Black Jeanette Dress

$63 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Look comfy chic in this Lilly Pulitzer black lace sheath. A great style for any bridal shower, girl's luncheon, or casual date night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace mesh. Bateau neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Back exposed zip. 32'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
288 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(203)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 28, 2012
Perfect Thanksgiving dress!
I wore this dress for Thanksgiving dinner and absolutely loved it! Both cute and classy, Lily Pulitzer's design proved to be quite the crowd pleaser. In fact, my grandma wanted to know where she could get one in her size! Pros: Classic, flattering, cute lace sleeve detail, family appropriate without being frumpy, great fit Cons: Cap sleeves may not flatter everyone
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2012
Really nice dress
So cute and versatile, but really short. Luckily it was a summer event, otherwise, wouldn't have been able to pull it off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
December 2, 2012
Loved it and wore it with a pair of turquise shoes for a pop of color to an outside engagement party
Loved the detailing in the fabric and the gold zipper up the back. It was not as fitted as I would have liked it to be but it was still wearable and the length was great for me. Not to long but not to short. Since I am short, I run into problems with length but this worked!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2012
Perfect Little Black Dress!!
It was Big around the waist for me, but other than that i loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 2, 2012
An easy, classic choice
Was a classic, simple dress. Perfect for the occasion, but a bit big! LOVED the RTR experience, didn't LOVE the dress....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
December 3, 2012
I wore this dress to a fraternity's formal and everyone loved it!
great fit through the torso, didn't originally realize the shoulders were slightly capped which made my shoulders look slightly broad but it was easily fixed by wearing my hair down. Appropriate length for a formal event as well. Also wore Lee Angel Tie up necklace and a thin sparkly gold belt to bring in the waist.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Adorable dress - sizing is a little "off"
I rented both the 4 and 6 for an October wedding. In dresses I can be anywhere from a 4 to an 8 depending on the dress and designer but based on the prior reviews of this dress, I opted for a 4 and 6. The 6 was a little boxy - the lining hung lower than the lace overlay which I took as a sign that it was too big. The 4 seemed to fit better - was definitely more fitted, less boxy and gave me some shape. It looked adorable with a funky necklace. I have to admit - it was a little on the short side (and I'm only 5'4") and I was mildly self-conscious sitting in church for the ceremony. Overall, a great dress and depending on how you are built, you may have to be a little careful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2012
Pretty & classic dress!
Very pretty dress! I ordered it as a second dress so I only got a size 6. I'm normally a size 4 or 6, but the 6 was too big in the waist area. I was unable to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 7, 2012
Not my style and didn't fit me well.
I usually wear a 6, but the dress was a little too tight in the hips. The 8 was too big and baggy. Even if it would have fit, it was too short for my taste. I think this dress is more appropriate for a very casual event, nothing fancy.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
December 12, 2012
Made my first trip to the opera special
I wasn't sure what to wear to the opera so I went with this simple black dress. I was very pleased with the style and fit. Although the dress is formed somewhat straight it still provides some shape. The dress fit well, but it was pretty short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Form fitting and fun
This dress is mid thigh and has a nice accent of a gold zipper up the back. The sleeve hits right at the shoulder. The lace overlay was a nice additive. I received many compliments on the dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 18, 2012
Super cute, but VERY short.
I rented this for a work holiday party. I loved the dress and the detail was really pretty. However, it was wayyyy too short for the occasion and I couldn't wear it. Adorable for a date night or another time when you won't need to be around your bosses...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2012
Prefect LBD!!
Rented this dress for my graduation and it was absolutely prefect. The cap shoulders and low back give it the perfect amount of detail to keep it a little sexy while still a classy, simple, black dress. heads up for the taller ladies: I am 5'3'' and this dress was short, I enjoyed the length but not all people might like it that short. The 4 fit really well, I wish I rented the 2 to try instead of the 6 because I prefer tighter dresses. Overall, loved it! I would highly recommend this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 22, 2012
Very cute little black dress!
I wore this dress to a christmas party and it was my back up in a size 8. I ended up wearing this dress because it was flattering and comfortable. There is no stretch to the dress and the sleeves make it hard to raise your arms (the only uncomfortable thing about it). I am 5'5 and it hit me a little longer than mid thigh. It is a very simple but pretty dress and I wore it with a necklace that i rented as well. It was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
December 27, 2012
Such a Classic! I didn't want to give it back!
I wore it to a trunk show I hosted at my sorority house for RTR and then out for dinner with friends. It was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2012
Loved this dress! the scoop in the back is adorable!
fits true to size, wore it with tights, black pumps & statement necklace to a holiday party. I wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2013
Love pairing this with green emerald earrings for a holiday party!
I ordered the zero and two as I go between. The 0 was too small around my hips but great around my waist, The 2 fit more like a natural shift dress should! Perfecto!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2013
Cute fit but way too short
This dress definitely runs big - I'm normally between a 6 and an 8 in designer dresses and after reading the reviews, I rented sizes 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4. I tried on the 4 first and it fit really well at the bust and at the waist but it was very short (at least for me). I hoped the 6 would remedy this, but the only difference was that the 6 was a little boxier and not nearly as slimming and flattering as the 4... but just as short. For reference, I am 5'7.5" So if length is not an issue for you, definitely go with the smaller size. The dress was short when I was standing up, but once I sat down to dinner it was borderline inappropriate (thank god for the napkin in the lap!). I was so self-conscious that halfway thru the event I ended up going back to my room and changing into my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2013
Beautiful Fabric, Well Crafted
This dress is well made. However, it's not for those that have a small bust and larger hips. I am tiny up top and have larger hips. The chest area fit nicely. The bottom fit over my hips well but was a bit snug. Therefore the dress looked frumpy above the hip area.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2013
This dress fits nicley in the upper and lower body, but was entirely too large in the middle.
The only real difference I noticed between the two sizes (2,4) was the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 21, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW
I would suggest going down a size for the free back up if you have a smaller bust. It was fitted, and didn't have any stretch, but you could still get away with going down a size. It was also very comfortable. Throw on a pair of nude or black heels, a great statement necklace and you are good to go!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 19, 2011
I LOVED this dress! Super cute, great fit, and not too long on my petite frame. The exposed zipper is a great detail, and the dress looks fabulous with just a little jewelry.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
Loved loved loved this dress! Wore it to two events, & it was so incredibly comfortable! Tad bit short for my liking, but I was fine with it in the long run. I am a 0/2 normally, and the 0 fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 26, 2011
Loved this dress. It was perfect for the wedding I was attending. I would suggest getting your size and one smaller because it did run a bit big. Length was perfect and back is gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 26, 2011
Great dress. I'm usually a TTS 4, but I rented a 4 and a 6 for a birthday party, and the 4 fit perfectly. The 6 was a little loose, and I think a 2 would have been too small. At 5'9", it might have been a little short, but not really a problem.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 28, 2011
Stunning dress. I'm typically a 4-6 (5'9", 135 lbs). Both the 2 and 4 I rented fit. The 2 was shorter, and I went that route. Neither was tight. Simple. Beautiful. Elegant without looking like you're trying too hard. Several people at my husband's 30th high school reunion actually asked if I had been a model. Can't beat that!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 31, 2011
I wore this dress to a Bridal Luncheon. The size 0 fit good but I kinda wished it was tighter, more form fitting. It was definitely not as short on me as it is on the model. I wore my hair up in a pony tail too to show off the pretty back of the dress. The one compliment I received was on the back of the dress. I should have rented the earrings & the purse to jazz up the dress. It's a very average, simple dress but it was perfect for the occasion.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
November 4, 2011
Wore this dress for a business dinner,and it was perfect!! Very classic, true to size, and the fit was amazing. I wore a high ponytail and stud diamond earrings. The length of the skirt is short, but nothing to extreme I could not handle.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2011
Great Dress!
I wore this to a friend's daughter's bat mitzvah. Dress was perfect for occasion and so comfy! Looked great on and got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 14, 2011
It looked just as cute with rain boots as with heels!
I wore this dress to an engagement party, and it was cute and fun. I loved the neckline and the shoulder detail. I was worried it would be too short, but it wasn't. I might have been more worried about the length if I had been doing a lot of dancing or sitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
November 17, 2011
Cute dress!
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner and loved it! The waist was a bit larger than I would have liked but when I tried to go down a size te chest and arms were too tight. If you have broad shoulders and a narrow waist be aware it might be a bit loose. Super cute and classy though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
November 30, 2011
My entire family told me how skinny I was. And I really impressed them by finding a Lilly Pulitzer dress in black. Who knew I was so fashion savvy? On a student's budget, this experience was phenomenal.
This is a fabulous dress. It is comfortable, forgiving, and most of all gorgeous. I have to warn you though the exposed back zipper is a yellow gold color (something I couldnt tell from the photos and was disappointed about because I do not wear yellow gold). That aside, I still loved the look, and hey, I dont have to look at my own back =). Additionally, I just lost a few pounds, so fitting into the size 6 at 5'7" and 147 lbs was quite exciting. If you check out the photo I uploaded (and cropped my sister out of), you can see it is not quite as short on me as it is on the model, so that was comforting. I very much enjoyed this delicate-looking dress and would recommend it to anyone. I usually wear an 8, so since the 6 fit, you may want to get a backup in a smaller size versus a larger one as I tend to do.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 1, 2011
RTR was a greatttt experience! I chatted with Katy a stylist to talk about the delivery. One of the girls even called to make sure that I had received the delivery- talk about customer service! The employees at RTR went above & beyond to help me with the delivery. I am completely grateful that they helped to make the day of my brother's wedding a day where I can look back and remember how wonderful it was. Not only was I so happy for them, but I felt pretty & happy! Big smiles in the pictures thanks to RTR!
I loveddd this dress! It fit well, wasn't as short as the picture appeared. It photographed really well- so when I look back at my brother's wedding pictures- I am sure I won't pull a "What was I wearing back then?!" reaction. Dress was demure and timeless. ("So Pippa!" says my friend.) The perfect palate for fancying up with green jewel earrings, the green jeweled bag, cocktail ring and lace tights! Classy & current! Could a girl ask for much more? :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 9, 2011
love love love
I am so glad I selected this dress for my holiday party. It runs large, so I ordered one size smaller. Perfect dress. The lace overlay gives the dress an extra element of elegance. Went perfect with the Kate Spade clutch. This one is a must!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 11, 2011
great dress, careful if short!
LOVE this dress. I wore it to a formal brunch and and didn't fit perfect but I think overall it was a success. I'm short so it was a little loose in the shoulders. if you're worried order a size down! and the back is lower than it looks in the picture. the material is very nice and the lace is so cute! I got tons of compliments. Also not you're typical Lilly dress, much more grown up and refined
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
December 14, 2011
Adorable dress - runs large!
This dress was super cute however it does run a little large - I felt slightly frumpy in it. I loved the lace cap sleeves and the low back (you may need to plan your bra accordingly, as my first bra ran too high in the back).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 14, 2011
Cute but not wonderful
I wore this to my work's holiday party. I am 5'8 and this dress hit me mid-thigh. The dress is very simple and classy, but not something that stood out in a sea of LBD's. To be honest-- the dress was more baggy than in the picture but still an overall cute dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Richmond, VA
Easy dress to wear! could have worn the 4 or the 6.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2011
Very Cute and Simple
The dress was very cute and the process was so simple.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
December 19, 2011
Nice LBD.
I can see wearing this so many places. Suitable for most occasions. Was a little large throughout. Wish I had the 10, but it was not available.
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×