Rent the Runway

Lilly Pulitzer

Adelson Jacquard Shift

$50 rental
$278 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this adorable Lilly Pulitzer for sorority rush or a bridesmaids luncheon. You'll be comfortable and chic for the party! Pair it with flirty jewels like Isharya's Shimmery Rain Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - slightly fitted above natural waist with straight skirt but not fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight skirt not fitted on women with narrow hips but may hug curvy hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - can be worn with flats for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11'')

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Not fitted - slightly fitted above natural waist with straight skirt but not fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - straight skirt not fitted on women with narrow hips but may hug curvy hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - can be worn with flats for a more conservative look

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11'')

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy jacquard. Square neckline. Gold metallic embroidery at bodice and hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

94 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 79
Large 13
Photos 30
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 2, 2011

I loved having such a perfect outfit for my little brother's college graduation!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is so perfect-classy and adorable! I loved it! My only issue was that I have narrow hips, but bigger boobs, so I probably could have gone down a size (to a 2) for the waist/hip area, but needed a 4 for my upper body, so definitely order 2 sizes if you are unsure.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 10, 2012

Complete strangers walked up to me saying how much they loved the dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this to the National Cathedral in D.C. for Easter. It was PERFECT! I had complete strangers stop me after the service to tell me what a beautifully cut dress this was. Highly recommend! Love Lilly!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 26, 2012

Knowing that I didn't have to run around like a crazy person trying to find a dress. The perfect dress was sent straight to my door, no stress and no searching!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to my brother's rehearsal dinner and it was a BIG TIME hit. I got a ton of compliments and it was dressy enough that I felt a little fancy but casual enough that I wasn't uncomfortable. I ordered the 0 and it fit really well, remember that it's a shift dress so it's not supposed to be tight. I'm super short and it actually didn't hit me at an awkward length like most dresses ( that are supposed to be minis do) it was a couple inches above the knee. LOVED IT
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
May 5, 2012

the process was so EASY!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was a perfect Lilly for daytime outdoor wedding....true to size, not too short....loved this dress!!
Marlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 2, 2012

My experience with RTR was great. My dresses arrived on time and were in perfect condition!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I fell in love with this dress as soon as I saw it on RTR. It was a bit short but I am 5'7". It fit everywhere else perfectly. I received so many compliments on it too.
Morgan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 25, 2012

Wore to the Kentucky Derby, it was the perfect dress for the day!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was not too short or too big in the waist, fit perfect. Lots of compliments!
Michelle
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

I loved this dress and so did everyone else--I got so many compliments in it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I loved this dress!!! This dress is beautiful and flattering and so comfortable to wear. I rented this for a date with my boyfriend and ended up wearing it to the mall the next day too, just because I liked it so much! The dress fit me perfectly, and the length was not too short and not too long--just right. Rent the Runway was so easy to work with--everything was packaged so nicely and it was so easy to return! I definitely look forward to renting from RTR again and recommend this dress to anyone!! You will love it just as much as I did!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200 lbs
Sep 9, 2012

The Lilly dress looked very classy at my friend's wedding!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit well and I received a lot of compliments. The fabric was a little thick and is prone to wrinkling.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Perfection

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my sorority's bid day and I got nothing but compliments all day long! This dress boosted my confidence and I felt amazing in it. It is so flattering and the cut looks good on anyone. It was hard to send back.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2012

This was the perfect dress for my best friend's bridal shower

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was very comfortable and allowed me to be the hostess that I needed to be. Great dress!
Tamara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Perfect summer dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this for an outdoor summer rehearsal dinner, like all Lily dresses it runs small. I think what impressed me most was just the high quality feel of the dress and the materials, all while being super comfortable. It was the perfect dress and the only regret I had was when I dropped it off in the mail on the way home.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

The perfect dress for tailgating!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was my first rental and it was perfect for tailgating. I rented both a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 4 even though it was still big on me. I now know that Lilly Pulitzer shift dresses run large so it's better to go down a size. The dress even looked good with cowboy boots (which I wore due to the rain).
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 142 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Very comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a rehearsal dinner. I got a lot of compliments!!! I got this as my 2nd dress, so I could only order one size, and the 4 was a little baggy. Don't know if the 2 would have fit, but the 4 was good enough! Very comfortable material!!!!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Oct 21, 2012

My fiance proposed to me while I was wearing this dress at my family reunion Memorial Day weekend!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
For me, the fit was very true to size. I typically wear a 4, and the 4 was perfect (and not too short, which I was relieved about). The material is a little thicker than expected, so I wouldn't recommend this dress for warmer events, but as long as you've got AC, this dress is adorable, preppy, and lucky (I got a very important ring while wearing it)! ;)
Ashley
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect mix of Elegance, Class and Style for my Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had been eyeing up this dress for about a year, and have been obsessed with Lilly for years. When I got engaged, I knew- without a doubt- that I would be renting a Lilly for my Rehearsal Dinner. I couldn't have been thrilled with it. I am stil lreceiving compliments on how gorgeous my outfit was.
Angelina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 26, 2012

I love this dress! I really want to by it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Jan 22, 2013

Perfect for a sping day in the sun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for a horse race and it couldn't have been more perfect! Great dress and fit perfectly!
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 24, 2013

Perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I can sometimes wear an 8, so I would go down a size for the 2nd dress.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

The ultimate Easter dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for Easter Sunday; it was perfectly springy, appropriate for an indoor-outdoor family party and I scored tons of compliments. The fabric doesn't have much stretch and it's REALLY thick, so if you're between sizes, order both the smaller & the larger. I have no boobies so there were no issues in the chest, but some larger-busted lovelies may have some snugness there.
Erynn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Great dress! I only wish I could use RTR everyday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My friend, Elisabeth, recommended RTR for an upcoming brunch and I was skeptical at first but willing to give it a try. When the box arrived it felt like Christmas! The dress was presented beautifully and the fit kit was a fantastic bonus! There were only a couple reasons I gave this dress 4 stars instead of 5. It was more like 4 1/2 stars. The dress itself was well constructed although the fabric looked like it has been dry cleaned more than a few times. The fit was very good but not quite perfect. I got a 2 for my back up size but ended up wearing the 4. The 2 fit perfectly around my ribcage and bust (which is more like a 30 around instead of a 32) but I needed the 4 for my hips. If it were my own dress I would have purchased a size 4 and had the bodice taken in a bit but truthfully no one noticed and it wasn't a big deal. I got lots of compliments and the dress looked amazing in photos. One friend even said I looked like a mini- Michelle Obama! Haha! I've already recommended RTR to friends and I can't wait to use RTR again...what a fun experience!
JENNIFER
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Great vacation dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a Mexican, beach vacation. The navy and gold combo looked nice with a tan. I accesorized with gold drop earrings and flat metallic gold sandals. The dress was not too short on my 5'8 frame but still showed a little leg. I sized down because Lilly tends to run large. The size 4 was a perfect fit. The fabric was a heavier weight textured cotton that was very figure flattering. This Lilly dress could be worn by women of all ages. I loved it!
Sarah Beth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
May 6, 2013

outstanding first experience!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sadly I was unable to wear this to the bachelorette party. However, I showed it off to my boyfriend & he fell in love with RTR! I was nervous about renting because i am 6'1 and I have the hips of J-Lo so dresses are always a hit or miss for me. It was snug around the tush area but that's something I am used to. It fit my body perfectly & I felt amazing when I wore it! I want to rent this dress again & actually be able to show it off next time (:
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 1, 2013

Great for any occasion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up ordering a 2 and 4 in this dress. Unfortunately, I got an email from RTR that the 2 had been damaged, so they sent a 2 in another, similar style! I was so happy about that!! The 4 ended up fitting (but so did the 2 in the other style. It was hard to choose which to wear!) and I got lots of compliments on it. I wore this to my friend's bridal shower and it really fit the occasion, but you could literally wear this anywhere.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Jun 2, 2013

Beautiful dress - classic, sophisticated and timeless!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear to a graduation. The dress was beautiful and it was exactly how I had pictured. The dress does not have much "give" in it and it was a bit tight through my hip area. I rented the 8 and they unfortunately did not have the next size up for me to rent with it. I loved the dress...just not the right size!! This would be perfect for any occasion - wedding, graduation, bridal shower, etc.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Perfect dress for my grad school graduation!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was surprised that the detail was more sparkly gold rather than matte nude. Otherwise, the dress fit great lengthwise (I paired with nude wedges), zipped right up and fit snug with a strapless bra. No complaints here; Renting a Lilly is always a win-win!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Jun 6, 2013

Dress pretty - A little worn

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Nice - heavier material which packed well. My dress was a little worn and the gold brocade was coming undone a little. Still nice and could be dressed up with a neutral summer heel
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139 lbs
Jun 8, 2013

Great dress for a bridal shower!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a bridal shower and it was perfect. This dress is comfortable and easy to wear which is great because I ended up wearing it pretty much all day. I had a great experience with the rental. It arrived on time and I appreciate receiving two sizes. My typical size ended up fitting but having never tried it on, it was nice knowing there was a backup.
Katherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

I absolutely loved wearing this dress for my sister's June bridal shower. It was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ended up wearing my backup size (0) because I felt that the 2 was a little larger than I expected, even for a shift dress.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Jun 10, 2013

Great navy blue dress, beautiful quality.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Wore it for my outdoor bridal shower and it was great. I usually wear a 0 and this 0 was a little large on me. Because it's a sheath dress having it be a little big didn't look obvious. I got a ton of compliments on it, the quality was great! Super easy to order and return with RTR.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 18, 2013

Great fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore for a Mother's Day brunch! Cute, casual, preppy, and fun!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

Great little dress for an afternoon cocktail hour on the lawn.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits wonderfully and looks simple but beautiful. Easy to accessorize.
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 21, 2013

This dress is perfect for a semi-formal event at a beach!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner at a beach wedding and it was perfect. I just had a baby, so I was a little worried about a shift, but this dress fit me fabulously! The fabric is thick enough to be forgiving to my just-had-a-baby belly and made me look slim and put together. The jacquard fabric made it a little more formal and the touch of gold in the thread made it perfect to pair with some gold sandals. Loved it and my husband was WOWED. Everyone gave me compliments.
Teal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Aug 13, 2013

Perfect for the beach!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I'm absolutely obsessed with this dress! The fabric was so perfect to wear over a bathing suit at the beach--heavy enough to keep warm in a damp swimsuit, light enough to keep cool in hot weather and the detailing reminded me of a ship's rope which was perfect for the beach! The fit is modest and appropriate for any event.
Felicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 12, 2013

I think this dress is very preppy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I ordered this dress to wear on vacation, but they were unable to ship it due to availability issues. RTR was great to work with to select a replacement dress that would fit my needs. I would rent this dress in the future since the photos that others have posted look so nice.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

LOVE, love, love this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lily sheath dresses are definitely my go-to dresses when I don't have anything else to wear! Perfect for a summertime wedding! A tad tight in the hips, but I wouldn't have gone any larger in size.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

I felt elegant and beautiful

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great dress but very short! As in, watch how you sit down...
Daisy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 12, 2014

Fit perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress!
Tali
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Jun 19, 2014

Looked great!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
had to tape up the bottom its long
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 21, 2014

Great Lily Dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
If you like Lily you'll love this dress.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

super cute and classy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress ran small. i originally ordered a 6 (which is what i normally wear) and couldn't even get it zipped. i had the 8 as a back up and it fit but not as comfortably as i would have liked up top. i got nervous about it so RTR overnighted me a 10 (best customer service EVER!) which ended up being too big all over. i went with the 8 and it worked out fine!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×