Rent the Runway

Haute Hippie

The Sassy Sequin Sheath

$132 rental
$875 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show your rock-and-roll side in this Haute Hippie sheath. With all-over sequins, you will shine all night in this dazzling piece. Complete the look with a statement neckline.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted - slits on each side of the dress make it very short so curvier women should size up for length
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model); skirt is very mini so tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; tights recommended to accommodate high slits
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2,4; Size M=6,8; Size L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Not fitted
HIPS: Not fitted - slits on each side of the dress make it very short so curvier women should size up for length
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model); skirt is very mini so tall women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a standard bra; tights recommended to accommodate high slits
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'11". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine sequins on black silk. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

58 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 40
Large 12
Photos 28
BLAIR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 7, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is very fun, but should come with a warning--there are very high slits on the side of the dress that are a little scandolous. I wore it with black tights to take attention away from the high slits. Probably not the best choice for someone with longer legs, it was short on me and I am only 5'3".
RD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 9, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is really beautiful. The slits are only noticeable if you have wider hips. Perfect for a night out!!
Amanda R.
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Jan 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was fun to wear! I wore a thin, black skirt slip and tights underneath so the high slits on the sides of the dress were not an issue.
Jayna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
i agree w/ other reviews, not a good dress if u're curvy or have hips. i could've worn the small, but due to the slits on the side (which hit nearly to the hip bone) had to opt for the medium so that i wasn't flashing everyone.
PML
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Apr 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
a super super cute dress but the slits were just a dealbreaker for me. the weather was too warm for a black tights solution and going bare-legged would have been offensive in this dress. too bad. it would have been a real winner otherwise.
Cake
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
May 10, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE this dress. I'm thin and tall with some hips (like a 0 up top, size 4 hips) so I love flowy sheaths like this. I wore a size 4 so it was loose around my hips, like the model. The dress looks even better in person- a nice change from the usual black or blue sequin dresses. The slits on the side didn't bother me too much, I wore dark black tights and danced like a maniac all night.
KK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was awesome! Sexy (from side slits and short length-mid thigh), but not screaming sexy with it's sack-like shape.I had so many compliments. I wore it to an event with the dress attire labeled as "cocktail formal"...there are small slits on the sides of the dress, but it was fine as it was dark at the event and we were standing the whole time. I went bare legs and strapy black heels.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! About 10 people came up to me and told me how gorgeous the dress was. Very flattering. I have broad shoulders, so it made me look a little frumpy up top, but not horribly so. Would rent it again!
Liz
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I got tons of compliments on this dress. I wore it for my 30th birthday - not too dressy, not too casual with lots of tasteful bling! I wore black leggings and high heels with the dress - there was no way you could wear this with bare lags. The dress is more of a shirt dress and the slits on the sides would reveal too much. I wore a belt with it too to cinch in the waist and that made the dress a lot more flattering on me. All around a great rent!
Ekb223
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Dress was a good fit, but ran small, I am usually a medium and a size 8 and the large was only slightly big. Very swingy and sexy and short! Smelled a little like smoke.
md_smc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 11, 2011

LOVED!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress. I wore it for my 30th birthday party and received too many complements to count. The dress is fun, flirty and has a flapper vibe to it. It fits a little loose (as it's supposed to). From reading other reviews, I was worried that the side slits would be too revealing but there is a flap of black silk fabric that covers them so I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. I would HIGHLY recommend this dress. You'll look fab and it photographs really well.
Mele
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Hi, This is a beautiful dress. The color wine against the black is very rich looking. The top half of the dress was swimming on me, but the hip area felt like it fit okay. I wore it anyways because I needed something to wear to a party. I usually wear a petite size 2 or a 4 and I am only 5'1".
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 25, 2012

Beautiful dress but runs small if you're tall!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress is gorgeous, but not a good fit if you're tall like me. The dress was not flattering at all. It hugged my curves in all the wrong places, mostly because it was too short. Not even leggings could have saved it, I just would have been uncomfortable dancing in it. It was a last minute rental for a concert in NYC so there was no back-up sizing available. Returning it for a fit & credit with RTR was a breeze, and I kind of expected it would have been too good to be true if the dress (size small was all that was available) were to fit. But it was too gorgeous to not try! I love RTR and look forward to my next rental for the holidays.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Okay, but not a fave.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a back-up for NYE and thought I should change into it between dinner and drinks. I paired it with black tights and black leather closed toe shoes but I must not have the curves because the size S was unflattering. The dress doesn't hug the shape of your body at all which made it look like you were wearing a long rectangular dress. Maybe if the waist was cinched or I had thought to bring a belt, it would have saved the look, but I decided to stay in the Nanette Lepore Joan of Arc Mini to ring in the New Year.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

great quality...shape just did nothing for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
rented this for my bachelorette party...rented the xs and the small. Though a beautiful dress and color....It didnt flatter my body type at all - sent it back;(
Linda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Great dress, just way too short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
They did not have the S available, but since the dress is not fitted and looked boxy, went with XS, but it was so short. The side slits came up to my underwear and you could not wear sheer hose with it, even black sheer. It looked more like a top than a dress. Did not work for what I needed it for.
Jackie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 17, 2013

Many compliments from fellow sorority sisters!! Loved the loose fit I was able to dance in!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit runs true to size! I usually wear a large and that is what I wore in this dress! I did get a medium for the backup size, and it could have fit but the large fit better all over and made me feel more comfortabel!! Great dress! And will order again from this designer!
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 19, 2013

Size sent to me was too small :(

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I really wanted to wear this on my 40th birthday. It was a replacement for something I ordered that was suddenly not available so the stylist sent me this in an XS. Unfortunately it was too small for me. I am a basic 4 (5.4" 125 lbs, 34 B) and this was too small. I thought I was getting the S. Regardless it was a beautiful dress and i wish I could have made it work but had I tried it would have been an X-Rated night :) Regardless...RTR customer service was wonderful and I will def rent again! Maybe for my wedding in Sept!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×