kate spade new york

Marilyn Bow Dress

$85 rental
$478 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Who says bow ties are just for the boys? Go for a bold, unexpected print for your next cocktail event in this adorably chic dress by kate spade new york! Finish off your party attire with a pop of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Pear, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Bow printed mikado (55% Cotton , 45% silk).Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pleated, full skirt.Open back with bow detail on back. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closures. Lined. 40” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
65 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(20)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 20, 2015
Felt AMAZING! Got tons of double takes while wearing this!
AMAZING DRESS. Wanted to keep it! The back was my favorite part (it was low and had a sweet bow at the bottom). It did run a little tight, but not in an uncomfortable way. Held stuff together, lol.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 12, 2013
Adorable, flattering, formal but still fun
This dress is more formal than it looks- it is a shiny material. But, the fun pattern and flattering cut still keep it looking young and fun. The bow detail and the low back are the perfefct fun touch in back. I have a very small waist, and the dress wasn't as snug as it could have been. But- it fit well enough and offered such a flattering shilouette overall that it still ended up looking raelly good. I am 5'4" and the dress came to a few inches above my knees and was a prefect lenght- classy without being dowdy. I wore the dress for a formal daytime event and it was the perfect choice since it was both formal and daytime appropraite. I would rent this one again! I only took off 1 star since hte fit was not as perfect as it could have been for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 30, 2013
looked worn and discolored
Regarding the style, this is one of my favorite dresses ever. I wore it for my rehearsal dinner and party and it was so cute and everyone loved it (the back is the best). The main problem is the dress is supposed to bright white and should have a lovely silky texture...but the rented ones are not like this anymore. I tried this dress on several times in stores (when it was brand new) and it was white and crisp. However, both dresses that showed up for my rehearsal dinner (size 2 and 0) were discolored -- no longer white, more like an off-white dingy color, an even one looked more blush-like. There was no silky texture left either, it felt and looked much more casual and like it was just plain cotton instead of the cotton/silk mixture that it is made of. This is my first order from RTR when the dress looked anything other than brand new. It really showed its age and the number of times it had been cleaned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 93lbs
March 24, 2013
Super Cute - but not what I wanted (and it fit a little awkward)
So I rented this dress for a party, the fabric looks more casual in the picture, in real life it's more dressy. The 00 fit, but it was a little tight in the waist, but big in the shoulders. Also the hem was long. The dress overall was cute, but not what I wanted. It was a little more conservative and not as fun as it looks in the picture. It wasn't as sassy as I was hoping it would be. I tried the 0 to see if it was more comfortable and it was WAY big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 23, 2013
Cute but couldn't wear
Ordered this as a backup dress and it was way way too small. I ordered a size 2, based on what I've mostly been wearing from RtR, but I could't even zip it. It's a side zip which may have been why - I'm very muscular and typically don't fare well in side-zip clothing. Also I wouldn't have been able to wear a bra with it which is just a no-no for me. The fabric and pattern were very cute though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for my birthday party! Flashy enough, and so so fun to wear.
The dress fits tightly around the waste, so would not be ideal for a dinner, but great for a party and dancing. I got the 0 and 2, and ended up with the 2. It is actually a fancy silk material. I thought it was more casual and cotton when I rented it, but was pleasantly surprised by the silk. The open back is a great touch. Perfect rental as the bold pattern would be hard to repeat nowadays with instant uploading of photos for all to see.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 9, 2013
I thought this dress was super cute but it runs too small.
I was excited to wear this dress to a wedding but it runs small so I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
June 19, 2013
I wore this for my graduate commencement ceremony, and it was polished and cute
The waistband hits a little high, around the ribs, and it was very tight. The back of the dress is very cute though, and the pattern is adorable. I am 5'6-ish and the dress was longer on me than on the model, which worked out perfectly - it hit a bit above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 29, 2013
Perfect for best friend's bridal shower!
Felt beautiful in this dress and got a ton of compliments, both at the party and through social media after. It runs small and went with my back up size...could've probably squeezed in to my regular size, but wanted to feel more comfortable. The back detail of the dress really makes it--It's business in the front, party on the back. But, really it's just party all around!
BethanySeptember 17, 2013
Were you able to go braless?
AmyNGSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I was. No issues at all!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 1, 2013
Cute, girly dress perfect for a cocktail party or date night!
I wore this dress for engagement photos and it was perfect! There is a little bow in the back that is such a cute detail. The only thing I had an issue with is it was a little tight around my chest. I am a 34B and normally size 4s fit fine. It was just a little tight, but fine to wear for photos. Another great RTR experience!
ElizabethOctober 18, 2013
Those red tights are so cute! Great choice. =)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 28, 2013
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. This Kate Spade dress was perfectly adorable!
This dress is perfect for a day party. The fit is on the small side around the waist and larger around the bust. Size 4 fit perfectly around my waist, but as a 34A the bust was a little loose. I would definitely recommend this dress for any summer get together.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 7, 2013
Thought I had found "The Dress."
The material is nice especially the flow of the dress. I absolutely loved the back of the dress which gave it that ultimate sophisticated sexy. However and even though, I did order two sizes, I was not able to wear the dress. It was a perfect fit up to the point, when it came to zipping. I am a tall woman and quite slender for my height and am big up top. This dress is a side-zipper and I could not get it zipped fully. I tried everything possible to squeeze my top half in but it was completely unsuccessful and a big disappointment. I did email RTR and they told me to have the dress delivered back to them immediately and they would credit my account - that did me no good, since I was rushed to go out that afternoon and buy another dress, which I will say, was a size 4 with a side zipper and had no problems with the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2013
Runs very small!
I rented this dress as my backup dress for my wedding anniversary. We were going to a really nice restaurant and I thought it'd look so cute as my "black tie" dress. Unfortunately, the dress runs way too small! I couldn't even zip up the size 4! I have full busts so I sometimes run into these problems, but usually have no problems fitting into a size 2 or 4 at the waist. I was bummed, such an adorable dress, cute print and it has pockets! I'm tempted to order a size 6 and 8 next time. Would look so great for a summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 23, 2013
Unforgettable dress!
I wore this for our engagement party in mid-September. I am SO glad I went a size up for my backup size - I'd been considering going a size down. However, with the way the armpit-holes are cut, and the zip up on the side not the back, I couldn't even get the 0 to zip over my bust. So, I went up to the 2 and it fit perfectly. So if you bust is a bit disproportionate to the rest of you, maybe size up for your back up size. As a side note, it looks like it is stark white in the photo, but it's actually more of a parchment white and black. I ended up wearing it with some beige wedges and it was very cute. I am glad it was a bit off-white because it was not a formal affair, so I was able to dress it down (I felt if I'd worn black heels I would have been over dressed).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 3, 2013
gorgeous dress!
i loved this dress! wish i could have kept it. i'm on the shorter side (5'4), so most kate spade dresses look overwhelmingly long on me if i'm not wearing heels, but this one was a little shorter than most kate spade dresses. i do think it ran on the smaller side... i easily fit into a kate spade size 2, but i had a bit of trouble zipping this one up! not small enough for me to warrant sizing up, but if you're in between sizes, definitely consider ordering a size up as a back up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
November 13, 2013
The back makes the dress!
I loved this dress so much I didn't want to send it back! It was perfect for my boyfriend's launch party for his new iPhone application which uses a bow tie for the logo! The bow ties are super cute and the low cut back shows just enough skin. I typically wear a size 4 but the size 6 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2013
Great material, totally eye-catching
Loved this dress! Ran small tho and had no time to exchange :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
November 11, 2014
Too small, not the dresses fault :)
This dress was way too small! I was in between 14's and 16's and I knew I was taking a risk but I hadn't worn Kate Spade before so I gave it a shot. The dress was cute but much too small for me. It was also the first time I had rented a dress from RTR that looked worn out. The fabric almost looked dingy. Not my favorite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
May 22, 2013
So Cute and Classy
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. It was one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever worn. I felt formal in my bow tie print yet casual in my comfort. Its the perfect pairing of sexy and cute with an open back and subtle bow. Altogether it was a great look; especially for a graduation! My only complaint was the length, it was much shorter than I expected!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
September 8, 2013
The most perfect anniversary photo shoot dress! I felt like Audrey.
I normally wear 00 in Kate Spade, but I wore the 0 in this one due to the boob area being too tight in the 00. I felt AMAZING in this dress!
StacySeptember 14, 2013
this is adorable, love yours shoes!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 9, 2013
Adorable!
To me this runs just a tad small, but not by much! This dress is SO adorable. Cannot say enough good things about how cute it is!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 22, 2013
Cute back
This dress is cute, and the back makes the dress in my opinion. I've found that Kate Spade dresses aren't great for those with broad, athletic shoulders so unfortunately I wasn't able to wear this dress. At 5'10", this dress was also quite short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2013
Cute bow ties! Love the low back
The dress is unbelievably cute. For me, the ribs area was a bit tighter than I expected - but everything else about the dress - the skirt, flare, etc. was true to size. Would recommend dressing it up with a colored necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2013
Perfect for a shower.
The dress has such a cute bow print! It was really comfortable to wear. Loved it. Would rent again.
JordanApril 6, 2013
What kind of bra did you wear?
SarahApril 23, 2013
you would have to wear a stick-on bra - too low in the back for regular or even strapless
KatieMay 3, 2013
I went no bra and it wasn't an issue
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 31, 2013
Gorgeous dress, perfect fit!
This dress is super flattering and comfortable! It's not too revealing but has a fantastic open back for that little bit of daring.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 5, 2013
Tons of compliments!
Was a little snug, but a 4 fit just fine. Would recommend ordering one size up from normal size to be safe.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 7, 2013
This dress is total girly perfection.
Fit perfectly. The back is to die for (had to wear a stick-on bra, totally worth it). Got so many compliments all night. It was comfortable and nothing like what anyone else was wearing. When you wear this dress, you can just keep recycling the same lame joke of "they said the dress code was black tie!" and everyone will laugh and tell you that you're adorable.
BethanyJuly 18, 2013
Could you have gotten away with no bra--or was the material not thick enough?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2013
SO MANY COMPLIMENTS
The dress was killer! As some of the other ladies mentioned, it is an extremely comfy dress, just a tad big in the shoulders.
RachelJuly 31, 2013
did you wear a bra? or was it comfortable where the dress held you in
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2013
Everyone at the party loved my dress. I don't think there was one woman that didn't tell me that.
I have a small chest so i needed to wear a bra with it. Otherwise it would have been baggy on the bust lines.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
May 2, 2013
very pleased with experience!
LOVVEEEDDD THE DRESS!!!!! but,Thanfully the size 4 fit and I was able to wear this dress, instead of the alternative size 2 bc the hem was out of the dress when I received the shipment.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
May 3, 2013
what a great dress! fun and easy to wear
fit great, easy to zip up, really flattering i got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2013
Beautiful, Fun Dress
I rented this for my graduation. All the sizes were rented out except for the 0, but I called RTR and they said that Kate Spade runs slightly large so I decided to go for it. Sadly, my rib cage was too large and it did not zip up! But the dress was absolutely beautiful--made out of a heavier cotton and flaring out at the hip for a great silhouette. I cannot wait to rent it again in a size 2 or 4!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2013
I used this for our engagement session, and received a lot of compliments on the dress.
The dress is adorable, and fits great.
KatieJune 6, 2013
beautiful! great idea!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 14, 2013
Easily fit in for 2 different events.
This dress is cute, sexy and comfortable and fun. I am considering buying it. I wore it to a political event in the early evening with a hot pink suit jacket, then just took the jacket off for another party later in the evening to expose the low back. I have a larger bust, but was still able to wear it without a bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2013
UNFORGETTABLE GORGEOUS DRESS!!
Everything was absolutely perfect about this dress! I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and I got millions of compliments on this dress! The back of the dress is adorable. The length is perfect for a more formal affair but the part backless dress makes it super fun and flirty! The material is so soft but can wrinkle easily! I did not want to take this dress off or send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
June 21, 2013
Felt like a LADY & a DOLL.
This dress is perfection. I ordered the 4 & the 6 since I have a smallish waist and bigger hips/butt. The 4 fit like a dream because the waist is really the only part that cinches in. The material has a little sheen so it's nice enough to wear to a cocktail party but casual enough for day. Pair it with a pair of retro inspired or bold colored heels (I chose fuschia retro ones). I didn't end up wearing the necklace I got with it because the bows by the neck made it seem too busy. I'd pair withe earrings/fun bracelet only. I wore this for my birthday party at a cupcake shop and it was better than I could have ever hoped. I wore it thinking it's my birthday so I can wear something fun, who cares, but it was crazy how even guys at the bars after the party ended kept saying how much they loved my dress. This is the kind of dress that's made for RTR. Really fun, stand out, and memorable to the point that if you take pics in it, you basically can't wear it again so there's no point in owning. If you have a body like mine (busty, hippy, booty with smaller waist), RENT. THIS. DRESS.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 23, 2013
I wore this dress to a fab gay wedding in Brooklyn and it was a hit!
Great fit and length!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2013
Perfect for a wedding luncheon or graduation
This dress' print got lots of compliments and has a great '60s era full skirt with a dramatic back. It's great for a daytime occasion on the formal side. The front is conservative but the back livens it up. Stick-on bra only.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 28, 2013
I got SO MANY compliments from girls, guys...everyone! The design makes it casual "black tie."
It is cut perfectly. The waist falls just above the belly bottom, so it perfectly conceals your belly and you can breathe, drink and move with ease! The fabric is also a softer, silk material and makes it look very expensive. Cannot stress enough how much I loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
July 3, 2013
Did not wear. :(
I needed a 2. The only sizes available were for a 00 & 0. I have rented Kate Spade before & she typically runs large so I thought I would wing it. Once I found out they didn't fit I called RTR & they overnighted me new Kate Spade dresses at no additional charge. A friend that is smaller than we was able to wear these & RAVED about the experience. All in all, this dress is ADORABLE--just wasn't available in my size. I may try to rent the 2 & the 4 in the future for a perfect fit. :)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×