Rent the Runway

Laila Azhar

Indigo Fireworks Dress

$86 to buy
$570 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This sophisticated Laila Azhar dress features an abstract black and violet print and sexy one shoulder.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and violet printed silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. Ruching at left shoulder. Ruched body. Asymmetric hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

125 reviews

Fit
Small 5
True to Size 106
Large 12
Photos 45
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 30, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a fun dress. I am 5'7, 141 lbs, and the small was a prefect size. I also ordered the medium, but the small looked much better. Be warned, it IS short, but I paired it with black opaque tights and black booties, and it looked fine. I'd recommend this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. Though other reviewers have said this would be better on a slimmer figure, I thought the ruching and the stretch in the fabric was form-flattering on a curvier figure. The color and length were just right for a holiday party.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered the small and thought it was amazing but my husband convinced me to try on the XS and it was even better!!! I am normally a size 4 in dresses. Perfectly conealed my post baby bump and my curves look amazing. The dress does "ride up" a bit but nobody was complaining about seeing a little leg after I had it pulled down to my knees at the beginning of the night :) I will definitely rent many more dresses!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Jan 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is amazing! I am 5'7", all legs and the XS was short, but not too revealing. Very sexy! Received many compliments.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this dress in the size Medium. I'm a d-cup and the top fit very well. The dress made me look curvy in the perfect way, although I wish the bottom was a little tighter and actually stayed down (I had to pull it down throughout the night)...I assume this would have been fixed if I had actually received the fit kit that's supposed to come with it. It's probably a little bit better on someone with a slightly longer torso than I have, but it did look great and I got lots of compliments :-)
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! I usually wear a size 10 and tit fit perfectly. Especially good for hourglass figures! Wore it to a cocktail party and got SO many compliments.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am 5'6" 135lbs 36C/D with 37 inch hips and 26 inch waist and pretty fit. The small wasn't available so I tried the XS and it fit like a glove. I was a bit snug in the bust and I def wasn't going to be eating dinner in it, but it look fantastic, I felt super sexy and got a million compliments on how great I looked. i think I could have easily worn the small, it just would have been a little longer and less fitted, but still hugged my curves. The material is pretty stretchy so I think smaller girls could wear an XS too as long as they weren't extremely small chested. I can't say enough how gorgeous this dress is, I will absolutely rent it again.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely loved this dress!! Wore this dress out for a night in Vegas and got so many compliments. You can adjust the length no problem whether you want to be more conservative or be a little sexier. Fit beautifully, I got a 0 and a 2 just to be safe and the 0 fit like a glove! Definitely want another occasion to wear this dress again.
RTR Customer
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
May 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit great! Would work if youre short or tall. Im petite and the xs (0) fit me perfectly. Great rental.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Jun 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I enjoyed wearing this dress out, but it just wasn't at the same level of quality that you should be seeing for a dress that retails at $500 (or rents for $75). The fit was curve-hugging and the print was lovely, but the silk jersey material just wasn't great. I suggest checking the dress IMMEDIATELY for any holes in the fabric. Especially if you rent it in XS. You might find, as I did, a small hole near the hem of the skirt, towards the right hand side. I didn't notice it when I first received the dress, but it was there, hiding among the ruching. I wore it as was and hoped no one would notice, but it kind of sucked that I had to worry about that. When I returned it, I made sure to call RTR ahead of time to let them know about the hole. Let's just say I wasn't impressed that they told me I didn't have to worry since I'd gotten the $5 insurance for small damages. GIRL, I RECEIVED the dress in that condition. You should be hoping I tell *you* not to worry. For $75, I think I can dare to dream the dress comes without holes. Was I really supposed to call you Saturday night on Memorial Day weekend? Like someone was going to be there? Please. Anyway ladies, check your dresses thoroughly as soon as you get them and just leave them a voicemail if they don't pick up. At least that way it'll be on record that you received damaged goods. And if you see another XS Indigo Fireworks Dress with a small hole near the hem, it probably means they still haven't fixed it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Jul 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Would LOVE to give this dress a great review but umm... RTR sent me the WRONG Laila Azhar dress! Same cut and style pretty much, just different color. They sent me the really bright all blue one with a black shoulder piece. The dress did fit great though so I'm assuming this one would have too. Unfortunately I couldn't wear the dress that they sent so I had to scrounge around for something else to wear. :(
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121 lbs
Aug 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I love this dress! It fits really well and the rouching hides the problem areas in the tummy and thighs. I rented the S and XS and though the XS was difficult to get on since it was tight, the XS looked better than the S. The length was appropriate for my fiance's 10 year high school reunion. My curves looked great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am actually currently 5 months pregnant and I wanted a fitted dress that was NOT a maternity dress to show off my baby bump. This dress was perfect. I got the Medium and it was a great fit. Pleants of stretchy room. Great choice even if you're not pregnant!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I've rented this dress and the electric blue version now, and I love how they fit my body! I always get rave compliments when I wear them. Only complaint would be that if you take long strides it can ride up as you walk, so I did have to pull it down a few times which is rather inelegant.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Wore this to a friend's April wedding. May have felt slightly inappropriate for their Catholic ceremony, but the dress was perfect for the reception. Although spanx were a God-send, with the mutliple layers of the dress, I felt like I had a lot on, and slightly bulky from that. Overall, great dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I enjoyed wearing this dress. The 0 fit like a glove and hit my legs mid-thigh, making this dress appropriate for formal occasions. My only concern is that the dress made me appear too much like a "straight line," since my body type is already straight & narrow, AND the bottom is tulip-shaped. Overall, beautiful dress, beautiful colors.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 1, 2011

Rented for 10 yr HS Reunion

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was ok, wasn't the greatest and wasn't the worst. Wasn't a huge fan, I've rented better dresses.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Jan 5, 2012

Im in love...

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my highschool homecoming and I loved it! Honestly, so did everyone else at the dance! People were commenting on its beauty all night! Never forget, shoes can change an outfit and this dress goes perfectly with Black heels! I loved wearing this because I felt so self confident and truely happy with the outcome! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED(:
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 12, 2012

Very Clingy!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is verry clingy! I do not recommend it for curvy women or anyone who has body issues, especially aroung the hip/thigh area, because it will show every detail!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 13, 2012

Show off your curves!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a party and it showed off my curves very well. If you are looking for a sexy dress to accentuate your hourglass body, then this is it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129 lbs
May 8, 2012

Comfortable & Fun

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented the S and XS and wore the XS, mostly to get a shorter length; the rest of the fit difference between the two was hardly noticeable for me. This dress is really stretchy which makes it comfortable and easy to move in. I had fun wearing this one!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jun 9, 2012

Very cute

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
My friend was doing a photo shoot advertisement for his business. So I wore this dress. It looked very nice!!! I loved it
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was unable to wear this dress and was so sad about it too! I rented this for my birthday celebration this past year and rented 2 sizes, but neither of them fit. My love handles weren't loving me that night and I was so bummed, thinking that the bigger size would fit anyways. I love the color on this though and if it had fit, I would have loved it too!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

a bit longer than I thought

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved the styling of this but I'm 5'7" and this was longer that I thought it would be
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 159 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Pretty dress for wedding!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great. I wore it for a wedding and had 2 sizes sent to me, Medium and Large and although the medium did fit, i felt a little snug and thought, 'hey if I'm going to enjoy this wedding and want to eat this great food let me feel comfortable!' So I wore the Large instead and it fit like a glove. I had enough room to move, dance, eat, it was just an overall pretty dress. I think it flattered my figure, and man was renting so simple! Overall, highly satisfied. Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Just what I was looking for!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a huge hit. Really flattering fit. I was worried it would be too long for my 5'5" frame based on the 5'9" model, but it still came to about mid-thigh, and could be pulled up w/o being too noticeable because of the fabric. Rent this one!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 16, 2012

Great curves ahead!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a fundraiser cocktail party and I enjoyed it overall. It hugs your curves in a flattering way and the ruching conceals any imperfections. I was surprised when the XS actually fit me because it looked so small on the hanger. The S pretty much fit the same way but is a bit longer. Once on, it looks very cute and is so comfortable. The material is soft and I like the overlap detail of the skirt. I liked that I could wear a one-strap bra to help keep the girls up. My fiance said it was sexy but classy. Negatives: It was a pain getting it on - very difficult to get over shoulders. You may need help to do it. Also, the skirt tends to ride up a bit when you walk, so I had to pul it down sometimes.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress for a wedding. Fit great and was comfy - but didn't end up needing to wear it since the original dress was a success
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

First time renting and Loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my birthday. I am a short gal and I really hate how dresses are usually really long on me but this one was the perfect length. I am real curvy so this dress stretched in all the right places and hid that little pouch in my midsection region. It is slightly loose on top but not overly so. A semi padded or push-up bra works well. Definitely get this dress if you are full figured!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Great little dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! The color was pretty true to the pictures. The only thing I didn't like is that it did tend to creep up a bit.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Repeat renter...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I've rented this dress a couple of times. It is one of my favorites that RTR offers. The asymmetry is flattering to great shoulders and the dress fits snug enough to show your figure but the rouching hides imperfections. It's stretchy enough to fit my curvy hips/butt without stretching out by the end of the night. The pattern photographs well and the length on me was just above the knee. I felt like I could eat or drink whatever i wanted and you couldnt see a bloated stomach unless I got a pic snapped from a direct side view. Can be worn with or without a bra depending on your bust size and what you're activities will be in it. I wore it once with a strapless and once without. The fabric and print hides those "cold moments" as long as you don't need the support, you'll be all set. When dancing it does ride up a little, but from just above the knee to mid-thigh, I wasn't putting on a peep show by any means. Love this dress. For as much as I've spent renting it, I should just buy it next time they have a sale!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Rent the Runway proved to be amazing in another way!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is NOT a review of the dress but of how Rent the Runway handled a non delivered item. The dress was supposed to arrive on a Friday but when I never received the package. I checked with delivering company and it was going to be arriving the next day. I emailed rent the runway and they responded right away ( with in 1/2 hour of email). I was refunded the VERY NEXT DAY! I also received credits as well. It was handled so well, I actually could not wait to rent again! The moral of this story is that mistakes happen but when handled so incredibly well, it gives you reassuring trust in the company.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Beautful dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
very forgiving fit and the ruching would compliment any figure.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

loved this!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was reaching out and renting other than herve leger for a party (i tend to obsessively rent herve)...this was an awesome change. I got a lot of complements and it was a very original dress. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a fun going out dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

Nice Dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was comfortable and received lots of compliments! The small fit nicely and really showed my curves. My only complaint about this dress is I was constantly readjusting where it would twist at the seams. A bit annoying, but not a deal breaker.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Super cute dress that's also insanely comfortable!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It took me a moment to figure out how to put the dress on (it has a little bit of an almost wrap detail) but once I did I loved the dress! It fits great - shows off the curves but nothing more. I'm a little taller but the hem was tasteful, no slips to worry about! The fabric is also really comfortable, which makes it a great dress to go out in for fun events or dinner and drinks.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

It fit me well and made me feel like a superstar!!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a fab life and in the dress i felt like a star!! The dress is great for a party!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2012

Very comfortable and flattering.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Easy to get in to, comfortable and flattering.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 14, 2012

Not my favorite.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't thrilled about the fit and actually made my hips look a bit large
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

This dress was great! Very slimming and fits your body nicely like the models.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got many compliments. I loved the fabric, color, feel. I felt very sexy but not overtly sexy. I'm very curvey for a petite and didn't feel showy at all but felt Classy. No need for special underwear, just a strapless bra. I have a D bust and a 25 inch waist so if you have a small waist and busty it's a great dress!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×