Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

May Flowers Dress

$45 rental
$188 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Greet the warm sunny weather to that outside bridal luncheon by wearing this Lilly Pulitzer flirty floral dress. Enjoy your girlfriends company and chat about the amazing Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops and Diane von Furstenberg Handbag's Forest Tonda Pony Clutch you are wearing with your outfit.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Floral printed cotton(100% cotton). Boat neckline. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

205 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 154
Large 9
Photos 134
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Bold and fun spring colors for a beautiful April party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The colors on this are more beautiful in person! I paired with Kenneth Jay Lane Salmon drop earrings and a pastel blue cardigan. The dress itself is snug in the chest; I wear a 32D and did not have any extra room. There was a small stain on the dress when it arrived but I thought it was light enough to go unnoticed unless you were close up. All in all a great spring dress for a more conservative event.
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Amazing dress for an amazing night!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress for my sorority semi formal dinner. I loved the dress so much that I struggled to package it up and give it back! I have absolutely no complaints about it. it fit perfectly, and I got so many compliments on it.
Chelsea
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 4, 2014

Wore this dress to the Kentucky Derby and received so many compliments! My boyfriend loved it :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It fit perfectly and I will definitely be renting again for events soon!
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 5, 2014

Perfect Derby Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for the Kentucky Derby and got so many compliments on it! It was a little loose in the bust area, but that wasn't surprising. It came right on time, and I'm so happy I got two sizes. I could've went with the 6, but I knew I was going to be in it for 5+ hours and it was a little snug, so I went with the 8! It was perfect for the derby, too.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Full Bust
May 5, 2014

My daughter had the perfect dress for the Gold Cup and we didn't spend hours shopping!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was just as pictured! My daughter looked great in the dress and received many compliments. Her friend in the picture also rented her dress from rent the runway! This was our first experience with renting a dress and I'm sure it don't be the last! We were more than pleased.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
May 6, 2014

Amazing derby dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
tI loved this dress and the pocket were great because I didn't have to carry a bag! The dress I wore was starting to show signs of wear and tear.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 8, 2014

I wore this to my Kentucky Derby themed birthday party! It was such a fun, bright, and comfy dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size. I wore it with a simple green earring, a big derby hat, and some nude/pinkish pumps. The pockets were nice! This is a perfect dress for an outdoor event. Would recommend!
MAS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2014

Super cute and easy to wear, but VERY short!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got this dress for my graduation party! I loved the colors and since it was going to be an outdoor event I loved the springyness of it!! The pockets also were a huge plus. I was able to keep my phone with me without holding it in my hands the whole time. The dress doesn't look that short, but because it flares out, it feels VERY short when being worn. I had to roll my spandex shorts up so they wouldn't show. I wore nude wedges and pearls with it for simple accessories.
Uhdare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2014

Gorgeous with pockets!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a garden wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. It was also very comfortable and easy to dance in all night. I received a ton of compliments. I would definitely rent this again. The dress ran pretty true to size and there is plenty of room in the lower half. I ordered a size down as a back up size as Lilly tends to run a little large. The 2 did fit, but I found the arm holes a little a small and the size 4 felt more comfortable. Also, this dress requires a good deal of ironing when it arrives as it is cotton, but looks fantastic when you're done.
Lynn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 20, 2014

I wore this to my husband's graduation from his Master's program.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was lovely! It was soft and comfortable, if a teensy bit short for my tastes (but I wore pantyhose to feel more comfortable). As a size 8, it was just the tiniest bit too big, but that made it comfortable to wear all day (I would have been squeezed a bit in the six). Overall, I LOVED it and got a lot of compliments on the pattern and cut out in the back.
kate
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 115 lbs
May 25, 2014

Fun dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's graduating ceremony/party. This was my first rental with RTR and first Lilly dress, so I was unsure of what size to get. I ended up wearing a 0. It fit perfectly however it was a little snug around the waist/torso area, as there is no stretch whatsoever. I didn't want to go up a size because the 2 was a little too loose up top. Overall I was very happy with my selection and I highly recommend this dress! I wish I had discovered RTR years ago!
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 27, 2014

I wore this dress to a bridal luncheon & it was absolutely PERFECT!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have never worn a more flattering & comfortable dress. I received so many complements that I wish I could keep it!
RTR Customer
Jun 1, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress!!! It was a bit tight around my ribs but the rest of the dress fit perfect.
Jenna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Loved the bright colors!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I got this dress for my brother's graduation, it's perfect for any summer event! I normally wear a 6, but had to wear the 8 because of the bust. I have a pretty big cup size and the 6 fit everywhere except there. So if you're like me and have a large bust for your size, go for one size up. You'll love the fun summer colors!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

So classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
After two days of graduation party hopping, I wore this to 5 parties! Pros: thick material, pockets, cute pattern, cool back design Cons: got told I don't dress like a teenager ... But that's actually another pro :)
Cassandra
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 9, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was exactly what I was looking for! This was my first time with using Rent the Runway and I most certainly will be back:) I wore this dress this past weekend for an outside wedding. The dress was comfy and I got a lot of compliments with it! I rented both a 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the size 2. The dress is a little tighter around the waist but it fits beautifully everywhere else. The dress is a little on the shorter side but nothing that is really worth any concern. I would highly recommend this dress!
Mar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 11, 2014

The dress was beautiful but...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is what happens when it fits your hips but not the bust. I should have worn the 6 but then it would look frumpy on me. I felt that it was too tight in the bust area and made me feel restricted but the hips/waist was a perfect fit. I love the colors and how bright it was. Wore it to a tea party with the ladies. This is perfect for a girls date or daytime event.
Barbara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

The perfect bright, fun dress for a summer day party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my best friend's rehearsal brunch. I wanted something that would be bright and stylish, classy enough for a family affair, and easily paired with a cardigan if the breeze off the ocean was too cool. It definitely satisfied all of those criteria. I ordered the 4 and the 6, and probably could have worn the 4, but it was a bit tight around my ribcage. The back cutout is placed so that you can easily wear a regular bra, and there are even tiny little clips in the dress to hold your bra straps in place - a great little feature. This is definitely a high quality dress, and I'd probably buy it if I found it on sale!
Maddie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Perfect dress for my Grandma's 90th birthday party in Florida!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the second time I've rented from RTR and everything went just as smoothly as the first time. The dress fit perfectly and I got compliments all night. It was the perfect dress for a summer birthday party in Florida. The pockets were a definite plus.
Nic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Perfect for a Garden Party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had a garden party and this was perfect. I tried the 2 on first and it fit perfectly so I never put on the 4. I am short and the dress was ok length wise but boarding on short. If you are tall or have long legs it might be too short for some events. The dress seemed a bit worn. There was a discoloration/stain along the hem that I didn't notice until I sat down, which is why I gave it 4 starts instead of 5. The dress was super comfortable and I loved the pockets. The colors were great. I had a woman stop me on the street to tell me she loved the dress. I liked being able to wear a regular bra.
Melanie527
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 27, 2014

Cute and colorful dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Super-cute design and loved the back, but it was a little snug at the upper waist area.
Piti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 1, 2014

Comfy & beautiful color.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. It was so comfortable and just short enough for a bridal shower without being in appropriate. I LOVED the added bonus of the tiny straps to hold your bra to the dress shoulders. Since it tends to shift a little, I put some fashion tape on the shoulders to hold them in place. Also, having pockets to store made running around that day bearable. Renting from RTR is always a pleasure!
j
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 3, 2014

Wearing it better than the other girl in the same dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like a glove. Pockets came in handy for pocketing snacks for later. Actually, rented the dress for my neice. She loved it
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 9, 2014

Shorter than anticipated, but loved it just the same!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved there pockets, the roominess of the skirt. Short--so I felt I couldn’t wear heels so opted for flat sandals!
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

The dress fit perfectly, was very comfortable, and the colors were perfect for summer!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear for my son's first birthday party but my mother-in-law wisely pointed out that if I accidentally got icing on the dress (during the baby's cake smash), it could ruin the dress. SO I decided to wear it to work instead. The dress fit perfectly. I am a size 4 and that's the size I wore. It wasn't too tight or too loose, it was just right. I loved the colors. They were bright and cheery, perfect for summer. The length was a good length as well, even for wearing to work. The only little complaint I had about the dress was that it was a little worn-looking. You can tell it's been worn lots of times by looking at the fabric. But it's not like bad enough to not want to wear the dress, it just didn't have that "new" look I had anticipated when I pulled it out of the box (this was my first rental so I didn't know what to expect). But all in all I loved the dress. It was super cute and fit great. I would recommend it!
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Graduation

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Cute dress, obvious that it wasn't ironed before it arrived and super tight on my boobs, but that comes with most high cut dresses. Overall good fit and pretty dress.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Aug 11, 2014

Fun and flirty

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The size 10 that I originally ordered could not zip up in the back (watch out and size up, ladies with big ribcages!), but luckily the size 12 fit very well. The top was slightly tight on the bust, but the skirt was flowy and fun. The pockets were a nice addition, as was the cute cut-out at the top of the back. All in all, my first RtR experience was a very good one, and I generally really liked the dress. It wasn't an all-out perfect dress, but it did the job and looked cute for a summer wedding!
Tracey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Perfect for summer date night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for date night in DC. The fit hugged in all the right places and the colors were gorgeous paired with hot pink pumps. I also loved the pockets. Usually I'm always cold, but this dress was the perfect weight. Can't say enough about how absolutely perfect this dress was! :)
Janae
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 31, 2014

Gorgeous bright dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is absolutely stunning the colors are even more vibrant in person. I wore this dress for open house. It was the perfect dress to meet my new students and their parents.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 11, 2014

PERFECT! STILL IN LOVE!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress. Still. 5 months after wearing it. I rented it for some friends' wedding. I am a firm believer in nobody but the bride wears white and so that brought me a bit of concern. It ended up working out perfectly - you can barely see the white background. I got so many compliments on this dress! I loved the length. The top around the bust was a bit tight, but I am a 34G and could still wear a bra and breathe comfortably, even after beer. The one issue I had, but quickly got over because overall it was so perfect, was the keyhole in the back. I guess my shoulders weren't broad enough and the button and top portion of the keyhole sagged instead of being pulled tight. Like I said, I quickly got over it. I would highly suggest this dress!
Meghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

I wore this to my boyfriend's undergrad graduation!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I own several Lilly dresses, but this one definitely runs way smaller. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 4, and even that was a little tight. It's also a lot shorter than it looks on the model!
Camie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Awesome dress! Would rent it again for casual summer occasions

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress has perfect length for short people like me, very comfortable. The material is a little bit on a thick side so expect to be extra warm if you stay long outside
Libby
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Cute dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wear a size 2 typically but wore the size 4 back up I ordered. The dress runs very small and is quite short, but it still was very cute for the daytime bridal shower I attended. I recommend, but definitely order a size up.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 2, 2015

Perfect Preakness dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! Super fun & cute. I'm just under 5'10 so it was a little short on me but I like short dresses. And the bottom was structured enough so it didn't blow up in the wind. Also- if you are pear shaped this is a great dress! Fits like a glove up top and then there's plenty of room for larger hips. I loved if!
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
May 4, 2015

Wore this to my bridal shower! Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great true to size fit!
Kaylea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 111 lbs
May 6, 2015

Perfect Derby Dress

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for a Kentucky Derby party-- it's not the typical lilly shift material which makes it run a bit smaller in my opinion with the piping around the ribs making it even more snug-- it is short but for the event I was going to that wasn't an issue-- love d the bright colors and pattern!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
May 7, 2015

Perfect for spring and summer!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I LOVED wearing this dress. It fit perfectly and the bright colors are so cheerful. Beware: it is short! It was VERY short on me, so I had to be careful, but I still loved wearing this dress.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 11, 2015

Bright Lily colors- perfect for Derby Day

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress had a lot more "pouf" on the bottom than I thought from the picture but it was perfect for a Derby party. I did wear some spandex shorts underneath for extra coverage going up and down stairs! Pretty good fit, not the best neckline on me personally but the pattern worked for the "theme."
Cassidy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 12, 2015

cute, comfy, no surprises

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As others have mentioned its a little short but nothing inappropriate. cute, preppy, springy dress that is comfy and easy to wear. loved it!
Thu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
May 14, 2015

Graduation dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was a life-saver. I rented this to stand out from the black graduation gowns and the sea of little white dress and it didnt disappoint me. Very light weight, comfortable, perfect for my height and so summery. However, the highlights is its pocket. As an outdoor event, the school do not allow us to carry bags with us, which is ridiculous since we need to check in with our IDs and need a phone to call my family. I was super happy that this dress has pockets in it. Definitely recommend.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×