Issa

Break His Heart Dress

$75 rental
$600 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You're such a heart breaker in this flirty Issa red fit and flare style. Great for a date night out or dinner party. Go with a statement necklace like the Kendra Scott's Fenton Phoenix Necklace to add a bit of bling to this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to low back
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted until drop waist where flare begins
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to low back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to low back
WAIST: Fitted - very fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - fitted until drop waist where flare begins
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to low back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Burgundy ribbed stretch knit (80% Rayon, 20% Spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Scoop back. Hidden back zipper. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

52 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 40
Large 8
Photos 21
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 1, 2012

Loved How Comfortable and Flattering this dress was!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was super fun! I loved the low back and red color! It was super comfortable and easy because the fabric has a TON of stretch! You do have to wear a NuBra with of the low back. This dress has a drop waist and hit at my knee. I definitely recommend this dress if you are looking for an easy, fun dress!
Kourtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

I felt beautiful and girlie in this dress!! It was so hard to return it!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to celebrate my birthday. It wonderfully and I loved every second in this dress. I received TONS of compliments from friends and even strangers. The cut of the dress was very feminine and the deep V in the back felt sexy. Since reviews count, if I had to change one thing I wish the top of the dress was an inch shorter. I am 5'3" and most leg so I have a short torso which caused the top of the dress to bunch slightly in the shoulder/shoulder blade area depending on my posture, but it wasn't enough to ruin the experience. The cut and make of the dress made it easy to wear it bra-less and I still felt supported. I would gladly rent this dress again.
Heesun
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Oct 30, 2012

Perfect fit & flare!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented for a weekend away in NYC - obviously for the going out portion with friends! It was so comfortable with a good amount of stretch. Both the XS and S fit, but the top worked better in the XS (I'm smaller on top than my bottom) so went with that one. The fabric isn't thin, which helps hide what needs to be hidden and the weight keeps it from being wind-sensitive. The low back was one of my favorite parts. Keeps the dress from being super conservative!
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Nov 8, 2012

The fit! So slimming!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit on this dress is superb - it is very stretchy so it's comfortable but the material is heavier so it's very slimming. The back of the dress is low so it's not appropriate for a bra, BUT given that I need a bra always, I just always wear the dress with a blazer over it or a cardigan.
t
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

I wish this dress was mine!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fabric was great! I wore it to a formal business event and then out to dinner. I wear between a 4 and 6 and the small fit perfectly. I was able to wear a low back bra with this dress. This was my first time renting from RTR and I will again!
Eva
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 27, 2012

Fantastic Holiday Dress!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress made my waist look teeny-tiny! I felt so comfortable since it's very forgiving with plenty of give. The thick stretchy material is similar to Herve Leger dresses so it can stretch and stretch to accommodate many bust sizes. I usually wear a small and ended up sizing down to XS... which was the right move. The color is a matte-dusty chilly red with more of a blueish undertone... very classy. It has a low plunging U-back, so a low fitting back bra would work without any issues. However, I didn't wear one to avoid any weird back bra lines. This dress looks great by itself or with a fitted belt... like my simple silk ribbon tie. This dress is a fantastic holiday dress or a romantic date dress that any red blooded man will love. It's very feminine and will compliment many different shapes and sizes. One of my top pics thus far!!
Amy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 6, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5'4" and normally wear a size 2 on top, a 4 on the bottom and the XS fit perfectly. I received tons of compliments on this dress and my work holidy party. The color is a beautiful rich red and I wore it with nude patent platform pumps which looked great. I saw a couple of reviews where people complained about this dress being too long but I thought it was the perfect length - above the knee on me and I am pretty short.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

This dress was cute and sexy but still conservative -- LOVED!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved the fit of this dress. I was a bit skeptical at first because of the length (a little longer than expected), but once heels were put on, it was perfect. Loved the thick, stretchy fabric like Herve Leger dresses; I was not able to wear a bra, but because of the material it made it a-okay! Very pleased with this New Year's Eve pick!
audra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 18, 2013

WOW, what a fit! Comfortable AND sexy....who knew!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for date night with my husband. I was nervous about not wearing a bra since I am busty but this fabric was FABULOUS! When it arrive it looked casual but once on the dress fit like a glove and was a hit. Great length, even for a taller gal like myself and the extra stretch even allowed for that slice of cake after dinner! Total winner in my book....
Kelley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Apr 8, 2013

Simple

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is a really heavy material with stretch. It was a beautiful color but was super simple. I didn't really have a belt or necklace to wear with this dress so I ended up wearing my backup dress. I usually wear a size 6 and thought the small fit my body better than the medium.
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Amazing dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress and another style to choose from for my husbands Firefighter Banquet. When I tried this one on I was in love. Fit perfectly! When I showed the hubs, he honestly said, "you should buy that dress!" Fit great, and was able to wear a low back bra with it without anything showing. Very comfy and easy to move and dance in. Great dress and great renting experience.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 25, 2013

Great dress!!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the comfort of this dress. I ordered the S and M, and tried on the M first, and it fit great, so I didn't even try the S. In hindsight, I wish I had just tried the S bc I wasn't able to wear a bra (low back), and it probably would have held them up better ;) Great fit and flare dress for dancing, and I love the color to pair with red lips! Bc of my black statement necklace, I paired it with black heels, but I think nude would work best.
Marissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 20, 2013

Tight!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Not for women with any curves. This dress was so tight around the lower abdomen, it was not flattering. Drop waist is emphasized more than it looks in the picture. Beautiful dress, but I had to return it because I knew I would not be comfortable all day/night at a wedding in this dress. I wouldn't have wanted to eat!
ljpj
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 27, 2013

Got so many compliments, the color was beautiful!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Great dress, the fabric is very substantial. I ended up wearing the small vs. the medium which surprised me; I am usually an 8 or 10 but the small was much more flattering. Loved the dress, perfect for dinner and a night out in Vegas.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
May 28, 2013

Perfect Fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so easy to wear. Fits very nicely. The fabric is a little heavy and thick, so be careful if your going to be outdoors in the summer.
Beverly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 14, 2013

Nice dress, amazing back, very tapered waist

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked the dress because I like red and open back was quite flattering. However, what I did not appreciate from the model's photo is the that waist is very tight and fitted down to the hips so if you do not have absolutely flat abs it is incredibly noticeable. I managed to make it work with spanx and heels, but I would have liked it more if it was not so fitted below the waist. Also, you will definitely need a special bra such as the magic cups given that the dress is backless. Overall a nice dress, I got a lot of compliments.
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 19, 2013

Perfect for a Wedding

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friend's wedding. I got tons of compliments and the fit is very flattering for a girl with some curves. Perfect for dancing all night!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and was comfortable the whole night. Such a beautiful dress and beautiful color. The fit is very flattering. The back is low so I wore a Nu Bra. The material is a sturdy knit which is also very supportive. The small fit perfectly. I would absolutely love to wear this dress again.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

Wore for a night of my bachelorette weekend in Vegas!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits very nicely and nips in your waist. A little long but I'm short and with heels still worked well. Very comfortable.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 6, 2013

Wore this for my birthday dinner

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress did not fit like I thought it would at all! By putting her hand on her hip, the model hides how long the torso of the dress is before the skirt begins. I tried using a fashion belt to break up the long, plain torso but that didn't help much. I knew the dress may be a bit long, but I rented it based on reviews of other women 5' 3"-5' 5": wearing the small, the torso was way too long and the top of the dress kept bunching up. Perhaps the XS would have worked. The good thing is that the dress is so thick you don't need to wear a bra with it. This may look good on someone taller with heels, but it wasn't right for me.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Did not fit at all - huge!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This is my first bust from all of my rentals with RTR! I ordered both the small and extra small and both were very very large and terribly unflattering (I am a true size 2). I was so disappointed as I had read the reviews and thought the style and material would work for me. My order was at the last minute so getting a replacement would not have been possible since the day the dress arrived was the night of my event. The color and material was nice and I can see how other reviewers felt secure and comfortable wearing it. It is a quite thick stretch material. I think it might be better for someone with a longer torso as the body hit me in a strange place. Also unless you can fill out the size you order you may want to wear a low back bra.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 1, 2013

Flattering in red!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sizing was accurate, hemline short enough + long enough to be appropriate for a wedding or maybe a work cocktail event (I may rent this one again in the future just for that purpose!) and the bodycon fabric helped fit in just the right areas. The low V dip in the back showed just enough skin to be sexy. I got TONS of compliments, too... all my friends assumed I picked up another fabulous dress at yet another NYC sample sale. I told a select few my secret, so that we all don't show up in the same dress next time due to our similar tastes! My only tip- I wore it to a wedding near the beach in CA, and the weather was gorgeous- 80* with low humidity. If the weather forecast calls for something warmer, the fabric might feel a little stifling and probably wouldn't hide sweat well. I rented a small and medium- sometimes I fluctuate between a 4 and 6- and the medium COULD have fit, but it was just too much excess fabric in the waist and skirt so I went with the small.
Kristine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

I Felt Beautiful!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress and I got so many compliments! I have a short torso, so the dress gapped a little in the back and was a little long in the torso. I would have to pull it down to keep it from bunching up around the waist. But it made me have to stand up straight and watch my posture. I thought the dress was very flattering. I love that it's very fitted through the waist and top of the hips. It zips up tight and holds you in. I wore one of those backless sticky bras and I added a thin black patent studded belt.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 14, 2013

Great dress - super flattering!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress as a wedding guest and loved it - the fabric is heavy (wouldn't recommend in summer) but the cut is very flattering for girls with a small waist and hips to conceal. highly recommend!
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 18, 2014

Great color and shape!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very comfortable. Snug in mid section so you have to be comfortable with that!
Caitlin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 5, 2014

a really fun party dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my company holiday party. the high neck and length make it pretty demure, but you do get a dash of sexy with the low back. I was able to wear spanx under the dress, even with low back, and then i wore a silicone strapless bra. the material definitely stretches to hug your curves, but it shows any lines from undergarments. i ordered both the small and medium. the medium bunched at my waist/bust; the small fit more snugly through my waist, and stretched nicely over my curvy hips. overall, i loved the dress and got lots of compliments.
Ramsey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Feb 12, 2014

I did not end up wearing it.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the way the top fit, but the skirt flared out a little low for me, and it fit a little too much like a cheerleading uniform. The top was tight and then the skirt flared out too much for me. I ended up not wearing it.
CRYSTAL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 19, 2014

Lovely deep red color

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Very pretty but I think I gained weight over the holiday season and it wasn't as flattering as it could have been. Otherwise gorgeous dress
Maryann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Loved the dress. It was a beautiful red which really popped against everyone in black.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 4, so I ordered a small and medium. The small fit perfectly. The back is kind of low, so I chose not to wear a bra. The fabric of the dress was thick and stretchy so no bra was not a problem at all.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 25, 2014

Fit was wrong

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit on this dress wasn't super flattering and the condition my dress came in was poor. There were noticable rips in the fabric that would have been exposed had i worn it. Overall this was disappointing
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 28, 2014

SO CLASSIC

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved loved loved this dress. It was so comfortable and flattering. I got so many compliments on this dress. Since it does dip low in the back you need the sticky bra, regular strapless do not work. I loved it so much I would rent it again.
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

If you have small shoulders or are short waisted don't even bother trying to rent this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I small shoulders, a short waist and a somewhat petite frame. The dress fit perfect around the waist & hips, and l can see how other large-busted women like me were able to wear it. But I would have to grow shoulders 4 inches higher to get the dress to fit me. It was well made and pretty and the thick, stretchy material will certainly allow even larger busted ladies to go braless. But you'll have to have a longer waist and larger shoulders than I do to fit into the dress.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

This was my back up dress and I did not end up wearing it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a back up dress for my cocktail attire gala event. I didn't end up picking it because it just wasn't quite as formal looking as my other dress, but that doesn't mean I don't wish I had somewhere to wear it! This dress is gorgeous for a fancy dinner, party, or any dressy event really. The material is stretchy, yet snug. It feels so comfortable, but looks dressy. I ordered a small and it fit perfect through the waist and hips, but had a bit of extra room at the top for me. I would have had to wear a low-back bra to make up the space. This dress is definitely at the top of my list to rent again for an appropriate event!
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

I wore this dress for my engagement pictures. It photographed beautifully.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress was a bit long and when I tried to pull it up to make it shorter, it had too much ruching. I still liked it but I wish it was 2-3 inches shorter.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Was not flattering and was not able to wear it to the wedding.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is LONG. On the model it fits above the knees and it hit halfway down my calves. If it had been about five inches shorter it would have been cute. The material was also very heavy and had lines in it that you can't see in the picture.
Patsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Just OK

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was an OK dress for me. I didn't like the open back which prevents using a regular bra. Also the waist is low so I felt like it highlighted any tummy pooch you may have. Spanx were needed. The fabric is heavy and the color is beautiful. I would recommend a necklace or belt to add a little more to this dress.
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Longer than expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The XS and S fit nearly the same. The dress hit below my knees and the material was more sweatery than I had expected. Not great for a June wedding. I ended up wearing something that I already had.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Eh

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't love this dress. The length and color were good, and it was comfortable, but the neckline was unflattering, and I did not like the fabric. It is a much heavier ribbing than what it looks like in the photos.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 1, 2014

Simple but still dramatic

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so flattering, and I received so many compliments on it. I felt amazing in it, and was told it was the best I ever looked! At first, I was a little uncomfortable with the drop waist (it's tight on the hips and flares out below) but realized that it looked great. Highly recommend! I didn't want to send it back!
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 15, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered this for a wedding. I ordered the small and medium. Them medium was too big and bunched in the waist, but the small fit great. While you can't wear a normal bra with this dress because of the low back, you can wear spanx underneath. I'm 5'9 and was worried the dress would be too short, but it was a great length.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×