The Sassy Sequin Sheath

$132 to buy
$875 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show your rock-and-roll side in this Haute Hippie sheath. With all-over sequins, you will shine all night in this dazzling piece. Complete the look with a statement neckline.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted - slits on each side of the dress make it very short so curvier women should size up for length
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model); skirt is very mini so tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; tights recommended to accommodate high slits
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted - slits on each side of the dress make it very short so curvier women should size up for length
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model); skirt is very mini so tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; tights recommended to accommodate high slits
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine sequins on black silk. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large12
True to Size41
Small6
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 14, 2012
I rented this for a weekend in NYC - I loved ordering online and delivery directly to our hotel!
It is a loose fitting dress - I definitely agree that it should be paired with leggings or very dark tights as it is short - I only ordered a medium as it was my backup dress, and it looked great, but probably could of worn the small too! GREAT dress - received a ton of compliments and it was incredibly comfortable to wear!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
November 9, 2012
New Year's Eve Spectacular
At 5'3", 112 lbs, 32D I am often in between a small and XS. When I wear the XS I wonder what do really thing girls wear? The shape is not fitted but drapes in a flattering way. After reading other reviews I was concerned about the side slits - they are somewhat high so I made sure my tights were no-line. I loved this so much I want to rent it again for this NYE but we'll be in Miami where no tights are needed and this dress needs tights. In this dress, you get attention when you walk in the room - va-va-voom.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 28, 2012
So comfortable! Easy to dress up or down.
I rented a S and M. The weird thing was that the M seemed shorter and a little tighter. I wore the S. you can't tell in the picture but there are slits on both sides of the dress. Keep that in mind because it's already pretty short. For the accessory, I chose "surprise bling" and they sent a nice necklace. Got a lot of compliments!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 10, 2012
I wore this to a New Years Eve themed party.Very stylish and flattering! I got so many compliments!
I think sometimes sequins can look tacky but not on this dress! I selected true to size but I would say depending on your built it might run a little large. I rented a medium and it fit me but I think I might have been able to get away with a size small. Depends on how loose you want it to fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 10, 2012
Old school glamour with a modern twist!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous, by far one of my favorites! The color is more of an ox blood color in person and has tiny gold beads among the sequins and while the fit is looser, it hugs the body in all of the right places. I rented an XS and a S and the XS ended up fitting best. The only thing I would note is that for someone on the taller side (I'm only 5'2"), the slits on either side come up pretty high. I loved that this dress is sexy, yet not too revealing which made it perfect for the event that I went to which was on the conservative side. The event was a Gatsby theme party and I received so many compliments! One of my friends that I went with thought the dress looked so great that she told me I should look for it online to buy it. Overall, I am super pleased with the dress and would definitely rent it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 6, 2012
Loose, boxy sequined dress that is utterly glamourous, sexy and sophisticated!
I added this dress to my order at the last minute - I love RTR and the customer service is the absolute best!!! Thank you to RTR customer service!!! This dress is pure glamour, understated sex appeal and sophistication! Now, I am a body-conscious dress kind of girl, and when I first tried on the dress I was disappointed - the dress does fit like a sequined boxy, loose rectangle. However, when I paired it with black platform heels, large double-hoop dangly gold earrings - WOW! The dress swayed seductively all night - and makes you actually look smaller (because the dress is so loose - who knows what size you are underneath?) I normally wear a 6 in dresses and wore the M. I got compliments all night! I can't believe I love this sequined "potato sack", as another reviewer put it, but I do! I will probably rent this one again! About the color - looked brown to me, but in certain light looks plum-ish.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 27, 2012
Please see review
This dress is amazing!!! I got so many compliments on it and people at Sleep No More thought I was part of the cast! Paired it with a fun fascinator! See photo. Dress fit is loose so I recommend going on size down. It's super comfortable and the purple tinge is unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
January 5, 2012
Beautiful dress
Hi, This is a beautiful dress. The color wine against the black is very rich looking. The top half of the dress was swimming on me, but the hip area felt like it fit okay. I wore it anyways because I needed something to wear to a party. I usually wear a petite size 2 or a 4 and I am only 5'1".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 30, 2011
I loved showing off the dazzling sequins on the dance floor!
I rented this dress for the Navy Ball in college and it was a hit! It was a little big baggier than expected and the cap sleeves didn't accentuate the best part of my arms, but I through on a belt and everyone loved the sequins.
LibbyOctober 10, 2013
Do you think its ok to wear a knee length dress to the marine core ball or should i get a gown
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2011
LOVED!
LOVED this dress. I wore it for my 30th birthday party and received too many complements to count. The dress is fun, flirty and has a flapper vibe to it. It fits a little loose (as it's supposed to). From reading other reviews, I was worried that the side slits would be too revealing but there is a flap of black silk fabric that covers them so I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. I would HIGHLY recommend this dress. You'll look fab and it photographs really well.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2011
Dress was a good fit, but ran small, I am usually a medium and a size 8 and the large was only slightly big. Very swingy and sexy and short! Smelled a little like smoke.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2011
I got tons of compliments on this dress. I wore it for my 30th birthday - not too dressy, not too casual with lots of tasteful bling! I wore black leggings and high heels with the dress - there was no way you could wear this with bare lags. The dress is more of a shirt dress and the slits on the sides would reveal too much. I wore a belt with it too to cinch in the waist and that made the dress a lot more flattering on me. All around a great rent!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 13, 2011
Loved this dress! About 10 people came up to me and told me how gorgeous the dress was. Very flattering. I have broad shoulders, so it made me look a little frumpy up top, but not horribly so. Would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 5, 2011
This dress was awesome! Sexy (from side slits and short length-mid thigh), but not screaming sexy with it's sack-like shape.I had so many compliments. I wore it to an event with the dress attire labeled as "cocktail formal"...there are small slits on the sides of the dress, but it was fine as it was dark at the event and we were standing the whole time. I went bare legs and strapy black heels.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 10, 2011
LOVE this dress. I'm thin and tall with some hips (like a 0 up top, size 4 hips) so I love flowy sheaths like this. I wore a size 4 so it was loose around my hips, like the model. The dress looks even better in person- a nice change from the usual black or blue sequin dresses. The slits on the side didn't bother me too much, I wore dark black tights and danced like a maniac all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
April 28, 2011
a super super cute dress but the slits were just a dealbreaker for me. the weather was too warm for a black tights solution and going bare-legged would have been offensive in this dress. too bad. it would have been a real winner otherwise.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 6, 2011
i agree w/ other reviews, not a good dress if u're curvy or have hips. i could've worn the small, but due to the slits on the side (which hit nearly to the hip bone) had to opt for the medium so that i wasn't flashing everyone.
RTR CustomerNovember 28, 2011
Thanks for sharing your feedback! We have updated our fit notes to show that this dress is very short, so curvy or tall women should size up for length.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2011
This dress was fun to wear! I wore a thin, black skirt slip and tights underneath so the high slits on the sides of the dress were not an issue.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 9, 2010
This dress is really beautiful. The slits are only noticeable if you have wider hips. Perfect for a night out!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
November 7, 2010
This dress is very fun, but should come with a warning--there are very high slits on the side of the dress that are a little scandolous. I wore it with black tights to take attention away from the high slits. Probably not the best choice for someone with longer legs, it was short on me and I am only 5'3".
NatalieDecember 16, 2011
What size did you get? I'm 5' 1" and I'd love a minidress that's actually mini!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×