Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Stormchaser Dress

$35 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Earn smokeshow status in this cutout style by Halston Heritage. A little sexy and super flattering, this dress will have you collecting numbers at the door! Simply pair with Halston Heritage Handbags’ Hunter Croc Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black ponte (61% Rayon, 33% Nylon, 6% Spandex). Three quarter length sleeves. Boat neckline with front cutout detail. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 34.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

170 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 102
Large 42
Photos 55
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

This dress was ver classy, and perfect for a graduate school semi-formal!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Definitely order a size down, it runs large and long! I'm 5' 10" and it was much longer than I thought it would be, so if you're short, it's going to be much longer than you expect. The material is heavy, so for an event in mid January in New Hampshire it was perfect, but take caution if you plan to wear it in a warmer season/state/country. Other than that it was perfect!
Krissy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 195 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

I recieved so many compliments on this dress. Amazing fit for a pear shape.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs big due to the ponte knit fabric. Size down one or two sizes.
Deann
Age: 36
Mar 10, 2014

Felt amazing in this dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this for a Vegas trip in the winter. Great fit. Very classy got loads of compliments. Was very warm and simply lovely. I'm tall and it was just long enough.
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 22, 2014

Perfectly Elegant!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for our semi-formal engagement shoot and it was perfect! The fit was true to size and the thick material gave the appearance of an expensive well thought out LBD. I especially loved the unique cut out on the chest. I would highly recommend this classy little black dress.
Erin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2014

The fabric was thick, stretchy, and very forgiving.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I felt sophisticated, and very feminine.
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 30, 2014

Glam and Comfort!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress! It is so comfortable and cute. It is a little longer than other RTR's, which was fine for me but might not work for shorter girls. The fabric is thick and it's shape is awesome. Definitely a winter dress, perfect for day or night!
M
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 6, 2014

I got a lot of compliments on this dress. It made me feel glamorous, I love the neckline.

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It gave me a great waist and the material has a little stretch so it is forgiving. The material is a little heavy but for a chilly Chicago event it was perfect.
Miller
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 1, 2014

Comfortable dress and very flattering fit...

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my school's benefit and I wanted something conservative but stylish and this dress was PERFECT for that. The material is thick so I would not recommend this dress for warmer climates or summer. I also rented the earrings that they recommended and I really thing that brought the outfit to life.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Perfect for my engagement photos

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress is comfortable and has plenty of stretch. It is very thick material! The engagement photos we took in the sun made me sweat, but overall the dress was great. I am in the process of losing weight for the wedding so I can't comment on fit.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Super comfortable dress that flatters the body

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I've rented this dress a couple times and love it every time I wear it. Always get lots of compliments too!
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Nice.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Nice dress, armhole drop was a little long but this looked great for my engagement photos. Street size dresses I'm a 4 usually so this was just a bit big like the other reviews said.
Amanda
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 15, 2014

Right for the temperature

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When the dress arrived my first rection was, "this looks like an ice dancer costume." I was suprised when all of the reviews raved of the fabric, because I found the blend to be dated. After rolling up the too long of sleeves, and doing my hair and maikeup (not pictured) I felt the dress looked nice. I wore it to an event ouside on a chilly night, and I highly recommed if for a cool evening. Overall, if I saw this in the store I wouldn't pick it up, let alone purchase.
Heath
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Oct 4, 2014

Super comfy, flattering dress great for a wedding !

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super comfy dress, very simple yet sexy. Fits true to size. Heavier material- was good for the fall wedding I wore it to. Only com I have is that since I'm short I felt it didn't sit right on me..kept bunching at my shoulders. Overall was a great rental!! I got many compliments!
Lara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Unforgettable LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this great LBD for a wedding. It was comfortable and easy to move around in. (The slit on the front is smaller than the model picture makes it out to be.) I also wore the Kendra Scott "Deva Emerald Earrings" with the dress, which added the perfect pop of color! I got a lot of compliments on the dress. This would definitely be a dress I would rent again!
Angelica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Classic LBD with a twist.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for an Awards event honoring my husband and his co-workers, so I needed something that was a little conservative and simple. But at the same time I didn't want to blend into the sea of LBD's that I knew every other wife would be wearing. The unique neckline and swinging skirt made this LBD stand out a bit more. Fit wise: I can go between an 8 or a 10 usually, but the 10 was a little too baggy in the midsection and the 8 was more flattering. The length hit me right above the knee, which I felt was perfect for my comfort level for the event. The only place the dress did not fit me was in the shoulders. The sleeves were tight, but not uncomfortably so, and the chest area was fitted fine. But it seemed that the in the area in between there was a bit too much fabric which caused the material to punch out a little. But with my hair down it wasn't too noticeable, just threw me off. Also, the fabric is very heavy and I was a little hot at times, even in October (but Arizona is having an unusually warm October). I also rented the TULESTE MARKET Hammered Squares Earrings, which paired gorgeously with my black & gold pumps. All and all the dress was perfect for the event. I felt classy but not stuffy or matronly. Another positive Rent the Runway experience!!!
halie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 9, 2014

So many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very comfortable perfect for a winter wedding!
Julia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2014

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful, classic dress! Great first time RTR experience!
Kayla
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Love filled wedding/ dance party

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Such a comfortable dress! Tons of compliments all night, was warm enough to tackle the cold weather, yet still able to dance the night away!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

Loved this rental!!!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress was such a surprise. I loved it. It runs big so plan on sizing down, but otherwise, it's just perfect.
Chrissy
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

Loved this dress! Got a million complements on it and it fit beautifully!

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great! If you get another size I would go a size down vs up. I could have worn the 12 but the 14 still looked awesome!
Jenna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Perfect for holiday party.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Loved it. Loved the way it fit. But it is a heavy fabric which is perfect for a winter event. Except when it's time to start dancing - that was the only downfall. You'll overheat in this one if you plan on dancing.
Jordan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Wore this to my boyfriend's college graduation ceremony. Perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This fits big!! Even in the 0 I had plenty of space in there. The fabric is thick and a little heavy but soft and comfortable. As for the short girls, the skirt hangs long, felt like it was just above me knee caps. Overall, great dress!
Kristine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Flattering LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie winter concert, so I wanted something that would cover my arms (to keep me warm) and be conservative enough for a primarily older crowd. I tried on the 2 first, and it fit perfectly, so I didn't try on the 4. The material was thick and of good quality, and my boyfriend loved it. He said it showed just the right amount of decolletage. I would definitely recommend this dress.
LB
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

The event was a black tie optional event in Washington, DC on 1/2/2015.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Sorry I don't have a better picture! The event I went to was a black tie optional ball in Washington, DC. The attire of people in attendance ran the gamut, so I did not feel either over- or under-dressed. The dress fit true to size. I got a 6 and an 8 and didn't even try on the 8, the 6 was perfect. It was a thicker fabric which was nice in chilly weather. It also had a nice amount of stretch and wasn't constricting. The flare skirt is very flattering. I'm on the shorter side and the skirt hit just above the knee, so I found it appropriate and classy. I wore it with a closed toe high heel black sandal/pump. For jewelry I wore a large gold cuff and rented the Slate and Willow Solar Flare Earrings. the cutout in the neck was a nice touch and I didn't feel a necklace was necessary. I added a dark lip color to add a pop of color and I was pleased with the total look. I don't know if I'd wear this for a black tie optional event again - I'd probably opt for a longer dress. This would be perfect for a winter wedding or holiday party. It's classy, flirty and cute.
Helen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Perfect for a cocktail event and fun to dance in.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Sorry, not the best picture. I normally wear a 6 but went a size down after reading the reviews - definitely glad I did. The fabric is stretchy but heavier so it's perfect for a winter event, fitted on the top but not restrictively tight, runs a little longer than shown on the model - I usually have the opposite issue. Easy to accessorize with, the keyhole at the top is fun, and the dress was overall very comfortable (think: yoga luxury yoga pants) and I wish I could buy it!
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

Comfy and classy!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Date
Rented this dress for my boyfriends birthday dinner. Both the size 2 and 4 fit, as the fabric is fairly stretchy but I ended up wearing the 4 because it was more comfortable in the arms. The cutout is more subtle in person. Overall great dress!
Nicole
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Great Party Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for New Years Eve in Las Vegas. It kept me warm outside and gave me the freedom to dance the night away. I wore the size 2 and it was true to size. The length was about halfway up my thigh and I'm 5'7. Definitely recommend this dress!
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Jan 31, 2015

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
Great LBD, love the 3/4 sleeves. The neckline is modest, but the cutout adds enough interest. Flashy earrings complete the look. The material is thicker, best for fall or winter. The dress is fitted through arms and bust, the skirts floats away after natural waistline, hiding my fuller tummy and accentuating the small upper waist. Loved this dress for my night out in Vegas!
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 4, 2015

Another home run for RTR!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Invited to a party last minute so needed something within 48 hours. Went with this one because of the reviews and because you can't go wrong with black. Loved everything about this dress. Nice thick fabric so was good for a January event that was partially outdoors. I want to buy it!
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

Beautiful and comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Wore to a concert in Vegas, it was perfect! Flattering and fun to dance in!
RTR Customer
Feb 22, 2015

Classy & comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Date
This dress fit PERFECTLY. I absolutely loved the cutout! Red lipstick & an updo made it look even more classy. I just wore a normal bra and spandex, I didn't need a slip because the dress is well lined, and the cutout does not reveal the bra at all, that was so so nice. I wore this for a school dance. Usually by the end of dances I am so ready to take my dress off and put on some sweats, but this dress was so comfortable! I was not dying to get out of it, surprisingly. The fabric is pretty thick which was really nice for a February outing, and it didn't fly up in the wind or anything. I was a little worried about the length, but I'm short so it was okay. A little shorter than I expected, but still only about 3 or 4 inches above my knees, so it worked out. :) I wish I owned this dress! I will DEFINITELY be renting from the runway again soon.
Shellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

This dress was made for dancing

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs large. I'm usually a 14 and I ordered a 14 and a 12. The 14 was like a different dress. The neckline cutout was very high and the waist didn't taper enough. So if you're looking to wow, size down. In the 12, the cutout was just in the right place and it the cut made me look tiny in the waist. It's easy to wear, and no shapewear was needed. It was comfortable for a 7 hr banquet. I will say that this dress is a little boring. I was hoping it would be shorter since you have full coverage in the arm and chest. It was knee length on me and I'm 5'6". The boring-ness could be cured by a little lower cutout for slight cleavage. However, when I got on the dance floor, this dress came alive. It swung just right and even in turns, it stayed down. This was a work party, so I was going for conservative and it was, I just felt like it was a little too boring.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Sexy little black dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for a romantic dinner date with my husband! The slit in the front was sexy, yet classy, and it was very form fitting. The dress was very comfortable and I liked the longer sleeves since it was so cold out! It was snug around the waist, but the overall fit (shoulders, hips, etc.), fit true to size! Great dress-- I really loved it!
Louie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

just helped me enjoy the evening feeling comfortable & thinking I looked good

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
thick material. perfect length. super flattering.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

I wore this to the ballet. The dress is very classy, and I received a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I'm 5'1 so the dress ran long on me, but I was anticipating that. The material is thick, which makes the dress lay heavy on your body, but ends up creating a flattering appearance/shape.
meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Constantly revived numerous complements through out the night!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The dress was larger than I expected I'm glad I got the 0 as my extra size rather than the 4. But with the tighter dress it fit perfectly around the bust and the waist. However the fabric was a lot thicker than expected. Other than that the length was great and I loved the quarter length sleeves. I would highly recommend this dress for a dressy/casual dinner.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Perfect for a Winter formal event!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a formal event held on Valentine's Day and it was perfect! The dress is made of heavy weight material, so it's perfect for the Winter time. The dress felt a little long on me, but I am 5'5". It might look a bit better on a taller person. Overall, a great black dress!
Sandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

So comfortable, so many compliments and just so fun to wear! I'd order it again.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'10 and the length was perfect. Very flattering.
Leigh-Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 29, 2015

Felt beautiful and comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have trouble finding dresses that cover enough, aren't too tight up top, but also look good. This dress was perfect! It fit well with plenty of room and also looked beautiful. Will rent again!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Apr 30, 2015

Great dress wore it to a Legal project domestic violence event ! tons of compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs true to size, its definitely for all body type. Fits big boobs really well
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×