Rent the Runway

Helmut Lang

Chat Later Dress

$60 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this asymmetric style by Helmut Lang. This sculptural little black dress is anything, but plain - a showstopper for your night on the town! Add standout jewels like kate spade new york accessories’ Grey Swirl Triple Row Necklace to complete your look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte (62% Viscose, 31% Nylon, 7% Elastane). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt with tulip hem. Exposed back zipper. 34” from shoulder to shortest part of hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

159 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 128
Large 3
Photos 86
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
May 14, 2014

Another typical wedding. Nothing memorable.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was not a dress to remember. I typically go for floor length gowns because it's hard to keep a short, tight dress from riding up due to the size and shape of my hips and butt. This is exactly what happened with this dress. I kept having to pull it down all night which was really annoying. May be better for someone with a less curvy body.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

The perfect little black dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
There are not enough good things I can say about this dress. I wore this dress out for my birthday and it fit perfectly, the fabric was thick, and was long enough that it didn't have to keep pulling it down all night. I wanted to keep this dress so much! It was literally perfect. The cut was sexy and so flattering. I got so many compliments. I paired with a RTR necklace and strappy heel sandals. Highly recommend for a night out!
Donna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 13, 2014

The dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The whole process from ordering to receiving the dress was easy and an overall great experience. The dress fit very well and I received a lot of compliments. RTR also offered free temp hemming (which I didn't have to use) but it was still a nice perk. Package arrived on time and came in beautiful packaging - made me feel so special! I would definitely do it again!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Love this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits super tight but it was so comfortable. The fabric was soft and stretchy. Perfect for the occasion. It was a winter wedding in Florida. Dressed it up with some nude pumps and a fun necklace. I would definitely rent again!
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Many compliments & very fun LBD

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a small & medium but ended up wearing the medium because it was a little longer and fit my chest better. It was very comfortable to wear and a fun alternative to the typical black dress. I added a colorful chunky necklace and it made the outfit complete.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Simple Glamour

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely perfect! An amazing dress for my very special cousins wedding. The length was perfect - short but not too short (I'm 5'5 with a true hourglass figure), perfect length to showcase your legs in a classy way. Enough stretch to hug in all the right places and a thick material to keep you wonderfully compact. Slim. You definitely need a strapless bra underneath - straps show even in a racer back style. I added a light spanx skirt underneath just to add the finishing smoothing touch. Love the dress! Will definitely rent again ... Would love to buy. A+++
kirby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 12, 2014

Amazing and flattering dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was wonderful. This is the fourth dress I have rented from RTR and perhaps my favorite. It's a great cut and extremely comfortable. I've read other reviewers say they weren't a fan of the length, but I was so glad it was a little on the longer side. It kept it very classy! I wore this dress to my sister's engagement party, and it couldn't have been more perfect. I would absolutely recommend it for anyone looking for a cute and classy black dress!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Rtr makes dressing up for any event a breeze!!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. Perfect for a wedding. I am long and lean so, It was a bit big in the waist and legs but only something I could notice. Great material with lots of give.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 20, 2014

Wore this for a bachelorette party- dressy enough for clubs but not too over the top for dive bars.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Medium was a bit too tight around the thighs and butt, large was a little too big in the chest and arms. Went with the large for comfort and wasn't disappointed after a night of dancing!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 28, 2014

Love how this dress fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sorry for the bad photo! I originally got this dress for a back up but loved it so much I wore it for my main dress! It fit like a glove but hugged in all the right spots. I felt super sexy in it. It was a perfect dress for a night in Vegas!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 29, 2014

I love this dress! It made me feel like a bond girl. I wore it to a Great Gatsby themed party.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered the Small and the Medium but the Small was damaged. RTR was extremely accommodating and sent additional dress choices for me to choose from, some that I picked and some that the stylists picked. I can't say enough about the customer service, it was tremendous. In the end I had a lot of other dresses to choose from but I went with the Medium in this dress. Its possible that the small would have fit a bit better, but I loved everything about it so I have no complaints!
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Wore it for my senior pictures...

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was simply beautiful, but that's all; simple. The dress fit great and was comfortable, although I'm not sure what it did for my body type. I definitely recommend this to women who are tinier on the chest area. Just like other reviewers, I feel that it needed a statement necklace, but I decided not to rent one so it wouldn't distract from my photographs. I would rent it again, but for maybe a date, party, or night out. It's too simple for a special event.
mackenzie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Loved it for a formal summer wedding!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The material had a good amount of give- making it a good fit for most body types whether you a busty or not. I am- and often have a hard time finding something that fits up top. I am a typical sz. 8 and the medium worked for me.
jackattack
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 12, 2014

Perfection

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was perfect for a night out in Vegas. It was sexy but not over the top. I'm tall so I usually have a problem finding dresses that are the appropriate length. This was just long enough that I wasn't pulling it down all night. The fabric is comfy and stretchy. It was a no hassle dress. Fit perfectly. I loved the cut of the top and the asymmetrical hem line. I would consider renting it again for another event.
Kelly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 14, 2014

Easy process and great customer service

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This LBD has a little extra with the side slit... It was comfortable and fun!
Mer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Simple but stunning

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress is fabulous! I ordered the L and M and wore the M because it held me in a little better. The fabric has a slight stretch. The asymmetrical hem is stunning. Love the slightly longer length in the back. It definitely benefits from a big necklace, which I didn't have. Wish I owned this one! Will rent it again.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Perfect little black dress with a lot of creativity to dress up or down.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented a medium and a small. The medium was a bit looser on top, but fit well around the waist. The small fit on top but was very very fitted around the hips. I ended up wearing the small and loved the length of it. Often LBDs are too short and not appropriate for a wedding. This one was great!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2014

Didn't wear but Loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this as a backup dress to the Parker Claudia dress which I ended up wearing because I wanted something a little less conservative. This dress has a fun structured top and the bottom is slightly asymmetrical both of which are flattering. I would definitely rent this again for a wedding or party.
Addison
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Oct 11, 2014

Loved the dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was great! It was a good length, and long enough to dance comfortably.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Classic & Beautiful LDB - So Many Compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At least 4 friends asked to borrow this dress within the first 5 minutes of seeing it haha. Classic, chic black dress I paired with a gold necklace also rented from RTR to dress it up a bit. Really well constructed dress and it fit like a glove. It has interesting angles that make it really unique and pretty and the material is very comfy and flattering. Didn't want to send it back!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Oct 21, 2014

awesome!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Im very tall so the medium worked perfectly, it was just short enough to be sexy but not too short to reveal anything, I loved it, so comfortable and I got so many compliments on it.. in the photo I'm all the way to the right!
Beth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 28, 2014

This dress is a great LBD - and will make you feel pretty and sexy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a daytime formal wedding. The dress has very clean lines, so I just dressed it up by layering 2 statement necklaces. It is very flattering and comfortable - would definitely recommend it and you cannot beat the price.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Fit perfectly--Perfect mix of sexy and classy

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I actually got this dress as a backup, but as soon as I received it I knew this would be the one I would wear. This dress did run a bit small I thought, although I am usually right between a small and a medium. The medium fit perfectly. The length was perfect, a little sexy angle to it, but long enough to keep everything where it was supposed to be when you're dancing/walking. I paired it with the belle fleur necklace and got compliments all night. Definitely rent this dress, you won't be disappointed.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 5, 2014

Comfortable & Flattering!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! So easy to wear and comfortable. The neckline was very flattering and while it required a strapless bra I didn't mind. All it needed was a sparkly necklace and I was good to go! Highly recommend for a night out that can be dressed up or down.
Holly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Perfect for a charity event.

Size worn: M
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was very flattering for my athletic build and the material was stretchy and comfortable. It was classy but with sex appeal. Will definitely rent this again.
Karla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Great for an outdoor wedding.

Size worn: S
Rented for: Wedding
Love the fit and shape of the dress. It was true to size. Hugged me perfectly without that tight, uncomfortable feeling. The wedding was in the summer and outside. The material was just right; not too light or heavy. The style and shape was unique and amazing! Love looking back at photos in this dress!
Arianne
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 17, 2014

First time using RTR and I can't wait to use it again

Size worn: S
Rented for: Wedding
Love this dress and it fit like a glove!
Blair
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Perfectly form-fitting and comfortable. Gorgeous dress that demands a statement necklace.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The two sizes both fit really well, but the small was slightly too short in the front for sitting/dancing. Would definitely recommend this dress!
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Loooooooove this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I could not have been happier with this dress. I've rented several dresses from Rent the Runway and this is by far my favorite dress so far. The fit was absolutely perfect and it was just stunning. I've never had the desire to rent a dress a second time, but I would rent this one again in a heartbeat. Highly recommend!
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Great presentation and packaging. I

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. The cut made it more interesting than your basic LBD. The small would have worked, but the medium was more comfortable and not as short. As other reviewers have said, definitely need the statement necklace. I paired the dress with a Willow and slate necklace from the site.
JoAnna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 1, 2015

Very sexy, flattering LBD for any occasion.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove. It was fitted but still comfortable to wear all night. One thing to note is that the cut makes it tough to wear anything but a strapless bra. I have numerous convertible bras and none of them would work. If you are small-busted, you would get away with not wearing a bra at all.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 10, 2015

Not my favorite LBD but the cut was unique

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
I was in between a M and L. Would recommend spanx if you have fuller hips. It was loose on the top near my shoulders and tight on the bottom. Not my favorite dress I've ever worn, but the edgy cuts of the dress made it worth trying out. I wore this to a work cocktail party. I'll order again, but next time won't play it so safe.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

The dress is really cute.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I liked this dress and it fit well. It was also in really good shape. It was appropriate for the occasion and is more interesting than the basic lbd.
Jordan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Perfect dress for date night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was great for my Valentine's day night out in NYC. It fit very well and a nice material that was really flattering. I felt very comfortable in this dress. The only con I had about the dress was that it rode up a lot during the night and I was constantly pulling it down. I highly recommend pairing this necklace from RTR with it. I saw another review on this dress who paired it and I liked it. When I put the two together literally looked perfect with it. Its called the Willow & Slate Hayden Necklace.
kretice
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Wore to a formal 50th birthday party.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a glove. It does ride up a little so was pulling at it some throughout the night. But the materiel is thick and made for a flattering fit. Love it!
Lara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 6, 2015

I wore this for my bachelorette party in Austin, TX!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly. It wasn't too tight and was a great length. The material was very forgiving and it would be great for any occasion. I would buy this dress in a heartbeat! I loved it!
Abbey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

AMAZING! Loved this understated but sexy dress! It was perfect, would definitely rent again!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is true to size, with a great cut that was flattering to my figure. I loved how it accentuated my shoulders and arms. The length is mid-thigh. A sophisticated and sexy look!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 28, 2015

Loved this dress- Perfect LBD for a night out!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a bachelorette party in NYC- This dress fits very snug and it extremely flattering because the material is thick. I love the high neckline and fun slit at the very bottom. It shows off your legs and pulls in at your waist. I would wear for a night out!
Niki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
May 5, 2015

Perfect for the bachelorette party I attended in Austin, Texas!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress so much! Fit exactly how I wanted it to! Super cute and comfy for having to walk all around the city all night! I rented the necklace to go with it but didn't end up wearing it due to me looking like Betty Rubble! But I loved the necklace too, wish I could of worn it!
Christa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 27, 2015

Loved this sexy little black dress!

Size worn: M
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for my athletic frame. The cut complimented my shape and the fabric is thick and stretchy. Very flattering and forgiving and so much fun!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×