Helmut Lang

Kiss of Death Gown

$78 rental
$520 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be mysterious with this insanely sexy Helmut Lang gown. With the front slit and cowl neck style, this dress is perfect for any black tie affair. Shown here Rodrigo Otazu's Insanely Chic Crystal Cuff and Erickson Beamon Chrysler Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection - thin jersey hugs curves - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black jersey. Cowl neckline. Cut-out back. Front slit.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

57 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 46
Large 8
Photos 22
PJA
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

A wedding guest I didn't know approached me to tell me I looked stunning.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect for a black tie wedding - very classic conservative, but the form-fitting shape and cut out back give it the perfect edge. Received very nice compliments.
Isabell
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Feb 8, 2012

It is great to be able to rent a $800 dress for $75. I would have worn it only once anyway. Great idea.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the dress. It is simple but classy and chic. I combined with a green necklace and green sandals. See the picture.
Margaret
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 18, 2012

Felt great in this dress at a gala

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both the small and the medium in this dress and ended up going with the medium simply because of the length but it actually made for such a comfortable night! I am 5'9 and had to wear pretty short heels, which again added to the comfort. I got SO many compliments on this dress and adding colorful earrings really pulled together the whole outfit together. I highly suggest this dress, just be careful about the length if you are on the taller side!
Corie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 30, 2012

I wore the dress to a taping of an awards show, the taping was 5 hours long and it was so comfortable.

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
True to size, I am 5'4 and the length with heels was perfect. It was super comfortable. Received many complements on the dress.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 31, 2012

Pretty good

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It runs a little snug and a little short. I would size up just to have the length if you are over 5'5". Overall a very pretty dress. Didn't end up wearing it though.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Great sexy simple dress

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was awesome. A great, super comfortable material that was still flirty. I wore it to a summer wedding and got a ton of compliments!
Erica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Got so many compliments in this dress! Very comfortable.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! I wore it to the winter ball for a charity event. I was concerned about the length being that I'm only 5'3 but with 4" heels it was a perfect fit. The only thing that might give you some trouble is the hole for your neck. It's snug so it's almost like putting on a turtleneck. It felt fine as far as comfort goes but I had to wear the dress to the hair salon so I didn't have to worry about messing up my hair when I pulled it over my head. The dress was sexy due to the slit but still classy enough to wear to a ball. Overall, GREAT dress!
Lori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

Just ok

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress I rented had several broken seams so I had to use fashion tape to keep it together, which was a little disappointing. Otherwise, the dress was fine.
Lana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Ow OW! Elegant and sexy

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this dress. It is covered up but still very sexy. The slit came up to an appropriate spot on my thigh without being too showy. I felt like the length was perfect, I didn't trip on myself.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Perfect Fall Dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I picked this dress for a formal evening wedding in Iowa. I ended up wearing the back up size, but it still fit beautifully. At 5'2'' I wore 4'' heels to pull of the length. I would recommend wearing spanx as the material does cling to your body.
R.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

Beautiful how this dress falls.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Shoulders and top torso area are very narrow. Unfortunately when this dress arrived, it Also looked like one of the straps had been ripping a bit from the dress.I normally wear a 2, but would need a medium in this dress.
N
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

This was great, comfortable and fit really well

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
-
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

I am obsessed with this dress! It fit perfectly the length

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am obsessed with the dress! It fit perfectly and the length was great with heels as I am 5'3. I felt like a million bucks and received so many compliments. My only complaint is the back was a little ripped so the draping was more than expected and I word a normal bra but nothing fashion tape couldn't fix.
Hailey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 20, 2012

This dress was not for me- very underwhelming.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a Marine Corps Ball. I lean toward simpler styles in solid colors- this was perfect for me! I envisioned my curves wowing in this column dress. Unfortunately, the dress ended up being far less. The fabric was thin and cheap feeling, and the dress hung horribly on my frame. The pleating in the front did not look anything like it does on the model. Overall it was unflattering and I ended up returning it.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 31, 2012

Loved the slit and open back!

Size worn: ML
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the ML as suggested for my height, which might have been right but the hem was undone so it was a bit long. I had to hold onto it all night to keep from tripping but still felt sexy with the open back and slit. The criss-cross front fell a little low too and I kept having to adjust it.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

Nice dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was just perfect for my Audrey Hepburn costume!! the lengh of the dress is short, (R perfect for me), this dress enhances natural shapes of women's body.
Luisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Great dress for a formal occasion

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Elegant, yet edgy in the back. The only complain I have was the lining would ride up every now and then... Super comfy and soft.
Meghan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

LOVE!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a formal wedding and it was a hit! Classic and simple, but definitely sexy! I opted for the XS instead of the S (the size I typically fit). This dress could be a bit baggy if you don't size down. Amazing dress and an amazing night :)
Cristina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Nov 18, 2012

Edgy, sexy yet classy dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit perfectly, very sexy yet classy. As others have mentioned, the dress was fairly short. I am 5'3'' and the dress hit at my ankle. So make sure to wear good shoes with it! Also the slit came to my knee, not nearly as high as the slit shown on the model. Overall looked awesome, just be careful if you are tall as the dress might not be long enough for you.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Classic LBD with a twist.

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great for a formal event; it was snug in all of the right places, but also had a little bit of stretch to it. The ruching in the front and the ever-so-slight cowlneck made the dress interesting, as well. My only problem was that the XSL was still a bit too short on my 5'8" frame.
Jamie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 8, 2012

Comfortable and Classy

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such a great dress! would recommend it to anyone! rented the jade earrings to top off the look!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Way too short!!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Based on the reviews, I decided to rent an XS so that the dress would fit like a glove. THe only problem was that it fit like a glove in the body area, but it was wayyyyy too short! The dress came up to my mid shin. I was hoping for a floor length dress... Might of been better if I ordered a size S, but then it probably would of been too baggy.
KATIE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 21, 2013

Wrong size was sent

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wrong size was sent
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 6, 2013

Nice fit - open back was great

Size worn: SL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was run ragged and had threads hanging and even a little tear
Stefanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Too Short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 0R, as I am between a 0 and a 2, depending on the designer. When I received the dress, I noticed that the tag read "Petite," which immediately worried me, as at 5'8, I am definitely not considered petite, though I do fit into a Size 0. When I tried on the dress, my concerns were, unfortunately, validated, as the dress only went down to my mid-shin. I was disappointed, as I would not have ordered the dress had I known it was Petite, rather than 0R. Also, the dress I received had two holes in it, which were fairly noticeable. I've always had a great experience with RTR in the past, so I think this was just a fluke.
Caroline
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 10, 2013

This dress is so classy and comfortable!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the XS in this dress and it fit like a glove. I loved the cinched front and the modest slit. I received so many complements throughout the night on this dress! I normally wear a S so I would recommend sizing down or else the dress can be a little baggy. This dress is so versatile with accessories! I totally recommend it!
caliope
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

very happy with this dress and the overall service of RTR.com!!!!!!!!!<3

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i rented this dress for my first high school prom and was extremely happy with it!! i got the XSL and the MR. the xsmall fit perfectly and wasnt too tight but showed off everything i wanted it to, i wore 5 inch heels and the dress came to the top of my heels:)) the medium regular was pretty short and came to the middle of my calf... i am 5'6 and 130 lbs with an athletic body. this dress is super comfortable, i was able to really get down and dance in it. only problem i had was the second layer slip underneath kept riding up to my hips and over my butt and id have to pull it down constantly. since the dress was pretty thin i didnt sweat too much. i choose not to wear a bra with it and that was a mega plus i also recieved so many compliments on it!! definitely recommend
Dorothea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 17, 2013

I wore this for a summer wedding and LOVED it!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was exactly how RTR described. The slit was a sexy yet sophisticated touch and the low back was my fav!
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 28, 2013

This is a amazing dress, that made me feel absolutely beautiful for my senior prom.

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked this dress because it was simple, comfortable, and could easily be added to with some fab accessories. I did just that, and added a colorful pair of wedges along with a bracelet and matching earrings. I'm 5'7 and 130" and ordered my dress in the size XS Long. Ideally I would have liked to order this dress in a size Small Long, but it wasn't available, but based on other reviews it seems like it could be kinda baggy. My dress fit just right though. I would suggest though, that if you are taller then to order the dress in a Long, I thought the dress could have been a bit longer personally, but the length also makes it really easy to walk in. I received many complements on this dress and loved how it made me stand out with still being simple. I would recommend this dress for all shapes and sizes. It does show of curves, but it also does a great job at hiding curves at the same time.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Short! Cute cut

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this cut and it was such a sleek, classy dress, unfortunately it was really short. I'm only 5'5" but even with flats it was short. Order a LONG!
jennifer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jun 28, 2013

Pretty but too short

Size worn: MR
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
pretty dress but not for a formal affair. Also rather short. I'm 5'6 and it was too short even in bare feet. This would be a great dinner dress or a semi formal event for a person 5'3.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

This dress was extremely flattering and sexy, but no too sexy!

Size worn: XSL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs large so I would order true to size and one smaller. I did not have to wear a bra which was nice. I am only 5'5, but the majority of my height is in my legs, so for me, the longer size worked better. The ONLY annoying thing - there is a built in slip underneath, and it kept running up all night - causing me to constantly pull it down. Next time, I would simply tape it down. Otherwise, GREAT DRESS~!
Alisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 23, 2013

This dress was perfect for a black tie wedding affair!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was perfect! Some may think it's a little snug, but definitely shows off those curves. I was worried about the slit being too high from reading others reviews, but it was just fine. I wore it to a black tie wedding and wasn't sure if I'd be too under dressed or over dressed, so this was a good medium. It was easy to dress up with gold and silver accessories. I would absolutely rent this dress again!
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 15, 2013

This dress made me feel amazing. Total class but also incredibly sexy

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt like a model. Wore it for a work charity event where i knew i would be out numbered by men 3 to 1 (commerical real estate in nyc is like that) so wonderful way to "blend into a sea of suits" but still look womanly. I got xs and s andended up wearing the xs. Fit like a glove and im normally a 2. Fabric is forgiving and slit is just the right height/length. (If it werent a male dominated work event, i might have wanted it a little higher). Im 5'3 and the length was ok - but i wore 4.5 inch heels. Would def retn Gain for last minute black tie eventz!
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

Get a smaller size

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is pretty but runs fairly large. I ordered a size 10/Large but my backup size wasn't available and I did not order another dress. I wish I would have. The dress ran so large that the knot which is supposed to be at the waist was hanging at my hip which was very unflattering. It was also very drapey at the top due to the fact it was so large. I definitely suggest sizing down when ordering this dress. I didn't end up wearing this dress to my event but probably would have if it fit.
Sai
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 25, 2013

Great dress! it is shapy, but the fabic doesn't cling

Size worn: LL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a curvey 170, 36DD, but I LOVE wearing this dress and got tons of compliments! I was able to find a strapless bra that was low enough in the back, but be ware the back is low! I will say the lining of the dress would go one way and the top layer would go the other!
brittanie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

This Dress is Definitely a Stunner!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress for a Fraternity Banquet, I felt gorgeous all night long and got multiple compliments on the dress. It does have a slim fit, so if you are a self conscious about your tummy I would suggest a size up. The slit was a nice touch of sexy, and definitely made it a little easier to move around in! I highly recommend this dress!
Dawn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 3, 2013

great to have 2 sizes to choose from

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
a bit short, but OK.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Too Short couldn't wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I have actually attempted to rent and wear this dress two times now for the same black tie charity event (2 years in a row). Last year, it didn't arrive, RTR did send others to replace....I assume who ever rented it before me didn't return it on time or in good condition because it was suddenly not available. When this year rolled around, I rented it early (mths in advance) and they no longer offered a Long length but, I didn't see this a big problem since I am 5'3". However, both sizes (Small and Med) were too short. The small fit great but, fell mid calf and the medium was a little longer but still too short with a flat foot. I called RTR right away and they were very understanding and over nighted me 2 sizes of another style of my choosing. Fingers crossed that one of them will be long enough since I ordered the regular length and long. After reading allot of reviews on many dresses....it seems that this problem occurs often. I usually have a length problem but, ALWAYS it is because it is too long.
Jayme
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 25, 2014

Gala-Worthy!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the 25th Anniversary Gala for the National Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, DC. It was an amazing night since I was invited personally by the Director of the museum to represent one of their artists. I love Helmut Lang for it's modern, sleek silhouettes - and I knew I could pull of wearing black with just a pop of color. (especially in the more conservative climate of Washington) This dress highlights your figure, and I especially love the slit in the front - added bonus: showing a little leg! I'm busty, and curvy and the L worked perfectly. Perfect for a black-tie affair if you're looking for understated elegance. -- It must be, because I had my picture snapped for Washingtonian Magazine!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×