Helmut Lang

Licorice Dress

$59 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This combo dress by Helmut Lang mixes silk and satin for a sophisticated update to the classic LBD.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly big. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - front pleat on skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fabric highlights and flatters backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Product Details

Aubergine silk and black satin combo dress. Surplice neckline. Cap sleeves. Peplum detail and front pleat on skirt. Back satin paneling. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 37'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(56)
True to Size
(29)
Small
(0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2015
Dress was a little plain for my function.. Had to jazz it up with accessories.
Thanks to the other reviews I got a size smaller than what I would normally wear and it fit great. The color is a soft black. I got compliments all night. RTR service is awesome. The experience was wonderful and I will order more soon.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 15, 2014
Runs large, order down for your backup size
I'm a size 10, but ordered this in an 8 because I felt the 10 might be too big. I was right, the 8 fit like a glove. I wear a 34DDD and the dress is stretchy enough to accommodate everything. It's form fitting but extremely flattering and very classy. Will likely rent this one again.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 27, 2010
Such a pretty dress, but looks better on the model than it did on me. I ordered a 2 (I'm 5'8" & 123 lbs) with a size 4 as a backup. As soon as I took the 2 out of the bag I knew it was too big! It looked a bit frumpy on instead of sexy :( but I wore it anyway! I recommend ordering a size down as backup.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
December 10, 2010
I ordered a size zero, and unfortunately, it was too big. I would say the dress runs two sizes too big! The color and neckline are lovely, but I wouldn't order the dress again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 31, 2011
This dress was so comfortable and flattering! I'm usually a size 8 but fit comfortably into a size 4. Got many compliments. A great rental!
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
August 27, 2011
Order your backup size a size down from normal. I have hips and was happy with the fit, so even though it runs large I'd rather not have super tight thighs and a little more room up top. This dress is super sexy and very forgiving. Thought the length might be a problem from the model, but it was just right.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2011
According to the size chart I am a size 12. I rented the 12 and 10 as backup. The 12 was way too big and the 10 was still too big. Looks frumpy. It's a shame because it's a cute dress and if I had the smaller size I think I would love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
November 25, 2011
too big, but very cute dress!
I loved this dress, but I was disappointed that it didn't fit me how I would have liked it to. I chatted w/ a stylist who suggested a size 0 and a 2 as a backup, but even the 0 was too big on me. I wore a belt around the waist, which actually looked really cute, but the dress was still too big overall, especially in the butt!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
Totally luxurious- Love it!
This dress does run large, I normally wear size 4, but the size 2 that I wore was a bit big in the waist. Other than that, I loved the dress. The fabric was quality and you could tell that the designer had put thought into the details. I wore this for a wedding rehearsal, which also included a night out in NYC, and it worked perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 12, 2011
Great Dress!
This dress was very figure flattering and perfect for my holiday party for work. I got tons of compliments. The dress definitely runs large, so order a size down, at least.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2012
Sexy
Very flattering, kinda sexy and different. Husband loved it. At least I had a hot dress on, the party was a dud.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2012
cute dress, poor fit
cute dress but a weird fit. puffy at the stomach. definitely one you'd want to try on first. runs large
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 23, 2012
Easy to wear, slightly edgy.
Was a little big and should have worn the smaller size. A classy dress with a slight edge. Perfect for a cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 26, 2012
Great crossover between cocktails and a black tie affair
As others have said, this runs very large. For example, I wore the 0 in this and a 4 in my backup dress of another brand. Also, much like the other Helmut dress I have borrowed, it sort of got longer as the night went on. The fabric sort of settles. That being said, I loved the neckline and the detailing.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 7, 2012
Really nice quality dress that's classy, sexy, unique, and easy to wear.
This dress is great for comfort, style, and quality: the cut and detailing are unique and flattering, the material (silk/satin) feels luxurious and comfortable, both sizes arrived in excellent condition, you can wear a regular bra, the fabric has a bit of stretch so you can move around (and eat) freely, the neckline is conservative yet interesting, and the back is nicely fitted and looks hot. While the size 2 would've been fine and not baggy or anything, the 0 fit perfectly. (I usually wear dress size 2 or 4.) It came to 2-3" above my knee. I styled it with long gold/black stick earrings, sheer black tights, hair in a neat side bun, and black booties for a fall wedding. i was about to give it 4 stars instead of 5 because it didn't totally wow and isn't a "look at that dress!" kind of dress. But I am giving it 5 because not every dress needs to make a huge statement, and this one is perfect at being understated yet still amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 23, 2013
Pretty, flattering, comfortable
Runs large, I wore a 2 and feel like I could have worn the next size down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2013
Way too big!
I ordered the smallest size, 0, and it was way too big - did not have any fit the way it does on the model at all. I'm not that small either - a slighty curvy 120 lb-er, so i wouldnt recommend to anyone remotely small. If it did actually have fit, I think I would have loved it for a girls night out or work event, but alas, beyond help. Good concept, bad execution!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 9, 2013
Great LBD
Great dress, really classy. Would have liked to have the 6 and the 8 as the 8 was a bit big but overall it worked well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
September 2, 2014
Great flattering comfortable dress
Great flattering comfortable dress
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 29, 2010
Ordered size 4 & 6 and the 4 was perfect. Great fit and even looked good with tights.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2011
I love it, this dress was amazing, it fits very well.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
April 12, 2011
This dress had a large stain on the left breast which was too bad because the fit was great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 112lbs
May 18, 2011
I enjoyed wearing this dress - pretty and comfortable, no fuss. The detailing is much more subdued than pictured, and I actually liked it better in person. Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2011
I took the advice of the all the other ladies and took a size 2, which fit perfectly. I still ordered a size 4 just in case. Service was great and chatting with the stylist also helped.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2011
I love this dress & want to keep it! I thought it ran true to size & was flattering. It is more of a charcoal grey vs black & the fabric feels great! I am so glad I got this rental & cannot wait to wear it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 23, 2011
Very flattering dress. Wore to dinner at a fancy restaurant and got compliments. I got size 0 which fit well except the top was a bit large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 27, 2011
Fit like a glove
I wore this dress to a casual company party. It was perfect because it looked dressed up and festive, but not over the top. Conservative because of the length and high neck line, but still sexy and elegant. I would not recommend it if you want to make a big statement. It is understated. I loved the fit. It has the right amount of spandex to conform to your curves in a flattering way. I wore it with black tights and black patent platform heels.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2012
Great dress!
Loved, loved, loved! Great dress and super comfy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 25, 2012
Classy and elegant
I felt gorgeous and elegant in this dress. It is classy and sophisticated and fits like a glove. I prefer dresses with a little stretch, and this was perfect and hugged my curves in all the right places. It is perfect for a formal affair, dressy work function or anywhere you need to wear an LBD that is professional and sharp yet sexy and fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
Beautiful fit, but a little bit longer than it looks!
I loved this dress because it fit quite well and was very flattering- but on my 5'2 frame, was just a bit too long for a fun wedding. Tall girls, go for it! It's beautiful and very well-made.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
Felt great!
Could have worn a size 2, but I was at a conservative wedding, so I had to wear it a little longer. I have a large bust, small waist, and big hips for my short size so this dress was perfect for concealing those voluptuous parts of me for the conservative wedding I had to attend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 1, 2013
In a sea of sparkle, I stood out as classy.
More of a grey-ish purple. Very pretty and comfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 18, 2014
This was my back up dress!
Fabric has a little stretch. Very comfortable. Color is a deep plum so it stood out in a room of LBDs. Design details are beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 26, 2014
Nice, but Not Right for Me
I ordered this as a backup to another Helmut Lang dress for a cocktail party. I got a 4 and a 6, and the 4 fit me very well. I was pleased with the overall fit, but the detailing on the dress just wasn't as cool as I'd hoped it would be. I think a lot of the fabric draping that looks so good on the model in the photo ended up being a bit "saggy" on me, making it look a bit ill-fitting. I did like this dress... I just didn't love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
May 10, 2014
Very Comfortable, Yet Sexy!
i received many compliments on this dress! Loved it! Very comfortable too. It was perfect for the evening work party!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2014
I felt chic and comfortable all night.
Fit was true, color was different, and I felt elegant. The cut and fabric are forgiving and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2014
Flattering, chic and comfortable
This is one of my favorite RTR dresses and one of the few I would consider purchasing if it goes on sale. The color is a deep plum, very appropriate for the cooler months and the materials are high quality. The dress is super soft to the touch and stretchy which makes it comfortable. It hugs your curves in all the right places (in the booty!) and has details to downplay the midsection. Hitting above the knee on me, it was an ideal length- long enough to be appropriate, yet not too 'buttoned up' looking. I loved being able to wear a regular bra with the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2015
I wore this to an outdoor black-tie wedding in the fall.
I debated between the 2 and the 4 because the 2 seemed a little tighter across the bottom, but the 4 was too baggy. This was comfortable and forgiving in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 9, 2014
LOVED this! High fashion!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner after party and loved it! I felt like a rock star!! Fits great!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
July 25, 2012
This was a replacement dress that customer service helped pick out & it was a great choice. Fit better than the original dress I wanted.
I wore this to a Fashion Week event. This replaced the original dress I ordered. I'm usually a 6, but I received a 4 & it fit well. I received many compliments on this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×