Licorice Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

This combo dress by Helmut Lang mixes silk and satin for a sophisticated update to the classic LBD.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Aubergine silk and black satin combo dress. Surplice neckline. Cap sleeves. Peplum detail and front pleat on skirt. Back satin paneling. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(29)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 18, 2014
This was my back up dress!
Fabric has a little stretch. Very comfortable. Color is a deep plum so it stood out in a room of LBDs. Design details are beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2014
Nice, but Not Right for Me
I ordered this as a backup to another Helmut Lang dress for a cocktail party. I got a 4 and a 6, and the 4 fit me very well. I was pleased with the overall fit, but the detailing on the dress just wasn't as cool as I'd hoped it would be. I think a lot of the fabric draping that looks so good on the model in the photo ended up being a bit "saggy" on me, making it look a bit ill-fitting. I did like this dress... I just didn't love it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 8, 2014
Classy and sassy!
This dress was so cute in person! It gave me curves and I felt it was really flattering. The back was very flirty. I got compliments all night! I usually wear a 2 but the 0 was a perfect fit...not tight at all and a great length. I am trying to come up with another reason to rent this dress again...loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
May 10, 2014
Very Comfortable, Yet Sexy!
i received many compliments on this dress! Loved it! Very comfortable too. It was perfect for the evening work party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 21, 2014
Love this!
This dress is so fun and flattering! The detailing in the front makes this dress forgiving, so you don't have to worry about "sucking it in." Great material and so flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2014
Beautiful dress. I received a ton of compliments.
Dress does run large. I am usually a 6 and the 4 fit perfect. I also have a large chest (36D) and it was just the right size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2014
I was the main speaker for a banquet and needed something understated yet notable, and this was perf
I preferred the smaller size, but there was a stain on it, so I wore the larger one. It looked nice too.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 16, 2014
Unfortunately, I did not end up wearing this dress.
The 2 was not at all form-fitting, which rendered it very unflattering. I wish I had ordered a 0 and a 2 instead of a 2 and a 4 (which is my typical dress range).
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2014
I felt chic and comfortable all night.
Fit was true, color was different, and I felt elegant. The cut and fabric are forgiving and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 14, 2014
Flattering, chic and comfortable
This is one of my favorite RTR dresses and one of the few I would consider purchasing if it goes on sale. The color is a deep plum, very appropriate for the cooler months and the materials are high quality. The dress is super soft to the touch and stretchy which makes it comfortable. It hugs your curves in all the right places (in the booty!) and has details to downplay the midsection. Hitting above the knee on me, it was an ideal length- long enough to be appropriate, yet not too 'buttoned up' looking. I loved being able to wear a regular bra with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 6, 2014
I love this dress, it was too big on me.
It ran big and was longer than I like, I never wore it. :( Maybe a smaller size would work much better. Bummer because I REALLY like this dress! Not with the necklace they photographed the model wearing though. ;)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2014
A Great Twist on the LBD...
I normally wear a size 6 but wore my backup size (4). The prior person who rented the 6 returned it damaged and RTR was unable to fix it in time. They sent me another similar Trina Turk dress, but it was too fancy for my dinner. I tried the 4 on and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2015
Perfect party dress! Both classy & edgy.
I wore this to a company Christmas party. Was perfect because it was not too fancy, but was classy, yet edgy with the two toned material. Received many compliments. It seemed to run a little large, the size 0 was more loose fitting than normal. But still very comfortable and overall a great dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2015
I wore this to an outdoor black-tie wedding in the fall.
I debated between the 2 and the 4 because the 2 seemed a little tighter across the bottom, but the 4 was too baggy. This was comfortable and forgiving in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
LOVED this! High fashion!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner after party and loved it! I felt like a rock star!! Fits great!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2012
This was a replacement dress that customer service helped pick out & it was a great choice. Fit better than the original dress I wanted.
I wore this to a Fashion Week event. This replaced the original dress I ordered. I'm usually a 6, but I received a 4 & it fit well. I received many compliments on this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
October 19, 2013
Lovely Luncheon
This dress is beautiful. I ordered it for $25 as a backup dress for another event but it was perfect for a charity luncheon. The dress fit beautifully and was so comfortable. I am am a DDD so finding dresses that fit well in the bust can be a problem. This was a jersey material with a little stretch This fit like a glove and I felt great in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 26, 2013
Ordering from RTR is so easy and with the free back-up size, it helps when you're between sizes.
I LOVED this dress!!! The length was awesome especially because I have a short torso and longer legs. The material has stretch to it so it fits your body great but you are comfortable. I danced all night and loved the way the dress had a shiny material and a matte material. It has a funky look with two different sleeve cuts. I HIGHLY recommend this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 15, 2013
Too much fabric.
Runs very large. I didn't wear it, it was too big and I think it's a lot of fabric for a small person. It might work a more conservative cocktail hour, but not really a party dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 40
May 22, 2014
Nice dress
I wore this to an NFL Cheerleader final audition. The dress was really comfortable but I felt it was a little "boxy" in the mid section. I received a TON of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
October 3, 2014
Comfortable Dress!!
This dress is do comfortable but it does run a little big. I wish I had worn a size down but I still lived it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2015
Dress was a little plain for my function.. Had to jazz it up with accessories.
Thanks to the other reviews I got a size smaller than what I would normally wear and it fit great. The color is a soft black. I got compliments all night. RTR service is awesome. The experience was wonderful and I will order more soon.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 20, 2015
Interesting design, got a ton of compliments.
Not the best photo, but gives you an idea of the draping in the front. Very comfortable and easy to move in. Tight in back (in a good way). Loved this dress and would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 27, 2015
Benefit party for work
Interesting dress in terms of its lines and cut. Definitely different than anything I've worn before. Suitable for the occasion - benefit party for work. Felt like there was a lot of extra fabric around the front which wasn't totally flattering on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 15, 2014
Runs large, order down for your backup size
I'm a size 10, but ordered this in an 8 because I felt the 10 might be too big. I was right, the 8 fit like a glove. I wear a 34DDD and the dress is stretchy enough to accommodate everything. It's form fitting but extremely flattering and very classy. Will likely rent this one again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2014
Went to a charity event.
The dress fit true to size and looked great on. I did not wear the dress however, I wore something else.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 27, 2010
Such a pretty dress, but looks better on the model than it did on me. I ordered a 2 (I'm 5'8" & 123 lbs) with a size 4 as a backup. As soon as I took the 2 out of the bag I knew it was too big! It looked a bit frumpy on instead of sexy :( but I wore it anyway! I recommend ordering a size down as backup.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
December 10, 2010
I ordered a size zero, and unfortunately, it was too big. I would say the dress runs two sizes too big! The color and neckline are lovely, but I wouldn't order the dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2011
This dress was so comfortable and flattering! I'm usually a size 8 but fit comfortably into a size 4. Got many compliments. A great rental!
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
August 27, 2011
Order your backup size a size down from normal. I have hips and was happy with the fit, so even though it runs large I'd rather not have super tight thighs and a little more room up top. This dress is super sexy and very forgiving. Thought the length might be a problem from the model, but it was just right.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
Great for those that are a little curvy! Very flattering fit and has a little stretch to it, so very comfortable dress. Would definitely rent this one again!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2011
According to the size chart I am a size 12. I rented the 12 and 10 as backup. The 12 was way too big and the 10 was still too big. Looks frumpy. It's a shame because it's a cute dress and if I had the smaller size I think I would love it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2011
I adore this dress! I'm normally between an 8 and 10, and the 8 fit great. It was comfortable and sexy without being over the top.
HanneloraMay 7, 2012
was this dress too short?
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Hannelora, this dress is 37'' from shoulder to hem so it will be a mini on heights 5'9 and above!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
November 25, 2011
too big, but very cute dress!
I loved this dress, but I was disappointed that it didn't fit me how I would have liked it to. I chatted w/ a stylist who suggested a size 0 and a 2 as a backup, but even the 0 was too big on me. I wore a belt around the waist, which actually looked really cute, but the dress was still too big overall, especially in the butt!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
Totally luxurious- Love it!
This dress does run large, I normally wear size 4, but the size 2 that I wore was a bit big in the waist. Other than that, I loved the dress. The fabric was quality and you could tell that the designer had put thought into the details. I wore this for a wedding rehearsal, which also included a night out in NYC, and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 12, 2011
Great Dress!
This dress was very figure flattering and perfect for my holiday party for work. I got tons of compliments. The dress definitely runs large, so order a size down, at least.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2012
Sexy
Very flattering, kinda sexy and different. Husband loved it. At least I had a hot dress on, the party was a dud.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2012
cute dress, poor fit
cute dress but a weird fit. puffy at the stomach. definitely one you'd want to try on first. runs large
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2012
Easy to wear, slightly edgy.
Was a little big and should have worn the smaller size. A classy dress with a slight edge. Perfect for a cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 26, 2012
Great crossover between cocktails and a black tie affair
As others have said, this runs very large. For example, I wore the 0 in this and a 4 in my backup dress of another brand. Also, much like the other Helmut dress I have borrowed, it sort of got longer as the night went on. The fabric sort of settles. That being said, I loved the neckline and the detailing.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×