Lilly Pulitzer

Allura Dress

$79 to buy
$228 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking to have a great beach getaway dress? Go with this tropical printed sheath by Lilly Pulitzer and enjoy those fruity afternoon cocktails with your friends while digging your toes in the sand.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green printed cotton jacquard(100% cotton). Boat neckline. Scoop back. Cap sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
236 reviews
Fit
Large
(34)
True to Size
(143)
Small
(28)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2013
super classy look for a springtime event!

Loved the dress but it was a little big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 137lbs
May 15, 2013
Great beach wedding dress!!

I wish I had read more of the reviews and looked at the womens' sizes/pictures before ordering. I ordered both a 6 and an 8, which is normally my size range (135, 5'5, B cup) in most brands; however, I wish I had ordered a 4! The dress fit ok, but would have looked so much better a little tighter. Oh well, lesson learned! Still an absolutely gorgeous dress on which I received many compliments. I'm not a big print person so this was a little out of my comfort zone, but that is why RTR is so perfect; try something fabulously different!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 19, 2013
Perfect for an engagement party!

I wore this to an engagement party hosted at a country club in Florida. It's a little tight in the chest area but overall, a modest, cute dress. The colors are much more vibrant than in the picture.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
May 21, 2013
Loved the colors- really popped in my graduation photos

Ran slightly large/ wide from the waist down. The texture and colors were fantastic!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
July 16, 2013
Didn't fit!

Cute dress but I wasn't able to wear either of the sizes I rented because it runs so large. I would order down at least one size. Also, it is short!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
August 23, 2013
Perfect dress for Engagement Party!

I normally wear a 4 and ordered the 2 and 4. The 4 was a bit baggy and the 2 fit much better (still a bit loose but I think it is not supposed to be super form fitting). Regardless it was perfect for my dad's engagement party. It wasn't too short and super comfortable!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 26, 2013
Adorable dress. Lots of compliments. Vibrant colors!

The dress fit was on the larger size. I found it to be a tad short when sitting down. I have a small bust and the shoulders were a bit large for my size. Other than the size being large, the dress was awesome. I wore for a evening wedding rehearsal. Recieved lots of compliments. Would rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2013
Loved the colors in this dress! Adorable for a vineyard wedding:)

I would definitely rent this dress again! Thank goodness for the reviews b/c I am 5'9 and usually wear a 6, but am so happy I got the 4 for the extra size b/c it was a little big in the stomach area and can hide your figure. It is a little short when you sit, but not noticeable when standing/dancing. This was a dress I would have purchased if I could:)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 16, 2014
Cute dress, not for me

I rented this to wear on vacation. I normally find Lily Pulitzer to run a bit small, so I ordered an 8, but it was definitely too big. It was a second style that I had ordered for $25, so I didn't have a smaller backup size. It might have been better in a size 6, but I found it to be a bit matronly looking.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 20, 2014
Baggy in the middle on my small waist

I have a petite frame and small 25" waist and found the dress a bit baggy in the front/stomach area. The chest, sleeves and length were perfect. Design and color were also nice. If you have a small waist, you may want to go with another dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 24, 2014
Super comfy and cute baby shower dress

Loved the dress and cut on the neckline and back. However it ran a little big and I wish it was a little smaller so it wouldn't flare out as much.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
September 3, 2014
Bright and happy dress! I loved it!

Such a great summer dress! I wore it to my college reunion and I received tons of compliments, even from people I don't know. It was a little baggy around the waist, but other than that was fairly true to size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 24, 2015
I wore this dress to a bridal shower and I got so many compliments!

I normally wear a 6 and it was big so I ended up wearing the 4. Made my hips look slightly big and I don't have wide hips at all. I loved the dress, perfect for the first day of spring.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 23, 2015
Just Meh

I have rented from RTR before and was always very pleased. This was the first time I was not. This dress is nothing special. But if you want a quick throw on, then it is fine. I returned it because it was too big and it wouldn't have been dressy enough for a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 4, 2015
Needed a Lilly dress for a Lilly Pulitzer fundraiser luncheon.

The size 2 (my usual size) fit, but I had more room around the middle than I would have liked (extra room above my backside). Lilly dresses run shorter than I typically wear, but I could tell that from the photos on RTR - so got a spray tan two days ahead which helped!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 15, 2016
Wore it to International Polo Club event that has Lilly Pulitzer as a main sponsor. Loved it!!!

After reading many reviews of women who were similar to my height and body type, it seemed that the Lilly dresses ran small, so as a person who usually wears a 0-2 in dresses, I went with a four. Definitely should've gone with the size 2. The waist was very loose...or maybe it's because I have a 24.5" waist and am small chested. Overall, the dress was light and comfortable. I was press/media photographer for high goal polo at the International Polo Club in Palm Beach, and Lilly Pulitzer is one of their main sponsors, so I wanted to rent a LP dress for the occasion. Paired it with necklaces from Charming Charlie and did a double cat eye in green and pink with the Urban Decay Electric Palette, which completed my look. Will rent another LP dress when I go back to shoot the semifinals in a few days.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2012
I felt amazing! All I heard from friends & family was WOW!

I am in LOVE with this dress!! I could not keep track of the number of compliments I received! The fabric is nice and the pattern is bright & fun. I definitely recommend ordering a size smaller than you normally wear, mine was a little loose but I just wore it as if it was a shift dress. I am definitely renting more Lilly dresses!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 16, 2012
Fun and Easy Fit

Overall I was really happy with this dress. It's an incredibly easy one to wear and just happy. I would say I probably could have fit into the 2, personally, (and I usually wear 4). Also the breast and waist darting didn't hit me exactly where I'd like, but it as a minor thing and it just bothered me...no one else even noticed it! Got sooo many compliments, so easy to wear and feel fab!!!

CharmeishaMarch 16, 2012
i ordered a 2 and 4. was it short length wise?i'm only 5 '2 but same weight and almost same bust as you.but I'm afraid it won't look as good on me as the model since I'm short.
LJMarch 16, 2012
It wasn't particularly short, reaching just above mid-thigh on me.
LJMarch 16, 2012
I'm not certain where it'd reach you, but maybe chat with the stylist team to check in? That'd worked well for me in the past.
CharmeishaMarch 16, 2012
thank you. I called before I ordered but didn't have any recommendations because it was new.
MadisonMarch 16, 2012
Would you happen to have any pictures? I'm about the same measurements but they didn't have a 2 for the days I need it so I only ordered a 4. What was different between a 2 and 4?
CharmeishaMarch 16, 2012
Madison I posted pics. the 4 fit about the same as two but would recommend belting bc tummy area made me look pregnant so I wore the two even though it was right in bust
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
July 20, 2012
Pretty dress but...

I ordered this dress for a bridal shower and couldn't wear it. On the model, the dress appears a decent length, but in reality, it's kind of long. I'm typically a 4/6 and the 4 was unavailable so I ended up with a 6. The dress runs very large and made me appear very boxy. I'm kind of curvy (except I don't really have hips). It fit me ok on top, but the bottom was very wide and angular. I think if I had gotten the 4 it would've been different. Still a very pretty dress, just not for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2012
Loved it.

I am a huge fan of Lilly, and this dress was no different. It was really cute with gold wedges, and the earrings shown on the model. Perfect for a party or bridal shower.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 12, 2012
Cute dress but did not fit right

I am a size 2, 5"5" 120lbs. Rented this dress in a size 2 and a 4. The size 2 was too big.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 24, 2012
I wish I would have gone a size smaller for my second dress pick rather than the next size up.

It was an easy wear!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2013
Cute dress but didn't end up wearing it

I loved the colors and the pattern on this dress. Unfortunately, it was a little too large. I wish it had a little more structure/shape to it. It was a very straight cut and didn't do much to flatter my figure. I typically wear a size 0/2 and this dress in a size 0 was just too loose.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 5, 2013
too large

the dress ran large and I ended up not being able to wear it, next time i'll rent a smaller size!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 23, 2014
Didn’t actually wear it...

The dress is darling, but I was unable to wear it. I’m normally a size 0/2 and rented a 2. It was huge on me! I could probably go two sizes down, but unfortunately that’s not an option. If you rent, be sure to order the size you *think* you are and a size down instead of up. Good luck!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 22, 2016
Fun and bright!

This Lily dress was colorful and fun for a springtime wedding! It wasn't my favorite rental, but it got the job done. I chose the size 0 over 2, but neither fit perfectly. I am 5'7" 115 lbs, small bust, and the 0 was a little tight across the shoulders, was a little too short and challenging to sit in. The 2 fit but looked a little more like a mumu and not super flattering. I won't be renting this again but it was a cute dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
March 13, 2017
Not comforable

I wore this for a christening. I am busty and it was very tight in the chest-it like flattened out my chest. It kept riding up and was not a "great" fit. loved the print! It was the first Lilly dress I worn but i heard they run tight.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 14, 2012
Tight in the hips and chest

Great colors and cute cut, but very tight in the hips and bust for anyone with normal curves...it also left a little awkward space in the back. I went with my backup dress because it cut the circulation off in my arms as the chest was too tight, but I may rent it again one size up!

CharmeishaApril 14, 2012
I had the same problem.
RTRApril 14, 2012
Hi ladies, thank you for your feed back. We will update the fit notes accordingly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
September 3, 2012
Perfect dress for a beach weekend

Overall i loved the dress. it was perfect for a beach weekend. only drawback as others had mentioned, it was a bit tight around my chest.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 19, 2012
Flattering, fun dress from summer

The picture just does not do this dress justice. The fabric is so beautiful in person, and the colors of the pattern look so nice together. I rented the dress for a birthday party, but I think it would work well for a nice date night or baby/wedding shower. A little snug in the fit, but not enough for me to go up a size. I wore it with jade earrings and tan/gold Tory Burch flats. I loved it so much, I've tried to find this dress to buy since renting it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
November 2, 2012
Love it!

Loved the dress, but ram a little bit tight in the bust. I ended up wearing the size 6 instead of the 4.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
November 12, 2012
Great RTR experience as always - dress was sent directly to my hotel!

Unfortunately I did not love the fit of this dress. The cut of the sleeves was a bit unflattering - it cuts inward in the sleeves. Also this dress, and most of the Lilly dresses, run a bit small in the chest. I normally wear a 2 but needed a 4 in this dress for my 34C chest. Aside from these fit issues, the colors were very cute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2012
grest dress for my boyfriend graduation!

runs small in siz, colors are just as bright and vibrant as seen on this site.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2013
Wore this dress for a bridal shower in April. It was PERFECT!

This dress was great. The color was perfect for the occasion and the season. It looks much brighter in person than in the picture. I was concerned about that when I first received it, but It ended up looking great on. Pros: Color, Style, Length (about 3 inches above the knee. Not too short but not too long) Cons: Structurally, I'm more wide than narrow The 6 would've fit perfect in the hips but was too narrow in the bust area and I couldn't zip it. The 8 was great in the bust, but left a little too much room in the hips then I would've liked. The fit wasn't so bad that I didn't LOVE the dress. I received so many compliments and everyone kept asking "Is that Lily Pullitzer? Where did you get that!?" I was able to tell everyone about RTR and I loved it! I paired this with gold shoes and a gold necklace

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 8, 2013
Comfortable, great silhouette and vibrant color for my spring graduation

Ran a bit small for me, I usually wear an 8 but had to go with the 10 due to the tightness in bust/chest area. The hip area is much roomier than it appears in the model photo but no so much so that it looked weird on my more straight hips. Loved the vibrant color for spring!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
June 14, 2013
Great color combo! The bust was a little snug for me, but it fit perfect everywhere else.

I wore this to the Race Track for a St.Patricks day party and got tons of compliments!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 26, 2013
Wore this to my brother's high school grad party!

The dress was super cute and I had numerous comments from many, many people who loved it! However, the fit was a little strange. It is pretty tight at the top. If I somehow could have got a 4 in the top of the dress and a 2 in the bottom it would have been great. I wore the 4 though. Also the fabric looks a bit different than in the picture but the colors are exactly the same! Very bright and perfect for summer. Would rent again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
July 31, 2013
Bright and summery- but the fit was not quite right

While colors and pattern were very bright and summery, the fit of this dress was just not quite right on me. The bodice was very tight- especially through the bust area. I wear a lot of Lilly dresses and thought this one was tighter on top than Lilly's normal fit- perhaps because the fabric has absolutely no "give" at all. The length was perfect for a petite figure but this dress would be extremely short on a tall person.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 23, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this dress!

I probably should have gone up a size, it would have helped to know the bust measurements of the dress for certain sizes. There isn't much give with the material so be wise in choosing your size. My free 2nd size was unavailable so I went with a different dress but wound up wearing this one. Overall, it was incredibly soft, not too thick, and I received compliments all night!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2014
Such a great dress for a summer wedding outdoors!

This dress is super cute with fantastic colors that really pop!.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×