kate spade new york

Hole in One Dress

$99 to buy
$398 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look fabulously chic in this kate spade new york black and white dress for the derby party! Grab that mojito and enjoy the race! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Also available in pink.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at bust
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white cotton lycra. Scoop neckline. Scoop back. Pleated full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 39'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
459 reviews
Fit
Large
(51)
True to Size
(392)
Small
(14)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2012
Fabulous Dress. . .
The dress was beautiful. It fit just as expected. I wore my normal size, 6. I do have to say that the chest was a little tight, but not so much so that the dress looked bad, or was uncomfortable. I got compliments on it all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
Such a great dress!!
This dress was perfect for the country club wedding I attended this summer. It is so classic and goes great with black or nude pumps. I added a layered strand of pearls to jazz up the neckline. I received SO many complements on this dress, and it was super comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 13, 2012
classy cute & comfortable
I rented this dress for a wedding shower hosted by my boyfriend's family. It was an upscale backyard cookout and this dress was perfect. It's easy to accessorize however you want and I received compliments on it all night. It ran just a little small but not anything super noticeable. I would just use your backup to go a size up from your usual size because there wasn't a huge change between sizes!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 13, 2012
Women were amazed the dress was rented and shocked at the ease in which I ordered, received and needed to ship back! Even more.. the options of dresses to choose from!
The fit was true to size. The fabric was so soft and movable!! It was a real show stopper for the country club wedding! I felt proud to wear it! It was also easy to accessorize!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
Girly & Cute
This dress is lovely! The fit is great, with some give on the top for those of us with ample chests. The bottom is actually more of a cream & black rather than white. The lower scooped back is very flattering, although high enough that a full-support bra still fits comfortably. Got many compliments during the event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Great for casual weddings
I usually wear a 10, and got this dress in and 8 and a 10 because of the full skirt. The 8 fit perfectly. The skirt is full and it comes with an adorable belt, also.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
August 15, 2012
perfect!
The dress was perfect for my event and exactly as described!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2012
Feeling like a million dollars!
I rented this dress for a wedding that was held on a golf course in Lake Geneva, WI. The material is light weight enough that I was kept cool, but substantial where I could tell the quality was superb. I received so many compliments on the dress and felt it was so appropriate for such an occasion! 3 days after I wore the dress Samantha Gunthrie was wearing it on the Today show!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 15, 2012
For our golf tournament party, the name of the dress was quite fitting.
Fittingly, I wore this to my fiance's golf tournament party. Since the summer weather was a bit more on the chilly side, I felt a bit more covered up and appropriate for the event. While I dressed it up a bit with a fun necklace, you really don't need much for this dress. I will say that the size 8 was a bit snug in the waist, but the 10 would have been a bit too roomy up top. Fortunately the belt could be adjusted to provide a little more room after a nice helping of dinner and dessert.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 19, 2012
Classic Bridal Shower Dress
My first experience with RTR and I couldn't have been more pleased. This was an elegant dress that I wore for my bridal shower. I received so many compliments, and then disbelief when I revealed I was borrowing it for the weekend. The dress hits at the knee for shorties - but nothing that can't be fixed with a little hemming tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2012
I felt so beautiful and had such ease chasing around my toddler daughter.
If I weren’t happily married, I might consider marrying this dress. It was perfect for me! I loved the soft fabric, and the dress was perfect for an outdoor event. Since the occasion I rented a dress for was a family wedding and my toddler daughter was the flower girl, I had a couple of requirements for my selection: 1) It had to be comfortable; 2) I had to feel beautiful; 3) The dress had to have a timeless feel since these pictures would be in my family’s for decades to come, and; 4) I had to have the ability to chase around a toddler and bend down with ease (trust me, a ton of dresses were cut out of my list immediately for this reason alone ;) ). This Kate Spade dress met all of the above requirements, and I received so many compliments all night! I haven’t felt -this- gorgeous in quite some time. It looked great with a nude flat (I was walking in grass) and a bright earring!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 21, 2012
Great Dress!
I wore this dress to my best friend's wedding. I also rented the crystal necklace reommended by RTR and it totally made the outfit. The dress fit true to size and was very comfortable. My only issue was that it was a bit wrinkled when I took it out of the package, but with some time in a steamy bathroom, the problem was resolved.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 205lbs
August 21, 2012
"You look AMAZING in that dress" - from the bride!
This dress was amazing. I got compliments all evening. I am 5'10, weigh 168 lbs and have a large bust. The belt that comes with the dress is perfect for cinching the waist. The back of the dress is cut lower than the front which is very nice (and classy) look. I wore a size ten which was very true to size. Not too big not too small. I will say that the stripes are not exactly black and white. It's sort of black and cream/beige (but shows up white in pictures taken with flash). I will also recommend ironing the pleats because some got lost when the dress was mailed and then in my luggage during the flight to the wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2012
Preppy Chic for Bridal Shower
Very Cute and true to size. A little long with the length, but I am petite at 5'3. Loved the cute bow belt with it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 27, 2012
This was a special day for me and rent the runway gave me a special dress for it!
I wore this to my bridal shower and LOVED it! It was everything I wanted! It came right on time and was clean and pressed! I got so many compliments! Thank you so much Rent the Runway for making me look fabulous at my bridal shower!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
When we arrived at the polo grounds, I fit right in and got so many compliments! I didn't want to wait for the professional photos to review this.
I rented this beauty over Labor Day weekend for my first ever polo match in CT, and it couldn't have been more perfect. I paired it with a big floppy black hat and the Lee Angel "Tie Up in Crystal Necklace" and Nicole Miller "Star Light Star Bright" bracelet and open toed flats to make the full outfit. I'm petite (5'3") with a solid atheltic build (~130 lbs), and the size 4 looked like it had been made for my body. One caution--if you're traveling, this may not be the dress for the job. The material, while of good quality (felt like poplin/lycra, with a good bit of give), shows wear and wrinkles very easily. There were some subtle water stains on the taupe stripes that you could really only see up close, and I did have to iron the dress when I received it. That said, if you like classic, understated style and you're thinking of renting this, I say go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2012
Cute!
Great dress! A little more casual then it looks in the pictures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2012
Great fit... perfect dress to show off my recent weight loss! :)
This dress was fantastic! The cut is great, the belt is the perfect accent, can wear a regular bra with it even though the back is low. Everyone was complimenting me and I gladly spread the word about RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2012
Great graduation dinner dress!
I rented this dress for my grad school graduation dinner. I'm typically between a 4 and a 6 and size 6 fit snugly. I did find the natural waste of the dress (where the belt hits) a little higher on me than my natural waste line. So I took the belt out of the loops and that fixed the problem. I'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels which made the dress hit me right above the knee. Great length. This is a truly beautiful dress. It's flattering and unique. It doesn't wrinkle very easily. I'm thinking of purchasing it since it's available through the designers site right now.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
September 13, 2012
the skirt makes dancing fun!
the dress fits true to size, i own several kate spade dresses and they tend to work for me. the skirt is great for dancing at a wedding. the cute bow belt adds a little shine. i wore the dress with gold strappy sandals to dress it up a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2012
My favorite dress that I have rented.
Classic and chic. I was looking for a dress that was classy, chic and somewhat preppy (this was for a Rehearsal Dinner at the Harvard Club). A fun twist on the LBD, this dress fit the bill. The patent leather bow belt was just the icing on the cake; adorable. Plus, my RTR experience was phenomenal. This was an out-of-town event in NYC, and I requested that the dress be delivered by 12 pm on a certain day. It came at 10 am!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 16, 2012
Very classy!
This is a great dress because its classy and sexy at the same time. I wore it to a wedding and got many compliments. I'm about 5'6" and it went to my knees. My husband said it was the best dress I've rented so far, he loved it. The only thing I would change about it is that my torso is long, so the pleats started pretty high up on the dress, which made me look a little wider than I am since they puff out a little bit. Other than that, it was beautiful and I was glad I rented it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2012
LOVED this dress - perfect for a wedding or after 5 event!
The dress fit very true to size. The top part is a very fitted look with a beautifully done full skirt that is tailored by wide pleats. The small accented patent leather belt is a nice accent! I wore a series of different length/type pearl necklases with it, pearl earrings, and lots of pearl bracelets. Finished off with black shoes and purse I received many compliments and had a blast dancing the night away with such a fun skirt!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2012
AWESOME! I had someone tell me I looked like Kate Middleton.
Fit perfect. I loved everything about the dress. I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
September 18, 2012
Delightful
I wore this dress for graduation from law school and it was perfect for the occassion. Classy and feminine.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 19, 2012
You can't go wrong with classy black and white and Kate Spade!
The style is a no brainer when it comes to fitting any body type. The cute black and white stripes are great for any occasion, and can take you from day to night.
Gillian October 23, 2012
I am 5'7, 125 pounds, 32A, but I usually wear a size 4. I see you usually wear a size 0. Is that because nicer/designer brands run smaller? You look great in this dress! : )
JacquelineOctober 27, 2012
Hey Hope! If you're normally a 4, I would suggest ordering a 4 and a 2 just to be safe. With the style of this dress you really only need to focus on waist and bust. I actually bought a Burberry London dress (on sale!) and it was a size 6! I think it just varies on designer and the cut.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
September 24, 2012
Loved it!,
The fit is true to size and is flattering for pear shapes. The fabric is a lighter weight cotton than I expected but was still substantial enough to give some fullness to the pleats. I paired it with a skinny black patent belt, black tights, and black suede booties. The tights and booties made it feel a bit more edgy than the classic lines of the dress. I received many compliments! I would love to have the dress as part of my permanent wardrobe -- I could get a lot of wear from it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2012
Yes! Majorly flattering
This dress is even cuter in person. I wore it with red wedges, and everyone loved it. The little patent leather belt dresses it up, and the length and material are perfect. The top is fitted and flattering, and the full skirt is great for hips/thighs. I loved this dress and was sad to mail it back.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2012
Comfort and sophistication!!!
I absolutely adore this dress. I rented it for a summer wedding and it was perfect. Super lightweight material and the dress was loose in the bottom so dancing was a breeze. I wasnt sure how tight the top part would be but it really does fit true to size. I'm flat on top but I've got some hips and the size 2 still fit since after the waist the dress just flares out and swings. I'm 5'6" and the dress came close to my knees- not as short as in the picture. It does wrinkle fairly easily (it's cotton after all), but I would totally recommend this to anyone looking for a simple, comfortable but stylish dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
September 26, 2012
I felt beautiful in this dress. It was wonderfully classic!
I absolutely loved this dress! It was perfect for a summer wedding at the Cleveland Botanical Garden. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 27, 2012
Best Dress Ever!
I got this dress in both the 6 and 8 as other reviews said it ran a bit small. It fit completely true to size on me. I'm 5'9 (typically wear a 6) and the skirt hit just above the knee. The waist on this dress is lovely - it makes your waist appear tiny - especially with the belt. Honestly, I did not want to send this dress back! It was comfortable and incredibly flattering. My favorite part about the dress is how versatile it can be. I dressed it up with some jewelery, shiny clutch, and purple shawl...however, you could totally wear this to brunch too. It's a do over!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
September 29, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress thought it was so adorable and classy!
I unfortunately could not wear the dress because my event got canceled but I did try it on and loved it and so wished I could of worn it. The 0 ended up fitting and it was very comfortable. I would definitly reccomend this dress
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
Perfect for my event!
I had a Junior League event themed Parisian nights... this dress was perfect! Some other girl was even wearing it (which usually is no fun... but it turned out ok!) I'm on the shorter side and would say this dress would have been a perfect fit on me if it was a few inches shorter... but other than that the fit was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
October 1, 2012
Comfortable and Fun!
This dress was so much fun to wear. If you like to spin around and dance, it's perfection. The top is stretchy and the bottom is a heavier cotton fabric. I would recommend having an iron or steamer on hand as the bottom can get wrinkled in the bag.
GailOctober 8, 2012
Those shoes are perfect with that dress! Where did you get them?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 2, 2012
Great Dress--very Audrey Hepburn
I wore this dress for a pre-wedding event and it was very comfortable and perfect for a summer evening in Montana. I would note that it is a bit long for my 5'2" frame and the dress did arrive wrinkled. Because there is some stretch to the cotton fabric it was actually difficult to press so it did not look crisp. Had we not had the event to attend within an hour of our arrival, I would have had it pressed professionally. True to size. I am a curvy 4 and the 4 fit great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
Great dress, very happy with the fit. I had gotten many compliments on it.
The dess comes with a thin black belt which was a plus!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 9, 2012
Classic and classy
I received this dress, brand new with the tags on, and immediately knew it would be prefect for my event - a movie premiere. It was dressy enough without being over the top, since I was not walking the red carpet. Would be perfect dressed up with jewelry for a cocktail attire wedding, but could also easily go to brunch with the girls, too. I love it, and actually wish I owned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 9, 2012
it was perfect for the occasion!!
I wore it to a 50s party and it was perfect! The fit was great except for the top area. It was a bit loose because my chest isn't very large. It didn't really bother me as the night went on though. It was true to size everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
October 10, 2012
Perfect birthday dress
I wore this dress for my birthday brunch and I loved it. It was sweet and girly. My only complaint was that it was a little large in the top for me but noticeable only to me. I threw a black cardigan on over it with black pumps and it was the perfect fall outfit that I could have easily worn out that night too. Length was great and the rest of the fit was perfect also. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2012
10 stars!!!
I wore this dress to a private event and I was so sad when it was over and I didn't have a reason to wear the dress anymore. I told my sister that I wish I had worn it to something more public because this dress makes you want to be seen, by everyone! For the first time in my life it was fun to feel like people were talking aboout me haha. I loved it so so much that it was painful having to send it back. It was incredibly comfortable and easy to wear. I was one of 10 bridesmaids and I definitely stood out in the line-up. Heads turned in my direction for sure. This is my favorite rental to date. Definitely on the potential buy list.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×