Rent the Runway

Helmut Lang

Bondage Exit Dress

$68 rental
$460 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Helmut Lang presents an edgy take on the LBD that channels your inner femme fatale. Signature minimalist luxe flatters any silhouette. Pair with colored accessories for a superb contrast.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black mid-weight jersey. Built-in shelf bra. Double strap closure in back with exposed zipper. Asymmetric hem. V-neck. Seaming detail. 35" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

102 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 74
Large 23
Photos 48
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 3, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Oh.my.goodness. Sexy without being overdone, this dress is wildly flattering, showing off your clavicle, back, and the prettiest part of your legs.
BL
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 14, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Quite sexy without being slutty (kind of a business in the front, party in the back dress). I felt so good in this! It barely requires a necklace, and the fabric is really nice. Super flattering. Kinda wish I owned it.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Sep 16, 2010

Overall fit: Large
Really liked but too big in the butt - I taped it to my lower back and it looked fine.
NA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Sep 26, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Oh my. I love this dress. I wish I owned it. Sexy yet understated -- leaves enough to the imagination. Accentuated my curves beautifully. Remember to stand up straight!
Stiletto Princess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 28, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
OMG! I want this dress! It is gorgeous on! I was scared when they only had a zero available in case it ran small but it fit perfectly! I wear a large b-cup in the bust and the top of this dress made the most beautiful and sexy cleavage! I agree with the other reviewer, it is a total mullet dress all business in the front and party in the back, making you a total siren and attention grabber but still classy! I wore this to a wedding and I turned more heads then the bride! ;) I didn't wear it with a necklace and I don't think I would, instead with a bling bling diamond bracelet and some great earring and cocktail ring! For the price you can't go wrong! I chose it over the Herve Leger Chocolate Addiction Dress!
mrs. smith
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 12, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was stunning. Sexy without being over the top. So very flattering and super comfortable to wear. I was sad to send it back!
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 13, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved the dress, sexy without baring too much and the back cutout looks great. I thought the front looked more flattering if I wore a bra (I wear a C-cup) so I was able to wear a black bra with thin bands/straps and hide it under the dress. You will need the styling tape to make sure your bra doesn't show in the back and I recommend asking a friend to help as it is difficult to tape alone. An adhesive bra like nubra may work too. Dress material is stretchy so it hugs curves and the thicker fabric weight means lines don't show.
Avy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Oct 20, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fit me perfectly. It hugged my curves and I received many compliments in it.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED. IT. It fit perfectly, and was definitely sexy without being too much. I have a pretty standard hourglass figure (32/27/32), and the fabric hugged all the right places!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Nov 3, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
True to size, but if you're between sizes, I would order a size down so it's not loose in the back -- stretchy comfortable material, great zipper detail.
MC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 17, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Sexy sexy sexy, LOVED this dress! Great for girls with smaller busts, and the built-in-support really did the job. True to size and had a little stretch in it, so it was comfortable all night!
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 18, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress. Was glad I got two sizes because I ended up wearing the 2, not the 4 I had ordered. I did have to tape the front of it so I didn't have any 'malfunctions' as I'm a full C. Was a bit shorter than I expected. It hit mid thigh but on the model it looked knee length. Not a problem though, I was getting check out all night!
Angela
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress was simple but very pretty. As mentioned before it is a little shorter then it appears on the model. Not too short by any means, it hit at my mid thigh. It also ran a bit big. I wore the size 0 which usually fits well and it could have been more fitted. Overall the dress was very pretty and I am glad I rented it.
E
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is awesome- I was a little nervous at first because it is recommended for a small/medium bust, and I am a 36D, but it worked perfectly. The dress is very flattering, and I can see it working on any body type. very sexy and stayed up all night.
Missy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Mar 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was great! It was comfortable and flattering on all accounts. Some dresses look different when they arrive, but this dress was exactly what I expected- and more! The detailing made it look special and elegant and the back was a sexy surprise when I turned around. I have a smaller chest (size B) and the front fit perfect so I would order a back-up size if you have a bigger top.
Kate
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 25, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! I was a little concerned because the dress appears to flare towards the hem and curve upwards in the middle; however, it did not do that, at least when I wore it and it looked just as fabulous on as it does in the picture.
AM
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
this was my first rtr experience and it was awesome! i absolutely LOVED this dress and it showed up in great condition. i think it runs very true to size - i ordered the size i wear in most dresses and a back up and the size i typically wear fit perfectly. the dress is super sexy without being slutty. i got tons of compliments all night and always felt comfortable in it. you definitely need a bra without a back like the nu bra so if you arent a fan of those i wouldnt recommend the dress but otherwise i would rent this in a heartbeat!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Sep 14, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Only four stars because negotiating the bra situation was a challenge. As a 34DD, I couldn't go bra-less, so I bought a Natori bra that had a very thin back strap, and used a lot of double-sided tape to secure it. The dress ended up working out really well, though.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Unfortunetly, I had to return this dress when I rented it. I have had my eye on this dress for over a year and was excited to rent it for my birthday party. However, when I received the dress it clearly had been quite popular; the dress looks well used and had no stretch left to the fabric so it kinda hung instead of hugged my body. I think it is time to retire this one RTR.
EK
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Loved the dress! Runs a little large so maybe order a smaller size. The dress was definitely sexy and flattering! A little more low cut and shorter than I expected, but was still a great dress.
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 21, 2011

loved it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was such a great dress! I wore it to a sorority formal and it worked perfectly! It fit great and accentuated my curves in a sexy but not over-the-top way. It is shorter than pictured, but not too short. This was my first RTR experience and it was so great! I ordered a 6 and an 8 and wore the 8 just to be more comfortable. It worked out great despite having a large chest (36D) and there were no issues.
LSM
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Dec 15, 2011

Fit Well

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore it to a holiday party and received many compliments. One complaint -- the zippers for the top two bands do not have hooks so the zippers split at the top. The bottom zipper has the hook and eye. Not sure why the designer didn't add the hooks to all. Very comfortable and didn't have to worry about undergarments as the fabric is thick and the strap acts as a bra would.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×