Halston Heritage

Star of the Show Gown

$269 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Going with a black gown for that gala? If so, go with this trendy Halston Heritage halter gown. A flattering style that cant do you wrong. Go with Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black pleated crepe(100% polyester). Halter neckline. Low back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Belt is not guaranteed.

Share
128 reviews
Fit
Large
(57)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2013
Great dress. Very sexy!
The dress run big. I normally wear a 2. Simple and elegant!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress for one reason. THE BELT IS SO SMALL!!!!!
Very pretty dress, I liked the way it fit, sexy open back, great flow. Was excited to finally have an option after trying two other RTR dresses, then I went to put on the belt and it was tiny! i was able to get it around and hook it together but it was so tight and it squeeze my back fat out of the open back, not attractive. I consider myself to have a narrower ribcage for my size so I was surprised that this belt did not fit. If I had the time I would have run out and bought another sequins belt or something to match, so if you want to rent this dress consider renting a belt too. Not for the small chested. Big busted women would fit this dress perfectly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2013
wore it to our annual charity gala literally the day of and if fit perfect! got tons of compliments!
I am only just shy of 5'2 and with about 4 1/2 in heels which is my normal heel height, the length was perfect! I couldnt believe it! It glided as I walked and I never had to pick the dress up. The top is definitely open and flowy so I had to double side tape it down the sides and along the chest line, so if your small chested make sure you know you will need tape! I usually wear a size 0 sometimes a 2 so I got both, but the 0 was without a doubt the winner. It is extremely comfortable and the backless makes is a little sexy! If you have a formal affair to go to this is an amazing goto gown!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2013
Beautiful, but too long.
I originally ordered at 0R, but RTR called to let me know that the dress was too damaged for them to send. This was the only size available in this dress and it was too long for me. The dress was definately pretty and I would of definately worn if a few inches shorter. I choose to wear the same dress in the dark blue that was a 2R. It runs a little large in the top and would size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Very comfortable and flattering
The dress does run large. I usually wear a 2 but sized down after reading the reviews. My only complaint is that the size 0L was not very long. I am 5'7" and had wear less than a two inch heel in order for the dress to almost hit the floor. Other than that the fit was great. I did not find that the belt ran small, it has elastic in the back and it cinches in the waist without being uncomfortable. I ordered an adhesive bra from RTR as well that I was pleased to find also came with double sided tape. It help up great and I was confident enough to dance and move without feeling like I was going to fall out of the dress. Overall another great experience. I got a lot of compliments and the Emerald Dream Chaser earrings I wore added the perfect pop of color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 25, 2013
Dress runs incredibly large, not worn.
This was my backup dress, and good thing. This dress was HUGE on me, and incredibly too long. No way I would have been able to make it work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Fantastic, sexy & classic dress! Didn't want to take it off!
The dress definitely runs large so while I usually wear a 4, the 2 fit perfectly. The low back was exactly how I wanted it and the front definitely stayed in place (with a little garment tape to be more protected). I wore this for my company holiday party and I loved it and it was perfectly classic yet also fun and flirty with the open back. I didn't want to take it off. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2013
Pretty Good
Chest was a littl large but for the most part I was happy. Received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
January 6, 2014
Great dress for a black tie event!
I ended up wearing the 4L, and I was happy I went with the long because I am about 5'7. The long dress was perfect with heels! The dress did not come with the belt that is pictured, but I paired it with a thin gold chain belt. All in all, this dress was very easy to wear. I have a small chest which made the deep V look elegant. Also, the back was very flattering! I would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 15, 2014
Beautiful gown. I received many compliments!
The gown ran big around my bust (I'm a 34D) and was still too long, although I selected the R length.The dress flows beautifully. While the gown did not strike me as particularly fancy when compared to my friends' gowns, the general consensus was that it made me look elegant and had a classic, timeless vibe.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 15, 2014
Received so many compliments and felt sexy!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous and sexy! I normally do not wear a zero but because the dress runs large on the bust area I had to go a few sizes down. Overall it was great. RTR sent complimentary fashion tapes so those helped a lot. Very comfy and long. For my fellow Ds, you need some good lifts for this one! :-)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
September 22, 2014
Love everything about this dress, the fit is flattering and many compliments
Beautiful in every aspect
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 11, 2014
Comfortable and Classic
I rented this as an alternative back up dress for a formal event. Even though I decided to go with the other dress I ordered, I have nothing but great things to say about this dress. It is sexy yet classy, the perfect 'staple' black dress. I was sad that I didn't get the chance to wear it! I ordered a 2, but I would defiantly go with a 0 if I ordered again (which I hope I get the chance to do!!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 12, 2014
Beautiful and easy to wear.
This was my first RTR experience and I am really pleased. Wore this dress to a wedding and received lots of compliments. Dress was exactly how I expected, and more. I was familiar with Halston Heritage and the fit, and the other reviews are true- this brand runs large. I ordered a 0R and it was perfect. I am a D cup and it was a little loose in the chest area, but I put some double sided tape down and went with it. This dress is totally "Old Hollywood Glam" and is exquisite on. The movement when you dance and walk is amazing!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
December 21, 2014
Loved this dress.
This dress was very elegant. You can wear it with reasonable heels as well (3 inch) and it isn't too long. You definitely need fashion tape, though! I'd rent this again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2015
I did not wear it, while I am "endowed" on top the halter portion was huge.
I did not wear it, while I am "endowed" on top the halter portion was huge
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 5, 2015
Made for someone with a longer torso.
This one is not for us shorter gals (I am 5'2"). The top was way too big in both the 0 and the 2. There was no way to easily shorten it without hurting the dress. Even with double-sided tape holding it to the chest area, there is just too much material. Also, the dress dragged the floor even with super high heels. It is a very pretty dress but would probably work better on a taller gal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 15, 2015
Perfect Black-Tie event dress!
Length was great for me. Heels brought the hemline off the ground so I didn't have to worry about tripping. Dress was very comfortable and easy to wear. Went with nipple covers instead of a stick-on bra and with the pleating, coverage was not an issue. Due to the low back, I would say it runs large because it can fit a wide range of sizes. I normally choose a 6 because of the bust area to ensure enough room but did not have to worry about that with this dress. Only negative thing is that it did not come with a belt as pictured so I wore a belt of my own. Great dress, easy to dress up for a black tie event.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
July 23, 2015
Very pretty and classic dress with a touch of sass.
The fit was very comfortable. I am usually a 4-6R, so I went with the 4R since many people said it ran large. It worked out really well. The dress is classic and sexy, but can pass as conservative if you use fashion tape and the proper shape wear. The open back and the neckline are pretty without being scandalous, and you can definitely wear it around parents, relatives, and the buttoned up folks in your life. One thing to note is that the top is very voluminous, so it can make you look like you have HUGE saggy boobs. I taped the top, so that it was a little more pinned down. It definitely helped. I needed a slightly conservative, yet somewhat sexy, dress for a formal event at a country club. This dress did the trick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 3, 2016
LOVE
About me: I am Kate's friend, Katherine. She kindly let me rent a dress from her account Ht: 5'11''; Body type: hourglass; bust size: 34 C Beautiful dress. I typically wear a 10, but was able to size down to an 8. The deep V neckline and backless features of the dress require a sticky bra... I just left mine unfastened. Dress tape would also probably be useful. I forgot to purchase some so I was a little focused on staying covered. I am pretty tall, so I ordered the long. The dress still brushed the floor while wearing 3 inch heels. I felt beautiful and really enjoyed wearing the dress to my event. Definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2012
It was a gorgeous dress; I got many compliments! The rental & returns were super easy.
I got the 8R and the 6L. BOTH sizes fit, but the breast pieces were a little too large in the 8, so I wore the 6. They were the same around the waist, and about the same in the length. I got the "secret" stylist's surprise- pretty chandelier earrings that were a nice touch. Will definitely RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 23, 2014
Classic and Elegant
I absolutely loved this dress. I originally had ordered the 0L but it was damaged by the previous renter so i was only able to get the 2L. It was a little big that the bust but with the belt and a little fashion tape it worked fine. The dress is a beautiful material and it was fun and comfortable to wear.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 24, 2014
Truly felt like the star of the show. This dress is a show stopper!
I wore a size smaller than my normal dress size and the fit was perfect. The only issue I had was that the halter was a little big since my chest is on the smaller side. I had to use fashion tape. Also the hanger straps kept falling out (one can be seen in my picture). Overall I loved the dress and I got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
June 2, 2014
Uber classy dress
Like other reviewers commented, the dress runs big. I am normally a 6/8 and wore the 4R. It was a smidgen tighter in the rib cage than I wanted but I have a big rib cage so I just dealt with it because the 6 was too big. Also, if you are tall or want to wear high heels get the long. I am 5'3", wore 2 inch heels, and the dress just touched the floor.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2012
Pleased
I was very pleased with this dress. This was the first time using RTR and will be a returning customer.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 30, 2012
Lovely experience!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding in NYC. The dress came in great condition and was exactly the material I had hoped for. Because of the many comments about this dress running large, I ordered the 4 and 6. I generally wear a 6/8, but I am way smaller on top than bottom, and I knew this dress would be kind to my bottom half. The 4 fit perfectly in terms of zipping up, but the top was huge!! I had to get creative on how to pin the top so that I didn't let the girls hang out all night. Not a big deal, but something to think about- I'm not sure what type of bust fits in that thing. That being said, who can argue with a dress that does not require a bra, bonus, big time. I was super comfortable! The only other comment about the dress is that I wish I had ordered the taller version. I am 5'7'' but I like really high heels, so I end up at 6 feet usually. This dress was a little short, so if you are my height and wear heels, I would recommend ordering the tall version. All in all, I am pleased with my experience- I looked lovely and I was comfortable. I look forward to using RTR in the future!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 29, 2012
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!
I want to own this dress!!! I read a lot of reviews before I got on this dress and the blue one (same dress but diff color) and was kind of worried. I am kind of in between a 4 and a 6, and everyone said it ran large, so went with the 4. They did not have a 2 or a 6 for a back up size in case, so I was really risking it. The length was absolutely perfect for me (I am 5'8" with small chest) in the 4L. It fit perfect in the 4, although bc I have a lot of muscle, the belt was a little tighter than I would have liked. I would suggest ordering your normal size and a size down, you will end up wearing size down, but the belt on the next size up will probably be better. Although everyone is different, thats just how it would have been for me. A lot of reviews said they needed tape and that the side boob was an issue. I did not find this to be the case AT ALL. I definitely didnt need any tape, and was perfectly comfortable and not worried about flashing anyone all night. It might be different for girls with bigger boobs to hold in, which is my only guess as to why other people wrote that. This was sexy but I also definitely felt beautiful and thought it was tasteful enough for a formal wedding. You will not regret renting this one!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
Beautiful and elegant dress
I got this dress as my main dress but ended up wearing the backup instead. This is a beautiful dress and if I didn't have the backup, I could have worn this and felt good about it. But the material on the top is rather blousy (as other people mentioned). It's a very elegant dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Weight: 136lbs
June 19, 2016
Great simple, but chic black dress. Chic and comfy!!! NOTE: mine did not ship with a belt.
Chic and comfy!!! NOTE: mine did not ship with a belt. It NEEDS a belt. So either mine was shipped without a belt in error or you need to pair it with a belt you have or rent a belt. But this is a lightweight, comfy, chic, simple dress. Great for formal, event, gala, etc. Multi-use, for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2016
Stunning Gown!
I got this dress as a replacement when the original dress I wanted wasn't fit to be sent. RTR was AMAZING. They reached out, asked me to send some favorite styles and that they would work to accommodate and respond to me ASAP. The initial email I got was at 9am on Tuesday (Thursday rental), by 12pm on Tuesday I knew I had 2 new dresses coming that I was just as excited about. While it wasn't ideal that my original dress wasn't available, I appreciate that RTR checks the clothing and wouldn't send me something in disrepair. Their service was impeccable and I can't wait to rent another dress! I wore this for a city wedding in Chicago. The dress was amazing. The 8R was the perfect length to wear flat sandals for me (5'9). I didn't have to wear a bra with the dress (36D), just some tape on the sides. I received the 8 and the 10. The 8 had the belt (it's sewn on, so you can't transfer it to the other dress) and the 10 did not. The 10 also seemed like some of the material around the chest (toward the armpits) had un-bunched (I don't know how else to explain it). It felt far more voluminous and not in a good way. The material on the 8 was secured and looked great. The dress was extremely comfortable and does run a bit big, size down if you're between sizes!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 19, 2016
Beautiful and Flowy!
I loved the look of this dress for my friends wedding. I was a bridesmaid and we were able to choose our own gown. With my heals it was the perfect length. The only issue I had was that the area for the bust was way too big, and I wore the smaller of the sizes that I received. There was a lot of tape involved to hold me in. Otherwise it was extremely comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 6, 2017
Loved this dress online.
This dress runs big especially in the bust area. If you do not have a chest to fill it out I would move on to another dress. Would have loved it but was just too big in the top even if I used double sided tape. So bummed, but Rent The Runway hooked me up with another dress so everything worked out great.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 46
April 20, 2017
At least one size too big
The material is very billowy so can create a bulky look
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 13, 2017
Comfortable, elegant, and classy! I got many compliments and felt so comfortable dancing in it!
If you have a small waist, I do recommend ordering down a size. I ordered and 8 and it was comfortable and didn't look large, but I definitely could have handled a 6. The fabric was light and I did not feel hot at the wedding (which was 85 degrees!) or dance floor all night. You will definitely need fashion tape for this-- i used a few pieces on each side--but then I felt great and didnt worry about revealing anything all night; nothing budged. I'm 5'8" and wore 2.5 inches and the regular length was perfect. I felt like a movie star-- go for it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2012
Compliments Galore!
I got so many compliments in this dress! I usually wear a 6 and I am small on top with a small waist. This dress was perfect for my body type because it belted at smallest part of my body. The best part - I didn't have to wear a bra and the back is very sexy.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 5, 2012
Amazing!!!!
This dress was fantastic! Stunning on, comfortable and beautiful when you walk! Has a graceful flow and elegance to it!!! I ordered the 2L and 4R...the 2L was perfect....with a little tap to hold the top in pace! Tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 12, 2012
I felt so gorgeous in this dress!
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and absolutely loved it! It is very flattering and would work well on any body type. The only suggestion I have is to make sure you have a bra that works with the dress, it is very low cut it the front and the back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 163lbs
July 19, 2012
You know you have a winner when people take the time to come up to you and say, "I just wanted you to know that you look absolutely stunning!"
Perfect fit! I loved the gown. I'm tall and wanted the gown to hit the floor so I opted for a small heel, opposed to a high stiletto.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 23, 2012
I want to buy it
I loved this dress. It is very classic.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Love!
LOVED this dress. I wore it to a black tie charity event and it was perfect. I am a definite pear shape and loved how the dress accented a smaller waist while hiding full thighs. Ran true to size and was the perfect length on my 5'5" frame for a pair of 3 inch heels.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×