Carolina Chiffon Dress

$38 to buy
$298 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the talk of the party in this one shoulder Lilly Pulitzer black cocktail dress. A fun and unique style for a woman on the go. Pair with the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress is more of a shift style and therefore has room at hip
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - dress is more of a shift style and therefore has room at hip
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Sheer sleeve with pleating details. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size68
Small9
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
September 25, 2013
Cute and comfortable
This dress was easy to move in- probably could have sized down, but the extra room made it all the more comfy. Got a lot of compliments on the asymmetrical silhouette. Great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
August 4, 2013
This. Dress. Was. Awesome!
I absolutely LOVED this dress! So did a lot of other people...I got a ton of compliments on it! It fit perfectly, and was so comfortable....I was dancing in it all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 24, 2013
Loved the dress!
The dress fits great-true to size. Normally wear a 4 but also got a 6 just in case- fit was similar in both but for a cocktail event out on the town opted for the 6 for comfort and it was a little bit longer. Flattering dress and its very comfortable too. Got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 18, 2013
My fiance thought I looked great!
The dress fit great, but was a tad short. I a 5'7" and I had to be careful if I bent over. Overall, it was a cute dress for a company holiday party!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 17, 2013
Fabulous Party LBD
This dress was incredibly feminine, lightweight, easy to dance in, and all around gorgeous! I felt so sophisticated and comfortable, especially since the 10 (my usual size) was plenty roomy, maybe even too big. The one sleeved definitely made it more glamorous than your typical black strapless minidress. I would totally rent this again and recommend it to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 18, 2013
this was a great lbd for a winter semi formal event
a great statement necklace or statement earrings give this dress that extra pop
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2013
Perfect LBD for my senior fashion show!
I wore this to my college's fashion show that my senior collection was in. It was very different than my collection and the black color helped everything else stand out. Also, the black Lilly Pulitzer was a choice made I specifically on account of her death (that woman was wonderful). The fit was looser up top than expected, but I tend to have the problem since I carry my weight in my hips and thighs. It was comfortable from the waist down and did not show my stomach. I am rather short, and when sitting I had to be careful - just a warning! It didn't bother me though. I would probably go far enough to buy this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2013
Greatest experience and best dress!
Fits true to size, great dress, and I will rent again. The dress is not as short as it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
perfect for my sorority dance
It was a little larger than I was hoping - but with some fashion tape, it worked perfectly. It may have just been me ordering the wrong size at the time... but it ended up working out really well. I got so many compliments on this sassy dress and I definitely intend to order it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2013
Loved the one shoulder
It was cute! But was too large in the bust and wouldn't stay up. So I didn't get to wear this dress. But I rented it as my back up dress, so I had something to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
March 25, 2013
the dress fit great and looked great. Perfect for a bachelorette party.
The dress was very short, especially since I'm 5'9". I wore it with tights though, so I felt more comfortable. The sleeve was short too, but I was wearing bracelets, so it actually helped show them off.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2013
Sexy, Classy, and completely true to size!!
This dress was absolutely amazing. I wish I owned it! It was so incredibly comfortable, lightweight, and completely sexy! It was a tad shorter than I expected, but not too short. I usually wear a size 4 in all dresses, so I took a risk and this dress was awesome. I got so many compliments on it! Love it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 15, 2013
In one of NYC's prime dining spots, the maitre d' stopped me to tell me how beautiful my dress was!
I was worried the dress would be small so I got two sizes, but I found this dress true to size. Just because of my shape, it was a little tight in the bust and loose in the waist (it didn't nip in the way it does on the model, but since I don't have her figure either, I won't complain!) but I was very pleased with it, and so was my husband!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 13, 2013
Adorable, simple but fun
I wore this dress for my birthday. I ordered a size 2 and 4, ended up wearing the 2 which was more flattering. I wore the dress with black tights and mary janes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 6, 2013
A fun formal dress that fit the occasion (and my body) perfectly
Pros: good color, showed off the legs, fun to pair with jewelry, true to size, fit my weirdo body Cons: I wish it was a different material that maybe fit tighter around the waist I would recommend wearing spanx!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2013
This dress is great for any occasion! Classy, but still different...I'd definitely recommend it!
I usually have a hard time finding dresses that are small enough in the waist and large enough in the hips, but this dress fits like a glove. It just skims over your waist and hips to show off your figure while still being classy and comfy. The detail sleeve is an interesting twist on the classic LBD, so it definitely stands out. The only issue might be that it is kinda short, so no bending over, but other than that, it's a great dress that runs true to size and is great for a wide variety of occasions!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
February 4, 2013
perfect
perfect fit
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 29, 2013
Such an easy process. Dress was gorgeous.
I usually wear either a 2 or a 4 depending on the dress. With this dress I wore the 4 because, although the 2 fit very well throughout the body, it was too short for the occasion. The dress is amazing, extremely flattering and comfortable. Not once was I worried about keeping myself covered modestly, everything stayed where it was supposed to. This is an amazing dress and I'm considering purchasing it because I loved it that much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 21, 2013
It was amazing! I wore it for the Nutcracker and it made me look so good!
I don't know if it's just because my torso is longer, but the dress was a little short. I felt like it barely covered my butt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
January 16, 2013
Adorable, but too short to possibly wear!
This dress was exactly what I wanted, except too many inches shorter than I could bear to wear. The sleeve was also a fairly awkward length. I suppose I could attribute all of this to my height, but I can't imagine the length being acceptable on anyone, especially with the flow of the dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2013
NYE 2013
Awesome dress, looked so cute with gold accessories at a new years party. It is cut straight up-and-down so if you have hips you might want to go up one size. I usually wear a 2 and the 4 was much more comfortable
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
Great for New Year's or cocktail party.
Very flattering, yet comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 2, 2013
Was the perfect dress for New Years!
The dress was perfect for New Years Eve! It fit perfectly, I never had to worry about it being too loose at the top. It is a bit short when you sit down but I wore it with tights and never had to worry the whole evening. This was my first experience with RTR and it was awesome. Thank you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
December 27, 2012
Fun dress!
This was great for a night of partying in Vegas. It's size 12 that is closer to a 10 than 14.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
December 26, 2012
This dress was perfect!
Fit was relaxed in the waist and the perfect length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 139lbs
December 12, 2012
THIS DRESS WAS A HIT!!!
This dress was a true winner. I completely stepped out of my comfort zone with this. I will rent again in a few weeks!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
Great for Semi- Formal!
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi and it was great! It fit a little bit wider- especially in the hips- than I expected. Overall it was great, stunning with a pair of super tall nude heels!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
December 10, 2012
very comfy and great little black dress
is a good length for someone who is on the short side!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 10, 2012
I felt totally comfortable dancing in this dress and it made my sorority's semiformal
Love this dress! I thought it wouldn't be as fitted around the waist, but it is which is absolutely great. It fits perfectly when you get the right size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
The dress is not as flattering in photos as in person.
The dress is awesome, but the pictures do not do it justice. Unfortunately RTR, did not press it properly and I was stuck with the lining sticking out all night long. Other than that, it's a fabulous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
PERFECT! extremely flattering, comfortable, and sophisticated!
I had a size bigger than I normally wear and it still looked beautiful! I wore it for dinner and drinks on my birthday and recieved TONS of compliments. I would no doubt rent this dress again, and would even go as far as to purchase it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 13, 2012
Cocktail party
LOVED this dress. Without tights it would have been a little short (I have a long torso) but with tights it was perfect.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 14, 2012
I wish I could have worn this because I love Lilly!
Sadly, the dress was way too short so I ended up returning it. I still love rent the runway!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
October 12, 2012
A night with fabulous women in a fabulous dress.
I wore this dress to my sorority's centennial celebration. It was very flattering and fashionable while also being appropriate for an event with women from 18 to 80. Pros: Comfortable, skims over the body, fits well without fashion tape (no wardrobe malfunctions here). Cons: Because it is not as fitted as some dresses, it can look baggy from certain angles. I ordered a 2 and a 4. The 4 was too big and the 2 fit well enough. I do wish I had erred on the smaller side and ordered the 0 and 2. Overall this is a great dress that received lots of compliments from all ages. I felt sophisticated and sexy all at once.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2012
Amazzinnngg <3
A little tight on hips, but hot!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 2, 2012
Definitely something different for a great night! Lots of compliments!
The fit was very comfortable and the 10 was a little loose. I should note that the dress is VERY short -- I thought it was just because the model wearing the dress on the site is so tall, but I am 5'5" and it was very short! Great for our formal for a long night with lots of dancing! I got lots of compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
September 23, 2012
This dress is awesome! Classic, slimming fit.
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner, but feared it might be too dressy. I dressed it down with a black leather jacket with army green sleeves. It's a great dress because it still looks cute dressed down, but can also be very classy. The clean lines are extremely flattering, especially around the mid-section. The length is cute and flirty (I'm 5'4"), but might be too short for a formal event. The only reason why I gave it four stars is because the sleeve can be perceived as silty retro, but I still loved it. Highly recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
September 6, 2012
Great Dress
This dress is amazing. I felt so sexy and beautiful in it. It fits perfectly and is exceptionally well made.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 30, 2012
Loved this dress!
I didn't experience any problems with this dress! I wore it to homecoming and danced the whole night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
August 13, 2012
Favorite
Such a classic
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×