Rent the Runway

MARCOBOLOGNA

Such A Square Sheath

$35 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go for that insanely chic look with this MARCOBOLOGNA black mini. A mod style for you to show off your fashion sense at the dinner party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress is most fitted though the hips; consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Italian Sizing. Sized 38-44.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust and may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted at waist
HIPS: Fitted - dress is most fitted though the hips; consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black stretch crepe (63% Polyester, 22% Viscose, 5% Elastane). Cap Sleeves. Crew neckline. Grosgrain detail on shoulders. Shift body. Exposed center back zipper. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

116 reviews

Fit
Small 26
True to Size 70
Large 14
Photos 39
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Super Cute Sheath!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was really cute! I loved the pockets and the shoulder detail was really fun also. This dress does run small, I was much more comfortable in the size 42( size 6) because the arms and hips are very fitted and the fabric has no stretch. This dress hit about 3 inches above my knee. Pair this with a great statement necklace, and you are good to go!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

Perfect sheath dress to go from day to night!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing. Runs a little snug through the hips so if you're an hourglass size up. Dress was super comfortable and can easily go from day to night.
jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 22, 2012

Great dress! Very comfortable! I was able to dance and did not have to worry. I would wear it again.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Go down a size when ordering. Only con is that the zipper on the back pulled at my hair all night.
erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Nov 21, 2012

Am currently 7 months pregnant, rented this dress for a wedding

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Found this dress under the "bump friendly" section. Definitely a GREAT maternity dress as it has A LOT of stretch. Was 5'2 105 lbs before pregnancy and was still able to fit into a 38 even being 7 months pregnant. My ONLY issue with the dress is that it has pockets, and they definitely puckered. I would recommend going up a size if you want the dress to be less fitted (if you are pregnant!) so that the pockets lay flat.
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Perfect, stylish but modest dress! Great for the occasion!

Size worn: 38
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved the dress. I was a little worried the dress would be too square for my petite frame, but that wasn't the case. It fit well at the top and around the hips- didn't look too boxy. It was a little big around the stomach area but I didn't want to tight dress. I'm 5'3" and the length was great! I also loved weight of fabric- it was heavy. The dress has pockets- which I could have done without because they puckered. Overall, I loved the dress. It was the perfect dress to wear to my boyfriend's holiday party, he is a doctor and I need something modest but stylish. I was really happy with the dress!
alicia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 3, 2013

The simple, LBD I've been looking for.

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was great. Though a bit constrained in the arms/shoulders it was okay because I wasn't throwing my arms up throughout the night. The dress is a lot cuter in person, too. It has pockets (!!!), nice shoulder detail with ribbon and the exposed zipper in the back is lovely. The fabric was heavy and felt nice for winter. Though I rented the 40 and 42, I went with the 42. I wore it with a rented statement necklace to up the glam a bit for a Broadway show! It's an LBD I'd love to own.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 24, 2013

I received tons of compliments on the Kate Spade necklace!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding on April 20th, 2013. I liked it because it was simple, and I could fancy it up with a fun necklace. It was an outdoor wedding (and freezing!), so it was nice to have the sleeves. I wore the size 6 in this dress because the 4 was WAY too short on me. The 6 was a little roomy in the midsection...but I was comfortable which was great because I was 9 weeks pregnant (and I didn't want anything tight). The dress does have pockets - and they kind of hit you at an awkward area. They're right at your hips so they tend to make your hips look bigger than you might be. The fabric is pretty heavy. If it happened to be hot outside, I would've felt silly wearing that weight of fabric. But, luckily, it was pretty cold that night. So, note that if you wanted to rent this dress in the summer!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 3, 2013

Cute for an Outdoor wedding! :)

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really liked this dress - as did my husband - so I guess that's what counts the most! Wore it for an outdoor wedding, the temperature was about 70 and the dress was perfect for that. I was a little nervous I would be too warm, because the fabric is pretty heavy. I have larger hips compared the rest of my body, so the fit was snug there, and the reason why I went a size up. Also, I am about 5'9 so it was short if I lifted my arms up to dance, but feel above the knee. I liked this dress, got several compliments, it was comfy and I felt confident in it. The Kate Spade bib necklace went Perfect with the dress, the necklace really made the outfit. It was definitely heavy and the white beads look more marble cream - they have a swirl to them that isn't clear on the picture. I loved the necklace and would have loved to keep it, it was a great statement necklace! :)
kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

classic look

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i loved this dress. the sleeves were a bit tight, but that's okay. i loved the pockets and the dress was a bit heavy/thick but i loved that about it.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 21, 2013

Great dress for any occassion!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I received so many compliments. The pockets are a great addition!!
Helen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Classy & comfortable!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was an easy, comfortable, classy dress for a night at the symphony. I am a size 2 or 4, so I rented both sizes (38 & 40) and went with the size 40. The 38 was a bit tight in the shoulders and hips. The 40 was perfect! The material is a relatively thick knit--good for fall/winter. The pockets do make the dress stick out a little at the hips, but this was a very minor flaw and did not ruin my night or pictures or confidence at all! The length was perfect--definitely on the shorter side but the dress is so conservative everywhere else that the length keeps the dress young and flirty. I highly recommend this dress!
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 29, 2014

Wore for NYE and was so comfortable all night!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Very comfortable! Didn't really hug any curves but it was super short. I liked that it played down my hips and played up my legs.
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

It was perfect for a high school dance!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly, loved the zipper in the back, and the heavier fabric was perfect for winter weather!
Tanaya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Classic black shift with pockets!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The material is fantastic -- thick with a bit of stretch. Such a versatile dress... Wore it all day and then threw on red lipstick before dinner.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Super comfortable and has pockets!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress!
Candi
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Such an easy process! The dress was fabulous!!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Absolutely comfortable dress!! I wore it in the evening for an out door cocktail party & then an indoor awards banquet all in the same night!! I received so many compliments & I felt great!! Cute pockets too!!
Rio
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

So flattering!!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The shape and style is so classic. Went to a really nice dinner for my birthday and got so many compliments on the pictures we took. IM CONSIDERING BUYING IT. I loved it that much.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

This dress got so many compliments and fit really well. I loved it!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a size 6 and had to go down a size. It fit perfect everywhere.
Christi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Rented for a Surprise Birthday Party. Did not wear :(

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a birthday and unfortunately was unable to wear it. The sleeves for the small size were unbearably tight, but if I wore the larger size it had a very unflattering pooch in the middle. In both sizes the pocket poked putt adding to the bulky appearance of the dress. The dress is extremely heavy which was not ideal for warmer weather. The dress also has an exposed zipper in the back which I did read about in other posts, I found the zipper to be very unflattering. I've added a picture which honestly does not demonstrate any of this negative feedback, all the photos look great because the dress is black and hides it's awkward shape. I would not rent this dress again.
Corin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 11, 2014

Fabulous dress if you want to be comfortable!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this when I was 16 weeks pregnant. So comfortable and cute! Not terribly photogenic, but definitely looked better in person.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 25, 2014

Great classic dress!

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my Thursday night charity event. It definitely runs small through the bust, but otherwise the fit was great! The fabric would have been heavy for an outdoor event (Atlanta is scorching in May), but was perfect for an air-conditioned indoor space. Thanks for a wonderful experience as always!
Sabine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
May 27, 2014

Comfy chic

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! The length was just right and it was simple, but I was able to jazz it up with some accessories. I wore it to a dinner purposefully. I received lots of compliments. Having packets was great. Some people made comments about the weight of the fabric, but I didn't find it to be too heavy and I wore it when the temperature was fairly warm. I can definitely see myself renting this dress again.
Colleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2014

Perfect for a graduation!

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for my boyfriend's med school graduation and it was a nice balance of cute and classy. I did find that it looked a little plain withouth heels or fun jewelry. I loved that it had pockets, but the pockets did make it bulge in the middle a little. Overall a nice, casual dress — and good to wear to an event where you're not trying to show too much skin!
Kari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Classic LBD

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved it! It was classy & comfortable!!!
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

I wore this as an 'usherette' in my friends wedding.

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It is generally true to sizes, but is bit tighter through the arms, bust, and hips. I loved the pockets, and the fun shape of the dress. Be prepared to dress it up with accessories, though. It definitely needs something. More about the dress and rental experience on my blog: http://www.jonesfordesign.com/blog/welcoming-summer
Jacky
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

It was classy and conservative, but had enough personality to make a statement. Plus, pockets!!

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore a size smaller than I normally do because the larger size was just too big in a few areas such as the back and chest. The smaller dress felt snug at times around my arms, but the material had a slight stretchiness to it that saved the sleeves from feeling too tight. It never once bunched up in the midsection while I was seated and I LOVE the pockets! I wore the dress with bright orange tights (Biggby Coffee colors, the company I work for) as well. I got a bunch of compliments!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 11, 2014

Comfortable dress, Great for any occasion.

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party in Las Vegas and really liked it. The dress is a little heavier of a fabric, which I had read about and it worked great for our dinner and night out plans - we were in a few hotels throughout the night and with their air conditioning on it did not feel too heavy at all. I think it'd be great for a fall or winter wedding or event with tights as well. It fit true to size. (I wear an 8 and usually can go to a 6 or 10 depending on the fit, however I only got this dress in an 8.) I liked the fit - it did not make me feel boxy at all, considering there wasn't much shape to it. I tried it on with a belt at the waist and thought that looked nice too. It leaves your options open for jewelry and accessories, and was just so comfortable all night. I'd rent this one again for an event
kelsie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

perfect LBD

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I would love to own this dress. The fabric was heavier, and I was glad to not have to suffer through an evening of spanx. It was a bit warm for part of the night, but who expects it to be 80 degrees in September in seattle?! I loved having pockets and the conservative cut of the dress. The sleeves were a bit snug, but I didn't find them bothersome.
Karah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Great LBD!

Size worn: 42
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a backup to a more risque dress I rented for the same event. I ended up wearing this LBD since the other dress was ridiculously short. I loved this dress! It was easy to wear and I paired it with big statement necklace.
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 6, 2014

Classic black shift dress..

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Fit was a little boxy and on the bigger side. Need a statement necklace to add some color and fun to the look! Overall was happy with the dress for a date night!
Kelly
Age: 25
Dec 10, 2014

Felt like great quality

Size worn: 42
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'6 and about 130 lbs and I thought this dress fit really well. Wore for my boyfriends company Christmas party with a sparkly necklace and it was both comfortable and flattering. It is thick so it was good for winter.
Whitley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Will rent again!

Size worn: 42
Rented for: Other
Ended up not being able to wear this dress as I missed the event altogether-but tried it on because I love the style. I will definitely be renting this for a future event, it is so comfortable and durable.
Lilly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Super conservative, which was good for my event

Size worn: 44
Rented for: Formal Affair
The arms were a bit tight and the pockets hit directly at my hips but they could be hidden udon fashion tape or a safety pin. Overall great fit and perfect for bar mitzvah service!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 6, 2015

Simple & Classic

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Work
After a few dress misses, this one is perfect. Dress it up with heels or down with sandles. Well made and flattering. Sleeves were a bit tight but that's something I run into a lot.
Fe
Age: 47
May 14, 2015

Elegant. I wear it with silver choker necklace.

Size worn: 44
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit is comfortable except it is a little bit warm for outdoor but perfect for inside reception.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
May 17, 2015

Perfect LBD

Size worn: 40
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for an upscale bachelorette party in January in Chicago. It was really hard to find something that was season-appropriate for this party but this dress was perfect. I wore it with black opaque tights, black suede booties, a black and gold studded belt (to cinch the waist), and the Kenneth Jay Lane mod squared necklace. I felt fabulous, and most importantly, it was understated to I didn't upstage the bride!
Mia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2015

Great LBD

Size worn: 46
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress with the Ella Carter Elliot Necklace to a rehearsal dinner. This dress was very comfortable and it has pockets (huge plus!) I am 5'10" and I have very long legs, the 44 fit, but was way too short on me. I opted to wear the 46 which was still a tad short, but was more comfortable than the 44.
Lpizzare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 31, 2015

Great little black dress

Size worn: 46
Rented for: Party
Love this dress. It ran slightly large so I paired it with a belt and it fit great. The arms were a bit tight but nothing that looked weird or bothered me.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 7, 2015

I rented this dress for my boyfriends graduation, but didn't end up wearing either size.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Other
I like most of my clothing oversized, but this dress was just is too boxy for me to wear. It wasn't flattering so I exchanged it for a BCBG white romper which worked out great.
Alexa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Jun 8, 2015

Incredibly comfortable and a classic LBD

Size worn: 38
Rented for: Other
I wore the size 38/0 and was very pleased with the fit of the dress. This was a complimentary back up dress that I was sent due to the original back up dress I ordered being booked. Have to say I was thankful the original wasn't available because I LOVED this dress. Classy, simple, and cam be dressed up or down. Will definitely rent again.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×