Star of the Show Gown

$130 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Going with a black gown for that gala? If so, go with this trendy Halston Heritage halter gown. A flattering style that cant do you wrong. Go with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Belted waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large51
True to Size48
Small2
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2014
Received so many compliments and felt sexy!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous and sexy! I normally do not wear a zero but because the dress runs large on the bust area I had to go a few sizes down. Overall it was great. RTR sent complimentary fashion tapes so those helped a lot. Very comfy and long. For my fellow Ds, you need some good lifts for this one! :-)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 15, 2014
Beautiful gown. I received many compliments!
The gown ran big around my bust (I'm a 34D) and was still too long, although I selected the R length.The dress flows beautifully. While the gown did not strike me as particularly fancy when compared to my friends' gowns, the general consensus was that it made me look elegant and had a classic, timeless vibe.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
Classic and Elegant
I absolutely loved this dress. I originally had ordered the 0L but it was damaged by the previous renter so i was only able to get the 2L. It was a little big that the bust but with the belt and a little fashion tape it worked fine. The dress is a beautiful material and it was fun and comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 27, 2014
This dress was so fun to wear and super comfy! Love the open back .
I ordered a size 4L and a 6L ... Thought it was odd that the 4L was actually bigger than the 6L. With that being said the 6L fit perfect. It's always hard to find dresses long enough for me in heels...This one was perfect! I wore 3" heels and the dress just kissed the floor.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 26, 2014
Amazing dress !!!
A wonderful, elegant dress! Very slimming ! Lots of body tape used on the front but after all of the body tape the dress was perfect!! CLASSY!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
January 6, 2014
Great dress for a black tie event!
I ended up wearing the 4L, and I was happy I went with the long because I am about 5'7. The long dress was perfect with heels! The dress did not come with the belt that is pictured, but I paired it with a thin gold chain belt. All in all, this dress was very easy to wear. I have a small chest which made the deep V look elegant. Also, the back was very flattering! I would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Fantastic, sexy & classic dress! Didn't want to take it off!
The dress definitely runs large so while I usually wear a 4, the 2 fit perfectly. The low back was exactly how I wanted it and the front definitely stayed in place (with a little garment tape to be more protected). I wore this for my company holiday party and I loved it and it was perfectly classic yet also fun and flirty with the open back. I didn't want to take it off. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2013
The service is always incredible!
I'm 5'1 and pulled it off with 5 inch heels.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 25, 2013
Dress runs incredibly large, not worn.
This was my backup dress, and good thing. This dress was HUGE on me, and incredibly too long. No way I would have been able to make it work.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
November 21, 2013
most talked about dress, i felt like a goddess in it!
fit like a glove
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering
The dress does run large. I usually wear a 2 but sized down after reading the reviews. My only complaint is that the size 0L was not very long. I am 5'7" and had wear less than a two inch heel in order for the dress to almost hit the floor. Other than that the fit was great. I did not find that the belt ran small, it has elastic in the back and it cinches in the waist without being uncomfortable. I ordered an adhesive bra from RTR as well that I was pleased to find also came with double sided tape. It help up great and I was confident enough to dance and move without feeling like I was going to fall out of the dress. Overall another great experience. I got a lot of compliments and the Emerald Dream Chaser earrings I wore added the perfect pop of color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
September 29, 2013
I received so many compliments! Gorgeous gown!
The fit was perfection! It made me look thin and tall in photos. I did use double sided beauty tape in order to keep the low v neck collar in place. I do have a floral tattoo on my back and I was not sure how they would look in an open back dress at such a formal affair but it all came together beautifully and the low back actually covered up 1/2 of the tattoo. It was like a peek-a-boo affect of lilies bursting up. One caution for us short ladies, do not expect to wear really high heels with this dress! I had to run out and get 3 inch heels last minute because the dress in 4R is not as long as I expected (I'm 5'2 1/2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
September 24, 2013
I think I was just too tall for this one.
This dress is stunning! However, for me it was too short between the shoulders and the waist and so the waistline was hitting mid-rib cage for me. I had to return it before the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2013
Beautiful, but too long.
I originally ordered at 0R, but RTR called to let me know that the dress was too damaged for them to send. This was the only size available in this dress and it was too long for me. The dress was definately pretty and I would of definately worn if a few inches shorter. I choose to wear the same dress in the dark blue that was a 2R. It runs a little large in the top and would size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
September 19, 2013
wore it to our annual charity gala literally the day of and if fit perfect! got tons of compliments!
I am only just shy of 5'2 and with about 4 1/2 in heels which is my normal heel height, the length was perfect! I couldnt believe it! It glided as I walked and I never had to pick the dress up. The top is definitely open and flowy so I had to double side tape it down the sides and along the chest line, so if your small chested make sure you know you will need tape! I usually wear a size 0 sometimes a 2 so I got both, but the 0 was without a doubt the winner. It is extremely comfortable and the backless makes is a little sexy! If you have a formal affair to go to this is an amazing goto gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress for one reason. THE BELT IS SO SMALL!!!!!
Very pretty dress, I liked the way it fit, sexy open back, great flow. Was excited to finally have an option after trying two other RTR dresses, then I went to put on the belt and it was tiny! i was able to get it around and hook it together but it was so tight and it squeeze my back fat out of the open back, not attractive. I consider myself to have a narrower ribcage for my size so I was surprised that this belt did not fit. If I had the time I would have run out and bought another sequins belt or something to match, so if you want to rent this dress consider renting a belt too. Not for the small chested. Big busted women would fit this dress perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2013
dress fit true to size
I wore this dress to a friends wedding last weekend. I received plenty of compliments. I ordered the dress in a size 2R and 4R and ended up wearing the 2R. The dress length was perfect with 4 inch heels. You can not wear a bra with this I recommend using the petal bras and double sided sticky tape, if you don't use the tape and you have a large bust don't plan on bending over as the front is cut pretty low. I would definitely recommend this dress to all my friends.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2013
Pretty Good
Chest was a littl large but for the most part I was happy. Received many compliments.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2013
Effortlessly sexy
I wore this as a bridesmaid in a wedding. The way it flows on the body is incredibly comfortable: I was dancing and boogeying until the lights turned off! It is revealing and conservative at the same time. I got compliments all night. Can't say enough good things. Wish I had pictures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
June 25, 2013
FIrst Choice, HUGE hit Grammy night!
This was a dress I picked (along with another) for the Grammys taping in LA and once again, RTR didn't disappoint. They delivered the dresses to my hotel on time and the fit was perfect! I have to take away 1 star since the belt wasn'[t included but, fortunately, I'd packed dressy belts and that problem was solved. The dress was the perfect floor-skimming length and I could dance all night comfortably! The next day, I popped both dresses in their return bag and left it at the front desk to mail. Modern Day Cinderella style! Thanks again, RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 26, 2013
Flows well, comfortable
Low front, low back..the sides under the arms, next to the outer breast area can balloon in an odd way
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2013
Great dress. Very sexy!
The dress run big. I normally wear a 2. Simple and elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 7, 2013
Typical RTR perfection! They're always great!
The dress was amazing! The belt adds the perfect cinch to the pleated halter. It was a little longer than I expected, at 5'1" a 4 inch heal wasn't high enough for it not to drag. I wore a 6 inch platform shoe and the the length was perfect.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 3, 2013
Elegant, flattering and SO comfortable
I got SO many compliments wearing this dress!! The plunging neckline was very sexy and elegant, along with the low back. The flowing long skirt made it very comfortable as well. I have a smaller waist and wider hips, and this looked fantastic on my body type! We also danced a lot this night, and this dress was 100% comfortable and conducive to cutting a rug. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
April 13, 2013
sexy & sophisticated
wore this to my sorority formal, got a lot of compliments. fit is true to size, i wore 4.5 inch heels and the length was perfect. dress was heavy enough that it didnt gap at the chest. i probably couldve benefitted from taping it, but i didnt have time. pros: very breathable moved well narrow cleavage & open back = right amount of sexy halter flattered shoulders cons belt was very worn and cheapened the look. ended up going without. hanger straps kept falling out of dress. can see in picture
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
April 3, 2013
belt was missing to dress and the bust area ran really big
beautiful dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2013
Unfortunately I didn't wear this dress, but it is really glam
I rented this as my back up dress for a black tie ball. I was hoping if the other dress didnt fit this would contain the girls . Unfortunately there is wayyyy too much fabric in t he chest area and even with the belt I couldn't make it look like there wasn't extra fabric at the top. May be great for someone with a smaller chest.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 13, 2013
Bust area too big
I am 5"4, size 2 with a smaller chest (B cup). I loved this dress - it was beautiful. I was really disappointed when i tried it on that there was so much extra fabric in the chest that there was no way i could wear it. If you have a smaller chest, this is not the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 13, 2013
Very pretty dress and super comfortable. Definetly makes a statement
The only negattive I have about this dress is it seemed to come down very low on my back so you have to feel comfortable with showing your back off. I wore a shawl most of the night.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 10, 2013
Beautiful gown for the Mayor's Ball!
I ordered this dress in 8L and 6L. I ended up wearing the 6L. I read the sizing description and being 5'6" I was right on the cusp of regular or long. I knew I would be wearing heels, so I went long. Well, the long is really long! I wore 2 1/2 heels and had to pick up my dress to even walk! The top is very loose also. I'm a 36B and needed to tape myself in. One wrong move and either side boob was visible or nipple LOL Minor set back really. That's what they make double sided tape for right?! It was super comfortable to wear, and like others have said, no spanx needed! I will certainly use RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2013
Great dress, very flattering.
Got this dress as a last minute order when I thought my original dress was stolen. Dress came without a belt which was a downer because it is so flowy it must have something at the waist. Overall, the dress was too long. I'm 5'5" and needed the R. I felt the dress ran a little on the big side. I'm normally a 4R but could easily have gone with a 2R on this one. Ended up returning it but would consider it for another less buttoned up event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 17, 2013
Beautiful dress - my favorite rental yet!
Use fashion tape if you are larger-chested due to the very open back!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 11, 2013
TIMELESS!
I looooved wearing this dress to my fancy New Year's Eve party! I paired it with a little sequined shrug, and heels, and I used my own belt instead of the one included, and was on my way! I definitely needed the included fashion tape- the top runs a little big and I'm small chested. But overall, I would love to wear this dress again! It was perfect -a little late 70's, but also perfectly modern. I got SO many compliments and danced the night away.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 9, 2013
Great dress. Super comfortable. Great fit!
Great fit. Fun and easy to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2013
Simply elegant, romantic and modern.
Even though "chiffon overlay"makes me think "classic" , the narrow pleats that run the length of the dress and the modern styled belt definitely update this gorgeous dress. I wore a stick-on bra but would argue that if your boobs are small (or extra perky) you could go without: the pleated halter with a double layer of fabric conceals a lot. I wore this at an event I helped coordinate so comfort was important and this fit the bill i.e. no spanx neccessary! One thing to note: I wore the 4 dress but the 6 belt, I felt like the 4 fit best but the belt was a teeny but snug. Pics are mostly candid and no
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
It was a gorgeous dress; I got many compliments! The rental & returns were super easy.
I got the 8R and the 6L. BOTH sizes fit, but the breast pieces were a little too large in the 8, so I wore the 6. They were the same around the waist, and about the same in the length. I got the "secret" stylist's surprise- pretty chandelier earrings that were a nice touch. Will definitely RTR again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 26, 2012
I had never been called stunning before I wore this dress to a gala!
The size 4 was a little tight in the waist, so the belt dug into my back. I opted for the 6, so it was more flowy and more full coverage. I wore 4" heels, and it still touched the ground, but that was okay. I especially liked that the shoulder and bust area was wide enough to cover the crease of my armpit area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 19, 2012
So flattering! The cut was perfect and the back looked great.
Definitely runs large. I am typically a 6 and the 4 fit well. I would recommend getting the long if you're wearing heels and over 5'8"
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
Beautiful and elegant dress
I got this dress as my main dress but ended up wearing the backup instead. This is a beautiful dress and if I didn't have the backup, I could have worn this and felt good about it. But the material on the top is rather blousy (as other people mentioned). It's a very elegant dress though.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 12, 2012
Dramatic and Comfortable
I ordered the 4R as well, and to be perfectly honest, they fit almost identically except in the bust. Incredibly comfortable (no spanx necessary)!! The back was dramatic yet covered enough to wear to a black tie, debutant presentation. Unless you wear those pasty petals, a bra is out of the question, so be ready to have a "free" night. As for shoes, I wore 3 1/2 or 4 inch heels so that it just swept the floor.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×