Helmut Lang

Bondage Exit Dress

$68 to buy
$460 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Helmut Lang presents an edgy take on the LBD that channels your inner femme fatale. Signature minimalist luxe flatters any silhouette. Pair with colored accessories for a superb contrast.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- slits in back do not allow for a standard or strapless bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black mid-weight jersey. Built-in shelf bra. Double strap closure in back with exposed zipper. Asymmetric hem. V-neck. Seaming detail. 35" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
August 8, 2011
Felt so sexy in this dress, without being slutty. :)
Loved this dress! It was my first rental, and I was a bit worried about fit, but it was perfect. I'm not exactly pear-shaped, since I have wide shoulders, but I do have a very flat chest. The dress maximized what I have, and wasn't too tight across the shoulders. It was a bit shorter than I was expecting, but not indecent. I got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
September 14, 2011
Only four stars because negotiating the bra situation was a challenge. As a 34DD, I couldn't go bra-less, so I bought a Natori bra that had a very thin back strap, and used a lot of double-sided tape to secure it. The dress ended up working out really well, though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 24, 2011
Unfortunetly, I had to return this dress when I rented it. I have had my eye on this dress for over a year and was excited to rent it for my birthday party. However, when I received the dress it clearly had been quite popular; the dress looks well used and had no stretch left to the fabric so it kinda hung instead of hugged my body. I think it is time to retire this one RTR.
RTR CustomerNovember 28, 2011
Hi Elle, we are so sorry to hear the dress arrived in less than perfect condition. We have retired the dress you ordered, and we are quality checking every unit to make sure it is in perfect condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 21, 2011
loved it!
This was such a great dress! I wore it to a sorority formal and it worked perfectly! It fit great and accentuated my curves in a sexy but not over-the-top way. It is shorter than pictured, but not too short. This was my first RTR experience and it was so great! I ordered a 6 and an 8 and wore the 8 just to be more comfortable. It worked out great despite having a large chest (36D) and there were no issues.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 15, 2011
Fit Well
Wore it to a holiday party and received many compliments. One complaint -- the zippers for the top two bands do not have hooks so the zippers split at the top. The bottom zipper has the hook and eye. Not sure why the designer didn't add the hooks to all. Very comfortable and didn't have to worry about undergarments as the fabric is thick and the strap acts as a bra would.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
Nice, different dress
I wore this to an NYE party. At first, I was skeptical since this is a little more hooch than my typical attire. But, I figured it was NYE and why not go all out! The back is very sexy and I got so many compliments. Probably a little much for a regular party, but for the right occasion I would definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 20, 2012
loved it
I loved the fit, the lenght was also perfect! I thought it would be too long for a 5'2" person like me, but it just landed about 4" above my knee. The center zipper was the only thing odd... it just did not wanted stay put even before I put it on!. It kept on slidding half way down, but no wardrobe malfunction!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2012
such a fun, unique dress!
I ordered this dress for my University's annual Fancy Dress Ball and absolutely loved it! It was super comfortable, it fit well, and it held up to 3 hours of dancing. I accessorized it with fun color-block heels and turquoise earrings and it was a hit. Everyone loved the dress- I definitely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 12, 2012
My boyfriend loved it!
This dress was a total win for an black tie gala I attended. The back was a bit more revealing than I realized, and I got a little nervous that I was with executives. However the dress is sophisticated and I think it worked over all. Great stretch in the hips for us curvy girls. WARNING, you will want to turn around for every photo to show off the sexy back
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
April 19, 2012
I heard from everyone how perfectly it fit and sexy it was. Yay!
I wore this to a fraternity date party at my school, and absolutely loved it. It was dressy enough for a date party without the material being too formal that I looked over-the-top. The back was not quite as plunging on my as the model in the photo, but it was definitely sexy and all. I got tons of compliments. I didn't have to wear a bra-- I'm like a B cup-- but I ended up tossing in some nuBra cups to plump up the girls, which made it look awesome. It was my first time renting and I really loved it!
HajungOctober 29, 2012
You said you didn't have to wear a bra - could you have if you wanted to? would the strap show in the back?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 23, 2012
Loved it!
Due to an error in rental i was only sent a size 4 bc the 2 became unavailable. determined to wear this i wore the 4. a bit larger than wanted but the dress still fit:-) loved the fit. loved the open back. dress comes just above knee balancing out the open back and low cut front. would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
August 19, 2012
Classic LBD turned up a notch
This is by far my favorite dress that I've rented on RTR. I rented this for my sorority's winter formal and got compliments all night! The material is super soft and hugged my body in all the right places. It is such a beautiful LBD with an amazing neckline and back as well! (I recommend the sticky boobs, because you definitely can't wear a normal bra with this one)
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 21, 2012
tight
This dress was really tight on the bottom. I wanted to love it but just didnt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 28, 2012
inbetween sizes, tough to fit
I rented the 0 and the 2 sizes. If there was a "1" it probably would have fit! I have small shoulders and the 2 was falling off and a little baggy. The zero was too tight in the waste but perfect on the shoulders....also, it would've been tough to find a bra to fit with the unique cut in front. However, without something to push you up the dress made you look pretty flat chested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
The dress fit wonderfully and looked chic and sexy.
Well tailored and great detail, exactly what you want from a LBD. The fit was perfect and looked amazing. I received multiple compliments walking down the street on a perfect NYC night. There was one issue - the top zipper would not stay up no matter how many adjustments I made. It originally stayed up, but by the end of the night it would not stay. I did contact RTR about this issue and they were very responsive and helpful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 24, 2012
This dress got me backstage at the pretty lights concert!!!
So sexy- Loved the way it hugged my curves. Also love the different neckline... had girls telling me how amazing my dress was all night long! I love looking sophisticated instead of trashy at raves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2012
Pretty dress but not for me
The dress is very fitting and flattering from the front. I ended up not feeling comfortable in the dress. The back was very open and I didn't feel like I had a toned enough back for it. I also am busty and felt like I was always one dance move away from falling out of the top. If you are big on top and have body issues don't rent the dress, it will increase your insecurities. There are so many other options, I wish I stuck with my usual style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 14, 2012
Looked Awesome!
Great Dress for going out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
I loved this dress. I wore it for my birthday celebration, and it was hot.
I had heard this ran small, so I ordered a 4 with backup size of 6. I wish I had gone with the 2, as it was a little loose. But overall it was great. I pinned the back in case the zipper came undone. Very attractive on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Classy, sexy and dangerous...this is the perfect LBD!!
This dress was perfect! I wish I owned it. I wore it to a New Year's Eve party in Napa, CA and felt amazing. I was worried that a size 2 might be too small considering it's a designer size, but it was perfect. I usually wear size 0 or 2 in J Crew dresses. It was snug in all the right places and the length was perfect on my 5'7'' frame (well, after heels it's 5'9'). I would HIGHLY recommend this dress! I want to rent it again!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2013
Sexy but classy for an outdoor summer wedding!
I absolutely loved the fit of this dress, and the necklace complemented it perfectly. I received compliments all night :) Undergarments were a challenge, but I found a backless/ strapless that worked perfectly, as I wanted more support than the built in gives. The zippers in back are itty bitty, so this may not be the best option for fuller chested women.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 11, 2013
It looked awesome! I felt like a celebrity!
The only thing that is hard about this dress is that it is impossible to wear a bra, so I got the nubra to help with that, but that didn't really do me any justice. If you are comfortable showing a lot of skin, then you will love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2013
Good fit and I felt great in it!
The dress fit well and didn't ride up throughout the night. I felt great in it and got a lot of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
March 24, 2013
cute LBD
A different twist to the LBD, business in the front-party in the back! The only snag I hit was having to wear my backup size, because RTR notified me a week prior to my event that they didn't have the size I normally wear. Other than that, great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 15, 2013
Bachelorette Party weekend in Vegas!
I absolutely loved this dress. It's really stretchy, making it form-fitting. The fabric is thick enough to forgive on panty lines, etc. too though which is great. Didn't need to wear a bra and the cleavage still looked great! ;) I wore this on our black dresses night out and we all got into a club with free VIP service. Enough said. The open back is super sexy!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
May 19, 2013
eye catching and very flattering!
This dress was a bit shorter on me than it looks in the picture, but it still looked great. I loved the neckline, and both the front and back had a very flattering shape. The fabric was stretchy enough to be comfortable around the hips as well. I am totally bummed that I didn't take any pictures in this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 16, 2013
The perfect LBD!
The picture doesn't do it justice. Probably my only complaint- pictures really didn't show off the dress as much as I had hoped. However, the dress fit beautifully. It was tight in all the right places. Fabric was soft, stretchy, and cotton, but the dress did not feel cheap whatsoever. It was easy to dance in and I felt extremely comfortable. It did stretch out a little throughout the night, but that's somewhat expected with that type of fabric. I would say the dress is pretty true to size, but maybe a little on the big side. I ordered the 6/8 and ended up wearing the 6 (easily). I thought the dress was going to be a little bit longer- so just an FYI to the tall ladies, it does not go to the knees as seen on the model. However, it wasn't too short by any means. It was sexy, the back is absolutely gorgeous and I received compliments all night. The neckline is gorgeous, low, but not too much (I do have smaller boobs though, so you might want to take that into consideration). You cannot wear a normal bra, so I suggest wearing 'sticky boobs'. I loved it!!! Rent it, I know you want to!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 31, 2013
It fit great and friends praised the cut of the top front!
The fit was perfect and it fit great! I couldn't stop getting compliments on the cut and style of the dress, Two thumbs up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 12, 2013
amazing....
true to fit and it is very slimming.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
September 6, 2013
Love, but too long for me
Loved the top of this dress, but on my 5'3" frame it would have been more flattering if it hit a few inches above my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2013
Zippers a bit cheap, but AMAZING looking dress.
The back two straps are held together by zippers, the dress arrive with both zippers malfunctioning. But with a few safety pins, we had the dress looking fabulous. Would definitely recommend a statement necklace to add an element of excitement to the front of the dress. Boyfriend loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2013
Fun date night
Size 4 fit fine, except a little tight up top. But, that seems to be an issue with most dresses I wear.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 27, 2013
AWESOME LBD!!!!
Love, love, love this dress! I had my eye on it for awhile and finally rented for a good friend's bachelorette dinner. The 0 felt true to size and I didn't even need breast petals because the fabric was thick enough in the bust. I got so many compliments on this, I highly recommend it for a night out! Notttt the best choice for a wedding though. The zippers on my dress were a little tough at first and might be a little difficult to close on your own. I also wish the bust was a bit tighter a la Herve Leger to push up a bit (since a bra isn't possible).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 25, 2014
Amazing!
This dress was perfect. The fabric was stretchy, and fit like a glove. The length was great too; it looks long in the picture, but when i put it on, it was just the right length. It was sexy, but not overdone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2014
Being able to dance and eat while wearing this dress.
Classy yet sexy and form-fitting. I had a blast in this dress and I got numerous compliments on it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
June 6, 2014
so easy to rent and return!
Fit like a glove! Only trouble I had was the mini zipper on the center band kept coming undone. Wish I could own it forever!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2014
Rockin'
sexy, yet edgy. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 27, 2014
Fun LBD!!!
This dress wasn't my first choice, but it worked out fine. It definitely stands out from the other "little black dresses!!" I really liked the edge the back gives the dress...the length was a little shorter than I would have liked it to have been, but overall, it's a fun dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
August 29, 2014
Loved the dress for my bachelorette party!
The dress was fantastic. In addition to looking great, it was very comfortable. It was a little shorter than I expected, but perfect for a bachelorette party. The zippers in the back did not stay up as well as they should have, but a safety pin easily solved the problem. I'm guessing the zippers are just worn out. Overall, the dress was incredible and I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 5, 2015
One of my best friend's holiday house party and the dress was perfect!
The fit was amazing. I seriously might have to rent it again. Didn't want to return it :)
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×