Age of Innocence Book Clutch

$132 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

This clutch by kate spade new york accessories will add an unique touch to your next look. A cute outfit addition for a bridal shower or dinner party!

Product Details

Book clutch with printed cotton twill fabric under clear pvc. 14 - karat light gold -plated hardware. Handheld frame with clasp closure. Interior zip pocket and 12 credit card slots. 5.9''h x 9.0''w x 1.2''d

Share
80 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 11, 2014
Loved this clutch. Everyone kept asking me why I was carrying a book.
Really cute conversation piece. Large enough to half your stuff. Inspired me to read the book.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2014
I rented this clutch for a wedding, and it was the PERFECT statement accessory. Totally chic!
I wish I owned it! Such a great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 215lbs
September 12, 2014
Unique clutch to jazz up a black lace dress
I love the clutch; however, I was bummed to see that the plastic on the corners had been damaged, and the corners of the bag looked shabby and dirty. Time to retire the one I was sent!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2014
Love it!
Wish I didn't have to return it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 22, 2014
Adorable!
Loved this! It was a perfect pair to the Clover Canyon 'Santorini' dress for an outdoor ceremony. It's near the size of a book and holds everything that one needs for an evening out. The clasp is sturdy so there is no fear of losing anything.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 28, 2014
Cute and fun
Perfectly functional. I was able to keep all the necessities with me. It was a little worn at the edges but nothing noticeable to my friends
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 28, 2014
Unique Clutch!
I loved this clutch so much I really would like to buy it someday. It held more than I thought it would. I could fit my iPhone (with my bulky Otter Box cover on it) as well as lipstick, money and cards. I definitely recommend this!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 28, 2014
Everyone loved this purse!
Best. Purse. Ever. It is cute and practical- lots of space inside for your phone, cash, keys, cards, a little bit of make up, etc. It's also very comfortable to carry, even without a strap. Fits nicely in your hand or under your arm. Everyone at the wedding asked me where I got it.
View photos (1)
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 18, 2014
Lovely.
This purse is so adorable!!! I wish I could have taken it to my event, I ended up not going and having to return it. However, this thing is very unique and will definitely be a conversation starter at many places :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2014
I loved this purse and got so many compliments on it!
Great size - I was able to fit my phone, lipstick, license, and credit cards inside.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 3, 2014
Cute, but a little damaged
Really cute clutch. Nice style, adorable design, etc. Really big with an inside zipper pocket and credit card slots. The cover is plastic and there was some cracking on the "binding" of the book. Not super noticeable to anyone else, but this little rental has definitely been used.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 17, 2014
Gorgeous Clutch
I loves this clutch because it's classic, lovely, sophisticated and it's so roomy! I fit a lot in there for my evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 17, 2014
Period era book for a murder mystery dinner
The purse was fun, roomy & the perfect compliment to a 30s era murder mystery dinner. Would rent again in a heartbeat
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 22, 2014
Loved this clutch!
Beautiful in person. Very roomy- plenty of room for your phone, lipstick, and cards/cash. Loved it so much, I want to buy it !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 3, 2014
So Fun!
This was such a fun purse and it was really functional too, it fit all the essentials you need for a night out. I got so many compliments carrying it around.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2014
black tie event
really cute KS clutch. would be perfect for a night out but not a formal affair that I'm going to. way too casual. love the clutch in general though. I probably won't ever do the surprise pick though.. i can't take a chance of the accessory not working again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
December 11, 2014
Perfect wedding day accessory!
I wore a blush gown for my wedding, and the pink in this clutch complimented the dress perfectly. The size was ideal for carrying just my phone, lipstick, and compact. It was a touch of whimsy to a fun but formal wedding, and it looked fabulous in pictures! We had a literary themed reception, so it was a perfect fit.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
December 22, 2014
loved this purse...wish I owned it. perfect with a little black dress
super cute! big enough for phone and a few make-up items. center zipper compartment with pockets
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
January 6, 2015
Fun conversation starter!
Wish this Clutch either had a larger clasp, was smaller, or wasn't covered in plastic. It was super fun and got a lot of attention, but I also felt like I had brought a ratty plastic covered library book to a black tie wedding! It fit everything, which was a plus, but looked too big in my hands.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Apple
January 26, 2015
Overall, it was great. If you looked closely, you could see wear on it.
CONS: It was pretty small. I fit in only a few essentials; visa, cash, and my phone barely fit... (I have an iPhone 5)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 21, 2015
I adored this clutch! I wanted to keep it forever!
This held so much- iPhone, gum, lipstick, compact, lip liner blush. Nice to hold! Beautiful! Could go with any dress color. Gold, white, pink, silver, black, grey...Easy to open, stayed closed. It was a great conversation piece and I got so any compliments on it from both men and women. I have to buy myself one of these!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2015
tre cool
this clutch was so cute and a real ice breaker. I received many compliments on how clever it is.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
May 4, 2015
"why did you bring a book?"
I loved this clutch, and it was definitely a conversation piece. It looked great with the dress and I got so many compliments. My only issue was that the entire back of the bag was wrinkling underneath the plastic, and it couldn't be smoothed down. The front was fine, but you could tell this bag had been used before.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
June 10, 2015
So perfect and classy!!
This clutch made me feel sophisticated and classy all night. Definitely a conversation starter and SO fun to carry! Lots of room for cards and your phone! I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2014
The Final Touch
I used this as the final touch on an interpretive Gatsby costume. I rented the Lilly LBD, the necklace, and this bag for an all around 20s inspired look. I didn't want to go "too costumey" but thought dressing up a LBD would be a happy medium. I will say about the purse, it was incredibly difficult to open. It could have just been me, but I couldn't quite figure it out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 11, 2014
Such a fun statement clutch
Good size clutch, about the size of a larger actual book. Fit my wallet, keys, phone and lipstick. Wouldn't fit a phone charger but great size with internal zipper pocket and card pockets. Secure clasp and the exterior is covered in a sort of plastic so you don't have to worry about setting it down for pictures. Everyone asked about it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 1, 2014
Cutest Clutch
So fun and eye catching! Doesn't hold much though. Card, lipstick and phone is all I could fit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2013
The perfect unique touch!
I loved this clutch so much I might buy one! It was a great choice to make my look just a little more unique. Very pretty with the art deco lettering and the hint of gold.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 22, 2013
Cute & versatile clutch
This is my favorite vinyl clutch by far. It's cute and is a conversation starter.
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
February 24, 2014
Cute bag - got lots of compliments
This was my first time renting a handbag from RTR and I was really happy with the overall style. Went to a roaring 20's themed event and this was a subtle nod without being too costumey. The bag definitely had some wear and tear (found some makeup stains in the lining) but overall it was still less expensive than going out a purchasing a bag that I'd likely use infrequently.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2014
Loved this amazing little conversation piece!
Rented this clutch for a weekend of girlie events including a brunch. It received so much attention! Really adds some oomph to an otherwise muted outfit! Fits the essentials- phone, lippiie and wallet. Loved this clutch!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
March 13, 2014
Loved the character of this clutch!
Super cute clutch! It adds great character to anything you wear.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 27, 2014
So unique! I am absolutely obsessed!
This bag is amazing. I want to buy it. It is super functional with a built in wallet with credit card slots and a zippered pouch. It fits everything you need for a night out. Plus, it is a great conversation piece. I love it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 7, 2014
Adorable! So many compliments on this clutch!
I paired this with a dress for a Gatsby themed auction event and everyone absolutely adored it! Very adorable, great size, and so unique! Wish I could have kept it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
May 16, 2014
It looked great but was almost impossible to open!
The clasp was very tight and I had trouble keeping it open and accessing the inside. Other than that, it was definitely a conversation starter!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2014
Perfect conversation starter
Cute way to cart around cell phone and other accessories during a wedding. Doubled as a great conversation starter. Tons of people approached me to ask about the unique clutch.
Top Contributor
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
June 11, 2014
So pretty
I didn't get to use this, as I had to return my dresses for fit issues, but my friends and I all thought it was beautiful and I will be renting again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2014
Cute!
I got a lot of compliments on this. I took it to a birthday gathering at a vineyard, and then brunch with my MIL the next day. Its hard to fit a lot of items in it, so be sure to minimalize! I could only fit a lip gloss and my phone.
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
November 11, 2014
Looked cheap
I wasn't too thrilled with this purse, it was cloth wrapped in plastic basically. Kate spade didn't live up to my expectations on this one :/
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 27, 2015
So Beautiful!
I had been drooling over these Kate Spade book clutches for months and when I saw this 1920s book clutch for such an amazing price I knew it was an essential accessory for my prom outfit. It arrived in good repair, though it was a little hard to open until I figured out how it worked! My only complaint would be that with an iPhone 4s, a tube of lipstick and a few other things, the clutch was nearly full so just keep that in mind when renting. Overall I really loved this clutch, I wish I could've kept it!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×