Halston Heritage

Night Crawler Dress

$86 to buy
$485 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

You are mod and in charge! This beyond chic Halston Heritage dress is the ultimate fashion forward style to strut your stuff in at the event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silk Cotton Faille (81% Cotton, 19% silk). Silk Cap Sleeve. Pockets. Crew Neckline. Full Skirt. Hidden Back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(47)
Small
(34)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2013
Perfect little LBD!!
I ordered this for a wedding in a 4 and a 6 and the 6 fit perfectly! I love the structure and it was super comfortable. I wore it with the Oscar De La Renta Music Box Drop Earrings and they were the perfect statement earring to complement the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2013
Simple and sexy!
The dress is very simple but was perfect for a cocktail party. It is not as short as it appears on the model. The dress runs true to size. I paired the dress with the Badgley Mischka crystal cluster necklace and it looked great. I received many compliments throughout the night. I will rent this dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 14, 2015
Great shape.
This dress is definitely WORN but still had its structure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Fun Party Dress
very large/stiff skirt, but if you like/can get past that its really a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Loved it
Loved the fit and structure of this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 29, 2014
Loved this dress! I have ordered multiple times since I initially tried last year.
Perfect LBD. Very flattering and comfortable. Great A line shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 8, 2014
Super cute!!
I rented this dress and another one for a charity event in LA. I ended up wearing the other dress because it was more formal, however I had such a hard time not wearing this one because it was so cute!!! And it has pockets!!! I have several weddings and parties coming up this year and will most definitely be re-renting this dress to wear to one of those events. Dress fits fairly true to size, it was a tad big in the waist for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 9, 2014
I felt very comfortable in this dress. It was fun to dance in too.
Fit well, flattering to all figures, not too long or too short, very classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
March 3, 2014
Perfect LBD!
This is a perfect LBD for any occasion! It's a simple dress with a cute shoulder detail but a perfectly sized fit-and-flare silhouette makes this dress so great. It does run a little small so I would size up for the back-up size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2014
Perfect LBD!
This LBD is so flattering to your figure! It does run a little small and the fabric does not have much give. I loved the pockets in the front as well. I felt like a million bucks in this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 14, 2014
The perfect, chic LBD
Very flattering and comfortable. A great "no fuss" dress that still looks elegant. The fabric wasn't as nice as I expected to be, but it still looked good. Pockets are fun. I ordered a 6 & an 8... the 6 was tight around the ribcage, so I wore the 8. Although I am normally a 4/6 in dresses. This is the perfect dress if you want to be comfortable sitting, standing, or dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
March 16, 2014
Comfortable and nicely designed dress
The dress itself is very simple and comfortable. The dress in size 4 wasn't available so I got 6 which was a little big, but still looked okay. This dress showed signs of multiple dry-cleaning trips and looked a little old. It wasn't really that special since I have about 10 dresses in my closet that are very similar. My own fault for waiting till the last minute to find an outfit for the benefit I was attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
March 29, 2014
Better in pictures
Nice, classic black dress. More structured than the picture looks. Shorter than expected but overall nice. The dress was a little more worn/faded than I would have liked but at night it wouldn't be too noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 6, 2014
Love the pockets! Nice little black dress
Fit was great, true to size. A little shorter than I normally wear, but not indecent or anything like that. Love the pockets and the way the sleeves are cut since they do emphasize nice arms. My only complaint is that maybe it's a little too simple - I normally get compliments on RTR dresses, but none on this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 28, 2014
Perfect little black dress. Stunning simple style.
I absolutely loved the style of this dress. Very well made and flattering fit. However, I couldn't wear it because the arm holes were a bit too narrow for my shoulders. I have broad shoulders, so perhaps it's just me. The dress fit perfectly everywhere else.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
Audrey Hepburn comments all night
A flattering simple little black dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 1, 2014
Loved the Style
This was a great dress. Very comfortable, made me feel amazing. And it was easy to add little touches with accessories and great shoes! No complaints here!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
May 29, 2014
Flattered my figure
This dress was perfect for a rehearsal dinner. It wasn't too short and the skirt flattered my curves. I felt amazing in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2014
Beautiful, perfect dress!
Dress fit small, and was very tight in the torso area. The ribbing is very strong and makes an amazing silhouette. I'm not tall, so the dress was long enough to be demure and classy. I can't say enough about this dress; it fit perfectly, it looked wonderful, it was comfortable to wear all night, and I got a ton of compliments! Very easy to accessorize as well. I easily went from black slingbacks for the ceremony, to nude pumps for the reception, to my pink Tieks for dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Beautiful dress! Classic!
True to size, but tight in the chest. Girls who are larger than a B may encounter issues.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2014
Didn't wear
Cute dress but way too tight in the stomach area - didn't end up wearing this dress because I could barely breathe in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
May 3, 2015
Runs small
Pretty dress, flirty and short but great material. It has a really unique skirt but it kind of cut narrow at the underarm and made that weird arm cleavage. I was a little self conscious about it. Runs small!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 3, 2015
Great Black Dress.
I ended up wearing the size two, because I liked the way it fit better than the size four.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
This dress is simple, yet chic! It's amazing!
I wore this dress for one of my wedding showers and I absolutely loved it! My fiance said it was one of his favorite dresses he'd ever seen on me! I loved the pockets in the front. My jewelry is also from Rent the Runway. I LOVED the necklace!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 20, 2012
Perfect LBD
Love, love, love this dress and would definitely rent it again. I usually wear between a 4-6, and the 6 fit perfect (runs on the small side). Could definitely dress this up or down, depending on the accessories you choose. I wore it with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar Black Ice Bangle Set from Rent the Runway and got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2013
Holly GoKaraoke!
I was looking for a fun little dress to wear to a karaoke bachelorette party. Usually, I shy away from wearing black because it can look a little severe with my complexion and hair color, but I loved the playful shape of this dress. I wore it with a statement necklace (also RTR), tight weave nude fishnets and gold heels. I felt like a modern Holly Golightly out on the town.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2013
Simple and chic! I felt amazing in it!
I loved this dress. The shape is great, its a little more than the classic LBD. normally wear an 8 but the 10 fit like a glove, I didn't need a bra. (it runs a little small in the chest so if you're larger than a C, size up!) I got so many compliments all night. I will be renting it again! I paired it with the Kate Spade Pink Hot Chip Statement Necklace to complete the look!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 5, 2014
i felt like an absolute princess. the dress fit perfectly, it was so unique and crisp.
The fit was great! It accentuated my waist and I loved the fit and flare look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 17, 2014
Great fit!
The dress fits tight around the bust to mid-waist, then flares out from there. If you have a bigger bust, you'll need to go up a size, but this size fit me to a tee! Loved the fun simplicity of the dress (definitely a more classy than sexy vibe), especially paired with a statement necklace also from RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2014
Great Little Black Dress!
This dress was simply easy, yet i still felt dressed up! It was a great length and I loved how there was a subtle flare in the skirt. A little snug in the waist/mid section, but comfortable and flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again. RTR couldn't send me the 6, but I did still receive my backup size which was the 8. It fit great, so I would say it runs a little small.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2014
One of my favorite dresses by far!!!
The fit is true to size and it was so comfortable! It is a great LBD with a twist from the detail on the shoulders to the front pockets. I received so many compliments and people wanted to know where they could get it...I myself have been keeping my eye out to purchase it I loved it so much!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 3, 2012
Great Dress
Nice LBD, runs true to size, although the bottom half exagerates your hips a little more than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2012
Classic LBD
I loved this style because it was sleek and great for a night out! It is pretty tight fitting especially in the bust and waist. There's actually a band sewn in the hem to make it bubble out which I thought was really cute and made a simple dress interesting!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 16, 2012
So fun and easy to wear
This dress was a fun, flirty, modern alternative to the typical LBD. The full skirt makes it really fun to dance in. I usually wear a 0, but the 2 fit also (was just a little loose around the midsection). I was nervous about the full skirt being unflattering/overwhelming on my petite frame, but it hit a couple inches above the knee so it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 29, 2012
Great dress!
This was so cute and flattering. It flailed out a little but in a fun way!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2012
Super chic dress. I wore it out in Vegas to dinner and a night out on the town.
It was pretty true to size, maybe a little small. It was tight around the chest but I'm busty. I just went without a bra and was fine. My bf loved the dress. It's definitely more stylish than "sexy" but it's sexy in a less obvious way. Great dress for petite women because it still hits mid thigh. I paired it with a chunky necklace and some sleek and sexy black and gold strappy heels. I'm actually considering ordering it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 2, 2013
Amazing LBD! So many compliments!! I need to own this!
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. I was slightly worried about the exaggerated flare skirt but it was super flattering and mirrored the flared shoulders. The dress fit like a glove. The top was just barely tight on me, so if you're my size, but with a larger chest- size up. The only thing about this dress was the band at the bottom that keep the skirt flared out; It was a bit awkward to sit on. I just had to make sure, not unlike any other dress or skirt, that I was smoothing it out before sitting so as not to sit on it weird. But after sitting the skirt popped right back to life. I paired this dress with magenta suede heels and the Kendra Scott Phoenix Necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2013
Feeling fun, but appropriate, at my office's work party!
I rented this for my company's New Year's party, and it was perfect. Appropriate enough but still super fun. If you want a more comfortable fit that isn't cutting off your arms, go up a size. I'm usually a 4 and I felt so constricted in it because the material has no give!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
May 13, 2013
Love love love!!
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and stylish! I would recommend!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 16, 2013
Great simple black dress-fitted on top, cute flare.
Wore for a girls' weekend. Flare at bottom ensures you can indulge at dinner and not worry about how you'll look in your dress. Able to easily dress up / down with accessories. I wore with a coral belt.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×