Jay Godfrey

Sailing through Greek Isles Dress

$50 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look edgy but goddess like in this amazing Jay Godfrey one shoulder dress. Great for a night of dancing and cocktail with your girlfriends. Accessorize with earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Deep Blue Drop Earrings, a fab clutch and stack bangles like the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Wave Bangles.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(41)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
April 17, 2013
Hot little number!
Rented for a red carpet movie premeir as a back up, but it was a little bit too short and informal. !I am tall and this hit well above mid thigh on me, so sitting around is not really an option in this one!! I wish I had somewhere to wear it though because it fit fabulously and I felt super sexy in it. Think weekend in Vegas or birthday dress paired with sky high heels, rather than formal event and you cant go wrong!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2013
Loved it! Lots of Compliments!
I am a first time RTR rental and it was a great experience. I rented this dress plus the Red Poncho Dress and ended up wearing this one! I received several compliments and was very comfortable for an outdoor April wedding held on the Chesapeake Bay. Originally I thought the dress was a little short but just wore a slighly lower heel and it was perfect. I felt comfortable the entire day. I would rent this dress again for another event or for a "must have" vacation dress. thanks RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2013
Fit perfect - flattering length, color is beautiful!
Wore this for an event where I was speaking on stage. LOVED the one-shoulder, felt sexy and classy. Length and fit were perfect. Usually wear a 0, wore the 0 in this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 21, 2013
Perfect Summer Dress!
This dress was perfect! I changed into flats later in the night and it still looked fine. I was comfortable and still looked good! I am thinking of getting this dress again for a wedding this summer. I love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2013
Ended up with a different choice
Loved this dress and it was very comfortable. I ended up wearing my other choice, but this was a great dress too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2013
Not a dress for athletic types
Nice dress, if you are tiny and busty. I however, I have a bubble butt and no boobs with power arms and legs, this dress did not flatter me at all. It rode up on my booty and I had to keep pulling down the dress every time I lifted an arm. The dresses I rented were sizes 6 and 8 and both were tight on the booty and baggy every where else. I was also disappointed about the damage on both dresses on the top layer. Looks like the chiffon caught onto something and damaged the fabric weave. Wasn't horrible, but I wasn't about to make it worse. The final blow was when my boyfriend told me it looked like a cheap rave dress from the mall. I wore my back up which worked out fine. Thank goodness.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2013
Beautiful! Sheek! Lot of compliments and looked great in photos!
I had two sizes delivered and ended up wearing the larger size because of the snug fit under the armpit. I received lots of compliments on the dress and can't wait to order my next dress for my next event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 26, 2012
Love this dress
Such a cute dress! I wore it for my 21st birthday and got many compliments. Runs a bit big though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 21, 2013
Classy and Unique
I wore this for the day after my wedding, at the post wedding brunch! I loved wearing this as my first day as a Mrs. The dress was flattering and really pretty, I was sad to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 22, 2012
Friends asking if they could borrow the dress all night.
I rented this dress for a wedding I attended last night and received several compliments. The top was a little big so if your small chested that's something to consider. The dress was very narrow through the hips and wasn't baggy so I didn't mind a little extra fabric at the top. Overall LOVED this dress and felt SASSY all night.
CamiAugust 9, 2012
This dress looks so great on you, did it hit you mid thigh, or more at the knee? Also, this sounds crazy but you look exaclty like my old drill team captain, and her name was Emily, werid!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 29, 2012
Super easy as usual and the compliments kept rolling in!
By far best dress I have ever worn! So many compliments! It is a bit snug around the hips but I think it adds to the over all look. Super sassy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 6, 2012
It was a lovely dress to wear for a special evening wedding :)
The dress lived up to all of the other positive reviews I read about it, plus I got lots of compliments all night on the great color and unique style. My one issue was that it is fairly short. I felt a little embarrassed in front of my boyfriend's parents and grandparents when I kept having to pull the bottom of it down because it rises up verrry easily. Despite its amazing color, if you're tall and planning to wear heels, it may be inappropriate for a formal affair...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 6, 2012
Great Color and Really Comfortable!
This dress is super comfortable and easy! I loved the dramatic one shoulder and the vibrant blue color! This dress does not have any stretch, so I would size up in backup; however, it is very true to size. It hit me at my mid-thigh! I really enjoyed this dress and I would recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2012
This dress was so comfortable and the colors were so vibrant, I got lots of compliments!
I loved this dress, I wore it for a bachelorette in July and it was perfect for the occasion. This dress was flattering without being too form-fitting. It fit my frame perfectly (petite/heavy chested) It is a little short, but was just the right length for me as I am 5'2". The colors are actually bright blue and navy, but I still wore patent leather black shoes and it looked great. Also got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
The Jay Godfrey dress was incredible! Thanks for sending 2 different sizes. So helpful!
I ordered size 6 and size 8. The 6 was a little to tight but the 8 was a little too big! I ended up wearing the 8 because it made me feel better in it. Loved the color of the dress and the material it was made of was light and comfortable. Overall, great experience with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
October 10, 2012
Chicago Girls' Trip
I rented this dress in a 2 and 4 for a night out in Chicago this summer. I loved the one shoulder look and the hemline was just enough for a night out on the town with the girls. The fit was tricky though. Because I am a pear shape the dress was snug on my hips and roomy in the bust. I ended up wearing the 4 because the 2 was just too tight on my lower half. Like other reviewers have said, the overlay was shorter than the lining, and that did bug me a little bit. Overall it was a good dress but I probably wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
This dress was amaze! Super glam, tons of compliments. My first RTR experience, but def not my last!
It was a teeny bit short on my 5'9'' frame, so tall girls be wary (unless, like me, you aren't afraid to show a little/lot of leg!), but other than that the fit was great. I normally wear between a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit perfectly. It felt red-carpet glamorous with the flowy sleeve as well. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2013
I loved my RTR experience! Got so many compliments and saved a lot of money!
I loved this dress. The colors popped in pictures and it was a unique style that made a statement. It was true to size and was a great choice for something comfortable to dance and run around in. I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2013
Can I please buy this dress?
I've actually rented this one twice! So comfy, so stunning, and so easy to accessorize. I'm sold.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Fantastic dress!
The color of this dress is gorgeous. And the shape is eye-catching and unexpected. I rented this as a last-minute, same-day rental for a last minute invite, but am so happy that I did! The fit is flattering, but not too tight (i.e. you can eat in it). I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
This dress was gorgeous and comfortable. My only problem is having such a small bust size, in order to make it fit without flopping around I had to double up on the padding and inserts in my bra. Would recommend to a friend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 19, 2012
Too shift/tunic, but comfy
This dress was tight on my curves and very baggy on my waist, so if you're hourglass shaped it my not be a good fit for you - it's more straight shaped, like a shift or tunic dress. That said, I was very happy with it anyway. The color is true to the picture, the drape sleeve feels dramatic but isn't cumbersome, and the fabric is very comfortable and not confining. It's short enough to be sexy, but not so short that you're worried about it all night. It wasn't really made for my figure, but I really enjoyed wearing it anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
September 4, 2012
beautiful pattern and material. RUNS LARGE
I rented this for an outdoor Lake Michigan Labor Day Wedding. The size zero was too wide and the shoulder was too big which made the dress hang low. I thought I could pin it and decided to try and wear it, but it did not work out. I was really excited because the color and fabric is just like the picture and I thought it would have made for a perfect semi casual beach dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
Fun dress!
This dress was the perfect choice for a recent bachelorette party I attended in DC. It was super comfortable and everyone complemented on how great the color was, as it wasn't your standard LBJ moment. I would definitely recommend it again and agree that the liner did have a tendency to show.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 29, 2012
Beautiful dress
I wore this dress hanging out on a weekend trip to NYC! Received many compliments, the colors are beautiful and the fit is true to size. It's form fitting but you can still move and dance!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2013
Awesome dress!
I loved wearing this dress. It looks amazing on and is so different than the rest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2013
Way too big!
Although this dress is fun and flirty it was too big! I'm typically a size small in everything and so I thought the 2 would be fine, however the mid section of the dress was just too big. When I walked the dress would bunch up causing my mid section to look like a had a baby bump. I opted not to wear the dress to the wedding as it did not help my body shape at all!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
May 26, 2015
my favorite dress of all time.
runs small in the hips if you are a curvy girl
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 14, 2015
Rented for our class graduation party in Miami and it was perfect!
True to size
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×