Jay Godfrey

Sailing through Greek Isles Dress

$50 rental
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look edgy but goddess like in this amazing Jay Godfrey one shoulder dress. Great for a night of dancing and cocktail with your girlfriends. Accessorize with earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Deep Blue Drop Earrings, a fab clutch and stack bangles like the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Crystal Snake Eye Bangle Set and Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Wave Bangles.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed silk chiffon. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(41)
Small
(14)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 19, 2012
Too short for comfort
I rented this dress for a jamaican themed concert/party. It has the perfect vibe to it and the color is awesome but when I put it on, it was too short for me to be comfortable. I am 5'10" and wore heels with it so that did not help. Unfortunately I had to wear a different dress but otherwise, its a very fun dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 20, 2012
Great dress for partying!
I rented this for a bachelorette party in Miami..it was perfect for the weather, not too hot, which I was concerned about. It was flattering and got many compliments on it. Would definitely rent again!!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 42DD
Body type: Full Bust
September 22, 2012
First time to try RTR
This was my first time to rent a dress, and I was apprehensive that it wouldn't fit well, especially over the chest. I was glad that they offered an extra size for free, and refunds if neither dress fits, otherwise I don't think I would have given it a try. Got a 6, and sized up to an 8. To my surprise, I didn't have any problems with the fit (size 6) and I got a lot of compliments with the dress. The dress was also very comfortable to wear. Renting is certainly more convenient especially for someone who doesnt have time to go shopping.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2012
SO gorgeous.
This dress was amazing- fit really well and definitely caught attention. Great for any fancy affair.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2012
Everything was absolutely perfect.
The dress was so gorgeous I didn't want to send it back. I got so many compliments on it. The only bad thing I can say is that the outer lining rode up and the inner lining stuck out at the bottom, but it looked kind of nice that way, so I didn't mind it much.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 9, 2012
Fun, attention-grabbing dress!
This dress was such a fun one to wear to a friend's wedding and to dance in all night long! I had to use some tape to keep up the non-sleeved side (it was just a bit baggy under the arm), but other than that, it was true to size and I kept getting compliments. I can't rent this again anytime soon because EVERYONE noticed it. Great dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2013
EVERYBODY commented on how I looked and the dress. only 6 months post baby - it was so flattering!
The fit - it rides up a little, I WAS constantly pulling it back down and even though I am 5'4" tall - it was still SUPER short. but I loved every second in it!!!!! I have broad shoulders and normally have a hard time with dresses fitting all the way through - but awesomeness with this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
Comfortable, great colors
Fits great. Very comfortable. Great colors
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
December 3, 2012
Everyone loved my dress!
it fit nicely, a little short but I could still dance!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 24, 2013
Great fit, comfortable!
I wore this dress for an LDS wedding in Arizona. I wanted to be as modest as possible without losing my style (I"m not LDS). I received TONS of compliments at the wedding as well as others who saw pics. Dress was, as others stated, very comfortable. Also, the lining does show about an inch at the bottom but that benefited me as I didn't want anything too short. My bf did notice a stain in the front lower area of the dress but because of the pattern on the dress, I don't think anyone else notice. I would DEFINITELY recommend RTR to ANYONE who needs something fabulous without wanting to dish out designer price cash.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 25, 2013
Loved it! Lots of Compliments!
I am a first time RTR rental and it was a great experience. I rented this dress plus the Red Poncho Dress and ended up wearing this one! I received several compliments and was very comfortable for an outdoor April wedding held on the Chesapeake Bay. Originally I thought the dress was a little short but just wore a slighly lower heel and it was perfect. I felt comfortable the entire day. I would rent this dress again for another event or for a "must have" vacation dress. thanks RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 15, 2013
Fit perfect - flattering length, color is beautiful!
Wore this for an event where I was speaking on stage. LOVED the one-shoulder, felt sexy and classy. Length and fit were perfect. Usually wear a 0, wore the 0 in this!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2013
Ended up with a different choice
Loved this dress and it was very comfortable. I ended up wearing my other choice, but this was a great dress too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 21, 2013
Classy and Unique
I wore this for the day after my wedding, at the post wedding brunch! I loved wearing this as my first day as a Mrs. The dress was flattering and really pretty, I was sad to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 29, 2012
Super easy as usual and the compliments kept rolling in!
By far best dress I have ever worn! So many compliments! It is a bit snug around the hips but I think it adds to the over all look. Super sassy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 6, 2012
It was a lovely dress to wear for a special evening wedding :)
The dress lived up to all of the other positive reviews I read about it, plus I got lots of compliments all night on the great color and unique style. My one issue was that it is fairly short. I felt a little embarrassed in front of my boyfriend's parents and grandparents when I kept having to pull the bottom of it down because it rises up verrry easily. Despite its amazing color, if you're tall and planning to wear heels, it may be inappropriate for a formal affair...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 6, 2012
Great Color and Really Comfortable!
This dress is super comfortable and easy! I loved the dramatic one shoulder and the vibrant blue color! This dress does not have any stretch, so I would size up in backup; however, it is very true to size. It hit me at my mid-thigh! I really enjoyed this dress and I would recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 12, 2012
This dress was so comfortable and the colors were so vibrant, I got lots of compliments!
I loved this dress, I wore it for a bachelorette in July and it was perfect for the occasion. This dress was flattering without being too form-fitting. It fit my frame perfectly (petite/heavy chested) It is a little short, but was just the right length for me as I am 5'2". The colors are actually bright blue and navy, but I still wore patent leather black shoes and it looked great. Also got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
The Jay Godfrey dress was incredible! Thanks for sending 2 different sizes. So helpful!
I ordered size 6 and size 8. The 6 was a little to tight but the 8 was a little too big! I ended up wearing the 8 because it made me feel better in it. Loved the color of the dress and the material it was made of was light and comfortable. Overall, great experience with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
October 10, 2012
Chicago Girls' Trip
I rented this dress in a 2 and 4 for a night out in Chicago this summer. I loved the one shoulder look and the hemline was just enough for a night out on the town with the girls. The fit was tricky though. Because I am a pear shape the dress was snug on my hips and roomy in the bust. I ended up wearing the 4 because the 2 was just too tight on my lower half. Like other reviewers have said, the overlay was shorter than the lining, and that did bug me a little bit. Overall it was a good dress but I probably wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
This dress was amaze! Super glam, tons of compliments. My first RTR experience, but def not my last!
It was a teeny bit short on my 5'9'' frame, so tall girls be wary (unless, like me, you aren't afraid to show a little/lot of leg!), but other than that the fit was great. I normally wear between a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit perfectly. It felt red-carpet glamorous with the flowy sleeve as well. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2013
I loved my RTR experience! Got so many compliments and saved a lot of money!
I loved this dress. The colors popped in pictures and it was a unique style that made a statement. It was true to size and was a great choice for something comfortable to dance and run around in. I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2013
Can I please buy this dress?
I've actually rented this one twice! So comfy, so stunning, and so easy to accessorize. I'm sold.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 18, 2012
Fantastic dress!
The color of this dress is gorgeous. And the shape is eye-catching and unexpected. I rented this as a last-minute, same-day rental for a last minute invite, but am so happy that I did! The fit is flattering, but not too tight (i.e. you can eat in it). I would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 15, 2012
Gorgeous dress!
This dress was gorgeous and comfortable. My only problem is having such a small bust size, in order to make it fit without flopping around I had to double up on the padding and inserts in my bra. Would recommend to a friend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 19, 2012
Too shift/tunic, but comfy
This dress was tight on my curves and very baggy on my waist, so if you're hourglass shaped it my not be a good fit for you - it's more straight shaped, like a shift or tunic dress. That said, I was very happy with it anyway. The color is true to the picture, the drape sleeve feels dramatic but isn't cumbersome, and the fabric is very comfortable and not confining. It's short enough to be sexy, but not so short that you're worried about it all night. It wasn't really made for my figure, but I really enjoyed wearing it anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
Fun dress!
This dress was the perfect choice for a recent bachelorette party I attended in DC. It was super comfortable and everyone complemented on how great the color was, as it wasn't your standard LBJ moment. I would definitely recommend it again and agree that the liner did have a tendency to show.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 29, 2012
Beautiful dress
I wore this dress hanging out on a weekend trip to NYC! Received many compliments, the colors are beautiful and the fit is true to size. It's form fitting but you can still move and dance!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2013
Awesome dress!
I loved wearing this dress. It looks amazing on and is so different than the rest.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×