Issa

Spray Paint Dress

$195 to buy
$620 retail
Stylist Notes

Give your fit 'n flare some pizzazz in this gorgeous blue Issa dress with ombre color inserts. Go with a monochromatic look for your next party by adding Janis Savitt’s Montana Blue Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8;L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Royal blue knit (85% Rayon, 15% Lycra). Sleeveless. Scoop neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(108)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 28, 2015
Fun to dance in!
The overall fit was too big for me. I thought, because I still have some baby weight to lose, that the medium would be fine but it was too loose. I ended up having to safety-pin at my shoulder so the dress would fall in the right spots. It was very fun to dance in and comfortable to wear. It's a heavy dress so I wouldn't recommend it for a hot summer wedding. I wish they would've had a small available, I'm sure it would have been perfect! I still recommend the dress, just be careful about ordering a medium if you have a petite frame like me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 26, 2015
Very versatile, comfortable, and flattering!
I wore this dress to our wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner. It was comfortable, yet chic. I love the thickness of the fabric - it smoothes everything out perfectly :) I typically wear a size 6 (or 8 if a dress runs tight in the hips) or Medium and the Medium fit perfectly. I am 5'11" and many dresses are too short-waisted on me. The waistline on this dress fit at my natural waist, which is certainly a plus! I would definitely rent this dress again for a future event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 12, 2015
Comfortable dress/fabric
Rented this for a friend's bridal shower. The fabric is heavier, but it's also super comfortable. Feels like you're wearing a sweatshirt. The fabric allows it to hang nicely at the bottom. My only complaint is that the top ran a little big, so I had to constantly readjust and make sure my bra wasn't peeking out the sides.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 6, 2015
Comfy, cute, lots of compliments
Was worried it might be too short because I'm really tall. It fit great and didn't have to suck in all night like in a form fitting dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 215lbs
October 11, 2015
The best dress to dance in!
Really fun color. It was heavy so perfect for a fall wedding. It was great to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
November 24, 2015
Comfortable and beautiful!
Super comfortable and flattering dress. I wore it to a wedding and it was great for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 22, 2015
Skirt fuller than it looks
A little too poofy at the bottom for my liking
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 5, 2016
Perfect dress! App would only let me give it 4 stars.
So pleased and would rent this one again. As other reviewed, it is sized generously so medium should fit most. Compliments all day. Super comfortable and effortless. Paired with nude shoes and a bright colored pink shawl when breezy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
August 30, 2016
Fantastic dress, so comfortable!
This dress was so so comfortable! I got endless compliments all night. The colors were beautiful, and I would definitely rent again! Needs a necklace for sure to dress up the neckline, but other than that, it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 21, 2017
Loved
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect. The colors were great and I got a ton of compliments! I wish I had a picture to share, it was a very flattering dress. I'm usually worried that the flare on some dresses will make my hips look bigger but this definitely didn't!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
June 4, 2013
Loved the dress!
Wore this to a summer daytime wedding in CA. It was a little hot (which I was expecting based on other posts I read before renting) but the material was super-forgiving and the overall cut was very flattering. I could only get the M from RTR and it fit pretty well, although if I had one complaint it would be that there was some gaping at the armholes, but nothing major. I wore a pair of Spanx underneath just to make sure everything was smooth around the waistline. The wedding I went to was outside on grass so I used jewelry to dress this up a bit. Paired it with a thick white cardigan for evening when it got chilly. A great choice!!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 168lbs
September 26, 2013
Great dress look amazing on .
However it runs big I am a 38DD and the size was still big
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
April 28, 2014
GREAT dress for ANY event!
I wore this dress for my dissertation defense and for a banquet the same weekend! I got endless compliments on the dress and really liked how it photographed. It was SUPER comfortable because of the stretchy material and I even wore a sports bra underneath it without anything showing. For me even though I have a medium-large bust the sides around the armpits were a bit big but not big enough to distract from the dress. The color is also pretty true to pictures, mine was clearly worn in so it was a tad faded but still looked incredibly blue in pictures. While necklackes certainly compliment this dress nicely I chose to forgo the necklace and actually loved how it sat. Overall GREAT dress.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2014
Although I liked the weight of the fabric and it was a fun dancing dress, I was disappointed by size
I'll take responsibility for not ordering both a M and a S, but after reading the reviews I thought I'd be ok with a M. Unfortunately I found that either it ran bigger than any of the reviews indicated. The armpits ran so large and low that even with taping I had a hard time keeping the dress in place to conceal my bra. I'm guessing the smaller size would have fit better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2014
Awesome, carefree dress.
I wore this to a spring wedding with some neutral-colored, strappy wedges and gold accents. Some of the other reviewers said the fabric was thick, my boyfriend even said it was like a blanket (ha, typical). And it is on the thicker side, however I was never too hot wearing it, despite the warm day. I ordered the Small and the Medium and I ended up wearing the Small. The dress has a nice snug fit but not uncomfortable. In fact, it was a relief to wear a dress all day that I never had to yank up or pull down or worry about adjusting. Perfect fit. Cool look. I was looking for something different that I don't normally buy for myself. So glad I branched out, because I loved it and had a great time in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2014
Received many compliments!
Very comfortable dress, stretchy and will look good on many different body types.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
July 7, 2014
Great dress, Just not for my body type.
Fabric is beautiful. It is a thicker sweater material, but not one that will make you hot if you were to wear it in the summer. The pattern is gorgeous. I tried it on and it seemed to have a lot of extra fabric in the skirt area. The large was actually a little big on me, not sure if the medium would have looked better. Unfortunately it made my bottom half look bigger than it actually was so I did not wear the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
August 26, 2014
Kentucky Derby Gala
The medium fit up top (stretchy fabric had no problem accommodating my bust), but hit at a funny place on my hips and totally made me look like a cupcake. I'm tall, and the fabric flared out in all the wrong ways. I had a large as my backup size, and the arm holes were way too big. Ended up wearing a dress out of my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 28, 2014
Perfect for bridal shower
Wore with a big necklace and nude heels. It was perfect for my family bridal shower -- conservative and comfortable. The fabric was quite thick and very stretchy. Ran slightly large so I would siZe down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
November 11, 2014
Some negatives but overall a good RTR experience!
Rented this for a wedding and as the other reviews mention it is a very thick material but I found that it "clinged" to my midsection which required shapewear. I also thought the navy blue seemed a bit faded from wear but it is a rental dress... Other than that I loved the dress and pop of color in the bottom half!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2013
Comfortable and fashionable! What more could you ask for?
My daughter wore this to her high school dance and received many compliments! The fabric is warm enough for the winter and stretchy and flowy so you can still move and dance. I highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 6, 2013
Pretty party dress!
Great dress, but very thick material so I would recommend it for a winter event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2013
Got so many compliments on the color and silhouette!
The dress ran large, as I wore a XS. The fit looks better when worn tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 25, 2015
Classy dress for a Florida wedding
The dress fit very well, only issue was that it was too big around the armpits.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 20, 2016
Great color!
This was a great dress for my BFF's wedding. The material is thicker, so it was great for a late spring day where the weather was kind of up and down. I'm 5'11" and this dress hit just slightly above my knee. It doesn't look short though, because of the fuller skirt. I wore a regular bra with this dress. I would definitely rent this dress again--very classy and cute! Sorry for the crappy photo. I was too busy having fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 9, 2016
Top fit funny
Pretty dress but unfortunately I didn't get to wear it. The arm holes were too big on me and my bra showed on the sides. Since I was renting this for a summer wedding I didn't feel like layering a tank top or bandeau top under it. The light blue necklace I rented with it was adorable too - really wish the outfit had worked out. Thanks RTR for your awesome return & credit policies!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
April 1, 2013
Beautiful dress!!
I received this as part of coupon deal from RTR with a Kate Spade dress that I actually wore to my event...this dress fit beautifully! Perfect for a spring event...I will rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 17, 2013
Such a gorgeous dress -- I didn't want to return it!
Runs small -- I ordered the XS and S, and the S fit like a glove. The feel is AMAZING -- like wearing your favorite sweater as a dress, all day. Silhouette felt really flattering, and the spin on the dress was perfect for dancing! The complements kept coming. A seriously lovely dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 10, 2013
LOVE the dress! The fabric is a tad heavy and tight- but I really enjoyed it. Fun dress!
If you are trying to decide on a size- don't. Get both, I always wear an xs and while I was happy I might have liked the fit of the 'small' better. Perfect dress- great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2013
Great birthday party dress!
I loved the fit of the dress and the material (it's heavier than it looks). The only odd thing is that it looks a little sheer in pictures.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 24, 2013
Size up with this one!
I typically wear a 0/2/small and based on other reviews of this dress I ordered an xs and a small. I really needed the medium. I could barely get the small zipped and once I did, I had no breathing room and my bra was showing through the arm holes! RTR's phones were down so a 24 turnaround was not doable, but we've resolved that and I will definitely be renting again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
February 5, 2013
Fun and Unique Dress
This dress was sent to me as a backup dress when my original dress didn't fit. Although, I didn't end up wearing it, it is quite a beautiful and a very "different" kind of dress. The material is thicker and more knit-like than I was expecting and the print is very pretty in person. Overall, I had a great rental experience and would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
February 11, 2013
Dress worn for a destination wedding cocktail party.
Very comfortable dress, yet the fabric was a knit, so heavier than expected. It is form fitting and will show lines. I paired it with this Kate Spade necklace and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
February 12, 2013
Fit great and super comfortable!
I wore this dress for my sister's bridal shower. I have a 10 month old baby, so needed to be able to move around too. This dress was perfect! I got compliments all day. I felt great, comfortable, and was so happy with how I looked! Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
February 25, 2013
Great color combo! Love Issa
The dress fit great! The material is a little heavier & bunched just a little in the top but overall the fit was perfect. I wore it with 6 inch pumps & the length hit around the knee. Overall great dress & super easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
March 20, 2013
Gorgeous and fitted. I wore this for a tradeshow to coordinate with my company colors. Perfect!
So many compliments. I paired it with a pair or very light gret Cole Haan pumps with bright yellow bottoms. So hot! The dress is fitted with a beautiful sturdy material.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2013
geat
the dress was perfect for the occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
April 1, 2013
Perfect fit, gorgeous colors, excellent weight of fabric for cooler spring months
Fit like a glove. Exactly as pictured on the model. Heavier fabric - wouldnt recommend for summer - but great for spring. Wore it for bridal shower.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Great fit, beautiful dress!
It has a sophisticated look while still being extremely comfortable. Could be worn out for a fancy birthday dinner or to a wedding. The fabric is more of a knit and is thicker than you would think, but that added to the comfort on a cool, April day. The skirt falls right above the knee and has just enough fullness. I wore it with nude pumps, blue earrings and had a cropped white sweater for the service. Can't say enough good things about it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 23, 2013
Awesome dress and feel; fit perfectly!
I didn't personally wear this dress, I got this dress for my roommate as a surprise! Below is her story: I wore this dress to a "Kentucky Derby" themed Croquet Match. I wish I wore a sweater, as the wind was brutal at times, but the dress held up. I was happy to find that the dress was heavy enough so I didn't have to worry about a fashion fiasco, but it was also breathable. It went perfectly with some white wedges and a white Derby hat, and I didn't wear any gawdy jewlery with it either, the dress spoke for itself. It was very flattering and I was able to move around in it without having the seams scream at me. The only issue I had (or my roommate had, actually) was the zipper, it's hard to grip and the fabric rolls out which makes it a pain to zip up. Other than that, I loved it! I have the same measurements as my roommate with the exception of bust (34A) and size (4/6).
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×