Halston Heritage

Stormchaser Dress

$35 rental
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Earn smokeshow status in this cutout style by Halston Heritage. A little sexy and super flattering, this dress will have you collecting numbers at the door!

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Three quarter length sleeves. Boat neckline with front cutout detail. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
287 reviews
Fit
Large
(72)
True to Size
(149)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2014
Great dress, especially for the colder weather!
The fit was true to size. The dress is fitted through the rib cage and waist, as well as the arms. There's a lot of coverage, which makes the dress perfect for colder-weather special event. Very flattering cut - definitely recommended!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2014
The fabric was thick, stretchy, and very forgiving.
I felt sophisticated, and very feminine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 31, 2014
Classy LBD with a cut-out twist
I rented this dress after my original dress did not fit. I was going to wear it to a formal affair, but felt it was a little too conservative for that. Instead I wore this dress to work when I had some important meetings. I would also consider wearing it to a funeral to be completely honest. It is a great fit and flare cut, and the fabric is thicker so it does not feel cheap, or clingy. The cut out makes it fun, and different.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
March 31, 2014
LOVE IT ! LOVE IT!
FITS LIKE A GLOVE, GORGEOUS DRESS
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 15, 2014
Comfortable and Fun to Dance in!
I am always chilly and did not want to carry around a jacket/sweater for my friends bachelorette dinner and dancing. This dress kept me very comfortable and fun to dance in with the flared skirt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2014
My boyfriend saw this and his mouth dropped!
I usually wear between an 8 and a 10 and wore the 8. This dress is absolutely stunning on. I got compliments from perfect strangers all night long. You could wear for any season and it would look fine. Great experience!!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 27, 2014
Wore it to a sorority formal
I wore it for a sorority formal and I received so many compliments. Everyone loved the dress and it was very flattering. I wore a smokey eye, red lips, and black pumps. I was a very classic look and I would love to wear this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
I wore this dress for work event. It was so comfortable!
The dress was extremely comfortable. I am short, (5'3") so the dress hit right above my knees. I ordered the 4 & 6 and wore the 4. It fit perfectly throughout the bodice. I would recommend this dress to everyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 30, 2014
Great material, awkward fit.
I didn't end up wearing this to the party I attended. The material was beautiful - nice and thick - perfect for a March night in New England. However, the dress flairs out so much that it made me look incredibly "hip-py". I wish it could have worked, it was so comfortable!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2014
Comfortable dress and very flattering fit...
I wore this to my school's benefit and I wanted something conservative but stylish and this dress was PERFECT for that. The material is thick so I would not recommend this dress for warmer climates or summer. I also rented the earrings that they recommended and I really thing that brought the outfit to life.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137lbs
June 5, 2014
Classy & Elegant!
Received a lot of compliments! Will rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 9, 2014
Perfect for my engagement photos
The dress is comfortable and has plenty of stretch. It is very thick material! The engagement photos we took in the sun made me sweat, but overall the dress was great. I am in the process of losing weight for the wedding so I can't comment on fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
June 17, 2014
Wore it to a wedding
Love the dress really comfortable got a ton of compliments
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
June 18, 2014
Did not get to wear
Material is really heavy. Even size zero is too big on me. Does not look fancy like the photo looks. Its a bit different. I would not recommend this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 19, 2014
Feeling pretty at a party with younger, thinner girls!
The opening slit on the chest is not as large as it looks in the picture, but I have a very short chest/collar bone. The dress was true to size and perfect for holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
December 8, 2014
Comfortable but boring.
The dress was very comfortable. Not a "wow" dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 14, 2014
I loved this dress! Perfect for a cocktail party, wedding or date.
The fit was a little big so I went with the smaller size. It was super comfortable and I loved the length. A perfect dress for colder temps!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2014
The dress was so beautiful
True to fix Hug my curves
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2014
Great dress, felt so beautiful without being freezing all night!
great fit, material was really warm. also looked good with sheer tights. loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 22, 2014
I was actually surprised that the material was not high quality that I expect from Halston.
I did not wear it because it ran large for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 4, 2014
So comfortable and chic
This dress was a dream! The fabric is very stretchy and comfy. The material is thicker than I would have thought so it was a little warm for a Texas August night but it looked so good I didn't even care. The skirt flares out beautifully. My only complaint is that the shoulders are a little narrow but since it's black you can't really tell. The length hit just above my knees and the sleeves went just past my elbows. This dress would look good on a lot of different body types and runs true to size.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
September 15, 2014
Right for the temperature
When the dress arrived my first rection was, "this looks like an ice dancer costume." I was suprised when all of the reviews raved of the fabric, because I found the blend to be dated. After rolling up the too long of sleeves, and doing my hair and maikeup (not pictured) I felt the dress looked nice. I wore it to an event ouside on a chilly night, and I highly recommed if for a cool evening. Overall, if I saw this in the store I wouldn't pick it up, let alone purchase.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
September 25, 2014
It arrived on time, which always makes me happy!
Too heavy, I expected the material to be of a lighter weight. Too long, as it came almost to my knees, not as seen on the model. I wasn't pleased with this piece at all :o(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
October 4, 2014
Super comfy, flattering dress great for a wedding !
Super comfy dress, very simple yet sexy. Fits true to size. Heavier material- was good for the fall wedding I wore it to. Only com I have is that since I'm short I felt it didn't sit right on me..kept bunching at my shoulders. Overall was a great rental!! I got many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
October 6, 2014
Perfect LBD
I wear a size 6 but I wish I would have gotten a size 4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 22, 2014
Perfectly Elegant!
I wore this for our semi-formal engagement shoot and it was perfect! The fit was true to size and the thick material gave the appearance of an expensive well thought out LBD. I especially loved the unique cut out on the chest. I would highly recommend this classy little black dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 29, 2014
Classic LBD with a twist.
I rented this dress for an Awards event honoring my husband and his co-workers, so I needed something that was a little conservative and simple. But at the same time I didn't want to blend into the sea of LBD's that I knew every other wife would be wearing. The unique neckline and swinging skirt made this LBD stand out a bit more. Fit wise: I can go between an 8 or a 10 usually, but the 10 was a little too baggy in the midsection and the 8 was more flattering. The length hit me right above the knee, which I felt was perfect for my comfort level for the event. The only place the dress did not fit me was in the shoulders. The sleeves were tight, but not uncomfortably so, and the chest area was fitted fine. But it seemed that the in the area in between there was a bit too much fabric which caused the material to punch out a little. But with my hair down it wasn't too noticeable, just threw me off. Also, the fabric is very heavy and I was a little hot at times, even in October (but Arizona is having an unusually warm October). I also rented the TULESTE MARKET Hammered Squares Earrings, which paired gorgeously with my black & gold pumps. All and all the dress was perfect for the event. I felt classy but not stuffy or matronly. Another positive Rent the Runway experience!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2014
So many compliments!
Very comfortable perfect for a winter wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2014
Wore this dress for a photo shoot recently and was very happy with it!
Thick fabric makes this dress hang really well on the body - though I wouldn't recommend it for hotter days. It is the perfect mix between formal and business casual. Great dress to wear to work events, etc. I liked this dress so much I rented it again for a dinner a few weeks later!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
November 15, 2014
I am a shorty, 5'2" so the dress was a little too long on me. It was an amazing dress
The fabric would be great for a cool evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2014
This dress was perfect for a cocktail party or a night out. The cut out was just sexy enough.
It was pretty true to size with a little extra room. I WANT TO BUY THIS DRESS
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2014
Loved the dress!
Beautiful, classic dress! Great first time RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2014
Great customer service!!!
I was out of town when this dress arrived, I got home the next day and immediately tried it on. Both sizes ended up being to big. I went on the RTR website to see if there was anything I could do. A new dress could be overnighted, but since my event was the next day this was not an option. I could also return it and get a store credit if I returned it within 24 hrs of it's arrival, however since I had been out of town this was impossible. I emailed RTR and no more than 5 minutes later I got a response. They were very helpful and nice about it. They let me return it for the credit if I dropped it off by tomorrow at 12 pm. Overall, the service was incredible and made up for the dress not fitting well!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 8, 2014
Love filled wedding/ dance party
Such a comfortable dress! Tons of compliments all night, was warm enough to tackle the cold weather, yet still able to dance the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2014
Perfect Party Dress - size down
This was a perfect party dress and the fabric is thick and hugs what it needs too. I still have a couple pounds to get rid of after the baby and this hides the lower stomach! So far this was my husbands favorite.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 11, 2014
Nice dress for a cocktail party.
Fit great, very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2014
Loved this rental!!!
This dress was such a surprise. I loved it. It runs big so plan on sizing down, but otherwise, it's just perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2014
The neckline stole the show.
The dress was a little longer than I would have wanted, but I'm 5ft. So I glammed it up with some hot heels et voila. Great fit in the arms and bust (usually a problem for me). Great material with just enough hold to smooth things out and perfect for winter/fall. Also it looked brand new due to the material. I was sad that I had to return it and I will definitely consider Halston rentals in the futures. This dress is great for a woman with an hour glass or athletic figure because the cut accentuates the positives. If you are a twig or flat chested, I would not say this is not for you. Only caveat--wear a smooth or t-shirt bra to hide the lines. Also, both the 6 and 8 fit, but since the even was quasi- conservative I went for the 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 19, 2014
Loved this dress! Got a million complements on it and it fit beautifully!
Fit great! If you get another size I would go a size down vs up. I could have worn the 12 but the 14 still looked awesome!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 154lbs
December 21, 2014
Perfect for holiday party.
Loved it. Loved the way it fit. But it is a heavy fabric which is perfect for a winter event. Except when it's time to start dancing - that was the only downfall. You'll overheat in this one if you plan on dancing.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×