MARCOBOLOGNA

Such A Square Sheath

$35 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that insanely chic look with this MARCOBOLOGNA black mini. A mod style for you to show off your fashion sense at the dinner party. Shown here with the RJ Graziano's Upper Nile Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress is most fitted though the hips; consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress is most fitted though the hips; consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (63% Polyester, 22% Viscose, 5% Elastane). Cap Sleeves. Crew neckline. Grosgrain detail on shoulders. Shift body. Exposed center back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

108 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 66
Large 14
Photos 38
marie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 11, 2013

Dress made for someone with no curves!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding hoping to wear a simple black dress with fun accessories but should have paid more attention to the reviews before ordering. The dress has side pockets that unfortunately stick out if you have any hips whatsoever. I normally wear a 4 but the pockets stuck out way too much, I tried the 6 which was better with the pockets but looser everywhere else. I am dissapointed to have to send it back! If you have any hesitation about the pocket situation you probably should not rent this dress!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

This is a great dress!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I didn't actually get to wear the dress because of a severe ice storm in Dallas but it is a great dress for a work dinner or date. I felt very classy in it and the fabric is very luxurious and makes you feel like a million bucks!!
candice
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 11, 2013

Simple, Classy and Elegant!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a corporate holiday party. I received many compliments on how classy the dress was. I think the dress runs a little bit on the bigger side. I ordered a size down as my backup and was able to fit into it perfectly. The dress is simple so it definitely needs to be accessorized. I would definitely wear it again!
amg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Dec 30, 2013

Simple, comfortable dress that can be accessorized a number of ways. .

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I liked the dress for it's comfort and simplicity but it wasn't what i expected. I liked the heavy material. I had to tape the pockets shut b/c the jutted out making my hips look wide. The back zipper is a neat detail.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Not a fan!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I use RTR all the time and just love their service...this review is nothing on them. However, I HATED this dress. The name sums it up. I looked like a square. It provided me with no shape and the material was too thick to add a belt. Even my husband, who always says I look nice, told me to return the dress. Sorry for being negative Nancy, really just not a fan!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 14, 2014

Really awesome dress. I loved the geometric shape!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was a great basic style, however it was much longer than expected. If this dress was a couple of inches shorter I would have loved it! The fit runs larger as it is a shift, but would be great for walking around the town or grabbing dinner with friends! I would definitely pair this look with some standout jewelry as it is a very simple style.
Jenevieve1
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Great Dress for my Sip and See! Hid everything I needed it to.

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great quality dress. Simple, elegant and the exposed back zipper adds just the right amount of edge. I would definitely rent this dress again!
ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Cute black dress

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is probably pretty true to size although I felt like I could have actually worn a 42. I ended up renting a 44 and 46 based on review. I'm about 135 lbs and 5'6". Cute zipper detail on back, the dress is made out of a thicker material so I wouldn't wear it in Spring or Summer. Love that it is easy to dress up with jewelry. It is a little on the shorter side so I only felt comfortable with tights on.
Cait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

I should have listened to the reviews...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to my engagement party in a size 42 and 44 (I am almost always a size 4). I should have listened to the reviews because I ended up not wearing either. The thicker fabric of the dress was perfect (in theory!) for February but the cut of the dress wasn't flattering in ANYWAY. I tried to do what one reviewer mentioned and use double sided tape to close the pockets. However, the pockets are made with the same thick dress material (not a less bulky, silky material like usually) and the tape did nothing to fix the shape of the dress. Not even leopard shoes, a huge sparkly necklace, and my newly engaged grin, could disguise the horrible fit....
Gelana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 7, 2014

just classy

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
PRRFECT BLACK DRESS
Kirstin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

Great dress!!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for a winter wedding. Simple so I could dress it up and the fabric was nice and thick. I'm more pear shaped and it was a little snug through the hips but nothing noticeable. Would rent again :)
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

I didn't get to wear it :(

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, I didn't get to wear this dress. It arrived at my house 30 minutes after I left for the event. I would totally rent it again though. Super cute!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

I LOVED this adorable LBD!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a friend's party recently and absolutely loved it. It was form-fitting but not too tight. The fabric was fairly thick but because it's winter I didn't mind at all. Paired with a gold statement necklace (similar to the image of the model) and simple earrings, this outfit was fun but also elegant. I would absolutely recommend it to someone looking for a simple LBD perfect for winter.
Emma
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Classy, simple dress!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love love love this dress! Got so many compliments on how simple and easy it was. I dressed it up with nude heels and a gold necklace that fell right below the neckline. Fits true to size, but slightly snug in some areas. Not enough to go up a size. Pretty short! But it's conservative enough at the top to make up for the length.
Elisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Mar 12, 2014

Rented for my bachelorette

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ended up not wearing this one and wearing another dress I rented- it's cute, but wasn't what I was looking for at that moment- I do think it'd be great for graduation or a wedding. Maybe a Christmas party- but not a bachelorette party :)
Brit
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Didn't fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this as one of two options from RTR for a party. I am normally a size 0 in normal dresses, sometimes a 2 in shift dresses, but this dress was too tight around my hips. The pockets fell at a weird angle. If you're petite with any hips, you'll need to go up in size.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 18, 2014

Lovely LBD

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit well. The sleeves hit at a nice place, as far as short sleeves go, and didn't result in any fat pinching. Also it is a nice option for pear shapes who would like to wear a sheath.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Comfortable and Chic!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit great and I loved the pockets. I jazzed it up with leopard pumps and an RTR gold statement necklace. The dress shows off your legs but pretty much hides everything else. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Mar 28, 2014

A nice dress

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress was cute. I ordered both the 38 and 40. I was thankful to have the 40 because the 38 did not fit well. I am typically a 0/2. It was a plain and simple dress. I dressed it up with a statement necklace.
Raquel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Great day-to-night dress

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to work with tights and flats and then a statement necklace and heels for my birthday celebration. I wore the size up, I was expecting a loose sheath but this was surprisingly from fitting. Pretty thick nice material and so flattering!
Diana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Apr 9, 2014

professional, can be dressed up or down

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
runs small, has nice details
hmac
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

In between sizes

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The 40 ended up being to tight and the 42 was too large. I have large hips and they made the pockets stick out when I tried on the 40. Also the sleeves were alittle snug
Jordana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 30, 2014

Classic LBD with a casual twist - I felt confident yet professional!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable fit, not snug. Material was on the heavy side so this dress is better for the fall/winter season.
Leanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 3, 2014

Just ok

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got this as my backup dress. Was nice quality but didn't end up wearing
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 7, 2014

Chic and easy to wear

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress and wanted to keep it! Super chic and easy to wear (I got the 42). I wore it for a work event with flats because I was walking around all day, but it would really cute with heels and fancier jewelry. Fit is a little boxy so it's easy to eat/drink/dance in. Only complaint is that it was just a little bit short for a more professional event, and I'm 5'3 with short legs, so if you are taller, watch out! Otherwise it was perfect.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 6, 2014

Easy, flattering, great w/ a necklace.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super comfortable, casual yet dressy, great with a big statement necklace.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 18, 2014

I did not wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Ran a little wide. I did not end up wearing because the fabric is very heavy and a little more formal than expected. I was attending a bachelorette party dinner but it was outdoors and this was far too warm.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

Didn't get to wear it...

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is a very nice dress, just wasn't for me. It was so heavy, especially for a night out in the summer, and it just hung and did nothing for my body shape.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

LOVE IT!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
No complaints the fit and dress were great!
tessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 113
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Loved it

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this for a rehearsal dinner in both my true size and decided to size down for my backup. I ended up wearing my true size and did not feel like it was too boxy.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Classic and Simple

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this for our engagement photos and it was great- yes, it was simple but I wore a bright beaded necklace and it was perfection. Dress was SUPER comfortable and true to size. The only reason I gave four starts is because the material is really thick, really warm for anything outdoors in the summer.
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Great fit but pretty short!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress was very comfortable and fit perfectly. I knew it would be short when I ordered it but it still surprised me a little. Not inappropriate, it's just the style! But because the dress is somewhat modest otherwise, I didn't mind. Loved the sleeve detail, and the front seams are very flattering. Comfortable and easy LBD for a date night.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Its a very simple black dress.

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It wont make an impression on photographs but would look great for a work function.
Lori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

Rented for work training event

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress soooo much and did not want to send it back! I wore it for a work training and needed something professional, but this easily could have been transitioned to a night time dress. It fit very well and complimented my curvy shape without leaving me feeling self conscious. True to size, jazzed it up with a statement necklace and got many compliments.
Tammy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Aug 16, 2014

Great for baby bump and school reunion

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Had 10 year school reunion and was. 6 months pregnant. Was perfect for this paired with a gold necklace and gold bracelet. Definitely looked more put together than when I wear my usual clothes from my closet! Went with the larger size because I looked less pregnant in it, a lot of people couldn't even tell I was pregnant in it!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

way too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I ordered this as a back up dress & thank goodness my original order fit! This was like wearing a pillow case but heavy, hot, material and wayyyy too big. It was saggy and came to a weird length on me - I'm 5' 3" and it made me look even shorter!
Maggie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

Loved this dress. Fit perfectly and was very comfortable. Also, very easy to accessorize.

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looked great with patterned tights and booties for a winter wedding.
Jess
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Very cute dress. Easy to dress it up!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 4 or 6 in dresses and I had to wear the 44. I am a crossfitter, so the arms were too tight in the 42, but everywhere else fit well. The arms were still quite tight in the 44, but if I went any larger, the rest of the dress would have been too big. All in all, probably a great fitting dress for women with normal size arms.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Perfect for a company charity event

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is extremely comfortable and flattering, but will not show you off. It was perfect for a classy work event, but I wouldn't necessarily rent this for a party or wedding. I'm 5'6" and the length was just longer than mid-thigh. Fit great in arm area; I didn't think it was too tight at all, and I don't consider myself to have skinny arms. I really liked the thicker fabric -- not too heavy, but weighty enough to make it feel formal. Would rent again.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 27, 2014

Best dress ever! If I could buy it and keep it, I would!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is AMAZING. I got so many compliments. I also rented a gold necklace and wore them together and it was fabulous. I am 5'3 so while the dress is quite short, it wasn't too short by any means. I also ended up wearing my back up size (sized up). Rented 40 and 42 and wore the 42 because it was more comfortable and had the nice shift look I was looking for. The dress is very sophisticated and elegant and the fabric is extremely comfortable. I am definitely going to be renting this again. This is probably my favorite dress that I have ever rented from RTR.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×