Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Noir Singapore Sensation Gown

$80 rental
$895 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You'll look smashing when you wear this gorgeous Halston Heritage black chiffon gown to the gala. The flow and elegance it has will have all eyes on you. Try accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops and AV Max's Glitzy Glamour Cuff.

Also available in emerald.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor Length - Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor Length - Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleated A-line skirt. Front thigh split. Fluted hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

374 reviews

Fit
Small 75
True to Size 266
Large 11
Photos 242
Eileen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

I loved the elegance of this dress a lot more than I thought I would

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was pretty long, so I had to wear really high shoes to compensate.
B
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 4, 2014

Looking stunning in this gown!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
As others have said it runs long. I'm 5'8 and I wore heels and it was still dragging on the floor. Other than that, it was a beautiful gown and I received tons of compliments.
RTR Customer
Jul 7, 2014

Being able to add a second option was nice.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The split wasn't as high as some reviews. Dress swayed very rich and full while dancing. All eyes on me!
Kelly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 11, 2014

Lovely!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect for a black tie event. Love the flowing skirt. Got lots of compliments.
Pam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 20, 2014

Pretty, simple, black gown.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal event over Thanksgiving. The top was very tight fitting, I did not have to wear a bra and this typically cannot occur. It was pretty long, so heels are a must. It was classic, elegant, suited the event.
Ally
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 22, 2014

Great dress for a formal affair!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so fun to wear for a black tie wedding. I felt very chic and glamorous. The top was a little snug, but not too bad. I just needed some help zipping up. The slit shows just the right amount of skin and actually made it easier to walk in this long dress. I wore 4in heels and the dress was still a little long on me. I had to be very careful on stairs, but was ok walking around and dancing. I would rent this dress again for another formal affair.
Aimee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2014

First black-tie optional wedding!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't wear it; I fell more in love with the other dress I rented for the black-tie optional wedding I attended. This absolutely would've been just as good of a pick if it weren't for the fact that there's a thigh-high slit in the front of the dress and the fact that the ceremony was held at a conservative Catholic church. Otherwise, I felt absolutely gorgeous in in when I tried it on! It does run a little small, so I'd go up a size than what you'd normally wear.
Lesia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Very pretty dress

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unable to zip dress up on side. This dress is better suited for someone that is not full busted. Also I found this dress to be very long in length.
Savanah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Fabulous Gown!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This gown fit perfectly up top. I am a 34c and I wore a strapless bra with this dress. I'm 5'4" and the regular was a bit long with 3" heels. I had to pick it up when I walked. This is a very flattering dress.
JoJo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 152 lbs
Aug 24, 2014

This dress was perfect and made me the belle of the ball.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The bodice was fitted. I normally wear a 2-4 so for a formal gown I usually go a size up. The dress was extremely long. I'm 5'11" and my legs are long so it felt like this dress was made for me.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 27, 2014

Very long but loved the top!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I really really liked this dress - the top was awesome and fit just a bit too snug when it came to trying to zip it up. I overall liked the dress... but there was a LOT of material to it and it was really really long. I didn't have the shoes to support the length therefore I went with another option. Fits a bit tight in the top.
Lacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 2, 2014

It was a very pretty dress and I received a ton of compliments.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I think I ordered a bit late so I ended up getting a Long instead of a Regular because it's what was left. It fit perfectly everywhere, but it was a little too long, so I did trip on it a time or two and people stepped on it a bit. The only other thing is I received a ton of compliments, but some were that it looked sort of like a prom dress. So not really sure if at 31 I want that kind of compliment....I really did like it though!
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

The slit made this classy dress have a touch of party

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm 5'8" and typically wear a size 4 or 6 in dresses. The 4L fit in both the waist and length, but I found the 6L to hang better. I wore 4 inch heels with the 6L and the dress still skimmed the floor. It's a beautiful dress and flows nicely when walking. It's also a great dress to accessorize!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Sep 26, 2014

Glamorous

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for the ballet and felt a bit overdressed but the event was a surprise and my husband told me to dress formally. That aside, this dress was so much fun to wear. The extra length skimmed the floor even when I was wearing heels (which is a feat). However the midsection of the dress was slightly tight around my ribs and I had some difficulty getting the zipper up. Once zipped though, it did not feel overly snug. The hidden leg slit was my favorite part and definitely added some spunk to a black gown. Would love to rent in other colors for a different event!
jm
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

wedding was amazing

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
dress was way too long. I'm 5'4 and I guess I would need a petite in this dress. I never wear Petites but this dress dragged on the floor all night. would not recommend it.
Carie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

flowy and elegant

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a bridesmaid's dress for a wedding. The fabric is very soft and feels very expensive, and the skirt is flowy and moves well. It flairs out a little when you do spins on the dance floor (which I loved). I am 5'5" and 3/4inches and wore 4.5" heels with a 0.5" platform and the dress was about 1 inch too long. I felt like I might trip on it and also had problems with people stepping on the back. Fit - I am between sizes and thought an 8 might even be a tad small, but it fit perfectly, even with a padded strapless bra. The rouching around the middle hides any belly issues. My only complaint is that it looks like there are pockets on this dress in the way the model is standing, but I didn't have any on mine, which is something I thought it did have when I ordered the dress.
Anne
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Amazing museum gala and the dress was a good choice

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pretty and versatile dress. I agree with the other reviews that said you need a smaller bust to make this one work - but that worked for me! Like many Halston Heritage dresses it has a sticky zipper, though.
Ginger
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Would be beautiful in the right size.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous and very flattering. It would have been perfect if not for my large rib cage and broad back. I couldn't zip it up past the waist. I'm 5'8" and normally wear an 8. I ordered the 8L. I think a 10 would have been perfect.
Julia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Nov 4, 2014

great fit, comfortable

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
a little long for my height but overall great
Karel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Bust too tight.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, I couldn't wear this dress because of the tight bust. I thought if I sized up, I could pull it off, but no luck. Also, the "long" was really, really long! I'm 5'7" and tried it on with 4.5" heels and the hem still puddled on the floor! It was a beautiful dress though. Sad I couldn't make it work.
Josie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Tall girls problem solved!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My husband and I are the same height so I always wear long dresses so you can't tell if I am wearing heels or not. But it is so hard to find long enough dresses. This was perfect the way it swept the ground. Love this dress!!
Jeanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Another woman said to me "I noticed the dress before I noticed who was wearing it"

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is gorgeous!! Very fitted on top but flows beautifully on the bottom. It's a dream! The only con for me is that it was quite long. I had 4 inch heels on and it was still a bit too long. Fine because the event didn't involve dancing or moving around too much! I felt beautiful and received many compliments! Great experience, can't wait to rent again!
Natalia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 179 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Classy Elegant Gown!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Soooo! I had a bit of a catastrophe w/RTW this time around and ive rented with them now this will be my 3rd time. Anyhoo this dress is really great. Very classy LOOOOONNGGGGGGG GOWN! All the reviews are correct. if you dont have high high heels you will be dragging, I had about 4 1/2" heels and im 5'8" and it was still literally on the ground dragging. I ordered the 10L and the 12L but the 10L NEVER CAME! they sent me an entirely different WRONG dress. Problem was fixed and they sent me a new dress to wear bc the 12L was a bit too big for me in the waiste **so go down in size if i were you**. But i ended up wearing the 12L enayways bc it was just too pretty and the new dress they send me also ran too big. So Its kinda big in the breast area i def was adjusting all night, but All in all tho a really lovely gown the slit in front adds the PERFECT POP POW BANG that the dress needs and the length makes it very classy and graceful when u walk. SO make sure when you walk to stand TALL and STRUT! Lovely gown but go down in one size if you can. I cant really say to wear the regular length because i liked how long it was, BUT i did have to pick it up while heading up the stairs escalator etc. But got TONS of compliments and i would even rent it again, but in a smaller size.
Jodi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

What an amazing dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My overall experience was a delight! I couldn't have been happier w/ everything from the ordering to wearing a beautiful gown. I would rent this dress again.
Dani
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

This is an elegant and breathtaking dress

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is BEAUTIFUL and fits perfectly. I have a large bust and my only suggestion is to consider a size larger if you have a large bust (my bra size is 32 DDD). I wore the 8 and it fit like a glove, a little snug around the chest area. it is gorgeous and definitely get higher heels.
Tracie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 14, 2015

Very comfortable and fit was perfect.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very nice I did need a 4" heel to be able to walk with ease and dance.
Breanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Wish it would have worked

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very elegant! I wish I could have worn it! The top is extremely tight, I need two more sizes from my normal size in order to zip up the top! Does not have pockets. Very long.
Em
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

It was so comfortable!!!!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is awesome! No need to wear a bra because the corset like top! It was extremely comfortable and easy to move in, the slit up the side made walking and dancing a breeze. I have a larger chest and rib cage, so I had to order up a size in order to fit. I ordered a 4L and 6L and ended up using the 6L in order to fit my chest. Other than that, it was an amazing dress!!!
ashley
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Beautiful, elegant, flattering dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit me perfectly and was very comfortable.
Felicia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

This dress was amazing. I loved it!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was gorgeous! The hidden split was a nice touch. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress still touched the floor. I was highly impressed and will be ordering again. I should have went up a size since my bust is large, but the 8 was not available. The top was a little hard to zip but other than that I loved it.
Whitney
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Styled my hair and makeup to be like Bridget Bardot. Perfect combo of sexy and princess like!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was so flattering and comfortable. Elegance at it's best. When you want to be a bit more sexy, the slit really can be unnoticed OR you can really show of those strong legs. Its a winner every time!
Christa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Feb 23, 2015

Beautiful!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a great dress for a ball I attended. I usually wear a size 4, but the 0L worked fine. The length was perfect (I'm 5'8") and I wore 3 inch heals.
haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

very nice dress

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
size 8 fit better its very small on the bust. however the dress is very nice for a formal occasion.
Greta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Mar 23, 2015

Classy and comfortable all the way

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Would have been a five-star dress but the zipper is tricky. The top is very fitted even for someone who does not have a large chest and I had to have my husband help get the zipper up. Once it was up, it didn't feel too tight, which was surprising. In fact, I actually appreciated how fitted the top was because I didn't spend the night adjusting or fussing. The dress flowed beautifully and I had fun dancing in it. I'd rent it again.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 25, 2015

A beautiful classic dress. Felt like a star. Great for looking amazing in an understated sort of way

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fir like a glove.. Little tight on top but I have wide shoulder and chest area.
Patricia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 31, 2015

So classic.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The zipper of the 4 got stuck, so I had to wear the 2L. It was too long but it was the only back-up size available when I rented.
nina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 7, 2015

LOVED this dress. Very comfortable and beautiful on!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fits very comfortably
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

Military formal affair

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress. I wish I could have kept it. Definitely runs a bit small. I normally wear a size 0 in practically everything but I couldn't even get the 0R zippered because it was so narrow in the chest. The 2R fit almost perfectly and, as a result, I felt so comfortable the entire evening. The length was perfect with 2 1/2 inch heels. This dress has a bit of weight to it so it was great for a cool weather affair.
SB
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Beautiful and comfortable!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress flows really well. I sized up one size because it zipped better. I have a full bust and large rib cage, but the larger size was almost no different on the bottom half. The bottom half is great because it hides any tummy fullness after eating! The dress is long and even with 4" heels it was occasionally stepped on. Overall it was perfect for a black tie event and I received many compliments on the dress that night. My experience with Rent the Runway was amazing and I have suggested it to many friends since the event!
Leta
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

See description of sizing below.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is beautiful! I'm glad I got the back-up size (that was one is up). If you have a medium-large rib cage and/or a medium to large bust (I wear a 34 B, so not large!), then size one size up for sure. The bodice of the dress runs a bit small to size. Otherwise, a really gorgeous, well-made dress. One other tip - make sure you have at least 3" heels on as the dress is a bit long on someone who is 5'4'' or shorter.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×