You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Licorice Dress
Rental $40 Retail $470
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This combo dress by Helmut Lang mixes silk and satin for a sophisticated update to the classic LBD.
Chat with a Stylist
Aubergine silk and black satin combo dress. Surplice neckline. Cap sleeves. Peplum detail and front pleat on skirt. Back satin paneling. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos10

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Guge
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Mar 24, 2014
Felt like a million bucks
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my birthday dinner and it was a great fit! I usually wear a size 10 but the size 8 fit the best. Really accentuated my curves. Loved it! On a side note, the dress arrived stained (both the size 8 and size 10). I called Rent the Runway and they overnighted me a size 8. If anything is ever wrong with your dress when it shows up just call them. They are professional and courteous and will make things right.
L
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6433
Mar 19, 2014
Classy, flattering, and comfortable
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't get a great picture of the dress, but I loved it for a wine tasting party (the dress next to me is also RTR). I usually wear a 6/8 in dresses, and the 4 would've fit (I didn't wear it because it wasn't as comfortable as the 6-I probably would have had to suck in all night :)). So definitely size down. It was very forgiving and flattering in the front, albeit slightly large in the chest and shoulder area, and form fitting in the back. The material and color are beautiful, and the length is perfect for a classy event. I wore it with strappy gunmetal heels.
Kayla
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Nov 15, 2013
Too much fabric.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs very large. I didn't wear it, it was too big and I think it's a lot of fabric for a small person. It might work a more conservative cocktail hour, but not really a party dress.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8543
Oct 26, 2013
Ordering from RTR is so easy and with the free back-up size, it helps when you're between sizes.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress!!! The length was awesome especially because I have a short torso and longer legs. The material has stretch to it so it fits your body great but you are comfortable. I danced all night and loved the way the dress had a shiny material and a matte material. It has a funky look with two different sleeve cuts. I HIGHLY recommend this dress!!!
Gina
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 8644
Oct 19, 2013
Lovely Luncheon
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful. I ordered it for $25 as a backup dress for another event but it was perfect for a charity luncheon. The dress fit beautifully and was so comfortable. I am am a DDD so finding dresses that fit well in the bust can be a problem. This was a jersey material with a little stretch This fit like a glove and I felt great in it!
Tonya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Aug 1, 2013
In a sea of sparkle, I stood out as classy.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
More of a grey-ish purple. Very pretty and comfortable.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 19, 2012
Birthday dress!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday party! It was great and I felt super sexy! Its stretchy though... so I would've gone with a smaller size.. oh well, still looked great.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4531
Jul 25, 2012
This was a replacement dress that customer service helped pick out & it was a great choice. Fit better than the original dress I wanted.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a Fashion Week event. This replaced the original dress I ordered. I'm usually a 6, but I received a 4 & it fit well. I received many compliments on this dress.
Caridad
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7444
Feb 15, 2014
Runs large, order down for your backup size
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I'm a size 10, but ordered this in an 8 because I felt the 10 might be too big. I was right, the 8 fit like a glove. I wear a 34DDD and the dress is stretchy enough to accommodate everything. It's form fitting but extremely flattering and very classy. Will likely rent this one again.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Feb 5, 2014
I felt spectacular!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress, which originally was my backup style for another rental, turned out to be a major score!! I chose to wear it to a holiday party thrown by my high school alumnae network at a very upscale venue in the city. This dress was appropriately sophisticated for the occasion and fit me like a glove. I typically wear a 4 or a 6, so I would recommend sizing down. Even with a large bust, the 2 was a perfect fit. I accessorized with black heels and sparkly silver earrings. Although the cut of the dress is very form-fitting, the draping on the front made it surprisingly forgiving and comfortable to wear without feeling like I had to suck it in all night. Great dress- would absolutely rent again!
Sidni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Jan 9, 2014
LOVED this! High fashion!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner after party and loved it! I felt like a rock star!! Fits great!!
Neener
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5623
Jan 1, 2014
This dress did not work for me- liked the idea of it, though.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Last minute choice for New Years Eve (for a last minute affair). Pickings a bit slim, especially for a short person like myself. That was my problem, not RTR. Best suited for a taller, more slender frame, I think. Too much material, too long, big, fussy, and frumpy for my 5' tall frame. Took a chance, as I thought it looked sophisticated and interesting. Which it is, but not on me. Also, the fit was very odd on me. I gave it a try as some other "shorties" liked it. I did not wear it. I did not bother even trying on the 6 (only the 4) as it would have been way too overwhelming. I do not think a smaller size would have worked either- same issues with fit and frumpy. Should have known better, knowing my body and what looks good on it. I do not look good with a dress ending just above my knees. Needs to be either shorter or longer. However, I was happy that even though I ordered at the last minute, it got here in time (if I had chosen to wear it), and both sizes were clean, great condition and ready to go. different Had I been able to discuss choices with a stylist, that person may have steered me to a better available choice. But it was Sunday evening with New Years on Tuesday, so just gave it a shot. I am happy with RTR, just not the fit and style of this dress on me.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Sep 9, 2013
Great LBD
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Great dress, really classy. Would have liked to have the 6 and the 8 as the 8 was a bit big but overall it worked well!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Aug 23, 2013
Way too big!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the smallest size, 0, and it was way too big - did not have any fit the way it does on the model at all. I'm not that small either - a slighty curvy 120 lb-er, so i wouldnt recommend to anyone remotely small. If it did actually have fit, I think I would have loved it for a girls night out or work event, but alas, beyond help. Good concept, bad execution!
Jessica
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8433
May 24, 2013
Very cute and comfortable!
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fits true to size. I'm in between a 10 and a 12 (I'm a 10 on the top and a 12 on the bottom). I chose to wear the 12 because the dress is fitted in the hips. I received a ton of compliments on the dress.
Gina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 23, 2013
Pretty, flattering, comfortable
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs large, I wore a 2 and feel like I could have worn the next size down
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Jan 1, 2013
tons of compliments!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I received tons of compliments on this dress. I paired it with black tights and pumps. It definitely runs large...I typically wear a size 6, but would fit into both the 4 and 2. (Ended up wearing the size 4)
Danielle
Age: 33
Canonical User Type: 1511
Nov 23, 2012
Runs big
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Ran pretty large- I normally am a size 4, but this 4 was way too big- couldn;t even wear it to the wedding. Good thing I had brought a backup.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4433
Oct 17, 2012
Did not end up wearing this dress
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I received this dress as my back-up option when my original order dress did not have my back up size available. I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it is beautiful in person. Runs a little large, so order your typical size. Wish I could have given it a try!
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 10, 2012
This was my back-up dress. I didn't end up wearing it.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit true to size overall, but the top was much looser than I expected. I don't know if it is due to over use or cleaning. Overall, I didn't feel like the fit was as fitted as on the model.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Oct 7, 2012
Really nice quality dress that's classy, sexy, unique, and easy to wear.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great for comfort, style, and quality: the cut and detailing are unique and flattering, the material (silk/satin) feels luxurious and comfortable, both sizes arrived in excellent condition, you can wear a regular bra, the fabric has a bit of stretch so you can move around (and eat) freely, the neckline is conservative yet interesting, and the back is nicely fitted and looks hot. While the size 2 would've been fine and not baggy or anything, the 0 fit perfectly. (I usually wear dress size 2 or 4.) It came to 2-3" above my knee. I styled it with long gold/black stick earrings, sheer black tights, hair in a neat side bun, and black booties for a fall wedding. i was about to give it 4 stars instead of 5 because it didn't totally wow and isn't a "look at that dress!" kind of dress. But I am giving it 5 because not every dress needs to make a huge statement, and this one is perfect at being understated yet still amazing.
jillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4423
Sep 28, 2012
Felt great!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Could have worn a size 2, but I was at a conservative wedding, so I had to wear it a little longer. I have a large bust, small waist, and big hips for my short size so this dress was perfect for concealing those voluptuous parts of me for the conservative wedding I had to attend.
Daisy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Sep 26, 2012
Beautiful fit, but a little bit longer than it looks!
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress because it fit quite well and was very flattering- but on my 5'2 frame, was just a bit too long for a fun wedding. Tall girls, go for it! It's beautiful and very well-made.
power diner
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Sep 26, 2012
Great crossover between cocktails and a black tie affair
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
As others have said, this runs very large. For example, I wore the 0 in this and a 4 in my backup dress of another brand. Also, much like the other Helmut dress I have borrowed, it sort of got longer as the night went on. The fabric sort of settles. That being said, I loved the neckline and the detailing.
AM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Sep 23, 2012
Easy to wear, slightly edgy.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Was a little big and should have worn the smaller size. A classy dress with a slight edge. Perfect for a cocktail party.
Theresa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3521
Sep 13, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on the fit and style of this dress.
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs large as other reviewers have said, I usually wear a size 2. The pros: comfortable, I like the contrast that the two types of fabrics offers, unique draping. The cons: not really any!
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Sep 4, 2012
Great LBD
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a benefit for the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council in NYC. It's a great LBD without being boring. The different fabrics create a nice texture and some verge towards gray rather than black, which I actually liked. It was very flattering, without being inappropriate for work. The front is cool but modest with a more fitted back.
LSEinLA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8534
Aug 25, 2012
Classy and elegant
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt gorgeous and elegant in this dress. It is classy and sophisticated and fits like a glove. I prefer dresses with a little stretch, and this was perfect and hugged my curves in all the right places. It is perfect for a formal affair, dressy work function or anywhere you need to wear an LBD that is professional and sharp yet sexy and fun!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Aug 24, 2012
Very pretty but...
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It looks so edgy on the model. It wasn't as sassy as I expected and ran really large to get any sort of figure out of it. I haven't been a size 0 since I was 12 but I got to be for one night! It was also very long on me.
Stef
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Aug 13, 2012
cute dress, poor fit
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
cute dress but a weird fit. puffy at the stomach. definitely one you'd want to try on first. runs large
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7433
Jul 19, 2012
Runs really large--not kidding
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding, but didn't end up wearing it. When they say it runs large, they are not kidding! I'm usually a 10 in dresses, 12 in pants (my measurements are 36-30-40) and after reading the reviews, I ordered a 10 and an 8. The 8 was so loose in the waist, it was sagging. Also, the length on me was just about to my knees, rather than cute-flirty-mid-thigh length, like I was hoping for. After I got to the wedding, I realized this dress would've been too formal anyway, even if it had fit--on the model, it looks like it straddles that line between 'cocktail' and 'party', but in person, it was all 'formal cocktail'.
HS
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5423
Jun 8, 2012
Great dress! Runs very large.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful. For short people like me, it hits just above the knee and is very flattering all around. Definitely order down a size, or even two sizes. I usually wear a 6 and even the 4 was a bit loose in the waist.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5534
May 2, 2012
Girls Night Out
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this in a 6 and 8 for a girls weekend in New York City. I am large busted and usually fluctuate between a 6-8 because of that. The 8 was baggy and the 6 fit like a dream. Unfortunately, even though the dress was really flattering, I didn't end up wearing it. The 6 was just a bit too tattered and worn - I was expecting better quality than this. I think the sash and sides are made of satin and they had little snags and pulls. Nothing major, but it didn't make me feel like a million bucks. I'd still recommend this dress to others - it really is a great cut!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7534
Mar 1, 2012
Sexy
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Very flattering, kinda sexy and different. Husband loved it. At least I had a hot dress on, the party was a dud.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Feb 27, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as my "backup" dress and ended up wearing it because it was so comfortable and really a dress you could wear anywhere. It can be worn dressed up or down depending on the heels and jewels. I thought the blacks looked black (unlike other comments) but it is clearly two separate fabrics, a silk and a satin, which appear different. I really liked the look.
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 5431
Jan 4, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved, loved, loved! Great dress and super comfy
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Dec 27, 2011
Fit like a glove
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a casual company party. It was perfect because it looked dressed up and festive, but not over the top. Conservative because of the length and high neck line, but still sexy and elegant. I would not recommend it if you want to make a big statement. It is understated. I loved the fit. It has the right amount of spandex to conform to your curves in a flattering way. I wore it with black tights and black patent platform heels.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2633
Dec 18, 2011
I needed to be a bit thicker
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am a hard to fit 0 to size 2 and I ordered this in "0" and it was too baggy on me. I'm almost 5'4" 114 lbs, no chest, with wide hips. Pretty dress, but I had a Doo Ri back-up that worked, so all was well!
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Dec 14, 2011
Very cute!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress does run big so be sure to order a size down. I'm glad I did. A 0 probably would have been a better fit, but the 2 worked. Swimming in the 4. Especially with my full bust. Got lots of compliments on the dress. I wore it to a company holiday party. It felt sexy, yet conservative, since it covered any cleavage. Really comfy and you can wear a typical bra with it (which is a must for the busty gals).
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Canonical User Type: 4524
Dec 12, 2011
Great Dress!
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was very figure flattering and perfect for my holiday party for work. I got tons of compliments. The dress definitely runs large, so order a size down, at least.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress