Laila Azhar

Indigo Fireworks Dress

$86 to buy
$570 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This sophisticated Laila Azhar dress features an abstract black and violet print and sexy one shoulder.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout and ruched fabric conceals abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and violet printed silk jersey. Asymmetric neckline. Ruching at left shoulder. Ruched body. Asymmetric hem. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
126 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 1, 2012
Rent the Runway proved to be amazing in another way!
This is NOT a review of the dress but of how Rent the Runway handled a non delivered item. The dress was supposed to arrive on a Friday but when I never received the package. I checked with delivering company and it was going to be arriving the next day. I emailed rent the runway and they responded right away ( with in 1/2 hour of email). I was refunded the VERY NEXT DAY! I also received credits as well. It was handled so well, I actually could not wait to rent again! The moral of this story is that mistakes happen but when handled so incredibly well, it gives you reassuring trust in the company.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 12, 2012
Beautful dress!
very forgiving fit and the ruching would compliment any figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
loved this!
I was reaching out and renting other than herve leger for a party (i tend to obsessively rent herve)...this was an awesome change. I got a lot of complements and it was a very original dress. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a fun going out dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 29, 2012
Nice Dress.
The dress was comfortable and received lots of compliments! The small fit nicely and really showed my curves. My only complaint about this dress is I was constantly readjusting where it would twist at the seams. A bit annoying, but not a deal breaker.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Super cute dress that's also insanely comfortable!
It took me a moment to figure out how to put the dress on (it has a little bit of an almost wrap detail) but once I did I loved the dress! It fits great - shows off the curves but nothing more. I'm a little taller but the hem was tasteful, no slips to worry about! The fabric is also really comfortable, which makes it a great dress to go out in for fun events or dinner and drinks.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 16, 2012
It fit me well and made me feel like a superstar!!!
It was a fab life and in the dress i felt like a star!! The dress is great for a party!!!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2012
Very comfortable and flattering.
Easy to get in to, comfortable and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2012
I had many compliments on this dress, and it wasn't even my first choice!
The dress was a little bit tight in the chest. The fabric was stretchy, so it worked. I would have rather had the size M though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 14, 2012
Not my favorite.
I wasn't thrilled about the fit and actually made my hips look a bit large
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was great! Very slimming and fits your body nicely like the models.
I got many compliments. I loved the fabric, color, feel. I felt very sexy but not overtly sexy. I'm very curvey for a petite and didn't feel showy at all but felt Classy. No need for special underwear, just a strapless bra. I have a D bust and a 25 inch waist so if you have a small waist and busty it's a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
Comfy but nothing super special
I wore it to a wedding. It worked. I wasn't sad to send it back like some of the other dresses I've rented. The one side did hang down farther but it didn't bother me too much. I think it would have been better on someone taller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2011
Girls trip to Miami!
I rented this for vacation in Miami -- it's very fun and flattering but rans a bit big so you could prob go a size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
December 28, 2012
What a perfect dress for any occasion!
This was the most comfortable dress I have ever worn. It fit so well, I didn't want to send it back! I could have been 20 pounds thinner or heavier, and I think it still would have looked great. The gathered fabric and stretchy material are great for any shape. I got more compliments on this dress than I could count. I wore Spanx underneath but would have still looked good without them. I will rent this dress again!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
December 31, 2012
This dress is great!!! It fits great and runs true to it's size.
I wore the dress for my 30th birthday!!! Everyone loved it!! It's a beautiful dress and I had a great time in it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2013
Amazing and flattering dress- RENT!
LOVE this dress! I rented it as a back up dress but after trying this on decide to wear it to a wedding. I received many compliments on this dress throughout the night. It fits very true to size and the way it falls in the stomach area really hides any extra weight you have there. It also gathers in the butt area so it makes your booty look good! Really really love this dress. The one sleeve you could wear two ways..you could wear it like a sleeveless one shoulder dress [like in picture] or there is enough material to wear as a short sleeve one shoulder dress. I will say you do need to wear spanx or a slip under it as it can be a little see through. A really great and flattering dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 31, 2013
Form flattering. Lovely shade of blue.
I did not go with this dress but it was a close second. Very ruched and would look wonderful on a curvy shape.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
AMAZING dress! Fits like a glove.
This dress is great! I wore it to a work cocktail party. It was very comfortable. Ran a little big, but overall fit nicely. This dress is very slimming!!! Would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 21, 2013
New Year's Eve 2012
Loved this dress! It was comfortable and fit perfectly. Can't wait to rent another one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 23, 2013
Great dress for a semi-formal work event!
Fits great - snug but not too much for a work-related event (at my work at least). Very comfy, rides up a bit but not too bad, not really annoying. Strapless bra works just fine, doesn't show on side or anything. Wore with black strappy heels, long earrings & a standout bracelet which I thought was a great look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 13, 2013
Fits well and flatters curves.
I wear a size 4/6 and the small fit well. Dress was comfortable to wear all night and the print and cut are flattering.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
Great Dress
I loved this dress,it fit like a dream. I received lots of compliments.I will rent again in a heart a beat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 29, 2013
SO COMFORTABLE!
I LOVED HOW THE DRESS FELT...SO SOFT. IT TENDS TO HAVE A LIL MORE FABRIC THAN I'D LIKE....ESPECIALLY THE SHOULDER AREA. I JUST BUNCHED IT TOGETHER WITH A PRETTY BROACH TO PULL IT TOGETHER. AND FOR A GIRL WITH MINIMAL CURVES MY BACKSIDE LOOKED VERY NICE..LOL BUT OVERALL IT WAS PREFECT FOR THE OCCASSION.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 8, 2013
Super cute, flattering, comfortable, and I received lots of compliments.
I should have ordered the Small due to the flexibility of the fabric, but the medium fit well enough. The dress was formal enough for night around Vegas, but still looks hip enough as well. I didn't need a bra for my 38D boobs because the fabric kind of ruched around them and held them up - I wouldn't go for a jog in it, but it held up through dancing, dinner, driving around time. Very comfy and breathable fabric
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 9, 2013
Comfortable. Casual. Yet fun design.
The fit is great. Very strechy fabric. Good times in this dress. Longer than expected and I'm pretty tall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
April 18, 2013
Loved the dress. The fit and color were perfect and I received a ton of compliments
The dress is gorgeous and sexy and would work on every body type. I am only 5'4" and would have preferred it a little shorter but I just bunched it up a little under the ruching and felt great in it. I received countless compliments on the style, the color and the fit. Definitely a stand out kind of dress sure to flatter anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
Pretty dress, but the one arm part looked different in person
Mostly true to size but a little big around the middle and the arm fell kind of funny. I didn't end up wearing but I'm sure this would look great on someone else,
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 25, 2013
The material and color of the dress was great
This was my backup dress, but it fit well so I wore it to the rehearsal dinner. I liked the overall look of the dress on me but it was a bit long (unfortunately I did not get a full length picture of me in the dress). The dress has sides that are a bit longer than the middle, and the sides hit right at the knee. The dress was very comfortable and has a lot of give to it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
July 9, 2013
LOVED IT! ...And so did everyone else.
Good fit, stretchy fabric was clingy without being too tight. The bottom did ride up at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 30, 2013
Fireworks for a summer wedding!
Great dress. I rented the S and M, but the Small fit better throughout the body. Light and airy for a summer wedding & just enough color to spice it up from a standard LBD.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
August 28, 2013
Comfortable party dress
I wore this to a charity event - it was cute although it did tend to ride up as other reviewers have mentioned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 4, 2013
Nice colors, flattering and forgiving.
I rented this as my backup dress in a large, glad it was the back up. It was too loose around the waist, where the flattering runching should of looked best. Would consider ordering again but in a smaller size and maybe not for a wedding. This was a little more casual looking than I thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 18, 2013
Great dress!
Good fit, forgiving and flattering. Got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2013
Made for someone very tall!
I ordered this as a backup for a bachelorette party weekend in Miami. I didn't end up wearing it because it was so long. The material ended up bunching on my almost 5'3" frame, and hit at a weird spot. Great color, but be wary if you are on the shorter side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
November 6, 2013
Just okay
As usual, RTW did a great job with customer service with this dress. Pretty blue/black print, but looked bulky and the side seam kept twisting around towards the front of the dress. Compared to other dresses rented, not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
Very comfortable and beautiful colors!
The color is more of a purple-blue and black than what I thought it would be, but it is super pretty. I normally wear a 4 and ordered a S and XS, I wore the XS. The material is stretchy and I had no problem fitting into the XS. I thought the top of the dress was very flattering, the one-shoulder is wide enough that I didn't have to worry about it at all and I didn't have any "under-armpit-flab" on the other side, which I normally do with one-shoulder or strapless dresses. The ruching was both good and bad... I loved that it added curves but there is a bump where it all gathers on one side that I wasn't a fan of. Other than that, it was very comfortable and great for dancing all night!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 21, 2013
Perfect dress for any occasion.
I wore this dress for my holiday party and got so many compliments on it. It fit perfectly. And was very happy with the whole experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2013
Cute sexy dress
This is a cute dress but I ended up not wearing it because I went with my back up choice. Would be upper fun for a night out!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2014
SEXY! SEXY! SEXY!
Very "easy" to wear, comfortable, not confining like may dresses. Wore for a night out in Las Vegas and it was PERFECT!!! Sorry no pics! I rented before RTR accepted photos and due to the "What Happens in Vegas" rules, no cameras were allowed! LOL
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2014
Fun party dress
The pattern was very fun and different than any other dress. The style is sexy but felt classy too. The only thing I didn't really like was roaching on the side sometimes made my hips appear larger in pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
January 20, 2014
Everyone said I had the best dress at the party!
This was my first rental from Rent the Runway, and it was such a great experience! The dress was in like new condition, and fit like a glove! I'm telling you, I turned HEADS! Very fun! This dress runs large, so an extra small fit me. I'm very small chested, so while I didn't need to wear a bra I definitely ended up going that route. Since the dress is form fitting, without one I looked almost completely flat. (Sidenote: I don't own a strapless. I wore a regular bra and hid one strap in the dress. It worked like a charm.) The only reason I'm giving this four stars is because it does ride up a bit. Other than that, great! I will DEFINITELY be renting a dress again! Actually, I'll be doing it this coming weekend. I'm addicted already.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×