Rent the Runway

Halston Heritage

Night Crawler Dress

$86 to buy
$485 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

You are mod and in charge! This beyond chic Halston Heritage dress is the ultimate fashion forward style to strut your stuff in at the event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - very fitted at bust with no stretch, but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - flared skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silk Cotton Faille (81% Cotton, 19% silk). Silk Cap Sleeve. Pockets. Crew Neckline. Full Skirt. Hidden Back zipper. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

84 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 46
Large 2
Photos 29
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

An adorable dress-for the right body type. Too bad it wasn't for my body type

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
About the dress: it is a stiff cotton twill with a little stretch to it and satin pleated shoulder detail. The hem of the dress has a stiff "tape" (almost like what they use for collar stays in men's dress shirts) sewn in the hem of the dress to give it that cute flare to the dress. I wish this dress would have fit. I know this dress would have been perfect if I had had the right size. I rented this dress before RTR posted any fit specifications. I rented a 6 and a backup size 8 thinking that it might run small in the bust area being a high neck dress and all. Well when I finally got the size 8 zipped up I noticed that it flattened my chest in a very unflattering way. This dress will be adorable for a pear shape or an hourglass body but go TWO sizes up if you are a C cup or larger.
Elyse
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

So fun and easy to wear

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a fun, flirty, modern alternative to the typical LBD. The full skirt makes it really fun to dance in. I usually wear a 0, but the 2 fit also (was just a little loose around the midsection). I was nervous about the full skirt being unflattering/overwhelming on my petite frame, but it hit a couple inches above the knee so it looked great.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 19, 2012

Meh.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Out of all of the dresses I've rented from RTR this was one of my least favorite. It's cute, but not overly special or exciting. Both dresses arrived extremely wrinkled. The dress is VERY structured and because of this when you sit down the dress pulls up in an odd way. It's just something you have to be consious off so that you aren't showing too much leg when you sit. As others noted, the dress is very tight around the chest and torso in general. I'm regularly a size 4 and have a small chest (34B) and although the 4 zipped up and actually looked perfect- I couldnt breathe! So needless to say I went with the 6. I wore this with a little leather coat and some big funky earrings. Again, it's cute, but for the price I think I could have purchased an inexpensive black dress from H&M or Topshop and achieved the same look.
Stacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Very happy.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dresses were perfectly clean, well packaged and delivered the morning it was scheduled to arrive. I loved the dress and it was perfect for the occasion. I will rent the runway again, and encourage my friends to do so as well!
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

21st Century Audrey Hepburn ;)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress, pre Hurricane Sandy for a cocktail party a couple of days after it. I was surprised the dress made it for the occasion! Kudos, RTR! Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get my back up size. (Totally understandable.) I had ordered both a 2 & a 4 after reading the reviews but was only sent the 2. The 2 fit, but it was a little snug in the chest area. I wore the dress anyway, and got compliments all night, but I do think that the 4 would have been a little more comfortable. I loved the shape, the pockets, everything about it and I would recommend anyone on renting it for a cute alternative to the LBD.
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 18, 2012

Great lbd! Ran a bit small in the chest and I don't have much of one...I'd go a size up.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
If you have a big bust stay away from this one. Length is great, above knee. Pockets are always a plus for me but these were quite close together and in the front, not on the sides.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 28, 2012

Very feminine dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress overall, but the size 4 was a bit tight in the chest area. A little uncomfortable for that reason, but I would def rent again!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 29, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was so cute and flattering. It flailed out a little but in a fun way!
JKD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

Cute dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty, nice material. Loved the pockets & capped sleeve. Dress runs big!
iamfuzzy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Flair bottom is too exaggerated. Looks unnatural

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Bodice fits beautifully, high quality fabric. However the bottom skirt flairs out at the hips as such an exaggerated angle and since the fabric is thick and "firm" - I felt like I looked like I was wearing a tutu. Unfortunately the length of the dress further exaggerates the flair of the skirt making it look even more awkward for a cocktail dress
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

pretty

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
full skirt
cova
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Dec 15, 2012

pretty dress for a wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This runs teensy! I usually wear a 6/8, the 8 was too small so i lent it to a friend who wears a 4/6 and she could barely get the zipper up. Def order up!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

Super chic dress. I wore it out in Vegas to dinner and a night out on the town.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was pretty true to size, maybe a little small. It was tight around the chest but I'm busty. I just went without a bra and was fine. My bf loved the dress. It's definitely more stylish than "sexy" but it's sexy in a less obvious way. Great dress for petite women because it still hits mid thigh. I paired it with a chunky necklace and some sleek and sexy black and gold strappy heels. I'm actually considering ordering it again!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 31, 2012

Fun Party Dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
very large/stiff skirt, but if you like/can get past that its really a great dress!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Amazing LBD! So many compliments!! I need to own this!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a wedding rehearsal and dinner. I was slightly worried about the exaggerated flare skirt but it was super flattering and mirrored the flared shoulders. The dress fit like a glove. The top was just barely tight on me, so if you're my size, but with a larger chest- size up. The only thing about this dress was the band at the bottom that keep the skirt flared out; It was a bit awkward to sit on. I just had to make sure, not unlike any other dress or skirt, that I was smoothing it out before sitting so as not to sit on it weird. But after sitting the skirt popped right back to life. I paired this dress with magenta suede heels and the Kendra Scott Phoenix Necklace.
Shauna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

It was perfect for a formal wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm normally a size 2 and the size 4 fit perfectly. I received lots of compliments. Wore it with two different pairs of shoes for two different looks, kitten heels for the ceremony then platform peep toes for dancing, both suited well. It's a high quality, timeless dress and I wish I could own it.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2013

I wore this to go to the courthouse and sign my wedding certificate with my grandparents and hubby.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is an amazingly flattering and modern cut. It runs tight in the chest but better to get it to fit your waist since the cut is what makes it so amazing. I ended up tracking it down and buying it.
ED
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

Adorable and original!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my husband's office Christmas party, and it was perfect for the occasion: pretty and fun, but not overtly sexy. The chest doesn't stretch, so I had to go up a size (to an 8 from a 6) to get it to zip, but from the waist down it a comfortable fit and flare shape. The pockets in front are also great and really cute! In some ways, because of the satin and shape, the shoulder area looks like a dress Judy Jetson would wear! But because it's still such a classic color and silhouette that extra detail just gives it point of interest. If you're looking for classic but not boring, this is your dress! I wasn't disappointed.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 5, 2013

Great detail on shoulders

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The detail on the shoulders was great, but the tailoring along the zipper was unflattering (created a tail). Tight on bust, roomy in waist - good for small bust & large hips. Color is greyish black. Would not rent again because of the zipper section.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Feeling fun, but appropriate, at my office's work party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my company's New Year's party, and it was perfect. Appropriate enough but still super fun. If you want a more comfortable fit that isn't cutting off your arms, go up a size. I'm usually a 4 and I felt so constricted in it because the material has no give!
Lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Mar 9, 2013

I didn't wear it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The material wasn't as nice as I expected and the skirt flare was much larger than I had expected.
Tori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Great style, flattering, classy but fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I typically would wear a 4 or 6 but based on other reviewers' feedback I ended up going with an 8. It was snug around the chest, a tiny bit large in the waste (though it looked fine). I loved the fit of the dress, very sharp. The bottom "hoop" wasn't as prominent as I was expecting which was a nice surprise. Just enough flair! Loved this dress and would wear again.
fumfum08
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Mar 25, 2013

Fun and Flirty and Fit perfectly!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to an networking event for school. I paired with fun accessories and had a great night. I received a lot of complements.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

LOVE THIS DRESS!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
If I could buy this dress I would. It's classic LBD and can be dressed up or down. I wore this for an outdoor wedding and received tons of compliments when I was wearing my coat (it was 35 degrees, yes and outdoors!). I'd likely rent this dress again as it fit like a glove!
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 149 lbs
Apr 9, 2013

Classic Elegance

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress 6 weeks after I had a baby. The 10 (used to be a 6) was a bit snug but the fit of the dress was very flattering. I don't think it's the best dress for someone with a large bust but would work very well for someone with a small waste and bigger hips.
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 14, 2013

Great black dress... But more casual than dressy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric wasn't as dressy as expected. But was an awesome fit
eb
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 17, 2013

Best LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Would buy this if there was an option. Perfect fit in all the right places, and received many compliments. This was by far my favorite dress I have worn since my wedding!
Ashley
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
May 13, 2013

Love love love!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and stylish! I would recommend!
AP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 17, 2013

Classy, but NO STRETCH

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have a broad shoulders and I guess big ribs, and this would NOT zip. I was really sad because I was unable to wear it. There was no stretch to this fabric, and it would just not zip. I was disappointed that this dress looked as worn as it looked. It is clearly well loved. My friend tried it on, and it looked wonderful on her. Skip though if you have big shoulders or a big bust.
KB
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

N/A

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs small. I am in between a 4 and a 6 typically, so I ordered both sizes, and even the 6 felt a little snug. Nonetheless, it was very stylish and is a great looking dress. I was happy with my selection.
Dancer318
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 16, 2013

Great simple black dress-fitted on top, cute flare.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore for a girls' weekend. Flare at bottom ensures you can indulge at dinner and not worry about how you'll look in your dress. Able to easily dress up / down with accessories. I wore with a coral belt.
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Loved it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fit and structure of this dress.
susie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Runs small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress but it does run small! I was unable to wear it because it was too tight at the chest.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

This fabric has no give to it what-so-ever

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress I received in the mail seemed very different than the one pictured. The fabric had no stretch at all, the dress seemed worn, was wrinkly, and much, much shorter than I expected. I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 6 was incredibly small and my backup size was actually a completely different dress that also didn't fit. As my first RTR experience, this was my nightmare coming true, especially considering it was 5pm by the time I received my dresses and I had a 7am flight the next morning. Long story short, after a phone call to RTR, the agent asked some discovery questions about the dresses and what about them didn't work, then found a new dress for me that was a similar style with much more giving fabric for my pear shape. We were able to have the dress overnighted to a different address and the new dress ended up working perfectly!! Long story short, the RTR agent saved my experience and I will definitely be renting again, just not this dress :)
The_Empresz_Herself
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 23, 2013

too small!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
i had ordered this as a back up for the next day of funeral. my sis ended up wearing it and she usually wears a size 2. the 6 fit her well. I put the dress and was able to to zip it up. but couldn't breathe and was uncomfortable. did go to waste though. my sis looked good in it.
mk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 24, 2013

Love this dress - perfect LBD with beautiful details.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Love the pleating detail on the shoulders and the pockets. The waist really cinches you in.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

Stunning classic!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 0-2 and this dress was perfect. Fit like a glove!
Weaz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Fit well, was a good go-to black dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wear between an 8 and a 10 usually. I ordered the 10 and it fit perfectly. The 8 wasn't available or I would have ordered both. I'm 5' 9" and it was a tad short on me when I would sit down, but when standing seemed like a perfect length. I have a smaller waist and bigger hips. It made my waist look small and didn't accentuate my hips, so I was happy.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2013

Perfect little LBD!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this for a wedding in a 4 and a 6 and the 6 fit perfectly! I love the structure and it was super comfortable. I wore it with the Oscar De La Renta Music Box Drop Earrings and they were the perfect statement earring to complement the dress!
Cat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Simple and sexy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very simple but was perfect for a cocktail party. It is not as short as it appears on the model. The dress runs true to size. I paired the dress with the Badgley Mischka crystal cluster necklace and it looked great. I received many compliments throughout the night. I will rent this dress again!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×