Halston Heritage

Noir Singapore Sensation Gown

$80 – $95 rental
$895 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll look smashing when you wear this gorgeous Halston Heritage black chiffon gown to the gala. The flow and elegance it has will have all eyes on you. Try accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane's Ruby Red Drops and AV Max's Glitzy Glamour Cuff.

Also available in emerald.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- very tight in chest so fuller buster women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout bodice so women with a larger rib cage should size up
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor Length - Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Black crepe. One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleated A-line skirt. Front thigh split. Fluted hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
465 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(311)
Small
(87)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 19, 2013
Runs VERY small - couldn't even zip it up.

I could not even zip this dress up. I am a 10/12 regularly and I ordered a 10R. There was easily 4 inches at my bust between the sides of the zipper. I'm not sure if all Halston dresses are this way, but I was sorely disappointed. The dress itself was beautiful and I wish I'd been able to wear it. Sadly, only one size was available, so I didn't even have the chance to try on a 12.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2013
Very pretty, but I messed up sizing wise

The dress was gorgeous! The slit was tasteful and I felt like a princess. I loved the jewelry that I rented as well. However, I ordered a long because I'm tall, but it was too long and I ended up tripping over myself. But I thought it was a very pretty dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 7, 2013
Gorgeous, yet incredibly comfortable and easy to wear..

I love this dress! It is so light and flowing, yet looks crisp and elegant. As others have shared, the top runs very small. I am a 34A and could not zip the size 2. I suggest going up one size if small busted and two sizes if curvaceous. The skirt is lovely and has a slit to mid-thigh. With the billowing material, the slit is more subtle that it sounds. I regret not being able to wear it to my event, but RTR's customer service was outstanding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 4, 2013
Didn't wear ! My first choice fit well.

This was tight in the bust and shoulders. I am a D cup and small- waisted and would need to size up. Very "Charlotte- Sex In the City", if that's what you are going for....nice fabric, and beautiful workmanship.

Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 8, 2013
This was my first experience with RTR, and it don't think it will be the last! Great site!

The dress was truly beautiful on, but it does run small on top. I am a true 8, with a 36B chest and the 8 was snug. I ended up wearing the second size, 10P, which was more comfortable up top, but ended up being too long wearing 3 1/2 inch heels.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 14, 2013
Very pretty

I rented the 6R and 8R for a wedding this past weekend, unfortunately neither of the sizes fit me. The 8R would not zip over my bust 34D. I had looked at other reviews and spoken to a stylist, everyone saying the dress ran big and to get a smaller size, this did not work in my case.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 15, 2013
Really pretty

Loved the look and the fabric, sadly it was too small, the bust is tight, the rest fit fine, I probably would need it go up two sizes to get the top to be comfortable, I rented size 6, bust is 34dd.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 169lbs
November 17, 2013
Perfect gown for a perfect night!

The gown did, as stated in reviews, fit very snug in the chest. I ordered a 10 but also ordered a 12 as a backup size and it fit perfectly! I am 5'8" and the 12R was the perfect length with 4 inch heels.. I felt elegant and very approporiate for the Marine Birthday Ball. The entire experience with RTR was amazing! thank you!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 24, 2013
Elegant and Unforgettable evening!

Gorgeous Dress! You can't see the slit until you walk. I am a 34DD and had to wear a size bigger. Overall great fit and very elegant.

mikkiNovember 24, 2013
Hi - I am a 34DD and would love if you would share more info regarding the bust fit, I am also very petite and only 5.1 weight 120lbs
AmandaNovember 24, 2013
Mikki, the bust is tight with no stretch, so I would suggest going up a size. The long was extremely long even with 5 inch heels. Hope this helps.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 24, 2013
Absolutely stunning!

Rented this to wear to a ball. This dress is gorgeous and well made. Ordered a 6R and 8R. I usually wear either size depending on how a garment is cut. I didn't try them on until the day of our event and was so disappointed that even the 8 was too small for me! I had no choice but to wear a dress I already owned. I would love to have worn this dress! Word to the wise....do not wait until the day of to try your dress on. Lesson learned.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
December 30, 2013
Beautiful on paper, but not on me. Runs small.

I didn't wear this dress, as it was my backup. I loved the look of it in the picture on RTR's site, but the dress fit me tightly, and my top/bust is relatively small. I didn't feel the dress was flattering on my hips/thigh area. I think this dress would be beautiful for someone who is really tall/slim.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2014
A perfect dress for a deb ball!

Ran slightly small in the bust, but otherwise perfect. I took a size regular and had to wear 4" heels so it definitely runs long. I accessorized with long earrings and no necklace is needed. Another great rent from RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 177lbs
February 3, 2014
Too small in the bust...

This was my backup dress and I really loved it, it was simple and could have worked perfect for my awards gala at work. BUT the dress fit everywhere but the bust! So if you have a larger chest I would order up a size to accommodate it.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2014
Extremely elegant & Flowed beautifully!

The dress was stunning! I truly felt like a princess! I have a large bust, so I'm thankful a ordered a size larger, just in case. I'm typically a size 4, and the waist fit perfectly on the 4. However, there was absolutely no way the 4 could have zipped over my bust. The dress has a side sipper and hides very well, but be careful if you're big busted like myself and go a size up. The waist line wasn't as flattering, but I used that as an excuse to eat more at dinner! :) A belt would've done the trick if I'd have had one elegant enough to go with the dress. However, I got numerous compliments on the dress all night. I also spotted at least 3 other Rent the Runway dresses at my event and spoke with all the girls wearing a dress from here at some point in the night. Each person raved about the website. This was my first rent, and I'll definitely be back! Thanks again for making me feel beautiful!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
March 17, 2014
Amazing experience!! The ordering process was quick and simple.

Great fit! A bit tight on the top but overall great!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 134lbs
April 11, 2014
I didn't wear it

its a beautiful dress.... the bust though- holy cow its small. go up a size or 2!!!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2014
Even though everybody in attendance had to wear black, this dress definitely made me stand out!

The dress definitely ran slightly small in the bust area. I generally wear a 34C/32D, and this fit me decently well, although I couldn't wear a bra with it. A sorority sister of mine also wore in and had the same problem. Overall though, the dress ran true to size if it wasn't for the top. The 6 that I had just seemed too big in the top to make it worth switching- so I was there was more of a middle ground with the two sizes but that wasn't too big of an issue. Through the waist the gown fit beautifully and the fabric and general cut of the body was extremely flattering. The slit isn't as "showy" as you may or may not think that it is. For pictures it was actually somewhat awkward to get the slit to show, so other than it being there to help the dress move when dancing and walking around- I wouldn't say it's something that anyone would notice. I still loved this dress and am dreading having to send it back! I got compliments on it all night, which was a big deal since all of the women at the formal had to wear black too. I felt very classy and comfortable in it!

View photos (3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 6, 2014
Disappointed ) :

I was super bummed with my dress. The dress was more like two sizes smaller than it's actual size and the zipper was broke. The dress itself was beautiful though. I was very disappointed that I didn't get to wear it to the event.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 141lbs
May 6, 2014
This was my first pick for a Black Tie Event for Breast Intentions.

I rented the 6L, the length and fit was fabulous except for the bust. The bust is VERY tight in this dress. I really wish it would have worked.

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 8, 2014
Feeling super chic in this dress.

I typically wear a 2/4, but this dress ran a bit small. I called RTR and they had a size 6 to my door by the next day just in time for my event! I couldn't have asked for better service! Once I had the right size, it was perfect. I loved the side slit, and one shoulder look. I can't wait to pick my next dress from RTR!

Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
May 11, 2014
The dress was long and flowy and made me feel like a total princess

Everything was perfect ! The dress exceeded my expectations. It runs super small so if you're a 4 you should size up. It's also extremely long but with the right shoes it's great. I wore this to my boyfriends prom and compared to everyone's sparkly dresses mine stops out for simplicity, the slit made the dress. It's sexy and so elegant. And my boyfriend loved it. Perfect choice

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
May 19, 2014
This dress was perfect for my black tie work event.

The dress fit so well! The slit was perfection - just enough leg to up the sexy factor.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2014
Simple, Easy and classic

No complaints. Beautiful dress! Only comment would be that it has a lot more weight to it than i imagined, not recommended for a hot day. Very nice when your walking though as there is a slit that makes it a bit sexy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 11, 2014
Lovely!

Perfect for a black tie event. Love the flowing skirt. Got lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2014
First black-tie optional wedding!

Didn't wear it; I fell more in love with the other dress I rented for the black-tie optional wedding I attended. This absolutely would've been just as good of a pick if it weren't for the fact that there's a thigh-high slit in the front of the dress and the fact that the ceremony was held at a conservative Catholic church. Otherwise, I felt absolutely gorgeous in in when I tried it on! It does run a little small, so I'd go up a size than what you'd normally wear.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143lbs
August 18, 2014
Very pretty dress

Unable to zip dress up on side. This dress is better suited for someone that is not full busted. Also I found this dress to be very long in length.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 152lbs
August 24, 2014
This dress was perfect and made me the belle of the ball.

The bodice was fitted. I normally wear a 2-4 so for a formal gown I usually go a size up. The dress was extremely long. I'm 5'11" and my legs are long so it felt like this dress was made for me.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
September 22, 2014
Beautiful dress for a fancy wedding!

I have rented from RTR numerous times but this dress is prompting my first review! It was that special! I am usually a size 10 but it was too snug in the chest so I went with the 12R. The fit was amazing and I felt comfortable all night, no need to keep adjusting. I did not have to wear a bra with this gown. I am 5'9" and the R length was good, even with 4" heels. I would definitely get the R even if you're 5'9". It flowed beautifully when I walked and I got so many compliments all night! I accessorized with gold chandelier earrings, a gold and pearl bracelet, a red clutch, and red nails. Wish I owned this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
September 26, 2014
Glamorous

I rented this dress for the ballet and felt a bit overdressed but the event was a surprise and my husband told me to dress formally. That aside, this dress was so much fun to wear. The extra length skimmed the floor even when I was wearing heels (which is a feat). However the midsection of the dress was slightly tight around my ribs and I had some difficulty getting the zipper up. Once zipped though, it did not feel overly snug. The hidden leg slit was my favorite part and definitely added some spunk to a black gown. Would love to rent in other colors for a different event!

Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
October 7, 2014
The classic elegance of this dress was perfect for the military ball.

Definitely very long and tight in the bodice, had to wear a couple sizes up. But it was beautiful!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
October 12, 2014
The dress was perfect for a black tie wedding.

It was a beautiful dress. I received many compliments. I was very comfortable moving around in the dress. There are no pockets in the dress even though the picture makes it seem like there are. The rib cage area of the dress runs small. I wear between a 2 and a 4 regularly but this size 4 was very tight. It ended up fitting perfect without a bra and stretched out a little throughout the night. Overall I loved the dress and would recommend it for a fun, fancy night out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 2, 2014
Would be beautiful in the right size.

This dress is gorgeous and very flattering. It would have been perfect if not for my large rib cage and broad back. I couldn't zip it up past the waist. I'm 5'8" and normally wear an 8. I ordered the 8L. I think a 10 would have been perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2014
Beautiful gown, perfect for a military ball!

The dress really is a beautiful, long, flowy dress. The slit up the left leg hit just right (about mid thigh, maybe a little lower) and was the perfect addition to the dress to give it a little "something" since the rest of it was pretty plain. The bottom of the dress has a LOT of fabric, but it never really got in the way. The bodice does run a tad small. Im usually a 2/4 in dresses because I have a smaller ribcage/bust but I wore the 6R. It was more of a personal preference for me because the 4 fit, I just liked that I had a little more room and I could wear a bra with the 6. Overall, It was a great dress and would be perfect for any formal event or an evening wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 19, 2015
Wish it would have worked

This dress is very elegant! I wish I could have worn it! The top is extremely tight, I need two more sizes from my normal size in order to zip up the top! Does not have pockets. Very long.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147lbs
January 28, 2015
This dress was amazing. I loved it!

The dress was gorgeous! The hidden split was a nice touch. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress still touched the floor. I was highly impressed and will be ordering again. I should have went up a size since my bust is large, but the 8 was not available. The top was a little hard to zip but other than that I loved it.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 7, 2015
Military formal affair

Gorgeous dress. I wish I could have kept it. Definitely runs a bit small. I normally wear a size 0 in practically everything but I couldn't even get the 0R zippered because it was so narrow in the chest. The 2R fit almost perfectly and, as a result, I felt so comfortable the entire evening. The length was perfect with 2 1/2 inch heels. This dress has a bit of weight to it so it was great for a cool weather affair.

Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 8, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable!

The dress flows really well. I sized up one size because it zipped better. I have a full bust and large rib cage, but the larger size was almost no different on the bottom half. The bottom half is great because it hides any tummy fullness after eating! The dress is long and even with 4" heels it was occasionally stepped on. Overall it was perfect for a black tie event and I received many compliments on the dress that night. My experience with Rent the Runway was amazing and I have suggested it to many friends since the event!

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2015
See description of sizing below.

Dress is beautiful! I'm glad I got the back-up size (that was one is up). If you have a medium-large rib cage and/or a medium to large bust (I wear a 34 B, so not large!), then size one size up for sure. The bodice of the dress runs a bit small to size. Otherwise, a really gorgeous, well-made dress. One other tip - make sure you have at least 3" heels on as the dress is a bit long on someone who is 5'4'' or shorter.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2015
So fun to wear! Extremely elegant without being over-the-top!

I was able to wear the regular instead of the long with 2.5 inch heals. The dress just brushed my toes, but any taller and I suggest getting a long. The dress ran a little small. I would have been able to wear a bra with a 6, but went with the 4. A bra wasn't really necessary, it is all personal preference. I paired with a colorful necklace borrowed from a friend which got lots of compliments.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2015
I couldn't wear this dress, but it was a nice-looking dress!

The size wasn't what I expected. I couldn't even zip up the 8. For comparison, I got a similar dress in 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 6! So. . . I dont know what's up with that :) I am short, and I wore the dress with 3" heels. Perfect!

See more reviews:
3 / 12

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×