kate spade new york

Celina Dress

$39 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Place your bets in this bold striped dress by kate spade new york. Let the horse races begin! Simply add accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Crystallized Aqua Drops for the complete package.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Pink and white striped stretch cotton (98% cotton, 2% elastane). Sleeveless. Boat neck. A-line skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
362 reviews
Fit
Large
(74)
True to Size
(248)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 8, 2014
Perfect for a rehearsal dinner
This was great for the rehearsal and dinner for a wedding. It's pretty true to size, and I'm a new mom so I was a little worried about my breastfeeding bust being too large, but it worked great. It was a little droopy and wrinkled when it arrived, but was perfect after it was pressed. The color is fabulous and the cut is super flattering. I will definitely rent from RTR again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
June 9, 2014
Love love love
This was my first time using rent the runway and I can't wait to use it again! I rented this Kate Spade for my college graduation and couldn't have been happier! I have very wide hips and small waist so the dress was able to hide my larger butt. I have a very small chest so it was great to find a dress that was large enough on the bottom and not gaping on the top. I have 3 weddings to attend this fall and I can't wait to find dresses for the next event!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 11, 2014
Compliments all day long! Love RTR
i got proposed to in this dress! Strangers stopped me and gave me compliments! It was tight in the bust because I am busty but other than that it was true to size, and the length came to my knees since I'm only 5'1 :) other than that, it ran true to size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 12, 2014
Preppy perfection!
I wore this to the Kennebunkport Festival in Maine. It was a food and wine event on the ocean. It was the perfect outfit. I probably got 30 compliments and asking where I got my dress. The 8 and 10 fit pretty closely. The 8 was more worn and super wrinkled ( that's a first RTR?!) but I wore the 10 though both fit. If you want to hide hips, tummys, thighs ... Or just be able to look cute and have that piece of cake .... This is the dress! I felt like a preppy princess and the dress was so easy to wear! Its one of the few dresses that can do daytime and you're able to wear flats! Loved it!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
June 12, 2014
Useful for more than one occasion!
This dress got me a lot of complements but I wish I would have read the reviews more closely. It was very soft like a worn pillowcase - could be good or bad. You can tell that this dress has been worn many times, but not bad enough for me not to enjoy it. I waited too long so there was only a 6 available - a 4 would have been too small and an 8 would have been out of proportion. I typically always, always, always take a 6 in dresses. I wore this for my masters graduation as well as engagement pictures the next day- I took extra care to wear it again including resteaming it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2014
Honestly, the dress is cute on the hanger but only so so on. It looked great with nude heels though!
I would not recommend this dress for women with big chests. It is super cute but really wasn't very flattering except in the waist, which did look smaller! :-) The color was great and didn't wash me out, so that was a big plus. The dress was somewhat fading though, so RTR might want to think about retiring it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 16, 2014
It was great!
Looked amazing , fit well, true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 16, 2014
Not what I was expecting!
The material on this dress is not as luxurious as it looks in the picture. The dress did not have much structure which the skirt in my opinion needed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2014
Great for a summer party
Wore this dress to a party on a boat. The dress was super flattering, especially with a skinny gold belt and nude heels. It's especially great for someone who is pear-shaped. My only complaint is that the dress definitely had its time in the sun. It was looking a little worn with some slight fraying on the hemline from regular dry cleaning. Still looked fabulous on, but clearly looked like a dress that I've had for a while sitting in my closet and not "new." The dress would be great for a summer party outside or garden party. Not formal enough for a wedding. Hope this was helpful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 17, 2014
This dress was perfect for my college graduation! So comfortable and lots of compliments!
The dress was so comfortable! I didn't want to take it off! The material is a thicker cotton with satiny look (think Egyptian cotton sheets).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 20, 2014
tight!
i usually wear a 14 or a 16, and this 14 was closer to a 12. fortunately, it was an extra freebie dress, so i had another to fall back on. ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
June 21, 2014
Sweet swing dress
This was my back up dress that I did not wear to my college graduation. It is a very sweet and cute dress. You really can't go wrong with a Kate Spade creation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2014
I wore this to watch the PGA, it fit great and was comfortable for the whole day.
I liked how this dress accentuated the positive and hid the negative!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2014
Adorbs
Wore to host a bridal shower brunch. It was perfect for a spring garden party and I was very pleased. You will have to steam it or iron it before wearing; it wrinkles very easily and the pleats weren't ironed correctly when I received it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 33
July 7, 2014
Great colors, good design
Overall really enjoyed the dress, soft and stretchy material made it fit well. Runs big- I was able to wear a size smaller than my normal size. Can wear an awesome accent necklace with it. Wore to a nice dinner with family.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
July 8, 2014
Super cute for a baby girl shower!
I don't usually wear pink, or bright colors at all, but I was helping to throw a shower for a friend who was having a baby girl. How could I resist a bubble gum pink dress? It was a great dress, but I always feel a little off being large busted in these high neck dresses. I wound up wearing a blazer over it too because it was FREEZING at the end of April. Still a great dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
July 9, 2014
Great for Steeplechase
I wore this dress to Steeplechase. Nashville's version of the Derby, and it was perfect for the event. The cotton fabric made it comfortable but it still had a great structured look to make it a little more formal. I would rent this again for a similar occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 12, 2014
My roommates started a compliment counter... It was that good!!!
The fit was great, I normally wear an 8, and I did wear the eight, but the six fit as well, just a bit more snug. I was a bit disappointed in the wrinkles in the size 6 dress, as that is what I planned on wearing, but the dress looked fabulous. This isn't my first time renting and it won't be my last.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 14, 2014
Simple and elegant baptism dress
This beautiful dress fit perfectly! Note that I was able to wear the size 0 because I had recently lost weight due to sickness, otherwise I think the 2 would have been my normal size. I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 14, 2014
Classy and fun dress
I wore this dress to a school graduation. It was a little more formal but still fun. It had an appropriate high neck cut with a flattering fit on top. It flairs out to a fun and comfortable look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 16, 2014
So fun to twirl in this dress!
Fit to body very well; comfortable yet elegant!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
July 18, 2014
Perfect bridal shower dress!
I wore this to my bridal shower and it was perfect. The only thing I didn't like was having to send it back! It ran true to size and had a preppy, fun feel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
July 18, 2014
PERFECT fit
Loved the fit and flare at the bottom. Very flattering and slim appearing. The pink is so bright and pleasant. The pleats are high quality and noticed by many. Definitely received many compliments and was the ideal dress to wear for a post-wedding brunch. My favorite dress yet!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
July 22, 2014
Very comfortable
Pros: very very cute dress! So many complements. Very comfortable and a great length. Cons: it has been rented a number of times and starting to show its age. There was not much different from the size 6 and size 8 Both dresses has some stains on them. One very noticeable on the 6 and a small one on the 8 that i covered with a chunky neckless. The dress does wrinkle but nothing an iron cannot fix.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
July 23, 2014
At my bridal shower everyone was required to wear pink and my sister surprised me with this dress!
#bridalshower
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
July 28, 2014
The dress felt a bit worn and washed out. Material wasn't what I expected. Very casual
The dress felt a bit worn and washed out. Material wasn't what I expected. Very casual
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
July 30, 2014
ridiculously comfortable - even in the Louisiana summer heat!
runs larger than normal size - i wear a 0, but used the 00
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 1, 2014
Great dress
This dress was very easy to wear. It was extremely comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. The only negative was that it looked like it needed to be ironed again and as the day progressed it got more wrinkled. It is cotton so I would expect it to get wrinkled but I wasn't expecting it to come that way. The pink is a just as pictured and the white is more of a cream.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 156lbs
August 2, 2014
Fun dress but worn out.
I wore this for a friend's Kentucky Derby bridal shower and was a bit disappointed. I'm usually between a 10 and 8, depending on the fit, and was able to go with the 8 because the room the full skirt provided. It's a cute dress but has definitely seen better days. The top, which is made of stretchy fabric, is completely stretched out. It makes for weird bunches of fabric. Other than that, no complaints!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2014
It fit perfectly! Its a classy dress!!! Great for work functions!
This Kate Spade Dress fit perfectly! I received several compliments during my event. The whole process was seamless. I wished I owned this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
June 8, 2014
Not great
Cute dress, but cheaply made.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
August 6, 2014
i wore this dress to my sister-in-law's babyshower. It was a hit!
It's true to size and a great dress for pear-shaped women. I have small breast, but wide hips, big butt, and heavy thighs. This dress covers all my imperfections! I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
August 6, 2014
Loved this dress! Very forgiving after having a baby.
na
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 7, 2014
Great Party Dress!
As soon as I saw this, I knew I had to have it for my bridal shower! I am obsessed with pink, and it fit beautifully. I couldn't have found a more perfect dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 11, 2014
Gorgeous, classy dress!
It fit well- the top was a tad bit stretched but it was perfect for a summer wedding. I paired with a white necklace and nude heels and received lots of compliments. I felt so glam!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2014
Bright & cheerful!
Wore it to a summer wedding that was 1/2 outdoors, 1/2 indoors. It was very comfortable to wear, but very tight in the bust causing an undesirable ripple effect. I think this style has been through the ringer with rentals. My bigger size had to be replaced with a different style dress because it was in such bad shape. The replacement dress was way too big, so it was either this dress or something from my closet. The fabric is the kind that you'll absolutely need to iron when you receive it. Lots of compliments, but not my favorite rental.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 18, 2014
Super comfortable and bright, making it the perfect dress for a summer wedding with dancing!
I got tons of compliments on the dress. It was both exciting and simple for a formal wedding, and the material was light weight which meant I didn't sweat sitting outside during the ceremony.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 25, 2014
I attended a Rehearsal Dinner for one of my closest friends in this dress. Tons of compliments!
This dress was absolutely adorable. I had a ton of people ask me if it was Kate Spade which is exactly why I rent--designer call outs!!! I am usually a 4, but comfortably wore a 2 so the dress does run slight large. I am 5'4 and it hit me at the knee which is what I was looking for, but FYI. Overall, I found the dress cute, comfortable, and absolutely perfect for a late summer Rehearsal Dinner. I would definitely recommend this item!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 2, 2014
Cute dress, perfect fit, great service from RtR
This dress fit perfectly (true to size definitely)!!! SO flattering!! I wore this for a seaside wedding reception and the feel was perfect for the event. The material made it a little more casual (but not in a bad way!) and I was able to dress it up with pearls and nude pumps. I have to mention again that the fit was *fantastic*. I'm a 32D and it wasn't clingy or too baggy up top and the flared skirt was just right. Of course, I wish I could keep it! This was my first RtR experience and I'll definitely be back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 6, 2014
Perfect for a wedding
I had such a great time in this dress. I knew immediately that I would love it. You could tell that it had been worn before, but I expected that from the reviews. The bust was a little bit stretched, but it was not noticeable when paired with the big necklace. I really loved the dress and am glad I rented.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×