London Eye Gown

$135 rental
$838 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look vibrant and sensual for the black tie event in this Issa gown. Accessories like the Ben-Amun's Victorian Crystal Statement Necklace and Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch are all you need to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a plunging neckline bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a standard bra; bra must have a low neckline
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a plunging neckline bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a standard bra; bra must have a low neckline
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red matte jersey (100% silk). Sleeveless. V-neckline with ruching at waist. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2013
I had better help from "chatting" online with a stylist than I've ever received in a local boutique.
I wasn't able to wear this dress. It is beautiful and the matte jersey is very forgiving. The zipper in the back puckered on me and it may have been due to my large bust. I ended up very happy, however, with my backup dress and the help of the sylists. Even though this dress did not work for me, I had an amazing experience and will certainly rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
Beautiful and figure flattering!
This dress was actually worn by my Mom on the left. It fit her slim shape wonderfully, even if it was a bit short. The dress has a low neckline and a beautiful sheen in person. It was the perfect dress for a good looking Mom!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 29, 2013
beautiful gown but runs short
My review is almost identical to many others before me so here are the main points: 1. The dress is beautiful 2. Wear Spanx 3. Runs very short (I wore a Long with 3 1/2" heels and you could see my entire foot up to the ankle)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 28, 2013
Easy fit, on the short side.
Comfortable fit and drapes nicely, but would've liked it if the material was thicker. The back bunched up around the butt area (other people have had the same issue) and I didn't up wearing this. The arm hole area is tight as well. I'm 5'3 and this dress felt short on me. Wearing flats, the dress hit the ground, but with heels, I didn't get the full length look I was going for.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 25, 2013
Pretty but too short, even in a long!
Sadly I couldn't wear it! I am 5'10 and wear a 0 or 2 and the dress barely hit my ankles in a 2 long. Very pretty color and detail!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2013
I wore this to GW's Inaugural Ball, and it was a stunning choice. I felt like a celebrity all night!
I usually wear an 8, so that's why I say it runs a little small. The length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I secured the neckline with some fashion tape just to minimize the risk of a fashion disaster, and didn't have to worry about it all night! The picture is from before taping, so you can see where I was having problems. This dress is so confortable and stretchy that I couldn't have imagined wearing anything else. I didn't have any problems with it, and it was definitely a statement dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
January 24, 2013
Didn't wear it!
Gorgeous color and fit throughout, but way too short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 21, 2013
You feel like a movie star!
I felt like this dress gave my normally very large looking belly a good snugging in! However if you have a fuller bust definitely visit the fashion tape for the neckline. I worn the 10R but at my height would have been better off with the 10P, also I normally wear a size 12 but due to the stretch of the fabric the 10 fit much better. Have fun and be ready to get compliments if you wera this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
January 2, 2013
Lovely dress but super short
I didn't end up wearing this dress even though it has some great features. I wanted to love it but it was soooo short that didn't even look formal. I'm 5'2" and I had on 2.5" heels and it still showed my entire foot.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2012
Loved the dress! But it was WAAAAAY too short.
I got the 2 Long... And it was way to short :( I was so sad, since I was so excited to wear this to a formal ball. Other than that, it fit perfectly, but I couldn't wear it because of the length.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2012
It was a fabulous dress to wear. The fit was perfect. Thanks Rent the Runway!
This dress is perfect even if it does bunch up a little at the bottom of the zipper.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
Fun to feel like a princess!
I loved the dress, my only complaint was it was a bit shorter than I would have liked. I love gowns that hit the floor and this was just shy, (I'm 5'8), other than that I just had to pin the plunging V in order to make it appropriate for a black tie event for work. Other than that I loved it!
MegFebruary 11, 2013
Hey...I have almost the exact same figure/measurements as you do and am considering this dress for a black tie event I have coming up. Did you have any issues with the arm cuts on the dress. I have an athletic build and my arms aren't what I would call petite...just wondering if you had any comments. Thanks!
SMarch 4, 2013
I didn't have any issues with the arm cuts at all, but as I said above the length was a bit too short for me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 19, 2012
Loved it!
This was a beautifully dress! The fit was excellent, and at 5'5" in 4 inch heels the 2L brushed the ground perfectly. Some things to note: Like other reviewers said, the dress is low cut, so pinning or getting a very low cut bra is key. The arm holes are a little small - I have athletic arms and it was a bit tight, but overall not really a problem. A fantastic dress for a holiday party :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2012
RTR helped me find a fantastic dress when my original order became unavailable. I LOVED this dress!
This dress was fantastic and it made me feel like a movie star for our Hollywood themed party. It clings to all the right places and the fabric is light and easy to move in. One thing to have with you at all times is Fashion Tape with this dress as it does have a low V. But once you tape up you are good to go!
BriannaMarch 20, 2013
Hi! Could you tell me if you wore the regular length or long length, and what 9
BriannaMarch 20, 2013
(sorry accidentally hit enter) and what height your heels were approx?
MelissaApril 28, 2013
Hi I wore the regular length and had on 2-3 inch heels. Hope that helps!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2012
Bad zipper!
This is a beautiful dress from the front. The way that the back zipper is attached, however, isn't that great! It looked like I had a tail! It wasn't just the dress that fit, it was both dresses so I know that it was how the dress was made. I wouldn't suggest this dress to anyone as the back is too distracting from the overall look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 12, 2012
Gorgeous dress, got a lot of compliments!
This was a great dress and I'm so glad I chose it. I wore this to a black tie wedding and got so many compliments. I ordered this in a 4 and a 6 because a few reviews found the dress a little big. When I got the package in the mail, there was only a size 6 in there. I was worried, but was fortunate in that the 6 fit me. It would have been nice to have the 4 to compare, but it worked out just fine. Even though I'm not very tall (5'3''ish) the length wasn't a problem, but then again I did wear heels that were about 3''. Overall, I give high ratings to the dress and would recommend it!
RTR CustomerJanuary 3, 2013
can I Hamm the dress
RTR CustomerJanuary 7, 2013
Hi! You can't make any permanent changes to the garment, but if you are worried about length you can always use Temporary Hem Tape Strips, found here http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/intimates/temporaryhemtapestrips. If you have any other questions do not hesitate to contact our stylists at 1-800-509-0842.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2012
Great from the front--problematic from the back.
So this was my back-up dress for a formal charity gala--I am a pretty curvy pear shape and the dress looked great from the front. I usually wear a 10 but based on other reviews ordered an 8 and the size was perfect. Very va-va-voom. I didn't think the front was too low cut and it would be easy to fix with tape or a tiny pin. I ended up not wearing the dress, however, because of the way it looked from the back--although the front is pretty forgiving due to the draping of the material, the back is not. Spanx helped, but it still just wasn't flattering. The worst and absolute deal-killer for this dress though was the buckled zipper, which others have mentioned in their reviews. The end of the zipper kind of buckles the material straight out so that it looks like you have a little prehensile tail coming out of your back side. I think this would have been less noticeable on a taller person (I'm 5'4") because the zipper would end higher up on your back and not over your rear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 9, 2012
not as formal as the picture makes it look
This dress was very pretty. It ran slightly short even though I ordered a long. the material is very stretchy which gave it a cheap appearance because it didn't flow or move nicely. I would have liked to see it in a silk material for a more luxurious feel.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2012
Stunning dress, but was unable to wear it.
Unfortunately the dress bunched up near the bottom of the zipper; right in the middle of the butt area. It looked like a had something sticking out. The dress was perfect otherwise, just felt uncomfortable in that area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2012
Gorgeous, comfortable, a little bit shorter than expected.
The only negative to this dress is the zipper buckles out on the back. Its difficult to put a zipper in jersey so I wasn't surprised but needed to do a little tweaking. By putting some double sided tape at the top of the dress by my neck i was able to cut down the buckling a good bit. However the front of the dress was beautiful!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 129lbs
November 18, 2012
Hosted Fiji Idol 2012!
The dress made me feel like a million bucks! It was my first time hosting an event with 400 people in the crowd. So comfortable and sexy! I felt confident the entire night and received tons of compliments. Paired with a chunky silver necklace, one huge ring and stud earrings. I heart RTR and their incredible service. Thanks!
MarleenDecember 5, 2012
it's your color!
LilyMay 6, 2013
You are 5'6", Did you wear the R or L length?
AmritaMay 6, 2013
@Marleen- Thank you! @Lily- R
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 12, 2012
Didn't wear the dress
Didn't up wearing the dress the zipper along the back was warped and gave me waves. I was bummed as it looked great and I so wanted it to work. Also the length of the dress was not what I expected. I'm 5'5" and the regular hit at my ankle bone, needless to say it looked silly once I put on the heels. Hopefully next time I will have better luck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2012
Stunning dress, a true head turner!
The plunging neckline is tricky finding the right support. Highly recommend SPANX to smooth out the lines, the material is very forgiving. The dress does run long so you will need to be in 3" heels. Very comfortable!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 65
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 7, 2012
Dres fit beautifully. A little long but wear high heels and dance the night away.
Low cut, but go to VS and get the low cut U-bra. Got many compliments on the dress. The jewelry was great but I kept it simple with just earrings.
MarleenDecember 5, 2012
Lovely dress! I'm the same height as you...how tall were your heels? btw...you can't possibly be 62! ? :)
LoveFebruary 12, 2013
Good call keeping your look simple!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 29, 2012
Stunning dress - I got lots of compliments.
The dress is gorgeous. It was a tiny bit long, but I just wore really high heels. Also, the neckline is quite plunging. RTR sent fashion tape to address the issue, but for a larger busted gal, that tape's not quite enough. I ended up pinning a broach in the middle of the neckline, and that worked well. Also, it was a little bit hard for me to get the wrinkles out with my steamer, so I ended up just being a little bit wrinkled. The dress fits well. The fabric, though very soft and clingy, was not clingy in a bad way, like some dresses can be. I got lots of compliments on this dress, and encourage you to rent it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 23, 2012
looks better on model than in person..
must wear spanx... material is not forgiving... heavy silk jersey knit dress... good quality... rent long if you are 5'7" and above and plan to wear 3" heels...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
October 17, 2012
I think the dress looks nicer online then in person.
I rented a size 2R because size 0R wasnt alvailable. On the model the back of the dress looks very sleek, but on me the zipper created a bubble on my behind area and it wasn't flattering. I think a size 0R would have fixed that, however it would have not been too small in my chest area. Overall, I love the dress it just didn't fit my body. This was my first time renting from renttherunway and I think my experience was amazing even though I didn't use the dress. I love the packing of the dresses, their risk free policy, and how easy it was to send the dresses back. I can't wait to use my credit on a new dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 17, 2012
Overall, I loved this dress. I got compliments all night long!
I was bummed they didn't carry a 0, because it would have fit perfect. I usually wear a 0-2 in most things so I'd planned on getting both. It was a little baggy at the top and I was unable to find a bra that dipped low enough in front in time, so I had to go bra-less which made it worse. It is very low cut, so a regular bra won't really work so well, unless you don't mind it peeking out. As short as I am, I was very happy that 4.5 inch heels left barely any drag and I didn't have to hold it walking. My 6 inch heels kept it off the ground, but a little too much. Plan to wear Spanx, or something similar. I wore the kind that go from the bra line to the knees because any panty line or waist line would have shown through the thin fabric, and it's quite fitted from the top until the knee. My only real complaint was the zipper line didn't lay flat at all, so I had a wavy line going down my spine and sticking out just above my butt. Nothing I did would make it lay flat! May not have been an issue with a smaller size though. Definitely go with the lowest size you normally wear if you can! Overall, I loved it and want to own it, only in a 0 and and with the right bra. :)
LoveFebruary 12, 2013
Judging from your pic, one would never have guessed you had any issues with it. You really look fantastic in this dress! In fact, I'm not sure a size 0 would flatter your lower half any better than the size 2. Either way, it looks like you made this dress work seamlessly. Nice job!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 15, 2012
Chic comfort!
This is a stunning dress but wish I could have slimmed down to do it justice but any woman would feel like a celebrity wearing this gown. A very comfortable dress ladies but make sure you wear the propped undergarments because this dress is made out of unforgivable material. Ran a little larger than I thought it would so I'm glad used the extra dress to get a smaller size. This dress is stunning and extremely comfortable.
MarleenDecember 5, 2012
I don't wish to sound too personal...but you look great in this dress the weight you are now. I know, as woman we always wish we were a few pounds lighter...
TracyJanuary 25, 2013
I have to agree with Marleen after looking at other pictures I believe the dress looked the best on you. Thanks for the review.
LiliApril 7, 2013
I agree!!! YOU LOOK AAAAAAMMMMAZING!!! what kind of undergarment did you use. I feel like I would need spanx that would go all the way up my back. I carry my weight in my stomach area...? Any tips? Great pic and dress. You look great again!
LaurenMay 15, 2013
I wanted to use spanx for the dress but forgot it (had to travel) so just a thong and low plundging bra like you I carry all of my weight in my stomach and muffin area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 14, 2012
Beautiful but clingy.
I rented this dress for a Navy Ball however, I ended up wearing my backup dress. This dress is beautiful. However, it is thin (100% silk) so it would be better for a spring or summer occasion. It is also very clingy and more of an orange/red.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
October 10, 2012
Pretty dress but was too big!
Before I submitted my order I got 0US and it went to 6Euro so I thought that was the conversion size but it was not and the dress was way too big! It was a nice dress and if it was a 0 it would have fit perfect. Quality of the dress was in perfect condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
October 9, 2012
Amazing!!!
I wore this to a charity gala and felt awesome in it. My husband loved the dress and said I'd never looked better. The dress is stretchy, so you can size down.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×