kate spade new york

Celina Dress

$39 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Place your bets in this bold striped dress by kate spade new york. Let the horse races begin! Simply add accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Crystallized Aqua Drops for the complete package.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 00 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Pink and white striped stretch cotton (98% cotton, 2% elastane). Sleeveless. Boat neck. A-line skirt. Hidden side zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
362 reviews
Fit
Large
(74)
True to Size
(248)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 12, 2013
Got many compliments!!
I think this dress definitively runs large and I was lucky that I got a backup size. I typically wear a 4 so the size 2 was Perfect!! The dress was very well made and this was the first time that I got random compliments from strangers. Would def. rent this one again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 13, 2013
The perfect dress for the perfect New England wedding!
Fit and flare - classic all american style. Kate Spade is one of the best - I could have worn a size 2 and felt more comfortable. Would rent again and again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2013
Perfect Summer Dress
I wore this for the rehearsal dinner picnic the night before a wedding I was in. It also happened to be the 4th of July. It was an ideal choice, the fabric is lightweight so it wasn't clinging in the heat but was appropriate enough to wear around my friends great grandma! I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 4. My issue with fit is always in the hips, if something fits my waist, it never fits my hips/butt. This dress allowed me to fit something to my waist finally and not worry about my "trouble spots" I would definitely recommend it, it's so flirty and fun, I kept wanting to twirl around!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 15, 2013
Cute & Fun but this specific dressed was stretched out.
I rented this for a baby shower thrown for one of my good friends. The dress is cute. Like many others said it is absolutely a hot pink and not at all a coral color like it looks in the picture. I knew that in advance from past posts and was happy with the pink color. I ordered a size 2 and was nervous because I usually wear a size 4. I was very glad I chose the size 2 because the dress was loose on top. I think this is due more to the fact that the dress is stretched out and less that Kate Spade dresses run large. I thought the dress was fun, preppy, cute. I didn't LOVE it, but it was cute for a casual summer event. The high neck and full skirt are fun and flirty which is what I was looking for not fancy and sexy. The full skirt starts to bell out right near your belly button so it is forgiving if you need it. It does wrinkle fast.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
July 15, 2013
So comfortable and looks great!
I wore this to my bridal shower and it was great! I am 5'4 so it hit me just at or below my knees.I have a larger chest so I was worried about it being too tight but it was great. Material is very soft and comfy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
July 16, 2013
Beautiful dress, extremely comfy and wears well.
Got tons of compliments all day long. Paired with nude peep toe pumps. Dress did arrive wrinkled, but nothing a quick ironing couldn't fix. Perfect for my curvy, large chested figure. I'm typically a size 12 in back zip Kate Spade dresses, but needed a 14 as this is a side zip.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
July 20, 2013
It was such a cute dress and I got tons of compliments on it!
Runs true to size at first but then stretches out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 22, 2013
blah needs to be retired
The dress I received looked extremely worn. The colors were not as vibrant as the picture shows. I was going to wear it to my bridal shower but luckily also rented another dress as a backup. This dress would be fine for work but wouldn't necessarly rent. I think it could be retired!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 30, 2013
Not necessarily meaningful since I returned to RTR without wearing it.
The size 8 was a bit too short for the event I wanted to wear it for so I returned to RTR immediately. Hoping for success next time I order!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2013
This was a great dress! I got lots of compliments and felt so good in it!
The dress fit very well. It did have some room in the chest area, but it was comfortable. I also thought it was a great length for a summer wedding. It hit me just above the knee. The condition was also like brand new. This dress also has great 'twirl' to it when out on the dance floor!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 3, 2013
Love Love Love this dress!!!!
The dress arrived wrinkled but nothing a iron couldn't fix and it stayed press the entire evening. The dress looked very worn at first glance but no one noticed and I received tons of compliments on it. I hated to return the dress, my husband wanted to purchase it for me because he loved it so much. Wore it to a sorority banquet but could be worn to a wedding or formal affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 6, 2013
LOVED IT!
I'm small waisted so the fullness of the skirt let me size down to what I typically wear. Really nice dress, thought it would feel heavier but so nice and light. Really a great summer dress and can be worn for any occasion day or night.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
August 11, 2013
fit great and was very comfortable
perfect for the occasion but was cold that day so I had to add a sweater.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2013
shoes can add some excitement to this dress
felt very basic when wearing it, I was hoping for a more silky material
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 13, 2013
feminine and flirty!
The colors are gorgeous- pair with large statement pink earrings!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
August 19, 2013
Good color and flattering
I rented the 12 and 14 and both fit. I ended up wearing the bigger one because the fabric was less faded. You can tell that both of the dresses had been well work because the pink fabric in both was quite a bit faded. Other than that the dress was nice and worked out well for the bridal shower I wore it to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2013
The dress fit great and was gorgeous!
I ordered a size 2 and 4 in the dress and ended up wearing the 2. The 2 fit perfect! The colors are gorgeous and I received so many compliments on the dress! I wore it to my best friend's bachelorette party, when we went to a polo match during the day. I accessorized it with pearls and a large white floppy hat. Perfect for a daytime event! Love, love, love this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 27, 2013
I LOVE THIS DRESS
This dress fit great with my larger bust and was the best choice for a summer wedding. arrived with no problems and needed no ironing
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2013
Fun, Flirty, Classy
I wore this dress to a conservative outdoor wedding in Chicago. I am a 32DDD so finding a dress to fit my large bust and small frame is near impossible. I ordered a size 6 and 4 - The 4 was perfect, and I probably could have gone down to a 2 because the fabric has some give. That combined with the weightlessness of the fabric kept me relatively cool even in the summer humidity. My only complaint is that the dress was clearly worn and dry cleaned multiple times, but its a rental, that's to be expected. Oh, and warning don't twirl when dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 27, 2013
Block Party!
I rented for our neighborhood block party and got so many compliments. It was a nice, light fabric for the warm summer day, but super comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
August 28, 2013
Super fun, very cute dress!
I rented for a weekend girls night! Paired with gold glitter pumps and the Kendra Scott necklace. I got so many compliments and the dress was very comfortable all night! Would buy it if I had the chance.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
August 30, 2013
The amount of compliments I got!
Very light and comfortable, fit perfectly! Wore for a bridal shower, I am maid of honor and was running all over the place, so comfort was key! I don't think the dress photographed very well, made me appear heavier than I looked in person, probably the vertical stripe/poofy skirt. Had to be ironed
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 31, 2013
KATE SPADE!
I'd seen this dress all over Pinterest, and I was ecstatic when I saw Rent the Runway had it available (since I could never afford to actually buy it.) The white stripes were more cream than I expected, but I still loved it. It was pretty wrinkled when I received it, but after ironing, it was good in the front. The back got pretty wrinkled as the night went on, but it looked good for pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 10, 2013
Perfect Dress for a wedding
I rented the 0 and the 00, I decided to wear the 00- the fit was great but the waist line felt a little high and going up to the 0 didn't help with that. Really comfortable and you can dress it up or down depending on the occasion- highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2013
Fun, flattering, and comfortable
I wore this dress for my law school graduation. I had just had a baby so I wasn't sure what size to order, so I ordered a 6, and it was way too big in the top even though I was wearing a DDD size bra at the time! The dress was just above knee length for me, and I wore it with nude heels to make my legs look extra long.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
September 11, 2013
This was my first time using RTR and it was a HUGE success!!!!
I got both a 2 and 4 (since I'm typically between those sizes) and the 2 fit perfectly. The fabric was a little different than I expected and ended up being extremely comfortable. The color is vibrant--a true hot pink. I received SO many compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress and RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2013
Cute dress, but in bad condition
The dress was very pretty but was in terrible shape. It looked like it had been dry cleaned 100 times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
September 18, 2013
Flirty and cute. Great for an outdoor summer event.
I was post baby and needed a new dress but was unwilling to buy a new one. This dress was perfect for my husband's military event. At that time I was wearing an 8, but the eight was a little large around the arm holes. So I put on my spanx (thank goodness for spanx for new mommas!) and the 6 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
September 23, 2013
Great Dress!
Runs true to size and was perfect for my Summer Daytime event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 27, 2013
I wore this to the rehearsal dinner of a friend and it was perfect!
Comfortable, eye-catching, wrinkles easily
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2013
FUN
This dress was so much fun, got tons of compliments and felt like a princess.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2013
So many compliments! Perfect summer social dress!
The fit was perfect in all the right places! At first I was nervous because the fabric was a little thicker than expected and I was wearing it to an outside event in August, but I ended up feeling very cool all day/night in it. Perfect dancing dress - the bottom would fan out during shagging. I got so many compliments on it. Great dress for dressing up or keeping casual. Perfect pink color to bring out a tan/summer glow. The dress was a little longer than I expect since I planned on wearing sandals, but it ended up being fine - heels/wedges would've been better. Would definitely recommend to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2013
Great fit!
When I got the dress in the mail it was stained on the chest, but I called and the got a new one right away! Enough time to make the event on a weekend! Great job!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
November 8, 2013
Fit perfectly, flattered my curves, and was comfortable! Received lots of compliments!
Fit great! Very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 8, 2013
Very Cute
I wore this for a friend's wedding. The fabric was really heavy, which made it not so great for a sweltering 105 degree day. However, this dress was really easy to accessorize with, which makes it great for just about any occasion. Frankly, this would be a great work day dress. Excellent construction, nice lines, conservative, but unashamedly feminine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2013
perfect for an outdoor summer wedding
The fit was true to size, and the fabric even had a little stretch to is, which is always nice. Great for women with a fuller bust and slimming at the waist because it cinches in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2013
This dress is ADORABLE on. Received tons of complements!
I rented this dress for my cousin's bridal shower. It fit great, just note that the top has no stretch in it so if you have a bigger bust you may need to size up like I did. It was cute, flirty, and looks awesome in photos! I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 18, 2013
Just ok
This is such a cute looking dress and yet it is just not flattering. I have a large bust and small waist and the waist on this dress was just too big. The skirt is also kind of bulky I guess is the right word. The colors are great though
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 19, 2013
This dress is so perfect!
I cannot say enough good things about this dress. I ordered it to wear to a nice brunch that we were going to as part of a bachelorette party. It is so comfortable, and it fits so great. My biggest regret is not taking a picture of me wearing the dress standing up. I loved it so much I just tried to order the black one, but it was unavailable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198lbs
November 21, 2013
Great dress for my Bridal Shower!!!!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway! I rented the 10 and 12. The 10 was too small in the bust area. The 12 fit great and the length was perfect! At my bridal shower we did some line dancing and this dress was perfect! I felt great in the dress! It had some small buttons/thread to hold your bra straps in place and I thought that was great!!! I will be renting from Rent the Runway again!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×