Indigo Fireworks Dress

$86 to buy
$570 retail
Stylist Notes

This sophisticated Laila Azhar dress features an abstract black and violet print and sexy one shoulder.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and violet printed silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. Ruching at left shoulder. Ruched body. Asymmetric hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
126 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2011
Really comfortable and flattering in all the right places!
I had them send the XS and S after reading reviews that said it stretched, but I ended up wearing the S. The XS was just a little too tight to be comfortable. I'm usually a 0/2, though, so I was a little surprised by that. I'm thankful that they send 2 sizes! The dress hit me at about the knee. Definitely an easy fit, though, that would probably fit a number of shapes. Looks awesome on curves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
I am actually currently 5 months pregnant and I wanted a fitted dress that was NOT a maternity dress to show off my baby bump. This dress was perfect. I got the Medium and it was a great fit. Pleants of stretchy room. Great choice even if you're not pregnant!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2011
Wore this to a friend's April wedding. May have felt slightly inappropriate for their Catholic ceremony, but the dress was perfect for the reception. Although spanx were a God-send, with the mutliple layers of the dress, I felt like I had a lot on, and slightly bulky from that. Overall, great dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
November 3, 2011
I enjoyed wearing this dress. The 0 fit like a glove and hit my legs mid-thigh, making this dress appropriate for formal occasions. My only concern is that the dress made me appear too much like a "straight line," since my body type is already straight & narrow, AND the bottom is tulip-shaped. Overall, beautiful dress, beautiful colors.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 14, 2011
Hugs you in all the right places... will stand out until the next reunion... 10 yrs away! lol
I wore this dress to my 10 year High School Reunion - and LOVED IT! It was the perfect dress to turn heads, without being the center of attention. I love the fit of it... the design is funky enough, but still classic... and the one shoulder is flattering on anyone! Wish it weren't so expensive on it's own - because I'd buy it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
December 1, 2011
Rented for 10 yr HS Reunion
The dress was ok, wasn't the greatest and wasn't the worst. Wasn't a huge fan, I've rented better dresses.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 6, 2011
I wore the Indigo Fireworks Dress the night I got engaged. I will always remember how special I felt that night! It's a year later and I still love this dress and wish I owned it.
The pattern is very flattering and the ruching on the sides make this the perfect dress for many body types. I loved the one shoulder and the material was soft/comfy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
LOVED this dress!
I rented this dress for a company holiday party and was looking for something classy yet young and modern. I received so many compliments on this dress that fit very well, even considering I was 5 months pregnant wearing this. I consider myself hourglass figure but enjoyed how this hugged my curves but not too tight. I also liked how the dress came in the package. It shows that the company cares about their clothing and they made it super easy to return.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 17, 2012
All my friends asked about where I got this dress - they loved the idea of renting for all the weddings we're all going to (ie. can't wear the same dress twice!).
I wore this dress out for a bachelorette party in Mexico. It was perfect for the occasion - it can be dressed up or down. I'm 5'3" and usually wear a size 6, and the dress was about to my knees - I had hoped for something a little shorter, but it worked fine. The dress is very fitted, especially on the rear, so beware if that's not your favorite body part! The top with the one shoulder design was very comfortable, no gaping, pulling, discomfort at all.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
May 8, 2012
Comfortable & Fun
I rented the S and XS and wore the XS, mostly to get a shorter length; the rest of the fit difference between the two was hardly noticeable for me. This dress is really stretchy which makes it comfortable and easy to move in. I had fun wearing this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
June 9, 2012
Very cute
My friend was doing a photo shoot advertisement for his business. So I wore this dress. It looked very nice!!! I loved it
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
July 27, 2012
Even though my birthday plans got changed and cancelled, I wore this dress out and I felt so attractive. The dress, and a few good friends, saved my night!
I wore this dress for my 21st birthday and I felt so sexy! I would say that this dress runs true to size, but if you want a tighter fit, like in the model's picture, I would wear a size down. I ordered a Medium with a Small as a backup. I ended up wearing the smaller dress. I did not want to give this dress back. I think everyone should rent it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
August 13, 2012
Too small
I was unable to wear this dress and was so sad about it too! I rented this for my birthday celebration this past year and rented 2 sizes, but neither of them fit. My love handles weren't loving me that night and I was so bummed, thinking that the bigger size would fit anyways. I love the color on this though and if it had fit, I would have loved it too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
My husband wanted to take a million pictures of me in it! He told me I looked beautiful and recommended that I rent it again for my bday this year :)
This is very form fitting; I really liked the way it hugged my curves without being overly tight. The fabric stretched and it was comfortable and light. I felt super sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2012
This dress is amazing. I got so many complements and felt so great in it!
The dress is fitted but the ruching is nice so it's not skin tight...helps to cover problem areas. You can wear it shorter or pull it down to be a little longer but it does ride up if you're dancing. I would recommend getting the extra size a size smaller. Close to being true to size but may run a little big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2012
every one complimented my dress and said it was very pretty and complimentary to my body.
I recently gained some weight in my new job, so knowingthis dress was stretch material was one of the main reasons I ordered it. I got size M and L. I probly could of fit in the S. but the M still fit comfortably and I felt amazing!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 28, 2012
The color was great and it was very easy to dance in.
I wore this dress for a wedding and overall it was really pretty on. My only complaint would be that the ruching around the stomach area was not as forgiving as I had hoped.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
August 28, 2012
a bit longer than I thought
Loved the styling of this but I'm 5'7" and this was longer that I thought it would be
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 5, 2012
Great quality, great service!
I wore this dress for my Bachelorette weekend in AC and it was perfect! I feel like it had a little bit too much fabric so the bottom was a little awkward but I think I was the only one that noticed. Material was great! I felt really good in it, thank you RTR.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 159lbs
September 11, 2012
Pretty dress for wedding!
This dress was great. I wore it for a wedding and had 2 sizes sent to me, Medium and Large and although the medium did fit, i felt a little snug and thought, 'hey if I'm going to enjoy this wedding and want to eat this great food let me feel comfortable!' So I wore the Large instead and it fit like a glove. I had enough room to move, dance, eat, it was just an overall pretty dress. I think it flattered my figure, and man was renting so simple! Overall, highly satisfied. Thanks RTR!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
Great Dress
I loved this dress,it fit like a dream. I received lots of compliments.I will rent again in a heart a beat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2013
SO COMFORTABLE!
I LOVED HOW THE DRESS FELT...SO SOFT. IT TENDS TO HAVE A LIL MORE FABRIC THAN I'D LIKE....ESPECIALLY THE SHOULDER AREA. I JUST BUNCHED IT TOGETHER WITH A PRETTY BROACH TO PULL IT TOGETHER. AND FOR A GIRL WITH MINIMAL CURVES MY BACKSIDE LOOKED VERY NICE..LOL BUT OVERALL IT WAS PREFECT FOR THE OCCASSION.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2013
Super cute, flattering, comfortable, and I received lots of compliments.
I should have ordered the Small due to the flexibility of the fabric, but the medium fit well enough. The dress was formal enough for night around Vegas, but still looks hip enough as well. I didn't need a bra for my 38D boobs because the fabric kind of ruched around them and held them up - I wouldn't go for a jog in it, but it held up through dancing, dinner, driving around time. Very comfy and breathable fabric
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2013
Comfortable. Casual. Yet fun design.
The fit is great. Very strechy fabric. Good times in this dress. Longer than expected and I'm pretty tall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
April 18, 2013
Loved the dress. The fit and color were perfect and I received a ton of compliments
The dress is gorgeous and sexy and would work on every body type. I am only 5'4" and would have preferred it a little shorter but I just bunched it up a little under the ruching and felt great in it. I received countless compliments on the style, the color and the fit. Definitely a stand out kind of dress sure to flatter anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
Pretty dress, but the one arm part looked different in person
Mostly true to size but a little big around the middle and the arm fell kind of funny. I didn't end up wearing but I'm sure this would look great on someone else,
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 25, 2013
The material and color of the dress was great
This was my backup dress, but it fit well so I wore it to the rehearsal dinner. I liked the overall look of the dress on me but it was a bit long (unfortunately I did not get a full length picture of me in the dress). The dress has sides that are a bit longer than the middle, and the sides hit right at the knee. The dress was very comfortable and has a lot of give to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2013
LOVED IT! ...And so did everyone else.
Good fit, stretchy fabric was clingy without being too tight. The bottom did ride up at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 30, 2013
Fireworks for a summer wedding!
Great dress. I rented the S and M, but the Small fit better throughout the body. Light and airy for a summer wedding & just enough color to spice it up from a standard LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
August 28, 2013
Comfortable party dress
I wore this to a charity event - it was cute although it did tend to ride up as other reviewers have mentioned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2013
Nice colors, flattering and forgiving.
I rented this as my backup dress in a large, glad it was the back up. It was too loose around the waist, where the flattering runching should of looked best. Would consider ordering again but in a smaller size and maybe not for a wedding. This was a little more casual looking than I thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 18, 2013
Great dress!
Good fit, forgiving and flattering. Got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2013
Made for someone very tall!
I ordered this as a backup for a bachelorette party weekend in Miami. I didn't end up wearing it because it was so long. The material ended up bunching on my almost 5'3" frame, and hit at a weird spot. Great color, but be wary if you are on the shorter side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
November 6, 2013
Just okay
As usual, RTW did a great job with customer service with this dress. Pretty blue/black print, but looked bulky and the side seam kept twisting around towards the front of the dress. Compared to other dresses rented, not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
Very comfortable and beautiful colors!
The color is more of a purple-blue and black than what I thought it would be, but it is super pretty. I normally wear a 4 and ordered a S and XS, I wore the XS. The material is stretchy and I had no problem fitting into the XS. I thought the top of the dress was very flattering, the one-shoulder is wide enough that I didn't have to worry about it at all and I didn't have any "under-armpit-flab" on the other side, which I normally do with one-shoulder or strapless dresses. The ruching was both good and bad... I loved that it added curves but there is a bump where it all gathers on one side that I wasn't a fan of. Other than that, it was very comfortable and great for dancing all night!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 21, 2013
Perfect dress for any occasion.
I wore this dress for my holiday party and got so many compliments on it. It fit perfectly. And was very happy with the whole experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2013
Cute sexy dress
This is a cute dress but I ended up not wearing it because I went with my back up choice. Would be upper fun for a night out!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2014
SEXY! SEXY! SEXY!
Very "easy" to wear, comfortable, not confining like may dresses. Wore for a night out in Las Vegas and it was PERFECT!!! Sorry no pics! I rented before RTR accepted photos and due to the "What Happens in Vegas" rules, no cameras were allowed! LOL
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2014
Fun party dress
The pattern was very fun and different than any other dress. The style is sexy but felt classy too. The only thing I didn't really like was roaching on the side sometimes made my hips appear larger in pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
January 20, 2014
Everyone said I had the best dress at the party!
This was my first rental from Rent the Runway, and it was such a great experience! The dress was in like new condition, and fit like a glove! I'm telling you, I turned HEADS! Very fun! This dress runs large, so an extra small fit me. I'm very small chested, so while I didn't need to wear a bra I definitely ended up going that route. Since the dress is form fitting, without one I looked almost completely flat. (Sidenote: I don't own a strapless. I wore a regular bra and hid one strap in the dress. It worked like a charm.) The only reason I'm giving this four stars is because it does ride up a bit. Other than that, great! I will DEFINITELY be renting a dress again! Actually, I'll be doing it this coming weekend. I'm addicted already.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×