Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Star of the Show Gown

$130 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Going with a black gown for that gala? If so, go with this trendy Halston Heritage halter gown. A flattering style that cant do you wrong. Go with accessories like the Dannijo's Vala Necklace and Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Belted waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

100 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 44
Large 48
Photos 55
Tiffany
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 23, 2012

The dresses featured on Rent The Runway are timeless. I have bookmarked Rent The Runway and will keep using it. It has become a favorite website.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, the dress was a great choice and I received so many compliments. However, the dress does run large. I am 37-32-43. The waist and hip area fit perfectly, but the top was large. I had to safety pin the halter top around my neck and I also had to use taupe tape to keep my breasts in. But like previously stated, the dress was a stunning choice, I loved it, and it was a great night.
miche
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

beautiful material, too open in the back for my liking

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress had a beautiful flowing skirt, however the top was just way too revealing for my liking. I have a normal length torso and the halter was too long, so had I worn the dress I would have likely been falling out with every move.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Perfect for a black tie wedding!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding, and I got a ton of compliments on it -- including from my husband, who generally only has two things to say about my clothes ("is that what you're wearing?" when he thinks I look terrible, and "it's okay" when he approves). I really liked the pleats and the way the dress flowed. And, while the fit of this dress was a little annoying, overall, I still liked it enough to consider buying it. I generally wear a 4, and the 4 fit me perfectly. However, I have a large rib cage and broad shoulders, so I can see how this dress would run large for people with a different build than mine. I didn't wear a bra. Even though I had no support, you couldn't tell I wasn't wearing one, so I just went with it. Like some other reviewers, I found the straps and the chest to be excessively large -- it almost felt like there was a bunch of extra material, but they weren't awkward. I also found that the belt was tight, but I still wore it.
Ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Dramatic and Comfortable

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 4R as well, and to be perfectly honest, they fit almost identically except in the bust. Incredibly comfortable (no spanx necessary)!! The back was dramatic yet covered enough to wear to a black tie, debutant presentation. Unless you wear those pasty petals, a bra is out of the question, so be ready to have a "free" night. As for shoes, I wore 3 1/2 or 4 inch heels so that it just swept the floor.
JJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 15, 2012

Beautiful and elegant dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I got this dress as my main dress but ended up wearing the backup instead. This is a beautiful dress and if I didn't have the backup, I could have worn this and felt good about it. But the material on the top is rather blousy (as other people mentioned). It's a very elegant dress though.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

So flattering! The cut was perfect and the back looked great.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs large. I am typically a 6 and the 4 fit well. I would recommend getting the long if you're wearing heels and over 5'8"
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 17, 2013

Beautiful dress - my favorite rental yet!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Use fashion tape if you are larger-chested due to the very open back!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Great dress, very flattering.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got this dress as a last minute order when I thought my original dress was stolen. Dress came without a belt which was a downer because it is so flowy it must have something at the waist. Overall, the dress was too long. I'm 5'5" and needed the R. I felt the dress ran a little on the big side. I'm normally a 4R but could easily have gone with a 2R on this one. Ended up returning it but would consider it for another less buttoned up event.
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Beautiful gown for the Mayor's Ball!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in 8L and 6L. I ended up wearing the 6L. I read the sizing description and being 5'6" I was right on the cusp of regular or long. I knew I would be wearing heels, so I went long. Well, the long is really long! I wore 2 1/2 heels and had to pick up my dress to even walk! The top is very loose also. I'm a 36B and needed to tape myself in. One wrong move and either side boob was visible or nipple LOL Minor set back really. That's what they make double sided tape for right?! It was super comfortable to wear, and like others have said, no spanx needed! I will certainly use RTR again!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Very pretty dress and super comfortable. Definetly makes a statement

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The only negattive I have about this dress is it seemed to come down very low on my back so you have to feel comfortable with showing your back off. I wore a shawl most of the night.
Marcie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 13, 2013

Bust area too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5"4, size 2 with a smaller chest (B cup). I loved this dress - it was beautiful. I was really disappointed when i tried it on that there was so much extra fabric in the chest that there was no way i could wear it. If you have a smaller chest, this is not the dress for you.
Katrina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Unfortunately I didn't wear this dress, but it is really glam

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as my back up dress for a black tie ball. I was hoping if the other dress didnt fit this would contain the girls . Unfortunately there is wayyyy too much fabric in t he chest area and even with the belt I couldn't make it look like there wasn't extra fabric at the top. May be great for someone with a smaller chest.
LeChele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

belt was missing to dress and the bust area ran really big

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
beautiful dress
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 7, 2013

Typical RTR perfection! They're always great!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was amazing! The belt adds the perfect cinch to the pleated halter. It was a little longer than I expected, at 5'1" a 4 inch heal wasn't high enough for it not to drag. I wore a 6 inch platform shoe and the the length was perfect.
Vivienne
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 11, 2013

Great dress. Very sexy!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress run big. I normally wear a 2. Simple and elegant!
Judith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 26, 2013

Flows well, comfortable

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Low front, low back..the sides under the arms, next to the outer breast area can balloon in an odd way
Mookie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 25, 2013

FIrst Choice, HUGE hit Grammy night!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a dress I picked (along with another) for the Grammys taping in LA and once again, RTR didn't disappoint. They delivered the dresses to my hotel on time and the fit was perfect! I have to take away 1 star since the belt wasn'[t included but, fortunately, I'd packed dressy belts and that problem was solved. The dress was the perfect floor-skimming length and I could dance all night comfortably! The next day, I popped both dresses in their return bag and left it at the front desk to mail. Modern Day Cinderella style! Thanks again, RTR!
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 25, 2013

Effortlessly sexy

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as a bridesmaid in a wedding. The way it flows on the body is incredibly comfortable: I was dancing and boogeying until the lights turned off! It is revealing and conservative at the same time. I got compliments all night. Can't say enough good things. Wish I had pictures!
Ctine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 11, 2013

Pretty Good

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Chest was a littl large but for the most part I was happy. Received many compliments.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 15, 2013

I didn't end up wearing this dress for one reason. THE BELT IS SO SMALL!!!!!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very pretty dress, I liked the way it fit, sexy open back, great flow. Was excited to finally have an option after trying two other RTR dresses, then I went to put on the belt and it was tiny! i was able to get it around and hook it together but it was so tight and it squeeze my back fat out of the open back, not attractive. I consider myself to have a narrower ribcage for my size so I was surprised that this belt did not fit. If I had the time I would have run out and bought another sequins belt or something to match, so if you want to rent this dress consider renting a belt too. Not for the small chested. Big busted women would fit this dress perfectly!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 23, 2013

Beautiful, but too long.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I originally ordered at 0R, but RTR called to let me know that the dress was too damaged for them to send. This was the only size available in this dress and it was too long for me. The dress was definately pretty and I would of definately worn if a few inches shorter. I choose to wear the same dress in the dark blue that was a 2R. It runs a little large in the top and would size down.
CK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200 lbs
Sep 24, 2013

I think I was just too tall for this one.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is stunning! However, for me it was too short between the shoulders and the waist and so the waistline was hitting mid-rib cage for me. I had to return it before the event.
Yvo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144 lbs
Sep 29, 2013

I received so many compliments! Gorgeous gown!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfection! It made me look thin and tall in photos. I did use double sided beauty tape in order to keep the low v neck collar in place. I do have a floral tattoo on my back and I was not sure how they would look in an open back dress at such a formal affair but it all came together beautifully and the low back actually covered up 1/2 of the tattoo. It was like a peek-a-boo affect of lilies bursting up. One caution for us short ladies, do not expect to wear really high heels with this dress! I had to run out and get 3 inch heels last minute because the dress in 4R is not as long as I expected (I'm 5'2 1/2)
Kristin
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Dress runs incredibly large, not worn.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was my backup dress, and good thing. This dress was HUGE on me, and incredibly too long. No way I would have been able to make it work.
annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

The service is always incredible!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'1 and pulled it off with 5 inch heels.
Cameron
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Jan 6, 2014

Great dress for a black tie event!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing the 4L, and I was happy I went with the long because I am about 5'7. The long dress was perfect with heels! The dress did not come with the belt that is pictured, but I paired it with a thin gold chain belt. All in all, this dress was very easy to wear. I have a small chest which made the deep V look elegant. Also, the back was very flattering! I would definitely rent again!
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 15, 2014

Received so many compliments and felt sexy!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely gorgeous and sexy! I normally do not wear a zero but because the dress runs large on the bust area I had to go a few sizes down. Overall it was great. RTR sent complimentary fashion tapes so those helped a lot. Very comfy and long. For my fellow Ds, you need some good lifts for this one! :-)
Ryan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Jun 2, 2014

Uber classy dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like other reviewers commented, the dress runs big. I am normally a 6/8 and wore the 4R. It was a smidgen tighter in the rib cage than I wanted but I have a big rib cage so I just dealt with it because the 6 was too big. Also, if you are tall or want to wear high heels get the long. I am 5'3", wore 2 inch heels, and the dress just touched the floor.
jude
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Perfect dress for the evening. Wore it to a charity black tie affair. Stunning

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am a true size 2, 5'10 and the dress fit nicely. Very comfortable
Breanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

Comfortable and Classic

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as an alternative back up dress for a formal event. Even though I decided to go with the other dress I ordered, I have nothing but great things to say about this dress. It is sexy yet classy, the perfect 'staple' black dress. I was sad that I didn't get the chance to wear it! I ordered a 2, but I would defiantly go with a 0 if I ordered again (which I hope I get the chance to do!!)
via18
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Beautiful and easy to wear.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and I am really pleased. Wore this dress to a wedding and received lots of compliments. Dress was exactly how I expected, and more. I was familiar with Halston Heritage and the fit, and the other reviews are true- this brand runs large. I ordered a 0R and it was perfect. I am a D cup and it was a little loose in the chest area, but I put some double sided tape down and went with it. This dress is totally "Old Hollywood Glam" and is exquisite on. The movement when you dance and walk is amazing!
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Dec 21, 2014

Loved this dress.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very elegant. You can wear it with reasonable heels as well (3 inch) and it isn't too long. You definitely need fashion tape, though! I'd rent this again.
Bri
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 15, 2015

NYE Wedding

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this in the 4R and 6R, and the 4 fit better. This dress runs true to size, but just wasn't flattering on me. They didn't come with the belts, but wasn't a huge deal since I had a black one already at home. I think this dress would be more flattering on a different body type. The length was good for my height (5'5) and the low back of the dress is really pretty. Great coverage for people with a larger chest.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

Very comfortable gown great for the occasion super classic!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This gown was just right for my tall frame and no adjustments had to be made. Just gorgeous!
Lori
Top Contributor
Age: 37
Feb 11, 2015

Terrible fit on top

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was terrible. I have 34ddd chest and it gaped horribly on the sides.
kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 12, 2015

I did not wear it, while I am "endowed" on top the halter portion was huge.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not wear it, while I am "endowed" on top the halter portion was huge
RTR Customer
Mar 20, 2015

Loved the back of dress

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Other
I knew it was low cut but I wish it would've stayed a little closer to my skin. But overall the dress was pretty and sexy. Just kinda hard to wear. Get some tape.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 21, 2015

Great customer service!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very large in the top, especially on the sides. Said it was coming with belt and it didn't. Because it was just not flattering in the top I chose not to wear it. The bottom and material was beautiful though.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

Made for someone with a longer torso.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This one is not for us shorter gals (I am 5'2"). The top was way too big in both the 0 and the 2. There was no way to easily shorten it without hurting the dress. Even with double-sided tape holding it to the chest area, there is just too much material. Also, the dress dragged the floor even with super high heels. It is a very pretty dress but would probably work better on a taller gal.
Misti
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

Nice dress for a charity event.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The neck was a little bit long and the belt was a little bit short. Otherwise, this dress was nice and easy for a charity event.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×