Helmut Lang

Licorice Dress

$59 to buy
$470 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This combo dress by Helmut Lang mixes silk and satin for a sophisticated update to the classic LBD.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Aubergine silk and black satin combo dress. Surplice neckline. Cap sleeves. Peplum detail and front pleat on skirt. Back satin paneling. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

86 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 28
Large 56
Photos 17
NYC
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 29, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Ordered size 4 & 6 and the 4 was perfect. Great fit and even looked good with tights.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress is AHmazing, it was perfect for NYE. I got compliments from about everyone I saw...I really didn't want to send it back!! Order a size down as it runs large and won't look great if it's not snug enough.
Issa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Rented this for a pageant event I was judging; paired with my own costume earrings and the Montecarlo Bangle Set; it looked amazing.  I am 5'3" and very curvy with a smaller waist (typically I wear a 10 in Regular Sizes, but found the 8 in this dress was perfect (found it very helpful that RTR allows you to order an addtl size just in case).  The dress hit just below my knees and I found the length really worked well.  Great dress; would certainly rent again.
Gigi
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I love it, this dress was amazing, it fits very well.
Emma
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress had a large stain on the left breast which was too bad because the fit was great!
A. Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Thank goodness I rented a backup dress, because this dress was HUGE. The 2 was waaaay too big, and made me feel very frumpy. I don't even think a 0 would have worked for me. Loved the detail on the back and was super bummed to not get to wear it. I weigh about 130 and wear a 34B.
RTR732
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 112 lbs
May 18, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I enjoyed wearing this dress - pretty and comfortable, no fuss. The detailing is much more subdued than pictured, and I actually liked it better in person. Fits true to size.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 31, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was so comfortable and flattering! I'm usually a size 8 but fit comfortably into a size 4. Got many compliments. A great rental!
mstrex
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 23, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress lovely but does run large. Go against your instincts and get a size smaller than your usual size. It needs to fit a bit tighter to hang properly. Otherwise the front won't wrap across your chest and will shlump!
Lise
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 27, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Order your backup size a size down from normal. I have hips and was happy with the fit, so even though it runs large I'd rather not have super tight thighs and a little more room up top. This dress is super sexy and very forgiving. Thought the length might be a problem from the model, but it was just right.
divamom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I took the advice of the all the other ladies and took a size 2, which fit perfectly. I still ordered a size 4 just in case. Service was great and chatting with the stylist also helped.
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I love this dress & want to keep it! I thought it ran true to size & was flattering. It is more of a charcoal grey vs black & the fabric feels great! I am so glad I got this rental & cannot wait to wear it!
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 23, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Very flattering dress. Wore to dinner at a fancy restaurant and got compliments. I got size 0 which fit well except the top was a bit large.
Anna
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great for those that are a little curvy! Very flattering fit and has a little stretch to it, so very comfortable dress. Would definitely rent this one again!
KSD
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Oct 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
According to the size chart I am a size 12. I rented the 12 and 10 as backup. The 12 was way too big and the 10 was still too big. Looks frumpy. It's a shame because it's a cute dress and if I had the smaller size I think I would love it!
Jamie
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was phenomenal! I received a ton of compliments! It is very comfortable, and flattering! It does run large though, I would say it runs about one size too big. I would definitely rent this dress again!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I adore this dress! I'm normally between an 8 and 10, and the 8 fit great. It was comfortable and sexy without being over the top.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Nov 25, 2011

too big, but very cute dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress, but I was disappointed that it didn't fit me how I would have liked it to. I chatted w/ a stylist who suggested a size 0 and a 2 as a backup, but even the 0 was too big on me. I wore a belt around the waist, which actually looked really cute, but the dress was still too big overall, especially in the butt!!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 27, 2011

Sooo Disappointed

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I originally ordered this dress for my best friend’s very chic / very photog-friendly event, and was REALLY excited to wear it but I ended up grabbing something from my own closet. This dress was not AT ALL what I expected. Maybe I was thrown off by the distant picture provided by the site but this dress is actually a two-toned/ dual-material- part black, part dark purple. The back was super sexy- hugged my curves, but the front looked very frumpy although it has an A-symmetrical sleeve. As the other reviews mentioned, the dress does run large, so order your size AND the size under (I only tried on the smaller size). This was my first big miss with RTR. Oh well.
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Totally luxurious- Love it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress does run large, I normally wear size 4, but the size 2 that I wore was a bit big in the waist. Other than that, I loved the dress. The fabric was quality and you could tell that the designer had put thought into the details. I wore this for a wedding rehearsal, which also included a night out in NYC, and it worked perfectly.
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Dec 12, 2011

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was very figure flattering and perfect for my holiday party for work. I got tons of compliments. The dress definitely runs large, so order a size down, at least.
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

Very cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress does run big so be sure to order a size down. I'm glad I did. A 0 probably would have been a better fit, but the 2 worked. Swimming in the 4. Especially with my full bust. Got lots of compliments on the dress. I wore it to a company holiday party. It felt sexy, yet conservative, since it covered any cleavage. Really comfy and you can wear a typical bra with it (which is a must for the busty gals).
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 18, 2011

I needed to be a bit thicker

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am a hard to fit 0 to size 2 and I ordered this in "0" and it was too baggy on me. I'm almost 5'4" 114 lbs, no chest, with wide hips. Pretty dress, but I had a Doo Ri back-up that worked, so all was well!
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 27, 2011

Fit like a glove

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a casual company party. It was perfect because it looked dressed up and festive, but not over the top. Conservative because of the length and high neck line, but still sexy and elegant. I would not recommend it if you want to make a big statement. It is understated. I loved the fit. It has the right amount of spandex to conform to your curves in a flattering way. I wore it with black tights and black patent platform heels.
Andrea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Jan 4, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved, loved, loved! Great dress and super comfy
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 27, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress as my "backup" dress and ended up wearing it because it was so comfortable and really a dress you could wear anywhere. It can be worn dressed up or down depending on the heels and jewels. I thought the blacks looked black (unlike other comments) but it is clearly two separate fabrics, a silk and a satin, which appear different. I really liked the look.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 1, 2012

Sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Very flattering, kinda sexy and different. Husband loved it. At least I had a hot dress on, the party was a dud.
D
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 2, 2012

Girls Night Out

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this in a 6 and 8 for a girls weekend in New York City. I am large busted and usually fluctuate between a 6-8 because of that. The 8 was baggy and the 6 fit like a dream. Unfortunately, even though the dress was really flattering, I didn't end up wearing it. The 6 was just a bit too tattered and worn - I was expecting better quality than this. I think the sash and sides are made of satin and they had little snags and pulls. Nothing major, but it didn't make me feel like a million bucks. I'd still recommend this dress to others - it really is a great cut!
HS
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 8, 2012

Great dress! Runs very large.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful. For short people like me, it hits just above the knee and is very flattering all around. Definitely order down a size, or even two sizes. I usually wear a 6 and even the 4 was a bit loose in the waist.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 19, 2012

Runs really large--not kidding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding, but didn't end up wearing it. When they say it runs large, they are not kidding! I'm usually a 10 in dresses, 12 in pants (my measurements are 36-30-40) and after reading the reviews, I ordered a 10 and an 8. The 8 was so loose in the waist, it was sagging. Also, the length on me was just about to my knees, rather than cute-flirty-mid-thigh length, like I was hoping for. After I got to the wedding, I realized this dress would've been too formal anyway, even if it had fit--on the model, it looks like it straddles that line between 'cocktail' and 'party', but in person, it was all 'formal cocktail'.
Stef
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

cute dress, poor fit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
cute dress but a weird fit. puffy at the stomach. definitely one you'd want to try on first. runs large
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Very pretty but...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It looks so edgy on the model. It wasn't as sassy as I expected and ran really large to get any sort of figure out of it. I haven't been a size 0 since I was 12 but I got to be for one night! It was also very long on me.
LIbbyBee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

Classy and elegant

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt gorgeous and elegant in this dress. It is classy and sophisticated and fits like a glove. I prefer dresses with a little stretch, and this was perfect and hugged my curves in all the right places. It is perfect for a formal affair, dressy work function or anywhere you need to wear an LBD that is professional and sharp yet sexy and fun!
Jennie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Great LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a benefit for the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council in NYC. It's a great LBD without being boring. The different fabrics create a nice texture and some verge towards gray rather than black, which I actually liked. It was very flattering, without being inappropriate for work. The front is cool but modest with a more fitted back.
Theresa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Sep 13, 2012

I got a lot of compliments on the fit and style of this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs large as other reviewers have said, I usually wear a size 2. The pros: comfortable, I like the contrast that the two types of fabrics offers, unique draping. The cons: not really any!
AM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Easy to wear, slightly edgy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Was a little big and should have worn the smaller size. A classy dress with a slight edge. Perfect for a cocktail party.
power diner
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Great crossover between cocktails and a black tie affair

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
As others have said, this runs very large. For example, I wore the 0 in this and a 4 in my backup dress of another brand. Also, much like the other Helmut dress I have borrowed, it sort of got longer as the night went on. The fabric sort of settles. That being said, I loved the neckline and the detailing.
Daisy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Beautiful fit, but a little bit longer than it looks!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress because it fit quite well and was very flattering- but on my 5'2 frame, was just a bit too long for a fun wedding. Tall girls, go for it! It's beautiful and very well-made.
jillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Felt great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Could have worn a size 2, but I was at a conservative wedding, so I had to wear it a little longer. I have a large bust, small waist, and big hips for my short size so this dress was perfect for concealing those voluptuous parts of me for the conservative wedding I had to attend.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

Really nice quality dress that's classy, sexy, unique, and easy to wear.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great for comfort, style, and quality: the cut and detailing are unique and flattering, the material (silk/satin) feels luxurious and comfortable, both sizes arrived in excellent condition, you can wear a regular bra, the fabric has a bit of stretch so you can move around (and eat) freely, the neckline is conservative yet interesting, and the back is nicely fitted and looks hot. While the size 2 would've been fine and not baggy or anything, the 0 fit perfectly. (I usually wear dress size 2 or 4.) It came to 2-3" above my knee. I styled it with long gold/black stick earrings, sheer black tights, hair in a neat side bun, and black booties for a fall wedding. i was about to give it 4 stars instead of 5 because it didn't totally wow and isn't a "look at that dress!" kind of dress. But I am giving it 5 because not every dress needs to make a huge statement, and this one is perfect at being understated yet still amazing.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×