winter. Loved the dropped waist
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

It fit perfectly and was just the right length. It was stunning! I received countless compliments!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Because I am short, many dresses tend to be too long on me; however, this dress was the perfect length. The fit was great and very slenderizing. It is a classy, very tasteful, yet fun and flirty!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Classy and pretty dress, wish I owned it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress on a whim, and ended up wearing it to a networking/cocktail party for alumni of my undergrad. I loved this dress. It was perfect for an occasion of people coming from work, I felt dressed up but not overdressed. The pleated skirt is a lot of fun. I wore this dress with black flats and felt very sassy. It also made my figure look more hourglass-y and thin. Love that. If I owned this dress I would wear it to work or maybe like a confirmation, not a night out. It is very modest but very pretty. My boyfriend really liked it though, and encouraged me to wear it 2 nights in a row (um, no) because he liked it so much. If you are on the fence, definitely rent it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Cute and comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
When I first tried on this dress, I noticed what others have mentioned about the skirt portion of the dress being tight across the hips. It's almost like the top of the skirt is smaller than the circumference of the torso part of the dress, which results in a slight baggy-ness in the lower torso and then the tighter skirt across the hips. I also think this dress was meant for somebody with a long torso than me, as the "hip" part actually fell across my thighs. Anyway, once I got over the initial weirdness, this was a very comfortable and cute dress. I wore with long earrings and nude stockings/shoes.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Very Flattering

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have hips and I was worried this would highlight unwanted hip region... it actually was very flattering even with the drop waist. It looked great and I got tons of compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Perfect for cocktail party!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am 4 months postpartum. This cute dress covers my tummy well & is very comfortable. Perfect for winter cocktail party.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Wouldn't recommend for under 5'3"

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This looked very short on the model, so at 5'2" I figured it would be just slightly above the knee on me but it was well below it. That in addition to the drop waist just did not work - it was too big overall. Wouldn't recommend for petite girls!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 7, 2015

Loved this dress. It fit perfectly and I got tons of compliments.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the perfect dress for a cocktail party, charity event or even a fun night out on the town. It fits in all the right places. I have what I consider to be large hips and it was so slimming. I would definitely recommend this dress. I can't get a picture to upload...sorry ladies!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Great dress, modest but still interesting and fun. I wore it for an evening work event - perfect!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Other
Nice, slightly loose fit. Great length on me, inch or two above knee
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 18, 2015

Did not wear. It was way too big

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
The arms were snug but the rest of the dress was huge and just hung baggy. Also the zipper was on the side and made the baggy hip look even bigger.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×