MARCOBOLOGNA

Such A Square Sheath

$30 – $35 rental ?
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that insanely chic look with this MARCOBOLOGNA black mini. A mod style for you to show off your fashion sense at the dinner party. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Upper Nile Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress is most fitted though the hips; consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress is most fitted though the hips; consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (63% Polyester, 22% Viscose, 5% Elastane). Cap Sleeves. Crew neckline. Grosgrain detail on shoulders. Shift body. Exposed center back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

105 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 64
Large 14
Photos 37
Chica Chic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2012

I couldn't wear this dress. Larger size barely fit up top but then was loose on bottom.

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a nice, well made dress. It's not dramatic but has a great finish to it. However, it was very tight/narrow at the top.
Wills1
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Oct 14, 2012

Date Night!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a great lbd! Simple but that makes it great!
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 18, 2012

Pockets ruin the shape

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
For someone with a curvy shape, this dress did absolutely nothing for me. I'm usually between a 6 and a 8, and the 10 in this still didn't fit right. It might work better on someone without a butt, but I feel like my butt stretched the dress in a way that made the pockets stick out and made me look like a rectangle from the front. Just not flattering. The dress was also thick and heavy (almost felt like a wetsuit) so it would work best in the spring/fall.
samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Oct 29, 2012

The dress was perfect for a cocktail party, felt great on!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is true to size and very comfy (loved that you didn't need special undergarments) and LOVED the pockets! No complaints from me, it is pretty basic so the tops of sleeves adds some detail. Got lots of compliments.
Lady
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Perfect for glammed up yet casual occassion

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really loved the cut of this sheath! Although in a prior review it was said to be snug in the hip area, I found it to fit comfortably thru the hip and bum area. It hits right above the knee on a 5'5 hourglass frame and will require some assistance with the back zip. Also, the quality of the fabric was wonderful and thick, appropiate for Fall/Winter wear. Katie was absolutely a pleasure to work with and offered coordinating accessories to complete the look. I will definately rent this dress again.
Jillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Cute dress, overall, but does run a bit small.

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am normally a size 2/4, but the 40 was tight around my hips, so the dress wasn't as flattering as it could have been had I ordered the 42. Still, the dress was cute and of good quality. I am just under 5'4" and I thought the dress was a bit short, so beware if you're taller.
Cameron
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2012

Not made for anyone with curves.

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received this dress as an alternate when the 2nd size of the dress that I originally ordered was not available. I have an hourglass shape and this did not work whatsoever.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Dec 17, 2012

Easy to wear!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a holiday party and it was super comfortable!
Jan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Runs a little big, I am 5'4 and 110 and the dress fit perfectly! So many compliments! I will absolutely order this again! The necklace that is shown with it was amazing too!
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Didnt end up wearing it :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Its a great looking dress, a nice thick stretch material. I ordered 2 sizes, but one was too tight and other too big. The pockets puckered a lot, and if you have any hips whatsoever it is very unflattering because the pockets make you look wider than you are.
Mackenzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Dec 26, 2012

Plain Black Dress

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Thick material, which is nice for winter time occasions. The pockets make the dress less flattering. True to size - had to wear the 44 because of the length.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 28, 2012

N/A

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It runs a lot smaller than I was anticipating, I generally wear a size 4 in most but even the 6 was snug which made the pockets look funny on my hips. I tried to call RTR to see if they could overnight another one but they said they couldn't. Its a classic dress that goes with any occasion but just make sure to size up when ordering.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 18, 2013

Tons of compliments from my coworkers and boss (who were both men and women) especially the necklace

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely runs small and I had to go a size up to get the pockets to lay flat and the right fit in the hips but once I did the dress fit really well. Really chic and sophisticated without trying too hard. I also wore the necklace that's in the picture and it made the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Absolutely ADORE this dress!!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is the perfect length. It hit mid thigh with 5 1/2 in heels. It is understated yet elegant. The only uncomfortable part of this dress is the fact that my bra strap kept sliding down the sleeves. This happened both times I rented this dress. Other than that I have no complaints. I recieved so many compliments, and I felt amazing in it.
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 6, 2013

Really cute!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress, but the fit was a little awkward. The material doesn't give at all so it fit perfectly over my bust and then over my hips was a little tight and baggy around my stomach. The smaller size ironically fit better. I wore this for my company holiday party and it was a big hit! Got a lot of compliments! Just wore it with fun earrings--would definitely recommend it!
Therese
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Lovely dress!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
While both sizes were fine, I went with the 44, just because it was a bit roomier. There wasn't all that much difference between the two sizes. I was told that I looked very elegant ~ always nice to hear. As usual, RTR came through.
Dianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 28, 2013

Perfect for my baby bump!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I felt confident and beautiful in this LBD. I sized up to fit my bump and it was very flattering (I was at about 22 weeks). Nice thick fabric, classic silhouette.
Jess
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Very cute, well made dress - not a flattering fit for me

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this in 2 sizes, the 40 and the 42, to wear to a rehearsal dinner. The 40 fit well in the body but was a bit tight around the shoulders, while I drowned in the 42. I ultimately ended up wearing a different dress, but I was disappointed that this didn't work out. Very cute - the perfect LBD that's more conservative. The material was thick and heavy, so I'd take that into consideration when deciding to rent.
Cynthia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 16, 2013

A great LBD for many occasions

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
My husband and I were invited to a fancy event where there would be many people that we hadn't met before. This dress is quite the chameleon and ended up being a perfect choice for the successful and monied crowd in attendance. I was a bit worried when I saw it on the hanger, but it really comes to life once you step into it. It is not flashy, but you will receive flattering glances if you wear this. I felt very polished. I give this a 'runs small' note as I think of myself as having skinny arms and the sleeves really fit snuggly. Minus one star as the pockets created a bit of an odd silhouette. I ended up taping them shut with fashion tape which solved the issue.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 19, 2013

Simle, elegant, and conservative

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this would be a bit shorter and the neck was just a bit higher than I expected, so it was actually a little on the conservative side for the party I wore it to. However, it fit nicely with high quality, thick fabric, and looked really nice in a simple, elegant way. Would not recommend for summer since it's a bit heavy, but looks great with tights for colder weather.
Amanda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 8, 2013

Pretty, but kinda boring compared to the other dresses available from RTR.

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
True to size but the sleeves were uncomfortably tight around my arms. The dress fit well everywhere else. The zipper in the back is silver, so I wasn't comfortable wearing gold. I took a picture but the the dress doesn't photograph well. It's actually much prettier in person, but like I said, kind of boring compared to the other choices available.
Maddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

How many compliments I recieved from it!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is very comfortable. Super slimming but the pockets pop out a bit if you have larger hips. Overall, this is a dress to rent for any event!
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Perfect little black dress

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a work event which is why I went with the size 40. Had it been for a party with friends I may have gone for the 38, which was sexier in a tighter and shorter way. This dress was perfect for my needs, I loved the pockets and the thick fabric was great for early march in NYC. Would rent again.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 26, 2013

So simple...but so chic!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I've rented a lot of dresses over the years, and this dress was among my biggest surprises. The detailing is lovely (the grosgrain detail on the exposed zipper is actually repeated at the shoulders; it's subtle, but interesting, and adds a touch of femininity to a very modern style). Perhaps it was my decision to go with the 4 (instead of the 6), but I was surprised by how much more of a shape this dress has in person. On the model, it looks pretty boxy, so my expectations were low. But on me, the overall look was much more fitted. It was very short, even on my 5'2" frame; when I was standing it hit about 2" above my knee, but when I sat, it really hiked up (something to watch out for if you're planning to wear spanx or control top hose). This dress is very well made--the material is heavy (it's definitely not a summer LBD, and would be more comfortable in spring, fall, or even winter with a pair of opaque stockings). In terms of sizing, I wore my true size, but it definitely runs slightly small. If you're debating which size to choose for your back-up, definitely size up. The only real issue to be aware of is that the pockets aren't really functional. On both of the sizes I received, the lining of the pockets was split or shredded on the inside of the dress. It didn't affect the appearance of the dress, and it was tight enough that loading up my pockets wasn't an option to begin with, but if you were thinking about sizing up and throwing your phone or lip gloss in a pocket, it might not be possible. Overall, I was thrilled with this rental, and would even consider buying this dress if I saw it on sale. It's incredibly versatile; perfect for those occasions where you're unsure of the dress code and don't want to feel over- or -under-dressed. I wore it to a celebratory work event, and felt perfectly appropriate. I accessorized it with a statement cuff from RTR and my own black pearl drop earrings. Super simple, but very elegant!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 2, 2013

I thought this dress would be perfect for a wedding , but the zipper makes it look extremely cheap.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The zipper detailing makes the dress look like it's inside out. I would not have ordered this dress had I noticed the detailing. I was very disappointed with it. Luckily I decided to get an extra dress for the weekend just in case. Thankfully that dress fit well and looked nice. Had this been the first time I used RTR there's no way I would have ordered from here again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×