Helmut Lang

Bondage Exit Dress

$68 to buy
$460 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Helmut Lang presents an edgy take on the LBD that channels your inner femme fatale. Signature minimalist luxe flatters any silhouette. Pair with colored accessories for a superb contrast.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black mid-weight jersey. Built-in shelf bra. Double strap closure in back with exposed zipper. Asymmetric hem. V-neck. Seaming detail. 35" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2013
Perfect fit with a great back!
Highly recommend this dress! It is very flattering and everyone loves the open back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 21, 2013
Did not want to return this dress!
This dress is simply phenomenal. I actually rented it as my back-up dress for a night out in Chicago. It fit wonderfully and is extremely comfortable. Some reviewers mentioned that they had a hard time with the zippers coming unzipped, I did not experience that. This dress is a great balance of fitted and sexy without being over the top. I am actually looking to purchase this dress I loved it that much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2013
This dress is amazing & the back is spectacular!
Great for a bachelorette or night on the town... The back is so fun, and for those who dont love to show off their legs, it's a great length that's not toooo short. The 4 gaped a bit on me, but, that could be due to previous wearings. I don't recommend ordering up a size 'just to be safe' because you wont need it. I highly recommend this dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress. Sexy LBD!
I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4 because it fits true to size. The dress was beautiful and hugged in all the right places. Some people spoke of the zippers comes undone but I didn't have that happen all night. I received so many compliments I would most definitely rent this dress again. Love it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2014
LBD!
Great dress. Love the detail in the front, the two different fabrics give it a little extra on the front view. The back is amazing! You wouldnt expect it from the front of the dress, but the back has two straps with zippers in the center followed by a low back zip up around the hips. Very open back. The top zipper actually helps act like a built in support, in combination with the fabric, so you can go braless if you feel comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
October 29, 2014
I received a lot of compliments on this dress!
It arrived on time as usual
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
June 4, 2014
Too true to size
I ordered the 8 because the 6 wasn't available. The 8 was just too big in the cups for my small-ish chest.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
September 26, 2010
Oh my. I love this dress. I wish I owned it. Sexy yet understated -- leaves enough to the imagination. Accentuated my curves beautifully. Remember to stand up straight!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 12, 2010
This dress was stunning. Sexy without being over the top. So very flattering and super comfortable to wear. I was sad to send it back!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2010
LOVE this dress. Was glad I got two sizes because I ended up wearing the 2, not the 4 I had ordered. I did have to tape the front of it so I didn't have any 'malfunctions' as I'm a full C. Was a bit shorter than I expected. It hit mid thigh but on the model it looked knee length. Not a problem though, I was getting check out all night!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2011
this was my first rtr experience and it was awesome! i absolutely LOVED this dress and it showed up in great condition. i think it runs very true to size - i ordered the size i wear in most dresses and a back up and the size i typically wear fit perfectly. the dress is super sexy without being slutty. i got tons of compliments all night and always felt comfortable in it. you definitely need a bra without a back like the nu bra so if you arent a fan of those i wouldnt recommend the dress but otherwise i would rent this in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2012
Very Cute
This was my backup New Years Eve dress and I ended up wearing the Nicole Miller Pretty Woman Lace dress which I highly recommend. I only ordered this dress in a 4 but definitely could have used a 2. It looks revealing in the front/back but isn't slutty at all. I wish I had a chance to wear this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
June 18, 2012
Loved it!
Wore this dress for another date, and felt really good in it. Only problem with the dress was that the top zipper on the dress didn't zip up all the way. But with a couple pins and some help from my boyfriend, it stayed up just fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
Sexy
Perfect for a 34B without being "too much". Might be a bit low cut for bigger than a C cup. Wore it out to a nightclub in NYC. Front is pretty, but the back is the sexy part.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
A sexy, stunning dress
I wore this dress to a charity black tie event and felt like i was the "belle of the ball." I received compliments from men and women on how sexy the dress was. The back is really stunning. Make sure you have a friend, significant other, etc around to help you get into the dress though! The back zippers are a little tricky (either that or I'm not very coordinated)! Enjoy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2012
Cute but nothing special
I thought this dress was a cute LBD but it honestly wasn't anything special. Its a very pretty dress but I wouldn't rent it again. It looked fine and it fit true to size (I am petite, athletic, b cup, usually a 0-2) but I didn't LOVE it. I didn't end up wearing it. That being said it definitely fulfills the need for a little black dress. Hope that helps!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 2, 2012
The dress is beautiful! Fit great on top, however I am 5'7 and the dress was very short on me .
I ended up returning it. Loved the top beautiful dress, unfortunately it did not work on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2012
I received compliments from everyone all night!
The fit was perfect. Very sexy back. The knee length was just above the knee. This dress could be worn to a formal event or dinner party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 4, 2012
Sexy, sexy, sexy! This was for my birthday dinner with my boyfriend.
Very sultry. There were a few problems with this dress. The hem at the bottom had come apart. I used some fashion tape to secure it and it worked well. The waist was a bit too big, probably from being stretched out from previous rentals. The metal on the zippers was obviously worn. I also added some gel inserts to perk the ladies up a bit. Overall, it was hot but as someone else said, RTR really needs to look over the rentals in detail.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 15, 2013
Pretty - but too large for me
I really wish this would have come in a zero - I think the fit would have been perfect then, sadly they only size down to a 2 in this dress for some reason. I have would definitely recommend this to a girl with a bigger, but perky chest. I wear a 32 D, and barely filled out the cups, but there would have been no way to wear a bra if I needed more lift. The length, fabric, and stretch in the dress are all great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 3, 2014
Great dress- just a touch too small
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. I normally wear a 6 or 8, but a lot of reviews said to size down, so I rented the 4 and 6. The 6 became unavailable at the last minute due to quality issues and so I just got the 4 (with more than enough alternate dresses to choose from - Thanks RTR for amazing customer service!!). The 4 was just a touch too tight and the 6 really would have been perfect. I will definitely rent this dress again.. in the size 6.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2014
-
Dress was true to size. I liked the back a lot. Not too tight. Wore a nubra. No complaints
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×